User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 239 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 239
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 29, 2010
    5
    The first Paranormal was a unique idea blended in with some hilarious acting and mystical elements. Sadly, most people knew what to expect from the prequel; and that's its biggest problem. It still manages to add some contingent scares, but it's not nearly as enthralling as last years surprise.
  2. Oct 22, 2010
    6
    Paranormal Activity 2 was okay and it's quite scary. I been scared the whole time just thinking about it,but I guess the sequel is more less than the original. It wasn't much as good as the first one,since the first one is really scary to watch and it's the most scariest film of all time. My biggest problem is that they spoil the movie with the teaser trailer and all I could say this isParanormal Activity 2 was okay and it's quite scary. I been scared the whole time just thinking about it,but I guess the sequel is more less than the original. It wasn't much as good as the first one,since the first one is really scary to watch and it's the most scariest film of all time. My biggest problem is that they spoil the movie with the teaser trailer and all I could say this is that why we're having a baby and a dog in the scene like this? People concern this teaser the whole time and it does sucked when the trailer shows the audience seeing the movie in green screen since last year. The characters are alright,but not much good as Katie and Micah does. I like the security cameras when they show the scene where the ghost is doing in six shots. It has some lame talking scenes that I didn't interested to hear,all we want is scaring,because we didn't care about the story. It does has the same setting as the the first one and it has the same dialogue too. But this one is the prequel,it tells the story where Katie meet the family and they got spooked in the house before the couple started taping the evidence. It did get scared in four moments with large sounds and it's quite silly in the movie,but I prefer the first one and this sequel is less than scary,not bad and it wasn't quite special. Expand
  3. Oct 26, 2010
    5
    Good story, and excellent story arc to link the two films together. However, I'm sorry but there was absolutely nothing terrifying about this movie. The first version had more bone chilling moments, and a lot more scenes where one would be scared (not me because I don't get scared by movies) but after gauging the reaction from my partner, who scares easily, and the rest of the crowd,Good story, and excellent story arc to link the two films together. However, I'm sorry but there was absolutely nothing terrifying about this movie. The first version had more bone chilling moments, and a lot more scenes where one would be scared (not me because I don't get scared by movies) but after gauging the reaction from my partner, who scares easily, and the rest of the crowd, there were hardly any moments in this film that startled the entire audience, or even made my heart almost wan't to jump. Expand
  4. Oct 25, 2010
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's not a mystery, scale-wise, commensurate to the Star Child's true identity, or the origins of the Monoliths, filmically cosmic mysteries that Peter Hyams clarified in his rightfully maligned "2010: The Year That We Make Contact"(the sequel to the Stanley Kubrick masterpiece), but it's still anti-climactic, regardless of the differentiation in pedigree, when the filmmaker literalizes the once heretofore unexplainable materialization of a burnt family photo in Micah Sloat's attic, and in the process, ruins the most enigmatic moment from "Paranormal Activity", the Oren Peli-directed original. So now we know, to the detriment of the original film's mythology, that among the moving things and unexplained noises in the Sloat household, there was, in retrospect, some normal activity, as well, some debunking, some collaboration with the unseen forces, in which man is shown to be capable of an evil far worse than any demon. Daniel(Brian Boland) orchestrates a transference, acting on his Latino housekeeper's instructions(not only do they clean houses, they clean souls, too), Kristi's husband sets a photo of Katie on fire, and is presumably the one who does the planting. Let the picture in the attic just be; let the Monoliths be. So now we know: both sisters married jerks. Daniel probably sleeps on the wrong side of the bed too, a coward, just like Micah, who in "Paranormal Activity", sleeps on the side farthest away from the doorway, so should a demon enter the bedroom, given the positioning on their bed, Katie looks like the brave one, since she's the first warm body that the poltergeist would encounter. Micah, by all appearances, uses Katie as bait, a means by which the amateur filmmaker can get the best-possible footage of their unwanted guest attacking his girlfriend. In "Paranormal Activity 2", it's the baby who takes the brunt of the supernatural malfeasance, with only a German Shephard, the family dog, standing sentry; a German Shephard who is no Lassie, since he fails to make his owners understand that they have a situation far worse than Timmy being stuck down some well. He doesn't bark loud and long enough. Too bad "Paranormal Activity 2" wasn't one of those talking animal films, if it was, the dog could tell his human owners to get the f*ck out, now. Speaking of talking dogs, what would Scooby-Doo say? Probably something along the lines of, "Ruh-roh. The baby is sliding across the side of his crib. This is scarier than the Blair Witch twigs." Poor baby. Nobody thinks to check the playback on the surveillance footage that details the 'round-the-clock nursery going-ons, even though the family reviews the mystery of the gallivanting pool cleaner, and also the slamming door which locks Ali(Molly Ephraim) out. As is the case in all horror movies since time immemorial, the people are kept in harm's way due to the advice of the rational one, the singular hold-out to the new reality that defies reason, who ends up getting everybody killed, because of his(it's usually a guy) unbending stance against the mounting evidence which points to escape as being the most prudent course of action. In "Paranormal Activity", the couple stays because Micah wants to finish his movie. In the sequel, there is no such egocentric(Micah is willing to risk his girlfriend's life for his own selfish reasons), albeit intellectual basis for the family to remain as housemates with the devil. Daniel is just a tool. When it's too late, he turns to Martine(Vivis), the Hispanic maid he fires for being too superstitious. Ever the tool, with Kristi beset in a catatonic state(and in a biting mood), Daniel still gives his housekeeper static, as he protests in disbelief at having to use a cross for the purging. So now we know the pretext behind Katie's true identity, and just like the Star Child, our understanding of the circumstances that made them who they are, while may be interesting in a cursory way, a gimmick to drive each respective sequel, it threatens the purity of both "2001: A Space Odyssey, and to a lesser, but proportionate degree, "Paranormal Activity", as well. Expand
  5. Jul 22, 2011
    6
    The mbut not psychological fear as the 1st one succeeded in. But films like these are much better than other horror movies. ovie is alright. Its not scary at all as the 1st one was. I like the connection of the stories though. The acting is great, not bad at all. You will get bored 45 minutes in. The movie tries to build suspense but fails. Its mostly spooks,
  6. Nov 19, 2010
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Paranormal activity 2 had the big hype as everyone though but it was okay and it's quite scary. I been scared the whole time just thinking about it, but I guess the sequel is more less than the original. It wasn't much as good as the first one, since the first one is really scary to watch... My biggest problem is that they spoil the movie with the teaser trailer and all I could say this is that why we're having a baby and a dog in the scene like this? The characters are okay, but not much good as Katie and Micah does. I like the security cameras when they show the scene where the ghost is doing in six shots. It has some terrible talking scenes that I didn't interest to hear, at all because we didn't care about the story. It does have the same setting as the first one and it has the same dialogue too. But this one is the great, it tells the story where Katie meets the family and they got spooked in the house before the couple started taping the evidence. It did get scared in four moments with large sounds and it's quite silly in the movie, but I prefer the first one and this sequel is less than scary, not bad and it wasn't quite special Expand
  7. Feb 14, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was, overall just as scary as the first but I do have a bone to pick with it. I think the movie should have had a completely separate story line instead of feeding off of the first one. I didn't like how the two movies linked together. It was predictable which in the first one, was not. It was worth watching, I just didn't like the ending very much. Expand
  8. Nov 5, 2010
    5
    Roger Ebert aptly identified the character of this film when he called it "an efficient delivery system for Gotcha! Moments." It is an enjoyable movie-going experience, but there is little substance to the development of the plot. The pace is questionable, and the effect of ending is marred by this film's poor attempt at being both prequel and sequel. With that said, the moments ofRoger Ebert aptly identified the character of this film when he called it "an efficient delivery system for Gotcha! Moments." It is an enjoyable movie-going experience, but there is little substance to the development of the plot. The pace is questionable, and the effect of ending is marred by this film's poor attempt at being both prequel and sequel. With that said, the moments of shock and suspense might be enough to make this movie worth its ticket price. Expand
  9. Nov 5, 2010
    4
    I have to admit that I hadn't seen the first movie, and was even a bit fearful to see this attempt, but overall i enjoyed it. The director's use of a documentary's "authenticity" works brilliantly in this case, although he relies too heavily on loud noises unexpectedly etc. I did find it frightening (at times) although I scare rather easily. The film did not really get going for anI have to admit that I hadn't seen the first movie, and was even a bit fearful to see this attempt, but overall i enjoyed it. The director's use of a documentary's "authenticity" works brilliantly in this case, although he relies too heavily on loud noises unexpectedly etc. I did find it frightening (at times) although I scare rather easily. The film did not really get going for an hour, and from what I could gather, did a nice job of weaving the first movie into its plot. It won't win any awards, but it gets the job done if you're up for a scary flick. Expand
  10. Nov 30, 2010
    5
    This movie was better than the first when looking at the scare factor. Though when you look at the story it is lacking. Showing the camera angles every time to drag out the movie even though there is only a single movement in the baby's room is pointless. Leaves no suspense like it is supposed too and they never caught on.
  11. Dec 23, 2010
    6
    I definitely liked this one better than the first one. This one had a plot that was moving and even though the first one came with more surprises, this one had more scary moments. Overall, I wouldn't watch this movie more than once.
  12. Feb 10, 2011
    5
    If you have to pick a scary movie and looking for more thrilling, I really recommend you not to pick this movie. If you had already watch the first paranormal activity you know what I mean. On the other hand this movie is pretty unique.
  13. Mar 12, 2011
    4
    For this sequel, the filmmakers decided to go with the idea that more is better. There are cameras than just the one from the last movie and there are more characters than just one couple. But more does not make better. In fact, it decreases the suspense. More means there is less 'alone' time for the characters. Also, the fear is spread amongst more people; therefore, it is felt lessFor this sequel, the filmmakers decided to go with the idea that more is better. There are cameras than just the one from the last movie and there are more characters than just one couple. But more does not make better. In fact, it decreases the suspense. More means there is less 'alone' time for the characters. Also, the fear is spread amongst more people; therefore, it is felt less by each. The film Paranormal Activity scared the crap out of me. There were long, static shots of a room and an occasional event. This time, the long shots are much shorter and since there are multiple cameras, no room is the main focus like the bedroom was last time. Furthermore, there was no build up to an event last time. A door would slam or the sheet would rustle all without warning. Now there is a low, rumbling bass noise which signals a coming event. This takes most of the fear of anticipation out of the scene. The plot is actually connected to the previous film but I won't give away how. The idea of a sequel to Paranormal Activity is fine and the script works...but there is too much activity going on to make it truly paranormal. If you haven't seen the first one, I highly recommend it. Skip this one. Expand
  14. Mar 30, 2011
    6
    PA2 felt like it played off the first film way too much, even copying certain scenes almost identically. It's creepy but rarely to the point of any real thoughtfulness or tension. About three-quarters of the way in I found myself thinking it was becoming slightly ridiculous and even predictable. The fright levels don't quite match up to the previous attempt, and the performances of thePA2 felt like it played off the first film way too much, even copying certain scenes almost identically. It's creepy but rarely to the point of any real thoughtfulness or tension. About three-quarters of the way in I found myself thinking it was becoming slightly ridiculous and even predictable. The fright levels don't quite match up to the previous attempt, and the performances of the cast never reach the claustrophobic believability managed in PA1. Having said that, it's worth a watch, albeit far less real and far more movie-like. Expand
  15. Oct 22, 2011
    6
    It has it's scares, just not as good as the first one. I feel scammed when i watched the ending. It was so rushed. But definitely has to be a good scare movie.
  16. Nov 3, 2011
    5
    More of the same without the unknown factor of the first movie makes this a disappointing sequel and despite a few moments that may have made you jump there was very little here to shock or surprise. Although it tied in the events of the first movie well this could have been a much better movie if they could have made the "activity" less predictable.
  17. j30
    Nov 1, 2011
    4
    Although the movie does have some good scares that'll make the hairs on the back of your neck stand up, it does not live up to the original or build off the creepy premise.
  18. Jul 24, 2011
    6
    In essence, more of the same. I can't be sure but almost everything that happened here happens in the previous PA film, which isn't a terrible thing if you enjoyed it. I found neither film scary, though one of the 'bumps' made me jump. The shame. Still, not bad considering its low budget - good for an evening's entertainment - still, it's quite nonsensical at times.
  19. Sep 4, 2011
    5
    Despite the poor reviews this sequel received, I actually thought it was okay. It tried to be the first film, but bigger. The ending disappointed me, and some of the sequences were pretty repetitive. The poor reviews, however, are understandable. Once you've seen the first instalment, the novelty of the franchise can somewhat wear off.
  20. Aug 14, 2012
    5
    In my opinion, although still not convinced, I still consider this a small improvement compared with a few more scares, the film has a pace faster than the first. But still there are many slips and confusing scenes.
  21. Feb 13, 2012
    4
    The sequel to the 2009 surprise hit Paranormal Activity, doesn't quite live up to the expectations of its predecessor. Whilst the first film had a frightning and suspenseful buildup to its epic climax at the end, this flick provides uneven scares that kill the mood. The acting in itself was nothing to be desired. I know there's a third feature in the series and with a forth on the way (dueThe sequel to the 2009 surprise hit Paranormal Activity, doesn't quite live up to the expectations of its predecessor. Whilst the first film had a frightning and suspenseful buildup to its epic climax at the end, this flick provides uneven scares that kill the mood. The acting in itself was nothing to be desired. I know there's a third feature in the series and with a forth on the way (due to be released in 2012) I hope the , franchise can redeem itself. P.S. If a large family is introduced in the next installment I'm going to scream! Expand
  22. Feb 24, 2013
    6
    I don't have much to say about this one. It wasn't bad, A little more hokier than the first, definatly not as scary, but still pretty entertaining for what it was.
  23. Aug 31, 2014
    5
    Using many of the techniques prominently featured in the original film, the sequel falls short of the same brilliance. It has its moments, but not enough to expand the series positively.
  24. Mar 24, 2012
    6
    This one is way **** scarier than number 1 and number 3 combined, this one is **** creepy and intense for the whole movie. If you hate on it, then your a piece of **** **** ass prick ****
  25. Nov 4, 2013
    5
    "Paranormal Activity 2" is just a complete repetition of the first film. Its pacing is uneven and all we're getting here a couple more new scares that we did not see in the first. People who have seen the first film will have learned some of the tricks, and therefore the scares might not be as effective as the first.
  26. Sep 28, 2012
    6
    This film is okay, but the first film beats this and the third hands down. I felt like this film was trying to step it up from the first but in a way that took from what made the first film so scary. I personally found the first film absolutely terrifying, I don't think I've ever seen a film that shook me up in quite the same way. That was because it was all so subtle and relied so heavilyThis film is okay, but the first film beats this and the third hands down. I felt like this film was trying to step it up from the first but in a way that took from what made the first film so scary. I personally found the first film absolutely terrifying, I don't think I've ever seen a film that shook me up in quite the same way. That was because it was all so subtle and relied so heavily on your imagination to make it work, and I just don't think the second film valued that as much as it should have done. Certain scenes were okay and pretty creepy, other scenes just screamed 'strings' at me which immediately broke my connection with it. Things happened in the first film that looked real and possible and the action built up, only to peak pretty much at the end of the film. I felt like this film started at that high and the smaller, subtle things from the first were brushed aside a little too eagerly. Overall, if you find these sorts of films interesting to watch then you'll probably like it regardless of its slightly more 'obvious' nature. It won't compare to the first but it's in no way a bad film. Expand
  27. Jan 1, 2014
    4
    The filming style is good and the jump scares are present, however there's no real frights to be experienced with the exception of the finale which is relatively scary.
  28. Nov 28, 2012
    6
    Some of the scares were cheaper than expected, but it was frightening and entertaining overall.
  29. Jun 4, 2013
    5
    It is terrifying, thrilling, good and scary, but not new, it is all cliche from the first movie, it adds nothing, just different place and time, the scares are renewed but still.
  30. Jun 10, 2013
    5
    It was better than the first one and wore than the other one. The plot continues and it gave me some quite good chills
  31. Mar 9, 2014
    5
    "PA 2" is just a rehash of the first one, with nothing new to offer. But, the same formula as the first one (jump scares, implying rather than showing) goes in, and the product isn't that bad.
  32. Jul 4, 2014
    6
    This film is focused less on storytelling and more on the horror, which most of the time it does not deliver on. I was not scared at all when I watched this, although I do have to give credit to the film makers for coming up with some clever paranormal sequences, boosting my score for this film.
  33. chw
    Jul 20, 2014
    5
    Paranormal Activity 2 is such a terrible movie. It's so incredibly boring, it's not even scary, and the only reason I rated the movie a 5 is because of the ending.
  34. Jan 18, 2015
    5
    Paranormal Activity 2 is a 2010 American supernatural horror film directed by Tod Williams and written by Michael R. Perry. The film is a prequel to the 2007 film Paranormal Activity, beginning two months before and following up with the events depicted in the original film.
  35. Apr 25, 2015
    5
    Regardless of how it performs at the box office, this much is clear: Paranormal Activity 2 is a mistake. The clumsy and obvious byproduct of the financial success of its predecessor last Halloween, this movie has no reason for existing except to provide Paramount Pictures with a few extra shekels. Although its release does not represent an outright insult akin to the one offered by TheRegardless of how it performs at the box office, this much is clear: Paranormal Activity 2 is a mistake. The clumsy and obvious byproduct of the financial success of its predecessor last Halloween, this movie has no reason for existing except to provide Paramount Pictures with a few extra shekels. Although its release does not represent an outright insult akin to the one offered by The Blair Witch Project 2, its superfluous nature not only ranks this as a waste of time but diminishes the original.

    The story functions primarily as a prequel, with most of the events chronicled in this 90-minute voyeuristic extravaganza transpiring between one and two months before those depicted in Paranormal Activity. Instead of focusing on a couple, this time the roster of characters has expanded. Kristi (Sprague Grayden) is the sister of the first film's Katie (Katie Featherstone), who makes occasional appearances throughout Paranormal Activity 2, along with her soon-to-be-dead lover, Micah (Micah Sloat). Kristi is happily married to Dan (Brian Boland), who tied the knot with her some time after the death of his first wife. He has a teenage daughter, Ali (Molly Ephraim), from his first marriage. In addition, the happy couple has a new baby boy, Hunter, who's a little over a year old. He spends most of his time standing in his crib staring at things only he can see. We keep expecting him to say, "They're here!"

    As in the first movie, the basic plot relates to the characters being stalked by a demon within their home and how seemingly innocuous bumps in the night gradually take an alarming turn. The stylistic choice by which everything happens in front of a video camera is carried over, although in this installment, home security cameras provide a majority of the footage (supplemented by camcorder images). This at least eliminates the silly contrivance of someone always having to be running a camera, even during the most unlikely of circumstances. By establishing this as a prequel, the protagonists from Paranormal Activity are provided with an opportunity for supporting roles. Toward the end, the time frame of Paranormal Activity 2 moves beyond that of its predecessor, allowing us a "what happens next" glimpse. The door is left open for a Paranormal Activity 3, which will undoubtedly be produced if there's profitability in making it.

    In Paranormal Activity 2, events follow a blueprint. It's a series of "boo!" moments connected by exposition so uninvolving that we find ourselves impatiently waiting for the next loud crash or bang. There are plenty of opportunities for startlement, but nothing approaches terror. Paranormal Activity is never frightening. In fact, considering how long it takes before the "paranormal" events begin occurring, it's on the dull side. Worse, the final ten minutes - the sequence in which the films converge - comes dangerously close to self-parody. (There were people laughing at the screening I attended, and laughter is not the intended reaction.)

    The acting is better for this installment, but that's due to the employment of professional actors. Using familiar faces in a production like this can be a double-edged sword. For example, although Sprague Grayden is hardly a household name, her face may appear frustratingly familiar to some viewers. A quick perusal of her resume indicates that she has done a lot of television, including a lengthy stint on 24. When a movie is attempting to "fake" viewers into believing that what they're watching is real, it's a good idea not to involve actors who may be recognizable since that interferes with the illusion.

    Tod Williams' direction effectively apes Oren Peli's approach to the first film, but the added layers of polish allowed by the larger production crew and the higher budget have not aided the sense of verisimilitude. In Paranormal Activity, it felt like we were watching two ordinary people filming themselves in the comfort of their own home. Here, everything feels artificial, from the shots of the pool cleaner going about its business to the scenes of the child standing in his crib. The qualities that made Paranormal Activity compelling have either been diluted or deleted. What's left is a faint, distorted echo of the original. It's passable entertainment for anyone who has not seen the first feature but redundant for anyone who has.
    Expand
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Oct 23, 2010
    60
    Unlike the original, Paranormal Activity 2's pacing is uneven; it builds slowly and effectively before rushing too quickly, and at one point not particularly coherently, through the climax. But the jolts, when they come, are bigger, causing actual physical thrills and chills, at least for me.
  2. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Oct 23, 2010
    60
    Even knowing what's likely to come-the doors opening on their own, the skeptical characters scoffing at metaphysical explanations, the unheeded warnings from paranormally gifted guests-doesn't make it any less nailbiting to watch.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Oct 23, 2010
    50
    Paranormal Activity 2 suffers from the excessive expository blah-blah that's so common in horror-movie sequels.