Olympus Has Fallen

Olympus Has Fallen Image
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 332 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Mar 21, 2013
    75
    Korean-American actor and former model Yune (who played a similar role in "Die Another Day," the last Pierce Brosnan James Bond film) makes a colourful villain – handsome and insufferably assured, and also an unchivalrous sadist who kicks around the Secretary of Defense (Melissa Leo in a pageboy wig) as though she’s a hacky sack.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Zwecker
    Mar 20, 2013
    75
    While Olympus Has Fallen breaks no major new ground in the political thriller genre, Fuqua has directed a sharp, very taut adventure that keeps you engrossed from start to finish.
  3. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Mar 21, 2013
    63
    Any semblance of seriousness and verisimilitude suggested by the marketing campaign is quickly forgotten once director Antoine Fuqua's enjoyably tacky Die Hard-on-the-Potomac gets under way.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Mar 21, 2013
    50
    Butler serves the cause well, considering. Think that cause is a thankless one? Shhh, don’t tell Secret Service agent Channing Tatum or president Jamie Foxx, headed your way in June with, yes, “White House Down.”
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Mar 21, 2013
    50
    This is for those who like their political thrillers far-fetched, far-reaching and filled with pretty people.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Apr 19, 2013
    40
    Part of the weirdness of this film lies in the fact that the tense North Korean situation in the real world gives it no realism or satirical edge, or prophetic authority of any kind.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Mar 21, 2013
    0
    Olympus Has Fallen is no fun at all. To the contrary, it soon grows tedious, odious and oppressive.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 126
  2. Negative: 38 out of 126
  1. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    This is a GREAT action movie. I'm judging it based on an action movie not a movie up for an oscar. It has a lot of cool action scenes, goodThis is a GREAT action movie. I'm judging it based on an action movie not a movie up for an oscar. It has a lot of cool action scenes, good plot, well acted and was intense. I think it is the perfect action movie. Expand
  2. Apr 30, 2013
    9
    This film was great for me it was the die hard film we didn't get in February really good acting and action it was everything I wish for in aThis film was great for me it was the die hard film we didn't get in February really good acting and action it was everything I wish for in a action movie. I would definitely see it again. See I have no idea why people are moaning about this film I think people are really angry recently every film what has been out recently getting awful reviews everybody must be on their periods or summit Expand
  3. Mar 29, 2013
    8
    This movie was awesome!!!!!!!!!!! From start to finish you don't know what's coming. The action scenes were fantastic and the execution of theThis movie was awesome!!!!!!!!!!! From start to finish you don't know what's coming. The action scenes were fantastic and the execution of the story was great. Morgan Freeman and Gerard Butler had great performances. Some people say that it was a ripoff of Air force one but in my opinion it was much better. The only tiny flaw was that at first the dialogue was kind of corny but it straightened out as the story progressed. Everyone go see this because you won't regret it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  4. Apr 24, 2013
    6
    Olympus Has Fallen. Some good things about it and some bad. The bad first, ridiculus plot with some very cringe worthy American propaganda,Olympus Has Fallen. Some good things about it and some bad. The bad first, ridiculus plot with some very cringe worthy American propaganda, dodgy special effects and will easily be bettered by the upcoming "White House Down". However there is some good points with a great cast and some interesting shots from director Antoine Fuqua. The star however is the action which is crazy and surprisingly hard edged. Its like watching a reboot of an 80's Steven Segal movie and a potential future guilty pleasure! Expand
  5. Oct 6, 2013
    5
    Decent action and effects. Acting is okay. Plot is ludicrous and the way the Secret Service and the Capitol Police were portrayed were...Decent action and effects. Acting is okay. Plot is ludicrous and the way the Secret Service and the Capitol Police were portrayed were... unbelievable and ridiculously stupid. Some of the effects were very obviously fake but thankfully only some since most were done fairly well. Expand
  6. Jan 9, 2014
    3
    Olympus Has Fallen short of a great finale. For the last scene reveals an incredible disrespect of tempo, form, and reality. Where is rheOlympus Has Fallen short of a great finale. For the last scene reveals an incredible disrespect of tempo, form, and reality. Where is rhe Medic when you need it? Shouldn't the good all boys of the EMS had arrives to take care of the President rather than the President walking all the huge distance from the steps of the House to the ambulance? Those last ten minutes makea the great movie that it was unsummonarble. There gpes another great movie down the piles of failure in the last secuence. One Star for that horrendous finale. Expand
  7. Sep 29, 2014
    0
    Ambitiously stupid movie. And the sentiment is way past its prime. I don't think anyone, anywhere gives a **** about the "United States" orAmbitiously stupid movie. And the sentiment is way past its prime. I don't think anyone, anywhere gives a **** about the "United States" or its whorish capital of Washington DC. I was rooting for the Koreans to be quite honest. Expand

See all 126 User Reviews

Trailers