Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: May 25, 2007
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 103 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
89
Mixed:
10
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
9
ArthurC.May 30, 2007
Not only does it contain the unbelievable visual beauty that is Japanese anime, it also features a taut, exciting thriller that keeps you ensnared throughout. If only Hollywood could figure out the magic that is within Paprika.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RossB.Jun 2, 2007
Absolutely amazing. After watching it twice on opening night, I'm still not quite sure I understand the events of the climax, but I sat through this movie with a huge grin on my face and still can't help smiling when I think about Absolutely amazing. After watching it twice on opening night, I'm still not quite sure I understand the events of the climax, but I sat through this movie with a huge grin on my face and still can't help smiling when I think about it. I sincerely hope that this film becomes popular enough to upend the "animation is for children" meme. I've certainly never seen animation so utterly and convincingly realistic while also showing scenery and action that's so radically imaginative. I can already tell that I'm going to have to see it in the theater a third time, and I haven't seen a movie more than once in the theater since Return of the Jedi. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MattMay 27, 2007
A remarkable achievement in animation. Wildly imaginative and thought provoking.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
OthoS.Jun 8, 2007
I couldn't make heads or tails of this movie, but the quality of the animation and the sheer, unbridled weirdness is appealing. I'd love to talk to Kon to find out what the HELL he is trying to convey.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TM.Dec 4, 2007
Absolutely amazing. best film on dreams I have ever seen, and one of the best films of the decade. need to see it again to delve further into the dream.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
konceptzOct 9, 2007
The truth of this film, although a nightmare to some and a dream to others, is a reality which we can no longer ignore.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
AndrewK.Jun 30, 2007
I don't normally like anime, and I didn't really think Tokyo Godfathers was all that great, but I really loved this film. I love anything that has to do with dreams, and this had plenty of surreal dream imagery to keep me I don't normally like anime, and I didn't really think Tokyo Godfathers was all that great, but I really loved this film. I love anything that has to do with dreams, and this had plenty of surreal dream imagery to keep me interested. Little has been said in the reviews about the characters themselves. Paprika herself is adorable and her scientist counterpart, Atsuko, is interesting in that she refuses to let her playful side out of her when she is herself. The odd interaction between Atsuko and Paprika makes it hard to know where one begins and the other ends. The old man that she works for is good for a laugh (sorry I can't remember names...been a week or two). The cop character is interesting and a good hero figure that we believe in. The fat scientist who creates the device used to enter people's dreams is funny and endearing, but if there were any flaw with the movie, I'd have to say that it was in not establishing enough of a connection between him and Atsuko in the beginning. It would make more sense for what comes at the end. The villains in the film are wonderfully evil. The mastermind is a megalomaniac and his accomplice is demented in just the right, creepy ways. There were shades of Silence of the Lambs in the scene where he has Atsuko pinned down on the table (or maybe it was just the butterfly imagery that made me think of it). The dreams are so brilliantly insane as well as creepy. I wouldn't even say that it's that difficult to understand as almost everyone else is saying. There were only one or two moments where I was unsure what was going on, and I was willing to forgive that because it added to the surreal nature of the film. This was a great movie. Don't discount it because it's anime, if you're the type, like me, who often does that. One of the best films this year! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
TroyK.Oct 26, 2007
Truly in a class of his own. Great flick!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RobertE.Jun 12, 2007
The first film I've seen that captures the shape-shifting and ineffable subtlety of dream symbolism. Jung would smile to see it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Dec 2, 2007
Inspiring, memorable and downright hilarious. It's a pretty polarizing film - some like it, some don't - but it's worth your money any way you look at it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnB.May 27, 2007
Did I dream up this entire hour and a half mind warp? Like a dream, it jumps from one idea to the next, with a loose thread tying everything together. It has a surreal and stream of conscience technique that is sure to make your head spin Did I dream up this entire hour and a half mind warp? Like a dream, it jumps from one idea to the next, with a loose thread tying everything together. It has a surreal and stream of conscience technique that is sure to make your head spin more than enough. Paprika masterfully draws you in and never lets go. It's a movie like this that makes me fully realize the extent to which animation can go. The best parts of Paprika however are the subtleties that are not so obvious such as many puns and its plays on visuals. I can't seriously find a flaw in this movie. This is simply a masterpiece that deserves to be experienced. The point of Paprika is to be confused and brought to the point that you no longer pay attention to the plot but rather revel in the beauty of the animation and let the movie itself take over you. Don't be surprised if you end up having a dream about Paprika and dancing appliances after viewing this brilliant piece of animation. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
256kbpsJul 29, 2007
Absolutely incredible. I will have to see it many more times to fully appreciate all the levels of visual and philosophical interaction that was going on throughout the entire movie. Seeing the parade of inanimate objects on its own is worth Absolutely incredible. I will have to see it many more times to fully appreciate all the levels of visual and philosophical interaction that was going on throughout the entire movie. Seeing the parade of inanimate objects on its own is worth the cost of admittance. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
juliankleissJan 23, 2011
If you liked Inception, you should have a look at Paprika. Indeed, Paprika has been cited as an influence on the making of Inception. The two movies share the same theme of losing the ability to distinguish between dream and reality. Due toIf you liked Inception, you should have a look at Paprika. Indeed, Paprika has been cited as an influence on the making of Inception. The two movies share the same theme of losing the ability to distinguish between dream and reality. Due to being an animated movie, Paprika might not suck you into the action as the real human scenery does in Inception. However, regarding surreal dream content and plot complexity, Paprika is far ahead of its American successor. One of the film's major topics is the debate about moral restrictions for science. Some critics are of the opinion that certain technologies are bad. Others claim it is not the technology that is to be judged, but what someone uses it for (f.i. the knife is one of mankind's most helpful tools, but it also can be misused to take someone's life). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ScovernDec 4, 2011
The animation was beautiful, the story was genius, and the creativity of Paprika was beyond any anime I've ever seen. One thing irked me, though; its dull character dialogue.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
HackuityJan 14, 2012
Satoshi Kon has been one of the most visionary plot and character designers in the history of animation: his premature death in 2010 meant much less chances to see another masterpiece with the same charm and thrill as Paprika, which isSatoshi Kon has been one of the most visionary plot and character designers in the history of animation: his premature death in 2010 meant much less chances to see another masterpiece with the same charm and thrill as Paprika, which is undoubtedly a modern classic. Ignoring its deep plot would mean ignoring the true roots of blockbuster bestsellers like Inception, and losing the film that will continue to inspire tons of science fiction plots in the future. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ReubenIsAGodMay 24, 2014
Astonishing film, just truly amazing, the film looks, feels and captures the amazing raw energy of **** if that made No sense go watch the **** film, its inception before inception.

10/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
mapizarroOct 7, 2013
Last film of great anime films director, Satoshi Kon. "Paprika" is visual beauty and exotic. It's a ironic regard about Japanese society. Excessive obsession with technology, desire of power, problem of suicide, sexual misconduct with littleLast film of great anime films director, Satoshi Kon. "Paprika" is visual beauty and exotic. It's a ironic regard about Japanese society. Excessive obsession with technology, desire of power, problem of suicide, sexual misconduct with little girls. "Paprika" is a kabuki thriller. Kon has great masterpiece. "Perfect Blue" is an inception, "Millennium Actress" is an intermezzo, "Tokyo Godfathers" is a rest and finally "Paprika" is most finale. As if it were a grand opera. "Paprika" is beautiful farewell. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RobertBroganOct 5, 2015
Paprika is a kaleidoscopic and phantasmagoric animated thriller, a bewildering ride through dreams mixed with more dreams mixed with waking life. Now for some films, if you do not get what its makers are trying to say, it is lost on you. ThisPaprika is a kaleidoscopic and phantasmagoric animated thriller, a bewildering ride through dreams mixed with more dreams mixed with waking life. Now for some films, if you do not get what its makers are trying to say, it is lost on you. This is not so with Paprika. This is the kind of film one can watch and find highly entertaining without having much of a clue what it is about. The "Parade of Everything" is quite a sight for lovers of whimsy and fantasy, symbols and the surreal. While there are various weak points to the film, but there is not much point to mentioning them. Why? Well, when something goes for it on a grand scale, as Paprika does, it is better to watch and appreciate what it does right. Beyond the vibrant images, the direction does something special with the choreography, the movement on-screen. You get this wonderful feeling of animation, everything brought to life by imagination and the mind. So if you enjoy crazy dreams or the carnivale, definitely give Paprika a view. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
PetitBikiniJan 17, 2016
"Paprika" is a good film, and I liked it, but I wouldn't really say that it's a great film. Even though the animation is beautiful and the story is pleasantly mind-blowing, "Paprika" lacks lasting appeal which is a big deal for me. Overall,"Paprika" is a good film, and I liked it, but I wouldn't really say that it's a great film. Even though the animation is beautiful and the story is pleasantly mind-blowing, "Paprika" lacks lasting appeal which is a big deal for me. Overall, like I already said, it's still good stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
itsthenutshackOct 12, 2016
An incredible movie with outstanding animation and sound effects. I watched this movie while I was high and oh boy, sure it was something remarkable. This movie makes me feel as if animated movies aren't appreciated the way they should.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews