Oliver Twist

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 39
  2. Negative: 4 out of 39
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 3, 2013
    7
    Um bom filme, que mostra uma realidade que ninguém nunca imaginou para uma criança, muito menos para uma como Oliver Twist.
    Esse filme transpira emoção e drama, não um tipo enjoativo de drama, mas algo que se quer saber mais, procurar sobre a história, ler o livro.
    É uma pena que o livro deixe a desejar, neste caso.
  2. Feb 2, 2013
    6
    A movie greatly exaggerated, pessimistic and dramatic. But it's a good movie and very cultured.
  3. Apr 18, 2011
    9
    Like Crysania, I didn't really watch or read the original ones so this was new to me. And I'll say, I really enjoyed this movie. I really didn't expect the movie to be that good.
  4. [Anonymous]
    Feb 12, 2008
    8
    Reading the film critics, their main grip seems to be that "Oliver Twist" is not polenskian enough. How about Dickensian? Is anything wrong with a good narrative and lovely cinematography?
  5. ManolisS.
    Oct 1, 2006
    10
    A very personal take on Oliver Twist for Polanski, full of emotions, similar to the Pianist, where people look at life through windows, little Oliver on the road gathers all good and positive aspects of life through his adventures, near masterpiece, cinema at its best!!
  6. Crysania
    Apr 14, 2006
    4
    Lots of people who had reviewed this movie would compare it either with the book, adapted play or previous films. As I did not have any prior experience with any of those materials, I could do an unbias review. Boring was the verdict. Although the acting was good, the production lavish and good directing from Polanski, it failed to exhume any feelings I may have had for any of those Lots of people who had reviewed this movie would compare it either with the book, adapted play or previous films. As I did not have any prior experience with any of those materials, I could do an unbias review. Boring was the verdict. Although the acting was good, the production lavish and good directing from Polanski, it failed to exhume any feelings I may have had for any of those characters except for a brief interlude at the end. Best to watch it with the sub-titles on. Expand
  7. BrianM.
    Feb 5, 2006
    4
    I just couldn't get into it. None of the characters connected with me. I actually turned off the DVD about two-thirds of the way through, and never finished it, because I was bored.
  8. IlzeS.
    Jan 8, 2006
    2
    The movie is boring. The book is much better than this adaptation. I expected more, there are no pleasure in this film. It
  9. EmmaC.
    Nov 12, 2005
    6
    I think most of the viewers have seen this act out thing already.so when we saw this movie...we will like already know what will be going on in the next secne.so i may thought that to change some of the scene into better ones.
  10. davidb.
    Oct 9, 2005
    9
    If you expect the singalong jollity that Oliver! delivered don't watch this version. This film offers the viewer a valid interpretation of life in those times. The sets are by no means polished stages, these come across as real muddy streets filled with violent drunkards and brutes. Not that there aren't any compassionate characters, for there are a few - but they are strikingly If you expect the singalong jollity that Oliver! delivered don't watch this version. This film offers the viewer a valid interpretation of life in those times. The sets are by no means polished stages, these come across as real muddy streets filled with violent drunkards and brutes. Not that there aren't any compassionate characters, for there are a few - but they are strikingly naive in their expectations of the behaviour of others. The actors in this film are not larger than the roles they are playing - and that adds to the realism. Kingsley's Fagin is not the lovable entertainer portrayed by Moody - but his is far more appropriate. I think Dickens would approve. Expand
  11. RickS.
    Oct 8, 2005
    9
    This is a good film. Despite the fact that I already knew the story, I was not bored for a minute. This film really transports you to the London of the 1800's! It's dirty and grim and definitly not a tourist's vision of the city. The actors are all good, particularly Kingsley as Fagin and Barney Clark as Oliver. The film is not for everyone and it certainly isn't a This is a good film. Despite the fact that I already knew the story, I was not bored for a minute. This film really transports you to the London of the 1800's! It's dirty and grim and definitly not a tourist's vision of the city. The actors are all good, particularly Kingsley as Fagin and Barney Clark as Oliver. The film is not for everyone and it certainly isn't a "feel good" extravaganza like the 1968 musical "Oliver" directed by Carol Reed. Kids will probably be bored but adults will like it. Most of the reviews of this film are far too negative. Expand
  12. AnitaJ.
    Sep 30, 2005
    9
    The best of Polanski, perhaps as good as Chinatown.
  13. Katie
    Sep 29, 2005
    10
    Polanski follows up Ocar winning "The Pianist" - a vivid portrayal of Holocaust survivor, Wladyslaw Szpilman - with a survival story adapted from classic literature - "Oliver Twist". The director brings all his dark wit and visual mastery to the story of a young orphan boy who struggles to survive cruely, deprivation and violence. A refreshing;y fun film film to watch. Astonishing Polanski follows up Ocar winning "The Pianist" - a vivid portrayal of Holocaust survivor, Wladyslaw Szpilman - with a survival story adapted from classic literature - "Oliver Twist". The director brings all his dark wit and visual mastery to the story of a young orphan boy who struggles to survive cruely, deprivation and violence. A refreshing;y fun film film to watch. Astonishing performances by a wonderful ensemble of British actors, led by the incomparable Ben Kingsley. Expand
  14. jaynee.
    Sep 28, 2005
    10
    A fantastic film.
  15. monty
    Sep 25, 2005
    10
    A totally engrossing, lustrous cinematic materpiece!! Instead of a stuffy, reverential adaptation, Polanski breathes life and contemporary meaning to the harrowing story of Oliver Twist. The film is loaded with magnificent performances, including Sir Ben Kingsley as a pitiable Fagin. The viewer is transported into another world as the production stunningly re-creates both the Dickensian A totally engrossing, lustrous cinematic materpiece!! Instead of a stuffy, reverential adaptation, Polanski breathes life and contemporary meaning to the harrowing story of Oliver Twist. The film is loaded with magnificent performances, including Sir Ben Kingsley as a pitiable Fagin. The viewer is transported into another world as the production stunningly re-creates both the Dickensian grime and fussiness. Highly recommend. Expand
  16. PrudenceK.
    Sep 24, 2005
    0
    Frightening! That was very disturbing. Don't see it! I'm telling you that you'll be sorry. In my top 10 of most disturbing films ever made!
  17. larap.
    Sep 24, 2005
    1
    A dreadful movie that bores the audience throughout. The child has about 1/8th the talent of other budding child movie starlets such as Freddie Highmore or Dakota Fanning. The story is lost in the dreary, unimaginative sets and the lack of emotion in the film itself is troubling.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Phil Hall
    40
    Handsomely produced but emotionally inert offering.
  2. The biggest surprise in Roman Polanski's Oliver Twist is that there are no surprises.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    A respectable literary adaptation but lacks dramatic urgency and intriguing undercurrents.