User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 228 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 228
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    I loved this movie. I was on the edge of my seat. The ending was amazing. The story was good. A great thriller! i would definitely recommend this movie!!
  2. Jul 8, 2013
    9
    Orphan is a 2009 horror-thriller film directed by Jaume Collet-Serra. After suffering a miscarriage Kate Coleman decide to adopt Esther, a child in an orphanage who can hit for its sweetness. At home, however, accidents happen that Esther seems responsible. The film manages to convey tension and anxiety to the viewer thanks to strong scenes and incredible Isabelle Fuhrman which proves toOrphan is a 2009 horror-thriller film directed by Jaume Collet-Serra. After suffering a miscarriage Kate Coleman decide to adopt Esther, a child in an orphanage who can hit for its sweetness. At home, however, accidents happen that Esther seems responsible. The film manages to convey tension and anxiety to the viewer thanks to strong scenes and incredible Isabelle Fuhrman which proves to be a great actress. Good directing and also good music. The only flaw is the ending that seems to been done in a hurry. Expand
  3. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    Isabelle Fuhrman gives a stunning performance in this blood-chilling film.
  4. May 14, 2013
    9
    One of the scariest movies I have ever seen!
    It is completely real, no ghosts or supernatural things.
    After Esther's secret is revealed, the movie turns into a nervous and bloody shocker!
    The movie is definitely underrated!
  5. Mar 31, 2011
    10
    It's fun, it's twisted, and I definitely want to see it again. Esther's character was played to a tee, and it all comes together in the end. While the scary, manipulative kid movie is certainly cliche, it manages to pull it off in a refreshing way.
  6. Jan 22, 2014
    9
    "Orphan" is one of the most shocking movies of the past decade. It starts so relaxed and slowly taking shape infernal cruelty of Esther. Without any doubt, Isabel Fuhrman makes a gorgeous performance, perhaps one of the most terrible villains who have been in the paper recently. Expectant at its best, leaves you on edge in the last frame.
  7. Sep 9, 2012
    9
    Disturbing, well acted horror/suspense film that delivers on all levels, with a shocking twist ending that left me reeling. The chase scene goes on a bit too far, but otherwise this is gem of a scare movie.
  8. Aug 29, 2014
    9
    I watched Orphan countless times, and I feel like watching it every now and then. It happens that I have just seen it for the hundredth time, so I felt like I should shoutout my favorite film of all time to you people. Without being biased, Orphan does have some issues it is not a perfect film, but I see it as a masterpiece.

    Biased Rating 100%
    True Rating 91%
  9. BillP.
    Jul 26, 2009
    9
    Great great flick....scariest and thrilliest movie NOT involving monsters or aliens......scariest thing I've seen since first The Hills Have Eyes......the twist at the end makes the whole movie worth while and then you want to go abck and see again to pick up on the clues. Saarsgard kinda drole but his wife Kate puts up an amazing role and 11 year actress Isabelle is amazing as Great great flick....scariest and thrilliest movie NOT involving monsters or aliens......scariest thing I've seen since first The Hills Have Eyes......the twist at the end makes the whole movie worth while and then you want to go abck and see again to pick up on the clues. Saarsgard kinda drole but his wife Kate puts up an amazing role and 11 year actress Isabelle is amazing as Esther.....I totally dug it and the shooting was amazing and I thought wife's role amazing drinking problem and all. Expand
  10. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    very good child horror movie, with very good plot twist. The acting was sub-par but the girl how played ester should get a oscar. This movie will keep you on the edge of your seats throught out.
  11. Nov 8, 2012
    10
    Best Film Ever !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!!Best Film Ever !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! Expand
  12. DerekG
    Aug 3, 2009
    9
    Some of it is fairly predictable, and the scoring is absolutely terrible. HOWEVER, I am giving it a 9 because the family's backstory is really well-written and the twist is great. What really shines in this film, though, is the performances, which are stellar from all the major players, particularly Vera Farmiga and Isabelle Fuhrman. P.S. - People need to get over their "creepy Some of it is fairly predictable, and the scoring is absolutely terrible. HOWEVER, I am giving it a 9 because the family's backstory is really well-written and the twist is great. What really shines in this film, though, is the performances, which are stellar from all the major players, particularly Vera Farmiga and Isabelle Fuhrman. P.S. - People need to get over their "creepy fetish" issues with this movie. I can almost guarantee you that's why it's getting so many negative reviews. Expand
  13. JoeM
    Aug 3, 2009
    9
    I went to see Orphan despite the Horrible reviews most critics were giving it & was appalled at myself for almost listening to these knuckleheads. A movie this entertaining & well acted should not get zero's & 20's or whatever these ridiculously jaded critics are giving it. It was thrilling,well acted & btw i will continue to believe the only critic that matters, Roger Ebert I went to see Orphan despite the Horrible reviews most critics were giving it & was appalled at myself for almost listening to these knuckleheads. A movie this entertaining & well acted should not get zero's & 20's or whatever these ridiculously jaded critics are giving it. It was thrilling,well acted & btw i will continue to believe the only critic that matters, Roger Ebert thank you for being the critic most in touch with the movie going audience. Expand
  14. WilliamY
    Jul 26, 2009
    9
    Jimmy J, you have no respect for the movie establishment. ----SPOILER---- You have to give the movie credit before the twist ending (after contacting the institute) ----END SPOILER---- I just saw the movie yesterday with my girlfriend and one of my best friends and honestly, I loved it. I would have to definitley give it more props than ALL of the main-stream "horror" movies nowadays. Jimmy J, you have no respect for the movie establishment. ----SPOILER---- You have to give the movie credit before the twist ending (after contacting the institute) ----END SPOILER---- I just saw the movie yesterday with my girlfriend and one of my best friends and honestly, I loved it. I would have to definitley give it more props than ALL of the main-stream "horror" movies nowadays. Friday the Thirteenth SUCKED, it was porn and gore and I predicted half ot it. (Which is decently easy through use of camera shots, background music and timing throughout the movie) The newest Halloween (again) sucked, now mind you I'm a fan of all the old ones. But really Orphan gave me a thrill ride, I was literally on the edge of my seat for some of the movie. The shock factor (especially from "children") throughout various parts of the movie really got me. Perhaps it was just because they were children that I was more concerned, felt it was more demented and twisted than any other movie out there. I must say, the twist was a little cheesy and unrealistic, however the movie would have been perfectly fine without it. (except explaining the fact that a nine year old had the intelligence to plan half this stuff). Washington post review didn't offer anything against the movie, only called it bad names... that is BS. Expand
  15. AngelV
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    This movie has some magic in it,ive watch it three times and still loving it.
  16. KCJ.
    Aug 17, 2009
    9
    First and foremost why in the world would getting splashed in the face with there fuel source cause him to mutate into one of them. Even if i mutated him y would the mutation take their form. yes yes i know its alien but it is unfair to just try an explain everything a away with that simple fact. its like answering every question with by saying god did it. lets just chalk it up to bad First and foremost why in the world would getting splashed in the face with there fuel source cause him to mutate into one of them. Even if i mutated him y would the mutation take their form. yes yes i know its alien but it is unfair to just try an explain everything a away with that simple fact. its like answering every question with by saying god did it. lets just chalk it up to bad writing. It Really did not make any since that the alien was looking for cans of their fuel on earth that means they had to have brought it with them when they left the ship and just discarded it y would they do this!!! Cause i think it would have been a lot easier to just look for it while they were on the ship. Second off there were many things in the movie that was not explained why could the understand each other so well but neither side could speak a single word of the others language. Third Why is there a super high tech ship with aliens that are dumber as dumb as a pack of wild dog and acted as such. even if they were just workers and they had a superior race then why would they give them a ship and deadly guns. Forth how did they become stranded when the only thing keeping the ship from leaving was the fact on one was on it. i mean why would he detach that control room from the bigger ship stranding them there. I just think this story line was just haphazardly thrown together for a quick buck after they canceled HALO and based on this movie im am elated Peter Jackson and the other guy did not make HALO they would have messed it up beyond belief Because when it does come out it will be about the prequel book by Eric Nylund like it always should have been. Collapse
  17. HannahM
    Aug 18, 2009
    10
    I saw this movie and found it absolutely thrilling. The storyline was fanstastic and the whole thing was very well put together. At first you know that Esther [The Orphan] is going to be the villian in the story, but she acts so sweet and nice that you think "Is this sweet young child really going to be the villain?! She can't be'. The things Esther do are so sick and twisted, I saw this movie and found it absolutely thrilling. The storyline was fanstastic and the whole thing was very well put together. At first you know that Esther [The Orphan] is going to be the villian in the story, but she acts so sweet and nice that you think "Is this sweet young child really going to be the villain?! She can't be'. The things Esther do are so sick and twisted, but it really adds fear to the film. The scene that reallys gets to me is the scene where Esther picks the flowers that her adopted mother had been growing around her misscaried babys grave and gives them to her mum as a 'present' [when she knows that in actual fact her mother will be so upset]. The ending is not how you would expect it to be, it leaves you on absolute pins. It is just as much disturbing as it is scary like When Esther [ 9 years old ] tries to seduce her adopted father. You may think but why know, but will soon find out. Oh Yeah, and don't take ANY kid with you okay? Expand
  18. StephenF
    Aug 29, 2009
    9
    Ann Hornaday gave the movie a 0 and Cliff Doerksen says 0, sounds like childish non professional reviewers hating on a movie. Its offensive and abusive to see how they devastated something new and original yet a superior plot twist, i gotta say the twist can barely be wondered if you connect all details but if not it can strike with force, its really horrifying. Overall if deeply analyzed Ann Hornaday gave the movie a 0 and Cliff Doerksen says 0, sounds like childish non professional reviewers hating on a movie. Its offensive and abusive to see how they devastated something new and original yet a superior plot twist, i gotta say the twist can barely be wondered if you connect all details but if not it can strike with force, its really horrifying. Overall if deeply analyzed orphan is one of the best movies of 2009 in the genre putting tension of the family material which was surprisingly effective for then giving the audience a risky but mind blowing twist, it was skillfully achieved,great acting performances and even if it falls in the mean children category the story is nothing short of original. Expand
  19. AnonymousMC
    Jul 25, 2009
    10
    Okay, let's get something straight... this is not supposed to be a scary film. It was intended to be an intense thriller!!! This is a movie where every scene is more powerful, has more energy, and is more brilliant as scene by scene passes until the final twist which is down right superb. If you say that you figured it out half way through or knew what was going to happen, then youOkay, let's get something straight... this is not supposed to be a scary film. It was intended to be an intense thriller!!! This is a movie where every scene is more powerful, has more energy, and is more brilliant as scene by scene passes until the final twist which is down right superb. If you say that you figured it out half way through or knew what was going to happen, then you are lying!!! The best scene is in the bathroom and is easily the most intense part of the film which was full of energy and at that moment are hooked as to what is really wrong with this girl? Can't wait to buy this film. By far, the best child goes bad movie ever!!! Finally, something that is worth seeing and worth spending money on. Kudos to an amazing tour de force of spectacular film making. Expand
Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 25
  2. Negative: 7 out of 25
  1. 88
    You want a good horror film about a child from hell, you got one. Do not, under any circumstances, take children to see it. Take my word on this.
  2. Furhman plays pure evil with such supreme calmness that only her eyes shine with madness. Indeed, all of the child actors are superb, especially the expressive Engineer.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    40
    Teasingly enjoyable rubbish through the first hour, Orphan becomes genuine trash during its protracted second half.