Persepolis

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 186 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 186

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. AndrewG
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    God, this film was funny.
  2. JakeH.
    May 24, 2008
    10
    Absolute brilliance... Best animated film ever in FRENCH!!!!
  3. Aug 19, 2010
    8
    Visually beautiful, especially with the use of the white and black, 'Persepolis' achieves what many animated films lately have lacked: to give us some actual knowledge about something happening in the world. As beautiful as 'Up' and 'Toy Story 3' may be, they do not teach us about the world things we haven't known before. 'Persepolis' gives us a tangible example of the diversity ofVisually beautiful, especially with the use of the white and black, 'Persepolis' achieves what many animated films lately have lacked: to give us some actual knowledge about something happening in the world. As beautiful as 'Up' and 'Toy Story 3' may be, they do not teach us about the world things we haven't known before. 'Persepolis' gives us a tangible example of the diversity of cultures, ways of thinking and acting and how someone may be found to be living in the wrong place.
    I do not believe that this is an anti-Iranian film, after all, one of the "takeaway points" of the film is to be proud of who you are - which the director/author clearly is, and she makes it a point of pride. However, politics in Iran are definitely under attack here - but why not? Just because it is an animated film does not mean it cannot contain messages: clearly, what was happening in Iran at the time of the Islamic Revolution was not right, irrelevant of whether one believes it is 'anti-Iranian' to think that way or not. And, I think, most importantly, it shows to world-audiences (and especially US audiences) that Iran has also people who are like themselves, just that one cannot express it openly, and that Iran used to be quite a "normal" place before the revolution - not unlike Europe or anywhere else in the 'developed' world.

    Definitely, it is a highly recommendable film for its artistry and its heart-wrenching story.
    Expand
  4. anonymous
    Aug 26, 2008
    0
    Yeah yippee, wave the flag of freedom because we love democracy so much, it
  5. SonyPictures
    Aug 7, 2008
    10
    Very good for the sexual content.
  6. ScottR.
    Mar 4, 2008
    7
    Over-rated!!! This is a slow movie with too much history lesson. The trailer was lots of fun, the actual movie must have dragged on nearly 2 hours. In that 2 hours, we got fun and pensive stuff about 30%-40% of the time. Slow, slow slow. Think of it as a French movie, then your expectations won't get in your way. Wow, once more, I say it is OVER-rated by the critics...
  7. AlP.
    Nov 7, 2008
    1
    If this were intended to be an overview of anti-Middle Eastern sentiment aimed at a 10 to 12-year old audience, I'd say it did a great job.
  8. JasonS.
    Jan 28, 2008
    1
    I don't know what the rest of you are smoking. This movie was about crappy people, living in crappy places, doing crappy things to each other. This movie doesn't tell us anything new about Iran or how it persecutes and stifles women. Gosh women have it rough in Iran...no duh. It adds no insight to their plight, nor does it raise any new awareness. I thought the main character I don't know what the rest of you are smoking. This movie was about crappy people, living in crappy places, doing crappy things to each other. This movie doesn't tell us anything new about Iran or how it persecutes and stifles women. Gosh women have it rough in Iran...no duh. It adds no insight to their plight, nor does it raise any new awareness. I thought the main character was a bad person, nothing to do with where she is from, or what religion she was, but just a crappy person as a whole. The true persecution in the film was acted out on the audience while watching this junk. Expand
  9. FannyP.
    Apr 21, 2008
    2
    She is soooooo annoying.
  10. [Anonymous]
    May 13, 2008
    0
    An aggravating story about an Iranian narcissist and drama queen. The animation is NOT that great but looks cheap, like old cold-war kiddie Soviet propaganda-NO JOKE. Politically correct pap that amazed me by being even worse than the source material. If you think that society should be run by socialist sociology professors, you'll like this movie. The people are a bunch of lower An aggravating story about an Iranian narcissist and drama queen. The animation is NOT that great but looks cheap, like old cold-war kiddie Soviet propaganda-NO JOKE. Politically correct pap that amazed me by being even worse than the source material. If you think that society should be run by socialist sociology professors, you'll like this movie. The people are a bunch of lower middle class twits, who seem to know nothing of reality. Their values could be purchased at any Wal-Mart, the Marxist ones as well. Ugh. Expand
  11. JadeB
    Feb 10, 2008
    8
    WOW really nice! Its a brilliant hour, but felt a bit thin as a hour an a half. While I was glad it wasn't all tied up into a neat little ending with a moral or some 'lesson' it did end leaving one with a feeling of... ie. it just kinda trailed off. That and it felt like a memoir of a 27 year-old.
  12. PaulC
    Feb 26, 2008
    6
    I think it's a bit over-rated. The story and pacing are uneven, and the plot just peters out at the end. I would've liked more on living in Iran and less about how the character felt alienated from the world. Seriously, what makes you so special?
  13. JuliaA.
    Feb 8, 2008
    9
    I watched this movie in Jakarta Film Festival,it was the opening movie and I could tell this has been a great opening for a movie fest. A more up-lifting mood of slightly noir humour, suavely told by honest storytelling way.
  14. JohnB.
    Apr 8, 2008
    10
    Persepolis is so full of ideas. It might not be groundbreaking in animation but there was a lot of creativity put into this. Of course, you can't help but get tied into the struggle of Marjame because we are shown such a realistic character. Marjame's interpretation of the world around her is put to the forefront instead of the political struggles in Iran. I would agree that it Persepolis is so full of ideas. It might not be groundbreaking in animation but there was a lot of creativity put into this. Of course, you can't help but get tied into the struggle of Marjame because we are shown such a realistic character. Marjame's interpretation of the world around her is put to the forefront instead of the political struggles in Iran. I would agree that it felt a bit like a series of diary entries but thankfully introspection is kept to a minimum and we are allowed to simply witness the events in her life more. It was a good mix between being on the outside looking in at Marjame's struggles and being on the inside looking out. The moral here is that no one when presented obstacles in life is perfect and there is nothing you can do to make things better. It may have been a typical coming of age story in some aspects but it was also this realization that no matter what, you can never truly identify with a world that can't really identify you. More likely, you will have to fabricate your own identity like Marjane had to. This is not one to miss. It couldn't have been better presented. Expand
  15. Daisy&Kazumi
    Oct 14, 2008
    10
    Incredible! The words Marjane says in the last scene moved my heart and brought tears to our eyes. A definite 10/10. All Must Watch!
  16. MaeB.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    This film captivated me from start to finish with its simple yet striking animation that manages to convey the horrific and the emotional so beautifully.
  17. SayantanD
    Dec 14, 2008
    10
    A wonderful film with dark sardonic humor, poetic animation dwelling into human relationships. LOVED IT.
  18. PerspicaciousCritic
    Apr 26, 2008
    8
    This film is worthy of a 10 out of 10 score. The only reason I am giving it 8 out of 10 is because it was dubbed in English and the American voices were distracting, grating and not fitting with the mainly Iranian characters. NY Times critic A.O. Scott said it best: "Sony Pictures Classics, which is releasing
  19. CM.
    Jun 29, 2008
    10
    Everyone should see this film.
  20. lancek.
    Jun 3, 2009
    6
    What seemed captivating and fresh in the first 40 minutes gradually wore out its welcome. After a while, we feel less sympathetic with the rather self-absorbed main character. The animation is very nice, and perhaps a new and interesting way to tell an elaborate and long historical story without having to go to the trouble and expense to re-enact it all. The graphic style is very What seemed captivating and fresh in the first 40 minutes gradually wore out its welcome. After a while, we feel less sympathetic with the rather self-absorbed main character. The animation is very nice, and perhaps a new and interesting way to tell an elaborate and long historical story without having to go to the trouble and expense to re-enact it all. The graphic style is very evocative of the psychological and cultural territiory in ways that modern 3D computer animation could not. Sadly, the material becomes quite split after awhile, partly personal issues of a pretty mixed up young girl, partly epic family tragedy in a warring country. They don't mix particularly well, and after a while I began to wonder why one or the other was not more emphasized, and why would I want to watch both at the same time? Oddly, the animation seemed more interesting and fitting to the war and historic segments, and a decent young women's movie could've been made in a conventional method. I would want to see the historical movie, and would've skipped the other. Expand
  21. SonaliP.
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    I came away with a lump in my throat, and some in the audience were sniffling audibly. This film is amazing. I'm honestly quite bewildered at the cool tone of some of the critics (and agree Lane is way off base for once). The combination of artistic and emotional artistry was quite something. Especially good to watch this narrative of coming into political consciousness at this I came away with a lump in my throat, and some in the audience were sniffling audibly. This film is amazing. I'm honestly quite bewildered at the cool tone of some of the critics (and agree Lane is way off base for once). The combination of artistic and emotional artistry was quite something. Especially good to watch this narrative of coming into political consciousness at this politicized moment in the U.S. Expand
  22. RyanW
    Jan 11, 2008
    10
    An amazing animated memoir showing what it's like growing up in tumultuous Iran. Some of the best 2-D animation I've seen since Disney was alive.
  23. SamS.
    Jan 27, 2008
    10
    This movie is a must-see. It is superb entertainment as well as a realistic, mini-history lesson.
  24. jimr.
    Feb 16, 2008
    7
    Seemed pretty boring to me. An easy history lesson, which is always good! I'm sure it was the best choice at the cineplex tonight.
  25. ChadS.
    Feb 16, 2008
    10
    If 2-D animation is dead, then "Persepolis" is a dead man's party. While "Shrek" gorges himself on Bambi and all his forest critter friends, filmmakers like Satoshi Kon("Paprika", "Tokyo Godfathers") and Sylvain Chomet("Les Triplettes de Belleville") continue to work in the cel tradition. "Persepolis", however, could be said to have precious little, if any, of "Steamboat If 2-D animation is dead, then "Persepolis" is a dead man's party. While "Shrek" gorges himself on Bambi and all his forest critter friends, filmmakers like Satoshi Kon("Paprika", "Tokyo Godfathers") and Sylvain Chomet("Les Triplettes de Belleville") continue to work in the cel tradition. "Persepolis", however, could be said to have precious little, if any, of "Steamboat Willie['s]" DNA. Like Jessica Yu's "In the Realms of the Unreal"(the 2004 documentary about outsider artist Henry Darger), "Persepolis" takes static imagery(in this case; the illustrations from a graphic novel, in the Yu film; Darger's paintings) and transforms them into a meditation on kinesics. The results are truly startling; Iran and France rendered in a phantasmagorical world of black and white. The intermittent use of color is used to differentiate the past from the present, but it's also a commentary on how Marjane's life in her homeland and adopted home covered the full breadth of experiences in both geographical instances. Don't readily assume that Marjane's life in Iran was all bad, and her move to France was all good; only our president sees things in terms of black and white. Our president, our country, in which "Persepolis" sneakily characterizes as being the devil, and the devil's lair. Marjane(voiced by Chiara Mastroianni) listens to Iron Maiden, a band from Sheffield, England that purportedly worships the devil(well, they did release an album entitled "The Number of the Beast"). In other words, Great Britian is in cahoots with the United States, or, "the devil", as we are known to our international neighbors. Expand
  26. SoorenA.
    Feb 6, 2008
    10
    Great movie, lots to learn from this story.
  27. NickA.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    'Persepolis', a wonderfully visualized gem, manages a multitude of on-screen miracles, though its most accomplished feat is interfusing frivolous humor with a remarkably distressing, yet equally inspirational coming-of-age story. Based on director Marjane Satrapi
  28. MaryamB.
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    Excellent movie containing the best plot, best animation, best content, and worth to see.
  29. JabezH.
    Jul 9, 2008
    10
    Amazing animation and moving story. An essential movie, best in a while. See it immediately.
  30. PennyL.
    Aug 17, 2008
    6
    I liked the animation; I found it charming. I found it hard to sympathize with the protagonist. She's quite irritating and shallow in my opinion, and though at times her story is dramatic and tragic, it's the events themselves that are fascinating, not her interpretation/experience of them. I also saw this dubbed in English and I don't recommend it. The voice acting is kind I liked the animation; I found it charming. I found it hard to sympathize with the protagonist. She's quite irritating and shallow in my opinion, and though at times her story is dramatic and tragic, it's the events themselves that are fascinating, not her interpretation/experience of them. I also saw this dubbed in English and I don't recommend it. The voice acting is kind of flat, even though some reputable actors were involved. A film that could have been fantastic. It just didn't come through for me. Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    100
    It's not to be missed in any language. In a year that has given us such marvelous animated movies as "Ratatouille" and "Paprika," this vibrant, sly and moving personal odyssey takes pride of place.
  2. 70
    There is no denying the boldness of Persepolis, both in design and in moral complaint, but there must surely be moments, in Marjane’s life as in ours, that cry out for cross-hatching and the grown-up grayness of doubt.
  3. Reviewed by: Lisa Nesselson
    90
    This autobiographical tour de force is completely accessible and art of a very high order.