Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 24, 2009
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 486 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
429
Mixed:
38
Negative:
19
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
Jewel01Jul 14, 2012
I loved this movie. I was on the edge of my seat. The ending was amazing. The story was good. A great thriller! i would definitely recommend this movie!!
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
8
DoctorT.Jul 24, 2009
As a film critic myself, I get annoyed when people say "Oh film critics don't give horror movies a chance" Then I look at this page and despair. Orphan is a terrific entry to the scary-child genre of horror. Featuring a well-modulated As a film critic myself, I get annoyed when people say "Oh film critics don't give horror movies a chance" Then I look at this page and despair. Orphan is a terrific entry to the scary-child genre of horror. Featuring a well-modulated build to a delightfully absurd denouement, the picture is a tad overlong, but never anything less than a hoot. It is worth seeing -- if for nothing else -- for a superb juvenile performance by Isabelle Fuhrman. I fear my colleagues need to undergo some genre re-education. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful
9
sil3nt_nickMar 24, 2013
Isabelle Fuhrman gives a stunning performance in this blood-chilling film.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
JacobparkerMay 14, 2013
One of the scariest movies I have ever seen!
It is completely real, no ghosts or supernatural things.
After Esther's secret is revealed, the movie turns into a nervous and bloody shocker!
The movie is definitely underrated!
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
RegOzJan 26, 2012
I agree with those who say that is a good because it is. It is engaging, smart, sharp and at time frightening. There are some issues, and perhaps there could have been some improvements. The argument, however, it is smart, and it is difficultI agree with those who say that is a good because it is. It is engaging, smart, sharp and at time frightening. There are some issues, and perhaps there could have been some improvements. The argument, however, it is smart, and it is difficult to get bored because things are always happening. In fact, I disagree, with those who say is trashy, and although some scenes are crude, it is not a torture-porn. To me it is something in between horror and thriller. A good mix, because it makes the plot smar. I think you have to give it a chance...forget about the critics, go with an open mind and decide yourself, it may not be your 'cup of tea', or it might...but give it a go! what is there to lose? ... Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
Mad_Hatter91Jul 8, 2013
Orphan is a 2009 horror-thriller film directed by Jaume Collet-Serra. After suffering a miscarriage Kate Coleman decide to adopt Esther, a child in an orphanage who can hit for its sweetness. At home, however, accidents happen that EstherOrphan is a 2009 horror-thriller film directed by Jaume Collet-Serra. After suffering a miscarriage Kate Coleman decide to adopt Esther, a child in an orphanage who can hit for its sweetness. At home, however, accidents happen that Esther seems responsible. The film manages to convey tension and anxiety to the viewer thanks to strong scenes and incredible Isabelle Fuhrman which proves to be a great actress. Good directing and also good music. The only flaw is the ending that seems to been done in a hurry. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
RawrthasMar 31, 2011
It's fun, it's twisted, and I definitely want to see it again. Esther's character was played to a tee, and it all comes together in the end. While the scary, manipulative kid movie is certainly cliche, it manages to pull it off in a refreshing way.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
DarsidiusMay 24, 2012
I recently rented this movie and saw it for the first time. Orphan is a new take on an old horror genre - the evil child movie. But the twist at the end is probably what makes the movie even more disturbing when you watch the movie again.I recently rented this movie and saw it for the first time. Orphan is a new take on an old horror genre - the evil child movie. But the twist at the end is probably what makes the movie even more disturbing when you watch the movie again. The bits of dialogue in the film, while not particularly memorable, seem to have a more sinister take in the second viewing. The acting in the film was especially good. Isabelle Fuhrman's acting was particularly notable without saying, but it would be folly to overlook the convincing performances of the rest of the cast. The story itself was good at it's core, but it fell flat at major points, such as pacing and introducing character development at wrong moments. The latter part of that sentence is especially important, as it seemed that the filmmakers wanted to introduce new flaws in the protagonist to excuse the actions of the antagonist late in the film. On another note, the movie worked too hard to have a disruptive character (the Orphan) integrate into a disrupted family, almost as if she had some sort of hand in the problems that plagued the family before showing up to wreak havoc. In a horror movie, one-dimensional characters aren't a problem, but when there's too much depth to potential victims you have trouble following. Lastly, as mentioned before, the pacing of the film poor and slow. For some reason, "Suspense" was defined as utilizing camera shots and cheap jump shots to establish an atmosphere of "on edge" horror. While it might work for some films, I can't understand why it was used throughout this entire movie, particularly when the antagonist hasn't even shown up. It began to get old and predictable to a point that when the real horror began, you could tell that the filmmakers weren't even that interested in it anymore. The film gets this rating for trying to be original and bringing in a strong troupe of performers who did well with what they had to work with. But the story could have been a little less complex, maybe camped up. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
Kyle39Sep 9, 2012
Disturbing, well acted horror/suspense film that delivers on all levels, with a shocking twist ending that left me reeling. The chase scene goes on a bit too far, but otherwise this is gem of a scare movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
ILHMFeb 2, 2013
A family of four is torn apart after adopting a seemingly sweet and intelligent Russian girl. Her mysterious past catches up with them as a series of accidents befall the family members and anyone else that crosses Esther's path. ORPHAN was aA family of four is torn apart after adopting a seemingly sweet and intelligent Russian girl. Her mysterious past catches up with them as a series of accidents befall the family members and anyone else that crosses Esther's path. ORPHAN was a big hit upon its release in 2009, despite its many setbacks that keep it from becoming a classic in the killer kids genre. The character of Esther is written and played far too menacingly for her to remain unnoticed. There is no ambiguity in her actions, as she is clearly portrayed as being evil from the very start. As a result, much of the film relies on the shock of her actions rather than the build up or suspense leading up to them. It does, however, manage to maintain the mystery behind her shady background long enough to give the audience one final surprise! Esther's adopted parents are easily the most frustrating parents in recent Horror. Her crackpot mother is irritating and irresponsible, while her idiot father stands completely oblivious to her evil ways in light of the horrible tragedies that are affecting his family. They gain no sympathy or support as a result. If films were graded solely on their twist endings, ORPHAN would rate at the top of its class, but the carelessness of the writing cannot be overcome by the clean cinematography or Isabelle Fuhrman's creepy performance as Esther. -Carl Manes
I Like Horror Movies
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
I was a bit hesitant to see this movie, because to me, the story seemed unbelievable. How evil could a 10 year old girl be, right? ...wrong! Esther is one crazy little I really didn't think I'd like this movie, but I loved it. IsabelleI was a bit hesitant to see this movie, because to me, the story seemed unbelievable. How evil could a 10 year old girl be, right? ...wrong! Esther is one crazy little I really didn't think I'd like this movie, but I loved it. Isabelle Fuhrman is amazing in this film. If the performance wasn't in the context of a messed up girl in a horror movie, she would have gotten academy notice, she was THAT good. Jimmy Bennett was also really good playing her adoptive brother, he even did his own stunts. Every time I see this kid he gets better and better, and I think you'll be seeing his name in films for the next fifty years. The parents don't really have a major role in the film, but they were equally as good. The cast was great, the lead was amazing, the story was solid, and there is a hell of a twist at the end, that in and of itself makes this film worth watching. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
HaithamBayazeedApr 29, 2013
Orphan is a really great thriller, not involving ghosts, aliens, possessed girl/boy, monsters, no...this movie is a story that can happen, although the twist is kind of not real, but I don't know, on the other hand I know that orphan is scaryOrphan is a really great thriller, not involving ghosts, aliens, possessed girl/boy, monsters, no...this movie is a story that can happen, although the twist is kind of not real, but I don't know, on the other hand I know that orphan is scary because it is about a child who kills, who knows what children can do these days? Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
paulwilsonlogicJan 22, 2014
"Orphan" is one of the most shocking movies of the past decade. It starts so relaxed and slowly taking shape infernal cruelty of Esther. Without any doubt, Isabel Fuhrman makes a gorgeous performance, perhaps one of the most terrible villains"Orphan" is one of the most shocking movies of the past decade. It starts so relaxed and slowly taking shape infernal cruelty of Esther. Without any doubt, Isabel Fuhrman makes a gorgeous performance, perhaps one of the most terrible villains who have been in the paper recently. Expectant at its best, leaves you on edge in the last frame. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
HaithamBAug 29, 2014
I watched Orphan countless times, and I feel like watching it every now and then. It happens that I have just seen it for the hundredth time, so I felt like I should shoutout my favorite film of all time to you people. Without being biased,I watched Orphan countless times, and I feel like watching it every now and then. It happens that I have just seen it for the hundredth time, so I felt like I should shoutout my favorite film of all time to you people. Without being biased, Orphan does have some issues it is not a perfect film, but I see it as a masterpiece.

Biased Rating 100%
True Rating 91%
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
GagaForGhibliJun 6, 2012
This Has A Really God Plot And Acting!
A Real 8! One Of The Best Writen Horror Movies Of All Time!
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
moviefreak12Nov 21, 2010
very good child horror movie, with very good plot twist. The acting was sub-par but the girl how played ester should get a oscar. This movie will keep you on the edge of your seats throught out.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
NerdHeroNov 8, 2012
Best Film Ever !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!!Best Film Ever !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
grazibJul 25, 2009
Super fun! agree with NPR Nathan Lee The movie is, as these things go, enjoyably trashy. but that was fun, i had a great time and everyone else in the theatre.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
BillP.Jul 26, 2009
Great great flick....scariest and thrilliest movie NOT involving monsters or aliens......scariest thing I've seen since first The Hills Have Eyes......the twist at the end makes the whole movie worth while and then you want to go abck Great great flick....scariest and thrilliest movie NOT involving monsters or aliens......scariest thing I've seen since first The Hills Have Eyes......the twist at the end makes the whole movie worth while and then you want to go abck and see again to pick up on the clues. Saarsgard kinda drole but his wife Kate puts up an amazing role and 11 year actress Isabelle is amazing as Esther.....I totally dug it and the shooting was amazing and I thought wife's role amazing drinking problem and all. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
avatar16Jun 1, 2012
Depuis quelques temps, les Espagnols deviennent incontournables dans le style de l'angoisse et de l'horreur (Les Autres, [REC], L'Orphelinat). Nouveau titre à ajouter dans cette collection : Esther ! Un film d'une redoutableDepuis quelques temps, les Espagnols deviennent incontournables dans le style de l'angoisse et de l'horreur (Les Autres, [REC], L'Orphelinat). Nouveau titre à ajouter dans cette collection : Esther ! Un film d'une redoutable efficacité et d'une perversité sans nom (au point que l'on croirait voir la fille d'Hannibal Lecter) qui tire partie de son ambiance, de son scénario (révélation finale inattendue, personnages approfondis, cohérences scénaristiques...) et de son casting (Vera Farmiga, naturelle, la jeune Isabelle Fuhrman, impressionnante et surtout angoissante). Autant le dire tout de suite, on ne s'en sort pas indemme ! Pour le prouver, cela faisait longtemps que je n'avais pas été aussi impressionné par un film du genre qui pourrait monter aussi haut dans le panthéon, presque au point de sa ranger du côté de L'Exorciste. Continuez comme ça, les Espagnols ! Vous vous démarquez des divertissements "abrutis" appelés films d'horreur américains ! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
KivaJun 11, 2013
A thriller movie that will keep you until the end and the end is really good. It has action and some scary scenes I liked the girl and Vera Farmiga. It was better than other thriller-horror movies that are coming out these days...
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
WilliamYJul 26, 2009
Jimmy J, you have no respect for the movie establishment. ----SPOILER---- You have to give the movie credit before the twist ending (after contacting the institute) ----END SPOILER---- I just saw the movie yesterday with my girlfriend and Jimmy J, you have no respect for the movie establishment. ----SPOILER---- You have to give the movie credit before the twist ending (after contacting the institute) ----END SPOILER---- I just saw the movie yesterday with my girlfriend and one of my best friends and honestly, I loved it. I would have to definitley give it more props than ALL of the main-stream "horror" movies nowadays. Friday the Thirteenth SUCKED, it was porn and gore and I predicted half ot it. (Which is decently easy through use of camera shots, background music and timing throughout the movie) The newest Halloween (again) sucked, now mind you I'm a fan of all the old ones. But really Orphan gave me a thrill ride, I was literally on the edge of my seat for some of the movie. The shock factor (especially from "children") throughout various parts of the movie really got me. Perhaps it was just because they were children that I was more concerned, felt it was more demented and twisted than any other movie out there. I must say, the twist was a little cheesy and unrealistic, however the movie would have been perfectly fine without it. (except explaining the fact that a nine year old had the intelligence to plan half this stuff). Washington post review didn't offer anything against the movie, only called it bad names... that is BS. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JoeMAug 3, 2009
I went to see Orphan despite the Horrible reviews most critics were giving it & was appalled at myself for almost listening to these knuckleheads. A movie this entertaining & well acted should not get zero's & 20's or whatever I went to see Orphan despite the Horrible reviews most critics were giving it & was appalled at myself for almost listening to these knuckleheads. A movie this entertaining & well acted should not get zero's & 20's or whatever these ridiculously jaded critics are giving it. It was thrilling,well acted & btw i will continue to believe the only critic that matters, Roger Ebert thank you for being the critic most in touch with the movie going audience. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DerekGAug 3, 2009
Some of it is fairly predictable, and the scoring is absolutely terrible. HOWEVER, I am giving it a 9 because the family's backstory is really well-written and the twist is great. What really shines in this film, though, is the Some of it is fairly predictable, and the scoring is absolutely terrible. HOWEVER, I am giving it a 9 because the family's backstory is really well-written and the twist is great. What really shines in this film, though, is the performances, which are stellar from all the major players, particularly Vera Farmiga and Isabelle Fuhrman. P.S. - People need to get over their "creepy fetish" issues with this movie. I can almost guarantee you that's why it's getting so many negative reviews. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
AlfredHAug 8, 2009
It left me wishing the ending was completely different. This could have been the movie which left you being terrified of young children for the rest of your life. Instead I was left wondering why the captain from The Shield suddenly became a It left me wishing the ending was completely different. This could have been the movie which left you being terrified of young children for the rest of your life. Instead I was left wondering why the captain from The Shield suddenly became a nun and couldn't take a midget. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
LukeDAug 10, 2009
The ending didn't go the way I wanted, but sadly the way I expected. Too many clichés but well executed. IMHO they did not go nearly as far as many a sick and twisted mind could have taken the film (and I'm not talking about The ending didn't go the way I wanted, but sadly the way I expected. Too many clichés but well executed. IMHO they did not go nearly as far as many a sick and twisted mind could have taken the film (and I'm not talking about the gore). This was probably to get past the censors and the more reactionary sections of the press and the film is the worse for it. Perhaps the uncut version will rectify this. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AngelVAug 23, 2009
This movie has some magic in it,ive watch it three times and still loving it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TammyCAug 30, 2009
Very good movie , had a good twist in the movie, worth going to see.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
horcrux2007Mar 15, 2015
(going to watch again)

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
8
talisencrwJul 28, 2016
This was a very entertaining, enjoyable and well-made horror film. In saying that, there WERE three distinct flaws that came to mind: One, I'm not sure a marriage THAT troubled would be allowed to adopt a child; two, I don't see how ANYONE asThis was a very entertaining, enjoyable and well-made horror film. In saying that, there WERE three distinct flaws that came to mind: One, I'm not sure a marriage THAT troubled would be allowed to adopt a child; two, I don't see how ANYONE as intelligent as that pair are proposed to be would ever adopt anyone without having the necessary background information; and three, being a parent myself, there's no way on God's green earth that I would have continued the social experiment of the orphan's adoption the very first moment that something bizarre happened, or that things went awry.

Keeping my aforementioned small problems with the film's plot problems in mind, I still greatly enjoyed the film and it was highly enjoyable throughout. I particularly enjoyed the troubled artwork of the orphan in question (shown in neon, only when ultraviolet light was presented).
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews