Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 222 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: A trio of bodybuilders in 1990s Miami get caught up in a kidnapping and extortion scheme that goes terribly wrong.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 42
  2. Negative: 10 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Apr 25, 2013
    88
    A dizzying lowlife saga that’s fast, smart, wicked, sort of ambitious and blazingly ironic. It’s as unpredictable as a Lindsay Lohan drive to the grocery store, as overstuffed as the pictures on Anthony Weiner’s Twitter feed and as hilarious as me on the bench press.
  2. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Apr 24, 2013
    75
    With Pain & Gain, his surprising true-crime comedy, Bay has finally decided to lighten up a bit.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Apr 24, 2013
    63
    An outrageous based-on-real-life tale that's perfectly suited to director Michael Bay's insanely overblown stylistic and thematic temperament.
  4. Reviewed by: Barbara VanDenburgh
    Apr 25, 2013
    50
    There’s a certain kinetic charm to the first half of the movie, a freewheeling silliness to these outsized characters that makes you curious to see just how wrong things will go. But as the weightlifters’ plot spirals out of control, so does the movie’s.
  5. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Apr 25, 2013
    50
    That sense of extreme, excess, over-the-top everything is there from start to finish. And isn't that what Bay fans count on even at cut-rate prices?
  6. Reviewed by: Ciara LaVelle
    Apr 23, 2013
    40
    When the story runs off the rails and crashes headfirst into a too-perfect ending, it's because Bay was led astray by the same things that got the Sun Gym Gang into this mess in the first place: superficiality, ambition, and the belief that reality just isn't good enough.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Apr 25, 2013
    0
    Michael Bay's absurdist comedy is all pain, no gain and an utter monstrosity. It may be the most unpleasant movie I've ever seen, and I'm not forgetting "Freaks," which Pain & Gain resembles, come to think of it.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 57
  2. Negative: 9 out of 57
  1. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    nuff said.................................................................................................................................................................................................................... Expand
  2. Apr 29, 2013
    10
    This movie was very interesting. A blend of tragedy and dark comedy, it is one enjoyable film. The feelings for every individual character is evoked initially and changes as the movie progresses, for the better or for the worse, this movie is a must-watch. Expand
  3. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    an undeniably entertaining movie with a great line of actors who all deliver. I found my self to be the only one laughing at times haha. overall the movie delivered and the ROCK is massive. Expand
  4. Jun 7, 2013
    7
    I've never been on the Michael Bay bashing train and certainly don't plan to start now as his latest, "smaller" film is likely the most interesting piece of work he will ever put to film. Interesting being the key word here as the story Bay has chosen to recount is one of the most outlandish and absurd truths that has also likely even been put to film. I have been highly anticipating Pain & Gain if not for the chance to see the now solidified movie star of Mark Wahlberg make his next move as well as watching Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson continue to skyrocket towards superstar status, but for the opportunity to see Bay stretch his visual (and maybe even storytelling) muscles with something other than big CGI robots. It has been nearly six years since the first Transformers film and in the time that Bay has delivered two sequels he has also had the growing ambition for this kind of passion project and that comes through in the execution and style with which Pain & Gain is delivered. There have already been some pretty heavy accusations and criticisms of the film thrown out and while I can understand where some of these are coming from in regards to the family of the deceased feeling this is making light of their family members deaths, the film certainly isn't glorifying the main characters and if anything, the source of the comedy comes from how stupid and incompetent these lead protagonists are in their dim-witted schemes. There are plenty of words being thrown around like homophobic or misogynistic to describe the director and his film yet it has always been clear the world these characters lived in was a world of strippers and bodybuilders who'd do anything for their physique yet likely oppose anything even the least bit gay. Those complaints are rendered mute by the fact those attributes are what create the atmosphere and the actions of the characters are so off-putting and the story so strange that it is also becomes extremely engaging.

    read the whole review at www.reviewsfromabed.com
    Expand
  5. Mar 14, 2014
    6
    Pain and gain is one crazy mess.Not all bad, I did find some stuff pretty funny. It`s crazy, funny, strange, and dumb, all in one movie. I find some of this stuff hard to believe that it could be a true Story. I mean if you pick out any of the ridiculous stuff that happen I can believe it, but all in one wow! The Rocks character lol How did this guy not die by age 15.This was definitely original for me. Expand
  6. LTR
    Sep 15, 2013
    5
    I'm having trouble on what I think of this film.I like the story and idea,but the fact that these people actually did this,you can't really like the characters even though the movie wants you to. Expand
  7. Aug 21, 2013
    0
    I really don't know where they were going with this movie. It was a terrible mixture of action, comedy, and drama that just did not work well together. The fact that the actors put far too much effort into their characters really ruined the like-ability of them. If Pain & Gain was intended to be a comedy then they really missed the mark on this one because it was not funny...at all. It was just really, really stupid, The kind of stupid where you laugh because you can not believe someone actually thought that was a good idea to put into a film. Not to mention the run time, 2 hours long, was absolutely brutal to sit through.

    Overall, Don't even bother. Pain & Gain is a confusing mess that seems to drag on and on with no end in sight.
    Expand

See all 57 User Reviews

Trailers