Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 153 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Director: Thor Freudenthal
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, Drama, Fantasy, Family
  • Rating: PG
  • Runtime: 106 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 33
  2. Negative: 8 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Ella Taylor
    Aug 9, 2013
    80
    Marc Guggenheim's script is capable and funny, but the film's finest wit is vehicular.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Aug 6, 2013
    63
    Director Thor Freudenthal (“Diary of a Wimpy Kid”) finds his groove with a succession of flashy 3-D renderings... They’re digitized riffs on the Sarlacc pit from “Star Wars” and the finale of “Raiders of the Lost Ark” — but as with the “Potter” cribbing, when it’s done well, it encourages “Percy” audiences to forgive the derivative chunks and thin emotion.
  3. Reviewed by: Bruce Ingram
    Aug 6, 2013
    50
    The big action set pieces fizzle. And that’s not good for a fantasy adventure movie, especially when the fantasy component is frequently undercut by sub-standard special effects.
  4. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Aug 7, 2013
    42
    The little action in 'Percy Jackson' wouldn’t be out-of-place in a superhero film, which is to say it’s mostly functional, and sometimes quite diverting.
  5. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Aug 7, 2013
    40
    This is some weak, watered-down stuff.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Aug 6, 2013
    40
    Percy Jackson: Sea Of Monsters continues a tradition of adequacy that could be described as “epic-ish” or “majestic-esque.”
  7. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Aug 6, 2013
    12
    I'll tell you what's insane: the probability that folks will go easy on this dreck because it's aimed at younger viewers, who are being distressingly trained to expect little from their art.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 54
  2. Negative: 21 out of 54
  1. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    I can easily give a 10 beacuse it's BETTER than the first in so many ways that i can't explain in 5000 characters. It's very nice, fun. It's a good movie for the summer. Collapse
  2. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    I really like the percy Jackson series so far. I do have to say it could use more thrill and on edge factors. It is easy to predict what is going to happen next. I would really like to see what the next one will bring. Expand
  3. Jan 29, 2014
    8
    Percy Jackson is unfairly compared to Harry Potter in both books and film. Frankly, PJ is the better written of the two franchises. Fewer plotholes and failures of story logic and more consistent characterization.

    That said, it DOES somehow feel a little "short". It doesn't quite have the "oomph" to make it to the "blockbuster" category.
    Expand
  4. Jan 19, 2014
    5
    If you're a fan of the book series (like me) I would easily recommend it. If you haven't read the book, you might want to think twice before renting this. Otherwise it would just confuse you. Expand
  5. Aug 20, 2013
    3
    Very much one for kids and hardly any sea monsters as lead to believe. If you have children then its ok, if your really looking for excitement for an adult pick another film. Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2014
    3
    Oh my God, the first film was bad enough already. Before watching the film, I was optimistic and hoping that maybe this film would be an improvement. Turns out I was dead wrong. There is almost nothing interesting in the whole film and the acting was just bad. Expand
  7. Nov 28, 2013
    0
    why the hell did they want to make this movie,it is absolutely terrible with terrible things with terribles actuations,i hated it(and it was made by Chris Columbus wich made harry potter 1 and 2. Expand

See all 54 User Reviews