User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 859 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 75 out of 859

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 19, 2013
    9
    While the premise and some factors of the movie may seem underwhelming going in, Oblivion not only delivers, but makes for an enjoyable and smart sci-fi movie well worth the price of admission. The scale of the movie is excellent, set pieces are huge and memorable, the visual feel is tremendous and helps create a genuine atmosphere. With that, the soundtrack by M83 is engrossing and excellent. Tom Cruise plays a solid main role, that didn't sell me at first but did later on, his scenes with Andrea Riseborough are among the best of the film. Add in some unexpected and truly great twists, and I'm happily surprised with this movie and it turns from what I'd expected to be a good movie, to a great one. Expand
  2. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    While the movie seems like a mixture of several different science fiction films, it is not fair to say it is unoriginal but it is more of a respectful throw back to the science fiction films of the 1970s. It has some spectacular action, some great concepts, and always beautiful imagery. It's not only worth checking out, its worth seeing, telling your friends about it and then seeing it again!
  3. Apr 19, 2013
    8
    Oblivion is a rare beast, at least for Hollywood, it's actually a real science fiction film. While most sci-fi movies are basically guns in space, or other genres wrapped up in futuristic glitter, Oblivion wears it's sci-fi credentials proudly. It's hardly perfect, it's a bit too long, has 3 endings and borrows liberally from a number of familiar genre elements, but it weaves them together into an enjoyable mystery with beautiful scenery and some impressive set pieces. Expand
  4. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    An unexpected treasure. I salute the nerve of producers and director to go with a novel and thoughtful story instead of the n-th sequel or reimagining of some previous success. Major Kudos to the parties responsible! The visuals are gorgeous and breathtaking (with consistent visual design reminiscent of Star Wars at its best), a good supporting score, and fine acting. The consistency is significantly above average (with few and insignificant gaffes or inexplicable moments and absolutely no major plot holes Thank you!), the pacing wasn't frantic or boring with exposition of characters and backstory well-spaced throughout the movie. I'll probably go see it again, just because movies like this are too few and far in between. Expand
  5. Apr 19, 2013
    9
    Amazing movie with a plot that will keep you on your toes waiting for the next reveal (while you might guess some of the plot there is no way you will guess it all!). True sci-fi. Best movie I have seen in the last 12 months. Loved it!
  6. Apr 22, 2013
    8
    Very good and thoughtful sci-fi flick. Underrated here by the critics. I know it's mixing apples and oranges, but when metacritic gives this a 55 and the lame show Two Broke Girls a 66 you know there is something wrong with this site.
  7. Apr 19, 2013
    6
    This really is a visual feast but that can't sustain a lightweight, lumbering storyline which is at all times vaguely reminiscent of some past sci-fi film (Silent Running, Omega Man, Moon). It seems to borrow bits and pieces and wrap them up in outstanding production values. Morgan Freeman reprises the sort of role he's delivered elsewhere, this time with limited gravitas. Brilliant CGI but little suspension of disbelief. The second half is missing some points of logic so that you come away slightly unsatisfied. Expand
  8. Apr 20, 2013
    8
    First, before you criticize this movie of being too reminiscent of some older sci-fi movies, hop over to Wikipedia and check out the article about this movie. This movie PAYS HOMAGE to sci-fi movies of the 70s.

    And it has done a great job of doing that. That's why I loved it. The tone, the atmosphere, the soundtrack, the sound effects, the décor, etc., all make this movie a pure
    sci-fi movie. The storyline is not perfect but it contains enough mysteries and twists to keep me interested for the entire movies. Those who feel the plot was too convoluted are probably too accustomed to linear storyline found in G.I.Joe, Expendable and most super-heroes movies. Expand
  9. Apr 20, 2013
    0
    Trash, trash, trash. Tom Cruise's acting si as disjointed from real entertainment as his real life persona is from reality. The plot is weak and lacks credibility. The best science fiction is grounded in yes -science but not in this movie. The writers underscore what's wrong with American science education, They could also could use a remedial class in plot development. I hope this is the last Cruise movie we see in a while. Expand
  10. Apr 20, 2013
    3
    This movie started out great. An interesting back-story narrated by Tom Cruise sets up the plot perfectly. The beginning drags on for quite a while, but it is a great chance to see some great CG effects. It's about the middle of the movie when things take a turn for the worse. Sci-fi fans will love this movie, but myself not being a hardcore sci-fi fan, I have to say I was disappointed. The movie throws in twists that really have no place and the ending is just awful. This movie is full of plot holes as well and it feels like watching a five hour movie, when in reality, it is only two hours long. See this movie if you want, but my recommendation is no. Expand
  11. Apr 21, 2013
    10
    I honestly LOVED this movie. It's intriguing and engaging until the last minute of the film. Highly recommended. I was worried that the trailers gave away most of the mystery but they barely even scratched the surface of all the mysteries it has to unveil.
  12. Apr 19, 2013
    5
    Not bad, but after a great opening the script refuses to do anything original. The very promising first hour gets dragged down by an inconsistent second half, that plays like a mish-mash of 2001 space odyssey, 2010, Prometheus, The Matrix, Independence day, Dune and other (and better) Science-Fiction films. It is frustrating to see a movie with such potential turned into easy box-office schlock, easy to digest to make a quick buck from the audience. They should have come up with something better. Expand
  13. Apr 19, 2013
    9
    Oblivion is so sophisticated and subtle as to perhaps be an art film. This is great science fiction as comes along only once in a decade--if we are lucky. Tom Cruise is such a lightening rod for critics that they can't actually suspend their disbelief and follow the movie. This film is complex, subtle, beautiful, with stunning actresses and excellent actors. The major flaw is that key pieces of information are passed along only once and in mumbled dialog, so one might feel lost near the end. For me, it was completely worth it. This is not a movie you have seen before, though you might see it again. If you loved Cloud Atlas, you will love this film, too.. Expand
  14. Apr 20, 2013
    4
    This movie is mostly a collage of concepts found in other, much better sci-fi movies. This is your average film that no one will remember this time next year, because it is boring and derivative.
  15. Apr 19, 2013
    8
    Oblivion delivers the goods when it comes to breathtaking scenery and CGI. Nonetheless, the plot is what you would expect, underdeveloped and as bare as Earth is portrayed. Essentially bits and pieces of other Hollywood blockbusters are glued together and repackaged into another post-apocalyptic sci-fi thriller. Nonetheless the critics are too harsh on the Tom Cruise factor. He delivers a solid performance and the roll is suited to his action junky portfolio. Overall the film is quite solid. Despite the length I was entertained but would have enjoyed more development and explanation into the war that destroyed our planet. Go see this, it wouldn't be the same on DVD, the visuals are superb. Expand
  16. Apr 19, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Tom 'bad acting' Cruise Matrix Moon Oblivion, a movie without flavor, which brings nothing to the scifi genre. It's post-apo but the hero has time to f*ck two chicks just before fight villains, obviously concluded by a happy ending. This movie stolen the name of a good game that does not deserve to be assimilated with it. Expand
  17. Apr 21, 2013
    7
    Beautifully filmed, and, yes, it's hard not to see the shadows of other sci-if movies in Oblivion, but I give it points for the bigger questions.. What is a valid life? If you discovered your life was not as unique as you thought, does that negate your existence?
  18. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    A real/serious sci-if film that takes its time to develop characters and creates an engaging story that kept me interested throughout. Some may complain about it being "special effects laden" but what do you expect? You're living in the past..it's very expensive to physically model everything. Anyway, I enjoyed it very much, Cruise still has it.
  19. Apr 21, 2013
    9
    A good movie, Regardless of the 0's and sour apples writing reviews I would give this about an 8.7.
    The movie was pretty slow and they threw in random suspense. They should have made the movie shorter. Other then that the movies plot was good, the cgi was awesome...

    Come on people its a sci-fi movie and a fairly good one at that.. why do purist have to come and write reviews giving
    it a 0/10 its childish.

    I have not went to the theaters in more then 3 years, I choose to go watch oblivion and was not disappointed, and neither will most people who like sci-fi movies.
    Expand
  20. Apr 22, 2013
    8
    Oblivion is a unsurprisingly great film, I had no doubts that it would be "great" ever since I saw the trailer; I didn't lose faith in it after seeing it's mediocre reviews. I disagree with most of them. Oblivion is thrilling with it's explosive action and mind-boggling yet great story-line. The director lets you get to know the characters immensely well (with one or two exceptions...); he also manages to grab your emotions and lets you hang on the edge of your comfy seat/chair. It's not immensely intense or thrilling, but is to a nice extent. The actors portray their characters well, the cinematography is great, the music is good, the story is awesome all these things are great, but not phenomenal: so I give this film an... 8.4/10! Expand
  21. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    Oblivion is a brilliant movie. Visually stunning, with an incredible soundtrack and a great plot that will keep you glued to the screen.
    Unlike many other scifi movies, the visuals and special fx are there to support the plot, instead of a silly plot made just to justify special fx and explosions.
    This is without a doubt one of the best movies i've recently seen.
  22. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    Sadly an underrated movie here on metacritic, fairly close to the movie "moon" from an ideological perspective. I was pleasantly surprised to have my (low) expectations exceeded from Hollywood movie. The critics claim the movie does not ask any real questions, or that it does not answer any, but to be honest Oblivion does have it's finer points. One has to wonder if Oblivion is asking the question that no one really wants to know the answer to. Expand
  23. Apr 28, 2013
    0
    Complete yawn fest. This movie somehow makes even explosions and fighting boring. The story, if you can even call it that, is absurdly predictable. Morgan Freeman even tells you exactly how the movie will end in the first part of the movie, then you have to sit there and watch Tom Cruise flail about with a ludicrous and unbelievable romantic plot arc for 2 hours until the movie ends exactly how you knew it was going to.

    I read the bad reviews and ignored them because I thought, "How bad can it be, I enjoy scifi B movies as it is" but no, this movie really is that bad. Save your money.
    Expand
  24. Apr 19, 2013
    3
    Where does one find themselves when you have "Sexy 50 year old hunk" Tom Cruise, a good story, and a somewhat good director? You get this. Had Oblivion had someone other than Tom Cruise, better direction, and a few little tweaks in the story, you would have gotten a really great science fiction movie. Which, by the way, is really rare considering the outlook of sci-fi movies today. All CGI, little substance. Have to say Oblivion fell into that pot. A good story isn't enough to have a good movie. You got to have a really good cast, and good direction. CGI was damn near perfect. No complaints there. Its basically Film Production 101! Whoever, at Universal Pictures, decided on what goes in the trailer, failed and pretty much did false advertising. Morgan Freeman was in the several trailers there are in the film out there. The one scene you see with him in the trailer is practically his whole part in the movie. 4 maybe 5 lines of dialogue and goodbye Mr. Freeman! This movie just wasn't believable. Extremely corny at times. Very weak. And Tom Cruise... Keep your shirt on pal. You're 50. You may still be in great shape, but you take away from the movie. Essentially, Oblivion felt like 2013 just with a destroyed America. What can you really take away from this movie? It was a technological advancement and achievement that we have not witnessed in movies since maybe Star Wars (prequels). Expand
  25. Apr 19, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Initially I was intrigued by the post apocalyptic landscape and high tech gadgetry, but soon I became confused. Large gaps were left in the plot and I began to wonder if we would ever get the story behind the madness. Eventually all was explained, but instead of giving you the information and allowing you to plot it out yourself, it is essentially completely explained, which makes the movie's twist less of a twist and more of a "wah wah". There are not a lot of actors in the film either, very little screentime is devoted to anyone who is not Tom Cruise, while its understandable given the nature of the film's plot, it leaves me wondering how much more they could have garnered from the story if there had been some stronger characters developing as well.

    Overall Oblivion is a sci-fi action film that doesn't really deliver much in the form of action and the special effects seem mainly limited to the landscape and the flying ship. Without a strong cast or even strong action it seems to fall on its face more often than not. The movie tries to make itself serious through flashbacks and moments of tension, but these fall short because the flashbacks are confusing and the tension is never really there; they won't kill off the only character they ever even develop in the movie less than halfway through and the only other dramatic moment is solved by high tech medical gadgetry. I would have to rate this as a rental and not a theater worthy movie, it just doesn't deliver enough to warrant the expense or the effort.
    Expand
  26. Apr 21, 2013
    1
    If more proof were needed that Hollywood has rejected plot and characterisation in favour of style then go buy a ticket for Oblivion. A soul-less, emotionless two hour snorefest. How many more times is Tom Cruise going to play a character called Jack? How many more times is he going to play the same computer generated action hero? Truly dire.
  27. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    Its beautiful, its intense, its exciting, and its a bit confusing. But, all in all i really enjoyed this, even though the story was a bit confusing, espesially at the end.
  28. Apr 21, 2013
    0
    This has to be Cruise's and Freeman's worst attempt at a movie. I cannot believe the thin yet somewhat confusing plot line they contributed to. While the acting overall was good, the characters and plot was weak. The trailer tells 90% of the story in 2 minutes that it took 2 hours and 6 minutes to retell in the full length epic. Hopefully both Cruise and Freeman will actually read their next script before signing the contracts! $130 million that could have been put together for a made for TV for a mere $1/2 million (assuming the actors were compensated at TV rates). Expand
  29. Apr 21, 2013
    4
    It's Cruise, Cruise, Cruise, Cruise......everywhere!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  30. Apr 24, 2013
    1
    Oblivion was a title i had a particular interest in when i saw the trailers, especially with morgan freeman having what appeared to be an interesting character.
    unfortunately...it fails to deliver in every aspect that a movie needs.

    Oblivion is set in almost 70 years in the future after earth has been invaded, and after the war was won, earth was left ravaged causing everyone to leave
    to a colony on titan (one of Saturn's moons)
    which had a great concept behind it, unfortunately the movie fails to capitalize on it, or even execute that story. the story takes backtracks, and then immediately changes gears for no good reason.

    i've seen many people praise the twists this movie presents, however they are not as "gasp omg" as some would have you think. every twist is heavily foreshadowed at least 20 minutes before they happen. i was able to predict just about everything in this movie, without issues. and here is another problem we have. because of the movie's attempts to cash in on twists and well-known cast, the movie fails to connect the dots. no event makes sense in this film. i will not spoil details, but you should know that containment capsules don't come from tom cruise's and children aren't born because a clone happens to be on the planet and not meet the mother until after the child is born.

    now we delve into the characters...there aren't any. if there are, the movie once again fails to capitalize. jack harper's back-story is manipulated in every way possible throughout the movie' and meanwhile everyone else's back-story is ignored, considered irrelevant over jack harper's character. they have little to no dialogue, and when they talk it's in cliche format. morgan's character can be estimated to be that of a wise-man set to stop gratuitous fighting on what's left of earth.

    unfortunately once again, he has little to no dialogue, and the best part beyond that is that most of the characters you won't even get to see until the last 15 minutes of the film.

    and now i proceed onto the setting of the film.
    people have praised the visuals to no end, but what many are failing to see, is that the visuals are more given to what's not on the ground. tom cruise's suit looks like a mix between a biker suit, and softball base plates. the world is barren and undetailed. every structure is grey and hints of rust for the metal. the drones and non-earth structures; such as the tent, are admittedly visually pleasing. but these aspects play very little into the movie, as for the most part, jack is on the ground and doesn't see the drones or sophisticated machines. so it looks barren and plain..

    the more i watched of this film, the lower i felt the need to rate it, it is garbage. i severely advise you not to see this film, it is 25 dollars best spent on another film.
    Expand
  31. Apr 28, 2013
    5
    Everything about this film is AVERAGE. The acting is AVERAGE, the story is AVERAGE, and the action is AVERAGE. The only thing above AVERAGE in this film is the score and visuals. Everything in the film seems familiar. Most audiences that like this film haven't seen all the other movies it's stealing from. Films being ripped off include Moon, Independence Day, Star Wars, 2001 and The Matrix. The lack of originality makes this film extremely predictable because we've seen all these elements before. The movie is comprised of every science fiction cliche combined into one film and distributed to the public. If it was more original and more tightly constructed it would be a far more entertaining and thought provoking picture. But as it stands right now, it is AVERAGE. Expand
  32. Apr 30, 2013
    6
    I enjoyed SEEING the film, but once I came outside, I realised the really wasn't that much to it, and I might've wasted my money seeing this in cinemas. I think they paid too much attention to "super cool" effects instead of giving the story more substance.
  33. Apr 30, 2013
    3
    Once again Hollywood spends all their money on effects and ignores the script. The result? A poor story that fails to grab, meandering scenes that go no where and the usual collection of cheesy lines. I dry reached when he said he was 'home'. Hollywood seriously needs to grow up!
  34. Apr 21, 2013
    7
    Absolutely stunning visuals and sound if you see it in IMAX or RPX. I give it a solid 7! Story is good, has some romance so good for the ladies as well!

    Take your girlfriend, she will like it!
  35. Apr 19, 2013
    5
    Oblivion is a beautifully made movie. It has impressive visual effects, cinematography and art design. But an uninspired story (a mix between Wall-E, Total Recall, Terminator and 2001: A Space Odyssey) that doesn't make any sense, below average acting, and an awkward pacing avoid it from being entertaining. The twists can be seen coming from a mile away. The action sequences are formulaic, few and far in between. The characters are so one-dimensional it's hard to root for them. The undercooked love story drags the movie until forever, not to mention the chemistry between Tom Cruise and Olga Kurylenko is non-existent. You spend most of the film not knowing what's going on, and when that is revealed, it's very underwhelming. Only worthy for the visuals. Expand
  36. Apr 21, 2013
    7
    See this movie IF you: 1. Are looking for a mindless Sci-Fi action movie. 2. Like Tom Cruise. 3. Like attractive women. 4. Like Morgan Freeman. 5. Don't mind gaping plot-holes.

    Overall, beautiful looking/sounding flick with plot holes that try to ruin the experience that may or may not succeed based on your mindset going into the theater. If you plan on seeing this movie ever, you may
    as well see it on a big screen, as this is simply a gorgeous looking movie. Expand
  37. Apr 20, 2013
    9
    The emotional weight, strong acting, and impressive visuals are enough to make the film a must-see. The story is much stronger than its getting credit for, and although some pieces seem familiar, they are grounded in plot and explanations that hardly make them derivative. This has underrated written all over it.
  38. Apr 29, 2013
    1
    This is probably one of the worst science- fiction movies I have ever seen! Besides the good acting, it was confusing, boring, and just plain stupid! Tom Cruise and Morgan Freeman are the only things about this movie that I actually liked. But trust me, their acting can't save this stinker.
  39. Apr 20, 2013
    9
    Pure Sci-fi. My favorite type of Sci-fi. For the "fi" to work the "Sci" has to be believable. While there was plenty of edge of the seat action it wasn't just an action flick and, while there were some creative plot twists it wasn't overly cerebral. I'm no Tom Cruise worshiper but I thought it was well acted. Thankfully we were spared the campy "one liners". I'll pay to see it again.
  40. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    I really enjoyed Oblivion. At times I felt like the creators had spent some time watching Tron Legacy for inspiration and flashes of futuristic art direction. I even felt that the movie represents a lot of what the upcoming game from Bungie (creators of the "Halo" franchise) have in store for "Destiny" (for you gamers out there, you'll know what I mean). The movie is straight-up cool. The music score was powerful. Tom Cruise doesn't get in the way. The final scenes of the movie may surprise many (it certainly caught me off guard). It's unfortunate that this movie isn't perfect, because what a monumental experience that would have been. It certainly would have made it harder for the upcoming Star Trek to standout. But the gist of it is: Oblivion is good. Some won't absolutely love it, but I believe most will enjoy it. Expand
  41. Apr 19, 2013
    4
    Good acting, direction, graphics, action. What brought the score down to 4 was the story line It was convoluted, not credible, and weak. A bad story line in a 2 hour movie made it seem 3 hours. Plenty of action lost on an impossible to follow story.
  42. Apr 20, 2013
    9
    Oblivion is a great movie. There may be some small things that you can predict, but the movie overall just leaves you with a such an amazing feeling at the end, it's great. The visuals are gorgeous and for a movie based on one person roaming a wasteland of a planet, I didn't find myself feeling like any scenes were just dragging along. This is definitely a film worth seeing. Finally, I would like to voice my appreciation for a studio finally releasing a sci-fi film where the story and acting don't completely suck. Collapse
  43. Apr 21, 2013
    7
    How exactly did the critics think that this movie was light on story? I feel that this is the opposite. At the end, the film still poses a few questions about their universe, but the characters are interesting enough to compensate. Tom Cruise gives another great performance with a similar mindset as he had in "Jack Reacher."
  44. May 9, 2013
    0
    nne of the most narcissistic films I have seen in years. tom cruise and the woman are the only subjects throughout the film. this is boring,no plot,a total yawn and have no idea what it was supposed to mean. you will hate yourself if you go to this drawn out plot less movie! I kept waiting for some story line to surface and it never did. I would urge everyone to stay home and watch advertisements on your tv,it would be better! Expand
  45. Apr 20, 2013
    9
    This movie was very solid all around. I think the writers did a fantastic job with the plot by generating a very engaging story which makes you care about the characters. The story has a few twists and definitely will make you think a little. Furthermore, the special effects are all great with just the right amount of action and I think Cruise is very believable. In the end there really isn't much to complain about. If you are looking for a movie with a really awesome story and great effects I highly suggest this one. Expand
  46. Apr 19, 2013
    5
    In “Oblivion” you get two Tom Cruises for the price of one. You get the actor who is accessible, likeable, the guy next door and you get the man of action. He comes through for fans of both and might even bring in a few more who are looking for a fast moving film with looks of what the future might be. The only problem I have, and which I have with many sci-fi movies, is that I need the “Big Bang” guys or Trekkies to explain the last half hour to tell me what it was all about.

    Earth has lost a war in 2077 and most of the citizens have been moved to a planet called Titan. Jack Harper’s (Tom Cruise) mind has been wiped of past memories though a few seep through for a second of Julie (Olga Kurylenko) a woman he remembers but doesn’t know exactly why. He has been paired with Vika (Andrea Riseborough) as part of a perfect team and are monitored by Sally (Melissa Leo) a Southern talking TV image. Jack’s job is repairing drones and searching for any ‘scavengers’, people still living on Earth, before he and Vika retire to Titan.

    Without going into spoilers Morgan Freeman and Nikolaj Coster-Waldau, as head of a group of scavengers, capture Julie and Jack which is when they start to lose me. One thing I do like about films that take place in the future is how the filmmaker pictures it. In 2077 the motorcycles, drones, helicopters not to forget their all clear plastic and glass home referred to as Skytower with a swimming pool that will have you talking, as will the nude swimming scene, are a part of the future we can imagine.

    Cruise, about to turn 51, works hard to keep his body in shape and while men will be jealous of his near nude scenes women will appreciate it. As their girlfriends sigh over Cruise the men will keep their feelings to themselves regarding Kurylenko and Riseborough, if they are smart.

    “Oblivion” is visual candy in the landscapes, shots of recognizable parts of the USA buried in sand or lush parts that somehow managed to escape what happened to the planet. There are action scenes, perhaps one too many, for the guys and enough Tom eye candy for the women. All in all it is a visual experience thanks to the production crew and director Joseph Kosinski but now if I can only get the screenwriters Karl Gajdusek and Michael DeBruyn, (or you), to explain the last 40 minutes I would appreciate it much more.
    Expand
  47. Apr 23, 2013
    3
    if it wasn't for the overall look, this movie would be a way worse score. the plot takes a huge dive. there are so many questions that are asked, but never really answered to the fullest, and the over all feel is just weak. the visuals are great, but the story just drags on to a unsatisfactory conclusion.
  48. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    Infinitely more compelling than his last work, Joseph Kosinski's "Oblivion" is an optically captivating piece of cinema and a worthy love letter to sci-fi films of the 70s.
  49. Apr 19, 2013
    6
    The first blockbuster out of the gate is for the most part an engaging sci-fi thriller. An obliterated New York looks great! Photographed and lit superbly, for the most part in muted colour tones, the resultant effect works extremely well. In fact, the film intrigues right up until the true identity of the scavengers is revealed. From here on a lack of clarity in the script, self indulgence in the direction and a surplus of endings that becomes tiresome dilutes the overall effect. The final twist is just one unbelievable plot point too far, given the context of what's gone before. Cruise and, especially, Andrea Riseborough make an effective team. Melissa Leo is again just fab in another of her small, but effective, supporting turns and it is only Morgan Freeman who doesn't bring anymore than his obvious stature to the role. Also, although it is not his fault, it is precisely on his entry that the film begins to implode. Still, if the other blockbusters are half as imaginative and entertaining as this one we will indeed be fortunate. Expand
  50. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    Oblivion is a movie with Science futuristic chicks, guns and futuristic alien scaves. It looks like a stupid movie with Tom Cruise kicking alien butt and saving Olga Kurenlenko in a tin box but this movie takes turns and twists throughout. The story with former human machine "finder" Jack Harper who can't erase his past that's left on earth and joins up with a spaceship controller to hunt down aliens and stay alive by their faithful machines. Now, it may sound that Oblivion is just IMAX produced crap by the TRON Legacy director- Joseph Kosinski. But it's not, the movie's dazzling chases and heart stopping moments keep it running and paced up. Then you see a human/machine hunter Morgan Freeman who knows about Jack's wife and his past and will do anything to take over this world. But not until Cruise kicks ass! Oblivion is a fresh exotic movie that's totally breathtaking. It starts off slow but then the movie paces up. Bravo. Expand
  51. Apr 19, 2013
    8
    Here's a fine example of a film that may have an inconsistent and a familiar screenplay, but still makes up for an exciting watch due to its director Joseph Kosinski's extra-ordinary sense of creating spectacles that feel like breathing artworks. The effective background music makes them feel even grander. I think Kosinski's creative process starts basically from the music. It's essentially an orgasmic audio-visual fair, just like Kosinski's previous and debut film- Tron:Legacy. He's more ambitious here, and more passionate. Although, you can't help but recognize the influences behind the story-which are some sci-fi epics I won't name here-and feel deja-vu; it still never stops being exciting and interesting. Oh, BTW I suggest to listen to Oblivion OST by M83 (amazing shoegaze/electronica band) before going for the film. Really! M83's soundtrack feels like Hans Zimmer-Daft Punk-M83 all together at once. And that's effing awesome!

    I wait for the day when Kosinski is handed an ambitious and promising screenplay. That day, I believe, he will make a master-piece worth savoring for lifetime.
    Expand
  52. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Oblivion is a true to the art of science fiction film. I love the blend of photo-realistic CGI with the live-action scenes. With a beautiful cast, I feel as if Tom Cruise was picked perfectly for this role, he nailed it! The Director, Joseph Kosinski, directed his 2nd master-piece, (his 1st is Tron Legacy). If you are a Hard SF fan, this movie is for you! By far my favourite Sci-Fi movie this Year!!!!! Expand
  53. Apr 19, 2013
    1
    This film was completely spoiled for me when Cruise takes his shirt off in the swimming pool in one swing. I find this totally unbelievable, I have tried this dozens of times and it is really hard to take off a t-shirt when it is that wet, and I often struggle for several minutes. I am giving it 1 only because Jaime Lannister and God were fighting it out on the same side.
  54. Apr 20, 2013
    0
    Oh no not another special effects laden film They are the star of the show. Tom Cruise's acting is flat. Perhaps because at 51 his days of playing Top Gun or Mission Impossible roles are behind. I've never found him to have much breadth as an actor, but in the past who he really was at the time has been more consistent with the needs of the roles he played as in Jerry McGuire and Rain Man. We all grow up hopefully. He hasn't adapted Expand
  55. Apr 20, 2013
    5
    I have to start off by saying that I saw this in 35mm film. This matters, because the thing that drew me most in the trailer were the visuals, and what I ended up seeing definitely didn't impress. Nor did anything else. If it were a dish it would taste rather bland... and disappointing.
  56. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    It was kind of an old school sci-fi, a little slow, with the type of storytelling that creates a good atmosphere by showing how the “everyday future life” is.
    The CGI is nice, believable, nothing fancy, just as it should be. Loved the sounds.
    Acting is OK (yet not specially good as the big names would indicate).
    The story is consistent, however, there are a few unnecessary scenes, and
    in some other parts it feels something is missing.
    Although there is nothing new in this movie and what we got isn’t perfect it was still enjoyable and worth to watch.
    Expand
  57. Apr 29, 2013
    2
    Great until the "twist" then descends into very lazy, highly clichéd, heavily borrowed story telling. It does look great, the sound production is excellent which is the part I enjoyed the very most, but that is not a great compliment to the story when you think about it. The visuals very much reminded me of parts of Tron:Legacy in places. I felt immediately disappointed by the clumsy first twist, why do these films try to justify themselves with pointless twists? A straight forwards story would in my opinion have worked far better.

    Heavily borrows from the by far more classy and atmospheric "Moon". What a shame, I can't help thinking that a much better version was created and then dumbed down by executives that know better. Acting was ok, Morgan was very much surplus to requirements and his character could've been played by anyone, in fact it may have been more plausible if an utter unknown was used, that's not to say that Morgan is bad, it's just that the writing was rather ham-fisted rendering poor Morgan somewhat pedestrian.
    Expand
  58. Jul 11, 2013
    0
    This movie fell so flat its not even funny! It had horrible acting, a boring plot and characters that no one even cares about. Don't waste your money on this movie!
  59. Apr 24, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you can escape a couple of major plot holes, I found the film an entertaining escape. As opposed to some of the other reviewers, I found the plot easy to understand and interesting. However, the execution in the film left a bit to be desired: i.e. why didn't the humans inform Jack of his situation when they first met? why didn't jack's wife tell him who she was immediately? why did the humans hail the orbiting escape pod from earlier knowing all the people on board would be killed? how? why now 60 years later? The film is littered with these questions (very Prometheus-esque). So believing it all was a bit of an effort, unfortunately. ...could have been a much better film. ...shame. Expand
  60. Apr 22, 2013
    6
    The visuals are great. While watching it you will be reminded of many other Sci-Fi films, and Tom Cruise has played this same character many times. It kept me intrigued until the end but the ending was eye-rollingly bad. The whole movie became unbelievable at that point (are the super intelligent aliens really that stupid?). I also thought the soundtrack was annoying at times. Not a horrible film, but it won't be a blu-ray purchase. Expand
  61. May 1, 2013
    7
    An enjoyable sci-fi film, but very derivative and a little antiseptic from an emotional standpoint. The cinematography was absolutely stunning, and the score is gorgeous (a bit like late-period Kubrik scores). Movie fans should probably see this movie for these two aspects alone. As for the story, the basic premise is interesting and believable, but a lot of the touches (like the kid at the end) do not make much sense and really don't contribute to the overall story line or movie quality. And the twist...well, it's been done...and I'll leave it at that.

    With a better director and some script editing, this could have been a masterpiece. As it stands, it is a decent movie with stunning visuals and soundtrack.
    Expand
  62. Aug 10, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I would say the movie is excellent...until Morgan Freeman shows up. He destroys pretty much everything that has been built up until that point. The same happens in every movie where Michael Caine shows up. These guys are not made to play supporting roles. Anyway, the CGI is awesome. Tom Cruise is as awesome as always, too bad he has to be there next to Olga Kurylenko, who does nothing more than stare at the screen with her big eyes.
    I want that apartment That is one cool apartment...and the pool is...CGI, unfortunately...
    Expand
  63. Oct 18, 2013
    0
    One of the worst science-fiction movies of all time. It's dull and uninteresting to the very end. I didn't care once about anything that was going on and couldn't wait for this movie to end. The only good thing about this movie is how good it looks. Truly these are some spectacular special effects. Unfortunately outstanding visual effects amount to nothing when the movie is garbage.

    The
    characters and plot are boring and dumb. The latter being filled with cliches and over-used plot threads that have been done time and time again in science fiction movies. The characters are lifeless and unlikable, the worst offender being Tom Cruise's character "Jack". When he's not being completely dull and moronic, he's tossing out groan inducing one-liners like "Yeah, well you should see the other guy". I wanted to see him get shot so badly.

    So the plot and characters are unbearable, and unfortunately so is the action and romance. This is a completely terrible film. One of the worst I've ever seen. I don't recommend this movie in the least. "Oblivion" should be cast into oblivion.
    Expand
  64. Apr 23, 2013
    3
    It's not all bad, the scenery and special effects were excellent, as were the two female Costars. I was also pleasantly surprised to see the Danish actor Nikolaj Coster-Waldau, who did a good job as a sidekick to Morgan Freeman and has gained recent notoriety in the Game of Thrones show.
    The bad was that of course we've seen this post-apocalyptic plot regurgitated so many times in a few
    weeks you will have trouble remembering what stood out about this film.
    Finally, the really ugly is Hollywood's continuous insult to our intelligence when casting lead actors. America is so deeply weary of being reminded Tom Cruise is the most amazing man in the universe... Note to Hollywood: please give Cruise a rest.
    Expand
  65. Apr 22, 2013
    8
    I good, but not a great movie. Tom Cruise (whom I'm not a fan of) does a great job in this film. The plot is reminiscent of the movie "The Island". The world is beautiful, effect are not over done, and the is music fantastic.

    Where the score comes down is there are some scenes that are a little too long. There are also parts that are over explained, that i find dumbs the movies down for
    people who may not get it otherwise. Expand
  66. Apr 20, 2013
    8
    I enjoyed the movie I wouldnt say its the best movie of 2013 but it made me pay attention. The twist was pretty nice idea and Morgan Freeman playing a bad ass was a treat.
  67. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    Why didn't i see this in theaters? Probably because it wasn't a sequel or remake. This is by far one of the best original sci-fi movies i have seen in a long time.
  68. May 13, 2013
    7
    Without really being exceptionally amazing, I still found this movie pretty decent. It certainly did appear to borrow ideas from a lot of my other favorite sci-fi movies, and it didn't always execute the ideas as well as the other films did. Forgiving that, I still had a fun time.
  69. May 16, 2013
    7
    While Oblivion is perhaps the worst film I have seen this year thus far, it is still enjoyable and presents us a competent Sci-fi story that feels like it has been pulled from the 1970s full of twists and turns. Sometimes the film feels like its trying to be smarter than it is however, and I have never been too fond of Tom Cruise as an actor. My main complaint of the film however, is that the cinematography at times feels too false and feels like a television programme, while this likely will not be a problem for most people, it cheapened the feel of the film for me and kind of took me out of the experience. The effects are great and you do at least feel something for at least some of the characters throughout the film, although at times it feels like it is just going through the motions. All in all however, the film is enjoyable and the storyline is actually good and makes you think to some extent. Decent, 69/100. Expand
  70. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    Let me preface my remarks with two clarifying statements. Statement 1: I firmly believe that any work, be it film, game, or any other media, should be primarily judged against what it set out to do, and less against other works, primarily those which do not share its objectives. Statement 2: I was expecting very little from this movie: cool special effects and some Morgan Freeman. With both of those points in mind, I can honestly say that I was extremely impressed with Oblivion. Let's run it down. The relatively simple concept outlined in the trailer belies the complexity and creativity of the actual film. Drawing upon the best writing traditions of the plot-twist era, like the golden days of The Twilight Zone, this film takes you on a rapidly-turning plot that does its best to keep you off balance. At the same time, however, it provides clues and subtleties that allow the sharp-eyed and analytical viewer to potentially unravel the plot's mysteries before they're shown. The writers deserve major kudos for their plot work, even if sometimes the dialogue is a little, well, over-dramatic. (Which, in the heat of the moment, can be forgiven; there are no real "rolling my eyes in disbelief" lines.) Given that I was expected two hours of watching Tom Cruise's Amazing Performing Ego, I was extremely pleased to see that he was actually a part of the cast and a believable addition to the film's world, so director Joseph Kosinski also deserves a significant pat on the back. While it would be easy to call Andrea Riseborough's performance wooden and/or forced, if you actually pay attention to the film and its plot, you'll discover that hers is one of the most genuine, authentic, and meaningful portrayals in the film; this should be considered a highlight of her career. And while Olga Kurylenko isn't quite at A+ level, she nevertheless turns in an extremely good performance. Finally, the set and scenery crews deserve a major share of the film's accolades; they managed to create both sterile hyper-tech environments and grimy ruins with equal believability, realism, and creativity. The set designers, builders, and managers responsible for the bubbleship, tower apartment, and props should consider this film a permanent part of their portfolios; there is not one single element that engenders a feeling of "are you kidding me?" Additionally (don't worry, not a spoiler), the crew who worked on the drones are, in my book, amazing; they managed to create a device that is capable of expressing emotion without actually doing so, and to communicate using a handful of synthesizer notes. Watch for these if you go see the film. So, with all those glowing praises in mind, on to the negatives. One of the things that stood out most seriously was a failure in audio mixing. The soundtrack (which was very good, by the way) frequently overshadows everything else because it's simply too loud for the scene. Morgan Freeman, for all his star power and the great performance he was able to give with what he was given, was terribly shortchanged; his character was marginal at best and seemed to have been stapled onto the plot to try to get another major star on screen. (Even so, he did a great job.) Finally, considering how carefully-constructed the rest of the plot was, the ending seemed almost an afterthought. They aimed for bittersweet, but just ended up with "hmm, vaguely creepy." In this respect, they did a Mass Effect; they led up through the whole thing, the audience becoming more and more invested in everything that was going on and actually (probably) caring about what happens to these characters, only to in the last five minutes drop a big wet pile of "Aw, really?" on us. Even so, I'm not at all sorry I went to see it on opening weekend, and will probably go to see it again before it leaves theaters so I can catch it in 3D, because when this goes small-screen, it's going to lose a lot. I've been unimpressed with a lot of contemporary sci-fi and most of Tom Cruise's work for a long time. Oblivion is an excellent piece of sci fi, a well-conceived, -executed, and -acted film, well worth your time if you are a fan of sci-fi and plot twists. This film is a rewarding adventure. I have no problem giving Oblivion an 8 and a subtitle. Oblivion: Plot twists in the apocalypse. Expand
  71. Apr 9, 2014
    5
    A really good sci-fi spoiled by being far too long and drawn out and some stupid additions in the story not least at the every end. Its still OK but it could have been much much better if a lot of the rubbish had been cut out.
  72. Apr 22, 2013
    6
    Oblivion is an eye candy movie disguised as a post-apocalyptic science fiction flick. Throughout the entire film I saw not only movie elements I had seen many times before, but also nearly every Tom Cruise character of note. I saw three Jacks (Jack from Legend, Jack from Jack Reacher, and Jack from Oblivion), Maverick, Cole Trickle from Days of Thunder, John Anderton from Minority Report, and Ethan Hunt. I like Cruise but without a compelling story I just kept seeing him in every other role (and jumping on Oprah's couch a few times). This movie could have been great but alas was barely good. Time for Cruise to play a 50 year old character for once and give up on the 30-something heroes. Expand
  73. Apr 19, 2013
    8
    I enjoyed this movie very much. The initial voice over narrative and stunning visuals had me from the very first second. And the stunning visuals were a consistent pleasure throughout the movie. Beautifully rendered. My attention was held enough that it did not seem as long as its 124 minutes. But somewhere along the line I got lost. I lost track of the story. I was caught thinking "What just happened and why don't I understand it?" Maybe I went to the bathroom during a particularly important exposition. However, my lack of comprehension did not ruin the movie for me. Instead, I was wooed into just going along for the ride and enjoying it regardless. I liked it enough that I will watch it again when it comes out on disk and see if I can figure it out the second time around. Expand
  74. Apr 27, 2013
    7
    Oblivion is not one of the worst films of the year but it's not great either. The key thing about it is that it doesn't offer anything new as the director Joseph Kosinski said it pays homage to science-fiction films of 1970s. You will say, "Oh, I've seen it before!" a lot while watching it. Another problem is the pace of the film, which is extremely slow at the beginning. The plot takes a lot of time to take-off and that's how I found it boring but I forgot it eventually because the final 30-45 minutes of film are good. What's different about it is that it still manages to entertain you a little because it may not be original but the visual experience it gives you is astonishing, especially with Kosinski's vision and the better production value, it feels like the remixed version of all the sci-fi films released in the past. The best things about this film are its landscapes, the brilliant cinematography by none other than Claudio Miranda and the background score by M83 which is extremely wonderful. I am only disappointed because the main theme could've made it much better and a bigger film but that didn't happen. Acting wise, it's alright. Tom Cruise, Morgan Freeman (I wanted to see more of him), Andrea Riseborough, Olga Kurylenko, Nikolaj Coster-Waldau and Melissa Leo, all of them are good at their roles. In short, the movie didn't waste my time but I can't rate it better than this because Kosinski didn't do justice to it. Expand
  75. Apr 20, 2013
    8
    Although i hate tom cruise for being a bad controlling husband and a phsyco scientologist. I actually enjoy oblivion, great and good sci-fi. Good acting as expected from tom. 1st 45 mins kinda confusing, but the story slowly revealed all clues to the end. It's really worth it to watch at the big screen.
  76. Apr 29, 2013
    7
    What happens when you take a handful of the best and most creative scenarios from other Sci-Fi films and merge them into one film in a interesting and cohesive way? The answer is called Oblivion.

    This film is visually stunning at times. Tom Cruse doesn't over or under act in this film. (As he's been prone to in the past). The other actors sadly are little more than set dressing. But
    they fill their roles beautifully and you don't really notice. That's always been a problem with Sci-Fi, that the world is center stage and the actors less so. Oblivion is more guilty there than most films in the genre.

    There are numerous plot twists in this film. Sadly none of them have the desired impact because we've seen more than a few of them before. And those that are "fresh" are foreshadowed from so far off they aren't really surprises when they happen. I think I had one "Oh. Interesting" moment and that was it.

    I will give top marks to the people who created this shattered earth. It is rendered flawlessly (what parts aren't real) and there was a lot of detail put into spaces even if you only see them for half a second.

    Overall this film is a top class flick. It merges a variety of ideas in a logical way. Though perhaps its over some audience members heads. I heard a woman say "So 52 is the real guy" on the way out. That's wrong. (But doesn't spoil anything.)
    There should be more true Sci-Fi films like this. But without the idea stealing. Because at the end of the day. This is a good movie. Because it has borrowed a little to heavily from other sources to be called great.
    Expand
  77. Apr 20, 2013
    6
    The only positive side of this movie is visualization. Gorgeous post-apocalyptic America. The storyline pretends to be something big but it appears to be collected from parts of other sci-fi stories and if you've seen at least Moon 2112. Some of this one's storyline twists will be obvious to you. The (melo)dramatic moments do not seen natural to the other components.
    P.s. and I liked
    Andrea Riseborough's role. She was great. Expand
  78. Apr 22, 2013
    8
    I didn't think I'd like the movie mainly because I'm not a huge TC supporter but, I must say, this movie actually blew me away. Not to the extend of going on a limb and giving it a total 10 in the scoring but it was entertaining enough to deserve a solid 8. The movie completely held my attention from beginning to end. It's one of those scifi flicks that will definitely keep you the edge of your seat. It has a good amount of mystery and plot twists in it too which makes for the type of movie that you can buy once out on bluray and watch again and again without getting too bored too quickly (and without feeling like you wasted a good amount of on the purchase). Yeah, it may have elements from movies like Wall-e, or even others that deal with themes of earthling annihilation and resource stripping but, all-in-all, the movie brings a new amount of new "stuff" to the screen including eye candy technology. I'll see it again but I'm still not a TC supporter. Expand
  79. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    I disagree this is Matrix lite. This movie has elements of Matrix, as well as Beneath the Planet of the Apes, Star Trek, Moon, and many other great sci-fi movies of the past 50 years. That makes this a great movie. Just when you think this movie is getting bland Hollywood plays the Morgan Freeman card that immediately makes any movie much more interesting especially a great space opera like this one. This is the movie we all wanted Prometheus to be last year but were left cold and confused. Expand
  80. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    Glad I paid no attention to the critics, saw the trailer, looked good, went to see it.
    I know many trailers look good and can and be rubbish, but I had a good feeling about this one.
    A few surprises and twists very cool film.
  81. Jul 24, 2013
    6
    While visually arresting and primed with action-sequences, "Oblivion" compromises its technical accomplishments with a disheveled script that helps itself liberally from numerous science fiction films. That being said, that doesn’t mean that much of it’s audience won’t find this fairly engaging and entertaining. Tom Cruise returns to the realms of science fiction, collaborating with director Joseph Kosinski "Tron: Legacy" (2010), in a big screen adaptation of his unpublished graphic novel.

    Like a great deal of science fiction films, “Oblivion” requires a lengthy prologue in order to contextualize the viewer to the imaginative world they are being introduced to. In this case, that world is actually our own, just not at all like we know it. In 2077, 60 years after an alien invasion triggered a nuclear war that decimated the planet, the human race has all but abandoned Earth for Titan, the largest of Saturn's moons. Tom Cruise plays Jack Harper, one of the last few drone repairmen stationed on an Earth which has been abandoned for years following decades of war with a group known as the Scavs. Along with his wife Victoria (Andrea Riseborough), they maintain the fleet of drones, protecting the earth from the threat of the Scavs. Yet, when a series of drones go down, and a spaceship crashes with a beautiful survivor Julia (Olga Kurylenko) on board, Jack finds his life changed forever as everything he knows, (or thinks he knows), is blown apart.

    "Oblivion" is an incredible piece of visual sci-fi eye candy; sleek, a wonderfully realized world of day-after-tomorrow style technology, including some brutally intense fight sequences. It's one of those films that demands it to be watched on the biggest screen you can possibly find. The world “Oblivion” paints is certainly a striking one, but the emptiness that now dominates the planet inevitably also permeates throughout the picture itself. This is the underlining problem with "Oblivion." The movie comes off as merely a derivative of other well-done, successful science fiction films. So much creativity went into the visual design that apparently little was left when crafting the plot. The movie liberally borrows from “WALL-E” (2008), “Total Recall” (1990), “Independence Day” (1996), “Planet of the Apes” (2001), and “Moon” (2009), that it often veers dangerously close into lawsuit territory.

    "Oblivion" is admirable in its look and style, but the film is not unique or exceptional. It holds its own as the mystery initially plays out, and you do find yourself drawn in, but as the pieces begin to slot together, you can't help but feel you've seen it all before. Like the drones and Cruise himself “Oblivion” is competent, durable, and undeniably mechanical.
    Expand
  82. Apr 22, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Although I enjoyed Oblivion there were moments where I found myself beginning to lull. I certainly am not knocking the film for it's obvious nods and similarities to other sci-fi because there's nothing wrong with that but it never really is able to wow or fully grasp my attention. I really enjoyed the first part of the movie where you are initially introduced to the character and the setting. This kind of apocalyptic setting is one of my favorites and it really shines in this film. Unfortunately there's never any draw towards the character and in my opinion Cruise was lackluster. He seemed very forced throughout the film and unnatural. Much like reading a Stephen King novel (especially It) as soon as I discovered what the aliens were (humans) it was a meh moment, not to mention the fact that if you see a trailer for a movie you can guess what's going to happen. They really tried to throw in as much as they could, what with clones, droids, etc. Nothing just ever seemed to hold any weight. I was expecting an epic battle of thousands of Tom Cruises being sent to destroy the human resistance but instead the evil entity sent two drones. That for me was a let down, I certainly expected a big bang of a battle but was underwhelmed. I enjoyed seeing Nikolaj Coster-Waldau but his character was so underdeveloped, he was just a familiar face. The story overall took a lot from other films but never gave the audience anything to hold onto. There's certainly a homage to Hal 9000 but didn't give me the eerie feeling as a Space Odyssey did. All in all I thought the movie was an enjoyable one time experience and that's all it needed to be. It wasn't able to hold the atmosphere for the entire movie, only the beginning. Here's my biggest beef with the film; the ending. Tom Cruise flies into the evil triangle up in space with a nuke set to destroy it and put an end to the drones so humanity and repopulate Earth. The main issue here is from the beginning of the movie to the end-ish, the drones scan everything to tell if they're a threat or friend. Not here, not after Tom Cruise had defied Tet (Hal 9000) and just let him stroll on through with a nuke. Oh, and Morgan Freeman. Apparently they didn't want to check that the passenger he had with him was his wife but instead it was Morgan Freeman with a nuke. Whereas earlier in the film the drones could even pick up his DNA particles in the air but they can't tell the difference between a white lady and a black man. It just didn't add up for me. Why would this super being even care about the survivor in the first place when it had just blasted them before. It seemed like an easy cop out. Then it goes back to earth and one of his clones meets up with his wife who apparently gave birth on her own and he intends to fill in as the father/husband role. I imagine it will be really awkward when they find the other 998 Tom Cruise's scouring the planet, maybe they'll take turns being the father/husband. Who knows! Expand
  83. Aug 14, 2013
    6
    Oblivion has great audio and visual effects. Sadly those are the best things within the entire movie. This movie lacked a good story. The movie was mainly star-driven. Tom cruise showed us that even at his age, he could still play a badass. The movie did deserve a better metascore than it got. This is a movie that is awesome the first time but never the same again. I would recommend watching this movie... Once. Expand
  84. Apr 20, 2013
    5
    It's a strange movie with an unoriginal idea. Then again, there aren't that many original idea's anymore. But anyway, Oblivion has it's ups and downs. As far as visuals go, it's really marvelous. But as far as the storyline goes, it's pretty bleak. Yet characters such as Jack (Tom Cruise) and Beech (Morgan Freeman) tend to (at times) save the movie. Other than that, other characters such as Julia (Olga Kurylenko) don't really draw you into the story. I did like director Joseph Kosinski's TRON: Legacy, but after watching this, it almost felt like watching a bleak sci-fi version of TRON 3. Overall, it's a visually dull sci-fi movie. Expand
  85. Apr 28, 2013
    7
    It was good but forgettable. almost everything that was good with it counteracted with a flaw. It did get boring in some.parts, but it did keep u on the edge of your seat and.keeps you guessing and not knowing til end
    like i said it was a good movie with some drawbacks but its nor something ill remember in 10 years like avatar. 7.5/10
  86. Apr 22, 2013
    7
    A lot of what critic say about this movie is true, but I still feel it is scored low. You will know every reference if you have been a sci-fi fan for the last 10 years. If not, then this is a great movie to start loving the genre. People may call this unoriginal but that's unfair. Fantasy and Sci-fi are tough genres to explore new grounds (in a single movie especially) without overly complicating the story causing it to drag on. It is not boring, overacted, or too long. The real draw to see this in theaters is the special effects and is worth it. Everything looks and sounds natural with a good soundtrack. Expand
  87. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    An underrated technical masterpiece, Oblivion is laced from the beginning with subtleties that were entertaining to keep track of, and to watch bloom into a plot I could connect them all to. While the long intro is a little too cool and sterile for some, I was fascinated by the high production value, excellent CGI, and the world Kosinski is painting for us. The intro provoked the right questions for me, and when I started to get answers, it was more satisfying. The music by M83 is incredible and adds impact to the film. The action is entertaining and well put together. Many claim the film borrows too much from 1970's cliche's, but frankly it is paying homage to them and there is at least one direct hint at that I can clearly remember from in the film. The movie is well made and undeserving of the critic "lightning rod" effect Tom Cruise has, as his acting is good and highly appropriate for his role. The acting overall is good and adequate given the setting. I look forward to buying this movie on disc, and wouldn't be opposed to seeing it again in theaters. Expand
  88. Jul 6, 2013
    6
    It has a cool premise and stunning FX in the action scenes, but the film feels too long and lost interest nearer to the end. Though it is nothing of a masterpiece it has some great action and a nice one or two plot twists which got me hooked for a short time. The ending was a nice touch as well, but overall the film dragged for me.
  89. Apr 19, 2013
    7
    Everything that is good about the movie are the intangibles. The soundtrack by M83 is great (makes you wonder why they don't do more), the special effects, art direction and photography are stunning. There is no need to suspend disbelief. But once you look past the intangibles, the movie starts to suffer a bit. The acting feels a little force with Tom Cruise doing what he needs to get through the script, but the rest of the cast doesn't quite feel like it believes in the story and that contrast is painful to watch for 2 hours. While the plot twist add some freshness, the last scene leaves me puzzled with what Kosinski is trying to get across.

    In short Oblivion has all the ingredients of being a great sci-fi tale, but ends up being ok or decent
    Expand
  90. Apr 20, 2013
    6
    Not a movie to see with the girlfriend... This movie amazes with the awesome landscapes of a vacant earth. A scene that showed Tom Cruise riding his bike across the arid plains was one of my favorite. But you quickly realize that Tom and his friend up in the skytower are pretty much alone with drones. All of the other humans have left to the moon, Titan. So this gives the movie a slow start with Tom Cruise doing his daily routine of fixing up the drones. Then, halfway through the movie, after the very long intro, a new character arrives and weird things, really weird things, start to happen. During the intro, my girlfriend checked her phone to see what the time was which was a sign to me that she was losing interest. Then, after the third character arrives, our minds are blown and we have no idea whats going on... And we were paying attention, but we must have missed a little detail somewhere because at the lackluster ending, we had many questions that were left unanswered. Most sci-fi lovers will probably get it, but two 15 year olds might not. Expand
  91. Jun 1, 2013
    10
    This movie is absolutely amazing, the setting, the effects, the story, acting and the soundtracks are just AMAZING. You should definitely check this movie out, you won't regret it!
  92. Jul 19, 2013
    5
    I din't actually like Oblivion. It was too hard to understand and it was kind of boring sometimes and i didn't really enjoy it. I didn't understand the whole point and what was really or not. A waste of 7 euros. Only on Dvd for the special effects which are kinda impressive. I also like the fight Cruise Vs Cruise.
  93. Jul 4, 2013
    7
    Many people have addressed that the film seems almost, “routine" in a sense, because many of the themes portrayed in the film are reminiscent to those from other films before it. However, these criticisms go very far and completely state that “there is nothing special about this film, it’s a blatant rip off of hundreds of sci-fi films before it." I have to disagree.

    There is much to
    love about oblivion, in fact, it’s first half has possibly some of the most creative aspects of a story and setting I've seen. Expand
  94. Sep 29, 2013
    6
    Oblivion is very aesthetically pleasing; the visuals are certainly well done. However, a deeper script and more watertight storyline would help to satisfy the movie-goer looking for more than just visuals.
  95. Sep 19, 2013
    5
    Tom Cruise is a mercurial actor when you dig into his body of work, and his role in Oblivion almost seems custom-built for somebody else. The story itself is incredibly thin, but all the pieces fall together in proper sequence, and in the end, you're not left surprised so much as satisfied that things play out the way they do.

    For much of the early portion of the film, the overall
    mystery factor leaves you curious, but once they strip this away, the film does a poor job of evaluating the antagonist and its motives. Much like Cruise's role, that of Morgan Freeman could have been filled by a much lesser actor with similar results; there is simply not enough room for him to deftly navigate the film in the manner he is capable. Minor parts aside, the casting is not so much a flaw for Oblivion as it is a point of confusion; such big names need not have applied.

    The plot itself, as I mentioned, is thin on detail and heavy on putting things in their right place. Sci-fi goes in either one direction or the other most of the time, and as a huge fan of the genre in a film sense, Oblivion doesn't have the balance between style, substance and storytelling to truly grip me. The big revealing moments are not so much expected as they are dry, leaving a taste in mouth that is familiar, but one which you cannot quite place where you've experienced it before. A strange sort of deja vu.

    A few minor tweaks, and a story that didn't pat itself on the back for being sequenced properly and went further into the details of the intriguing world it only dabbles in, could have made Oblivion much more than what it is; an average film, overcasted and underfed.
    Expand
  96. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    Don't you believe any of these young Entitlement Generation snobs. Oblivion is a great movie. Mark my words: this is the Blade Runner of it's time. Blade Runner was universally panned by critics, and a dud at the box office. Today, it's considered one of the greatest SciFi movies of all time. 30 years from now, they'll still be watching Oblivion. Like Blade, this is ultimately a love story: a pair of souls separated by time, war and science desperately seeking to reunite. It is one of Tom Cruise's best performances. The Icelandic scenery mixed with seamless CGI is stunning and restrained. The pace seems excruciatingly slow, but is perfect for the situation. With just a couple of small forgettable flaws in the science, the story is completely believable. Joseph Kosinski's graphic novel background shows in almost every frame, with perfect shot composition and transition. I was completely captivated by the mise en scene. (Look it up, kiddies.) Forget comments about being “derivative” or “unoriginal”. That’s the nature of science fiction. Finally, the M83 soundtrack is so perfect, you don't notice it until the wonderful final credits. Buy or rent it, and you will watch it over and over again. Tom & Joseph: you did good. I look forward to great projects from both of you. Joseph, I just hope the Disney dreck you have lined up doesn't bring you down. Yes, we all gotta work. Expand
  97. Aug 28, 2013
    5
    Not good, not bad. Fun, at least. The turn in the story is kind of funny, the actors choice were fitting, the visuals were pretty. But the conclusion was very poor and the enemy was so uncharismatic... 5, I will stay half the way.
  98. Oct 24, 2013
    6
    It was not the best sci-fi movie I have ever seen, but I thought it was good. It started out very good, almost great, then went down to average about half way through, and ended up as what I would describe as a good sci-fi movie for a sci-fi fan. I would not recommend this to a non-sci-fi fan. The visuals were great; the overall story was good too. It's the execution of the second half of the film that was a let-down, especially after the very well designed set-up of the beginning. I was hoping the story would go one way, but it went another way and it was ok, but I had a better path laid out in my head for the second half of the movie while I was watching it. My opinion is that people who make movies are pressured to make them/keep them simple, with less thought provoking storylines and more pop and flash; stories you can wrap up neatly in a bow at the end. I understand it, some of the dumbest movies I've ever seen, made the most money, and in the end, it's a business. However, in the long run, they will need to start making better, smarter, more thought provoking movies; otherwise they will eventually lose everyone. A great place to do this is with sci-fi movies. There is no reason you can't have action, pop and flash, and a great story. Expand
  99. Apr 21, 2014
    9
    Muy buena, la recomiendo. Todo sorprende, la trama y las imagenes. Desde el comienzo hasta el final te mantiene boquiabierto. Tremendjo trabajo senor director.
  100. Jun 3, 2013
    4
    well its kind of hard to see movies with very few actors in them, this one had very few people. the story line was lacking i taught it was a waste of time.
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Jun 11, 2013
    50
    Oblivion is a special effects extravaganza with a lot of blatant symbolism and very little meaning. It starts slow, turns dull and then becomes tedious — which makes it a marginal improvement over the earlier film. It features shiny surfaces, clicky machinery and no recognizable human behavior. It's equally ambitious and gormless.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Apr 22, 2013
    50
    In space, Jack hopes, someone may hear you dream. But in a movie theater, no one will see you yawn.
  3. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Apr 22, 2013
    50
    Yet Oblivion is worth the trip. There are two reasons for this. The first is the cinematography of Claudio Miranda.