Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Mar 28, 2014
    91
    Despite wild deviations in spiritual themes and execution, nothing in Noah approaches sacrilege or surrender, making this an acutely sensible biblical epic. It may simply be too strange for the masses to notice.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Mar 27, 2014
    90
    Darren Aronofsky brings wild ambition and thrilling artistry to one of the Old Testament’s best-known, most dramatic, least plausible stories — Noah and the ark — with Russell Crowe infusing the role of God’s first seaman and zookeeper with all his surly majesty.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Mar 21, 2014
    90
    Darren Aronofsky wrestles one of scripture's most primal stories to the ground and extracts something vital and audacious, while also pushing some aggressive environmentalism, in Noah.
  4. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Mar 27, 2014
    88
    This is a Noah for the 21st century, one of the most dazzling and unforgettable biblical epics ever put on film.
  5. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Apr 18, 2014
    83
    Darren Aronofsky's Noah is not just one of the most ambitious films I've seen this year, it's one of the most ambitious films I've ever seen.
  6. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Mar 27, 2014
    83
    Overall, Noah represents a respectful take on an old story by filmmakers who pose a pertinent question. The Creator promises never again to wipe humanity off the face of the Earth, signing that covenant with the cheering image of a rainbow. Does that mean he won’t let us wipe ourselves out millennia later, if we’re hell-bent on doing so?
User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 598 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 98 out of 227
  1. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    An incredible movie with great graphics, story and characters. As a christian I do not find a unique interpretation of the Noah story a badAn incredible movie with great graphics, story and characters. As a christian I do not find a unique interpretation of the Noah story a bad thing. No, on the contrary I think it is a really good thing - if I want to read the actual story, I'll read the Bible. The Noah is not a retelling, but rather an attempt to understand the values and to make the short tale something bigger and more complex. And they did it right - drama made me weep, action made me thrilled, conclusion gave me feeling of hope and happiness Full Review »
  2. Mar 28, 2014
    3
    While not the worst film I've ever seen, Noah has to be one of, if not the most disappointing.

    I was under no illusion that this would be
    While not the worst film I've ever seen, Noah has to be one of, if not the most disappointing.

    I was under no illusion that this would be 100% faithful to the source material, and some embellishment was to be expected, but what Aronofsky has done is inexcusable and absurd.

    What a wasted opportunity.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 28, 2014
    2
    What do you get if you mix 130 million dollars, a talented but clearly misguided director and a story believed and respected by hundreds ofWhat do you get if you mix 130 million dollars, a talented but clearly misguided director and a story believed and respected by hundreds of millions of people around the world.

    In this instance, a nonsensical mess thats what.

    The 2 points are for a few striking scenes in an otherwise dreadful movie.
    Full Review »