8x Entertainment | Release Date: October 13, 2006
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 55 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
46
Mixed:
3
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
C.H.Oct 20, 2006
The imagery and wardrobe were awesome! The screenplay threw me off a couple of times but it stuck to the original story fairly well. The only thing that bothered me was the fact that Esther was too "American" for me. She did not even try to The imagery and wardrobe were awesome! The screenplay threw me off a couple of times but it stuck to the original story fairly well. The only thing that bothered me was the fact that Esther was too "American" for me. She did not even try to fake an accent. Being a big fan of Biblical epics, over all, I liked it. It will definitely join my collection when it comes out on DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TomB.Jan 4, 2007
The lead actor was great. Haman was great. Memucan was great. Hagei was great. But Tiffany DuPont was very weak and not my idea of an Esther especially in the last scene.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillS.Oct 13, 2006
The cinematography, sets and costumes are beautiful. I particularly enjoyed the performances of Dupont, Goss, Noble Callis and Lister, though acting was strong throughout.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LaDonnaT.Oct 16, 2006
I loved this movie. The costumes, scenery and cinematography were excellent. It is certainly worth seeing. I will see this movie again!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EvanEOct 17, 2006
The cinematography of the movie was amazing the plot is timeless. I recommend this to anyone who wants to see a epic tale about love and survival.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KenGOct 17, 2006
Really a tale of two halves. The first half of movie is stiff and flat, and at times kind of corny. But it hits its stride in the second half and becomes a strong and compelling story. The second half is well enough done to make up for the Really a tale of two halves. The first half of movie is stiff and flat, and at times kind of corny. But it hits its stride in the second half and becomes a strong and compelling story. The second half is well enough done to make up for the weak first half. I have to admit I am not sure that I saw the same movie J.H did. For a Bible movie I thought this did an admirable job of keeping God out of it. Yes, there is some mention of God, but after all, it is kind of hard not to mention god in a bible story. But god is barely mention after the first half hour, and when he is, it is more an attempt to show that god and faith was a big part of these people's lives, then it is an attempt to celebrate or glorify God. For the most part this is a straight forward story of the people involved, and the actions that they took. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TyrellM.Oct 19, 2006
Awesome movie! And I don
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VickjHOct 22, 2006
Awesome!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SallyBOct 26, 2006
As if liberties with the Book of Esther weren't enough, the writers attributed such preposterous sentiments to ancient Jews as "All men are created equal" and pleas for "democracy." If you believe all Persians looked like East Indians, As if liberties with the Book of Esther weren't enough, the writers attributed such preposterous sentiments to ancient Jews as "All men are created equal" and pleas for "democracy." If you believe all Persians looked like East Indians, you'll believe anything. Yes, the film is beautiful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AllenF.Oct 28, 2006
This movie in my opinion is one of the best and most memorable love stories of all time. Other than that, The custom, make up and the music is Oscar-worthy. I hope that it gets the acknolagement that it deserves.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
M-StylezOct 30, 2006
Yes, this is definitely a great film, definitely worth the 10/10 ranking and worth my hard earned money. Do not listen to the established critics on this one. Ask any normal person who has seen this and you will get a better view of what Yes, this is definitely a great film, definitely worth the 10/10 ranking and worth my hard earned money. Do not listen to the established critics on this one. Ask any normal person who has seen this and you will get a better view of what this movie has to offer. [***SPOILERS***] One interesting artistic liberty the film makers added is that Esther's first boyfriend is castrated to be a eunuch for the King. This plot point becomes really sad when Esther's ex tries to "rescue" her from becoming the queen. She is torn, because she has feelings for her ex but she must turn him down because she realizes that she can help her people more as the queen, rather than as a poor orphan (with a castrated boyfriend). I don't understand the PG rating at all. I guess the eunuch plot points merit this, but not really. The film should be rated G in my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DebbieGNov 2, 2006
Lovely movie, beautiful scenes. It left me wanting to see it again. Go see this movie on the big screen - it's worth it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
GrantR.Oct 13, 2006
So, so bad. And I wanted to like it -- the horrible acting & script made it impossible. Also, Peter O'Toole should be strung up for allowing his name to be put on the poster when he was only in the first 60 seconds of the movie -- no So, so bad. And I wanted to like it -- the horrible acting & script made it impossible. Also, Peter O'Toole should be strung up for allowing his name to be put on the poster when he was only in the first 60 seconds of the movie -- no kidding. 60 seconds... if that !! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JH.Oct 16, 2006
I thought the movie was well put together. It really shows God's love for his people. The book of Esther is a book for Love and Redemption. God once again saves his people through the courage of a young lady whom he deemed as best I thought the movie was well put together. It really shows God's love for his people. The book of Esther is a book for Love and Redemption. God once again saves his people through the courage of a young lady whom he deemed as best suitable for the job. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisDesignerOct 18, 2006
Awesome flick...I'd see it again. The score was really great and I wouldn't mind buying the soundtrack. Inspiring and entertaining all in one! Great job guys!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PamelaL.Oct 30, 2006
This is a great film and should be seen by all. A great family film. It brings the Bible to life and makes you remember what is truly important in life. The actors and actresses did an outstanding job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RachealG.Oct 30, 2006
I rarely go to the movies, but One Night With the King was a welcoming experience. It was sensual, thought provoking and drew me into the story, which has a tremendous lesson of courage. I have recommended it to all of my friends.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DonnaLittleOct 31, 2006
Very clear and to the point with beautiful pageantry. Location, Location, Location. Timing is everything. "For such a time as this." This film was worth the wait. Listen for similar political issues of our time in the times of old. There Very clear and to the point with beautiful pageantry. Location, Location, Location. Timing is everything. "For such a time as this." This film was worth the wait. Listen for similar political issues of our time in the times of old. There really is nothing new under the sun. The film has all the qualities of classical film making. Like the film making giants Cecil B. DeMille and others. Welcome back to a refreshing movie going experience! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MariaB.Jan 4, 2007
I loved the book of Esther. I wish that they had followed it accurately; I would have used someone who was a stronger female lead with greater beauty/ She would have carried the film. There are lots of English actresses like Kate Beckinsale I loved the book of Esther. I wish that they had followed it accurately; I would have used someone who was a stronger female lead with greater beauty/ She would have carried the film. There are lots of English actresses like Kate Beckinsale or the girl who played in Scent of a Woman. A stronger actress would have complimented Luke Goss who was terrific! The other characters were supberb except for the cupbearers and their should have beej more passion in their kissing. I did not like her wedding dress either . It had too many lines to look at. Omar Sharif was brilliant as was john rhys-davies. You needed a Shakespearean actress to tell such a great tale as the Bible.. If you go back and look at the great epics they have a lot of real talent. This girl was too green and not pretty enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AnneB.Mar 5, 2007
My jaw dropped when I saw how many people liked this movie. The costumes looked like something from a high school play, the acting was painful to watch (I had to clear my throat every time Haman spoke) with a few exceptions (John My jaw dropped when I saw how many people liked this movie. The costumes looked like something from a high school play, the acting was painful to watch (I had to clear my throat every time Haman spoke) with a few exceptions (John Rhys-Davies, Omar Sharif, John Noble), and the story was so convoluted and twisted that my family and I were lost within the first few minutes. Haman looked like Jesus, Xerxes looked like Fabio, and Esther looked like a prom queen (with a few British 'ah's thrown in her speech for good measure). I had /such/ high hopes for this movie...*sigh* If you really want to watch a good Esther movie, get the Veggie Tales version. Much better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaryS.Apr 29, 2007
Loved the movie, even though it was not exact, it is a great alternative to the horrible films that people praise so highly that are filled with nothing but adultery and people call them love stories. This movie is truly inspiring and it Loved the movie, even though it was not exact, it is a great alternative to the horrible films that people praise so highly that are filled with nothing but adultery and people call them love stories. This movie is truly inspiring and it doesnt feel like it was "trying to hard" I'd recommened it to anyone, it was a blessing to watch and reminded me to trust God more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JanetF.Jun 2, 2007
The evening I watched this movie I was so moved and encountered a life changing experience with God. Since then many people have said that they have noticed a change in me. I bought the movie & will treasure it for my lifetime!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarilynB.Aug 24, 2007
I absolutely loved this movie. The actors and actresses, the scenery, the photography, the costumes, the music, all of it came together to present this Old Testament story in a way that kept me on the edge of my seat wondering what would I absolutely loved this movie. The actors and actresses, the scenery, the photography, the costumes, the music, all of it came together to present this Old Testament story in a way that kept me on the edge of my seat wondering what would happen, even though I already know the story from the Bible. It is the only movie I have ever attended that received applause at the end of the showing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FotiniF.Sep 7, 2007
I think film one night with the king must be one of the best and i would love to watch this film, thank u for very good service.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertC.Nov 11, 2006
One of the best movies I've seen in a long time. Great on all levels: visually stunning (filmed at a remarkable ancient city in Inda, the set, and the costumes all were fantastic). The story is very compelling. Best of all, the movie One of the best movies I've seen in a long time. Great on all levels: visually stunning (filmed at a remarkable ancient city in Inda, the set, and the costumes all were fantastic). The story is very compelling. Best of all, the movie captures the internal conflicts of the two main characters, Ester, who is forced to conceal her true identity ,and Xerces, who wrestles with the desire to avenge his father's death by making war on the Greeks, has to deal with palace intrigues, and knows that Ester is keeping something from him. This movie is far superior to Big Studio offerings such as Troy. Thoroughly enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VickjHOct 15, 2006
Awesome!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CeliaS.Oct 15, 2006
[***SPOILERS***] This amazing film epic is so much more than the story of a young orphan slave girl who becomes queen of an empire. It is a story of destiny and of unwavering hope in the midst of a world that was telling her she had no[***SPOILERS***] This amazing film epic is so much more than the story of a young orphan slave girl who becomes queen of an empire. It is a story of destiny and of unwavering hope in the midst of a world that was telling her she had no future. You will be inspired, encouraged and moved by the strength of this young lady's faith to believe and you will be swept into the story as you begin to believe along with her for her dream...the casting is excellent, the cinematography exceptional. As you watch this film, you cannot help but be touched by the feel of destiny and unlike many movies being made today, you will come out of the theater feeling uplifted and inspired!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
IndyJudyOct 15, 2006
I really enjoyed the movie and have been thinking about the story since I left the theatre. Just as Esther had a destiny, I believe that this movie causes you to think about your own destiny. Some commercial reviewers have not been overly I really enjoyed the movie and have been thinking about the story since I left the theatre. Just as Esther had a destiny, I believe that this movie causes you to think about your own destiny. Some commercial reviewers have not been overly impressed with the movie, but I totally disagree with them. I did not get weary watching this movie and I wonder why some critics did. The movie was very intriguing. Anyone who has an open heart and wants to hear a message that can cause you to search out your destiny should see this movie. You won't be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MelissaK.Oct 18, 2006
One Night With The King is an awesome movie! I saw it opening night, and I was blown away. The music, cast, and setting were all great, and it accurately portrays the life of Esther.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FlorenceC.Dec 11, 2006
Gave you some good historical Judeo background. Nice love story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
j.l.sOct 22, 2006
This was an excellent movie. It exceeded my expectations. This would be a good date movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SoniaE.Oct 28, 2006
Great movie, great music, wonderful cast. Oscar-worthy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MalicsaP.Feb 12, 2007
When I saw this movie, I fell in love with it. The plot, the characters, the costumes, were all so wonderful. This movie is so good. I give it 10 Stars and more!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
HosseinA.Feb 26, 2007
As an Iranian, I wouldn't need to seek very carefully to find so many historical mistake in the film's decoration and architecture (they mostly resembled Arabic or Babylonian tradition than that of the Persian Empire), costume As an Iranian, I wouldn't need to seek very carefully to find so many historical mistake in the film's decoration and architecture (they mostly resembled Arabic or Babylonian tradition than that of the Persian Empire), costume (Egyptian like, Arabic, anything but Persian if you can remember the Persepolis inscriptons), make up (Persian Achamenid kings had long beard and used to wear special king of hat not the typical metal crown, they also used to carry lotus flower and a long rattan) and attitude (Persian kings never on earth would kiss the queen in front of others, even for the very last persian king Mohamadreza Pahlavi who was grown up and lived for years in Switzerland in the 20th century). In short, the movie is far more a jewish advetisement than an honest historical reconstruction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChipsterDec 30, 2011
Rarely have I been so disappointed in my own "instincts" to select a quality film for viewing, but "One Night With The King", sadly, falls into that category. And to be completely honest, as an owner of over 500 films, even more rare areRarely have I been so disappointed in my own "instincts" to select a quality film for viewing, but "One Night With The King", sadly, falls into that category. And to be completely honest, as an owner of over 500 films, even more rare are those which had so little power to immerse ones interest as this supposed "epic" release.

Sporting a cast composed of Omar Sharif, John Noble, John Rhys-Davies and Peter O'Toole one can scarcely imagine how a sure-shot collection of acting prowess could be wasted so thoroughly. John Sturges once propounded that the lead characters were not so critical to a quality film production as the support cast. Had he been alive to view this today, I have no doubt he would have considered retracting that claim. What may have been missing from that qualifier was the caveat "with skilled direction". So perhaps that was the main reason for such a dismal screenplay and non-cohesive production. I will definitely be "handicapping" directorship rather than cast in future film selections due to this disappointing experience.

As equally disheartening is the apparent fact that all a filmmaker needs to do to satisfy religious-based movie-goers is pen a script based on biblical storytelling and then provide enough cinematographic substance to support a basic plot. One can't help but wonder if this new generation of screen epic followers has ever felt or appreciated the timeless work of directors like William Wyler and Cecille B. DeMille... if for no other reason than to form a metric on which to gauge screening experiences. Fortunately, as previously mentioned, the camera work by the Steven Bernstein (yes, the actor... that's not a mistake) was more than adequate, although at times captured with dubious continuity. The level of authenticity and set design was just as capable which is possibly one of the reasons the Bible-belters received this presentation which such enthusiasm. It did LOOK pretty realistic.

So after 2 hours of enduring the tedious interplay of characters that seemed to be reading lines on a set in a parking lot rather than living a life in ancient Persia, it finally ended. By the grace of God, I might add. One can only imagine what must have gone through the minds of the renown cast members that really didn't NEED this project to feed their families or pay the rent or establish some level of notoriety. Perhaps they were feeling what I did while watching it... that just around the corner, in the next scene, for the following few minutes... by sheer will... the film could be saved... that it could be given that miraculous shot of adrenaline (or fairy dust!) to substantiate the prior suffering and squirming in the chair. All the hope in the world won't make it so. Not this time. :(
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews