Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: February 12, 2010
5.1
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 319 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
116
Mixed:
100
Negative:
103
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
DanAFeb 21, 2010
Embarrassing for my son, a fan of the books, who took me to this movie. I use the term loosely. Bad acting, clumsy plot and character development non existent. Where have all the actors gone these days??
8 of 8 users found this helpful
4
boydFeb 14, 2010
My sons and I read all 5 books, they are very good! That said, this movie was not good. First off major character changes was a big red flag! Grover is not black! The problem I had with that is whenever Hollywood throws in an ethnic My sons and I read all 5 books, they are very good! That said, this movie was not good. First off major character changes was a big red flag! Grover is not black! The problem I had with that is whenever Hollywood throws in an ethnic character such as Grover, they suddenly become "urbanized" in thier speech, and over sexed in their behavior which plays into furthering the stereotype of the horny (literally in the case of Grover) black man. Really it's not necesaary! By the way i am a Father of three wonderful sons and I am black. This isn't a race issue as much as cultural. I didn't realize their were any black Greek gods either! Hollywood its ok to not be so PC all of the time! Relax, we won't sue you! Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
3
TaylorM.Feb 12, 2010
Simply put, it was boring and had an unintelligent and very predictable plot.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
4
JeffCFeb 12, 2010
Some nice eye candy mixed into a poorly-rendered version of the book's story. Many major plot points from the book are ignored or flat-out wrong, making a sequel more difficult to imagine. The show-stealers are Uma Thurman (Medusa) and Some nice eye candy mixed into a poorly-rendered version of the book's story. Many major plot points from the book are ignored or flat-out wrong, making a sequel more difficult to imagine. The show-stealers are Uma Thurman (Medusa) and Brandon T. Jackson (Grover), while the leads (Logan Lerman as Percy and Alexandra Daddario as Annabeth) are wooden and the big names in the cast (Pierce Brosnan, Sean Bean, etc. etc.) are underutilized. Dialogue, gags, and music are frequently predictable TV-movie fare. As a film adaptation of a book, this was an excellent opportunity wasted. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
1
StevenW.Feb 13, 2010
Such promise. I suppose that's the biggest disappointment. Oh btw...thank you for putting in your script that someone in the White House is half man-half god. I wonder who you could possibly mean?? How embarrassing that you'd even Such promise. I suppose that's the biggest disappointment. Oh btw...thank you for putting in your script that someone in the White House is half man-half god. I wonder who you could possibly mean?? How embarrassing that you'd even write a line like that. Anyway, it's obviously geared towards kids. Yet they have quite a few sexual scenarios with the ever so horny goat dude and they really play on a drug scene that really makes being high look fantastic. Overall this movie was way boring and void of anything worthwhile. Well obviously some people like this movie as it's got quite a high user review. This user wouldn't go back to see it even if you payed me. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
shel97girlFeb 7, 2011
The movie was a complete disaster!!! All Percy Jackson book fans loook away dont bother seeing it because its a waste of time, money, and a complete waste of rick Riordan's awsome writting skills. (which is the best thing since Harry Potter,The movie was a complete disaster!!! All Percy Jackson book fans loook away dont bother seeing it because its a waste of time, money, and a complete waste of rick Riordan's awsome writting skills. (which is the best thing since Harry Potter, Avatar, and CBS news!!!!!!) The movie went to fast, it didn't complete ideas it left out 3-4 main charecters, It completely switched around peoples personalities, changed almost the whole story plot, and to top it all off Chris Columbus should of chose the author to direct, pick the cast, and write the screen play by himself, and it still would of been better!!!!!! a thumbs down movie for Colubus Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
JamesKFeb 12, 2010
worst movie ever! Changed everything from the book except for the basic premise and characters and added a crapload of unfunny sexual innuendos! Don't even bother with this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ActualFanFeb 13, 2010
Lets be honest here. They can't condense a large book into 2-3 hours. They can make it good, but they didn't. This movie diverted from the plot, cut major characters, and was reliant on kids to be amused by firey explosions. All I Lets be honest here. They can't condense a large book into 2-3 hours. They can make it good, but they didn't. This movie diverted from the plot, cut major characters, and was reliant on kids to be amused by firey explosions. All I want to say about this movie is: DON'T WATCH. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
HaleyLFeb 12, 2010
Up above is a list of critic reviews. This morning, when I read them, I thought they were a bunch of morons that had never read Rick Riordan
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
LeandreB.Feb 14, 2010
There is absolutely nothing smart about this movie. Cheesy humour and one-liners, half assed special effects and on average bad acting.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
txrangersfan72Jan 18, 2011
Cute, but slow and boring. While I love the theme, I never read the series. The movie targets the same age group as the books and hits the mark. Unfortunately, I'm not part of the demographic.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
aaronpaul121May 22, 2012
This movie has good and bad moments, mostly bad moments, that's why I gave a 4. I agree with other users with the cheesy acting of the characters. Cheesy acting really makes me turn off and sometimes it makes me don't watch the rest of theThis movie has good and bad moments, mostly bad moments, that's why I gave a 4. I agree with other users with the cheesy acting of the characters. Cheesy acting really makes me turn off and sometimes it makes me don't watch the rest of the movie. It also has that immature element on the plot, which makes the movie childish than "adult-ish". But on the other hand, it does have nice special effects which lift the movie a little bit. But sadly, it is not enough to make the movie worthy to be called " as good as" the original book. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
coolgames101Jun 12, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. **** THIS MOVIE! **** THIS MOVIE! **** THIS MOVIE! **** THIS MOVIE! this movie is **** i mean **** i remember that back in 2010 when this movie came out i had read all the books all over again and invited a whole bunch of friends over to see it close to opening night. i was going to see sean bean, Pierce Brosnan and Uma Thurman portray my favorite characters in the book. and at the time i loved all three of those actors and actresses. then the movie started. it was all down hill from there.
first off, Percy in the books was tan, but he isn't in the movie. Strike one. Percy in the book is twelve. in the movie he is a senior in high school. strike two. Grover didn't need **** to suport him, he just had a limp because he had his hooves concealed in mother ****ing god damned foam feet. there are a million other strikes against this movie, but... if i were to go into alot of detail and see my favorite book being destroyed so badly. i would explode. but then again i probably should for the sake of the reader. in the movie, Hades was the bad guy. BULL **** in the book they made Kronos the bad guy, and that made it possible for the evil Demigods to come together and attack camp half blood. another thing is that it was Ares that put the lightning bolt in Percy's back pack. not Luke giving Percy a shield with the lightning bolt inside! Especially since Percy didn't get a ****ing shield until the second book! And Luke didn't plan out every last detail, it was Kronos that influenced him! And WHEN THE HELL DID THEY HAVE TO SEARCH FOR THE ****IN PEARLS OF APHRODITE?!?!?!?!??!?!?!??!?! i was a huge fan of the books. i really anticipated the movie, but with all the flaws, (And yes, i haven't even said all the things wrong, *cough*Hades wasn't emo*cough* and before my head explodes, lets leave it all at that.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
Potter17Sep 17, 2011
Let me start by saying that: Chris Columbus ruined what could be a great movie. Although the first two Harry Potter (both directed by him) were excessively long, they were pretty good films, so I was very excited about this version of PercyLet me start by saying that: Chris Columbus ruined what could be a great movie. Although the first two Harry Potter (both directed by him) were excessively long, they were pretty good films, so I was very excited about this version of Percy Jackson. Well, the running time was shorter that I expected but on Columbus's hands the storyline was childish and the main characters were shallow. But the worst thing about this film is the adaptation. Percy becomes stupid. Annabeth who is a brave and intelligent friend of Percy, becomes arrogant and snobbish. And Grover is used as comic relief. I think for other people who haven't read the book, the film will be ok. But for me, only the visual effects and main actors saved this film from a total disaster. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
AquophisFeb 27, 2012
They didn't make the Percy movie the way they should have, but it still tells a good, entertaining enough story all its own. Definitely not Chris Columbus's best. If you want to see his triumphs, look for the first two Harry Potter films.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
BlatantInnuendoJan 6, 2013
This seems like a missed opportunity. I absolutely love the books and have read every one of them multiple times. The movie seemed to take the book, ignore some important points, and basically made the movie unappealing at best The mainThis seems like a missed opportunity. I absolutely love the books and have read every one of them multiple times. The movie seemed to take the book, ignore some important points, and basically made the movie unappealing at best The main characters are wooden, and what they did to the story line is unforgivable. This could have been the perfect movie but the directors managed to turn it into something that no one wants to remember. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
LadyFantasy19Aug 7, 2013
Since I'm a big fan of the book series, I was totally excited. But after a few minutes I couldn't believe it. They destroyed the fantastic world of Percy Jackson and Camp Half-Blood. Independent of the book, the storyline was ok... The actorsSince I'm a big fan of the book series, I was totally excited. But after a few minutes I couldn't believe it. They destroyed the fantastic world of Percy Jackson and Camp Half-Blood. Independent of the book, the storyline was ok... The actors are ok... Action ok... But it just broke my heart when I saw the movie. If you love the books DON'T watch the movie! To sum up the movie was worse than ok. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
eagleeyevikingDec 17, 2013
Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief completely strays away from it's source material and replaces it with a very clumsy plot. It is also plagued with poor acting even if the movie is enjoyable and has the right feel of the book series.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
KarenMar 19, 2010
It's almost one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I was extremely tempted to walk out of the theater after only 15 minutes, might be even less. Not only did it not follow the book at all, it was topped off with bad script and bad It's almost one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I was extremely tempted to walk out of the theater after only 15 minutes, might be even less. Not only did it not follow the book at all, it was topped off with bad script and bad acting. There was not emotion in any of the places where there should have been--when Percy's mom died, it seems like he was unaffected and could care less. I can't believe that Chris Columus can even imagine making a sequel with such bad actors and bad script--the movie didn't even introduce the oracle, the prophecy, nothing. Basically, it did not lay down any of the necessary foundation needed for a sequel. Actually, I didn't even know there may be a sequel planned just by watching the movie, I saw his comment online. Books turned movies usually are not very good, but I have not seen one this bad. If I have to sit through another one...I can't even compare any torture worse than that. It completely ruined what could have been a potentially good movie. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
5
grandpajoe6191Sep 22, 2011
Cheesy and childish at its best, but hey. It still helps you memorize all those Greek gods and myth.
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
0
DolfL.Feb 13, 2010
This guy stole my lightning it was like not cool man. Great film!
2 of 4 users found this helpful
6
ErikM.Feb 14, 2010
I loved the books but the movie was alright just to much of the book was left out.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
BobDFeb 25, 2010
They got so many facts wrong from the book which made me mad. If it was a movie on it own its still only a decent movie. Crappy effects and bad acting. Why did Rick (the author) let them do it that to his awesome books.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
DougMMar 16, 2010
I think what's so annoying to me is all the elements were available to make this an enjoyable experience at the minimum; and the director deliberately spurned it all to spend more time adding CGI... I have a headache now after that.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
huffnat890Oct 1, 2010
This movie has absolutely no redeeming qualities qhatsoever to keep it from being the generic piece of **** it is. **** my life. This movie doesn't deserve to exist.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
BikerjamesJun 20, 2011
Warning: very clunky dialogue and poor acting. You have been warned. Most special effects looked good, especially the boat crossing in hell, but some wasn't very smooth looking. One particular eye rolling moment was when it was explainedWarning: very clunky dialogue and poor acting. You have been warned. Most special effects looked good, especially the boat crossing in hell, but some wasn't very smooth looking. One particular eye rolling moment was when it was explained that the enemies of Poseidon's son cannot detect him on earth was because his stepfather has such bad body odor that it masks his scent. Yes. They actually say that in the film. Like the kid never leaves home, or goes to school, without his evil stepfather in tow. The film might appeal more to a younger age, and some special effects were good, thus the "4" rating. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
JonnyFendiJan 11, 2011
The Director is Chris Columbus, who I called The Family Man, most of his works always contains family value. His previous works include: HOME ALONE (1990), MRS. DOUBTFIRE (1993), BICENTENNIAL MAN (1999), Two early HARRY POTTER seriesThe Director is Chris Columbus, who I called The Family Man, most of his works always contains family value. His previous works include: HOME ALONE (1990), MRS. DOUBTFIRE (1993), BICENTENNIAL MAN (1999), Two early HARRY POTTER series (2001-2002), and RENT (2005), which I loved about. In thiz latest movie, he adapted the first series of Rick Riordan novel. The story told about a common teenager just found out that he is the offspring of Poseidon, one of the Greek Gods (they called it: Demigod). Now is time for Percy to stop the war between the Gods, who demanding the Zeu lost Lightning Bolt. Percy stars by Logan Lerman. Lerman performs adequately on his character. Almost all the mythical characters appear in thiz movie. The other Casts are: Sean Bean, Pierce Brosnan, Steve Coogan, Rosario Dawson, Catherine Keener, and Uma Thurman. The script itself applied a little bit shallow and corny. Obviously, there are some weaknesses that I found disturbing. First, all The Customes on thiz movie is so ordinary and lack of innovation. I believe we already seen it, even on HERCULES TV episodes. Some of the settings also terribly executed, the training camp set (the place that Percy and other Demigods train) is clearly not in high concept. It seems to be, Columbus did not support by fine Production Designer Team for thiz time. In overall, thiz movie is so far from building a great franchise like Harry Potter. The fact, There are some copy-paste elements on thiz story, like: trio friends bond, the chosen one, magical gadgets, wicked step family, etc. America wants to have their own Harry Potter? They must try harder. Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com Collapse
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
MoviebuffreviewJun 22, 2011
The Lightning Thief isn't bad. It has decent effects, okay performances, and can be fun for people who haven't read the book. But people who have read it might get a few thrills, but ultimately will be frustrated by the unfaithful adaptationThe Lightning Thief isn't bad. It has decent effects, okay performances, and can be fun for people who haven't read the book. But people who have read it might get a few thrills, but ultimately will be frustrated by the unfaithful adaptation that Chris Columbus did, and the ending which doesn't open a franchise as well as you would have hoped. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
10987654321Mar 19, 2014
It was so bad, I went to the premier, barfed, and cried at the same time. Why Chris Columbus? You have killed us all with your horrible movie. It has so many differences from the book. It needs to follow the book you nerd. It sucked.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
MovieLonely94Oct 13, 2010
I've been dying to see this movie when I read all five of the Percy Jackson books. too bad it was disliked by fans because it was a Harry Potter ripoff. thats alright, Chris Columbus. you gave this movie worth a try. bottomline: the actorsI've been dying to see this movie when I read all five of the Percy Jackson books. too bad it was disliked by fans because it was a Harry Potter ripoff. thats alright, Chris Columbus. you gave this movie worth a try. bottomline: the actors are supporting, the visuals were nice, and the storyline is entertaining. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
8
MicahS.Mar 14, 2010
If you like the books you might get mad because they barely stuck to the story but other than that great movie.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
7
TongN.Mar 14, 2010
Just...... good, not bad.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
unliunliunliApr 20, 2012
I read all five books of Percy Jackson & The Olympians. I must say it was a good collaboration of Greek mythology and modern events. I like the story as well as the characters. However, the movie was quite disappointing. I wasn't expectingI read all five books of Percy Jackson & The Olympians. I must say it was a good collaboration of Greek mythology and modern events. I like the story as well as the characters. However, the movie was quite disappointing. I wasn't expecting anything in the movie but I was disappointed how the story changed. After reading the book, I was excited to see how the cabins would look like, the fight b/w Clarisse and Percy in bathroom, how Iris-messaging worked and a lot more things I would like to see. But the movie didn't even show it.
On the lighter note, the actors were great. I liked Grover (Brandon T. Jackson) and Persephone (Rosario Dawson). I loved the view of Underworld and the Olympus. I could imagine how it will look like during the Titan war.
I heard that there'll be a Sea of Monsters movie. I hope this one will be good as the book. I don't know how they will incorporate the real story after the first movie. But let's see :)
Expand
1 of 9 users found this helpful18
All this user's reviews
10
TashaHMar 1, 2010
I think that this was the best mythological thriller that i have seen in a while, this is definitely the BEST movie i have ever seen. i give this movie a 10, and i would give harry potter a 3, i especially likes Hades in his I think that this was the best mythological thriller that i have seen in a while, this is definitely the BEST movie i have ever seen. i give this movie a 10, and i would give harry potter a 3, i especially likes Hades in his ''evil'' form and the goat man. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
9
PercyM.Feb 13, 2010
A fun, fantastic film. It is quite possible to reach success as Harry Potter for having a special pattern, different from Potter. Although most of the criticisms are very hateful, you can not stop comparing Harry Potter style. The good thing A fun, fantastic film. It is quite possible to reach success as Harry Potter for having a special pattern, different from Potter. Although most of the criticisms are very hateful, you can not stop comparing Harry Potter style. The good thing about film is that it moves in its own history. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
5
JasonH.Feb 16, 2010
The movie is really just a shameless rip off of harry potter. There are "magical" people that go to a "magical" secret school while keeping their identities hidden from us normal folk. The story revolves around three friends which simply The movie is really just a shameless rip off of harry potter. There are "magical" people that go to a "magical" secret school while keeping their identities hidden from us normal folk. The story revolves around three friends which simply replaces ron's role of comic relief with a half-goat creature, and replaces hermione with a one dimensional love interest (she's apparently supposed to be smart, but there doesn't seem to be any evidenece to support this.) The main problem is simply the feeling of being rushed. It's obvious that Columbus tried to cram way too much into a single film, and while watching it, I could almost imagine him checking off the required obstacles our heroes must overcome. This last critique was the real killer for me. I could put up with everything else and have fun, but when it seems like the director is rushing production, it makes me feel rushed as well. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BellaCMar 1, 2010
I loved this movie!!!!!!!!! But I do admit the acting could use improvment, I thought it was a great story over all. They also did add humor in it wich made it an even better movie. Even if they changed it from the book still very well done. =)
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
JohnS.Feb 13, 2010
Solid movie with good special effects, decent storyline and capable acting. One of the better Chris Columbus movies in quite a while.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
8
AdrianF.Feb 14, 2010
I really like it. Good effects, performance and music [Tik Tok & Pokerface ] But, the story is, I think, incomplete and short. Good movie.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
FranciscoS.Feb 14, 2010
Very entertaining. Can´t wait to see the sequel.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BrandonM.Feb 14, 2010
Pretty good movie, although there are some differences from the books, I found it enjoyable.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KirstinS.Feb 21, 2010
Great movie.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
8
ShannonPMar 6, 2010
A wonderful movie filled with fun and HISTORY!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
SJKFeb 12, 2010
I think a lot of these critics have very little understanding of this movie, it has nothing to do with Harry Potter just because the director did Harry Potter as well doesn't mean you can use that to compare it (seriously!). I thought I think a lot of these critics have very little understanding of this movie, it has nothing to do with Harry Potter just because the director did Harry Potter as well doesn't mean you can use that to compare it (seriously!). I thought this was a good movie, not much like the book (I've given up expecting that) but they did a good job, it kept my attention and was humorous and exciting. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
7
GregM.Feb 12, 2010
The Movie Percy Jackson and the Olympians, based on the book by Rick Riordan, is a thrilling adventure of a young boy Percy, though not to much like the book, it deserves a light applause.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KirstinS.Feb 13, 2010
Great movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
CharlieH.Feb 13, 2010
The ''Lightning Thief'' is a surprisingly good movie. The special effects were phenomenal and I still don't know how the crew pulled them off. yet the book by Rick Riordon had more of an adventurous feeling to it. I The ''Lightning Thief'' is a surprisingly good movie. The special effects were phenomenal and I still don't know how the crew pulled them off. yet the book by Rick Riordon had more of an adventurous feeling to it. I expect the movies for the rest of the series will be even better. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JacobLFeb 14, 2010
When I first heard about this movie I was excited. Then I saw the changes and I got upset because the actors were 20 instead of 12 and so on. Then I saw the movie and let me tell you it's a good of example of how to make a book into a When I first heard about this movie I was excited. Then I saw the changes and I got upset because the actors were 20 instead of 12 and so on. Then I saw the movie and let me tell you it's a good of example of how to make a book into a movie. As far as pacing goes, Chris did a good job. He cut out what was necessary in order to keep the plot moving. In addition, they added in some cool little scenes that weren't in the book such as the battle between Luke and Percy. The movie isn't perfect though. There is a lack of canon. For instance, Grover doensn't set out to search for Pan, Luke isn't working for Kronos,and the movie doesn't expalin things such as why the gods accussed Percy. All and all The Lightning Theif is pretty good. I just wish that Chris Columbus waited on making the movie until the other books had come out and he knew where the series was headed. In short, if you like the book and have some tolerance you'll love the movie; but, if you're expecting an accurate retelling of the book; sorry but if you want that watch the first two Harry Potter films or something. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SHFeb 14, 2010
The movie was great!!! Jake Abel (the lightning thief) was awesome!! Fantastic actor- Jake Abel should be in more movies!! Cool effects! A must see!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
8
SofiaEFeb 15, 2010
Although the movie is different than the book, going into the movie with an open mind makes it a delight. I love the series by Rick Riordan and really enjoyed the movie. I'm very disappointed that it got a bad rating by the critics, but Although the movie is different than the book, going into the movie with an open mind makes it a delight. I love the series by Rick Riordan and really enjoyed the movie. I'm very disappointed that it got a bad rating by the critics, but I'm glad that the user rating is better. It might be a harder watch for more sensitive younger children because of the fighting and some concepts they may not understand, but that would only be for probably 6 and under. Otherwise, the movie is family friendly and I suggest that everyone go see it!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TreyH.Feb 20, 2010
This movie was great but could have more of the book in it.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
KyleAFeb 12, 2010
Decent CG for the first movie in what will hopefully continues as a series, quite enjoyable for young teens and fans of the books.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
10
CRFeb 12, 2010
PERCY JACKSON REVIEW: I saw it a 6:45pm et and although it went a little fast at the beginning, overall it was great. SPOILER ALERT: You will see an awesome fight with the minotaurs, Mr. Brunner will say he has a real horses ass, a good PERCY JACKSON REVIEW: I saw it a 6:45pm et and although it went a little fast at the beginning, overall it was great. SPOILER ALERT: You will see an awesome fight with the minotaurs, Mr. Brunner will say he has a real horses ass, a good fight with Medusa the Hydrant and a really good and hilarious scene at the Lotus Casino, plus a high-paced action fight with Luke. So overall, it was great and I gave the movie a 10/10 for hilarious scenes along with high-paced action and characters that were more relatable than Harry Potter's or The Twilight Saga's. So this is a MUST-SEE movie. I recommend seeing it in it's 1st weekend and then maybe go back, IDK, maybe 2, 3, maybe 108 times? Possibly, but again it is a MUST-SEE movie. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
8
IsaacV.Feb 14, 2010
This should have followed the book a little bit more but ultimately was a great movie i hope they make movies out of the other four books.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
7
ChadSFeb 15, 2010
Dyslexia puts a crimp in Percy Jackson's life at high school, but on a field trip to the museum, a minotaur attacks him, so the quest for Zeus' stolen lightning bolt begins before anybody gets the chance to make fun of his learning Dyslexia puts a crimp in Percy Jackson's life at high school, but on a field trip to the museum, a minotaur attacks him, so the quest for Zeus' stolen lightning bolt begins before anybody gets the chance to make fun of his learning disability. Percy(Logan Lerman) is a troubled kid, an alienated kid, who sits at the bottom of a pool for long stretches to escape his shortcomings. His best friend does him no favors socially; he's a cripple on crutches, and girls are nowhere to be seen near these two outcasts. Raised by a single parent, Percy is poor to boot, living in the apartment of her mother's abusive boyfriend. What's missing from the set-up, however, is some major conflict with the cooler kids to indicate his unpopularity among the student body. The seeming truncation of these expository scenes fail to establish Percy as an underdog that the moviegoer can truly root for, and care about. When Percy meets Annabeth(Alexandra Daddario) at the camp, the moment would have been more triumphant had some girl rebuffed his overtures in the real world. The moviegoer never bonds with Percy because the film seems in an awful rush for the dyslexic boy to learn about his unique pedigree. Due to the shoddy character development, the coming-of-age aspect of Percy's adventures gets overshadowed by the CGI effects and non-stop action. A little more time spent in the high school milieu would have made all the difference in the world, because "Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief", at times, is moderately exciting. (Uma Thurman as Medusa is great.) Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JoshSFeb 17, 2010
Although unfaithful to the source, Percy Jackson manages to ignite the screen with a fun and surprisingly clever piece of filmmaking. i really hope they are able to do the sequels, because I was shocked at how well it actually turned out.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
gdFeb 24, 2010
Although the script was at times weak, Logan made a great job acting as Percy Jackson. People say that this is "too close to Harry Potter", but it's really not. Harry Potter is about socery and Percy Jackson is about Greek mythology and Although the script was at times weak, Logan made a great job acting as Percy Jackson. People say that this is "too close to Harry Potter", but it's really not. Harry Potter is about socery and Percy Jackson is about Greek mythology and how it impacts us even today. Great movie, and loveable characters. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
7
R.LopezMar 11, 2010
For teenagers they all think that life is going to be simple and easy, some of them find out the hard way that is not so while others lazily go by doing what they do everyday. For High Schooler Percy Jackson this is so, Percy thinks his only For teenagers they all think that life is going to be simple and easy, some of them find out the hard way that is not so while others lazily go by doing what they do everyday. For High Schooler Percy Jackson this is so, Percy thinks his only purpose in life is to just survive High School, barely, while dealing with his slob of a step-father. Battling his troubles with dyslexia, ADHD and all the while trying to make his mother proud of him. For a teenager this is no easy feat especially when you Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
VedoDec 13, 2010
One of the better Greek-myth movie currently. Cris Columbus is planning to do sequals so that could explain why the book and movie aren't similar. Really good soundtrack.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
eragondragonApr 29, 2011
Thiswas a good movie. :) I love the part at the end where Gabe gets turned 2 stone. :) this is a good movie. My 2 next 2 Eragon.:) M e and my sister Julia love this movie.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
SachiOct 18, 2011
The movie is okay, the movie does not follow the book at all either. If you think the movie was good, go read the book and then tell me otherwise. The movie should have stuck to the plot of the book, yes the movie plot was decent but theThe movie is okay, the movie does not follow the book at all either. If you think the movie was good, go read the book and then tell me otherwise. The movie should have stuck to the plot of the book, yes the movie plot was decent but the book's plot is much much better, Percy Jackson is explored much more in the books while the movies only give him a shallow approach. The movie fails to address some VERY IMPORTANT aspects of not only the first Percy Jackson book but of the entire series. I give the acting and special effects credit, they were pretty good but the plot is just not up to par. Maybe if the movie followed the book the score would be higher but it doesn't. The writer of the books Rick Riordan must be shaking his head in dissagreement thinking "God, they really butchered my story". Overall, The movie is a dissapointment for fans of the books and if you haven't read the books the plot might seem good to you but those of us that read the books know that this movie does not follow the books and is NOTHING compared to the books. My suggestion: Those who haven't read the book looking for an entertainment fix should watch but those that have read the story don't watch it because you will be pretty upset over it. There are certain books adapted into movies that are mindblowing (like The Godfather) but then there are movies like this that only share the name and nothing else. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
jillmacintyreOct 27, 2011
Logan Lerman along with the ensemble cast had an amazing movie. Dissapointed that the movie didn't follow the book well, but the movie was GREAT regardless. Logan is simply an amazing actor, and portrayed Percy perfectly. One of my favoriteLogan Lerman along with the ensemble cast had an amazing movie. Dissapointed that the movie didn't follow the book well, but the movie was GREAT regardless. Logan is simply an amazing actor, and portrayed Percy perfectly. One of my favorite movies of all time without a doubt. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
vini1904Nov 1, 2011
With a terrible pace, unconvincing actors, Percy Jackson brings us one of the worst adaptations of a book purchases big screen, read the book who really can tell how bad the movie is.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
ZilcellApr 1, 2012
This isn't exactly a great start for the movie series, but it is generally good. The story is okay, but it seems like there are a lot of plot holes within it. The special effects are okay.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
eagleNov 18, 2011
I am a big fan of the Percy Jackson series. But what I found is that the movie isn't as interesting and as good as the books. Movies should give more fast pacing story plot and visual than books do. But I found the books are actually betterI am a big fan of the Percy Jackson series. But what I found is that the movie isn't as interesting and as good as the books. Movies should give more fast pacing story plot and visual than books do. But I found the books are actually better than the movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
YoshipieDec 4, 2011
Beautiful animation and scenery with decent acting. It should be a great family movie. However, I found that it was quite different from the book and it slightly resembles Harry Potter. But it is still quite a good movie to watch and burnBeautiful animation and scenery with decent acting. It should be a great family movie. However, I found that it was quite different from the book and it slightly resembles Harry Potter. But it is still quite a good movie to watch and burn some time with. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
mybestfirned789Mar 24, 2012
I just LOVE this movie and I really learned alot in this movie and I just really hope that they make another one (I really really want them to make another one!)
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
PlaystationguyMar 29, 2013
The story of the game follows the same exact plot as the book, so everything is still intact. The story is a well written story with believable voice acting and characters. I really liked the characters. They're full of personality andThe story of the game follows the same exact plot as the book, so everything is still intact. The story is a well written story with believable voice acting and characters. I really liked the characters. They're full of personality and hilarious. The special effects are some of the best I've ever seen in a movie. The movie tells the story from beginning to end well. The movie is a bit of a surprise. This is one of the best movies based on books I've ever seen. I hope to see more from this in the future Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
Tom_KurtzFeb 22, 2011
Well, it totally ruined the book, and not that the book is a masterpiece or something, but it was a very fun and cool book to read, and the movie pretty sucks. It seems like Chris Columbus tries to revive his Harry Potter success, like he'sWell, it totally ruined the book, and not that the book is a masterpiece or something, but it was a very fun and cool book to read, and the movie pretty sucks. It seems like Chris Columbus tries to revive his Harry Potter success, like he's regretting he haven't directed the rest (and better) Harry Potter films after the first and the second, whom he directed, and stayed enjoying its later success. First of all, Percy Jackson is not Harry Potter and never would be, furthermore, the Chris Columbus-directed Harry Potter films are the worst of the series. If the first Harry Potter film had any connection with the original book and succeeded bringing any of the book's magic on screen, than Percy Jackson failed. Chris Columbus changed the book plot a lot and made it seem like a cheap action-adventures-coming-of-age film, for the likes of teen heroes such as Edward Cullen. The cast is almost pathetic, instead of a 12-year old Percy Jackson, Columbus casted an 18-year old actor, a actor who couldn't fit the original character, he's just acting flat. Uma Thurman appears here in her worst role since Poison Ivy in Batman & Robin (which is one of the worst films ever), I think she should retire from this kind of roles, the wannabe-sexy villain ones, it's just don't work. Basically, the highlight of this movie is just a few nice jokes, most of them by Glover the satyr (who is an African-American in the film, in order to satisfy the politically-correct terms). I hope that there wouldn't be a sequel, and if Fox would ever decide to make another film I hope for best it would be a reboot and not a sequel, because Percy Jackson books indeed have a great potential to be a fantastic children-fantasy franchise, and not what Chris Columbus made it look like; it shouldn't be copied after Harry Potter's action-fantasy, and it shouldn't contain a coming-of-age drama, because the Percy Jackson books offers something different than this, which Chris Columbus may not realized. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
HalfwelshmanMar 25, 2012
Percy Jackson & The Lightning Thief is, for the most part, good family entertainment. It's pretty visually spectacular, and features some clever and funny deconstructions of Greek mythology. The film features a cast of young-and-upcomingPercy Jackson & The Lightning Thief is, for the most part, good family entertainment. It's pretty visually spectacular, and features some clever and funny deconstructions of Greek mythology. The film features a cast of young-and-upcoming actors Logan Lerman, Alexandra Daddario and Jake Abel as the half-human children of Olympian Gods, the ever-entertaining Brandon T. Jackson as a satyr guardian and a multi-national mix of film and TV veterans playing Gods, monsters and mortals, including Sean Bean, Kevin McKidd, Steve Coogan, Rosario Dawson, Pierce Brosnan, Uma Thurman, Catherine Keener and Joe Pantoliano. With such a wide-ranging cast, the quality of the performances is also rather inconsistent. The youngsters Lerman, Daddario, and particularly Abel and Jackson do their jobs admirably, and keep the story grounded and human in a highschool-drama sort of way (despite the fact it deals with myths, monsters and deities). Thurman makes a effectively creepy and fun Medusa and McKidd, Keener and Pantoliano are serviceable but under-used as Percy's God-dad Poseidon, his caring mother and slimy step-dad respectively. Concerning the rest of the acting "talent" the filmmakers have brought in, things are a little less solid - Bean coasts as Zeus, Coogan appears to be reprising one of his less successful, and less funny comic TV creations as Hades and Pierce Brosnan's performance as centaur trainer Chiron is over-acted and bordering on parody. The film's story is diverting, and has some creative and eye-popping set-pieces, but it won't stay in your memory for long. It's never boring, but never quite glues you to the screen either. In comparison with director Chris Columbus' other work, it's probably better than the first two Harry Potter films, but never reaches the heights of his two Home Alone films, at least in terms of pure entertainment. It has moments of beauty, moments of humour, moments of genuine drama, but not quite enough of any of them. In short, it's slightly better than average. Though it won't blow you away, Percy Jackson & The Lightning Thief makes for an ideal Saturday afternoon film, with a few good thrills and a cosy family-friendly moral to the whole thing. As with Harry Potter, the series needs a more talented director like Alfonso Cuaron to take the reigns in order to break free from mediocrity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
SoylentHolgerAug 3, 2013
Nice CGI effects. Begins promising but misses all potential of being a good movie faster than someone can say Poseidon. Absolutely foreseeable plot. Did I already mention the CGI? Yes? That is all to say about it. If nothing else is on tv orNice CGI effects. Begins promising but misses all potential of being a good movie faster than someone can say Poseidon. Absolutely foreseeable plot. Did I already mention the CGI? Yes? That is all to say about it. If nothing else is on tv or no other movie available, okay, see it, but otherwise a waste of time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Jboy2468Apr 9, 2012
A mediocre book series has been turned into a movie that is "fair enough". The actors don't resemble the characters at all, Percy is 5 years older than he is supposed to be, and the plot just doesn't fit with the series. Surprisingly, theA mediocre book series has been turned into a movie that is "fair enough". The actors don't resemble the characters at all, Percy is 5 years older than he is supposed to be, and the plot just doesn't fit with the series. Surprisingly, the movie is actually pretty good as a stand-alone. If you pretend the book series doesn't exist, this movie is one you'll enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
heyitsmegrif4Jan 2, 2012
It has great, charming and witty performances from its leads, backed up by its solid supporting cast and has cool special effects, but it doesn't follow the book which makes it look cliche and silly. I give this movie 29%.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
oxanaAug 24, 2014
Strong 3 stars.

I didn't dare to expect too many things from this movie, considering the target audience, but I was positively surprised. The story starts out strong: we get a good look at Percy Jackson's life; his mother lives with
Strong 3 stars.

I didn't dare to expect too many things from this movie, considering the target audience, but I was positively surprised.

The story starts out strong: we get a good look at Percy Jackson's life; his mother lives with looser of a man, and it comes as no shock that he is more at ease at the bottom of the pool than in a classroom - due to increasingly worsening dyslexia and a possibility of ADHD.

And then Percy's life changes entirely: his cripple friend isn't actually cripple, his substitude English teacher tosses him around, and the life Percy knew is obsolete.

During the first half of the movie, things manage to stay interesting. Percy is struggling with the truth and trying to adjust to his new task, but soon after that the movie falls into the same pitfalls as so many others before it: the awkward hero finds the HERO in him, and it's all off to a new, glorious adventure without fear or doubts - and with A minimum of mistakes. Almost like taking a pill and instantly becoming a capable warrior, only without the pill.

The cast was good, and Logan Lerman did well as Percy. Even Pierce Brosnan was quite good with his horse's ass. The only real disappointment was that Annabeth's character was quite unnecessary. She really didn't contribute that much to the story in general, other than being the pretty girl/heroine who is, naturally, more skilled than our clumsy hero (at least in the very beginning).

Also, the villain wasn't such a big surprise; they gave it away early in the movie, because why otherwise have a rather unimportant character suddenly help them without preamble or a real, valid reason?

Not a bad movie, even in the end. A little unsurprising, because we've seen this so many times before. Better than I dared to hope, though, and the special effects and music blended very nicely.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Chief98Feb 18, 2012
I was observing a 7th grade English class this quarter and they were reading The Lightening Thief and I decided to read it with them. I loved the book and read the entire series quickly. However, I am glad that they are not planning onI was observing a 7th grade English class this quarter and they were reading The Lightening Thief and I decided to read it with them. I loved the book and read the entire series quickly. However, I am glad that they are not planning on watching the move as a class because it is an abomination. Changing the storyline that far and entirely removing important characters makes this a serious disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FlutterPie93Mar 24, 2012
This movie is NOTHING like the book. The story has been completely changed - Grover has been changed from a funny, awkward, and lovable character to an annoying, unfunny, Jar Jar Binks-like "comic relief" character; Annabeth has been changedThis movie is NOTHING like the book. The story has been completely changed - Grover has been changed from a funny, awkward, and lovable character to an annoying, unfunny, Jar Jar Binks-like "comic relief" character; Annabeth has been changed from a kind yet strong girl to an obnoxious, generic character; Hades has become the main villain rather than Ares; and there is no comradery or connection between the characters... at all. The movie tries too hard to be funny, but the jokes are forced, unnecessary predictable, and all around unfunny. The book, on the other hand, is hilarious. On the technical side, the special effects are... not bad, but not very good either. But enough pointing out the movies nagging flaws. On the positive side, it has some pretty entertaining moments (Minotaur and Medusa, anyone?) and the acting was decent. All in all, though, I give this movie a 5/10. As far as movies go, it's watchable and I'm sure people who haven't read the book will enjoy it. However, if you HAVE read the book, this movie rent-worthy at best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
OfficialMar 8, 2014
I haven't read any of the Percy Jackson books, and I'm gonna say that this first film was a big disappointment. Yeah, I think I'm gonna stick with "Harry Potter" and "Lord of the Rings".
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
BartoApr 20, 2014
This movie is just terrible. Even if you don't consider the book, this is a dumb hero story that insults the viewer's intelligence. Event the famous actors performances are poor - but this is just because the plot and the dialogs areThis movie is just terrible. Even if you don't consider the book, this is a dumb hero story that insults the viewer's intelligence. Event the famous actors performances are poor - but this is just because the plot and the dialogs are incredibly poor.
Now if you take the book into account, things get much worse. Not only they have changed the plot, they took pieces of action parts and glued them together (not before also changing them). The personality of the characters are completely different from the book.
So basically, they took the name of the series, the names of the characters and some of the book background (Greek Gods exist and still have children with humans) and then made something that has absolutely nothing to do with it. The result is embarrassing.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
Chris Columbus, who directed the first two Harry Potter films so gracefully, has slipped bellow the bar here, draining all excitement and motivation from this mythological romp.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
survivorfan989Jun 5, 2013
I really enjoyed this second time around just as much as when I watched it the first time, and I can't help but still see the Harry Potter similarities and while it will never compare to that series it's still a great film. Lerman leads theI really enjoyed this second time around just as much as when I watched it the first time, and I can't help but still see the Harry Potter similarities and while it will never compare to that series it's still a great film. Lerman leads the way as Percy who is accused of stealing a lightning bolt. Its a little corny but definitely in a way that really works. The young cast definitely overshadows the older ones who make short appearances, but overall a solid film and I look forward to the sequel! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MarkMusicMar 21, 2013
Im a fan of the book series and now the movie (The only book I'd read is Percy Jackson (Not Harry Potter, Not Narnia, Not Twilight) only Percy Jackson). I for one though the acting, effects, and everything was better then Harry Potter,Im a fan of the book series and now the movie (The only book I'd read is Percy Jackson (Not Harry Potter, Not Narnia, Not Twilight) only Percy Jackson). I for one though the acting, effects, and everything was better then Harry Potter, Twilight, Narnia, Hunger Games. I liked Logan Lerman from his old TV show. However I do believe they took a little too much things out the movie I still liked it way more then all those other movies. I also like Narnia's series better then Harry Potters. Watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
RemJun 2, 2014
This film just oozes suck, there has been no other than film that blatantly makes Twilight look half decent. All the performances were half assed, and the logic in the movie is dumb. And that's unforgivable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JmsbppJul 9, 2013
el ladrón del rayo mantiene poco contenido bueno, es algo básico a lo cual destaco pocas cosas importantes............................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
savagejoe444May 28, 2013
For me, this movie is a "meh". They sort of changed the story the book had and gave it something else it isn't. My suggestion about this, read the the book instead, but you don't have to "not" see this movie. Its not that bad, but just wishFor me, this movie is a "meh". They sort of changed the story the book had and gave it something else it isn't. My suggestion about this, read the the book instead, but you don't have to "not" see this movie. Its not that bad, but just wish they sticked with original story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BrunoADJun 22, 2013
Percy Jackson is a fun family film but with little content.

A fantastic book with a good movie, Percy Jackson is not the new Harry Potter will not be the new fantastic series acclaimed by the public! The movie is good with fine
Percy Jackson is a fun family film but with little content.

A fantastic book with a good movie, Percy Jackson is not the new Harry Potter will not be the new fantastic series acclaimed by the public! The movie is good with fine performances, cool effects, but with a much lower content of the book, to take that many characters? To change to the script? For what? A film that deserves a 70 just for being fun.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
IKAEsAug 28, 2013
Good book, good film. It has some fails but the story and the effects are interesting. Really recomended for people that enjoy with mithology. Rick Riordan is a great writer, I recomend 100% to read his books.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
jeff_reviewsAug 14, 2013
Definitely not as true to the high and mighty spirits of its books, unlike those such as the "Harry Potter" film series, but despite this, the film has the loving nature from its characters, specifically Percy and Annabeth. Though the storyDefinitely not as true to the high and mighty spirits of its books, unlike those such as the "Harry Potter" film series, but despite this, the film has the loving nature from its characters, specifically Percy and Annabeth. Though the story has the obvious CG effects that feel fake to audiences, it still leaves a somewhat enjoyable aftereffect and will leave most audiences satisfied. Though definitely not as well crafted as the books or other film adaptations already out there, "Percy Jackson & the Olympians: Lightning Thief" works with its undeniably charming cast and the jam packed action scenes that both the books and this film were able to accomplish. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
johannationAug 7, 2013
I read all the books, and this movie is somewhat of a disgrace to the book. If you are going to make a movie from a story that came from a book, at least make it like the book. The only thing that was right was the Locust Hotel, and thatI read all the books, and this movie is somewhat of a disgrace to the book. If you are going to make a movie from a story that came from a book, at least make it like the book. The only thing that was right was the Locust Hotel, and that scene wasn't that great. Terrible acting. It could be a fan made film, with some extra CGI. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MovieGuysMar 9, 2014
The book isn't a bad read, but the movie falls way short of it. It's horribly plotted, horribly acted, and offers little redemption of any kind in the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
cag11Nov 24, 2013
I know movies adapted from books aren't usually going to meet expectations for some, but this was just ridiculous. It skipped out on so many things that made the book good. The acting wasn't all that great, which I have endured over theI know movies adapted from books aren't usually going to meet expectations for some, but this was just ridiculous. It skipped out on so many things that made the book good. The acting wasn't all that great, which I have endured over the course of years. It had no character development, and overall, a terrible movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FreedomFightersNov 23, 2016
I know what you're thinking when you see the poster and the previews for this film: "Harry Potter" ripoff. Doesn't help much that the film is directed by Chris Columbus, who directed the first two "Harry Potter" films (which were both great.I know what you're thinking when you see the poster and the previews for this film: "Harry Potter" ripoff. Doesn't help much that the film is directed by Chris Columbus, who directed the first two "Harry Potter" films (which were both great. For those that want my thoughts, I'm probably only gonna review the "Deathly Hallows" films, since those are the ones I remember the clearest. Sorry). Even despite the obvious connections to the Wizarding World, "The Lightning Thief" is a film that works overall: it's visually amazing, it's fun to watch, it's exciting, and it's considerably well-acted overall. It's not the best thing you'll ever watch, and fans of the book won't be too pleased by how much different it is from the book, but all in all, if you know what you're getting into, "The Lightning Thief" is an overall entertaining film that's worth a good watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MadCiticNov 13, 2013
this movie does not do the source material any justice i can't believe the director of harry potter did this travesty they gutted the book removing all the good stuff and replaced it with generic boring i would list all the things wrong withthis movie does not do the source material any justice i can't believe the director of harry potter did this travesty they gutted the book removing all the good stuff and replaced it with generic boring i would list all the things wrong with it but that would take to long the only things they really keep over from the book are the names, the bare bones basic plot of the story and that's it, a utter let down to any fan of the books as a stand alone movie it fairs better but not by much Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
cbeers2513Dec 27, 2013
I really want to like Percy Jackson. I really do. But not only is nothing that I enjoyed in the books in the movie, the film also is an embarrassment to the literary saga. The complex characters I remember have been replaced by bland, denseI really want to like Percy Jackson. I really do. But not only is nothing that I enjoyed in the books in the movie, the film also is an embarrassment to the literary saga. The complex characters I remember have been replaced by bland, dense fantasy archetypes. The acting, especially Lerman as the lead, is awful. Every character has been dumbed down and even Grover, who served as a major emotional support and friend to Percy, has been transformed into a typical comic relief who sprays one-liners and pop culture references without any thought or effort. Even the action sequences are marred by miserable CGI and the sheer lack of drama accompanying them. For a clear Harry Potter clone, it forgets to copy the drama and suspense that made the later Potter films so engaging. Instead, the viewer feels no concern for the characters as they are thrust into "perilous" situations. In the end, Percy Jackson feels wrong. Every scene, character dialogue, and CGI backdrop is a disgrace to the books that got teenage readers addicted to the fantasy genre and Greek mythology. It's just another child-pleasing action flick instead of an adaptation that fully conveys the ingenuity of its source material.

3.5/10

Follow me on twitter. @cbeers2513
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
junkdog8Jan 21, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. being a great lover of the books i can honestly say that watching this movie made me wish that i never started it. from the very first scene to the very last nothing but the extreme simplification of the story was there. there understanding of the story in the book seemed to be the lightning bolt was stolen you have to get it back. that was pretty much the only thing that they took from the book. the one thing that i just can't get over is the complete removal of ares from the story... i mean that is both integral to that story and to the entire rest of the series. it is beyond my understanding why the people who write these books don't understand what is necessary to keep the story intact. not to mention the whole unnecessary side quest to get the pearls. the fact is there was no legitimate reason for the careless disregard for a perfectly excellent story. overall i would advise that you not watch this atrocious piece of trash Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
lukechristianscMar 13, 2014
so far i read lighting theif book which is terrible . i percy jackson : saw sea of monsters movie which 100 % lot better then this movie . there's no good thing that happens in this film . it is a okay film but sea of monsters was better
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
TheSilentOneMar 12, 2014
what is this **** i am a huge fan of the books, and me and my brother used to fantasize about a movie that would be really awesome and it ruined my life. when i watched this movie, i was the most pumped i have ever been in my entire life. andwhat is this **** i am a huge fan of the books, and me and my brother used to fantasize about a movie that would be really awesome and it ruined my life. when i watched this movie, i was the most pumped i have ever been in my entire life. and then: What have i just witnessed, the death of my life? Probably. It's like you are a Percy Jackson pirate, and you find two chests, one is the movie, one is the book. You open the book chest and they're are diamonds and rubies, heaps of gold. Then you open the movie chest hoping to be even richer? and you find the chest full of **** and with a single piece of rough amber worth twenty dollars. I felt like the director didnt even read the book and here is why:
1. Where is Clarisse?
2. Where is Ares?
3. (not racist) why is Grover black?
4. They were given the pearls
5. They dont even go through the Underworld, they just ride Charon's ferry to Hades' fortress.
6. Annabeth is blond
7. All the characters are about twelve in the book, in the movie they are about sixteen.
8. The Lotus Hotel did not show make them high, it made them not want to leave.
9. Camp Half Blood is not in a forest, it is in a valley. The cabins are in a U shape and there isn't people fighting with swords all the time. It isn't a military camp, its a place fir Half-Bloods to live safely.
10. Percy stays at the river in capture the flag, he goes nowhere. Luke gets the flag and brings it across the lake.

I only want to list ten because this movie frustrated me a lot. i will never watch this again and i do not recommend it to you. Now the reason i rate this as one is because it would be a pretty good movie all on its own, that is not to say that i like it at all.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
PJAXMOVIESUCKMar 19, 2014
Do you know who never went to school? Whoever directed this movie. It sucks. Balls. They have no idea that a movie is supposed to at least follow the plot line more than 5% of the time. Who would have such a large brain tumor, be soDo you know who never went to school? Whoever directed this movie. It sucks. Balls. They have no idea that a movie is supposed to at least follow the plot line more than 5% of the time. Who would have such a large brain tumor, be so ridiculously, utterly retarded, have absolutely no intellect, and zero common sense? I feel sorry for them because they must be treated with condescension and pity by their "friends" which they earned by the money they illegitimately earned from unsuspecting fans of a book who wanted to see the movie. Seriously, NO ONE who has read the book would even remotely consider it above a -10/10. The only reason that I gave it a zero was that there was no lower option. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Meth-dudeApr 18, 2017
It was predictable, safe, cliché, some of the special effects weren't particularly good and most of the attempts at being funny fell flat and the movie felt a little rushed, but it was still enjoyable. The acting was generally good, the movieIt was predictable, safe, cliché, some of the special effects weren't particularly good and most of the attempts at being funny fell flat and the movie felt a little rushed, but it was still enjoyable. The acting was generally good, the movie was entertaining and interesting and it wasn't too long. It's not the greatest fantasy movie for kids, but it's not that bad either. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
diogomendesMay 31, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. How f*cking stupid. If I hadn't been obligated and forced to see this POS in my classroom, I might have turned it off the second Percy started fighting a Gargoyle-like creature and his longtime friend all the sudden gained donkey legs. -__-

Makes no sense and I don't care. 1/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
KaleBishopApr 25, 2014
My friend told me that I shouldn't compare this to a book because they are both different but if only it were differently titled I would've believed the story was different.
Before I watched the movie all I know is that Percy Jackson is the
My friend told me that I shouldn't compare this to a book because they are both different but if only it were differently titled I would've believed the story was different.
Before I watched the movie all I know is that Percy Jackson is the son of Poseidon. That's pretty much it. I didn't read the book yet... but once I did I found out that this book is completely different from the movie. I felt that whoever directed this movie was clearly stealing, pardon my french, the name of the book and changing the story almost entirely. But even before I read the book this movie wasn't really that thrilling to begin with. It's all flashy animations and the characters aren't even at their full performance. The plot really deserves a big box of corn because how it was executed was terrible.
Overall, movie does not deserve the name of Rick Riordan's book because of it's terrible execution of acting, scripting and independence from the book.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews