Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Several subsidiary bosses gather at a lavish lunch with “Mr. Chairman,” the head of the ruling Sanno-kai crime organization which controls the Greater Tokyo area. Sannokai underboss Kato warns Ikemoto about his overt dealings with family outsider Murase, an old-timer with whom he recently made a pact in prison. In an effort to ease Mr. Chairman’s suspicions, Ikemoto asks fellow boss Otomo to do his dirty work for him by making a minor but obvious move against Murase. Otomo’s actions are the start of a ruthless series of conflicts and betrayals. Before long, several yakuza clans are out for blood in their constant battle for power and money. The rival bosses fight to rise through the ranks by scheming and making short-lived allegiances. In this corrupt world where there are no heroes, it’s Bad Guy vs. Bad Guy in a spiraling outrage of gang warfare. (Magnolia Pictures)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Rob Nelson
    Nov 27, 2011
    90
    Focusing on the absurdly ultraviolent tit-for-tat tussles among a trio of Tokyo crime families, the film is a beautifully staged marvel that confidently reasserts Kitano's considerable cinematic gifts.
  2. Reviewed by: Maggie Lee
    Nov 27, 2011
    80
    As violent, amoral and misanthropic as a Jacobean play, Outrage is Takeshi Kitano's first yakuza flick since "Brother" (2000), and arguably his best film in a decade.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Dec 1, 2011
    80
    Though it may at times seem like just another Japanese gangster picture, in Outrage, Kitano's sense of pacing is so precise, at once restrained and relentless, that the film becomes a vortex, pulling audiences in deeper and deeper.
  4. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Dec 1, 2011
    70
    Not everything is as elegantly executed, including a tiresome, would-be comic subplot involving an African diplomat and a clandestine casino that drags the story down badly and comes close to noxious racial stereotype.
  5. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jan 4, 2012
    63
    It is also a film of controlled visual style; Kitano's compositions are like arrangements of bodies in space and time. That said, and with all due respect, I expected a better time.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Dec 2, 2011
    60
    The good news about Outrage, his grisly return to the genre, is that Kitano doesn't have to shake the rust off - his impeccable compositions and clean, minimalist sound design are still calibrated for maximum impact. Even as dozens of bodies pile up, each act of violence feels as bracing as the sound of a gunshot ripping through the night air.
  7. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Dec 1, 2011
    50
    Outrage is compelling to watch until it becomes exhausting.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Jun 15, 2013
    6
    Outrage is a disappointing return to the Yakuza genre by Kitano Takeshi. The film offers some truly brutal violence but little else. Where has the offbeat charm that defined Takeshi's previous movies gone? The film might well be striving to push the point that violence begets violence and is thus ultimately pointless, but the pointlessness of it all makes this movie pointless. Um... It's solid, I suppose but I was hoping for much more. Expand
  2. Dec 5, 2011
    6
    It's not nearly as engaging as other Yakuza movies I've seen in the last few years. Sure, there's plenty of violence, some comedy, and creative killing. But it's tough to get behind any of the characters. Expand
  3. Dec 6, 2011
    5
    I was expecting better things for no particular reason. I felt like a lot of the movie was forced to try and seem a certain way when it only came of as corny. The acting at times was atrocious, or maybe Chinese/ Japanese people have very dramatic facial expressions? Subtitles always ad somewhat of a strain to movies but I still had real trouble connecting or believing much of what was going on. I then began having trouble recalling which people went with which families and why they began to dislike the other, and how it benefited one side or the other. It had a few interesting gory deaths/ beatings but uit became quite repetitive. Overall I felt it was pretty poor, as a lover of most Yakuza/ Mafia movies and felt I had wasted my time watching. Collapse

Trailers