Paramount Pictures | Release Date: December 25, 2003
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 187 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
143
Mixed:
24
Negative:
20
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
wornoutspinesJun 11, 2015
When I first saw this film I didn't even know it was a Philip K. Dick short story. The movie came out almost 12 years ago but it didn't seem so far off until I realized I didn't remember why he’s being chased. I remembered some of the actionWhen I first saw this film I didn't even know it was a Philip K. Dick short story. The movie came out almost 12 years ago but it didn't seem so far off until I realized I didn't remember why he’s being chased. I remembered some of the action scenes and the mystery solving so in my mind it looked more like an action than sci-fi movie. The plot is basically centered around the action, the car chases, gunshots, and explosions - not at a Michael Bay level - but still a very action-centered movie. It made the characters looks quite one-dimensional

It's funny how this futuristic sci-fi movie is a bit off. I mean the movie doesn't really hold up today. It's still a good science fiction - I meant action - story and I enjoyed watching it, maybe even more now that I recognize all of the supporting cast, but parts of the movie looked...fake I guess, or like it was made in the 80s instead of the 00s.

Paycheck was awesome when I saw it as a kid, it’s still a pleasant movie to watch but it’s definitely not a film for a nitpicking audience. @wornoutspines
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
PhilD.Dec 26, 2003
This movie is good...but not great. If you're like me and you own The 6th Day and Minority Report on DVD you'll think that Paycheck is a total ripoff of other sci-fi flicks. If I hadn't seen those 2 movies I might have liked This movie is good...but not great. If you're like me and you own The 6th Day and Minority Report on DVD you'll think that Paycheck is a total ripoff of other sci-fi flicks. If I hadn't seen those 2 movies I might have liked more Paycheck. One last thing, if any movie director is reading this, PLEASE stop having those "annoying buddies" in your movies, those stupid characters who are helping the hero and are supposedly funny because they don't seem to have as much fun as the hero himself... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RRRRJan 1, 2004
Who needs plot when you can blow things up?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JManJan 28, 2004
Who would have thought that a film written by the guy who wrote Minority Report, directed by the guy who did Hard Boiled and FaceOff, and featuring the star of Kill Bill could be.......well so incredibly average?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
CameronS.Feb 27, 2004
Paycheck is forgettable entertainment. Something you may enjoy a little bit while watching it, but hours later you?ll forget about it, mostly because you don?t care. John Woo, one of the best action directors of the last twenty years, Paycheck is forgettable entertainment. Something you may enjoy a little bit while watching it, but hours later you?ll forget about it, mostly because you don?t care. John Woo, one of the best action directors of the last twenty years, directed Paycheck and while not all his films have been good, they have all had some great action sequences. This film is greatly lacking in an action sequence of any intensity or fun. It?s all very basic and uninteresting. Michael Jennings is a reverse engineer. He takes existing computer hardware/software, breaks it down going backwards, and reassembles it into something new for the company he is working for. Because this is illegal, somehow, he has to have to his memory erased. He gets an offer from a friend of his, Rethrick (Eckhart), who tells him they?re working on something big. It will take three years to complete and he will make at least at least ten digits of stock options. Everything seems to go slickly, except that, when Michael tries to access his stocks, he finds, it?s not there, and suddenly his life is in danger. And, with exception to Rachel (Thurman), his love-interest, he seems to have no allies. He has a package with 19 or 20 objects in it, all in which he will need later in the movie. The film?s logic and plotting is awful, but that?s okay because this isn?t a film that needs to utilize logic. The film fails on stimulating any good action scenes. But the real problem I had with what was happening with the items he has. (Spoiler ahead) If he looked into the future, and saw that he would get killed, how could he change his future? The whole ?logic? of looking into the future is that it has already happened. It is his destiny, if he does something to change it, then it never should have existed. I don?t know if I am explaining thing correctly or comprehensibly here, it?s just that, he shouldn?t be able to change things that he would have to do as his destiny. (Spoiler end) Running mostly on adrenaline and a gimmick, it?s unlike from other Christmas movies in that it?s not unmotivated, intense or extravagant, and it clearly wasn?t prepared with a single stare at on the Academy Awards. The most interesting parts of Paycheck are the parts that consist of borrowing other scenes & ideas from other movies. Philip K. Dick, who is also the inspiration for better movies, like Blade Runner, Total Recall, and Minority Report, bases the film on a short story. This film is a dumb-downed assembly-line version of those entries, only lacking in character development, excitement, or cool visuals. Also, Woo seems to have been trying to shoot for a movie Hitchcock would have made. And didn?t Affleck?s buddy do an amnesia movie last year. The film isn?t original at all. The acting in Paycheck is linear with the quality of the screenplay, which is a range between hilariously absurd and insultingly stupid. Affleck plays Jennings blandly. I suspect he wanted to do this movie to erase his memory of Gigli. And Aaron Eckhart as Rethrick comes as even more colorless. But Uma Thurman, she was the biggest problem with the film I had. Her acting is just fine, it?s just, every time I see her on screen, I want to see her whip out a sword and cut everybody up, like she did so gracefully in Kill Bilil. That would have been exciting, but instead, she is relegated to just a love-interest. If it?s a fast-paced, exciting movie with cool action scenes and colorful characters, beautiful backgrounds and fun special effects, Peter Pan is your movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GinoE.Jun 7, 2004
There were a lot of films about time travel made in the past. Some better, some worse. Usually better. 'Paycheck' does give a new idea about time travel, but it could have been much, much more. Same goes for the action. (We've There were a lot of films about time travel made in the past. Some better, some worse. Usually better. 'Paycheck' does give a new idea about time travel, but it could have been much, much more. Same goes for the action. (We've all seen better shootouts and motorcycle chases). If I didn't know that this was directed by John Woo, I would never even think that. And same goes for the acting. (Especially note the always beard changing 'shorty' character. He's more convincing than anyone else, and that says a lot.) To make a long story short: If you're looking for some brainless, popcorn fun, I would recommend this product! If you're lookig for a film based on a Philip K. Dick book about memory loss, I would sugest 'Blade Runner', or even 'Total Recall'! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
littleRoomDec 30, 2003
This movie was all right, with an interesting way an envelope of everyday items helps Ben make it through the adventure. But the film felt very familar, and has been done better in other sci-fi movies. It's worth seeing if all you want This movie was all right, with an interesting way an envelope of everyday items helps Ben make it through the adventure. But the film felt very familar, and has been done better in other sci-fi movies. It's worth seeing if all you want is a fun action movie in between all the sad oscar season dramas that are out right now. Plus Uma Thurman is cute as ever. -lR Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
[Anonymous]Nov 10, 2005
THe story has premise, but John Woo's excecution renders the movie mediocre. Even the action ain't all that great. There are moments when the brillinace of the sci-fi story does surface, particularly consequences of looking into THe story has premise, but John Woo's excecution renders the movie mediocre. Even the action ain't all that great. There are moments when the brillinace of the sci-fi story does surface, particularly consequences of looking into the future, but it's not enough to save this film from being merely mediocre stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful