Picturehouse | Release Date: December 29, 2006
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2245 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,957
Mixed:
155
Negative:
133
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
BillyS.Jan 19, 2007
When a movie starts out with the narration- "A long time ago in another world there was a little princess...", you know you're watching a fairy tale. Plain and simple. Not a great metaphorical, deeply meaningful reflection of life, a When a movie starts out with the narration- "A long time ago in another world there was a little princess...", you know you're watching a fairy tale. Plain and simple. Not a great metaphorical, deeply meaningful reflection of life, a fairy tale with breathtaking wonders and horrific evils, damsels in distress and sinister evildoers, places of wondorous glory and stick bug fairies and whether you believe it or not, a place where they lived happily ever after in the end. That said, Pan's Labyrinth is also the most brilliant, intelligent, visually stunning movie of a fairy tale ever filmed! Plain and simple. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErikH.Jan 19, 2007
Ryan C, you do not realize that your vote for a zero isn't going to change the 97 (now 98) metascore you complained about, right? That being said, this was an excellent film with impressive effects and excellent direction. Connecting Ryan C, you do not realize that your vote for a zero isn't going to change the 97 (now 98) metascore you complained about, right? That being said, this was an excellent film with impressive effects and excellent direction. Connecting fantasy with reality is nothing new, but Del Toro is able to craft it in such a way that the connection is more powerful than it has ever been in other films. This is easily one of the best films of 2006. It's a true must see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MozzM.Jan 19, 2007
This is the best most incredibly moving movie since I seen Schindler's List. It has become one of my top ten favorites, the first film to break into my top ten of all time, since I've seen Shawshank Redemption.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlisterL.Jan 21, 2007
[***SPOILERS***] I can see how this movie might alienate some- those demanding a literal fantasy rather than a figurative one were always going to be disappointed ('Damn! I've been forced to think! Won't!). I'll admit I [***SPOILERS***] I can see how this movie might alienate some- those demanding a literal fantasy rather than a figurative one were always going to be disappointed ('Damn! I've been forced to think! Won't!). I'll admit I was also expecting something different, and was delighted by the surprise. This is truly intelligent, layered drama; something to savour again and again. For those who gave it between 0 and 2, don't worry- the cast of polished mannequins that 'starred' in 'The Chronicles of Narnia' will be soon decorating the sequel in a multiplex near you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChipL.Jan 21, 2007
The best anti-war movie I've seen in years. Very intense, very scary and very moving. NOT for children and not for those expecting a fun fantasy. Loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmyA.Jan 21, 2007
This is quite possibly one of the most profound allegorical films you will ever see. It is beautifully terrifying. The scene between the doctor and Vidal after the mercy killing rattles you. It proves that the truly strong are the ones who This is quite possibly one of the most profound allegorical films you will ever see. It is beautifully terrifying. The scene between the doctor and Vidal after the mercy killing rattles you. It proves that the truly strong are the ones who question the powers that be. So many are unwilling to do that in our world. The metaphorical fantasy of Ofelia juxtaposed with the nightmare of Facism is brilliant. I am still deciding what is fanstastic and what is reality. This is a perfect-- and I am not one to use that term loosely--film. I will see it again in the theatre. It is worth every second and every penny. Del Toro is an amazing filmmaker. I hope he receives all of the acclaim that he deserves. It is a film for those who understand history and myth. It isn't for someone who wants to mindlessly be led into an escapist fantasy for 2 hours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisStoikoffDec 14, 2007
Quickly scrolling through the MANY reviews, I see a hell of a lot of Reds and Yellows. RIdiculous. This movie's story is so deep and entrancing as to be an instant classic, but you have to be watching the movie, and getting past the factQuickly scrolling through the MANY reviews, I see a hell of a lot of Reds and Yellows. RIdiculous. This movie's story is so deep and entrancing as to be an instant classic, but you have to be watching the movie, and getting past the fact that there are subtitles to truly appreciate this masterpiece. Knowing Spanish would probably be a great asset to you as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeK.Jr.Jan 22, 2007
An absolute masterpiece. Incorporates almost every genre of cinema. I am usually a very serious person who only cries and laughs when needed; but, I cried during this movie and so did everyone in the theater with me. Deserves an oscar for An absolute masterpiece. Incorporates almost every genre of cinema. I am usually a very serious person who only cries and laughs when needed; but, I cried during this movie and so did everyone in the theater with me. Deserves an oscar for best picture of the year!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerZ.Jan 22, 2007
When I saw Guillermo del Toro directed this film, I already knew it was going to be good and I set my expectations high, they werent disapointed. This fairy tale for adults mixes in real monsters with fantasy ones and doesnt coddle you. It When I saw Guillermo del Toro directed this film, I already knew it was going to be good and I set my expectations high, they werent disapointed. This fairy tale for adults mixes in real monsters with fantasy ones and doesnt coddle you. It weaves in and out between the protagonists fantasies and reality. This movie is epic literally and figuratively, the Alice in Wonderland of the 21st century. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CahJan 22, 2007
thought-provoking, mystifying, spell-binding, intelligent, unexpected, deft, acute; a brilliant exposition of the blurring of our perceptions of what is real, what is intolerable,on what must be tolerated precisely because it is real, and thought-provoking, mystifying, spell-binding, intelligent, unexpected, deft, acute; a brilliant exposition of the blurring of our perceptions of what is real, what is intolerable,on what must be tolerated precisely because it is real, and what realms lie beyond ordinary perception. a deeply engaging film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TalJan 22, 2007
Its so blatantly obvious that people who gave this movie bad reviews came into it with terrible preconceptions or biases about it. Stop reading reviews, and just go see the movie. Movie critics aren't so ridiculous to give a movie this Its so blatantly obvious that people who gave this movie bad reviews came into it with terrible preconceptions or biases about it. Stop reading reviews, and just go see the movie. Movie critics aren't so ridiculous to give a movie this much praise without some true merit. Go see it, and judge for yourself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AllistairP.Jan 23, 2007
Lots of things I liked about it, in fact there was something interesting visually or story wise every minute. Yet it never came together like I would have hoped. Still a great film, just wish it's story pulled some things together a bit Lots of things I liked about it, in fact there was something interesting visually or story wise every minute. Yet it never came together like I would have hoped. Still a great film, just wish it's story pulled some things together a bit better and focused a little more on one thing and not 3. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AriBJan 23, 2007
I went to see this movie expecting a complete fantasy story, but I was pleasantly surprised by this briliant masterpiece. I don't think I've seen a movie truly as great as this; an original story with such intensity that had me on I went to see this movie expecting a complete fantasy story, but I was pleasantly surprised by this briliant masterpiece. I don't think I've seen a movie truly as great as this; an original story with such intensity that had me on the edge of my seat the entire time..and the contrast between the innocence of a child and the brutality of war had me deeply moved. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
T.J.Jan 24, 2007
The film is amazing looking and imaginative. The young girl is a terrific actress. But, I still think the film lacks subtlety. It's a comic book world of extreme violence and brutal fascism on one side and innocence and imagination on The film is amazing looking and imaginative. The young girl is a terrific actress. But, I still think the film lacks subtlety. It's a comic book world of extreme violence and brutal fascism on one side and innocence and imagination on the other. Life exists in the gray areas and so does great cinema. Is it really all that brave or interesting to show Franco's fascists as brutal and the rebels as valiant? Surely there's a deeper story here. But, very well acted and imaginative. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DannN.Jan 25, 2007
Awesome film. A wonderfully conceived fairytale too grusome for children. Perhaps that's del Toro's design. To make a fantasy that recreates the childlike horrors and triumphs of traditional fairy tales, but for adult Awesome film. A wonderfully conceived fairytale too grusome for children. Perhaps that's del Toro's design. To make a fantasy that recreates the childlike horrors and triumphs of traditional fairy tales, but for adult sensibilities. Whether that goal was his intent or not...it worked. And wondrously so. (One small flaw: the reason the faun gives for coming back and allowing the young girl a second chance is weak. That could have been fixed. Oh, well.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeithJOct 26, 2007
Possibly the best movie I've ever seen. It's this or Casablanca. I guess the critics thought they were seeing either The Ferryman or Alice In Wonderland. Next time, read some previews first.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronMJan 26, 2007
This movie is thought provoking and well made, not to mention that the fantasy parts of it are sweet, and the war scenes are extremely exciting. This movie is so original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoanneK.Jan 27, 2007
Grisly, at times impossible to watch, sad, lnspiring, amazing. I will definitely see it again - noiw that I know I can stand the brutality, I hope to be able to focus on all those metapphors and allusions. I Icould not stop thinking about Grisly, at times impossible to watch, sad, lnspiring, amazing. I will definitely see it again - noiw that I know I can stand the brutality, I hope to be able to focus on all those metapphors and allusions. I Icould not stop thinking about this movie. Yes, I dreamed abouit it last night. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisK.Jan 27, 2007
The people bashing this movie celarly didn't understand the film. It is a transcendant beautiful film, one that I feel privaleged to have seen. Beautiful acting, an aching story, this is THE definitive film of '06
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ReidF.Jan 27, 2007
This is definitely not a fantasy film. It is a very dark, bloody, gory, and violent film about war and tyranny that includes some elements of fantasy. It can best be described as gritty surrealism. It is also an excellent movie, directed in This is definitely not a fantasy film. It is a very dark, bloody, gory, and violent film about war and tyranny that includes some elements of fantasy. It can best be described as gritty surrealism. It is also an excellent movie, directed in Spanish by Guillermo del Toro, with superb visual technique and a well-developed story taking place after the Spanish Civil War. In my opinion, there are too many unexplained plot devices and dangling characters, and the ending feels tacked on like an old episode of Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChrisH.Jan 27, 2007
This movie is really about how a girl dissociated from the real world to a fantasy/dream world, in my opinion. So, to be honest, I didn't care for it as much as I wanted to. (And I really wanted to.) I think part of it is that it really This movie is really about how a girl dissociated from the real world to a fantasy/dream world, in my opinion. So, to be honest, I didn't care for it as much as I wanted to. (And I really wanted to.) I think part of it is that it really cheats the fantasy side of the movie, almost to be the equivalent of something like Donnie Darko, although just barely. Yes, it is beautiful, and the acting is very good, save the small girl, who's practically aimless. While it attempts to tie in the fantasy aspects with the real world, it more or less confuses the audience so that, at the end of the movie, you're left feeling, "So what?" It's not bad, but don't be surprised if it's not what you thought it would be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChayesJan 28, 2007
It's an overal good movie, but like most people after watching this movie, I was expecting more "fantasy" scences. I don't agree with the 98 rating it's receiving here, although don't get me wrong it's a good flick It's an overal good movie, but like most people after watching this movie, I was expecting more "fantasy" scences. I don't agree with the 98 rating it's receiving here, although don't get me wrong it's a good flick all-in-all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Sidewinder572Jan 28, 2007
A supposed twenty plus minute standing ovation at the Cannes Film Festival, already in the top one hundred at the Internet Movie Data Base, every major film critic and their mothers are giving this film the highest possible praise. Naturally A supposed twenty plus minute standing ovation at the Cannes Film Festival, already in the top one hundred at the Internet Movie Data Base, every major film critic and their mothers are giving this film the highest possible praise. Naturally I went in hoping for the best and at same time expecting the worst. How can a film with this much praise possibly live up to the hype? Well it does, and then some. El Laberinto del Fauno is the latest film by director Guerillmo Del Toro. It is easily his best work to date. Although I am basing this view having only seen two of his other films (Blade 2 and Hellboy). Those films were entertaining popcorn films. This however is something else all together. El Laberinto del Fauno tells the story of Ofelia (Ivana Baquero) is goes with her pregnant mother (Ariadna Gil) to live with step-father (Sergi López) who is a Captain fighting with the Nationalists at the time of the Spanish Civil War. The film takes place immediately after the war, when small pockets of Loyalists continue fighting the Nationalists. (For more info on the Spanish Civil War read a book) El Laberinto del Fauno however is not a film about the Spanish Civil War. It is a fairy tale and a dark one at that. Where this movie succeeds is that the lines between fantasy and reality are completely blurred and never once to the things happening in the fantasy world contradict those things going on in reality. Ofelia escapes into a fairy tale in order to escape the horrors around her. There are fairies, monsters, and a faun (Doug Jones) that sends her on various tasks. I won Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
UnaiMJan 29, 2007
Absolutely brilliant
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanF.Feb 11, 2007
I was left in awe....this is one of the best movies I have seen. Never once did I check my watch. I was caught up in this bizarre, terrifying, magical, all too real story from the first seconds to the final frame. Bravo to all involved with I was left in awe....this is one of the best movies I have seen. Never once did I check my watch. I was caught up in this bizarre, terrifying, magical, all too real story from the first seconds to the final frame. Bravo to all involved with this film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshCFeb 11, 2007
Anybody who has seen this movie doesn't need me to further extol its virtues. I am merely posting to laugh at the contrary so-and-so's who have decided to slate the film, for no reason other than to make a scene! These are the same Anybody who has seen this movie doesn't need me to further extol its virtues. I am merely posting to laugh at the contrary so-and-so's who have decided to slate the film, for no reason other than to make a scene! These are the same people who say that they don't like The Godfather, The Shawshank Redemption and Singing In The Rain. Come on, stop lying to yourselves. Pan's Labyrinth was an unarguable masterpiece, convincing and enchanting on a number of levels, in a world where most films released fail to do so on one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MATHIASMoschelFeb 13, 2007
I have never ever thought I might be writing an opinion regarding a movie on a website but this one left me looking all over the net for more information about it. The soundtrack is running all day long on my computer and I already went I have never ever thought I might be writing an opinion regarding a movie on a website but this one left me looking all over the net for more information about it. The soundtrack is running all day long on my computer and I already went seeing it twice. "Hauntingly beautiful" and "magic realism" is what some say and I totally agree. It seems that the more you see it, the better it gets. Certainly the best movie I have ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmarB.Feb 15, 2007
Restores my faith in the power of filmmaking to transcend the quotidian. It takes us to places we could never have imagined. There is hope after all. Easily the best movie of year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamFeb 18, 2007
P.L. was indeed very gory. While I was walking out, some people thought was not needed, which I have to disagree with. Let me say that I'm usually not all that affected by the common movies violence, but P.L. had a unique twist that P.L. was indeed very gory. While I was walking out, some people thought was not needed, which I have to disagree with. Let me say that I'm usually not all that affected by the common movies violence, but P.L. had a unique twist that actaully made me aware of how horrible it trully was. So I have to give props, not many movies can do that for me. The movies fantasy attribute was very unique and eye opening, while the horror and suspense made a true villian. I loved it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
B.F.Feb 18, 2007
Quite simply, one of the most imaginative and original movies I've seen in a long time. Instantly one of favorite movies ever. It's executed almost perfectly on every level.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottJ.Feb 18, 2007
Certainly not for kids, but clearly one of the better movies in years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCFeb 22, 2007
I'd call it beautiful, but everyone'scalling it that, and it's so much more than just eye candy. I really can't find anything wrong with this film at all. It's... well, it just is. I saw it about a month ago, andI'd call it beautiful, but everyone'scalling it that, and it's so much more than just eye candy. I really can't find anything wrong with this film at all. It's... well, it just is. I saw it about a month ago, and I'm still in awe. Guillermo del Torro has made cinema an art again in a business dominated by exploitation (Babel) and Oscar bait (The Queen). I can't imagine this movie being topped any time soon, maybe only by del Torro's next serious project (not Hellboy 2, even though I can't wait for its release). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MasterXFeb 22, 2007
I cant belive What I am reading from your people. TOO MUCH VIOLENCE? you guys are weak stuff. go watch the Cat in the hat or something. If you want to see a movie with fair amount of violence go watch the departed. Oh this was a good movie byI cant belive What I am reading from your people. TOO MUCH VIOLENCE? you guys are weak stuff. go watch the Cat in the hat or something. If you want to see a movie with fair amount of violence go watch the departed. Oh this was a good movie by the way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoseG.Feb 26, 2007
When I went out to watch this movie I had nothing but low expectations for it, once I got in that theatre, I never wanted to leave. I swear here was never such a movie that caught my attention just like Pan's Labryrinth, I'm so When I went out to watch this movie I had nothing but low expectations for it, once I got in that theatre, I never wanted to leave. I swear here was never such a movie that caught my attention just like Pan's Labryrinth, I'm so glad I came across this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephenR.Feb 26, 2007
This movie made me clutch my breath in suspense, gasp in beauty, recoil in horror, and cry in joy. Great cinematography and amazing transitions back and forth between fantasy and reality. There are spiritual undertones throughout, especially This movie made me clutch my breath in suspense, gasp in beauty, recoil in horror, and cry in joy. Great cinematography and amazing transitions back and forth between fantasy and reality. There are spiritual undertones throughout, especially in the parable of the rose surrounded by thorns. Thank you, Guillermo, for a masterpiece! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrutusO.Mar 11, 2007
I have to agree with those who are scratching their head about the accolades for this. I enjoyed it and was moved by the downbeat ending, I thought it was very well acted by the little girl, and I particularly liked the European sensibility I have to agree with those who are scratching their head about the accolades for this. I enjoyed it and was moved by the downbeat ending, I thought it was very well acted by the little girl, and I particularly liked the European sensibility of the fantasy sequences - but I do not get why it is getting the reviews it is. This sort of dark fantasy has been done before (Mirrormask being another recent example) and generally gets ignored by the wider audience. I hesitate to say it, but one really has to wonder if the accolades somehow reflect the growing American fascination with, and apparent approval for, sadistic torture sequences in their cinema and TV shows. This film has more than a few gratuitous mutilations by the Spanish fascists, which didn't particularly upset or enthrall me, but which seems to exert a perverse fascination for many others. A bit of a worry. Good soundtrack though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BuddhaB.Mar 14, 2007
From selfish motivations to altruistic sacrifice, Pan's Labyrinth retells the story of the moral choices which will always be central to the human condition. While this type of morality play has been a recurring theme in the cinematic From selfish motivations to altruistic sacrifice, Pan's Labyrinth retells the story of the moral choices which will always be central to the human condition. While this type of morality play has been a recurring theme in the cinematic arts, Del Toro's vision exceeds many prior attempts to "visulaize" human emtions, temptations, heroic actions and egocentric evil. The violent acts of the "real" world juxtaposed with the fantasy life of the heroine imbues the film with a growing tension resulting in the final redemptive climax. Beautiful cinematography completes the masterful effort. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndresZ.Mar 19, 2007
Guillermo Del Toro has proven more than his hidden facade of indispensable magic; he has created a world to escape to. For the first, and maybe the only time this year, the viewer is in a world of cinema that is unpredictable from the start. Guillermo Del Toro has proven more than his hidden facade of indispensable magic; he has created a world to escape to. For the first, and maybe the only time this year, the viewer is in a world of cinema that is unpredictable from the start. He neither knows a good ending from a bad ending, and quite frankly it hardly even matters. What the viewer perceives is more than just a remarkable story. It's an illustrious work of magic made for a must-viewing. And in the end, after Ofelia's last task is done, and the masterful score lay in the background, one can't help but think: Could the film be meant for something else? Of course it is, for it is a clear and thought out political allegory. But even by viewing the film at diverse standpoints, in the end it really comes down to the real truth: The film is nothing short of a true and simple work of art. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricC.Mar 26, 2007
Let me just start by tackling all the people trying, idiotically, to bash this movie. None of you, not one, have given a decent reason. Someone wrote that it had a shallow script just about doing three tasks and becoming a princess. Are you Let me just start by tackling all the people trying, idiotically, to bash this movie. None of you, not one, have given a decent reason. Someone wrote that it had a shallow script just about doing three tasks and becoming a princess. Are you really that dumb? I'd tell you to go watch the film again and try harder, but you don't deserve to. You just stick to Norbit and Ghost Rider. You might just grasp those. Someone else called it exploitive. Don't throw around words you don't understand. Go look it up first. Babel is exploitive. 24 is exploitive. This isn't. The violance and horror is exaggerated for a reason, for those of you who thought it was pointless. It was a horrible world then, and it's a horrible world today. Seriously, try making the connections. What are the fascists today? The rebels? del Toro wasn't being complicated on this point. This movie was mindblowing, visually and story-wise. The "little fairytale" is only a tiny part of the trajedy and joy in this movie. There's a reason why it's one of the best reviewed movies of all time. If you're too shallow to fully experience it, then really, I don't care. Most people actually are. I don't have a clue what Gillermo del Toro is doing after Hellboy 2 (yes, he actually has fun with his career), but if it gets anywhere close to what this movie was, I can't wait to be amazed (I know it sounds cheesy, leave me alone). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BelleA-SApr 29, 2007
I know I like something if I wake up in the morning and I still think about it. Such is what happened today after I watched this movie last night. See, I'm even writing a review on it! What I love about it is that I haven't seen I know I like something if I wake up in the morning and I still think about it. Such is what happened today after I watched this movie last night. See, I'm even writing a review on it! What I love about it is that I haven't seen anything like it before. Throughout the movie I was thinking if the story of Princess Moanna is a traditional fairy tale much like the Grimm's are. I still don't know now. While watching though I did see flashes of similarities to Alice in Wonderland, The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe and White Flower The Devil's Daughter. So the story may not be entirely original --- that's why I give it a 9 --- but the execution of the movie is perfect and I am still mesmerized the morning after. That's what makes it a great movie! Better than Babel or The Departed or all those movies with Academy Award mentions. I will watch it again today. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KHendersonMay 15, 2007
There's several moments in the imaginative film when the screenplay has to manipulate events in an implausible way in order for the film to have sequence of events it wants. And the ending if one really thinks about it, has an obvious There's several moments in the imaginative film when the screenplay has to manipulate events in an implausible way in order for the film to have sequence of events it wants. And the ending if one really thinks about it, has an obvious problem that renders it nonsensical. It surprised me that so many critics werent observing the events in the film carefully enough to see these plot holes. A great film but quite imperfect too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielMorenoMay 18, 2007
Astounding imagery and cinematography
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CriticsR.May 22, 2007
Beautiful atmosphere. Touching story. There was some gratuitous yuckiness, but other than that, this movie was awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HollyC.May 24, 2007
Easily one of the best 'fairy tales' ever put to film. And in the true sense of the old-time allegorical 'fairy tale', not the Disney kid-friendly stuff of today. Del Toro's depth in this allegory/story is quite Easily one of the best 'fairy tales' ever put to film. And in the true sense of the old-time allegorical 'fairy tale', not the Disney kid-friendly stuff of today. Del Toro's depth in this allegory/story is quite complex, though even if you're not familiar with Franco's Spain during WWII, the story is still profound & relevant. What a great film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarmineT.May 28, 2007
Mythic, political and visually stunning. Well crafted with something to say at many levels of the human experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WinstonA.May 29, 2007
One of the bet films I've ever seen. It touched me on many levels and left me gagging for more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrandonB.Jun 13, 2007
Enchanting, frightening, and an overall achievement in movie making.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JosephM.Jun 19, 2007
This is an amazing movie that is a solemn retreat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidJun 21, 2007
If you are curious about the meaning of this movie, you must listen to Terri Gross' interview with the director Guillermo Del Toro. Very illuminating. He is a visionary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TonyVJun 22, 2007
One of the low scoring voters said the following: W. R. gave it a2: If you like your movies twisted, depressing, gruesome and full of gratuitous violence then you'll love this but you'd have to be pretty desensitised. If, like me, One of the low scoring voters said the following: W. R. gave it a2: If you like your movies twisted, depressing, gruesome and full of gratuitous violence then you'll love this but you'd have to be pretty desensitised. If, like me, you like movies that don't give you nightmares afterwards, steer clear. And yes I'm slightly worried about film critics that recommend movies like this for *children*. All I can say is that you should continue to read the sanitized news and t.v. reports about the horrors of war. Go outside the U.S. to Spain, Ireland, the Middle East, Algeria, most of Africa, Cambodia, Vietnam, so you can see what gruesome, gratuitous violence really looks like. Yes, go to sleep soundly, blissfully unaware of what real living is like. For those who don't like the fantasy, let me suggest The Wind that Shakes the Barley. Reminds you that there are tougher choices out there than what color SUV you want to drive. America is populated with so many lazy people it is sickening. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TimothyJun 23, 2007
It's not the stunning visionary masterpiece critics want me to believe - "Le Fabuleux destin d'Amélie Poulain" is a far superior movie I think - but it's still a good movie. Especially I've never seen such a It's not the stunning visionary masterpiece critics want me to believe - "Le Fabuleux destin d'Amélie Poulain" is a far superior movie I think - but it's still a good movie. Especially I've never seen such a brilliant blend between reality and fantasy before. And I appreciate it very much that there are still directors out there trying to enrich the rare pool of fantasy movies. I would compare "Pan's Labyrinth" with "The Cell": it feels like someone of the commercial industry was involved. So it's visually stunning but its content is somehow shallow. There is neither much to think about nor enough room to build up your own fantasy world like when you read a book. And it hardly has a poetic or philosophic aspect. Nevertheless this is a nice dark fairy tale for adults ... and kids with strong nerves of course Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LenaJ.Jul 17, 2007
Despite what some closed minded users of this website might have said, I found it absolutely nothing short of fantastic. Kiss my ass Kyriakos, you worthless pile of shit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelR.Aug 23, 2007
If you've lost faith in what a movie can be, see this one. Very few artists--in any medium--will ever achieve what Guillermo del Toro did in this movie. Stark, stirring and terrifying, always in the right amount. A true masterwork.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FernandoH.Sep 15, 2007
A masterpiece. Point.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RodrigoA.Nov 11, 2008
I loved this movie 100%, Del Toro's vision between real life and fantasy is fascinating, see how the pale man (the baby eating monster) is sitting at the center of the table just like captain Vidal, they both represent evil, also de I loved this movie 100%, Del Toro's vision between real life and fantasy is fascinating, see how the pale man (the baby eating monster) is sitting at the center of the table just like captain Vidal, they both represent evil, also de tree that was dying because of the frog that was living inside of it, just like the mother of "Ofelia" (yes in spanish Ophelia is written as it is.) who's dying because of the baby she's carrying with. The Faun is almost the fantasy version of Mercedes. I'd like to say to the user that gave it a 1 because of it's unrealistic look, etc. that there are things way more important than un-accurate effects of the luger pistol, the blood, etc. I tell you this and you might think im a nerd who adores Del Toro. (I'm a film student, so I know how to analyze a movie) and I think the reason Americans are an active consumer of Foreign films because most of them have quite more interesting story than most of the garbage hollywood is producing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcusS.Nov 21, 2008
It was truly amazing! I loved it! One of the best movies I have ver seen. It's plot was very clear to all you stupid people The Spanish language adds the romance to the movie making much better. The Spanish makes the speaking of the It was truly amazing! I loved it! One of the best movies I have ver seen. It's plot was very clear to all you stupid people The Spanish language adds the romance to the movie making much better. The Spanish makes the speaking of the words is just amazing! Spanish is a Romance language, it flows evenly. If it was in english it would ruin the entire thing. It was so fantastic. I loved it. It's theme of being half about the Spanish Revolution and the fantasy of escaping to a peaseful immortal world was the most immaginative thing ever! It has the best ending I have ever seen! The actors did a great job, and the visual effects are the best I have ever seen! The most amaving movie I have ever seen in my entire life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanA.Oct 27, 2008
Wonderful movie. The contrast of a child's imagination with the realities of war makes this film extremely moving. Just know that it is not a traditional fantasy movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamuelL.Feb 14, 2008
I have been told incessantly by indoctrinated critics that there is no such thing as perfection. I beg to differ. This movie is haunting, exquisite, and the ending will haunt you and leave you thinking. For a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeJ.Apr 18, 2008
Great movie all around, a must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaananC.Apr 22, 2008
I absolutely loved this movie. From the elements of realism brought in by Del Toro's portray of the Spanish cvil war to the amazing fantasy world developed throughout the film. I can't see where the poor reviews are coming from.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicoleJ.Jul 17, 2008
Pan's Labyrinth is imaginative and a great movie from every aspect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RogerEDec 2, 2009
One of the greatest of all fantasy films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidTDec 25, 2009
This is easily one of my favorite films from the past decade. The war scenes, the fantasy scenes as well as the family dynamics were woven together intricately and the result was an incredible, unforgettable story. The special effects for This is easily one of my favorite films from the past decade. The war scenes, the fantasy scenes as well as the family dynamics were woven together intricately and the result was an incredible, unforgettable story. The special effects for the fantasy scenes were very good but in no way detracted from the story. There's also plenty of violence but the violence provided the weight necessary to accurately portray fascism. This is movie making at its absolute highest level. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ashleebMay 12, 2009
We watched this movie for our fantasy english class..im only 17 and i thought it was great.. it was an incredibly disturbing movie to watch but it has a whole lot of meening behind it which im still trying to understand.. i think its such a We watched this movie for our fantasy english class..im only 17 and i thought it was great.. it was an incredibly disturbing movie to watch but it has a whole lot of meening behind it which im still trying to understand.. i think its such a good movie and recomend it highly =] I think that anyone who rates it that lowely clearly doesnt have a very broad imagination and is too set on the real world and thats finee.. just dont watch fantasy films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mikekMay 26, 2009
I was lucky enough that a theater in my area had this gem and me and my sisters and friends went and at first they where like whats with the spanish language and subs and about ten minutes in that was gone now thinking back i couldn't I was lucky enough that a theater in my area had this gem and me and my sisters and friends went and at first they where like whats with the spanish language and subs and about ten minutes in that was gone now thinking back i couldn't see this movie being that great in English but something about the way the actors present the language makes the movie feel magical and like it lifts you to another place you have never been before and when i left the theater that night something happened that hadn't before no one was talking that's how blown away by this film it is a must see for anyone who thinks out side the box. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EnzoP.Jul 12, 2009
Pan's Labyrinth is great and extremely entertaining. The idea is very good and the makeup is oscar worthy. The film is very well made and who cares if its in spanish. But their was something missed in the movie that didn't click I Pan's Labyrinth is great and extremely entertaining. The idea is very good and the makeup is oscar worthy. The film is very well made and who cares if its in spanish. But their was something missed in the movie that didn't click I am still trying to figure it out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
meelanJul 18, 2009
The movie was definitely a dark fairy tale, its really sad and at times scary (when that guy smashed the bottle right into that kids face OMG!) other then the freak horror to it at points, it was an amazing movie, can't say the same for The movie was definitely a dark fairy tale, its really sad and at times scary (when that guy smashed the bottle right into that kids face OMG!) other then the freak horror to it at points, it was an amazing movie, can't say the same for hellboy 2. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SebastianF.Dec 23, 2006
This is the best film I saw this year. The main reason of my exitment is because Pan's Labyrinth moved me like no other film in a long while. There were a lot of moments when I was allmost crying, and the fact that a fantasy film can This is the best film I saw this year. The main reason of my exitment is because Pan's Labyrinth moved me like no other film in a long while. There were a lot of moments when I was allmost crying, and the fact that a fantasy film can achive that, is even more surprising. I know that a film doesn't have to be good just because it makes people cry, but this is a tragedy that has a logic, and speaks of a reality: the cruelty of war, the loss of inocence and the experiences of children in dangerous enviromets. It has to be said that it's also the most imaginative film of the year and it's not for children like almost every fantasy movie. In fact it's also the most violent movie I saw in the year. The fantasy functions like a counterpoint for the violent reality of war. It is a beautyful film. The art direction and the cinematography are just perfect, So grim, obscure, powerful, touching, and... again beautiful. The music, a simple lullaby so sweet and sinester stiks in your head and doesn't let go. The performances are exellent too. On the top is Lopez as Capitan Vidal, so deadly, precise and scary. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
luisr.Dec 27, 2006
Amazing, beautiful, dark, powerful, the best movie of the year and one of the ten best fantasy movies of the history, mexico must win an academy award as best foreign film, this movie is the masterpiece of guillermo del toro.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
lizzyd.Dec 28, 2006
Now, this is an a-m-a-z-i-n-g film, very touching and poetic... probably the best film in a foreign language I've seen in a looong time... 10/10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
luisVDec 29, 2006
NO le encontré lo que la mayoria de los críticos le estan encontrando de impresionante.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattHarrisonNov 19, 2007
There are about 3 scenes in this film which contain graphic violence, so anyone who rates it lower due to the violence is an idiot. My girlfriend hates graphic violence in films, as it terrifies her. After watching this film, the last thingThere are about 3 scenes in this film which contain graphic violence, so anyone who rates it lower due to the violence is an idiot. My girlfriend hates graphic violence in films, as it terrifies her. After watching this film, the last thing on her mind was the violence it contained. I am yet to meet anyone who was not deeply moved by this film. I can safely say that it is the best film that I have ever seen, which really is saying a lot. It recieved a 20 minute standing ovation at it's premiere in Cannes. Watch it and you will realise why. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnS.Nov 16, 2008
obviously if local college students dont watch it then its a bad move...this would have to be on of the best moveis ive ever seen, up there with The Departed, American History X and Downfall
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JUIKERAug 30, 2014
It is, in my humble opinion, perfect from start to finish, a visionary, thrilling, moving, completely unique film-watching experience. I love this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ColinArcadeFireAug 29, 2010
I don't like all of Metacritics top-rated films, but this one..wow. Probably my favorite film of this decade. Everyone should see this. I love the trials Ophelia is forced to do, and the ending is very entertaining. A great movie to watch aI don't like all of Metacritics top-rated films, but this one..wow. Probably my favorite film of this decade. Everyone should see this. I love the trials Ophelia is forced to do, and the ending is very entertaining. A great movie to watch a few times. I always say the worse films are the ones you can only see once and you've seen it all. This one can be viewed multiple times and hardly ever gets boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LachraugJan 22, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wow people really didnt like this movie... i guess they just didnt get it, the violence is not some sort of sick twisted torture porn, it was to show exactly the world the girl was living in and just how hard it was for her. And for the record I'm not sure what everyones crying about how BAD the violence was in the movie when half the movies out there use so much more and its done just for the sake of it being there. The whole point of the fantasy world was the girls escape from this violence, so now it didnt have to be a mirror image of the war plot, instead it is a look into the mind of the girl and simply from the world she creates for herself we learn more about her as a character. *spoilers in this paragraph* Even though she creates this world she still puts an evil/violent spin on it as she cannot escape it but in her world she overcomes it. Sure she may not survive in the real world, she may not live and there may not be a happy ending in the real world, yet she still holds onto that belief that its possible and that right there gives us so much insight into the character of the girl, that even in her dying moments she still holds tight to this notion that everything is going to be ok... THAT is why we cry at the end of the film, that she, despite all this violence and even her dying she is still able to hold onto that innocence. The plot is very much modernist in so far as it creates a story that is trying to mimic that of real life, modernists were very much into the idea that a story didnt totally have a coherent plot or that it didnt follow the usual rising and following action or have a happy ending as that did not mimic real life. This movie does just that.

The problem is most people get it, some dont, they long for the comfort of the familiar rising and falling where everything is resolved in the end and if it doesnt follow that basic idea, that outline they get upset and storm off claiming its "screwed up" or "twisted" or just simply "stupid".

Though the one thing i can agree on it was marketed wrongly, I bought the movie when it first came out on DVD and expected a fantasy movie just like everyone else.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
drlowdonOct 30, 2014
A young girl (Ofelia) travels with her mother to live with her new step father, a cruel encampment captain, in a rural area of Northern Spain towards the end of World War II. On her way there Ofelia learns of the story of a Princess that ranA young girl (Ofelia) travels with her mother to live with her new step father, a cruel encampment captain, in a rural area of Northern Spain towards the end of World War II. On her way there Ofelia learns of the story of a Princess that ran away from her kingdom only to be killed. Her father vowed he would wait for her return as long as breath still flowed through his body. Upon her arrival, Ofelia is visited by fantastical creatures urging her to claim her rightful crown as the missing Princess, a process that sends her on a journey that provides an escape from the horrific real world events all around her.

Pan's Labyrinth is a dark movie with most scenes set in the brutal, and very real world, of the Spanish encampment that sees some shocking moments of violence. Sergi Lopez plays the Spanish captain to perfection making the events seem all the more real and horrifying. The visual effects of the fantasy world are simply stunning, providing an excellent contrast to the real world in which Ofelia lives and making her decisions all the more understandable.

Where Pan's Labyrinth really succeeds though is in allowing the audience to make up their own mind about what is real and what is not. Talk to a selection of people who have watched the movie and each will have their own take on events, all of which are plausible when watching the film for a second time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
mustard_tigerSep 23, 2014
I seriously don't understand the love for this movie. It is far from being a bad movie but its a 7 out of 10, not an 11 like most would have you believe.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cabritaApr 1, 2012
A fairy tale mature in it's aproach and dazzling in it's dramatic and visual effect. What is so wonderful about this film is the way the end is done. Under a hollywood production the film would have never ended the way it did.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
csw12Mar 31, 2013
Del Toro has created a dark and enriching film. You'll be mesmerized by the wonders of the fairy tale world that Ofelia dives into while and at the same time be shocked and terrified of the reality she lives in. The result is one of the bestDel Toro has created a dark and enriching film. You'll be mesmerized by the wonders of the fairy tale world that Ofelia dives into while and at the same time be shocked and terrified of the reality she lives in. The result is one of the best fantasy films in a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TrebliApr 3, 2012
Literally the best of them all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JabbaOnCrackApr 2, 2013
Bravo Mr Del Toro, Bravo! You have succeeded in creating an engaging, compelling feature, combining fear and fantasy whilst exploring numerous issues including the deterioration of creativity as a result of exterior influences and theBravo Mr Del Toro, Bravo! You have succeeded in creating an engaging, compelling feature, combining fear and fantasy whilst exploring numerous issues including the deterioration of creativity as a result of exterior influences and the horrific impact of War. The acting is superb,Ivana Baquero is brilliant as Ophelia, vulnerable and inquisitive, her performance is frankly, worthy of an Oscar Nomination. Sergi Lopez is also brilliant as Vidal, Del Toro has effectively contrasted the respective natures of the two characters, Ophelia represents youth, creativity and optimism whilst Vidal is callous and violent. Del Toro's greatest success is the creation of Ophelia's alternate dimension. Stunning visual captivate a scene both beautiful and morbid. Del Toro has succeeded again in constructing a brilliant story from a concept that, without exceptional acting, set design, score and screenplay composition would fail to impress. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MarkAngelApr 14, 2013
Masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SpangleJun 13, 2014
Damn, this was a really good film. Visually stunning, Guillermo del Toro has crafted a marvelous film here. The visual effects are to perfection and brilliantly done. The sheer beauty of the film is amazing. The cinematography, the themes,Damn, this was a really good film. Visually stunning, Guillermo del Toro has crafted a marvelous film here. The visual effects are to perfection and brilliantly done. The sheer beauty of the film is amazing. The cinematography, the themes, the visual effects, are all ravishing. In addition, the thrills, the darkness, the terror, all work extremely well and have the desired effect on the audience. This one is truly magical to watch and really keeps you on the edge of your seat as you watch the events unfold. The comparisons It is truly impossible to not like this film. The combination of the fantasy elements with the war elements are very well done as well and both only serve to further one another. While the film is undeniably about the fantasy element, it would be nothing without the war element. Not a minute of the film was wasted.

On the negative, I only have one thing, but it is a big thing for me that turned me off at times. The violence was over the top, it was far too graphic for my liking. I can connect the dots as to what is about to happen without having to see it happen. Most films do not commit this sin, but sadly, this one does. I still love the film, but I cannot give it a higher rating for that reason.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ReubenIsAGodApr 21, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Master-peace is really the only way to describe Pan's Labyrinth, what the film does with a simple premise is amazing, it basically reinvents the fairy tale genre by adding Darker, more realistic, circumstances to the situation presented by the film, Believable yet still feeling very Fictional, a fine blend between the two. Del Toro has really out done himself and you can see how much passion and work went into the project throughout chemistry between characters, the dialog, the amazing setting and visuals, every scene takes you by the hand and guides you through this fantastic film giving every little device detail and personality.

Watch the Film, it will win you other, truly the only way to watch this film is Subbed, if it is ever remade in English the simple structure, charm and beauty within the movie will be violated.

10/10: Master-peace
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JamesCannonJan 26, 2013
Should have been nominated for best picture. It is and continues to be one of my all time favorite movies. It is deeply original in design, and I still have not seen anything quiet like it. The story is heartbreaking as well and I wouldShould have been nominated for best picture. It is and continues to be one of my all time favorite movies. It is deeply original in design, and I still have not seen anything quiet like it. The story is heartbreaking as well and I would take this movie over the departed any day of the week. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
pannkakaaNov 5, 2013
Good movie, but i don't understand why everyone gives this a 10/10, its really good done but i don't see how this story is good enough for more...i don't see the big meaning in the movie or story for more than 7 or 8.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Mar 19, 2015
Heartbreakingly apt in its musings on war and fascism, but also simultaneously poetic with its eye-teasing cinematography and production design, Guillermo Del Toro's seminal fantasy/drama is sure to move even the stoniest of fellows.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheFineBroJan 28, 2013
In my opinion, this movie was so good beacuse it was sad, exiting an at the same time dark, only if there werent so much blood it would be the best movie of 2006
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Jimbo82Apr 9, 2013
Pan's labyrinth is a beautiful film (not only is it pretty to look at, but the story is also captivating). The acting is also excellent particularly from Baquero and Lopez. Baquero is particularly deserving of praise given the fact she wasPan's labyrinth is a beautiful film (not only is it pretty to look at, but the story is also captivating). The acting is also excellent particularly from Baquero and Lopez. Baquero is particularly deserving of praise given the fact she was only 12 years old when this was filmed. Pan's labyrinth is pure escapism which commands your attention and will leave you stunned by the end of the film. An absolute must see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
guyadfJun 6, 2013
great. This movie shows the pain and tragedy of war.
i can't enlish. so i can't write a reaview in english. but. this movie great i know it
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JacobparkerMay 14, 2013
It's like a fairy tale a brutal fairy tale.
The characters, the costumes, the makeup, the amazing but sad story a really great fantasy highlight!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JeveuzacJul 21, 2013
Una pelĂ­cula espectacular, divertida, reflexiva, entretenida.
Es grandiosa de principio a fin. Sin duda de lo mejor que he visto en mi vida y la mejor pelicula que ha hecho Guillermo
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
azco98Apr 3, 2014
This movie blew my mind. Filled with a moving story and amazing visuals, Guillermo del Toro crafted his best movie to date. Be careful: it's not at all a kids movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ChaserelliAug 13, 2013
Marvelous to the deep core, 'Pan's Labyrinth' is s astounding, so fantastic, that one must wonder how Guillermo del Toro came about some of the instances in the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nickrovertOct 25, 2013
With incredible visual effects and a superb collection of actors, 'Pan's Labyrinth', despite being a fantasy film, is emotionally raw, dark, and real. Despite its fairy tale-like imaginary properties, the film is heart-breaking and puts itsWith incredible visual effects and a superb collection of actors, 'Pan's Labyrinth', despite being a fantasy film, is emotionally raw, dark, and real. Despite its fairy tale-like imaginary properties, the film is heart-breaking and puts its protagonist through a distressing (and at times disturbing) adventure leading up to its tragic conclusion that will resonate with its viewers long after its closing credits pass. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MuddsjrAug 10, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. do not pan Pan's labyrinth, because quite frankly, it happens to be a truly fabulous and greatly inspired mish-mash of fairy-tale fantasy (told in an eerie, unnerving perspective) and a little historical adventure too (the film is based in the Spanish civil war). As a little advice though, don't go crawling inside large trees to go looking for giant burping frogs, no 1: because there won't be any, just insects and not very happy badgers, and no 2: like Ophelia in the film, you'll be very muddy. otherwise, enjoy!!!!!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Laekerson95Jan 31, 2014
During and after for a while, I didn't know how to think of this movie to be a masterpiece. But as one of my early mature film experiences, it took a day;s venture to discover that Pan's Labyrinth is the most unforgettably harmonious andDuring and after for a while, I didn't know how to think of this movie to be a masterpiece. But as one of my early mature film experiences, it took a day;s venture to discover that Pan's Labyrinth is the most unforgettably harmonious and well-contrasted and magical piece of cinematic film I've ever seen. Just my style, just my kind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JpJuarioJan 24, 2014
''Stunning.'' Inventive.'' ''A Masterpiece and nearly the greatest film ever made..'' In misery there can be beauty... In death there can be life..In simplicity, there can be Greatness... Pan's Labyrinth will fires your nerve.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DanielDX0Apr 14, 2014
Few movies shock me like Del Toro's masterpiece "Pan's Labyrinth". This is a movie which manages to present an original and brilliantly written fantasy world with some fantastic characters. I don't even know what should I talk about next: theFew movies shock me like Del Toro's masterpiece "Pan's Labyrinth". This is a movie which manages to present an original and brilliantly written fantasy world with some fantastic characters. I don't even know what should I talk about next: the beautiful cinematography or the amazing soundtrack. Well, let's start with the one that pleases our eyes: this movie looks beautiful with every frame being dominated by a certain color, more than a simple film grain. But our ears aren't ignored either, the soundtrack being mesmerizing and epic. These two elements combined create an amazing body of art which make the movie looking like a dystopian fantasy painting. So, these two elements are great, but the script it's what sends this movie into a class of its own. This is not just another fantasy picture, this is a deeply emotional and thrilling battle between the cruel reality which is Fascist Spain and the beautiful world of fantasy. Yes, I said beautiful, because through all the grotesque imaging of the fantasy world, it is more beautiful in the end because of the power of human emotion which surpass all the evil.

In the end, I think this movie's greatest achievement it's that it managed to show us that there it's beauty in the dissonance, and it managed this through its artful cinematography and soundtrack, and, of course. through the sheer originality and complexity of the script.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews