Obvious Child

  • Studio: A24
  • Release Date: Jun 6, 2014
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 52
  2. Negative: 8 out of 52
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 14, 2014
    2
    If you find stepping into dog turds or public farting automatically funny, this is your movie. Jenny Slade is not a bad actress, but her standup stuff is pathetically bad---Lenny Bruce without teeth trying to be ingratiating. The abortion at the end was heartening--this character should not reproduce.
  2. Jul 9, 2014
    1
    just bad. unless yogurt underwear and farts are your thing. 27 and makes 0 money living in NY for 5 years and whining. then working hard on her act(again for 0 money) to what end? oh i'm so quirky, i say disgusting things at the wrong moment, oh i'm so cool. casting couldn't be more stereotypical. lets see how can we make her even more jewish and him even more whitebread - or for herjust bad. unless yogurt underwear and farts are your thing. 27 and makes 0 money living in NY for 5 years and whining. then working hard on her act(again for 0 money) to what end? oh i'm so quirky, i say disgusting things at the wrong moment, oh i'm so cool. casting couldn't be more stereotypical. lets see how can we make her even more jewish and him even more whitebread - or for her friend, gay. there are so many parts that make no sense but why spoil it - if you don't have air conditioning then by all means go, bring earplugs and a pillow. its a happy abortion commercial. Expand
  3. Oct 11, 2014
    3
    i really wanted to like this. i liked parts of it. the trope of the brooklyn almost-30-person-who's-still-a-child is played out. everything that donna had to say was clever and funny, but, really, who talks like that all the time? and, of course, she doesn't have anything resembling a real job. the ultimate goy boyfriend was annoying. as were the coincidences. worth watching for jennyi really wanted to like this. i liked parts of it. the trope of the brooklyn almost-30-person-who's-still-a-child is played out. everything that donna had to say was clever and funny, but, really, who talks like that all the time? and, of course, she doesn't have anything resembling a real job. the ultimate goy boyfriend was annoying. as were the coincidences. worth watching for jenny slate. hope she graduates to a better role next time. Expand
  4. Feb 16, 2015
    0
    This is the worst movie I have ever seen. The main character is a female comic who simply isn't funny. The film is dull and plodding and filled with potty humor and jokes about abortion. It ends with a thud. 90 minutes of my life I will never get back.
  5. May 12, 2015
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. From the beginning, the movie is bad. Although you expect it to get better, it just gets worse. The main character is very pessimistic and she makes the movie even more depressing than it already is. It made for a a really bad background. In addition, the movie appear to encourage abortion, and it appears to make fun of the fact that all of those women are killing a child, even if it is not even born yet. Finally, the main character makes fun of abortions among other things, which are not even funny. Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Frankl
    Sep 22, 2014
    80
    This is a film of ideas, but it's a comedy first, and its boldness is that it doesn't aim to address a pro-choice or pro-life stance - it's about Donna just getting on with it all the same.
  2. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    Aug 25, 2014
    80
    Sharp, funny and feeling, this isn't just Juno-meets-Girls but a smart film that tackles real-life issues with rare frankness.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jun 27, 2014
    60
    Not all of the stand-up scenes in Obvious Child are quite as funny. At least one is meant to be bad. Another is meant to be poignant but just ends up coming off as a touch weird and emotionally false.