Picturehouse | Release Date: December 29, 2006
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2297 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2,003
Mixed:
160
Negative:
134
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
SarahJan 2, 2007
An extremely captivating movie and highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterM.Jan 2, 2007
Is it fable or political commentary......or vice versa? Either way, it's fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BryanS.Jan 2, 2007
One of the best films I've ever seen...6 times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidH.Jan 2, 2007
Works on so many levels, intellectual and visceral, artistic, humanistic and historical, with gripping peformances, stunning visual effects that are seamlessly part of the narrative. The cinematography is rich and appropriate to the moment, Works on so many levels, intellectual and visceral, artistic, humanistic and historical, with gripping peformances, stunning visual effects that are seamlessly part of the narrative. The cinematography is rich and appropriate to the moment, the score unobtrusive but persuasive. What a vision this man has! To me, the most original film in a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TracyB.Dec 31, 2006
Excellent film- beautifully shot, excellent story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
B.CrowlyDec 31, 2006
Absolutely incredible. Brought me close tears, and hasn't left my mind since I saw it...one of the very best films i have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NeilH.Dec 31, 2006
There no way of describing this film which does not devalue it. If you care enough about films to read online reviews don't read any more - go see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaneD.Dec 31, 2006
I have never been more mesmerized by a film before this one. It is truly a fascinating tale that captivated my interest every second. Amazing acting, directing, cinematography and special effects combines to make a fairy tale that is very I have never been more mesmerized by a film before this one. It is truly a fascinating tale that captivated my interest every second. Amazing acting, directing, cinematography and special effects combines to make a fairy tale that is very deep and moving. I recommend highly to anyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlancoA.Dec 31, 2006
Yes, I was a little skeptical after noticing that massive metascore, but this is an absolutely beautiful film which lives up to every expectation of mine. The crowd in my theater was in stunned silence at the end, until a single person Yes, I was a little skeptical after noticing that massive metascore, but this is an absolutely beautiful film which lives up to every expectation of mine. The crowd in my theater was in stunned silence at the end, until a single person started to applaud which led to the entire theater erupting in applause. It's simply the best fim of the year. An instant classic. Here's to hoping this one gets a WIDE release so as many people can be exposed to its grace as possible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattADec 30, 2006
A Visionary, Emotional, Couragous, Imaginative, Epic Masterpiece. Enough said.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ColeeW.Dec 30, 2006
Intricate and graceful, del Toro's Pan's Labyrinth is a work of art to savor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronS.Dec 30, 2006
One of the year's very best films. A dazzling mix of fantasy, horror, politics and history. It's an exhilarating and damn near fautless film. A must see on the large screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
luisVDec 29, 2006
NO le encontré lo que la mayoria de los críticos le estan encontrando de impresionante.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GattWDec 29, 2006
Grand.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeDec 29, 2006
Easily one of the top 5 movies of the year. Very few movies change how future movies are made, but this one will. It is a cinema classic. There is almost nothing like it to compare it with. Perhaps Cocteau's "Beaty and the Beast" or Easily one of the top 5 movies of the year. Very few movies change how future movies are made, but this one will. It is a cinema classic. There is almost nothing like it to compare it with. Perhaps Cocteau's "Beaty and the Beast" or "Lord of the Rings" . . . it is that good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobS.Dec 29, 2006
Really really good - you must see Pan's Labyrinth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GustavoFDec 29, 2006
Just beautful. In every way. I won't say any more, just go see it. Saw this in Madrid last month and I really recommend everyone in the States goes and sees it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
lizzyd.Dec 28, 2006
Now, this is an a-m-a-z-i-n-g film, very touching and poetic... probably the best film in a foreign language I've seen in a looong time... 10/10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BeesloDec 28, 2006
The ultimate adult fairy tale! Pan's Labyrinth is by far, the best movie of 2006. An artful mixture of adventure and horror, this movie brings out the kid in every adult and at the same time scares it back it into the arms of its The ultimate adult fairy tale! Pan's Labyrinth is by far, the best movie of 2006. An artful mixture of adventure and horror, this movie brings out the kid in every adult and at the same time scares it back it into the arms of its mother. Wonderfully directed and acted and filled with some of the best puppertry, this side of Jim Henson, Pan's Labyrinth easily succeeds in every facet where Mirrormask failed. Its beauty does not sacrifice from its heart and there is plenty of heart in this movie to fill up 10. I cannot stress enough how precious of a film this movie is and it will be long remembered as a modern day classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
luisr.Dec 27, 2006
Amazing, beautiful, dark, powerful, the best movie of the year and one of the ten best fantasy movies of the history, mexico must win an academy award as best foreign film, this movie is the masterpiece of guillermo del toro.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SebastianF.Dec 23, 2006
This is the best film I saw this year. The main reason of my exitment is because Pan's Labyrinth moved me like no other film in a long while. There were a lot of moments when I was allmost crying, and the fact that a fantasy film can This is the best film I saw this year. The main reason of my exitment is because Pan's Labyrinth moved me like no other film in a long while. There were a lot of moments when I was allmost crying, and the fact that a fantasy film can achive that, is even more surprising. I know that a film doesn't have to be good just because it makes people cry, but this is a tragedy that has a logic, and speaks of a reality: the cruelty of war, the loss of inocence and the experiences of children in dangerous enviromets. It has to be said that it's also the most imaginative film of the year and it's not for children like almost every fantasy movie. In fact it's also the most violent movie I saw in the year. The fantasy functions like a counterpoint for the violent reality of war. It is a beautyful film. The art direction and the cinematography are just perfect, So grim, obscure, powerful, touching, and... again beautiful. The music, a simple lullaby so sweet and sinester stiks in your head and doesn't let go. The performances are exellent too. On the top is Lopez as Capitan Vidal, so deadly, precise and scary. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful