Open Range

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 146 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 146
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. WilliamS.
    Nov 1, 2004
    9
    Anyone who gives this movie less than an 8, is proof of the comment by R.A. Heinlien that "Being non-productive themselves, ctitics can hate all productive people equally."
  2. Nov 26, 2012
    7
    Duvall is just brilliant. Costner is Costner...the Jerry Seinfeld of dramas. He's just Kevin, in 19th-century America, hardly even trying to act. Just being Kevin. Despite that, it's a lovely film, well shot.
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    7
    "Open Range" is a 2003 film directed by and starring Kevin Costner. The movie tells the story of two cattle ranchers (Costner, Duvall) who are forced to take up arms when threatened by corrupt lawmen. The movie to me looked like it was gonna' be a slightly boring film about life on the. . .wait for it. . .open range. I was half right. A very large portion of this movie's beginning 45"Open Range" is a 2003 film directed by and starring Kevin Costner. The movie tells the story of two cattle ranchers (Costner, Duvall) who are forced to take up arms when threatened by corrupt lawmen. The movie to me looked like it was gonna' be a slightly boring film about life on the. . .wait for it. . .open range. I was half right. A very large portion of this movie's beginning 45 minutes is about just that. However, past that point the movie picks up with a fairly plain, but still enjoyable plot. The characters in the movie are pretty good. Duvall's portrayal of Boss Spearman is the best in the film, by my opinion. I thought Costner's performance was a little stoic, but not bothersome (makes me think that that was the intention). The script was standard in terms of dialogue I guess. Then again, I wasn't alive during the 19th century, so I have no frame of reference. The best and most entertaining point in this film is the last hour where the film's most impressive set piece is set into motion - a really incredible gunfight happens. It's shot spectacularly well - a worthy testament of Costner's directorial aptitude. Through and through I found "Open Range" to be a fairly entertaining film with a great climax. Expand
  4. RichardE.
    Aug 4, 2004
    9
    Ben K, apart from the fact that you've given away a suprise in the movie from your first sentence, you do not have the right to slag off other people's enthusiasms for a movie just because you didn't like it. The movie is very naturalistic, and embraces the feel of classic westerns while taking care not to decend into cliché. Costner and Duvall make a great pairing Ben K, apart from the fact that you've given away a suprise in the movie from your first sentence, you do not have the right to slag off other people's enthusiasms for a movie just because you didn't like it. The movie is very naturalistic, and embraces the feel of classic westerns while taking care not to decend into cliché. Costner and Duvall make a great pairing and play off each other very well and are ably supported by Bening and Gambon (though he's not given as much screen time as I always want him too). One of the best cinema shootouts in film history too (though there are shades of Unforgiven throughout the second half of the film, albeit not a bad film to grab themes from). It's a slow-burner of a film but one which is ultimately more rewarding than other fast-moving westerns. Expand
  5. TomS.
    Aug 18, 2003
    9
    Open Range is not a film for people who expect a shoot-em up blockbuster. This is a film that appeals to people who love the old western genre. Coster takes a lesson from old classic westerns like "High Noon" and "The Searches" to create this new (and soon to be) western classic.
  6. AmberP.
    Sep 9, 2003
    10
    I absolutely loved this movie. Duval and Costner worked very well together. Costner was smart enough to let Duval's star shine. The love scene between Costner & Bening without so much as a kiss was conveyed in superb acting by both. Definitely in time will become a classic. Kudo's to all for such a well made enjoyable movie.
  7. NathanL.
    Feb 8, 2004
    10
    I watched this movie last night and it is due back today at noon. But "who cares" about the late fee, I have to watch it again! Tombstone had the best gunfight scene of the 90"s. This movie has the best gunfight scene this decade. And yes, while Costner's character has issues with his past. Don't we all? His characters life's experience is what molds him into the bold and I watched this movie last night and it is due back today at noon. But "who cares" about the late fee, I have to watch it again! Tombstone had the best gunfight scene of the 90"s. This movie has the best gunfight scene this decade. And yes, while Costner's character has issues with his past. Don't we all? His characters life's experience is what molds him into the bold and courageous man who rises up against the evils of the town. Go rent it NOW!! Definitely a DVD to own! Expand
  8. [Anonymous]
    Aug 15, 2003
    10
    Costner is back in style!
  9. JohnY.
    Aug 18, 2003
    8
    While his acting on screen is barely tolerable, Costner does wonders behind the camera. This is a visually breathtaking Western with frequently sharp dialogue and a superb performance by Duvall. Costner lets this picturesque environment weave a net over your mind. It works; however, did that rudimentary love story need to be in there?
  10. Fantasy
    Aug 28, 2003
    10
    Just came back from seeing Open Range and thoroughly enjoyed it. Robert Duvall was his usual excellent self and the supporting cast including the Director Kevin Costner was excellent. This film really had the touch and feel of the Old West before Wyatt Earp came to Dodge. Definitely a movie worth seeing.
  11. JimJ.
    Jan 20, 2004
    7
    Good story well acted. My all time favorite is Lonesome Dove.
  12. RoniG.
    Jun 5, 2005
    10
    Very natural. nice natural scenes! The story, the actors performance are very good! Music Too!
  13. XiongC.
    Oct 18, 2003
    10
    Duvall at his very best -- and nobody else in the film lets him down, not even the bad guys. Outstanding, in the old mold.
  14. AllenS.
    Aug 14, 2003
    9
    Open Range has everything going for it: picturesque landscapes, terrific acting, and a shootout that takes your breath away from start to finish. Costner shies away from the grittiness that Eastwood has come to prefer and, instead, crafts a beautiful, moving, and wholeheartedly satisfying classic Western. Like John Ford's masterpiece, The Searchers, the film showcases the wildest Open Range has everything going for it: picturesque landscapes, terrific acting, and a shootout that takes your breath away from start to finish. Costner shies away from the grittiness that Eastwood has come to prefer and, instead, crafts a beautiful, moving, and wholeheartedly satisfying classic Western. Like John Ford's masterpiece, The Searchers, the film showcases the wildest parts of the wild west, all the while keeping a sense of humanism among all the carnage. Duvall feels right at home playing a character so rich and textured that he convinces as a surrogate father, a close friend, and a valuable battle-time ally. Costner shows once again that there is a person behind the monotone voice, empty gaze, and stiff, uncomfortable facade. He's clearly where he belongs in helming this traditional Western that doesn't pretend to be anything more than it is: a simple story of simple men in changing times. Combine this simplicity with superlative acting, fantastic cinematography, and an ever-present sense of humanity and what you get is the best film so far this year. Expand
  15. JaneH.
    Aug 16, 2003
    7
    If Kevin Costner had the same terrific ear for dialogue as he has eye for composition, this could've been a classic. The scenery is magnificent, the gunplay is riveting. But why oh why, in recent movie after movie, does Kevin insist on playing glum, dour characters with pasts that haunt them? He seems to believe that an air of clinical depression is the only appropriate tone to If Kevin Costner had the same terrific ear for dialogue as he has eye for composition, this could've been a classic. The scenery is magnificent, the gunplay is riveting. But why oh why, in recent movie after movie, does Kevin insist on playing glum, dour characters with pasts that haunt them? He seems to believe that an air of clinical depression is the only appropriate tone to convey a serious role. There are flashes of humor in this movie, but no lightness touches his character's portrayal. And after the terrific shoot-out at the Harmonville corral, the ending dissipates into a disjointed resolution of the unbelievable love story. In fairness, this is only the second western (and third film) Costner's directed. Even mighty John Ford had his clunkers (Liberty Valance, for example). I'll continue to hope for improvement. Expand
  16. TomK.
    Aug 18, 2003
    8
    To those who say this is not a good movie, I say make a better one and I will pay to see it. Not perfect. A little long. Costner could not decide on an ending. but a damn fine effort.
  17. DANIELM>
    Aug 19, 2003
    9
    Not "The Wild Bunch" but would rank in my top 5 Westerns along Lonesome Dove, Outlaw Josey Wales and Unforgiven.
  18. SueC.
    Aug 21, 2003
    10
    This movie is realistic, enjoyable, ethical and shows the quality that so often is lacking in recent Hollywood films. I applaud Mr. Costner and his cast and crew for a wonderful film! I wish critics would review movies based upon their quality rather than the narrow-minded opinions of what Mr. Costner is or should be...Thank you MR. COSTNER!!!
  19. CharlesH.
    Aug 26, 2003
    10
    I loved everything about this movie. Perfect casting, great acting, great atmosphere, beautiful cinematography. I found it mesmerizing. The story isn't original or complicated but it didn't need to be. "Open Range" may not appeal to all tastes, but it is unquestionably well-crafted on all levels. Bravo to Kevin Costner.
  20. KevinG.
    Jan 31, 2004
    10
    I think Kevin Costner should stick to Westerns!! This in my opinion is the best movie he has made since "Dances With Wolves" which by the way is my favorite all time move. Duvall is mesmerizing as he was in "Lonesome Dove". Lots of Action, a Love Story, and just a good ole Western. Thought they forgot how to make em!!
  21. DeonT.
    Nov 29, 2003
    10
    One of Costner's better movies. He let Duvall have the lead it worked great.
  22. LivH.
    Aug 14, 2003
    10
    This is a masterpiece western. This is what movies are ment to be. A pleasure and delight to watch. The end gun fight is the best Ive ever seen great action and masterfully edited
  23. JasonL.
    Aug 17, 2003
    9
    This is a very good film, and its made to look even better by the load of garbage that's been the movie summer of 2003. Lazy critics will go after Costner using Waterworld or the Postman as ammo, but anyone with a keen eye and head for film should be able to see that this is great stuff. Moody, complex, and ultimately satisfying, Open Range avoids a paint-by-numbers approach. One of This is a very good film, and its made to look even better by the load of garbage that's been the movie summer of 2003. Lazy critics will go after Costner using Waterworld or the Postman as ammo, but anyone with a keen eye and head for film should be able to see that this is great stuff. Moody, complex, and ultimately satisfying, Open Range avoids a paint-by-numbers approach. One of the top 5 films of the year so far. Expand
  24. JeffreyL.S.
    Aug 17, 2003
    9
    (***1/2-out of 4) Director/star: *Kevin Costner's 3rd directorial attempt. 1st of course was 1990's grand 0SCAR sweeping *"Dances With Wolves"/2nd-"The Postman" which had the misfortune of not only being a big dud, but also opening on the day of *"Titanic!" & now this terrificly realistic Western. & *Robert Duvall-(1931-) one of our finest actors, delivers another superb (***1/2-out of 4) Director/star: *Kevin Costner's 3rd directorial attempt. 1st of course was 1990's grand 0SCAR sweeping *"Dances With Wolves"/2nd-"The Postman" which had the misfortune of not only being a big dud, but also opening on the day of *"Titanic!" & now this terrificly realistic Western. & *Robert Duvall-(1931-) one of our finest actors, delivers another superb performance. Very similar to the 1 he played in the '80 tv mini-series "Lonesome Dove" Both cowboys here are terrific together. & as opposed to most of the summer violence, this violence is the real-deal! The massive gunfight towards the final of this dark western is one of the best! Not quite in the league of the final of "Shane" (1953) But certainly better than most cinema sequences today. & this also owes a lot to *Eastwood's magnifico OSCAR winning *"Unforgiven" from 1992 as well. In it's tone, darkness & violence! *Costner has completed his finest film in at least a decade! Expand
  25. PeterZ.
    Aug 18, 2003
    9
    Felt very real. Excellent acting. Good plot. Just enough humor. Get over Costner's past and judge this on its merits. Destined to be a Western classic.
  26. ChadS.
    Aug 19, 2003
    7
    You really don't get the sense that Charlie(Costner) is particularly tortured about being a ruthless killer, so when he reveals his bloody past to Sue(Bening), it's a surprise because this secret history wasn't properly set up. The tone of "Open Range" is so serious, it seems odd that much of the film's humor, albeit not unwelcoming, would occur at a time when Costner You really don't get the sense that Charlie(Costner) is particularly tortured about being a ruthless killer, so when he reveals his bloody past to Sue(Bening), it's a surprise because this secret history wasn't properly set up. The tone of "Open Range" is so serious, it seems odd that much of the film's humor, albeit not unwelcoming, would occur at a time when Costner and Duvall's lives hang in the balance. But that final shoot-out is fantastic. It's more fun than anything the CGI wizards could muster up. And if Costner went "The Searchers" route to end this admirable effort, Charlie's wicked past would've had more resonance. But this is a good movie. "The Postman" jokes end here. Expand
  27. R.F.
    Feb 22, 2005
    10
    All in all, a really great Western. Just a real fun movie. Excellent, believable dialogue by all three main characters.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. There's a lot in this movie, simple, big, small and exciting. It's the year's first serious contender for big prizes. What's not to like about this picture?
  2. Mr. Costner's relentless, root-canal humorlessness turns what might have been an enjoyable B-picture throwback into a ponderous drag.
  3. It's a fine, old-fashioned 2 1/4 hours at the Bijou.