User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 144 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 144
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 4, 2011
    10
    One of my favourite movies of the decade! It made me laugh, which is no mean feat. I've only ever heard good things from people I know who've seen it. A must see!
  2. Feb 6, 2012
    8
    -"You my boy blue!"
    -"Well, um, actually a pretty nice little Saturday, we're going to go to Home Depot"
    -Earmuffs
    This movie has more than enough laughs to go around, Very very enjoyable movie.
  3. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    A CRIMINAL comedy It was awesome !!!
    It's not the story, it was common... It's how it's made... full of funny jokes, crazy situations :)))
    I'm sure that everyone of you know 3 guys exactly like the 3 main characters :D
  4. Jul 5, 2012
    9
    These movie critics are the only people I know that do not like this movie. Sure it is a bit immature and freekishly simple comedy, but a laugh from beginning to end. One of my favorites- Frank the tank baby! Guys forming a frat for losers just to keep a home near a college campus. "You're my boy Blue!"
  5. Sep 17, 2010
    7
    Childish, terrible story, vulgar, ridiculous, silly & cliche ridden but made me laugh more than I expected & I enjoyed it..
    I'm still laughing at the wedding band now. I'm sure I once saw a band like this in Oldham!
  6. Jan 28, 2015
    8
    Old School is a classic 2000's comedy. Overall it is likely one of the best film released starring the so called "frat-pack". For me this is really the movie that sets Will Ferrell up for the future he had (Anchorman and Blades of Glory followed and for Vince Vaughn Dodge ball and Wedding Crashers). There were several times hat I found myself in stitches over this movie. Its just asOld School is a classic 2000's comedy. Overall it is likely one of the best film released starring the so called "frat-pack". For me this is really the movie that sets Will Ferrell up for the future he had (Anchorman and Blades of Glory followed and for Vince Vaughn Dodge ball and Wedding Crashers). There were several times hat I found myself in stitches over this movie. Its just as significant now as it was in 2003, and its aged well over the 12 years since its release. If you are a fan of any of the stars in this film Old School is worth watching because this is really the beginning of the revolution for these actors, except for Luke Wilson who we would certainly like to see back in a film like this again. Expand
  7. Nov 23, 2011
    7
    It was funny for the most part, Can get rather boring and stale as well. Acting was solid and there are a lot of hilarious parts through out. It was a solid comedy worth watching.
  8. Nov 28, 2012
    7
    "Hangover" Director Todd Phillips delivers a sort of "Animal House" throwback with "Old School". The film tells the story of Mitch, played by Luke Wilson, whose life basically falls apart before his eyes. He then decides to move in to a house on a college campus. Mitch's friends Frank and Beanie, played by Ferrell and Vaughn, convince him to start a fraternity within the college campus."Hangover" Director Todd Phillips delivers a sort of "Animal House" throwback with "Old School". The film tells the story of Mitch, played by Luke Wilson, whose life basically falls apart before his eyes. He then decides to move in to a house on a college campus. Mitch's friends Frank and Beanie, played by Ferrell and Vaughn, convince him to start a fraternity within the college campus. Hilarity, of course, ensues. I found myself laughing a fair amount in this movie. There were a couple moments that were made me laugh hysterically, but overall the laughs came pretty moderately for me. Luke Wilson is great at playing. . .well the straight man - I feel that that's all he plays in movies unfortunately. And Will Ferrell and Vince Vaughn are excellent as Wilson's flawed but fun friends. Overall I found the movie pretty darn hilarious. Even though some of the subplot stuff was rather annoyingly predictable, the movie still managed to make me laugh a bit. Expand
  9. Sep 3, 2011
    6
    A homage to the eighties college movies such as Back To School but it is rescued from mediocrity by a hilarious performance by Will Ferrell. Still worth a watch and it's guaranteed you'll find at least one moment that will make you laugh out loud.
  10. Apr 4, 2012
    5
    This movie is flat out stupid. Had some really dumb parts in the film and some that were very funny. Characters are totally worthless and the acting was quite pitiful. Decent enough for a comedy.
  11. Nov 12, 2012
    6
    The jokes aren't as frequent as they should be, and it doesn't have much of a plot, but Old School delivers the goods nevertheless. It's a crowd pleaser, with some uproarious monologues from Ferrell.
  12. Sean
    Mar 1, 2003
    8
    I have to question whether or not the reviewer below even watched the film...the fact that the old guy, "Blue," is polish is entirely irrelevent. His full name is mentioned in passing and never commented upon. ALL of the pledges wrap a rope with a cinder block tied to it around their unmentionables, and the reaosn he scores zeroes is b/c he couldn't take the exams due to I have to question whether or not the reviewer below even watched the film...the fact that the old guy, "Blue," is polish is entirely irrelevent. His full name is mentioned in passing and never commented upon. ALL of the pledges wrap a rope with a cinder block tied to it around their unmentionables, and the reaosn he scores zeroes is b/c he couldn't take the exams due to unavailability...Sheesh! Was this movie a fine film? No. But it never pretends to be. It knows what it is and delivers consistent laughs. Very enjoyable dumb comedy. Expand
  13. TylerC.
    Mar 15, 2004
    0
    Don't ever, ever, compare this crap to Animal House. So many people that I know talk about how funny this movie was but I kept waiting and waiting for the first joke until an hour later I had to turn the movie off because of how stupid it was. WHAT was so funny about this movie?? Nuthin but dead air!
  14. RichardS
    Oct 15, 2006
    1
    1 vote for Will Ferrell, at least he knows what comedy is. His pratfalling and stupidity is funny. Everything else is beyond bad. Absolutely hateful rip off of Animal House with maybe 4 smirks all film, all Ferrell.
  15. BlancoA.
    Feb 19, 2003
    10
    I haven't laughed this hard in a movie in at least a couple of years. Will Ferrell consistently makes me bust a gut, and Vince Vaughn balances his humor nicely. The scene where they kidnap the pledges in the van (with Metallica's "Master of Puppets" blaring in the background) is genius. If aliens come down from space (or maybe some other bizarre place like France), and you have I haven't laughed this hard in a movie in at least a couple of years. Will Ferrell consistently makes me bust a gut, and Vince Vaughn balances his humor nicely. The scene where they kidnap the pledges in the van (with Metallica's "Master of Puppets" blaring in the background) is genius. If aliens come down from space (or maybe some other bizarre place like France), and you have to explain the lighter side of the college experience to them, I'd suggest this trilogy: "Animal House," "Road Trip," and now "Old School." Let me just say that Leonard Maltin also was in the theatre when I saw this, and he didn't appear to be having a very good time... take that for what it's worth. Expand
  16. MichaelF.
    Feb 20, 2003
    8
    Hysterical! Will Ferral is the funniest man alive. Vince Vaughn f....g kicks ass as usual. So funny. I was crying in this movie so many times, my god...it's beautiful.
  17. [Anonymous]
    Feb 23, 2003
    8
    I am NOT this movies prime demographic (aka, I am not a guy), but I was howling with laughter through most of the film. It's not smart, but it sure is funny.
  18. PhillB.
    Mar 14, 2003
    10
    You're my boy Blue!
  19. DwaneR.
    Mar 7, 2003
    5
    I paid 10 bucks in manhattan for this movie, and I would have been happier if I paid 5. Vince is great, but that is how he really is, so we knew he would be a riot.... I just had such higher expectations.
  20. OldCrap
    Jun 26, 2003
    2
    It doesn't take much to make you people laugh. There were a few funny parts and all, however, these were the same old jokes. I have seen movies like this that were much funnier. The movie is slapped together and scenes seem to cut from one to another while someone is still speaking. Go rent Something About Mary and then watch Old School and you will see how truly unfunny and It doesn't take much to make you people laugh. There were a few funny parts and all, however, these were the same old jokes. I have seen movies like this that were much funnier. The movie is slapped together and scenes seem to cut from one to another while someone is still speaking. Go rent Something About Mary and then watch Old School and you will see how truly unfunny and unoriginal this movie really is. There is one scene that is totally stolen from an episode of Seinfeld. BTW: do not dare compare this movie to Animal House as I have seen before. That is just disrespectful. Expand
  21. StephenM
    Aug 24, 2005
    10
    Loved the movie...a masterpiece. I was pleased to see that it just made Vanity Fair's top 50 films of all time list. Frank the Tank is one of the best characters to come along in a long time. If you don't enjoy this movie, you need to lighten up and live a little. Fart jokes and one liners aside, there is a fair amount of real world insight in the film for those of us at the Loved the movie...a masterpiece. I was pleased to see that it just made Vanity Fair's top 50 films of all time list. Frank the Tank is one of the best characters to come along in a long time. If you don't enjoy this movie, you need to lighten up and live a little. Fart jokes and one liners aside, there is a fair amount of real world insight in the film for those of us at the same stage in life (early 30s). Expand
  22. JonL
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    This is a legendary film that should be remembered forever. It is so funny; this must be one of the best films I own. I hope everyone enjoys it as much as I did. If anyone has not seen this the WATCH IT!!! NOW!
  23. NickS.
    Feb 19, 2003
    8
    If you're looking for a film that is pure comedy, then Old School is the perfect choice. There's nothing to think about in this film. In fact, if you think about things too much, you'll definitely stop enjoying it. Forget the plot and just have fun with it. There are some crazy scenes in this film, especially the brick tied to a guy's penis and the animal tranquilizer. If you're looking for a film that is pure comedy, then Old School is the perfect choice. There's nothing to think about in this film. In fact, if you think about things too much, you'll definitely stop enjoying it. Forget the plot and just have fun with it. There are some crazy scenes in this film, especially the brick tied to a guy's penis and the animal tranquilizer. I haven't laughed this hard since There's Something About Mary. Ferrell is a genius at physical comedy and Vince Vaugh has definitely found his new genre. The guys worked really well together! I'm already looking forward to a sequel. There could have been more T&A in here and the plot could have used some fixing but overall, if you're looking for a laugh, you'll definitely get it! Expand
  24. Jovi
    Feb 19, 2003
    10
    This is by far one of the funniest films ever. Not since Porky's and Animal house has there been such a funny ass film.
  25. Eric
    Feb 21, 2003
    8
    This movie is exactly what it should be: episodic, formulaic, and hysterically funny. Ferrell and Vaughn are both pure genius in this film, Ferrell as the wild man whose brief attempt at marriage has resulted in Stockholm Syndrome, and Vaughn as the wild man who lives with regret over growing up, but makes up for it by sinning responsibly. The audience roared throughout the flick. Worth the $9.
  26. JerryH.
    Feb 20, 2003
    9
    This film is flat out hilarious. The director did well in casting the main parts, and all the actors seem be having a blast. There are minor flaws as the movie moves forward -- the disappearance a few characters, a distracting wrap up to the story -- but the jokes just keep killing. This is easily one of the best of the genre, just not as sly as Animal House. Enjoy, especially if your a This film is flat out hilarious. The director did well in casting the main parts, and all the actors seem be having a blast. There are minor flaws as the movie moves forward -- the disappearance a few characters, a distracting wrap up to the story -- but the jokes just keep killing. This is easily one of the best of the genre, just not as sly as Animal House. Enjoy, especially if your a male between the ages of 12 and 40, and ladies, yes, we really are this idiotic sometimes, okay, most of the time, so just sit back and laugh at us (and with us). Expand
  27. YourFellowMan.
    Feb 27, 2003
    0
    Ivan Reitman, who helped Howard Stern to brilliantly glorify his pathetic life on the big screen in "Private Parts", is back on board for this one as Executive Producer. Will Ferrell streaking is funny and Andy Dick is great but this men-behaving-badly movie turned sour on me when it turned to Pole-bashing. Why is "comedy" masked as "hate speech" considered acceptable in Hollywood? A Ivan Reitman, who helped Howard Stern to brilliantly glorify his pathetic life on the big screen in "Private Parts", is back on board for this one as Executive Producer. Will Ferrell streaking is funny and Andy Dick is great but this men-behaving-badly movie turned sour on me when it turned to Pole-bashing. Why is "comedy" masked as "hate speech" considered acceptable in Hollywood? A 90-something character named "Blue" is revealed to be of Polish heritage right around the time he attaches a cinder block to his genitals. The laughs continue when it is later revealed that he can he score no higher than a "o" on a fraternity pledge test. Expand
  28. MarkB.
    Mar 3, 2003
    9
    Each character is hilarious in their own way. This movie had me laughing from start to finish. It's not going to change the world, but it'll put a smile on your face at least.
  29. MetalInc
    Jun 12, 2003
    9
    To: Your fellow Man Have you even seen this movie? It was hilarious. I have seen it three times now and have never once caught any polish jokes. The cinder block thing was all the pledges, and "0" was because he died and was still on the active roster. Watch it again.....it was great.
  30. TysonS.
    Jun 14, 2003
    6
    I like dumb comedies, in fact Road Trip, which has the same writers as Old School, is one of my favorite comedies ever, but this movie was just "dumb" and forgot to be a "comedy". sure there were moments that made me smile or produce a small chuckle, but those moments were too few and far between. i really wanted to like this movie, i loved the premise and actors behind it, but in the endI like dumb comedies, in fact Road Trip, which has the same writers as Old School, is one of my favorite comedies ever, but this movie was just "dumb" and forgot to be a "comedy". sure there were moments that made me smile or produce a small chuckle, but those moments were too few and far between. i really wanted to like this movie, i loved the premise and actors behind it, but in the end it just left me disappointed. Expand
  31. Givemeabreak
    Jul 15, 2003
    9
    Some people really take themselves to seriously. Anyone who didn't know that this movie was supposed to do one thing is not playing with a full deck. It was supposed to make you laugh. Period. Noone cares about the quality of cinematography still framed dooby dop; we want to laugh....hard. And this movie definitely achieves that goal. Earmuffs!
  32. MichaelM.
    Oct 23, 2004
    6
    This is a really funny movie! I laughed so hard I thought I was going to cry! The story line is very unbelievable but simply hysterical. The story is about a man named Mitch (Luke Wilson) who catches the early flight home and catches his slut girlfriend (Juliette Lewis) inviting the neighbors home for a gang bang. He flips out and they break up. Since his girlfriend keeps the house, he This is a really funny movie! I laughed so hard I thought I was going to cry! The story line is very unbelievable but simply hysterical. The story is about a man named Mitch (Luke Wilson) who catches the early flight home and catches his slut girlfriend (Juliette Lewis) inviting the neighbors home for a gang bang. He flips out and they break up. Since his girlfriend keeps the house, he has to move out to a very crummy apartment, which his newly married friend Frank (Will Ferrell) and his other married friend Beanie (Vince Vaugn) help him move into. When they are getting kicked out of the house by the Dean of the university down the street (Jeremy Piven) because the area is being made for university students, they decide to start a fraternity. The members of their fraternity are the strangest people ranging from an midget from India, a really obese black man and a 89 year old elderly man named Blue. The movie is for people who loved comedys like Road Trip and National Lampoon's Van Wilder! It is also for others too. I really recommend this movie to anyone looking for a good movie to go see. (2/26/03) Collapse
  33. BrandonE.
    Sep 4, 2004
    10
    I have never watched a movie that made me laugh as hard as this one....the cast is perfect....excellent!
  34. DavidG.
    Oct 21, 2005
    3
    I don't get it. A few funny moments and a lot of pap.
  35. DaveF.
    Oct 22, 2005
    4
    A big disappointment. Everyone was saying, "you gotta see this movie!" Maybe Will Farrell flailing around with a dart in his neck is funny if you work with zoo animals? This movie is a wannabe Animal House, and its attempts at humor range from sad to irritating. This isn't coming from some highfalutin critic who doesnt appreciate lowbrow jokes. I laughed non-stop at The Longest Yard A big disappointment. Everyone was saying, "you gotta see this movie!" Maybe Will Farrell flailing around with a dart in his neck is funny if you work with zoo animals? This movie is a wannabe Animal House, and its attempts at humor range from sad to irritating. This isn't coming from some highfalutin critic who doesnt appreciate lowbrow jokes. I laughed non-stop at The Longest Yard and The 40 Year old Virgin. If you want silly, raunchy humor, rent one of those two. Expand
  36. MattS.
    Oct 13, 2003
    6
    This would be just another horrible college fraternity formula movie if not for Will Ferrell.
  37. MikeyG.
    Feb 19, 2003
    9
    This is, by far, the best comedy of the last few years. It's consistently funny throughout. Will Ferrell is a comic genius and Vince Vaughn and Luke Wilson do a great job of continuing the laughs while moving along the plot. It's not as raunchy as other similar college-themed movies, but it doesn't need to be. The only nudity is in the scene on the commercials. Overall, This is, by far, the best comedy of the last few years. It's consistently funny throughout. Will Ferrell is a comic genius and Vince Vaughn and Luke Wilson do a great job of continuing the laughs while moving along the plot. It's not as raunchy as other similar college-themed movies, but it doesn't need to be. The only nudity is in the scene on the commercials. Overall, this is a great movie to see with your male friends. Girls have chick flicks. This is truly a boys' flick. Expand
  38. Meat
    Feb 21, 2003
    9
    There are so many Horrible comedies being made these days, ie. the New Guy, every Martin Lawrence/Adam Sandler movie, etc. But, Old School truly represents. Very funny, great characters. Will Ferrell was on fire and thank God Vince FINALLY found a good role. He was spot on! Only criticism was Luke's love interest who was basically a low rent Rene Zellweger. She was lame and I've There are so many Horrible comedies being made these days, ie. the New Guy, every Martin Lawrence/Adam Sandler movie, etc. But, Old School truly represents. Very funny, great characters. Will Ferrell was on fire and thank God Vince FINALLY found a good role. He was spot on! Only criticism was Luke's love interest who was basically a low rent Rene Zellweger. She was lame and I've never seen anyone cop someone's personality so blatantly. Anyway, just a fun, hilarious movie. Expand
  39. MitchellT.
    Feb 23, 2003
    10
    Possibly the funniest movie made in the last 15 years. No seriously. It really is that funny.
  40. MikeM.
    Feb 24, 2003
    9
    Will Ferrell has scored a resounding A+ performance as Frank "The Tank". Old School left me feeling suprisingly good. It's laugh a minute; the entire theater was in stitches. Sure this is a frat party movie with a conscience but this is 2003, it's inevitable. Critiquing the film would lower my grade, which I thought about, but I went into this movie expecting to laugh and I did.
  41. DougD.
    Feb 24, 2003
    10
    This movie will have you laughing from start to finish. My girlfriend ( a feminist) found it utterly hillarious. I think the demographic for this one is huge because its funny on so many levels...good old fashioned fun
  42. SamB.
    Apr 15, 2003
    10
    This is a great movie. don't listen to the critics. see this movie. vince vaughn and will ferrel are both two amazing forces of nature, that run wild on screen. this movie is excellent. go see it. if you already have then see it again, dammit.
  43. BubbaFresh
    Jun 23, 2003
    9
    Your Fellow man is a moron. This movie was funny and there was no pole bashing. All the actors are great including Elisha Cuthbert (damn that's some fine Canadian Ass). Old School is definitely a classic among stupid teen movies.
  44. DixiN.
    Jul 15, 2003
    8
    WE'RE GOING STREAKING!!! WHOOOO!!! HAHAHAHAHAH.
  45. TimB.
    Jul 16, 2003
    6
    There's not much to love about this movie, but I guess there's not much to hate either. I feel the comparisons to "Road Trip" were pretty accurate -- it's not quite the same movie, but it certainly has the same feel to it. Where "Road Trip" has Tom Green, "Old School" has Will Ferrell. It's good for laughs, but it doesn't go anywhere "Animal House" didn't go There's not much to love about this movie, but I guess there's not much to hate either. I feel the comparisons to "Road Trip" were pretty accurate -- it's not quite the same movie, but it certainly has the same feel to it. Where "Road Trip" has Tom Green, "Old School" has Will Ferrell. It's good for laughs, but it doesn't go anywhere "Animal House" didn't go years ago, and it sure doesn't do it better. If you want to rent it to watch with a bunch of friends while you drink heavily, you won't be disappointed... I'm sure you already know what to expect anyway. Watch, laugh, and forget -- that's what I did. Expand
  46. PhillB.
    Jul 21, 2003
    10
    You're my boy Blue!
  47. C.Bass
    Jul 26, 2003
    7
    This movie is pretty funny, but not freddy got fingered funny. its kind of forgettable.
  48. TheresaT.
    Aug 12, 2003
    10
    I took my grandchildren to see this because they needed to learn about the human body. Now they know more than ever. But when Will Ferrell went streaking boy I left a wet seat and I tell you it wasn't urine.
  49. Starfox
    Aug 25, 2003
    4
    Stars out well enough, with some good well-rounded characters, has some minor laughs throughout but in the end really goes nowhere. They could have done so much more with the premise, but it's like they ran out of ideas (of which there are many possibilities) and just sentamentalized it. It's actually much sweeter than I expected, which is a plus.
  50. StanS.
    Jan 12, 2004
    0
    I usually Like movies like this. But this one just doesn't have the jokes - it wasn't funny. "American Pie 2" was funnier. :( Don't waste your time with this one.
  51. MartinL.
    Dec 4, 2004
    9
    "We're goin streaking!"
  52. RitaP.
    Jan 26, 2006
    7
    Some very funny moments but nowhere as good as Anchorman.
  53. M.S.
    Jul 29, 2006
    10
    This movie is no disappointment forget all the bad reviews. Will ferrell is so funny and this movie is hilarious. A must see. Not appropriate for younger viewers.
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 32
  2. Negative: 5 out of 32
  1. 70
    It’s party time, and the movie is wild and crude without being mean--it’s a comedy of infantile regression, “Animal House” for grownups. [17 March 2003, p. 154]
  2. 63
    Old School is exactly what director Todd Phillips intends for it to be: low-brow, moronic to a fault, and occasionally side-splittingly funny.
  3. Starts out silly, gets sillier by the minute, and frequently had me and most of the people around me in stitches.