Nine Lives

Nine Lives Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Nine Lives is a moving exploration of the individual experiences of nine women as told through nine single unbroken takes. As characters from one story reappear in supporting roles in others, Rodrigo Garcia interweaves a grand tapestry of universal resonance that hinges on performances fromNine Lives is a moving exploration of the individual experiences of nine women as told through nine single unbroken takes. As characters from one story reappear in supporting roles in others, Rodrigo Garcia interweaves a grand tapestry of universal resonance that hinges on performances from an incredible ensemble. (Magnolia Pictures) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. This beautifully sculpted poetic naturalism has more in common with the expressive use of words in the great screenplays of '40s and '50s than with modern movies.
  2. 90
    As a film composed entirely of nine continuous long takes, Nine Lives certainly qualifies as unique. But what makes it rarer and more auspicious is that it offers such a rich bounty of great roles for middle-aged women.
  3. A bold film both in its storytelling strategies and its filmmaking logistics.
  4. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    80
    Though the episodic structure results in a whole not quite equal to some of its parts, pic is an unusually tender, perceptive character study buoyed by stellar performances from a who's who of talented (and many underused) actresses.
  5. A couple of the stories don't quite accomplish what Rodrigo intends, but most are poignant, disturbing, and superbly acted.
  6. An emotionally satisfying example of a genre whose sketchiness can be off-putting.
  7. 38
    Movies like this usually have something interesting to say about the human condition, but not Nine Lives. It makes an insufferably obvious observation: we live boring lives, shit happens, and we die.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. MarjorieC.
    Oct 23, 2005
    10
    Remarkable and moving.
  2. MichaelB.
    Oct 16, 2005
    10
    This movie was one of the best of the year. It deserves to be nominated for numerous film awards throughout the year. SAG nominee for This movie was one of the best of the year. It deserves to be nominated for numerous film awards throughout the year. SAG nominee for Outstanding Performance by a Cast in a Motion Picture for Kathy Baker, Amy Brenneman, Elpidia Carrillo, Glenn Close, Stephen Dillane, Dakota Fanning, Lisa Gay Hamilton, Holly Hunter, Robin Wright Penn, and Sissy Spacek and an Oscar for Dakota Fanning!! Expand
  3. tokiasme
    Dec 17, 2007
    9
    Lovely, touching and profound.
  4. RhettW.
    Dec 28, 2005
    7
    The two stories featuring Robin Wright Penn and Kathy Baker were exceptional.
  5. RichK.
    Feb 21, 2006
    6
    It's nice to see a movie shot like like a play -- each vignette is one continuous shot. But in this play the damaged female characters It's nice to see a movie shot like like a play -- each vignette is one continuous shot. But in this play the damaged female characters seem to be living in a play, some other play that we're not privy to. In 2006 a film of distant, unaccountable dreamworlds is not a vision, it's claustrophobia. Expand
  6. AwalK.
    Apr 9, 2006
    5
    Average. While certain stories stand out - Robin Wright at the supermarket and Glenn Close at the cemetary - most are rather boring. I Average. While certain stories stand out - Robin Wright at the supermarket and Glenn Close at the cemetary - most are rather boring. I thought the nine different stories should have been more connected and weaved together. I don't expect 'Crash' or 'Pulp Fiction' but this movie seemed rather disjointed. The cinematography (each vignette is one long, continuous shot) is extraordianry, though. Collapse
  7. Shauna
    Apr 12, 2006
    1
    Terrible! what was the point of this? the last story was the worst. i thought it was alright, thinking that everything was going to be Terrible! what was the point of this? the last story was the worst. i thought it was alright, thinking that everything was going to be connected in the end but no! nothing! terrible movie. I watched it because the other user comments made it seem like anyone who likes art movies would like it, but i love art movies and this sucked! Expand

See all 13 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (1/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (1/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: January 29, 2016
    Get a quick update on the latest film news and watch all of this week's new film trailers, including looks at The Divergent Series: Allegiant, The Bronze, Nine Lives, Cemetery of Splendor, Kubo and the Two Strings, The Confirmation, and more.
  2. Book Review: "Extra Lives" by Tom Bissell

    Book Review:
    Published: June 15, 2010
    In a series of nine essays, journalist and author Bissell explores the highs and lows of videogames today, while also profiling some of the industry's top game creators and chronicling his own obsessive relationship with gaming. We take a look at what reviewers are saying about this new book.
  3. 10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July

    10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July Image
    Published: June 28, 2016
    Our editors pick out the most interesting films headed to theaters next month.
  4. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  5. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  6. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.

Awards & Rankings