Metascore
26

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 14
  2. Negative: 9 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Simon Crook
    May 27, 2013
    80
    Loopy, film-literate and full-bore, it's a sadistic '70s thriller in modern-day garb.
  2. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    May 8, 2013
    70
    Director Ryûhei Kitamura (The Midnight Meat Train) is too talented for material this retro-junky, but he and screenwriter David Cohen keep the action coming hard and fast.
  3. Reviewed by: James Mottram
    May 27, 2013
    60
    Depending on taste, you’ll be left either barfing or laughing.
  4. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    May 9, 2013
    30
    Mr. Kitamura, an action enthusiast who prefers to show rather than tell, seems unaware that the film’s dialogue is laughable, its characters unfathomable and the acting often less than optimal.
  5. Reviewed by: Kevin Jagernauth
    May 13, 2013
    25
    Almost coming off like an academic blueprint of what a serial killer movie should look like, rather than anything with a distinct voice or authorial hand, "No One Lives" shocks by virtue of being completely uninteresting.
  6. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    May 8, 2013
    25
    How bad is No One Lives, the new bottom-feeding schlock-fest from WWE Studios? Simply put: It’s bad enough to make some of the studio’s other offerings, like the Steve Austin deathmatch movie "The Condemned" and the Kane-starring slasher flick "See No Evil," look like genre gems.
  7. Reviewed by: Farran Smith Nehme
    May 9, 2013
    0
    So unspeakably dull that it can’t even offend, save when the filmmakers have the almighty nerve to quote Alfred Hitchcock and Jonathan Demme. It would be far better to rip off a William Castle movie, and aim for a level they have a prayer of actually hitting.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. May 11, 2013
    10
    Naughty,scary,bloody but a great movie.
    It made me feel pump all the movie.Really really nervous who's next.
    In the trailer it spoiler too
    Naughty,scary,bloody but a great movie.
    It made me feel pump all the movie.Really really nervous who's next.
    In the trailer it spoiler too much,but when i watched it,i still really into the movie.Trust me,it don't waste time,just give it a chance you'll see
    Expand
  2. May 11, 2013
    10
    No One Lives is the type of movie that starts as many others and suddenly becomes something unexpected.

    It is difficult to tell what
    No One Lives is the type of movie that starts as many others and suddenly becomes something unexpected.

    It is difficult to tell what happens without spoiling; but as in others Ryûhei Kitamura movies, there is no Good vs Evil but Evil vs Evil. If you never see any of his movies; get VERSUS before looking at this one.

    Performances varies; Luke Evans is perfect; totally charismatic and captivating. Derek Magyar is terrifying as a psycho meeting his match. Laura Ramsey is pretty good as the other female characters; but Adelaide Clemens disappoints in a complex character far above her acting skills.

    There is strong violence and gore but it never gets too disgusting (or at least too realistic) and are lots of dark funny moments.
    Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    7
    Constantly watchable.This lively and tense horror comes with a good twist in its storyline which, unusually, comes near the beginning ratherConstantly watchable.This lively and tense horror comes with a good twist in its storyline which, unusually, comes near the beginning rather than at the end of its running time. If you're a fan of the genre you can't go wrong. Also, there is no need for a spoiler alert as the title says it all. Expand
  4. Jun 18, 2013
    5
    No One Lives is a horror slasher film. All seen before? Yes, but it have its twists. The acting is mediocre at times and terrible at times,No One Lives is a horror slasher film. All seen before? Yes, but it have its twists. The acting is mediocre at times and terrible at times, but overall, is No One Lives a horrible movie? As a horror it almost has nothing new or original (Traps, Psychopaths) but as a movie to watch with your friends at night, it might sort of give you a funny time, but overall. Maybe Collapse
  5. Jun 21, 2013
    0
    I wouldn't make my cat sit through this piece of garbage. If I went to a movie theater and paid 9.50$ for a ticket I'd personally hunt downI wouldn't make my cat sit through this piece of garbage. If I went to a movie theater and paid 9.50$ for a ticket I'd personally hunt down the director and writer and feed them to a stupid wood-chipper. Expand
  6. Jun 29, 2013
    0
    Has to be one of the worst movies ever made. Terrible acted and the plot made absolutely no sense what so ever. Honestly, How can someoneHas to be one of the worst movies ever made. Terrible acted and the plot made absolutely no sense what so ever. Honestly, How can someone honestly like trash like this? Expand

See all 7 User Reviews

Trailers