Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 512 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    May 30, 2013
    91
    Now You See Me can’t quite claim to be the ideal crime drama – that would be “The Usual Suspects,” which justly won an Oscar for its script – but it’s only one level down.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    May 30, 2013
    75
    At times, Now You See Me suggests Christopher Nolan's "The Prestige" made with a throwaway wink.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    May 30, 2013
    63
    The problem is that, in focusing on what makes a good caper, director Louis Leterrier forgot about what makes a good movie: character development, carefully constructed tension and believable plot points.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    May 30, 2013
    50
    A superficially diverting but substance-free concoction, a would-be thriller as evanescent as a magic trick and one that develops no suspense or rooting interest because the characters possess all the substance of invisible ink.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    May 31, 2013
    50
    There is nothing magical about seeing one’s umpteenth car chase. Mark Ruffalo plays the weirdly scruffy FBI agent on the case, while Morgan Freeman, in super-slow mode, plays a famous magic debunker. He’d make the ideal critic for this movie.
  6. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jun 6, 2013
    40
    It seems that the director, who also made "The Incredible Hulk" and "Clash of the Titans," will do anything to distract us from the emptiness to which he has devoted himself. [10 & 17 June 2013, p.110]
  7. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    May 30, 2013
    38
    This is a slick con, all flash and no substance. Now You See Me seems awfully sure of itself, with self-important, intrusive music, sweeping tracking shots and actors chewing up the scenery.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 162
  1. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed this movie...fun entertainment with a surprising twist at the very end. Not a lot of magic in the film, but enough toWe thoroughly enjoyed this movie...fun entertainment with a surprising twist at the very end. Not a lot of magic in the film, but enough to keep you watching for the next trick. I do not like either Harrelson or Freeman since both seem so arrogant, but the cast just *worked* together. Certainly a far better movie than a lot I have seen lately, but I go to be lost in the magic of movies, not for any deep psychological studies or great social commentary. Expand
  2. Jun 3, 2013
    9
    Go see this movie! You will not be disappointed. I found it to be very clever and it has many twists and turns you will not see coming. IGo see this movie! You will not be disappointed. I found it to be very clever and it has many twists and turns you will not see coming. I compare it to "Oceans 11" and the "Sting". Expand
  3. May 31, 2013
    8
    You can get some "wow" moments from Now You See Me but limited amount. It's not Ocean's Eleven or Tower Heist. It's a heist movie with wowYou can get some "wow" moments from Now You See Me but limited amount. It's not Ocean's Eleven or Tower Heist. It's a heist movie with wow moments and magicians. Now You See Me was directed by Louis Leterrier, the filmmaker responsible for the European pop-art hit The Transporter as well as The Incredible Hulk and the Clash of the Titans remake. The film’s magician caper/heist storyline which was engineered by Boaz Yakin (Prince of Persia) and relative newcomer Edward Ricourt works in unison with Leterrier’s fine knowledge of cinematic technique. This gives rise to an interesting subtext about the enduring “magic” of movies, the purpose of art as entertainment, and the heightened importance of creative integrity in an age where cynical skepticism sells. Because of that, Now You See Me isn’t so much a character study one set in the world of magicians as Christopher Nolan’s The Prestige; instead, it approaches related subject matter from a very different angle and proves equally successful in certain regards. Leterrier’s film trades in the nihilism of The Prestige in favor of hopefulness and shows how referencing “movie magic” can be captivating; that is, without either coming off as self-congratulatory or waxing nostalgic about film artistry in an on-the-nose manner.
    That’s to say: if you’re interested in a suave demonstration of cinematic showmanship (no more, but no less) via a thrill-ride movie featuring devious (yet charming) magic performers, then you might want to consider giving this one a look.
    Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2013
    7
    There are many things that movies do well and a handful of things that translate poorly onto film. Stage magic falls into the latter category.There are many things that movies do well and a handful of things that translate poorly onto film. Stage magic falls into the latter category. The spectacle of movie magic delivered by skilled editors and visual effects artists overshadows a sleight-of-hand trick of pulling a rabbit out of a hat or sawing a lady in half. When movie magic can bring to life superheroes, distant planets, and creatures of the deep, the ability for an actor to guess a card out of a deck of 52 seems rather muted. The allure of stage magic is not in the act, but rather in the act occurring right under your very nose. Thus the task when creating a movie about magic is to make a movie that is about more than just magic. In this, Now You See Me is successful; creating a story that is entertaining enough to make you want to believe in the on-screen magic.

    The thriller from Louis Leterrier Film Review Now You See Me delivers fast paced action sequences, clever dialogue, and its fair share of twists and gotchas. Now You See Me centers around four magicians: J. Daniel Atlas, a showman played by Jessie Eisenberg; Merritt McKinney, an aged mentalist played by Woody Harrelson; Jack Wilder, a pickpocket played by Dave Franco (yes James’ little brother), and Isla Fisher plays Henley Reeves, a former magician’s assistant turned daring escape artist. The four illusionists are joined through a mysterious figure in a gray hoodie and the financial backing of shady businessman, Arthur Tressler (Michael Caine) to form one of Las Vegas’ biggest acts, the Four Horsemen.

    The Four Horsemen’s first act is the seemingly impossible act of robbing a bank in Paris while performing at the MGM Grand on the Vegas strip. Enter the authorities led by FBI agent Dylan Rhodes (Mark Ruffalo) and Interpol agent Alma Dray (Mélanie Laurent), who are befuddled and hard-pressed to arrest the group for an act that couldn’t possibly have happened. The duo, out of their element, enlists the help of world-renowned magic debunker Thaddeus Bradley (Morgan Freeman) to expose the Four Horsemen.

    The film continues with the Four Horsemen performing even more elaborate heists in the same vein as the Ocean’s 11 franchise in a race to stay one step ahead of Agent Rhodes and the rest of the police force tasked to bring them to justice. Here Leterrier finds a way to mask the fact that none of the actors are trained magicians by filming the performances in a fun, whimsical manner. The heists are detailed and complex enough to keep the audience engaged while remaining just plausible enough to not overwhelm one’s ability to suspend disbelief.

    Perhaps the most remarkable element of the heists is that the Four Horsemen keep none of the cash for themselves. This fact leads into an even more elaborate side plot involving secret societies, a mysterious murder, and possibly the existence of real magic. Now You See Me encourages the audience to “come in close, because the more you think you see the easier it will be to fool you.” Thaddeus Bradley’s words ring true. Despite my best efforts I was unable to predict the movie’s inevitable big reveal.
    Expand
  5. Jun 28, 2013
    6
    Now You See Me is at times an enjoyable film. The best scenes are the magic ones, which are very well done and the acting is good. But theNow You See Me is at times an enjoyable film. The best scenes are the magic ones, which are very well done and the acting is good. But the story is subpar especially the ending. I don't think the movie is worth the charge for seeing it in theatres. I would recommend waiting till it's on demand or at redbox. Expand
  6. Feb 19, 2014
    4
    Entirely subpar in every aspect. The story is a weak heist meets Robin Hood, meets magic mix, and the magic is meant to be illusions. The plotEntirely subpar in every aspect. The story is a weak heist meets Robin Hood, meets magic mix, and the magic is meant to be illusions. The plot annoyingly relies on shear luck to get through any situations, although the 8/10 cast, try as they might cant bring this movie up from its score,

    4/10 its a little below average, due to the twist that makes most of the story pointless and uninteresting story throughout.
    Expand
  7. Jul 9, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Oh how convenient, the "inside guy" was running the whole investigation the entire time. Yeah you really tricked the audience there, haha that was a great trick. And Morgan Freeman finally gets stumped by the tricky plot, so no freckle this time. Expand

See all 162 User Reviews

Trailers