Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: August 15, 2003
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 169 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
152
Mixed:
4
Negative:
13
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
RichardE.Aug 4, 2004
Ben K, apart from the fact that you've given away a suprise in the movie from your first sentence, you do not have the right to slag off other people's enthusiasms for a movie just because you didn't like it. The movie is very Ben K, apart from the fact that you've given away a suprise in the movie from your first sentence, you do not have the right to slag off other people's enthusiasms for a movie just because you didn't like it. The movie is very naturalistic, and embraces the feel of classic westerns while taking care not to decend into cliché. Costner and Duvall make a great pairing and play off each other very well and are ably supported by Bening and Gambon (though he's not given as much screen time as I always want him too). One of the best cinema shootouts in film history too (though there are shades of Unforgiven throughout the second half of the film, albeit not a bad film to grab themes from). It's a slow-burner of a film but one which is ultimately more rewarding than other fast-moving westerns. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomS.Aug 18, 2003
Open Range is not a film for people who expect a shoot-em up blockbuster. This is a film that appeals to people who love the old western genre. Coster takes a lesson from old classic westerns like "High Noon" and "The Searches" to create Open Range is not a film for people who expect a shoot-em up blockbuster. This is a film that appeals to people who love the old western genre. Coster takes a lesson from old classic westerns like "High Noon" and "The Searches" to create this new (and soon to be) western classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmberP.Sep 9, 2003
I absolutely loved this movie. Duval and Costner worked very well together. Costner was smart enough to let Duval's star shine. The love scene between Costner & Bening without so much as a kiss was conveyed in superb acting by both. I absolutely loved this movie. Duval and Costner worked very well together. Costner was smart enough to let Duval's star shine. The love scene between Costner & Bening without so much as a kiss was conveyed in superb acting by both. Definitely in time will become a classic. Kudo's to all for such a well made enjoyable movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NathanL.Feb 8, 2004
I watched this movie last night and it is due back today at noon. But "who cares" about the late fee, I have to watch it again! Tombstone had the best gunfight scene of the 90"s. This movie has the best gunfight scene this decade. And yes, I watched this movie last night and it is due back today at noon. But "who cares" about the late fee, I have to watch it again! Tombstone had the best gunfight scene of the 90"s. This movie has the best gunfight scene this decade. And yes, while Costner's character has issues with his past. Don't we all? His characters life's experience is what molds him into the bold and courageous man who rises up against the evils of the town. Go rent it NOW!! Definitely a DVD to own! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Aug 15, 2003
Costner is back in style!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnY.Aug 18, 2003
While his acting on screen is barely tolerable, Costner does wonders behind the camera. This is a visually breathtaking Western with frequently sharp dialogue and a superb performance by Duvall. Costner lets this picturesque environment While his acting on screen is barely tolerable, Costner does wonders behind the camera. This is a visually breathtaking Western with frequently sharp dialogue and a superb performance by Duvall. Costner lets this picturesque environment weave a net over your mind. It works; however, did that rudimentary love story need to be in there? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FantasyAug 28, 2003
Just came back from seeing Open Range and thoroughly enjoyed it. Robert Duvall was his usual excellent self and the supporting cast including the Director Kevin Costner was excellent. This film really had the touch and feel of the Old West Just came back from seeing Open Range and thoroughly enjoyed it. Robert Duvall was his usual excellent self and the supporting cast including the Director Kevin Costner was excellent. This film really had the touch and feel of the Old West before Wyatt Earp came to Dodge. Definitely a movie worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JimJ.Jan 20, 2004
Good story well acted. My all time favorite is Lonesome Dove.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RoniG.Jun 5, 2005
Very natural. nice natural scenes! The story, the actors performance are very good! Music Too!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
XiongC.Oct 18, 2003
Duvall at his very best -- and nobody else in the film lets him down, not even the bad guys. Outstanding, in the old mold.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AllenS.Aug 14, 2003
Open Range has everything going for it: picturesque landscapes, terrific acting, and a shootout that takes your breath away from start to finish. Costner shies away from the grittiness that Eastwood has come to prefer and, instead, crafts a Open Range has everything going for it: picturesque landscapes, terrific acting, and a shootout that takes your breath away from start to finish. Costner shies away from the grittiness that Eastwood has come to prefer and, instead, crafts a beautiful, moving, and wholeheartedly satisfying classic Western. Like John Ford's masterpiece, The Searchers, the film showcases the wildest parts of the wild west, all the while keeping a sense of humanism among all the carnage. Duvall feels right at home playing a character so rich and textured that he convinces as a surrogate father, a close friend, and a valuable battle-time ally. Costner shows once again that there is a person behind the monotone voice, empty gaze, and stiff, uncomfortable facade. He's clearly where he belongs in helming this traditional Western that doesn't pretend to be anything more than it is: a simple story of simple men in changing times. Combine this simplicity with superlative acting, fantastic cinematography, and an ever-present sense of humanity and what you get is the best film so far this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JaneH.Aug 16, 2003
If Kevin Costner had the same terrific ear for dialogue as he has eye for composition, this could've been a classic. The scenery is magnificent, the gunplay is riveting. But why oh why, in recent movie after movie, does Kevin insist on If Kevin Costner had the same terrific ear for dialogue as he has eye for composition, this could've been a classic. The scenery is magnificent, the gunplay is riveting. But why oh why, in recent movie after movie, does Kevin insist on playing glum, dour characters with pasts that haunt them? He seems to believe that an air of clinical depression is the only appropriate tone to convey a serious role. There are flashes of humor in this movie, but no lightness touches his character's portrayal. And after the terrific shoot-out at the Harmonville corral, the ending dissipates into a disjointed resolution of the unbelievable love story. In fairness, this is only the second western (and third film) Costner's directed. Even mighty John Ford had his clunkers (Liberty Valance, for example). I'll continue to hope for improvement. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomK.Aug 18, 2003
To those who say this is not a good movie, I say make a better one and I will pay to see it. Not perfect. A little long. Costner could not decide on an ending. but a damn fine effort.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DANIELM>Aug 19, 2003
Not "The Wild Bunch" but would rank in my top 5 Westerns along Lonesome Dove, Outlaw Josey Wales and Unforgiven.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SueC.Aug 21, 2003
This movie is realistic, enjoyable, ethical and shows the quality that so often is lacking in recent Hollywood films. I applaud Mr. Costner and his cast and crew for a wonderful film! I wish critics would review movies based upon their This movie is realistic, enjoyable, ethical and shows the quality that so often is lacking in recent Hollywood films. I applaud Mr. Costner and his cast and crew for a wonderful film! I wish critics would review movies based upon their quality rather than the narrow-minded opinions of what Mr. Costner is or should be...Thank you MR. COSTNER!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlesH.Aug 26, 2003
I loved everything about this movie. Perfect casting, great acting, great atmosphere, beautiful cinematography. I found it mesmerizing. The story isn't original or complicated but it didn't need to be. "Open Range" may not appeal I loved everything about this movie. Perfect casting, great acting, great atmosphere, beautiful cinematography. I found it mesmerizing. The story isn't original or complicated but it didn't need to be. "Open Range" may not appeal to all tastes, but it is unquestionably well-crafted on all levels. Bravo to Kevin Costner. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinG.Jan 31, 2004
I think Kevin Costner should stick to Westerns!! This in my opinion is the best movie he has made since "Dances With Wolves" which by the way is my favorite all time move. Duvall is mesmerizing as he was in "Lonesome Dove". Lots of Action, a I think Kevin Costner should stick to Westerns!! This in my opinion is the best movie he has made since "Dances With Wolves" which by the way is my favorite all time move. Duvall is mesmerizing as he was in "Lonesome Dove". Lots of Action, a Love Story, and just a good ole Western. Thought they forgot how to make em!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeonT.Nov 29, 2003
One of Costner's better movies. He let Duvall have the lead it worked great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LivH.Aug 14, 2003
This is a masterpiece western. This is what movies are ment to be. A pleasure and delight to watch. The end gun fight is the best Ive ever seen great action and masterfully edited
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JasonL.Aug 17, 2003
This is a very good film, and its made to look even better by the load of garbage that's been the movie summer of 2003. Lazy critics will go after Costner using Waterworld or the Postman as ammo, but anyone with a keen eye and head for This is a very good film, and its made to look even better by the load of garbage that's been the movie summer of 2003. Lazy critics will go after Costner using Waterworld or the Postman as ammo, but anyone with a keen eye and head for film should be able to see that this is great stuff. Moody, complex, and ultimately satisfying, Open Range avoids a paint-by-numbers approach. One of the top 5 films of the year so far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffreyL.S.Aug 17, 2003
(***1/2-out of 4) Director/star: *Kevin Costner's 3rd directorial attempt. 1st of course was 1990's grand 0SCAR sweeping *"Dances With Wolves"/2nd-"The Postman" which had the misfortune of not only being a big dud, but also opening (***1/2-out of 4) Director/star: *Kevin Costner's 3rd directorial attempt. 1st of course was 1990's grand 0SCAR sweeping *"Dances With Wolves"/2nd-"The Postman" which had the misfortune of not only being a big dud, but also opening on the day of *"Titanic!" & now this terrificly realistic Western. & *Robert Duvall-(1931-) one of our finest actors, delivers another superb performance. Very similar to the 1 he played in the '80 tv mini-series "Lonesome Dove" Both cowboys here are terrific together. & as opposed to most of the summer violence, this violence is the real-deal! The massive gunfight towards the final of this dark western is one of the best! Not quite in the league of the final of "Shane" (1953) But certainly better than most cinema sequences today. & this also owes a lot to *Eastwood's magnifico OSCAR winning *"Unforgiven" from 1992 as well. In it's tone, darkness & violence! *Costner has completed his finest film in at least a decade! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeterZ.Aug 18, 2003
Felt very real. Excellent acting. Good plot. Just enough humor. Get over Costner's past and judge this on its merits. Destined to be a Western classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Aug 19, 2003
You really don't get the sense that Charlie(Costner) is particularly tortured about being a ruthless killer, so when he reveals his bloody past to Sue(Bening), it's a surprise because this secret history wasn't properly set You really don't get the sense that Charlie(Costner) is particularly tortured about being a ruthless killer, so when he reveals his bloody past to Sue(Bening), it's a surprise because this secret history wasn't properly set up. The tone of "Open Range" is so serious, it seems odd that much of the film's humor, albeit not unwelcoming, would occur at a time when Costner and Duvall's lives hang in the balance. But that final shoot-out is fantastic. It's more fun than anything the CGI wizards could muster up. And if Costner went "The Searchers" route to end this admirable effort, Charlie's wicked past would've had more resonance. But this is a good movie. "The Postman" jokes end here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WilliamS.Nov 1, 2004
Anyone who gives this movie less than an 8, is proof of the comment by R.A. Heinlien that "Being non-productive themselves, ctitics can hate all productive people equally."
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
R.F.Feb 22, 2005
All in all, a really great Western. Just a real fun movie. Excellent, believable dialogue by all three main characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
tallmanwritingNov 26, 2012
Duvall is just brilliant. Costner is Costner...the Jerry Seinfeld of dramas. He's just Kevin, in 19th-century America, hardly even trying to act. Just being Kevin. Despite that, it's a lovely film, well shot.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJul 31, 2016
Why can we not get more westerns? A brilliant western that fits the genre bill and feels straight out of the golden age of the genre, Open Range confirms Kevin Costner's directorial ability, especially when in control of a western. RobertWhy can we not get more westerns? A brilliant western that fits the genre bill and feels straight out of the golden age of the genre, Open Range confirms Kevin Costner's directorial ability, especially when in control of a western. Robert Duvall, Costner, Diego Luna, and Annette Bening, are all terrific and have great chemistry with one another. Open Range does a good job establishing its characters, their motivations, and setting the stage for its big shootout. The action sequence is well handled and well shot, never becoming disorienting or confusing. Its purpose is clear and the proceeding elements of the film are done in a way that leaves you rooting for the protagonists, as you should, though the chemistry between the actors definitely plays into this element. As with many westerns, the film is incredibly lush and gorgeous, taking full advantage of its open, pure, and idyllic setting. A properly epic, well paced, and enthralling film, Open Range is a modern western with classical feel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
"Open Range" is a 2003 film directed by and starring Kevin Costner. The movie tells the story of two cattle ranchers (Costner, Duvall) who are forced to take up arms when threatened by corrupt lawmen. The movie to me looked like it was gonna'"Open Range" is a 2003 film directed by and starring Kevin Costner. The movie tells the story of two cattle ranchers (Costner, Duvall) who are forced to take up arms when threatened by corrupt lawmen. The movie to me looked like it was gonna' be a slightly boring film about life on the. . .wait for it. . .open range. I was half right. A very large portion of this movie's beginning 45 minutes is about just that. However, past that point the movie picks up with a fairly plain, but still enjoyable plot. The characters in the movie are pretty good. Duvall's portrayal of Boss Spearman is the best in the film, by my opinion. I thought Costner's performance was a little stoic, but not bothersome (makes me think that that was the intention). The script was standard in terms of dialogue I guess. Then again, I wasn't alive during the 19th century, so I have no frame of reference. The best and most entertaining point in this film is the last hour where the film's most impressive set piece is set into motion - a really incredible gunfight happens. It's shot spectacularly well - a worthy testament of Costner's directorial aptitude. Through and through I found "Open Range" to be a fairly entertaining film with a great climax. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews