Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Distributing Corporation (MGM) | Release Date: December 7, 2001
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 42 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
34
Mixed:
4
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
9
DeniS.Feb 20, 2003
A great script! The symbolism is fantastic! The film displays the difference in warfare between Serbs and Muslims. It also shows the "good will" of the international community to help the needy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeffM.Dec 17, 2002
Interesting film, but better than "Amelie"? Hardly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveM.Nov 4, 2003
Joseph Heller redux!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MartaMay 8, 2003
Its simplicity and humor are the best war definition.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArmondA.May 30, 2007
This is a darkly comic version of ALL QUIET ON THE WESTERN FRONT, and viewers tend to ask whether its political even-handedness doesn't cause it to suffer from the same fault that plagued the old classic. To many veterans and students This is a darkly comic version of ALL QUIET ON THE WESTERN FRONT, and viewers tend to ask whether its political even-handedness doesn't cause it to suffer from the same fault that plagued the old classic. To many veterans and students of "The Great War", it is wrong-headed to portray the German soldiers so sympathetically, even though many of them were indeed just poor slobs doing the dirty work of the Kaiser and his privileged court. At the screening of No Man's Land in my house, our guest was a young diplomat from Croatia who gave us insight into the mutual contribution of the Serbs and Croats to the shooting war in Bosnia. The latter country became a surrogate battleground for other breakaway Yugoslav provinces whose interests were defined by their ex-patriots living abroad. In truth there was no clear victim-villain situation, which makes the dark cynicism of the auteur more in keeping with the facts than one might think. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeS.Feb 13, 2002
Excellent film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdnanO.Mar 26, 2002
I feel sorry for those who did not get it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SunnyL.May 6, 2003
An excellent look into the consequences of racism, political apathy and pointless warmaking. A little more background about the war could have helped, but its universal theme holds true for any conflict between neighboring countries or An excellent look into the consequences of racism, political apathy and pointless warmaking. A little more background about the war could have helped, but its universal theme holds true for any conflict between neighboring countries or ethnic rivals. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VeeOct 3, 2004
A poignant story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikoR.Jan 31, 2005
An evenhanded look at the absurdity of our world, and the senseless ignorance that all of us are part of. And at the end of the movie, you may ask yourself "Is this what we have become", and for the life of it, you can't lie to yourself An evenhanded look at the absurdity of our world, and the senseless ignorance that all of us are part of. And at the end of the movie, you may ask yourself "Is this what we have become", and for the life of it, you can't lie to yourself and say "no". Bitter moments of recognition for anyone who's ever been affiliated with the UN, or news TV. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanL.Mar 31, 2002
Dark and very intelligent. Should have been nominated for Best Picture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelF.Mar 31, 2002
It's really good, and it did deserve the Oscar, I guess. I liked "Amelie" more but this film has more to say than "Amelie." It's a very good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanC.Apr 27, 2002
Absolutely compelling. I haven't been this emotionally shaken by a wartime movie since "Life Is Beautiful."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AmurabiM.May 31, 2006
Absurdist and serious comedy of war. This is an attempt to de-mitify the war at Bosnia, covering it with a plenty of black humor. But I have a complain, why american people think that the war in Balcans was terrible and don´t act at Absurdist and serious comedy of war. This is an attempt to de-mitify the war at Bosnia, covering it with a plenty of black humor. But I have a complain, why american people think that the war in Balcans was terrible and don´t act at the precise moment? I think this film is overrated because that hypocritical sentiment. It´s the triumph of the political correction over the really significant cinematographic values. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JamesL.Dec 23, 2002
One of the best movies of the year. It was simple and complex at the same time, which not many American filmmakers can do without being inane. The thing that really stood out was, at the very end, the great symbolism. Near perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
wololoooMar 27, 2012
In No Man's Land, Danis Tanociv takes a simple premise, and applies it with a huge amount of intelligence and wit. The dialogue is sharp and often hilarious, and watching the Bosnian and Serb soldiers play off each other is one of theIn No Man's Land, Danis Tanociv takes a simple premise, and applies it with a huge amount of intelligence and wit. The dialogue is sharp and often hilarious, and watching the Bosnian and Serb soldiers play off each other is one of the highlights of the film. There's a much greater emphasis on narrative and symbolism than cinematography, which is nothing special but gets the job done nicely.
Tanovic paints a cynical portrait of the UN, questioning their involvement as peacemakers.
The ending was merciless and not at all what I expected, but nonetheless brilliant. No Man's Land deserved the Oscar for best foreign language picture, and is a stellar debut from Tanovic.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews