Paranormal Activity

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 578 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChrisC
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    Admittedly the first parts of the movie were kinda boring. But I can't help but feel it was purposely boring to lower expectations to increase the shock value. Brilliantly made movie, the ending is one that still haunts me even days later and is probably the most terrifying scene in a horror movie I've ever seen. Honestly I can't stand when people act tough and say this Admittedly the first parts of the movie were kinda boring. But I can't help but feel it was purposely boring to lower expectations to increase the shock value. Brilliantly made movie, the ending is one that still haunts me even days later and is probably the most terrifying scene in a horror movie I've ever seen. Honestly I can't stand when people act tough and say this movie didn't scare them. Stop kidding yourself. It was probably the best horror movie I've ever seen. And Mike R.....you paid $20 for a ticket???? Expand
  2. Mar 19, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is okay, not "the scariest film I have ever seen" but, the end where the body flies to the camera did make me jump a little. But, I wouldn't really watch it unless someone made me.. Expand
  3. KyleH
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    If you think Saw is the greatest horror series of our decade, this movie isn't for you. If you think a horror movie has to have blood, gore, and in your face action then this movie isn't for you. If you think Inglorious Bastards was nothing but boring dialog, then this movie is not for you. If you enjoy movies that are based on building suspense then you will love this movie. If If you think Saw is the greatest horror series of our decade, this movie isn't for you. If you think a horror movie has to have blood, gore, and in your face action then this movie isn't for you. If you think Inglorious Bastards was nothing but boring dialog, then this movie is not for you. If you enjoy movies that are based on building suspense then you will love this movie. If you're tired of all the crappy remakes that are plaguing the horror genre (Friday the 13th, The Stepfather, Halloween, etc.) then you will find this movie refreshing. Expand
  4. JB
    Jan 28, 2010
    8
    Anyone calling themselves a horror fan that doesn't recognize the genius of this has no clue. This is a landmark film in the genre, and genres need a huge kick in the pants every now and then to keep them fresh. Deserves to be mentioned with the likes of Night of the Living Dead, Halloween, Ringu, and Blair Witch.
  5. St.TerryW.
    Jan 3, 2010
    9
    I was skeptical at first. But this movie is not that bad if you let yourself get into it. Its not a perfect movie but it is fun. Thats what i really enjoyed about it. This movie had lots of atmosphere, and i had been missing that from most "horror" movies these days. i really enjoyed this and it scared my fiance so now she reacts to any noise at all at night time. When a movie can get I was skeptical at first. But this movie is not that bad if you let yourself get into it. Its not a perfect movie but it is fun. Thats what i really enjoyed about it. This movie had lots of atmosphere, and i had been missing that from most "horror" movies these days. i really enjoyed this and it scared my fiance so now she reacts to any noise at all at night time. When a movie can get into someones head, i consider it very well done. Congratulations to the people who put this together, and I congratulate the actors for doing an excellent job. Expand
  6. DanielW.
    Nov 20, 2009
    9
    A fine line separates good horror movies from the ones that merely manipulate our visceral reactions to things that go bump in the night. Things go bump in the night in this movie, alright, but the movie builds slowly and spends a lot of time lingering on the couple's believable shifting emotions as they try to figure out what to do by day, only to return to bed at night. Some of the A fine line separates good horror movies from the ones that merely manipulate our visceral reactions to things that go bump in the night. Things go bump in the night in this movie, alright, but the movie builds slowly and spends a lot of time lingering on the couple's believable shifting emotions as they try to figure out what to do by day, only to return to bed at night. Some of the night scenes are truly unnerving precisely because they do not deliver the jolts that we have been trained to expect from other superficially similar films. Ultimately, the movie does sort of revert to type, and I could have done without the final shot. But the audience I saw this movie with suffered deliciously, and I was still shaking from it hours later. Peli will have more than $15000 to work with next time he shoots a film. Let's hope the creativity that his low budget elicited from him this time around is not shot to hell by more money, and by the formulaic expectations that come with it. Expand
  7. TreyW.
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    This movie was really scary, The people who say otherwise are whining because either they were mad because it wasn't filled with special effects or the camera point of view. It had a sense of realistic perspective to it which made it even scarier, everyone in the theater yelled/screamed at one point or another during the movie and Kevin F. Cloverfield was a amazing movie by the way This movie was really scary, The people who say otherwise are whining because either they were mad because it wasn't filled with special effects or the camera point of view. It had a sense of realistic perspective to it which made it even scarier, everyone in the theater yelled/screamed at one point or another during the movie and Kevin F. Cloverfield was a amazing movie by the way one of the best movies ever. If you do not like the camera view or are expecting a lot of S. Effects than do not bother seeing the movie but if you want to be genuinely scared than this movie is for you. It is way way way better than the Blair witch for everyone who is comparing it to that. Anyways, I will never regret buying a ticket to this movie. It had me scared of my own house. Expand
  8. RickK.
    Oct 19, 2009
    7
    I kept hearing it was a very scary movie from my friends and others who had seen it, so hype wasn't a factor. I have to say this isn't a scary movie. If you get chills from watching Ghost Hunters or Scariest Places on Earth, then you might enjoy this movie more than others. I do enjoy watching shows about paranormal activity, so this movie was fun to watch, but it was not in any I kept hearing it was a very scary movie from my friends and others who had seen it, so hype wasn't a factor. I have to say this isn't a scary movie. If you get chills from watching Ghost Hunters or Scariest Places on Earth, then you might enjoy this movie more than others. I do enjoy watching shows about paranormal activity, so this movie was fun to watch, but it was not in any way scary. I'm not going to give it a low score because it was overhyped, I'm going to give it an average score because that is what it was, an average movie. Expand
  9. MarkC
    Oct 26, 2009
    7
    This movie depends on your mindset going in. I realized I was heading into a extremely low-budget mocumentary that has benifitted from a lot of hype recently. If you walk into this movie expecting to see a multi-million dollar blockbuster horror flick then you are going to leave disappointed. For the amount of money and the talent they had available I enjoyed what I saw. Yes, it was not a This movie depends on your mindset going in. I realized I was heading into a extremely low-budget mocumentary that has benifitted from a lot of hype recently. If you walk into this movie expecting to see a multi-million dollar blockbuster horror flick then you are going to leave disappointed. For the amount of money and the talent they had available I enjoyed what I saw. Yes, it was not a two-hour special effects extravaganza, but if you walked in there expecting one then you should have saved your money. To all the bad reviewers -- I'll give you $15000 and seven days to film a movie in your house and then we can see what you come up with. If you see this movie for what it was.. I for one think they did an excellent job. Expand
  10. MarkD
    Dec 7, 2009
    8
    I can see why this movie would divide opinion. It's not a typical in your face Hollywood horror. No, less is more is what this is about. It's subtle and it plays on your childhood fears of the dark, noises in the night ect. It's a slow burner too so those without any patience or imagination will obviously wonder what all the fuss is about for the first 3/4 hour or so. But I can see why this movie would divide opinion. It's not a typical in your face Hollywood horror. No, less is more is what this is about. It's subtle and it plays on your childhood fears of the dark, noises in the night ect. It's a slow burner too so those without any patience or imagination will obviously wonder what all the fuss is about for the first 3/4 hour or so. But those who get it will see the pacing and subtly as the films greatest strengths. So give Paranormal Activity a chance. Yes, you might hate it and it almost certainly won't get to you straight away. It didn't scare me at first but it was a film that i thought about long after i left the cinema, especially when i was in bed alone! Expand
  11. BernardS
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    Agree with Andrew B. One of the scariest movies I've seen in a long time. Better than anything Blair Witch related.
  12. SFraser
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    I'm a male in my 30's and i've no doubt seen hundreds of horror movies in my life. When I was little I was scared of every type of horror movie (Halloween, Friday 13th etc) but being older I don't find anything scary..at all. Nowadays have a different experience watching horrors, I find them enjoyable and just entertaining. When the movies over I move on but...Cheers I'm a male in my 30's and i've no doubt seen hundreds of horror movies in my life. When I was little I was scared of every type of horror movie (Halloween, Friday 13th etc) but being older I don't find anything scary..at all. Nowadays have a different experience watching horrors, I find them enjoyable and just entertaining. When the movies over I move on but...Cheers in a huge way to the makers of this movie to actually get under my skin for the first time in over 10 years! I WAS actually scared and creeped out by this movie! I thought it had some excellent acting and good building in suspence and I loved the look of the camera work! The makers of this movie should be really proud of themselves and this great achievement, and they should read all these negative reviews on here because it seems like they are all written by the same person...one-noted people with little or no imagination...and rating this a 0 and 1..I mean, grow up people don't be stupid. Expand
  13. KeithT.
    Jan 8, 2010
    7
    My daughter could not watch the ending.
  14. John
    Oct 11, 2009
    9
    Loved it. Super scary. To respond to Justin M, I am also an Atheist and found it extremely scary. The film does not include anything that would be considered "religious". When they attempt to describe Demons, the only thing they really say is that they are "not human". Being religious or not really has no impact on your like or dislike for the film.
  15. JG
    Oct 11, 2009
    9
    The movie is predictable but you still are waiting at the edge of your seat for the next thing to happen. Let's just say the entire theatre was silent when the movie ended scared to move.
  16. ChuckG.
    Oct 10, 2009
    10
    This is possibly the SCARIEST movie I have ever seen. I don't scare easy, in fact the original Halloween was the last time.
  17. DanielV.
    Nov 14, 2009
    8
    Not scary at all, but I enjoyed it.
  18. RayP.
    Oct 10, 2009
    10
    The low budget only adds to the frighteningly realistic feel this movie has. A genuinely scary movie which does a great job of slowly building the tension, and plays well on the fears of anyone who has even the slightest thought that there may be a spirit-world.
  19. BrandonG.
    Oct 12, 2009
    9
    a very well made movie that delivers. I felt it lived up to the buzz and hype.
  20. DanS
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Omg! Creepiest scary movie I've seen in a looong time! Didn't need to use cheap scares either. I can't remember the last time I came home from a horror movie and was freaked out in my own home.
  21. CindyC
    Nov 4, 2009
    8
    Slow, creeping dread interspersed with jump-out-of-your-seat shocks. A top-notch horror flick without the gore. Paranormal Activity deserves all the hype. Don't miss it!
  22. DavidT.
    Oct 15, 2009
    7
    This movie did a good job of building suspense in you, it had it's comical moments. Overall, it was alright - nothing that stuck with me for longer than 4 to 5 days.
  23. JonH
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    Creative, cleaver, scary, entertaining.
  24. SmileyG
    Oct 19, 2009
    6
    I'll admit that the climax was the most disappointing segment in the entire film for me, falling back on the common cliches that seem to plague the recent lacklusters of it's genre. The film did do a good job of avoiding the ladder up until that very point. Plus, the performances were fine only when the "paranormal activity" wasn't occurring. When the lights went out (...& I'll admit that the climax was the most disappointing segment in the entire film for me, falling back on the common cliches that seem to plague the recent lacklusters of it's genre. The film did do a good job of avoiding the ladder up until that very point. Plus, the performances were fine only when the "paranormal activity" wasn't occurring. When the lights went out (...& on again.) & the door(s) starting slamming, I felt the characters were "ready for their close-ups." But all & all, the building suspense & the relentless tension provided the qualities that seem to be such rare gems these days in the latest installments of the unsatisfying chip chills/thrills horror. Expand
  25. AronJ.
    Oct 21, 2009
    6
    Was decently made despite the obvious low budget. Definantly has a real fear affect because of the this is really happening approach. Was a little slow to begin, took over an hour to get the haunting type things but maybe that was for the better. Decent movie, good idea, maybe not executed at a 100%
  26. JenniferK.
    Oct 2, 2009
    9
    Slow but realistic and sets the tone of believability. This could be your friend or neighbor and you'd believe it too. The end was worth the wait through the sluggish dialogue. The last 30 minutes are terrifying, goosebumps for another hour.
  27. JerryR
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    The budget is the only reason i gave this a ten. The scariest and just plain good movie i have seen in forever. Can't wait for the DVD release. Go in and treat it as a movie and you will see the genius.
  28. zach
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    I'm giving this movie a 10 because it is just flat out scary.
  29. nickw
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    So, you remake 'poltergeist' with a 15000 dollar budget and you have 'paranormal activity'. it has a simple set up; a man and a woman start taping their evenings at home and asleep to capture some supposed bizarre phenomena. at first these nocturnal happenings are small, subtle and amusing but with each evening passing they grow into something wholly unsettling and So, you remake 'poltergeist' with a 15000 dollar budget and you have 'paranormal activity'. it has a simple set up; a man and a woman start taping their evenings at home and asleep to capture some supposed bizarre phenomena. at first these nocturnal happenings are small, subtle and amusing but with each evening passing they grow into something wholly unsettling and then finally, horrific. a lot of what works here is the use of anticipation on its audience. i enjoyed how some practical effects worked on a very subtle level to generate some genuinely spooky moments. the actors were great and wholly believable as an ordinary couple trying to figure out how to deal with the situation. i had a good time given the nature of this beast. Expand
  30. LeeH
    Oct 2, 2009
    9
    Like others have said, a slow build up but well worth it. I have not truely been scared after seeing a movie in quite some time, and this movie was just the fix I needed.
  31. kikoc
    Oct 29, 2009
    8
    I was amazed at how tense this movie got as the minutes went by. like other people have said, don't go into it expecting a typical hollywood flick, because this is exactly the opposite. the less is more gimmick is revived in full force. the beginning is slow but necessary for the setup, but the last 30 minutes of the film are just amazing. as low budget as it is, it more than makes I was amazed at how tense this movie got as the minutes went by. like other people have said, don't go into it expecting a typical hollywood flick, because this is exactly the opposite. the less is more gimmick is revived in full force. the beginning is slow but necessary for the setup, but the last 30 minutes of the film are just amazing. as low budget as it is, it more than makes up for it in the ingenuity the director shows with what he had to work with. the point is, go see this movie! Expand
  32. zachc
    Oct 29, 2009
    7
    Hype scares me more than any movie. It has the innate ability to either totally corrupt or empower a film. In this case, I wouldn't say the hype totally destroyed this film however it didn't measure up to what some of the critics were hailing it to be. There were definitely some scary moments and at one point I let out an empowered "what the fuck?!" but 'Paranormal' Hype scares me more than any movie. It has the innate ability to either totally corrupt or empower a film. In this case, I wouldn't say the hype totally destroyed this film however it didn't measure up to what some of the critics were hailing it to be. There were definitely some scary moments and at one point I let out an empowered "what the fuck?!" but 'Paranormal' won't hold up on any all time list. Peli does put forth an amazing effort at utilizing minimum production for maximum effect, I'll give him that and the acting was incredibly organic and therefore believable. However, aside from the barrage of jump out scares this movie is a clever and plodding build-up to a somewhat obvious result. Definitely worth seeing, but by no means will this be locking arms with 'Exorcist' and 'The shining' at any point in the foreseeable future. Expand
  33. BrandonW
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    Amazing work and truly frightening. I just got home from seeing it not too long ago and I hope I am able to sleep at some point. Definite classic
  34. ShaneB
    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    Scary, scary, scary!!
  35. BenjaminT.
    Oct 6, 2009
    9
    I have not been this creeped out by a movie since The Sixth Sense. I really enjoy horror movies, but usually just because of how absurd they are and how comical that makes them. I got shivers down my body several times during this film and memories of scenes haunted me for the next few nights. A very good movie that hopefully will be getting wide release soon (maybe in time for Halloween?)..
  36. Alex
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    One of the scariest movies I have ever seen. And like many have said before me, I could not sleep at all last night after seeing it.
  37. JustinM
    Oct 9, 2009
    8
    I actually would like to give this a higher score, but I am inclined to keep it at a 8 because to me it is not as scary as most of the marketing material touts it to be. I say to me because since the film does deal with demonic possession, I feel half of the fear generated by the film is one of an individual's beliefs and faiths, and since I am myself an Athiest, I do not find myself I actually would like to give this a higher score, but I am inclined to keep it at a 8 because to me it is not as scary as most of the marketing material touts it to be. I say to me because since the film does deal with demonic possession, I feel half of the fear generated by the film is one of an individual's beliefs and faiths, and since I am myself an Athiest, I do not find myself terrified by it like others, possibly for that reason. The film is terrific to watch, even though I was not scared, I was constantly entertained, and due to that it at least deserves a 7. The visual effects, though subtle, are extremely well pulled off, especially for be shot by a personal camcorder, and the acting is believable since the leads have a great chemistry and most of the script is improved. But as a reviewer has stated above, a great deal of the tension and that the viewer feels and takes away with them is all generated by their own personal phobias, and that is exactly why this film works differently for some rather than others. Expand
  38. AndrewB.
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    It took me 13 years to find a movie that didn't just illicit cheap "jump scare" tactics like so many horror flick today--I've been searching all these years for a movie that would build suspense to a boiling point and then unleash hell that would leave me secretly terrified for weeks. This is that movie. Thank goodness someone still has talent to make movies like this.
  39. SteveF.
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    Everybody who didn't find this movie scary and believed it was funny are all a bunch of idiots. Yeah you know who you are...morons.
  40. JamesH.
    Jan 12, 2010
    6
    It certainly does have a believable creepiness about it, but there is way too much where nothing happens, the bickering and so forth. So much happens at night when it
  41. JamesF
    Oct 11, 2009
    9
    The fact that not much happens during most of the film yet was able to make my heart beat really fast every time they went to bed, is a testament to the fact that the filmmaker actually has some talent. While i liked Blair witch i feel that this completely understood how real people that may or may not believe in ghosts would react. I see this director actually doing something substantial The fact that not much happens during most of the film yet was able to make my heart beat really fast every time they went to bed, is a testament to the fact that the filmmaker actually has some talent. While i liked Blair witch i feel that this completely understood how real people that may or may not believe in ghosts would react. I see this director actually doing something substantial with his success. Expand
  42. VegaV
    Oct 11, 2009
    6
    Not bad. Had it's creepy moments, but certainly not worth all the hype. The movie borrows from several different movies (Blair Witch, The Ring, Japanese Horror movies) making it completely unoriginal. Nifty special affects, and use of sound are pretty impressive considering the "hand-held" documentary styled filming.
  43. JayW
    Oct 12, 2009
    7
    I thought this film was well done. I would say that it is far from being the "scariest film ever" but it does a great job of building tension for certain parts. Unfortunately that building of tension sometimes veers the film off into some boring moments that drag the film down. I found the buildup to be tremendously slow at the beginning, and couldn't believe that this movie was I thought this film was well done. I would say that it is far from being the "scariest film ever" but it does a great job of building tension for certain parts. Unfortunately that building of tension sometimes veers the film off into some boring moments that drag the film down. I found the buildup to be tremendously slow at the beginning, and couldn't believe that this movie was carrying so much "hype" with it. Once you wade through a lot of that boredom, though, you are paid off with a pretty good final act. I actually think the hype did this film an injustice. Proclaiming it to be the "scariest" film ever may have put people in seats, but when the movie doesn't deliver on that promise, a lot of people will be left disappointed. All in all, though it is worth the price of admission for some good Halloween season thrills. Expand
  44. BillS.
    Oct 12, 2009
    10
    Horror movie that delivers!
  45. PaulL.
    Oct 13, 2009
    8
    Definitely builds a good sense of dread with several hair-raising scenes that will stay with you. Considering the budget, very effective.
  46. AndréB
    Nov 3, 2009
    9
    Very good movie to what it proposes. It doesn't promise much, but it's a good movie to get you scared. You probably will be able to sleep just well at night. But that's ok.
  47. MartyV
    Nov 3, 2009
    9
    In true "Blair Witch" style, Paranormal Activity makes you believe that what you are watching is actually happening. The gradual buildup throughout the film keeps viewers on the edge of their seat as things begin to intesify as the film progresses. Think of it as the Blair Witch project except things actually happen.
  48. Cait
    Nov 6, 2009
    9
    Anyone who said this was boring or needed special effects clearly knows nothing about film. The minimalism of "paranormal" was pure genius, and the writing and acting were so natural and incredibly believable. So what if it looked like a YouTube video? It was SUPPOSED to. That's what made it so believable, and therefore, very scary. The build-up was well-paced and built up to a Anyone who said this was boring or needed special effects clearly knows nothing about film. The minimalism of "paranormal" was pure genius, and the writing and acting were so natural and incredibly believable. So what if it looked like a YouTube video? It was SUPPOSED to. That's what made it so believable, and therefore, very scary. The build-up was well-paced and built up to a terrifying climax. The end though, was admittedly, sort of a cop out. "Katie was never seen again" ? (or whatever) Lame. But everything else was great. Expand
  49. RandyM.
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Oren Peli successfully delivers one terrifying piece of horror work. "Paranormal Activity" is genuinely chilling and effective, especially considering the measly budget. Yes, it's a little slow on occasion, but Peli's ability to coax terror out of the audience without using cheap scare tactics more than makes up for it. Be warned: the last 15 minutes will leave you gasping for air.
  50. ToddA.
    Nov 7, 2009
    7
    _Paranormal Activity_ is best at couching the supernatural in realism. While certainly fitting and skillful, the actors are not your generic, hard-bodied, Hollywood starlets, and they seem likable and benignly plain. The movie similarly forgoes sensationalized digital scares and the tired butchery of films like _Saw_ for a clever and effectively balanced mix of harrowing shocks that _Paranormal Activity_ is best at couching the supernatural in realism. While certainly fitting and skillful, the actors are not your generic, hard-bodied, Hollywood starlets, and they seem likable and benignly plain. The movie similarly forgoes sensationalized digital scares and the tired butchery of films like _Saw_ for a clever and effectively balanced mix of harrowing shocks that accompanies the subtle and steady breakdown of the lead characters. At times, Katie and Micah may seem to make foolish decisions, but even that contributes to the authenticity of their performances. How well would someone adjust to the fact or even entertain the idea that a haunting, something that betrays all reason, is happening in his or her own home? Not well, of course. Additionally, this camera work, although still a Expand
  51. Jason
    Oct 17, 2009
    9
    If you take ONE thing away from this short review, it is: DO NOT WATCH THIS IN A THEATER! Rent this movie and watch it at home. I am rating this movie a 5, Despite my theater experience. There were times in the theater when I would have been incredibly scared, horrified and freaked, only to have the idiots around me totally kill the mood. I'm so disappointed by my experience, but If you take ONE thing away from this short review, it is: DO NOT WATCH THIS IN A THEATER! Rent this movie and watch it at home. I am rating this movie a 5, Despite my theater experience. There were times in the theater when I would have been incredibly scared, horrified and freaked, only to have the idiots around me totally kill the mood. I'm so disappointed by my experience, but you'll be glad to know none of it has to do with the movie. Now onto my short review. This movie is incredibly good, and I expect it to stay with me. There are no gimmicky, horror-movie tactics, and the gradual build of horror pays off BIG time in the end. The characters are believable, and I felt a strong connection to them throughout the movie. The best part about this movie is how "real" it is. At no point throughout the movie did I roll my eyes and sigh as I usually do when I can see obvious horror movie production faults. Adding to the reality of the film is the tempo. It goes from night to day and back frequently, and while some may dislike this, I found it pushing and pulling me to and from the edge of my seat. It was emotionally draining, which is a rare, and eery feeling for a movie, and it made the experience that much better. PLEASE see this movie. PLEASE do not see it in a theater. Expand
  52. EricJ.
    Oct 18, 2009
    7
    There was a bit too much media hype, but make no mistake, this is a very well crafted film. Where it is most effective is the sleeping sequences. I think the director realized he had something with that footage and it works very well. The only weakness is the Micah Sloat character. You do have to wonder why he is so willing to pursue the demon even though he knows what the consequences There was a bit too much media hype, but make no mistake, this is a very well crafted film. Where it is most effective is the sleeping sequences. I think the director realized he had something with that footage and it works very well. The only weakness is the Micah Sloat character. You do have to wonder why he is so willing to pursue the demon even though he knows what the consequences are for Katie. Also why didn't the both of them go for the nearest catholic priest when the demonologist was not available? Katie Featherston makes a very solid debut and carries this film. The editing is very solid. The pacing of the narrative is perfect. This movie slowly builds to a very dramatic ending. A very solid effort. This will be the Halloween movie to see this year. Don't miss it but don't build it up too much in your mind before you see it. Expand
  53. Sep 18, 2011
    6
    Oren Pelli's "Paranormal Activity" is a decent movie in the 'scary' category, but a fantastic one in the 'psychology' category.
  54. Feb 15, 2011
    3
    Well it take me some time to decide to watch this film, i was warn by my friends not to take the risk but i decided to watch it . And was terrible, i dont know who the hell think that this film is scary... i think that it should be called not "paranormal activity" but "invisible man is crazy" because thats all.......Now i know what to except from Paranormal Activity 2.... NOTHING....BORING
  55. RyanS.
    Jan 3, 2010
    4
    It's like a cheap version of Drag Me To Hell. Except that actually had humor; this has boredom. The hour and a half that it took to watch this felt like twice that. And the ending sucked.
  56. JordanS.
    Oct 2, 2009
    9
    The scariest and most entertaining horror film in a couple of years. Amazing work, especially considering their $15,000 budget.
  57. Jul 24, 2011
    0
    The first time I dozed off was after eight minutes, Then at intervals of about five minutes. The problem with this movie is that there is absolutely no story, no meaningful dialogue, just nonsense banter all the time. The bad audio makes it really hard to understand. What a disappointment...
  58. Jan 23, 2015
    3
    The word "horror" seems to be tossed around a lot in these times. If you are looking for thrill, suspense, emotion, and gut-busting excitement, just buy a laser toy for your cat instead.
  59. SarahM
    Oct 16, 2009
    2
    Anyone rating this movie about a 5 has something wrong with them. I'm sorry, but this movie was SO over hyped. I even tried to FORCE myself to be scared. And believe me, if it was the least scary, I would have been scared. Interesting CONCEPT, but beyond that, nothing. Kudos for the producers for creating so much B.S. hype!
  60. Aug 19, 2010
    5
    Couple have weird goings on in house, decide to set up a camera to capture odd happenings on film, lunacy!
    Hand-held camera jump fest which doesn't add that much in the way of originality to the genre.
    One or two scary moments but let down by silly stuff. If I heard a massive noise downstairs in the middle of the night,the first thing I'd grab wouldn't be a video camera & then continue
    Couple have weird goings on in house, decide to set up a camera to capture odd happenings on film, lunacy!
    Hand-held camera jump fest which doesn't add that much in the way of originality to the genre.
    One or two scary moments but let down by silly stuff. If I heard a massive noise downstairs in the middle of the night,the first thing I'd grab wouldn't be a video camera & then continue filming whilst my girlfriend went bonkers.
    Thought the ending undid a lot of the work & tension that the rest of the film had built up. The alternate ending, albeit a lot more blunt, fitted better.
    Expand
  61. JoeyA
    Oct 15, 2009
    0
    One of the worst movies of all time. It dragged on for what seemed like an eternity and every time they would get back in bed I was praying for it to be the last scene and finally end. There is absolutely no plot, a few things are thrown in here and there to make you believe it is heading somewhere and then totally forgotten. One of the worst movies I've seen in quite a while, One of the worst movies of all time. It dragged on for what seemed like an eternity and every time they would get back in bed I was praying for it to be the last scene and finally end. There is absolutely no plot, a few things are thrown in here and there to make you believe it is heading somewhere and then totally forgotten. One of the worst movies I've seen in quite a while, don't waste your time or money with this one, it sucks ! Expand
  62. ggg
    Oct 22, 2009
    4
    Its not terrible, but it's not just bleh., wait to see on dvd. there are way better movies screening today.
  63. ChicoSuave
    Oct 31, 2009
    0
    this movie totally sucks. i cant believe the hype. i would never spend top dollar on this piece of crap EVER. it was just a bunch of "omg, the ghost...i think." then it's like "f this and f that". so stupid. its like that saying curiousity kills the cat, except in this case curiosity takes your money. dont spend your money, its not worth it.
  64. Eric
    Oct 10, 2009
    0
    This movie is slow moving, low budget version of the Blair Witch Project. Let down on all levels... Save your money. This movie is a rental at best.
  65. BillF.
    Dec 30, 2009
    0
    worst movie I've ever seen in my whole life!!!!! do not waste your time and money!!! totally not scary, nothing happened literally the whole movie! incredibly bad.
  66. CarlosS
    Dec 5, 2009
    2
    I can't believe there is people who thought this was scary. It was so boring! There was really nothing scary about this at all.
  67. unclepual
    Oct 29, 2009
    0
    The trailer contains all the action of the film. Nothing happens. And then some boring predictable stuff does. Nothing is ever explained. Some spookiness thoughout by ghosties. The film is never scary nor good. Many parts are laughable Recommended for those who believe in hauntings and the paranormal. The rest can see it when it hits Red Box.
  68. BenC.
    Jan 10, 2010
    0
    I was incredibly disappointed. After reading all the hype, I thought the movie might actually be scary, but instead I saw lots of garbage camera work, whispering voices, and loud bangs. Probably the worst movie I've seen in a long time, and certainly the least scary.
  69. RobbR.
    Jan 1, 2010
    2
    Over hyped! What a waste of money to own, renting is bad enough!
  70. RupertL
    Jan 3, 2010
    0
    It was absolutely horrifying. You walk out to find the demon has actually replaced the movie with a youtube clip, written and directed by a child, filmed by an epileptic in a nightclub.
  71. ClarenceY
    Jan 6, 2010
    0
    I just laughed at this "scary" movie. I would call this a comedy movie, people really forgot what a true horror movie is!
  72. JT
    Jan 9, 2010
    2
    An okay build up that ultimately leads to a hugely unsatisfying payoff. You know that old saying "Less is more"? In this case, less is less. The characters are probably the most annoying people I've ever seen on film. I wanted them both to die within a half an hour. One of the most disappointing and least scary horror films I have ever seen.
  73. MatthewC
    Oct 11, 2009
    5
    The movie has some good creepy moments, and the setup works reasonably well. But I don't understand how more people weren't completely disappointed by that ending. It almost totally ruins the entire film. I'd be more specific, but I don't want to put out a spoiler. Suffice it to say that I wish I'd left the theater a few minutes before it ended.
  74. EliJ.
    Nov 1, 2009
    0
    A lot of people from my school said this movie was horrifying. Well, it isn't. First off, half the movie is the two people arguing about the paranormal activity and what to do about it. Second, any real person would leave that house and go to a fucking church to stay for a while. I mean maybe one night of a few weird moments is one thing, but when it happens like 10 time...jesus A lot of people from my school said this movie was horrifying. Well, it isn't. First off, half the movie is the two people arguing about the paranormal activity and what to do about it. Second, any real person would leave that house and go to a fucking church to stay for a while. I mean maybe one night of a few weird moments is one thing, but when it happens like 10 time...jesus there is so many goddamn things wrong with this movie. The only scary part was the thought that a piece of worthless shit like this could even hit the big screen. Expand
  75. DavidB
    Oct 13, 2009
    2
    Sooo boring.
  76. ZaraC
    Nov 6, 2009
    2
    I thought this was a laughably bad movie. The acting was unbelievable from the beginning and the 'youtube' element of the movie fell flat on its face. 90% of this movie is just tedious mind numbing set up to an anti climax. None of it is scary, nor tense, just irritating.
  77. PaulS
    Oct 17, 2009
    0
    I'm not a huge fan of this genre in the first place, but like many others I was bored. I also thought it predictable, and this without having much base in scary movies. I would have left if I could. My girlfriend on the other hand loved it. Maybe it was the depiction of an unsympathetic macho jerk that she liked.
  78. ChristianJ
    Nov 8, 2009
    1
    PA is extremely over-hyped, it didnt even scare 1 time. When i saw this movie I was hoping to be scared s*****ss but it really didnt scare me has "Blair Witch Project" did .. I dont recommend this movie at all! IT SUCKS! (the 1 is because the couple in the movie acted really good throught the film).
  79. ArmondW.
    Oct 19, 2009
    2
    OMG really??? Why did we fall for this movie? Why are we insistent on believing something is real just because someone says it? The movie isn't even remotely scary! Of the hour and forty minutes it takes from you, only five minutes of it is even remotely interesting--FIVE! The movie was mind-crushingly boring. I wanted to stab myself in the throat so I couldn't hear myself OMG really??? Why did we fall for this movie? Why are we insistent on believing something is real just because someone says it? The movie isn't even remotely scary! Of the hour and forty minutes it takes from you, only five minutes of it is even remotely interesting--FIVE! The movie was mind-crushingly boring. I wanted to stab myself in the throat so I couldn't hear myself scream, not because I was scared, but because I was pissed! One of the worst movies I've seen all year! Expand
  80. MichelleH
    Nov 9, 2009
    2
    By the time you get to the "scary parts," you're impatient, exhausted, frustrated and laughing at yourself for believing all the effing hype.
  81. MikeR.
    Oct 19, 2009
    0
    What a complete waste of twenty dollars!!! Go see "Zombieland" if you want something better, or even "Miracle on 34th Street" may scare you more than this loser. Don't waste your time or money on this loser!!! Spread the word! Don't let the producers of this film make more money!!! The critics that have rated this film are all paid to get you to see it. Believe me, the absolute What a complete waste of twenty dollars!!! Go see "Zombieland" if you want something better, or even "Miracle on 34th Street" may scare you more than this loser. Don't waste your time or money on this loser!!! Spread the word! Don't let the producers of this film make more money!!! The critics that have rated this film are all paid to get you to see it. Believe me, the absolute worst film I've ever seen! Expand
  82. VincentM.
    Oct 19, 2009
    0
    If it was a youtube series, 8/9 out of 10. But for it trying to pass as a full blown movie? 0/10 - I was bored out of my mind for the 90 minutes I sat there. I didn't know if people were actually screaming in terror or trying to make the movie some what exciting. Don't expect much, $15,000 dollar budget or not, they shouldn't be making 30 million+ off of it. Wait for it on If it was a youtube series, 8/9 out of 10. But for it trying to pass as a full blown movie? 0/10 - I was bored out of my mind for the 90 minutes I sat there. I didn't know if people were actually screaming in terror or trying to make the movie some what exciting. Don't expect much, $15,000 dollar budget or not, they shouldn't be making 30 million+ off of it. Wait for it on DVD or don't bother. It was pathetic, specially with everyone thinking it was real footage or based on real events. It was based on dramatized events of weird noises and objects moving months apart. Thanks for horrible experience and wasting my time and money. Expand
  83. FrankH.
    Oct 21, 2009
    0
    What a complete waste of money!!! Don't waste your time or money on this film!!! Believe me, the absolute worst film I've ever seen. If only I could ask for my money back from the theater I would.
  84. MIckiM
    Oct 20, 2009
    0
    Do not waste your time or money...scifi channel has scarier stuff!!
  85. LesD.
    Oct 20, 2009
    1
    One of the worst films I have ever seen. I was very hyped for this movie, and haven't been this disappointed since the first Saw. First off this movie is in no way scary it was suspenseful but it lead nowhere. You sit there for the entire movie wanting to be scared, waiting for it, and it never happens. It was tremendously boring, after a while the suspense is gone and the bumps just One of the worst films I have ever seen. I was very hyped for this movie, and haven't been this disappointed since the first Saw. First off this movie is in no way scary it was suspenseful but it lead nowhere. You sit there for the entire movie wanting to be scared, waiting for it, and it never happens. It was tremendously boring, after a while the suspense is gone and the bumps just get old. The final twenty minutes I was sitting there calling exactly what was going to happen next with perfect detail. People were leaving the theater laughing or complaining, NO ONE was scared. Terrible waste of an evening. Just because it was different then you're average slasher or haunted house flick doesn't mean it was better, just one hour and forty minutes of boring, predictable, garbage. Expand
  86. DylanB.
    Dec 30, 2009
    1
    Terrible!!! Out of the 100 minutes about 15-20 minutes actually give you a slight tingle. 30 seconds freaks you out. Its one of those movies that you could go to with your girlfriend to get her to snuggle up. Then you make out for the rest of the film.
  87. CharlieH
    Oct 25, 2009
    3
    This movie gets a three from me just because they were somehow able to get it in theatres. The hype is all there, but the movie just can't seem to catch up to it. I say all this as a skeptic in the first place, but I enjoy horror movies overall (Blair Witch Project and the similar Japanese film Noroi being two of my favorites.) That being said, if you're not on the "Ghost This movie gets a three from me just because they were somehow able to get it in theatres. The hype is all there, but the movie just can't seem to catch up to it. I say all this as a skeptic in the first place, but I enjoy horror movies overall (Blair Witch Project and the similar Japanese film Noroi being two of my favorites.) That being said, if you're not on the "Ghost Hunters" bandwagon, I'd recommend not wasting your time. The concept is interesting, but it lead up to almost nothing. I literally fell asleep about an hour in, woken only by my girlfriend when the "climax" was hitting its stride, if it could even be called that. If you're into ghost chasing TV shows and taking pictures of dust you can later call "orbs," then this film should satisfy. For those of us in the real world, it can hardly be considered a film. Expand
  88. DanTheMan
    Oct 26, 2009
    5
    So disappointing. I had heard how genuinely scary and creepy this movie was, but it did nothing for me. It uses every ghost movie cliche in the book and is truly not creepy at all. I did like the two actors and it was well-done for a one-guy-with-a-camcorder type of movie, but I felt like I had seen all of these tricks a thousand times before. I saw it with a female friend who's an So disappointing. I had heard how genuinely scary and creepy this movie was, but it did nothing for me. It uses every ghost movie cliche in the book and is truly not creepy at all. I did like the two actors and it was well-done for a one-guy-with-a-camcorder type of movie, but I felt like I had seen all of these tricks a thousand times before. I saw it with a female friend who's an admitted wuss, and even she said it didn't scare her at all. Expand
  89. Gaz
    Oct 28, 2009
    0
    This was a really bad movie, yes it takes 1 and half hours for someone 2 die then the movie ends. It was not worth me even going for free. Pay me next time please.
  90. Terenceb
    Oct 29, 2009
    0
    Extremely slow and boring. i dont know why this scares so many people. This was THE most predictable horror movie I've ever seen. That as well as it being highly unrealistic, unoriginal, and repetitive, made the movie tedious with a total lack of scares.
  91. NickK
    Oct 31, 2009
    1
    Frankly, I'm disappointed. I spent some time looking into this film before seeing it, and had pretty much figured that all the negative reviews were from the impatient who wanted your typical Hollywood horror film. I had hoped the general critical reception was correct, and I would enjoy a slow-paced, tense horror film. I was very, very wrong. Like so many other reviewers, the main Frankly, I'm disappointed. I spent some time looking into this film before seeing it, and had pretty much figured that all the negative reviews were from the impatient who wanted your typical Hollywood horror film. I had hoped the general critical reception was correct, and I would enjoy a slow-paced, tense horror film. I was very, very wrong. Like so many other reviewers, the main issue is that almost nothing happens. In the entire 1.5 hours, you are treated to some total of 3 minutes of 'the paranormal', and roughly 92 minutes of terribly predictable dialogue, bad acting, and well-beyond-stupid character action. It's a shocking waste of time with little to no horror value at all. Factually, there were roughly 100x more laughs than screams when I saw the film. I'm just surprised nobody walked out on it, as I've heard this is a fairly common occurrence, and I'd be lying if I denied the thought crossed my mind. Expand
  92. criticsRmad
    Oct 30, 2009
    2
    I'm easily scared by scary movies. The Ring left me traumatized for several months. This movie. Nothing. Not scary. Boring. It's great they were able to make this movie on such a small budget, but this isn't even close to the scariest things I've ever seen. Boring.
  93. MostProfitableFilmEver...ForShame
    Jan 10, 2010
    0
    Laughable "acting". Would have helped if the woman was good looking. NO redeeming qualities. Do not watch ever. EVER.
  94. MikeD.
    Jan 1, 2010
    3
    Overrated... not scary at all, I wish they had gone all the way with the idea instead of just toying around with a few minor thrills.
  95. MarissaN
    Nov 12, 2009
    1
    I was really hoping for a scary movie - and this was so not it. An attempt some sort of Blair-Witch style "real footage" movie. The story line was based more on the couple arguing than paranormal activity - which takes up about 10 minutes combined MAX throught the entire movie. Not scarey - not eventful - and real footage? don't kid yourself. and don't waste your money.
  96. TannerW
    Nov 2, 2009
    1
    Don't believe the hype for this movie at all. Completely boring from start to finish. So terrible, and even laughable at certain "scary moments" Skip it all together.
  97. EdwardM
    Nov 22, 2009
    1
    This was an amazingly overrated and overhyped film. I can't imagine any thinkiing person over 25 liking this. It's a film school project for someone who was blown away by the Blair Witch Project when they were 14. I kept telling my wife who was asleep at this screening at 5:15:26 pm on November 22nd, that there was going to be a payoff. There was too much buzz for there not to This was an amazingly overrated and overhyped film. I can't imagine any thinkiing person over 25 liking this. It's a film school project for someone who was blown away by the Blair Witch Project when they were 14. I kept telling my wife who was asleep at this screening at 5:15:26 pm on November 22nd, that there was going to be a payoff. There was too much buzz for there not to be a payoff. Trust me-there's no payoff. That the American movie going public thought this was great-including some national critics- is a symptom of the dumbing down of America. It was the equivalent of all the adults who heard Sarah Palin open her mouth back in November and thought she was commander in chief material. Expand
  98. ChrisP
    Nov 2, 2009
    1
    I gave this movie one point because my sister's ghost-believing friend thought it was really scary, so I guess maybe other people who believe in ghosts will like this too. The two main characters do absolutely nothing to fix their problem, which makes for a really boring film. The ending to this movie is probably the biggest insult to the audience I've ever seen, and isn't I gave this movie one point because my sister's ghost-believing friend thought it was really scary, so I guess maybe other people who believe in ghosts will like this too. The two main characters do absolutely nothing to fix their problem, which makes for a really boring film. The ending to this movie is probably the biggest insult to the audience I've ever seen, and isn't worth the 90 minutes of "building up." I wish I had burned my $10 bill and spent my hour and a half staring at a brick wall; it wouldn't be more enjoyable but at least that way the filmmakers wouldn't have gotten money for this piece of crap. Expand
  99. StanD
    Nov 28, 2009
    4
    What's the big deal? Why are all the critics so ga-ga over this boring film? Doesn't come close to living up to the hype. It's a great concept, but in reality this film is very uninteresting. There's not a single moment of true suspense let alone horror. Nothing remotely scary, and the ending is predictable from the beginning, but the last shot was cheesey and What's the big deal? Why are all the critics so ga-ga over this boring film? Doesn't come close to living up to the hype. It's a great concept, but in reality this film is very uninteresting. There's not a single moment of true suspense let alone horror. Nothing remotely scary, and the ending is predictable from the beginning, but the last shot was cheesey and amateurish. This is really for kids who like to be scared when told to be so, something for the DVD player on a night when there's little else going on... Expand
  100. Tonda
    Oct 13, 2009
    0
    Boring!..If you are a fan of scary movies...don't even waste your time or money....I was very disappointed!!! I
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    80
    Beyond the viral ingenuity of the marketing, what's cool about PA is that it's not just a fun thrill ride; it's an instructive artistic experience. A horror-movie revisionist, Peli follows a less-is-more strategy.
  2. I’ve never seen a movie that so cunningly exploits our anticipation.
  3. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    75
    An impressive, not entirely successful exercise in minimalist filmmaking.