TriStar Pictures | Release Date: September 23, 2005
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 48 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
36
Mixed:
8
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
BroyaxJan 16, 2017
Le film a les qualités de ses défauts et vice et versa... à moins que ce ne soit l'inverse ! L'origine de cette étrangeté est bien sûr le livre de Dickens qui nous dépeint -tout bien considéré- une histoire à dormir debout à faire couiner lesLe film a les qualités de ses défauts et vice et versa... à moins que ce ne soit l'inverse ! L'origine de cette étrangeté est bien sûr le livre de Dickens qui nous dépeint -tout bien considéré- une histoire à dormir debout à faire couiner les violons : elle semble aussi improbable qu'exagérée, tirée par les cheveux et se repaît dans le misérabilisme forcené.

Polanski part donc avec un handicap dans son adaptation : l'oeuvre elle-même. Pourtant, il évite l'écueil de la caricature et parvient à rester relativement neutre, assez distancié et presque ironique parfois. Même valse-hésitation entre une certaine légèreté et une dureté certaine : Oliver Twist est-elle une fable pour les gamins ou un conte... d'horreur ? Polanski a choisi le compromis.

Il délivre une belle réalisation, une reconstitution fidèle de cette (horrible) époque et démontre si besoin était que la direction d'acteurs est toujours son point fort. Ainsi, le gosse incarne parfaitement l'innocent persécuté par un malin destin dont Victor Hugo s'est sans doute inspiré pour son épopée des Misérables. Sans parler bien entendu de la performance exceptionnelle de Ben Kingsley... mais est-il encore nécessaire de mentionner cette évidence : Kinsley is the King indeed.

Pour résumer, on y croit pas et on en rigole presque... et en même temps, on reconnaît la beauté de l'histoire -aussi folle soit-elle- habilement portée à l'écran par un Polanski très inspiré, lui aussi.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MarkosviniApr 3, 2013
Um bom filme, que mostra uma realidade que ninguém nunca imaginou para uma criança, muito menos para uma como Oliver Twist.
Esse filme transpira emoção e drama, não um tipo enjoativo de drama, mas algo que se quer saber mais, procurar sobre
Um bom filme, que mostra uma realidade que ninguém nunca imaginou para uma criança, muito menos para uma como Oliver Twist.
Esse filme transpira emoção e drama, não um tipo enjoativo de drama, mas algo que se quer saber mais, procurar sobre a história, ler o livro.
É uma pena que o livro deixe a desejar, neste caso.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RikiegeFeb 2, 2013
A movie greatly exaggerated, pessimistic and dramatic. But it's a good movie and very cultured.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MichaelDApr 18, 2011
Like Crysania, I didn't really watch or read the original ones so this was new to me. And I'll say, I really enjoyed this movie. I really didn't expect the movie to be that good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
[Anonymous]Feb 12, 2008
Reading the film critics, their main grip seems to be that "Oliver Twist" is not polenskian enough. How about Dickensian? Is anything wrong with a good narrative and lovely cinematography?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ManolisS.Oct 1, 2006
A very personal take on Oliver Twist for Polanski, full of emotions, similar to the Pianist, where people look at life through windows, little Oliver on the road gathers all good and positive aspects of life through his adventures, near A very personal take on Oliver Twist for Polanski, full of emotions, similar to the Pianist, where people look at life through windows, little Oliver on the road gathers all good and positive aspects of life through his adventures, near masterpiece, cinema at its best!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
CrysaniaApr 14, 2006
Lots of people who had reviewed this movie would compare it either with the book, adapted play or previous films. As I did not have any prior experience with any of those materials, I could do an unbias review. Boring was the verdict. Lots of people who had reviewed this movie would compare it either with the book, adapted play or previous films. As I did not have any prior experience with any of those materials, I could do an unbias review. Boring was the verdict. Although the acting was good, the production lavish and good directing from Polanski, it failed to exhume any feelings I may have had for any of those characters except for a brief interlude at the end. Best to watch it with the sub-titles on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BrianM.Feb 5, 2006
I just couldn't get into it. None of the characters connected with me. I actually turned off the DVD about two-thirds of the way through, and never finished it, because I was bored.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
IlzeS.Jan 8, 2006
The movie is boring. The book is much better than this adaptation. I expected more, there are no pleasure in this film. It
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
EmmaC.Nov 12, 2005
I think most of the viewers have seen this act out thing already.so when we saw this movie...we will like already know what will be going on in the next secne.so i may thought that to change some of the scene into better ones.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
davidb.Oct 9, 2005
If you expect the singalong jollity that Oliver! delivered don't watch this version. This film offers the viewer a valid interpretation of life in those times. The sets are by no means polished stages, these come across as real muddy If you expect the singalong jollity that Oliver! delivered don't watch this version. This film offers the viewer a valid interpretation of life in those times. The sets are by no means polished stages, these come across as real muddy streets filled with violent drunkards and brutes. Not that there aren't any compassionate characters, for there are a few - but they are strikingly naive in their expectations of the behaviour of others. The actors in this film are not larger than the roles they are playing - and that adds to the realism. Kingsley's Fagin is not the lovable entertainer portrayed by Moody - but his is far more appropriate. I think Dickens would approve. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RickS.Oct 8, 2005
This is a good film. Despite the fact that I already knew the story, I was not bored for a minute. This film really transports you to the London of the 1800's! It's dirty and grim and definitly not a tourist's vision of the This is a good film. Despite the fact that I already knew the story, I was not bored for a minute. This film really transports you to the London of the 1800's! It's dirty and grim and definitly not a tourist's vision of the city. The actors are all good, particularly Kingsley as Fagin and Barney Clark as Oliver. The film is not for everyone and it certainly isn't a "feel good" extravaganza like the 1968 musical "Oliver" directed by Carol Reed. Kids will probably be bored but adults will like it. Most of the reviews of this film are far too negative. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnitaJ.Sep 30, 2005
The best of Polanski, perhaps as good as Chinatown.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatieSep 29, 2005
Polanski follows up Ocar winning "The Pianist" - a vivid portrayal of Holocaust survivor, Wladyslaw Szpilman - with a survival story adapted from classic literature - "Oliver Twist". The director brings all his dark wit and visual mastery to Polanski follows up Ocar winning "The Pianist" - a vivid portrayal of Holocaust survivor, Wladyslaw Szpilman - with a survival story adapted from classic literature - "Oliver Twist". The director brings all his dark wit and visual mastery to the story of a young orphan boy who struggles to survive cruely, deprivation and violence. A refreshing;y fun film film to watch. Astonishing performances by a wonderful ensemble of British actors, led by the incomparable Ben Kingsley. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jaynee.Sep 28, 2005
A fantastic film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
montySep 25, 2005
A totally engrossing, lustrous cinematic materpiece!! Instead of a stuffy, reverential adaptation, Polanski breathes life and contemporary meaning to the harrowing story of Oliver Twist. The film is loaded with magnificent performances, A totally engrossing, lustrous cinematic materpiece!! Instead of a stuffy, reverential adaptation, Polanski breathes life and contemporary meaning to the harrowing story of Oliver Twist. The film is loaded with magnificent performances, including Sir Ben Kingsley as a pitiable Fagin. The viewer is transported into another world as the production stunningly re-creates both the Dickensian grime and fussiness. Highly recommend. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PrudenceK.Sep 24, 2005
Frightening! That was very disturbing. Don't see it! I'm telling you that you'll be sorry. In my top 10 of most disturbing films ever made!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
larap.Sep 24, 2005
A dreadful movie that bores the audience throughout. The child has about 1/8th the talent of other budding child movie starlets such as Freddie Highmore or Dakota Fanning. The story is lost in the dreary, unimaginative sets and the lack of A dreadful movie that bores the audience throughout. The child has about 1/8th the talent of other budding child movie starlets such as Freddie Highmore or Dakota Fanning. The story is lost in the dreary, unimaginative sets and the lack of emotion in the film itself is troubling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful