Relativity Media | Release Date: April 11, 2014
3.3
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 544 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
163
Mixed:
68
Negative:
313
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
MovieReviewsApr 25, 2014
Despite being heavy on tension instead of scares, Oculus never stops generating new ideas on the way up to the end, with a mind bending premise, complex build up with jumps back and fourth in time, and a distinctive ending, Oculus is aDespite being heavy on tension instead of scares, Oculus never stops generating new ideas on the way up to the end, with a mind bending premise, complex build up with jumps back and fourth in time, and a distinctive ending, Oculus is a memorable film for generations to come. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
ugisupriatnaJun 7, 2014
With mind-twist plot and brilliant visual structure, Oculus is easily the best horror film since The Conjuring and the best psychological horror since the phenomenal of Stanley Kubrick's The Shining.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
agentKmurphOct 12, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A Shakespearean tragedy disguised as a psychological thriller / horror film. The movie has a strong impact if you suspend the expectation to be scared and shocked because it simply doesn't do that.

Why is that? Because you catch on rather quickly that most of the movie is an illusion. The two main characters are reliving the trauma of their past in real time rather than flashing back to it. The director makes this perfectly obvious by interleaving the past and present, having the past versions of the characters occupy the same space and time as the adult characters. As a result, you realize you can't really believe anything you are seeing and fear arises from what we believe to be real not what we don't. There are a few of those jump out of your skin moments but they are entirely predictable as in someone turns around slowly and 7 Days chic is standing there - meh.

The story though was heart-wrenching. You have boy, Tim, who inadvertently kills his father and (SPOILER ALERT) sister Kaylee because of this mirror thing from hell. A family is torn apart methodically by a sinister and malevolent force that has killed many others before. The scene at the end sticks in my mind like retina burn from an arc welder; Tim furiously pleading "It was the mirror" as he is driven away in a police cruiser and his sister materializing with the signature chromed eyes of the mirror's victims next to his parents with the same telltale trait in the window of the family's old house. Its at the moment when it really sinks in "Holy sh**, he actually killed his sister, he's the only one of his family still alive, he's going away to the big house, and no one will ever believe it wasn't his fault." No happy ending here. Its melancholy, depressing, and truly tragic.

But not scary. And that is why I have to rate it down. It passes itself off as a horror thriller but its really a tragedy. Came for one thing got something else.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
terrible_lizardApr 12, 2014
This is scary, well acted, and well written. My only gripe is that it probably should have been a standard 90-95 minute run time instead of 110 or so as it is. ***Minor spoilers*** This movie has convincing and disturbing portrayals of familyThis is scary, well acted, and well written. My only gripe is that it probably should have been a standard 90-95 minute run time instead of 110 or so as it is. ***Minor spoilers*** This movie has convincing and disturbing portrayals of family violence, anger, discord and fear. You may get upset if you've experienced these things in your own life because these are very accurate depictions of children in fear of their own parents. Otherwise the scares are there and this is a seriously malevolent entity that destroys lives at its leisure. The pace is deliberate, the gore is judicious, and the ending banishes all hope of happiness. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
Trev29Sep 13, 2014
I was really impressed considering I didn't have much expectations. The story was interesting and never boring. Even more so, I felt the overall acting was strong. The movie was a nice surprise.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
jaxmanjoeApr 21, 2014
An interesting twist on a genre begging for an interesting twist. Two distinct story lines of two siblings horrored past and attempt to confront and resolve that horror in the present. As the story progresses the two story lines become moreAn interesting twist on a genre begging for an interesting twist. Two distinct story lines of two siblings horrored past and attempt to confront and resolve that horror in the present. As the story progresses the two story lines become more and more intertwined and the resulting film is an often creepy and scary as it unfolds from the eyes of this girl and boy both as children and grown to adulthood. It centers around a haunted mirror whose influence affects all around it. Seamless transitions from one time to the next keep you on the edge of your seat and the whole time the mirror has us doubting our own eyes. Horror done well with excellent performances all around. Definitely one of my favorites over the last several years. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
WindolickerJun 24, 2014
Great atmosphere, acting, camerawork, writing, special effects, etc., I could go on. The bottom line is that this is the kind of "horror" movie that I diligently wait for. Unfortunately, they are few and far between. If you want the classicGreat atmosphere, acting, camerawork, writing, special effects, etc., I could go on. The bottom line is that this is the kind of "horror" movie that I diligently wait for. Unfortunately, they are few and far between. If you want the classic campy horror film, go find yourself a copy of Saw or The Hills Have Eyes. If however, you are craving something a little smarter, a little less obvious, and a little more evil, look no further. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
calebowensmallJan 23, 2016
This is one of my favorite horror films of all time, and I have NO idea why it has 3.8 currently. 2 words for the people who hate it, BAD TASTE. WATCH IT, it's so good and is worth your time
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
thatSTERLINkidApr 12, 2014
When most people hear the term "scary" these days, their mind instantly snaps to the thought of them being forced into shock by the ever-so expected jump scare. For those who are expecting such; meet Oculus, a movie which takes thatWhen most people hear the term "scary" these days, their mind instantly snaps to the thought of them being forced into shock by the ever-so expected jump scare. For those who are expecting such; meet Oculus, a movie which takes that expectation and chokes it into submission. Sure there are a couple jump scares implemented [none that caught me, sadly], but this is more of a psychological horror movie that requires you to use your brain to get the full effect. That's right: you're going to have to use your mind to enjoy this movie, and if you can't do that, you'd might as well see something else. Rio 2 also released today, if you needed a suggestion. Anyways...

Oculus will make you think, bend your thoughts, freak you out a bit, then make you think some more, which is definitely something I'd like to see more often within horror media. It'd be nice if more of it didn't just scare me with freaky monster designs, or jump scares, then make me think "I wonder if that thing will move" or **** it's been quiet for too long... There's a scare coming." the whole time. Wondering if what was happening during the entire film was real or fake really hit it off for me, and the ending, ooh~, that ending, was definitely one of the better ones I've seen from the genre in quite some time.

So is this movie actually scary? That depends on the kind of person you are. Is it "The scariest film since The Conjuring?" Hell no. That movie just about gave me a heart attack. However, Oculus is a great movie that does 'scary' in a way that feels more like how terrifying it is when you're about to finish a puzzle but can't find the last piece, than how terrifying it is when someone jumps at you from the shadows.
Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
9
horcrux2007Sep 2, 2014
"Oculus" is a very well-made horror film. It relies on a dark atmosphere rather than blood or jump scares, and the mirror is quite interesting and disturbing. The way the story is told, the past and the present being told at the same time and"Oculus" is a very well-made horror film. It relies on a dark atmosphere rather than blood or jump scares, and the mirror is quite interesting and disturbing. The way the story is told, the past and the present being told at the same time and eventually interconnecting towards the end, is pretty cool, but it becomes somewhat confusing in the third act when the past and the present are blended together. It's overall a very satisfying, enjoyable, and interesting movie, and I highly recommend it. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
8
JubilarianApr 11, 2014
Oculus is probably one of the creepiest movies I have seen in a long time and it disgusted me in some parts...in a good way. If you're a horror fan then this is a must see for you, Although I do recommend that if you do not like gore at all,Oculus is probably one of the creepiest movies I have seen in a long time and it disgusted me in some parts...in a good way. If you're a horror fan then this is a must see for you, Although I do recommend that if you do not like gore at all, that you avoid this film. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
7
GinaKApr 12, 2014
The suspense in Oculus is created by never allowing the audience (or the characters) to know what is real and what is hallucination. I thought the film was well-acted, but the plot was not very strong and sometimes the action was much tooThe suspense in Oculus is created by never allowing the audience (or the characters) to know what is real and what is hallucination. I thought the film was well-acted, but the plot was not very strong and sometimes the action was much too hectic. I was not bored, but the film did not deliver the scares than some less well-made and original horror films do (example: The Purge). Sinister, which I think is a far better film than Oculus, is both well-made and delivers more shocks and shivers, even when I’ve watched it a several times on cable (without commercials) after seeing it in the theater. So I would say Oculus is an interesting film for horror fans like myself to see once, but it is not very memorable and I guessed the ending long before the end of the film. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
TheCoolGuy99Apr 11, 2014
Oculus is one of the horror films that has a strong plot and an interesting premise to grind in for 105 minutes. Over watching this, I find it scary and very eerie in terms of atmosphere and chilling actions. It's one of the must-sees forOculus is one of the horror films that has a strong plot and an interesting premise to grind in for 105 minutes. Over watching this, I find it scary and very eerie in terms of atmosphere and chilling actions. It's one of the must-sees for this month. You will find it great. Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
7
ThegodfathersonApr 11, 2014
While there are moments of horror tropes you’ve certainly seen before — the haunted mirror, the family slowly driven to violence by a menacing force — ‘Oculus’ proves that the devil is in the details. Quite literally.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
BogKidSep 3, 2014
Gee whiz! A horror movie that does not insult your intelligence. There are a few thump/bump moments and a couple of shock-in-your-face scenes, but overall "Oculus" has a plot that actually tells a satisfying story. Things happen for aGee whiz! A horror movie that does not insult your intelligence. There are a few thump/bump moments and a couple of shock-in-your-face scenes, but overall "Oculus" has a plot that actually tells a satisfying story. Things happen for a reason. The movie is not exactly subtle, but it is certainly not the shear nonsense of so many recent horror movies. The Blu-Ray DVD came out today. See it! Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
8
MarcDoyleApr 13, 2014
The success of the film rests heavily on the acting ability and presence of the two actresses playing Kaylie - Karen Gillan and Annalise Basso. They do an outstanding job. Rory Cochrane & Katee Sackhoff, two actors that I've liked in priorThe success of the film rests heavily on the acting ability and presence of the two actresses playing Kaylie - Karen Gillan and Annalise Basso. They do an outstanding job. Rory Cochrane & Katee Sackhoff, two actors that I've liked in prior roles, are really secondary here. Beyond the Kaylies, what truly drives the movie is the sound design and score. Wow, were they powerful. The trailer for this film makes it look just like every other of these creepy, gothic-style films from the last couple of years, but it's got a stripped down, clean feel to it that makes it unique and justifies the metascore. If only the dude behind me in the theater didn't sound like he was about to cough up a lung for most of the film, I might have enjoyed it even more. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscApr 25, 2014
After seeing oculus it was one of the greatest scary movie ever . the bad thing was the ending it really sucked . Know were on the edge of are seats and the thing are minds is "what the hell is gonna happen next ". Grade A+
9 of 15 users found this helpful96
All this user's reviews
9
HaithamBAug 21, 2014
Oculus is an outstanding horror flick, it has everything you care about in a horror movie with great family tension and musical score (style) that I love.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerSep 5, 2014
Perhaps not the scariest horror film, but it is one of the most original. It's atmosphere is filled with tension and uneasiness, and it's constantly playing with the fact that you, just like the characters, can't always believe what you see.Perhaps not the scariest horror film, but it is one of the most original. It's atmosphere is filled with tension and uneasiness, and it's constantly playing with the fact that you, just like the characters, can't always believe what you see. That more than makes up for the lack of scares.

It also helps that it's extremely well acted and has a great plot that will suck you in. It might not be all that scary in the end, but the way the twists and tricks up it's sleeve means it is one that messes with your mind. Trying to figure out what's real and how things are going to play out based on these illusions leads to a satisfying payoff with the ending. It's not perfect, but it stands next to The Conjuring as one of the best horror movies to come out in a long time. A must watch for genre fans.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
2k13GhostOct 27, 2014
Most horror movies right now are just full of blood and innards. Despite those two aspects being literally inside our bodies, it's just a shallow and overused cheap tactic that hasn't been effective for me for the past years. The ConjuringMost horror movies right now are just full of blood and innards. Despite those two aspects being literally inside our bodies, it's just a shallow and overused cheap tactic that hasn't been effective for me for the past years. The Conjuring has tried the old classic horror formula, and it did well, but it didn't match the hype it built up for me. Not quite as Oculus.

Oculus is one of those not-so-popular movies in my country (Philippines) that should have been much more popular than The Conjuring. It brings a fresh air from the less-build-up-more-jumpscare trend right now. The story grew on me and the dread was consistent right when the mirror gets back into their house. The back story was - though understandably not in-depth- excellent, giving as a gist of just how dreadful the mirror's power and longevity was. This was the point when I bet to myself that they weren't going to win.

Most people say that the ending should be the best part of the movie. Though some of you may say otherwise, at least in my experience of conversing with people it's true. If an ending doesn't give closure or doesn't end the phenomenon, people are blinded by "Well that was **** as soon as the credits roll. This movie for me is different. The backstory already supported the ending. Two 20-year-olds who only had themselves to believe in was already a telltale sign. The movie's point was to show how two modern-day people had their lives ruined just the same as the past owners of the mirror and their failed fight against it. It showed that there are things that can't be conquered unlike the trope that "shattered protagonists defeat a strong phenomenon just through sheer will and fighting spirit."

The whole movie is like a perfect adaptation of a short story. The short story gives you an idea what the phenomenon is about, and it ends with something that will stick with you for a while. It's THAT exact for my tastes. People would argue or beg to differ, and I understand we all have differing opinions, but this isn't your typical Hollywood common movie where spoon-feeding and simplicity matters. It's a great horror film with a masterful story. I haven't been scared for a long time, and this movie just hit me in the right spot.

Oculus has its faults, like some jumpscares here and there, but it wasn't excessive. Shock and terror are two different things. The first is easy to pull off and the second needs mastery. The plot of an object causing misery to the owner and sometimes people around isn't original. In a world where the horror industry has been spewing out of tons of movies and stories would soon exhaust the simple and easy tropes. If the were to succumb to these tropes, they at least have to do it right.

Oculus succumbed to that trope, but it did it right.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MoviesForeverApr 25, 2014
Despite being heavy on tension instead of scares, Oculus never stops generating new ideas on the way up to the end, with a mind bending premise, complex build up with jumps back and fourth in time, and a distinctive ending, Oculus is aDespite being heavy on tension instead of scares, Oculus never stops generating new ideas on the way up to the end, with a mind bending premise, complex build up with jumps back and fourth in time, and a distinctive ending, Oculus is a memorable film for generations to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DirigiblePulpMay 15, 2014
Oculus is a movie full of atmosphere and rhythms. As directed by Mike Flanagan, there's a steady building undercurrent of dread at its core, something that works so gradually you forget how silly the initial premise is. Kaylie (a fun KarenOculus is a movie full of atmosphere and rhythms. As directed by Mike Flanagan, there's a steady building undercurrent of dread at its core, something that works so gradually you forget how silly the initial premise is. Kaylie (a fun Karen Gillan) takes killing the eponymous mirror seriously, but she's full of wit and joy so it doesn't hang as needless portentousness on the audience. Tim (Brendon Thwaites), her brother, is the voice of reason that actually manages to goose the movie with some moments of genuine curiosity (is it the mirror that's crazy or them? It's actually an impressive feat that Flanagan makes you buy that these characters could indeed be crazy, and not just being used as unnecessary plot padding).

Edited flawlessly (also by Mike Flanagan), cutting between past and present on scenes that feel natural, all while building to a surreal and sustained climax of unease and terror. Even if it is a bit of letdown (the filmmaking makes you think you are watching something just a tad more exciting than it really is. It hits very familiar beats on its way to a predictable ending).

What's ultimately most impressive is that this movie full of unease and steady movements, and plot and character development (the movie casually asks questions about perception and reality, especially within the context of marriage; a point which Katee Sackhoff in particular helps drive home), and not based on any existing property, while also having an R rating (and not a very hard one at that; which is a compliment, evoking more like last year's ) got a nationwide release. It's too bad it didn't do better at the box office, but the mere fact this exists as a theatrical movie is a good thing.

The Newton Brothers did the score, and while it's not a very diverse or far reaching score, it is one that operates on the same level as the movie's pacing. The repeated use of snyth-y sounding "wuhb wuhbs" was genuinely hypnotizing and worked extremely well within the context of the movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KaosorerJun 7, 2014
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Most inspirational character of the century so far, Dog. 11/10, would watch again.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Most inspirational character of the century so far, Dog. 11/10, would watch again.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
joyalJul 24, 2014
SCARED ME!,best horror film since the conjuring, tricky,gripping, tense,thrilling,a lot of scary moments, very entertaining horror film,good acting,stunning visuals make this film good, VERY GOOD SCARY HORROR MOVIE
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BrianMcCriticAug 6, 2014
A surprisingly entertaining horror film throughout the entire movie. The creepy moments aren't only in the images but also in the guessing is this real or not. B+
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jlol13Aug 13, 2014
Nice horror movie. I give it an 8 because it does everything a good 'haunting' movie should, but has its own personality and identity. The director/writer does a good job mixing up the suspense and there are a lot good 'jumpy' moments. INice horror movie. I give it an 8 because it does everything a good 'haunting' movie should, but has its own personality and identity. The director/writer does a good job mixing up the suspense and there are a lot good 'jumpy' moments. I honestly enjoyed the mysterious build up more than the climactic second half of the film. This is the first time I've seen Karen Gilliam in a leading role that didn't involve a TARDIS, and I was really impressed. Her character has a great personality, and she is very convincing when things get terrifying and surreal. Horror films have a bad record when it comes to sequels, but I think if the writing, directing, and acting stay at this level; the follow-up could be better than the original. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DominicanSep 14, 2014
I think it worth to rent it, the movie entertains very well, little bit confusing but it worth it, the ends sucks tho... And not veeeeeery scary, descent .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AlexanderLuthorSep 16, 2014
I really don't understand the low reviews for this film. For a film in the horror genre, this is top notch. It was scary, well acted, and had a good storyline. I can think of all of about 5 or 6 horror movies that meet this criteria. ThisI really don't understand the low reviews for this film. For a film in the horror genre, this is top notch. It was scary, well acted, and had a good storyline. I can think of all of about 5 or 6 horror movies that meet this criteria. This is not 12 years a slave people, so don't rate it on that basis! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
shriekingskullSep 19, 2014
SPOOKY SCARY SKELETONS
SEND SHIVERS DOWN YOUR SPINE
SHRIEKING SKULLS WILL SHOCK YOUR SOUL SEAL YOUR DOOM TONIGHT SPOOKY SCARY SKELETONS SPEAK WITH SUCH A SCREECH YOU'LL SHAKE AND SHUDDER IN SURPRISE WHEN YOU HEAR THESE ZOMBIES SHRIEK
SPOOKY SCARY SKELETONS
SEND SHIVERS DOWN YOUR SPINE
SHRIEKING SKULLS WILL SHOCK YOUR SOUL
SEAL YOUR DOOM TONIGHT
SPOOKY SCARY SKELETONS
SPEAK WITH SUCH A SCREECH
YOU'LL SHAKE AND SHUDDER IN SURPRISE
WHEN YOU HEAR THESE ZOMBIES SHRIEK
WE'RE SO SORRY SKELETONS
YOU'RE SO MISUNDERSTOOD
YOU ONLY WANT TO SOCIALIZE
BUT I DON'T THINK WE SHOULD
CAUSE SPOOKY SCARY SKELETONS
SHOUT STARTLING SHRILLY SCREAMS
THEY'LL SNEAK FROM THEIR SARCOPHAGUS
AND JUST WON'T LEAVE YOU BE
SPIRITS SUPERNATURAL
ARE SHY WHATS ALL THE FUSS
BUT BAGS OF BONES SEEM SO UNSAFE
IT'S SEMI-SERIOUS!
SPOOKY SCARY SKELETONS
ARE SILLY ALL THE SAME
THEY'LL SMILE AND SCRABBLE SLOWLY BY
AND DRIVE YOU SO INSANE
STICKS AND STONES WILL BREAK YOUR BONES
THEY SELDOM LET YOU SNOOZE
SPOOKY SCARY SKELETONS
WILL WAKE YOU WITH A BOO!

A good but confusing spook.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DenisManuOct 12, 2014
Frightening and suspenseful, Oculus is a movie about an old artifact,a strange mirror, that possesses a persons minds after eye contact between the person and himself in the mirror.With a fantastic score and great direction this movie isFrightening and suspenseful, Oculus is a movie about an old artifact,a strange mirror, that possesses a persons minds after eye contact between the person and himself in the mirror.With a fantastic score and great direction this movie is definitely worth your time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
imhellspawn12Oct 27, 2014
Oculus was a freaky movie but i hate when it is characterized as horror when it is more of a thriller would love for a 2nd film to the oculus series. This Movie was still Pretty good Grade A++
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SythusRATINGSNov 1, 2014
Ten years ago, tragedy struck the Russell family, leaving the lives of teenage siblings Tim and Kaylie forever changed when Tim was convicted of the brutal murder of their parents. Now in his 20s, Tim is newly released from protective custodyTen years ago, tragedy struck the Russell family, leaving the lives of teenage siblings Tim and Kaylie forever changed when Tim was convicted of the brutal murder of their parents. Now in his 20s, Tim is newly released from protective custody and only wants to move on with his life; but Kaylie, still haunted by that fateful night, is convinced her parents’ deaths were caused by something else altogether: a malevolent supernatural force—unleashed through the Lasser Glass, an antique mirror in their childhood home. Determined to prove Tim’s innocence, Kaylie tracks down the mirror, only to learn similar deaths have befallen previous owners over the past century. With the mysterious entity now back in their hands, Tim and Kaylie soon find their hold on reality shattered by terrifying hallucinations, and realize, too late, that their childhood nightmare is beginning again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
OpinionatedGuyNov 9, 2014
I don’t watch horror movies. Not because they’re scary. I love being scared watching horror movies as much as I don’t want to admit it. That’s the point of watching horror movies. I don’t watch horror movies because most horror movies todayI don’t watch horror movies. Not because they’re scary. I love being scared watching horror movies as much as I don’t want to admit it. That’s the point of watching horror movies. I don’t watch horror movies because most horror movies today are cliched and predictable to watch. However, this movie is such a refreshing horror movie.

I love how this movie does not rely on jump scares or loud music to make the movie scary. Thank goodness!

I love how the plot of this movie is based on character development. The character development made me care about the characters in the movie that you don’t want them to be in danger and you’re very concerned about them. And the ending of the plot is very shocking, clever and unpredictable.

The cast performances in this movie attributes to the realism of the characters. Karen Gillian and Brenton Thwaites had a great chemistry as siblings in the movie. Katee Sackhoff also did a great job portraying her character. And last but not the least, the child actors also did a good job playing the younger version of Gillan and Thwaites’ characters and they also felt like real children without being classified as annoying child movie characters.

The concept of this movie is really clever and it’s quite new to the horror genre. The origins of the haunted mirror is not really explained well in this movie which is good as it would ruin the dynamic of the entire movie since this movie relies on character development.

The direction in this movie is excellent. You can tell during the movie that the director really worked hard to make this movie beautifully shot and directed. I am just so glad that they don’t use the found footage plot device in this movie though it’s clever for the characters to mimic the found footage for their own and not for us, the viewers.

Overall, this movie is so new to the horror genre. If you’re looking for scary monsters with lame jumpscares, this movie is not for you. However, if you’re looking for a horror movie that makes you terrified as well as it makes sure you care about the characters, go see it!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BryoNov 10, 2014
I loved it. It is not like most of the other horrors all-blood-and-screams; it scares you in deep using just simple things. Loved the way the director mixed up past and present to explain all the plot. A must watch ;) .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CherryxldNov 23, 2014
Oculus no solo es una muy buena película de terror que impacta mientras avanza la película, si no que también logra un resultado eficaz, que, sin duda alguna, va a ser considerada como una de las mejores películas de terror del 2014.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GuillermoBMDec 12, 2014
Summary: Strange, smartly written and quite depressing; Oculus is a gruesome psychological thriller for a very specific audience. 82/100 [B+]

The twenty-one year-old Timothy Russell is discharged from a mental institution by his
Summary: Strange, smartly written and quite depressing; Oculus is a gruesome psychological thriller for a very specific audience. 82/100 [B+]

The twenty-one year-old Timothy Russell is discharged from a mental institution by his psychiatric, completely healed from a childhood trauma. His sister Kaylie welcomes him in the parking area and brings him home. Then she tells that they need to destroy an ancient mirror that she has just bought in an auction. Tim follows his sister and has fragmented recollections from his childhood, when his mother Marie buys a mirror for the home office of his father Alan. The behaviors of Alan and Marie change, ending in a family tragedy. Kaylie blames the mirror and now she wants to destroy it with Tim. Will they succeed?

First of all, I want to say that I waited months for this film (since the first teaser-trailer came out). So, I went to the theater with very high expectations. Surprisingly, this movie was as good as I thought. I left the theater quite satisfied and very happy. It was very strange and complex. It proves that a horror film doesn't need gore or jump-scares to be scary. Oculus relies on fear and tension. It's suspenseful and it has enough bloody scenes to satisfy horror buffs. It's definitely a psychological-thriller rather than a horror flick. It is very interesting because the film explores several themes like skepticism, adultery and psychology.

There were two or three funny moments, but most of the film was serious. The first act may be a bit too slow for some people, but not to me; it kept me entertained all time. It has some drama and lengthy discussions between the two main characters (Kaylie and Tim) and I actually found this moments very interesting and well written. Most of the first act is character development and there are a few jump-scares. Then, towards the middle of the film, Kaylie tells the story behind the mirror, this whole scene is rich in storytelling and extremely well scripted, it was very entertaining and intriguing to me.

Oculus tells two stories at once, one of them is the story of Tim, Kaylie and their parents 10 years ago, the other one is about Tim and Kaylie (as adults) trying to destroy the mirror. Again, holy crap the script is excellent! The dialog between the characters feels so realistic and smart, and the decisions of the characters are surprisingly intelligent. They're dealing with a "haunted mirror" the most logical solution here is to break the damn mirror, it may seem easy to you but the problem here is that the mirror is indestructible! It has its own creepy defense organism, that's why I love this movie, it's so strange and original.

Karen Gillian did a terrific job performing Kaylie. In addition, Annalise Basso performs the younger version of Kaylie and this little girl is undoubtedly the best actress in the film, good job! Brenton Thwaites performs Tim, he nailed it, his acting was astonishing, especially in the ending. Garrett Ryan performs the younger version of Tim and well... he was good enough. Rory Cochrane and Katee Sackhoff perform their parents, Katee's acting was superb, she was perfect for the role, I just can't imagine another actress playing her character. Unfortunately, Rory Cochrane was a total miscast, he's kinda unlikable and his acting was a bit lazy.

Oculus is easily one of the best horror films of the year and the best Blumhouse production since The Bay. Oculus was made with ambition and care. However it's not perfect at all, I actually have some issues with the movie. On the downside, it presents some flaws in its final act, it becomes way too explicit, it showed too much of these "ghosts" or victims of the mirror with creepy white eyes, it became somewhat weird; also, the last 30 minutes of the movie were very confusing to me and the story was really hard to follow at several times. But the film quickly rises up with a violent, shocking and depressing ending.

I am a huge fan of Mike Flanagan, few years ago he directed an indie horror film called "Absentia" and I have to admit that it's definitely a better movie compared to Oculus. But my point here is that both films offer a different type of horror, both deal with psychological issues and the skepticism of their characters about these supernatural issues, what is real and what is not. Oculus is not a film for everybody, but it is definitely a must see if you like psychological horror movies. I also want to add that the soundtrack made by The Newton Brothers, is modern, enjoyable and fits with the creepy tone of the film. [B+]
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Movi3R3vi3werJan 5, 2015
A truly horrifying horror movies. It has good acting, interesting characters and a completely disturbing story told with great direction and grisly images. This movie got under my skin in many ways and is the best horror movie I've seen in aA truly horrifying horror movies. It has good acting, interesting characters and a completely disturbing story told with great direction and grisly images. This movie got under my skin in many ways and is the best horror movie I've seen in a long time (have no seen babadook keep in mind). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ToffenuffJan 6, 2015
More freaky than scary, and there are a surprisingly scant number of scary moments, this film really does a good job at challenging the audience to think and be engaged as you wonder whether or not what's going on is real or not. SlowMore freaky than scary, and there are a surprisingly scant number of scary moments, this film really does a good job at challenging the audience to think and be engaged as you wonder whether or not what's going on is real or not. Slow build-up and development, but it's worth the wait. I don't watch scary movies often, but at the behest of one of my good friends I watched it and came away impressed and entertained. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bernardrossouwJan 14, 2015
One of the best thriller/horrors I've seen with an extremely creepy story and mind bending occurrences.

I would love a sequel if it's possible but the cast and crew did an awesome job!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
moonman1994Jan 14, 2015
A very solid horror movie with a very interesting story. It's not perfect and it does rely some on horror movie stereotypes but all in all it is an original film and was quite entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DCEdmondsJan 16, 2015
"Oculus" 10 Scale Rating: 8.0 (Great) ...

The Good: The best thing about this film is that there is little to no gore in it, yet it gets it's point across. Sufficiently creepy, "Oculus" is a creative and well written tale that retains your
"Oculus" 10 Scale Rating: 8.0 (Great) ...

The Good: The best thing about this film is that there is little to no gore in it, yet it gets it's point across. Sufficiently creepy, "Oculus" is a creative and well written tale that retains your interest throughout. While Karen Gillan and Brenton Thwaites were more than adequate, the best performances of the film featured Rory Cochran and Katee Sackhoff in flashback sequences. The pair played the parents of the lead characters and help fill in the blanks as to what makes the cursed mirror (the central point of the film) so important. While it won't truly scare you (but what does these days?), it is a well done and entertaining movie with a very satisfying ending.

The Bad: While it doesn't detract too much from the film, it does rely on the typically "jumpy" scenes here and there. I understand the point, but could have done without them. Gillan eventually settles into the role, but is a little awkward and somewhat annoying early on.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ItsMuchMoreFeb 8, 2015
It is often said that a mirror offers not only a reflection of one’s own physical being, but also a reflection of their soul. The eyes meanwhile are far more subjective, being connected to the human brain which may lie to us more times thanIt is often said that a mirror offers not only a reflection of one’s own physical being, but also a reflection of their soul. The eyes meanwhile are far more subjective, being connected to the human brain which may lie to us more times than we would like to believe. When the physical frame can corrupt the mental existence so easily, how are we truly able to discern between the truth and the false truth. That is precisely what Mike Flanagan explores in his feature-length directorial debut.

Oculus is a supernatural / psychological horror starring Karen Gillan of Doctor Who fame and adapted from Flanagan’s popular short film Oculus: Chapter 3 – The Man With The Plan. The story begins in 2002 with the Russell family as brother and sister Tim (Brenton Thwaites) and Kaylie (Karen Gillan) try to escape their family after he had killed their mother. We then jump ahead 11 years where we learn that Tim had shot his father and has since been in an Institution. On the day of his release his sister greets him only to announce that she bought ‘it’ and expects him to keep his promise to kill ‘it’. The ‘it’ in question is revealed to be a large antique mirror. After years of clinical supervision Tim has grown to accept the incident on logical and psychological terms. Kaylie however sternly refutes that their father was not to blame and that it was in fact a supernatural phenomenon courtesy of the mirror. Reluctantly, Tim follows his sister back to their old family home where Kaylie has set up an intricate experiment to prove once and for all that the mirror is evil.

What follows is a run-through of the long list of horrific scenarios each of the mirror’s owners faced, dating back to the 1700s, along with a detailed series of precautions Kaylie has in placed in order to keep the pair from falling too deep into the abyss. You see the primary and unique danger that the mirror seemingly presents is that, as the advertising tagline states, ‘you see what it wants you to see’. For instance, upon biting into an apple, Kaylee ends up pulling shards of a light bulb from her mouth, only afterward to be met with concerned looks from her brother as she has been painfully spitting out mere slices of apple. The rest of the plot is unravelled as the pair attempt to survive in the house whilst reliving their childhood memories of the original event. The juxtaposition of both stories are weaved neatly together in a very smart narrative that constantly places the audience in the same situation as the two leads. It is believed that the mirror causes plants to die and animals to disappear. And yet both are seemingly explained; cameras show Tim and Karen moving the plants, and whilst Karen remembers their pet dog having suddenly disappeared whilst trapped with the mirror, Tim recalls their parents discussing it had to be put down whilst at the doctors. The viewer soon follows this train of thought by their own accord. As children they seemingly could not destroy the mirror, and now they are reluctant to do so without proving its power first. Perhaps this is indeed due to an unspeakable force, or it is simply their refusal to eradicate a symbol of their helplessness when faced with such a traumatic event. Only the viewer can truly decide what to make of the events that unfold.

In the aftermath of Paranormal Activity, the director of Oculus was initially approached by many studios who wished to turn the project into a found footage movie. Flanagan outright refused and only accepted Intrepid Pictures’ offer under the obligation that it was not found footage. The end result is something of a double-edged sword. On the one hand it lacks what many modern horror audiences love: jump scares and gore. The only element of any noticeable comparison to popular horror films nowadays such as Insidious and Paranormal Activity are the odd humanoid apparitions adorned with glowing eyes. Personally, I found these ‘ghouls’ to be the only notable fault of the film as they simply something we’ve all seen before and not presented in any particularly unique sense. They are simply there to bring in the punters and deliver the odd attempt at being ‘scary’. However the other side to Oculus is what prevails and truly works in this critic’s opinion. The plot, consisting of two interesting stories, is notched up to eleven thanks to an intelligent script that delivers enthralling dialogue, enhanced by the charismatic and somewhat disturbing Gillan, and a slow-burn pace that sucks the viewer in until they soon realise just how deep they have gotten, attempting to figure out just where they are within the timelines and just what is really happening.
In avoiding cheap shots and shock value we instead we receive a traditional horror film that harks back to the simpler times - Full Review @ItsMuchMore
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Demonic_SaintMar 23, 2015
Honestly, I thought that this movie was one of the best horror movies I've seen yet since the movie-series (Saw). The mind-twisting plot and brilliant visual structure really allows the viewer to capture the phenomenal scenes played outHonestly, I thought that this movie was one of the best horror movies I've seen yet since the movie-series (Saw). The mind-twisting plot and brilliant visual structure really allows the viewer to capture the phenomenal scenes played out within the movie. My wife, 2 children, and I absolutely adored it. However, I feel as if the ending would've been a bit better if... (SPOILERS ARE COMING)
The sister did not die in vain. Perhaps, it would have been much more realistic and satisfying to the viewer if the glass shattered beneath her body while being pummeled in the head, which of course would still kill her by the end. That is why I was truly confused as to why the brother had a flash-back of the sister making him PROMISE that the wretched "EVIL" glass be killed no matter what. I think I am speaking for everyone when I say that the true moral would've and should have been; Evil can not truly shatter the sincere love and promises of blood. (This is true as to the father and mother having an outstanding relationship, and their own way of seeking vengeance! (THEIR KIDS) maybe that's why they were left alive, to fulfill their destiny? :-)
~ All in all, it was great, but with a few minor tweaks it could have been a true masterpiece.
With love, Dr Sam.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleApr 14, 2015
Oculus certainly surprised me. The beginning is a bit slow as it starts to get into the swing of things, but the man, once it kicks in, it really kicks in. Absolutely terrifying, Oculus takes an interesting premise and knocks it out of theOculus certainly surprised me. The beginning is a bit slow as it starts to get into the swing of things, but the man, once it kicks in, it really kicks in. Absolutely terrifying, Oculus takes an interesting premise and knocks it out of the park thanks to strong writing, direction, special effects, and acting. It can get a little silly at times, but horror movies of this kind require some kind of "leap of faith" and while you can easily poke holes in a lot of things, it kind of defeats the purpose of watching the movie. Ultimately, horror is supposed to scare you and this one delivers those scares, as well as a killer mood that really sucks you in with a sense of dread that is evident throughout. I also hate gore, so I am glad this one had little to no gore and instead tried to scare you through its mood and effects, which is what I prefer. As a whole, I am not sure why the audience was so lukewarm to this one, since I found it really entertaining and quite well made. Overall, Oculus is a fun watch that couples scares with good production elements to make the ideal film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NFWJun 25, 2015
In a world were jump scares are considered horror, it's nice to see a movie that actually tries to produce an interesting story with very deep psychological undertones that also actually manages to be pretty disturbing at times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jigsmode31Oct 21, 2015
It's creepy but not scary. It's highly entertaining though and a very good watch.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-2745787-Oculus-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
gigiharris17Nov 12, 2015
Good script, strong cast, several quality scares... yeah, it's actually a decent haunted mirror movie!

Click here http://www.watchfree.to/watch-29e5bb-Oculus-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
UrbanlistenerNov 23, 2015
Oculus is simply a mind-blowing, smart and terrifying movie experience. As I often say, the most scary things are the ones you don't actually see. Yes you do see the "main" ghost in the film, and pretty quickly, but it is not what's supposedOculus is simply a mind-blowing, smart and terrifying movie experience. As I often say, the most scary things are the ones you don't actually see. Yes you do see the "main" ghost in the film, and pretty quickly, but it is not what's supposed to be the presence that is the most scary, that one is in your mind and the film portrays that so well, it'll give you major creeps. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
asmanrajMar 19, 2016
The reason why I trust movie critics over the public is because critics are generally more appreciative of horror movies, my favorite genre. While critics are often hard on horror movies, the general public is usually even harder on them. IThe reason why I trust movie critics over the public is because critics are generally more appreciative of horror movies, my favorite genre. While critics are often hard on horror movies, the general public is usually even harder on them. I watch a lot of horror movies, and this is the last one I saw that actually scared me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
drlowdonDec 12, 2016
To be honest I can't quite understand why the average user score for this movie is quite so low. I'll admit that it does have a few pacing issues but its one of the better 'horror'movies I've seen in a while. The way the movie jumps betweenTo be honest I can't quite understand why the average user score for this movie is quite so low. I'll admit that it does have a few pacing issues but its one of the better 'horror'movies I've seen in a while. The way the movie jumps between the two timelines is well done and, unlike many modern entries in the genre, it doesn't rely on over the top gore or cheap jump scares. The ending was also unexpected yet in keeping with the tone of the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews