Picturehouse | Release Date: December 29, 2006
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2276 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,984
Mixed:
158
Negative:
134
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
SEROJJan 14, 2015
One of the worst movies i've ever seen! Great visual effects, horrible story and a huge mind f11k for you! Don't waste your time on this s5it! 2 out of 10!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
listenerApr 13, 2013
Increadibly overated...plot full of holes,for example:what's the reason girl's mother get married to sadistic psychopath at the first place?Girl had been told for a million times not to eat food when comes to the monster and yet that's theIncreadibly overated...plot full of holes,for example:what's the reason girl's mother get married to sadistic psychopath at the first place?Girl had been told for a million times not to eat food when comes to the monster and yet that's the first thing she did there,why?And maiden didn't kill sadistic bastard when she had a chance-she cut his mouth with a knife but didn't kill him,why?And so on... Expand
4 of 15 users found this helpful411
All this user's reviews
3
JustMy2May 7, 2016
Boring pretentious crap. Filled with "deep symbolism" which makes boring pretentious people think they're smart when they pick up on it, hence the high score. Also gutwrenchingly sadistic, but in a pretentious way so intellectual snobs canBoring pretentious crap. Filled with "deep symbolism" which makes boring pretentious people think they're smart when they pick up on it, hence the high score. Also gutwrenchingly sadistic, but in a pretentious way so intellectual snobs can enjoy it without feeling bad about their lack of empathy.

I actually felt physically ill after watching this movie. You could say it "moved me deeply" as the snobs here do, but it didn't move me in a good or useful way. It moved me like it would move me to watch children being raped. You don't feel enlightened or enriched by being moved this way, you feel violated.

Unless you're a pretentious snob, that is. I don't only hate this movie, I literally hate the people who would give it a 10. I fear what such people are capable of...

Pan's Labyrinth is not just a bad movie, but a movie the world would be better off if it didn't exist.

It still gets 3 stars for cinematic excellence though. Just to show I'm not to stupid to see its qualities and grok the multilayered symbolism. I understand all of it perfectly fine, I just happen to HATE IT.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
NegatiwMay 25, 2015
This movies was one of the worst movies I have ever seen in my entire life! Maybe I feel that way because the score it has on so many sites. It has so, so many stupid moments, it's rather a pathetic excuse for a movie! Don't watch it, you areThis movies was one of the worst movies I have ever seen in my entire life! Maybe I feel that way because the score it has on so many sites. It has so, so many stupid moments, it's rather a pathetic excuse for a movie! Don't watch it, you are wasting your time!

I only made an account on metacritic to bash on this movie, that's how much I hated it, I mean it's so overrated, oh my dear god, I want my two hours back! I've never ever disliked a movie this much. Are the people who gave the movie 10/10 blind, are they mentally slow? In conclusion, don't waste your time, if you watch it, please spot the cliche in the movie, the sheer stupidity of some of their actions is unimaginable!
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
maFeb 4, 2007
It was unnecessary violent and gory. The fantasy aspect was very limited. The war, cruelty and fighting took over. Parts didn't make sense. *SPOILER*Why did she get to continue the quest when she broke the rules (By stupidly eating the It was unnecessary violent and gory. The fantasy aspect was very limited. The war, cruelty and fighting took over. Parts didn't make sense. *SPOILER*Why did she get to continue the quest when she broke the rules (By stupidly eating the food when she was told numerous times not to eat because her life depended on it) and was banned from the underworld kingdom. This movie is highly over rated. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
2
AMovieCriticMar 3, 2007
I'm having a hard time seeing what so many critics seem to have loved about this film. It's being marketed as a "fairy tale for grownups" but what that basically means is that it's a fairy tale but with graphically violent I'm having a hard time seeing what so many critics seem to have loved about this film. It's being marketed as a "fairy tale for grownups" but what that basically means is that it's a fairy tale but with graphically violent images thrown in there as well. The fairy tale portion of the film is shallow and under-developed ("follow 3 steps and you'll be princess") and way too simple to have ever stood on its own; it also lacks any real magic. But most of Pan's Labyrinth isn't following the fairy tale subplot, it centers on a story of a very evil army captain who commits some seriously violent murders and tortures. Much of the movie focuses on this story. And while I like gratuitous violence in movies as much as the next guy, Guillermo del Toro really overdoes it here, to the point where it just becomes not only unpleasant to watch, but even unintentionally comical. (Within the span of only about 10 minutes, a man is stabbed repeatedly, has his cheek sliced open, stitches it back together himself, drinks poison, bleeds profusely, and then, to top it all off, is shot in the face right on screen.) The fairy tale portions of the movie lack magic, the army portions are graphic and violent but not exactly fun to watch, and overall, at 2 hours, it definitely stretches the viewers' patience. The unanimous critical acclaim this has gotten is a little puzzling to me. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
3
StuBMar 3, 2008
I do not exaggerate when I say there is no other movie whose reception has baffled me this much. This movie is pretty bad. It's not atrocious, but I am tempted to say so in reaction to the herd of reviewers that are on some kind of I do not exaggerate when I say there is no other movie whose reception has baffled me this much. This movie is pretty bad. It's not atrocious, but I am tempted to say so in reaction to the herd of reviewers that are on some kind of weird bandwagon kick gushing over this movie. The realistic parts were cliched and the characters like her father were caricatures. The fantasy aspects were forced, meaningless, and stylized only for the sake of being stylized. Could have been so much more.. And the whole way the movie was portrayed by its marketing as this 'dark fairy tale' was completely misleading. More like a bad wartime drama with a few cool but completely meaningless fantastic scenes spliced in. Expand
6 of 20 users found this helpful
0
TonyLJan 10, 2007
Although I do not think this movie is a zero, I want to decrease the bloated score of this film as much as possible. I am left utterly confused by the many critic and reader high scores. What movie did you see, am I blind, have I lost my Although I do not think this movie is a zero, I want to decrease the bloated score of this film as much as possible. I am left utterly confused by the many critic and reader high scores. What movie did you see, am I blind, have I lost my sensibility, am I or you in some way deluded? Is there an invisible wave of totalitarian group think affecting all the high scorers where a few high scores compel others to fool themselves into thinking that something is simply profound that attempts to make a profound statement. For how can you not love a movie that critiques Fascism and compares the violence of the real world with the violence of fantasy world. OOOOHHH that must be so profound, how creative and genius he must be to associate these two worlds. I gathered little or nothing from this, and his metaphor was as bloated as the critic scores were. Maybe that's it, people do not want nuance and want a metaphor, an image, and violence to smack them upside the head. It provokes little thought and only near the end when the band of brother comrades ambush the fascists and kill them in the execution style of the captain did I think, yes, that is it even the communist who pretend to be liberators and on the side of the good, participate in the same violence as the fascists. We are all potentially fascists, no one is safe, even in the fantasy world. Although del toro maybe hints at this, he leaves us mostly with his one-dimensional carictaured approach to a time in spanish history that was filled with ambiguity, violence, and tore a country and people apart which resonates to this day and continues to divide and be an issue for spaniards in 2007. At the end I was barely moved and was left numb not by the obvious but by a with-what-did-I-miss daze that everyone else so clearly seemed to see in this supposed beautiful, thought-provoking movie. A movie in the end that is neither a good fairy-tale or insight into the spanish civil war or human nature. Expand
1 of 18 users found this helpful
2
michaeld.Oct 22, 2007
Violent and grotesque, and sorely lacking in fantasy elements, Pan's Labyrinth is much more a war drama than a proper fantasy film. The story is more simple and common than critics have led us to believe and the effects are Violent and grotesque, and sorely lacking in fantasy elements, Pan's Labyrinth is much more a war drama than a proper fantasy film. The story is more simple and common than critics have led us to believe and the effects are poorly-crafted. There's not much for the average viewer, although I'm sure the film is a masterpiece to those who can't see beyond its indie veneer or for audiences who prefer violence to substance. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
1
AmandaM.Feb 15, 2007
This is definitely in my top 10 worst films of all time. Mediocre acting at best, horribly graphic and violent. Leave the kids home.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
0
InexhumeMar 2, 2007
A film too simple-minded and and too unambiguous to be manipulative, which is why the rabid critical adulation has left me feeling somewhat perplexed. The visuals were subpar at best, though not because they weren't pretty to look at A film too simple-minded and and too unambiguous to be manipulative, which is why the rabid critical adulation has left me feeling somewhat perplexed. The visuals were subpar at best, though not because they weren't pretty to look at (they were), but because they lacked a keen sense of spatial awareness; the viewpoint remained consistently stagnant, even when in motion. As for the narrative bit, both threads, fantasy and real, were equally banal in their cosmology. Both world's were as readable as children's books, which equated to shallow film/character dynamics and total absence of dramatic complexity. All we're left with is a theatrical cartoon tacked with a transparent morality tale preaching the wonders of our ability to be rich, ethereal, and layered beings; ironic considering the movie and its superficial meanderings were anything but in execution. Anyone serious about film will know better than to praise this garbage. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
MacW.Jun 13, 2007
Did we really need yet another movie to teach us that fascism is bad? Or that innocence should be cherished? We know these things, already; but, apparently, the makers of Pan's Labyrinth don't trust us. Really, though ... exactly Did we really need yet another movie to teach us that fascism is bad? Or that innocence should be cherished? We know these things, already; but, apparently, the makers of Pan's Labyrinth don't trust us. Really, though ... exactly what demographic is this film catering to?? IS there a market for movies that intercut fairy-tale sequences with graphically violent images of people repeatedly getting shot and having their faces bashed in? (Yes, this film really does show that...) Wake up, people!! The great movies are about characters and plot, not about visually stunning sequences that ultimately have no meaning. What a waste of celluloid this movie was. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JimmyJJul 20, 2007
It is disturbing. People exalt this movie with phrases like "exquisitely violent" letting me know that others saw the same things in this movie that I saw, but what I found repulsive they have found wonderful. For all of its qualities, I It is disturbing. People exalt this movie with phrases like "exquisitely violent" letting me know that others saw the same things in this movie that I saw, but what I found repulsive they have found wonderful. For all of its qualities, I cannot wrap my head around the idea that violence in and of itself is entertaining. I like action movies, I like car chases and kung-fu, I am a pretty self centered person when it comes down to it, why is that I am the only one who seems to find the idea of a father watching his sons face being smashed in with a bottle while begging and pleading only for both of them to be shot to be beyond reconciliation with the idea of an entertaining movie. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
BickBJul 30, 2007
Lots of style but virtually no substance. Yes, fairy tales used to be much darker in the pre-Disney era, but just adding real-world violence and unhappy endings to a rather generic and underdeveloped fantasy plot does not the Brothers Grimm Lots of style but virtually no substance. Yes, fairy tales used to be much darker in the pre-Disney era, but just adding real-world violence and unhappy endings to a rather generic and underdeveloped fantasy plot does not the Brothers Grimm make. As for the script's many shortcomings (and, to be fair, the visuals were great and the acting as good as could be expected), other users have spoken most eloquently. I would only add that those who see the girl's dark fantasy world as a response to the brutality of living with her oh-so-wicked stepfather seem to have forgotten that the fantasy world was introduced before the stepfather was! Moreover, the ambiguity of the ending---one of the film's few narrative strong points---is apparently shattered by del Toro's DVD commentary; turns out it wasn't all in her head after all. Yet another problem for the "psychological response to cruelty" theory. But even if that WERE the film's intent, the message would be patronizing---as though there weren't countless other children in Spain and around the world suffering far worse yet maintaining their psychological strength (at the cost, of course, of innocence and imagination) rather than collapsing into self-destructive hallucinations. Manipulative rather than moving, "Pan's Labyrinth" calls to mind the old adage: "If you can't dazzle them with brilliance, baffle them with B.S." Don't believe the hype. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
RobHJul 3, 2007
I'm a lover of fantasy movies, and I still disliked this film. I am scratching my head at the mainstream reviews, some of which have the gall to compare this film to "The Lord of the Rings." This is the furthest thing from epic fantasy; I'm a lover of fantasy movies, and I still disliked this film. I am scratching my head at the mainstream reviews, some of which have the gall to compare this film to "The Lord of the Rings." This is the furthest thing from epic fantasy; it's a bloodbath that should be compared only to other horror films. Highly overrated, and definitely not for the squeamish. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
FredrickT.Jul 8, 2007
This is one of those movies that shows that the public can't be trusted to think for themselves. Reviewers gave it high marks, like they do most foreign movies, and people say it was good because they were told it was good. The film had This is one of those movies that shows that the public can't be trusted to think for themselves. Reviewers gave it high marks, like they do most foreign movies, and people say it was good because they were told it was good. The film had some decent special effects, the over all plot was OK, and scenes were shot nicely. But the story moved along way to slow, the violence was too graphic, and had cookie cutter characters. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
DaveRomitoSep 10, 2007
Did I miss something in this movie?? I thought it was awful. Could have used a lot more Labyrinth, and a lot less "Captain" shooting people in the face. This was a huge disappointment, and the whole chalk door on the wall....well that wasDid I miss something in this movie?? I thought it was awful. Could have used a lot more Labyrinth, and a lot less "Captain" shooting people in the face. This was a huge disappointment, and the whole chalk door on the wall....well that was cool 15 years ago in BeetleJuice. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
AndreaF.Dec 4, 2008
A very stupid, pigheaded, and hamfisted movie with a cartoon fascist villain, noble communist heroes(in fact, communists were worse in the Spanish Civil War), and a squeashily soapy story about an innocent girl. What a cheap and low way to A very stupid, pigheaded, and hamfisted movie with a cartoon fascist villain, noble communist heroes(in fact, communists were worse in the Spanish Civil War), and a squeashily soapy story about an innocent girl. What a cheap and low way to tug at our hearts by having the guy tormenting helpless little children? Like the recent chic for Che Guevara the mass murderer, this films is part of the radical leftist revival--funded by capitalists and suckers. Bad ugly movie. By the way, the fantastical elements are hoary and cliched. It's C. S. Lewis crossed with Stephen King. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
BryanLJun 5, 2009
Variety reviewer Justin Chang calls the violence in Pan's Labyrinth "exquisite." I suppose Del Toro's bloodlust is shared by all critics, since its Metacritic score is 100. I don't abhor violent movies. But the violence here Variety reviewer Justin Chang calls the violence in Pan's Labyrinth "exquisite." I suppose Del Toro's bloodlust is shared by all critics, since its Metacritic score is 100. I don't abhor violent movies. But the violence here is overly gorey and in your face though not in a Kill Bill way. Despite the title, little time is spent among fairies and such, but when they do appear, their horrific appearances and actions elicit almost no terror from the certifiable little girl around whom the (lack of?) plot revolves. Slow, drab, boring, disturbing, and without anything positive to say, Pan's Labyrinth is one of the worst movies I've seen. Now if only I had savored all those delectable torture scenes and exploding brains like the "pro" critics seem to have done. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
0
regsmithFeb 10, 2010
This was the most horrifying film I have ever seen. Considering it looked like it was for young children, I couldn't believe the violence and gratuitous horrible torture throughout. It was not my cup of tea and I would not recommend it This was the most horrifying film I have ever seen. Considering it looked like it was for young children, I couldn't believe the violence and gratuitous horrible torture throughout. It was not my cup of tea and I would not recommend it to anyone, there was no value to it unlike Schindler's List or Saving Private Ryan where the story line at least made one understand the violence. I know this was about war and the horrors of war, but I sure could have lived without seeing this film. It was rated R but I think it should have been rated "Don't bother." Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
0
TroncoE.Jun 7, 2010
Netiher Goebbels could have done a better work... Luckyly, is not so easy to change the history. Spanish Fascism also ate the children... "La pasionaria", one of the famous republicans's leaders said once to another politician who had Netiher Goebbels could have done a better work... Luckyly, is not so easy to change the history. Spanish Fascism also ate the children... "La pasionaria", one of the famous republicans's leaders said once to another politician who had just spoken: "those were that man last words". Two days later, Sotelo was murdered by republicans assassins. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
1
GiulioP.Jan 14, 2007
Stay away from this film unless you would like to see pointless violence, a vapid heroine, two dimensional characters, and boring seen-it-before art direction. This film is a complete loss and a waste of time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
ZimonZ.Jan 14, 2007
The high ratings for the movie are absurd - there is very little original or imaginative here - we've seen it all before a thousand times. The story is pointless, the little girl is really stupid, and the violence adds nothing. The high ratings for the movie are absurd - there is very little original or imaginative here - we've seen it all before a thousand times. The story is pointless, the little girl is really stupid, and the violence adds nothing. It's a total wreck. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MichaelB.Jan 10, 2007
Apparently, I saw the same film as fellow reviewer Dave R. did. If you look beyond the special effects, the plot is hackneyed and paper-thin. So many of the characters appear as one-dimensional caricatures.
1 of 5 users found this helpful
0
DavidSchajerJan 19, 2007
If you enjoy endless scenes of gratuitous violence -- rush to see this film. If you believe that gunshots to the head, stabbing a man's face then shooting him, a woman cutting a man's mouth open, and so on have any place in a "fairyIf you enjoy endless scenes of gratuitous violence -- rush to see this film. If you believe that gunshots to the head, stabbing a man's face then shooting him, a woman cutting a man's mouth open, and so on have any place in a "fairy tale" -- then this is the film for you! Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful
1
E.K.Jan 20, 2007
Maybe if I had been able to get past the unrelenting nonsensical violence and gone, I might have been able to enjoy this. I agree wholeheartedly with the comments about the deceptive advertising of this film--I was expecting much less blood Maybe if I had been able to get past the unrelenting nonsensical violence and gone, I might have been able to enjoy this. I agree wholeheartedly with the comments about the deceptive advertising of this film--I was expecting much less blood and much more fantasy... and maybe a few points of light throughout the film. I left feeling depressed and unfulfilled. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
sointelligentJan 26, 2007
man, i'm really really smart, and this movie just wasn't as smart as i am! i'm sorry, but it really makes me feel even smarter when i can say a movie sucks that everyone else loves. i also hate the godfather (totally unrealman, i'm really really smart, and this movie just wasn't as smart as i am! i'm sorry, but it really makes me feel even smarter when i can say a movie sucks that everyone else loves. i also hate the godfather (totally unreal storyline), gone with the wind (yeah, as if there was a civil war??), and pulp fiction (not very well directed). i just wish more people would consult ME before making a movie, because i could really write a much better movie than this one. that's why i'm sitting on my ass passing judgement on people WAY more talented than i am! Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful
0
DavidG.Jan 27, 2007
Dull, uninspiring, trite, over the top and clichéd. The ending? Give me a break.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
FrederickD.Jan 7, 2007
This would be a timeless and classic movie had del Toro enjoyed telling a faery tale as much as he seemed to enjoy depicting graphic violence. The film maintains a delicate balance between fantasy and violent reality for half the film, and This would be a timeless and classic movie had del Toro enjoyed telling a faery tale as much as he seemed to enjoy depicting graphic violence. The film maintains a delicate balance between fantasy and violent reality for half the film, and then it sinks into violence so extreme, extended and brutal that it wipes out the joy of the fantasy fable. Violence is so extended and graphic in this film that it reaches the point of being gratuitious. And at that point, it becomes a form of pornography. The joy of the fairy tale, the momentary triumph of the innocent young woman...are overridden the sheer amount of time the director spends depicting graphic violence...spoiling what could have been a moving and enduring story. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
InsanelySaneFeb 11, 2007
"Pan's Labyrinth" is probably the most disappointing film I have been to in the last few years... I am absolutely gob-smacked for words. How could one give such high praise to a film that is below average on so many levels?! For someone "Pan's Labyrinth" is probably the most disappointing film I have been to in the last few years... I am absolutely gob-smacked for words. How could one give such high praise to a film that is below average on so many levels?! For someone that appreciates foreign films' subtlety and depth this film is anything but. The script is shallow, spells out details that would have been obvious without mention. The plot on paper would have been ok but the execution is confused, boring and cliche'd. I cant believe that this is what I am writing about this highly rated 'adult' 'fantasy'. The acting is obvious without ever feeling sympathy for the characters. The sound design is irritating, harsh on the ears and exaggerated in detail. The music is generic and mixed way too low (maybe that's why...). The camera work is bland. The only good thing seems to be the constumes and sets. Last but not least the violence is gratuitous and of putting and could have done so much better without it. A film like "Apocalypto" used violence that had meaning and celebrated death and pain and the reality of it all. "Pan's Labyrinth" was empty, detached and comical more than anything. Not suitable for those looking for a magical experience at the cinema. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful