Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 549 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Mar 28, 2014
    91
    Despite wild deviations in spiritual themes and execution, nothing in Noah approaches sacrilege or surrender, making this an acutely sensible biblical epic. It may simply be too strange for the masses to notice.
  2. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Mar 27, 2014
    83
    Overall, Noah represents a respectful take on an old story by filmmakers who pose a pertinent question. The Creator promises never again to wipe humanity off the face of the Earth, signing that covenant with the cheering image of a rainbow. Does that mean he won’t let us wipe ourselves out millennia later, if we’re hell-bent on doing so?
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Mar 27, 2014
    80
    Noah can be silly or sublime, but it's never less than fascinating. I was on board from start to finish.
  4. 75
    It isn’t “The Ten Commandments” and Crowe is no Charlton Heston. But Noah makes Biblical myth grand in scope and intimate in appeal. The purists can always go argue over “God Isn’t Dead.” The rest of creation can appreciate this rousing good yarn, told with blood and guts and brawn and beauty, with just a hint of madness to the whole enterprise.
  5. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Apr 2, 2014
    67
    Aronofsky’s story of Noah and his ark is far-removed from our collective recollections of Sunday school pageants and Cecil B. DeMille extravaganzas. Instead, this film opts for the sort of human-scaled realism that almost allows us to smell the dank stench of a menagerie cooped up for 40 days and nights on a water-swept barge.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Mar 27, 2014
    63
    Neither fish nor fowl, neither foul nor inspiring, director and co-writer Darren Aronofsky's strange and often rich new movie Noah has enough actual filmmaking to its name to deserve better handling than a plainly nervous Paramount Pictures has given it.
  7. Reviewed by: Adam Nayman
    Mar 27, 2014
    38
    What could have made Noah work is the same sense of urgency – of fateful craziness – that made "Pi" so memorable, and which also factored into the fatal obsessions of "The Wrestler" and "Black Swan" (two very flawed movies that admittedly benefited from stronger lead performances than the one here).

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 215
  2. Negative: 94 out of 215
  1. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    An incredible movie with great graphics, story and characters. As a christian I do not find a unique interpretation of the Noah story a bad thing. No, on the contrary I think it is a really good thing - if I want to read the actual story, I'll read the Bible. The Noah is not a retelling, but rather an attempt to understand the values and to make the short tale something bigger and more complex. And they did it right - drama made me weep, action made me thrilled, conclusion gave me feeling of hope and happiness Expand
  2. Mar 29, 2014
    9
    No one should see Noah without knowing who Darren Aronofsky is. No one should see Noah expecting a Mel Gibson movie about Bible stories. People should expect to see pain and evil manifest on screen. That's what makes Noah great.

    As with any Aronofsky film a single viewing is hardly enough to get his message. That said, I don't think this is his best movie. It does hold up to his other work which says a lot considering the company. Some scenes early on are so intense and jarring they assure you this is classic Aronofsky brilliance. These short lived moments aren't to say the rest of the movie is bad, and it's not as though the intensity decreases later on, but if you lose sight of these moments you're likely going to miss the message.
    Expand
  3. Mar 30, 2014
    8
    The movie is about the fanatic Noah trying to fulfill the will of God (as he sees it) at any cost, even if it hurts his own family. The visuals are breathtaking. Crowe, Jennifer Connelly and Anthony Hopkins were great, Emma Watson's character was pretty bland. I felt the length of the movie was too much. Overall I liked it. Expand
  4. Mar 31, 2014
    5
    This movie is interesting. The beginning is very hard to understand, with odd editing choices and a sluggish pace. The middle of the film is pretty good, with some standout fight sequences, but still no story that makes sense. Then the end of the movie drags on in an overly dramatic sequence on the ark. The acting is alright, with Ray Winstone being the standout. But ultimately none of the characters are put to good use. However, some the CGI is very good, the "world-creation" scenes being the standouts. But, in the end, the movie fails. Expand
  5. Aug 23, 2014
    3
    Aronofsky's "Noah" is a bold yet impotent attempt to portray such a well known epic. I kept thinking throughout that "old Hollywood" with Charleton Heston and the attendant grandeur would've been so much more satisfying. The film's end was totally lackluster given the fact that this count-them-on-two-hands set of people were the only ones left to repopulate the planet! The magnificent gravity of that was never adequately expressed. Very disappointing attempt at what should've been an amazing experience. Expand
  6. Mar 29, 2014
    1
    I can't believe how many positive reviews there are from professional critics! Were they threatened?! Bribed?! Or did they just see a different movie than me.

    This has surely got to be an early contender for worst movie of the year.
    Expand
  7. Jul 19, 2014
    0
    As a filmmaker, I would simply be ashamed to present this garbage to an audience. Sub par CGI, horrible acting, dialogue that makes you cringe. The costume department must have had an off day as well. Just awful. Expand

See all 215 User Reviews

Trailers