Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 317 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: A modern day musical set on the streets of Dublin. Featuring Glen Hansard from the Irish band "The Frames," the film tells the story of a street musician and a Czech immigrant during an eventful week as they write, rehearse and record songs that reveal their unique love story. (Fox Searchlight)
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. 100
    Once is the kind of film I've been pestered about ever since I started reviewing again. People couldn't quite describe it, but they said I had to see it. I had to. Well, I did. They were right.
  2. It's a very small piece, working in a deceptively casual storytelling style. But it's my favorite music film since "Stop Making Sense," and it's more emotionally satisfying than any of the Broadway-to-Hollywood adaptations made in the last 20 years.
  3. Until Once, I'm not sure that I'd ever seen a small-scale, nonstylized, kitchen-sink drama in which the songs take on the majesty and devotion of a musical dream.
  4. 88
    It's a magical, beguiling wonder.
  5. The film has enormous charm and zero pretense.
  6. 80
    Even the uninitiated will be hard-pressed to resist the movie's charms, from its likable leading players and its charming Dublin setting to its wistful take on modern love.
  7. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    70
    Winningly unpretentious tale uses a wispy romantic narrative as a vehicle for attractive original tunes.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 162
  1. Aug 26, 2010
    10
    "Once" works so well in the realm of its own simplicity: two people connect over their love of music, and the week that they share together is"Once" works so well in the realm of its own simplicity: two people connect over their love of music, and the week that they share together is fulfilling enough to last a lifetime. The music, written and performed by the two leads Glen Hansard and Markéta Irglová, is pure bliss and the movie is an independent film, so the dialogue and character interactions are allowed to feel genuine. Expand
  2. BrunoG.
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    Best movie of the year! Don't miss it.
  3. BruceS.
    Jun 1, 2007
    10
    This little Irish item is the best Irish film since the commitments and maybe better. A terrific chick Flick, in the best sense of the This little Irish item is the best Irish film since the commitments and maybe better. A terrific chick Flick, in the best sense of the phrase. The chemistry and music are 'spot on;! Expand
  4. MikeMcCormick
    May 26, 2008
    10
    An unpretentious Irish musical that captures your heart with its beautiful music, simplicity, deft timing and refusal to take you where youAn unpretentious Irish musical that captures your heart with its beautiful music, simplicity, deft timing and refusal to take you where you expect to go. With the feel of a documentary, it tells the story of a relationship between two skilled but struggling musicians whose love for each other blossoms through their music. In my humbl;e opinion, it belongs in the Top Ten motion pictures of the decade. The film and its beautiful music continues to haunt me months after viewing, an event that introduced me to a secret those who have not seen the movie have yet to share. Thank you, writer/director John Carney and the rest oif the cast and crew. Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova will forever be part of my psyche because of your collaboration! Expand
  5. AndrewK.
    Jun 27, 2007
    9
    Wow. What can I say about this movie that hasn't already been said. Anyone who didn't like the movie just doesn't get it. And Wow. What can I say about this movie that hasn't already been said. Anyone who didn't like the movie just doesn't get it. And if you would use characters from Garden State as something to strive for, you have no idea what a good character is. The music is amazing. The acting is imperceptible. Marketa Irglova does not pale in comparison at all to her costars, as one reviewer suggests. This film is musical, but it's not a "musical." It flows like real life. Not the type of film that immediately hits you as being "great." It's the kind of "great" that sneaks up on you. Expand
  6. MaxL.
    Jun 12, 2007
    7
    A simple story told very well of a boy meeting a girl and their making music together at a recording studio. The music was very enjoyable and A simple story told very well of a boy meeting a girl and their making music together at a recording studio. The music was very enjoyable and the story was heartfelt. Expand
  7. FranklinH
    Jul 9, 2007
    0
    The music sucks. Maybe if you really like derivative-folk-rock-david gray rip off ballads you'll like the music. What little story there The music sucks. Maybe if you really like derivative-folk-rock-david gray rip off ballads you'll like the music. What little story there is is linear and uninteresting. There is a pathetic attempt at some kind of climax that doesn't pay off bc it's never earned and we have no reason to care for these characters and their relationship whatsoever. Once, was one time too many. BOOM! Expand

See all 162 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best Movies of the 21st Century (So Far)

    The Best Movies of the 21st Century (So Far) Image
    Published: March 26, 2015
    Check out our lists of the best (and worst) movies of the century so far, ranked by Metascore overall and in a variety of genres.
  2. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.