Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: December 18, 2009
4.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 233 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
79
Mixed:
50
Negative:
104
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
EggyGJan 28, 2010
This movie depends heavily on Guido Contini character...and Daniel Day Lewis delivered in stunning & stylish way...watching his acting was half the fun of this movie...quit amazing. The actresses, music, cinematography is also above This movie depends heavily on Guido Contini character...and Daniel Day Lewis delivered in stunning & stylish way...watching his acting was half the fun of this movie...quit amazing. The actresses, music, cinematography is also above average...enough to gives Nine a 9. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmilyHJan 6, 2010
Have Being in the Production on Stage i happen to know alot a bout the scrpit and the story behind it. Rob Marshall has showed us the fun of "Getting Away With Murder" and now he shows us the life and adventure of "Cinema Italiano" which in Have Being in the Production on Stage i happen to know alot a bout the scrpit and the story behind it. Rob Marshall has showed us the fun of "Getting Away With Murder" and now he shows us the life and adventure of "Cinema Italiano" which in alot of our "American" cases don't understand or want to understand. But Rob Marshall showed us the truth in this film about Italian life and Federico Fellini. I'm only 17 years old and i understood the movie more then half of the older and younger audience. Most people left because they thought it was boring and didnt understand and they wanted a movie with a love and a fun story line and that's not what they got. They got a true and amazing story about a man. i Thought it was liberating and really brought justice to the stage production and to Federico Fellini himself. And for who ever said this movie brought nothing to the arts i'm sorry to tell you that you are sadly mistaken and that it brought more to the arts then any movie or film i have ever come across. It brought true honesty to a man and his "Being Italian" and if you don't call that art then you don't know the true meaning of art and you can not call yourself an artist. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrainR.Jan 31, 2010
I'm really surprised that a lot of critics didn't like this film at all! This movie is WAY better than "Chicago", ever can. The songs are wonderful, the cast is amazing, everything is! I really recommend this movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MattJan 31, 2010
Fun and Flashy. Marion and Pénelope are AMAZING
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaveHJan 6, 2010
This was much better than these comments imply. I love musicals (but didn't care for Chicago) and just got back from Italy and I am a film fanatic so this worked for me. It's true it didn't have any truly memorable songs but This was much better than these comments imply. I love musicals (but didn't care for Chicago) and just got back from Italy and I am a film fanatic so this worked for me. It's true it didn't have any truly memorable songs but it was very evocative of its time (the 60's) and the performances were terrific, especially Cotillard. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LarryHJan 7, 2010
Much better than the savage reviews. Rob Marshall's homage to Fellini is a ravishing mess of a film with some really fine performances and impressive singing. C'mon, all those beautiful women singing and dancing. If you thought Much better than the savage reviews. Rob Marshall's homage to Fellini is a ravishing mess of a film with some really fine performances and impressive singing. C'mon, all those beautiful women singing and dancing. If you thought Catherine Zeta Jones was hot in "Chicago," wait til you watch Penelope Lopez melt the screen with her "Guido" number. And Marion Cotilliard is the true north of this story. It's not perfect by a long shot, but it IS mesmerizing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PatGJan 9, 2010
I enjoyed Nine! Yes, it has an unconventional structure, but I could follow it. And the production numbers and the performers were very entertaining. Even Day-Lewis sounded just fine with his singing. It is worth seeing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichelHJan 9, 2010
This musical creatively tells a story about an honored artist's spiritual odyssey. It's a soul's journey of a media frenzied Italian film director, ala Fellini, who has finally met himself in crisis and doesn't like what This musical creatively tells a story about an honored artist's spiritual odyssey. It's a soul's journey of a media frenzied Italian film director, ala Fellini, who has finally met himself in crisis and doesn't like what he has become. He is creatively and ethically bankrupt and must change or perish. At this precipice of his life music, song, dance and beautiful sets play out the emotions of the characters in such a way as to dramatically feel, almost grok, the depiction of the joys, sadness, mortality and resurrection of the infinite human spirit. It's the most brilliant use of the musical medium of film making since the Phantom. However, the flip side sorely seems to be that this musical is another pearl tossed before the swine of critics enamored with but the pornography of violence or the "Shock the Monkey" type of teenage pandering. So.......? I'm afraid we won't get many more of these wonderful creative gems of spiritual dimension. DAMN! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ralph'sdeadbunnyDec 21, 2009
Great movie! A little weak, but the acting made up for it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DeanHJan 18, 2010
Certainly not for everyone, yet "Nine" succeeds in being a gorgeous bridge between "8 1/2" and the stage show "Nine." Stunning cinematography, capable singing, and better editing than Marshall's "Chicago," "Nine" is a 9. Fans of Certainly not for everyone, yet "Nine" succeeds in being a gorgeous bridge between "8 1/2" and the stage show "Nine." Stunning cinematography, capable singing, and better editing than Marshall's "Chicago," "Nine" is a 9. Fans of gunfire, gratuitous sex, CGI, and The Real World should stay far, far away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LindaMJan 2, 2010
Beautiful people, costumes, sets and artful music telling the engaging story of a tormented film director trying to bring honesty to his work and life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ariJan 9, 2010
It's funny how people come on here and just give a movies bad grades wthout having watched them. One guy said the movie was 2.5 hours....guess he watched something else. This movie was definitely not a masterpiece, but the critics got It's funny how people come on here and just give a movies bad grades wthout having watched them. One guy said the movie was 2.5 hours....guess he watched something else. This movie was definitely not a masterpiece, but the critics got this completely wrong...it was not as as bad as they made it out to be. It was just a good satisfying and entertaining time at the movies. The numbers were great, the acting was better, the story was a little thin and underdeveloped. Some say it was chaotic, it's meant to be that way...we're supposed to get a feel for Guido's frustration. Some characters were underdeveloped and thus seemed out of place, thats the writing...too much was cut out that should have stayed. In fact i wish the movie was 2.5 hours, maybe it would have been better. I'd still give it a 7, and i'll bump it up one because the acting was excellent! Judi Dench is completely underrated in this movie...she was great! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
elainesDec 20, 2009
It is what it was on the stage. it did not have the stry of the movie "8 1/2". "Nine" the movie needed to be grounded in story and character...where were the women's character? still great work by Marshall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SethJan 11, 2010
I have to say I'm shocked by the negative reviews this movie got. Many people claiming it to be the worst of 09. Shocking. Personally one of, if not my favourite movie of 2009 and but it looks like those of us who enjoyed it are very I have to say I'm shocked by the negative reviews this movie got. Many people claiming it to be the worst of 09. Shocking. Personally one of, if not my favourite movie of 2009 and but it looks like those of us who enjoyed it are very short in number meaning unfortunately a lot of people won't even give it a chance. If you have ever experienced creative blocks and love the Italian culture from the 60s then you can't help but enjoy this movie. It looks fantastic, all the stars put in great performances and unlike what others have said, has some great and memorable songs. I can't say I was a massive fan of Chicago and didn't really enjoy Moulin Rouge, but for me, this movie was incredible. Do yourself a favour and watch it and make up your own mind. You might be surprised. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonL.Jan 17, 2010
This musical is downright perfect in every direction it goes. The songs, actors, everything is perfect in this wonderful movie by Rob Marshall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
rickdDec 19, 2009
I really liked it, am shocked my favorite critics who I usually agree with didn't.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CJDec 22, 2009
Excellent film! A little chaotic, but so was 8 1/2.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
musicalloverDec 22, 2009
Fun, energetic, great time at a theatre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JenniferDec 25, 2009
I rated this one a seven because it lacked movie magic. That feeling you get when the movie ends and you feel like you just experienced something great and you cannot wait to tell everyone what an amazing movies it was. I loved the costumes I rated this one a seven because it lacked movie magic. That feeling you get when the movie ends and you feel like you just experienced something great and you cannot wait to tell everyone what an amazing movies it was. I loved the costumes and I even liked the story and the layout of the film. Great performance by Marion Cotillard. My only complaint as I said above is the magic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LindaCDec 27, 2009
The spirit of William
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BillySDec 30, 2009
First of all, i'm sorry but, Daniel Day Lewis is totally wrong for the lead in Nine, they should have stayed with Javier Bardem. Second, with a cast like Sophia Loren, Nicole Kidman, Judi Dench, Penelope Cruz, Marion Cottilard and Kate First of all, i'm sorry but, Daniel Day Lewis is totally wrong for the lead in Nine, they should have stayed with Javier Bardem. Second, with a cast like Sophia Loren, Nicole Kidman, Judi Dench, Penelope Cruz, Marion Cottilard and Kate Hudson you'd think someone would step up and deliver an Oscar worthy performance, but it's Black Eyed Peas singer Fergie who steals the movie with her appointed number - "Be Italian". The whole movie plays like an assembly line of musical numbers where each actress gets their 15 minutes then on to the next. The production is visually stunning and should be nominated for alot of technical Oscars, but the movie just doesn't connect with the augience. A major disappointment consifering all involved. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LonellFDec 22, 2009
This movie is quite simply a masterpiece. Rob Marshall has bettered himself since Chicago and made a dark, quirky, emotionally rich work of art. Beyond the visuals is a real heart and a thoughtful examination of crises, relationships, the This movie is quite simply a masterpiece. Rob Marshall has bettered himself since Chicago and made a dark, quirky, emotionally rich work of art. Beyond the visuals is a real heart and a thoughtful examination of crises, relationships, the creative process and being creatively and emotionally stymied. All of the performances are pitch-perfect. Magnificent!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NJWolfgangFeb 21, 2012
Overall the movie falls very short of being much more than a composite work that fails. Individually the film is filmed with performances that had they been somehow blended with each other it might have been much more satisfying. Lewis wasOverall the movie falls very short of being much more than a composite work that fails. Individually the film is filmed with performances that had they been somehow blended with each other it might have been much more satisfying. Lewis was an excellent choice for the protoganist but he has his limitations. The women each in their own way deliver the goods it's the goods they are asked to deliver that are questionable, and not so much the goods as to the way in which they are asked to deliver them. Cruz, Coitllard and Loren are excellent within their limitations. Kidman is quite good as is Dench and Fergie. Only Kate Hudson seems lost in the shuffle and in many respects just wasn't needed. The cohesion is missing. That's the failing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
WerothegreatMay 21, 2011
I don't understand why so many people hate this movie. It's such a luscious film. Perhaps the only downside is being unable to understand Penelope Cruz when she's singing. Fergie's "Be Italian" is one of the best musical numbers ever.I don't understand why so many people hate this movie. It's such a luscious film. Perhaps the only downside is being unable to understand Penelope Cruz when she's singing. Fergie's "Be Italian" is one of the best musical numbers ever. This movie is poignant, fabulous, and charming. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
heyitsmegrif4Feb 3, 2013
Daniel Day-Lewis is most definitely not in his best form; but Marion Cotillard,who steals the show, and help from the other women in this cast make this musical a triumph. Although not a single song is really entertaining enough to keep youDaniel Day-Lewis is most definitely not in his best form; but Marion Cotillard,who steals the show, and help from the other women in this cast make this musical a triumph. Although not a single song is really entertaining enough to keep you engaged the whole time. I give this film 76%. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
rodriqueDec 24, 2012
Rob Marshall proves here that he still having the talent that made Chicago a Best picture winning,it has strong performances from Daniel Day Lewis and Marion Cotillard and dazzling musical sequences.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TheGeographer52Jan 24, 2013
Academy Award nominated for Best Supporting Actress I resent the fact that this movie would have negative reviews from fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonDec 4, 2013
The saving grace is Dion Beebe's beautiful cinematography, Cotillard, Cruz and a superb ending that is delicately delivered and adds an excellent final touch tying up loose ends and book-ending the feature with its opening number, which willThe saving grace is Dion Beebe's beautiful cinematography, Cotillard, Cruz and a superb ending that is delicately delivered and adds an excellent final touch tying up loose ends and book-ending the feature with its opening number, which will most likely be confusing for those that aren't familiar with Fellini's original film. Everything said, I'm interested in seeing it again. I am leaving room for this one to grow on me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BobsonFeb 5, 2014
For me was a very good movie, if you enjoy movies and musicals, this is for you. The cinematography was excellent. Kidman, Dench, Cruz, Cotillard, Fergie, HUdson look very nice in the movie. you must to see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews