User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 248 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 248
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KelvinL.
    Jul 17, 2005
    0
    Any episode of 24 is better than this! So boring, I wanted my money back!
  2. Starfox
    Aug 13, 2003
    0
    Unwatchable. This film is so beyond reality that in the first half hour I held my head in shame for anyone associated with it. First we get an incredibly overlong lecture about how everyone has a cell phone and phones will mean death for us all. Then the actual plot starts with all sorts of annoying split screens and rediculous PIP visuals. Keifer Sutherland gets on the phone, though he Unwatchable. This film is so beyond reality that in the first half hour I held my head in shame for anyone associated with it. First we get an incredibly overlong lecture about how everyone has a cell phone and phones will mean death for us all. Then the actual plot starts with all sorts of annoying split screens and rediculous PIP visuals. Keifer Sutherland gets on the phone, though he doesn't even sound like he's on a phone. It sounds like Colin Farrell is arguing with the film's narrator. It's all pretentious noise. And exactly where did all the hookers come from in the middle of the day on a busy New York street. I've been the that intersection many times and they aren't there. The film is painful and should be avoided. Expand
  3. EricB.
    Jul 21, 2003
    1
    This movie is excellent, for people who like watching boring crap about some guy in a phone booth talking to another guy that wants to kill him. When did movies get this bad?At least its short.
  4. Lodde
    Jul 12, 2003
    0
    Absolutely the worst movie I have ever seen in my entire life. This film is based on the most absurd, uncreative, and unexciting storyline, and leaves viewers with a highly unsatisfying ending. Colin Farrell tries his best to generate interest and sympathy for his flawed character, but after about 30 minutes of enduring him talking on the phone in the booth, you just want to see his Absolutely the worst movie I have ever seen in my entire life. This film is based on the most absurd, uncreative, and unexciting storyline, and leaves viewers with a highly unsatisfying ending. Colin Farrell tries his best to generate interest and sympathy for his flawed character, but after about 30 minutes of enduring him talking on the phone in the booth, you just want to see his demise. The action is non existent, you could put the suspense in a thimble, and although the cast has some decent talent, not one of them can save this movie from having my distinction of being the worst, and biggest waste of time of my life (and yours if you've seen, or plan to see this absolute atrocity). At 81 minutes, you're better off getting your colon cleansed, or perhaps having your eyeballs endure acupuncture with foot long needles then fixing them on the misery that is this movie. Expand
  5. Lodde
    Jul 12, 2003
    0
    Absolutely the worst movie I have ever seen in my entire life. This film is based on the most absurd, uncreative, and unexciting storyline, and leaves viewers with a highly unsatisfying ending. Colin Farrell tries his best to generate interest and sympathy for his flawed character, but after about 30 minutes of enduring him talking on the phone in the booth, you just want to see his Absolutely the worst movie I have ever seen in my entire life. This film is based on the most absurd, uncreative, and unexciting storyline, and leaves viewers with a highly unsatisfying ending. Colin Farrell tries his best to generate interest and sympathy for his flawed character, but after about 30 minutes of enduring him talking on the phone in the booth, you just want to see his demise. The action is non existent, you could put the suspense in a thimble, and although the cast has some decent talent, not one of them can save this movie from having my distinction of being the worst, and biggest waste of time of my life (and yours if you've seen, or plan to see this absolute atrocity). At 81 minutes, you're better off getting your colon cleansed, or perhaps having your eyeballs endure acupuncture with foot long needles then fixing them on the misery that is this movie. Expand
  6. Joe
    May 23, 2003
    2
    70 minutes in a phone booth is boring. Spending that time with Colin Farrell is hell.
  7. BillyB.
    May 11, 2003
    1
    Call Intercept. Sorry wrong number. Hang Up.
  8. Zach
    Apr 22, 2003
    0
    The fact that there are no remaining phone booths in any major city should tell you all you need to know about this ridiculous storyline. Whoever dreamed this up had the wrong number.
  9. Wendy
    Apr 20, 2003
    1
    This is a discombobulated hopeless mess that should have stayed on the shelf where it has been for nearly three years. Dial 911 and ask for a refund.
  10. CarolAnn
    Apr 18, 2003
    0
    Hang up and don't go. Wrong number.
  11. CinncinnC.
    Apr 8, 2003
    0
    Unadulterated Garbage!
  12. JackieS.
    Apr 7, 2003
    0
    This movie was sitting on the shelf for 2 1/2 years waiting for a dead period to release it. It only goes to show what happens when you wait with a bad movie for the right time to dump it on the unsuspecting public. If this were a hit do you think that they would have waited all this time? How much other crap is sitting just waiting for us suckers to come on in?
  13. HerbieT.
    Apr 6, 2003
    0
    Phone booth has the wrong number. Cheesy dopey movie. Refund.
  14. M.Sampson
    Apr 6, 2003
    0
    I cannot even give any points for this. There wasn't anything redeeming to this movie. From the start I am wondering why I am panned to outerspace in a movie called "Phone Booth" to horrible cheesy transitions. The narrator just really didn't have a place in the movie and this man seemed rational, but obviously screwy if he is wasting his time trying to be overjudgmental. Not I cannot even give any points for this. There wasn't anything redeeming to this movie. From the start I am wondering why I am panned to outerspace in a movie called "Phone Booth" to horrible cheesy transitions. The narrator just really didn't have a place in the movie and this man seemed rational, but obviously screwy if he is wasting his time trying to be overjudgmental. Not even being with a great girl made me enjoy this experience. I even liked Night at the Roxbury which should say something about how awful this was. Expand
  15. Don
    Apr 4, 2003
    3
    Seriously, do not even waste your time or money. Good initial idea, that just was executed horribly. And the ending....
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 35
  2. Negative: 4 out of 35
  1. 40
    At only 84 minutes, Phone Booth's brevity turns out to be its only saving grace.
  2. 58
    Schumacher's depictions of street life are cartoonishly ludicrous and riddled with cliches -- a pair of garish hookers, for instance, can't be excused simply because one is played with engaging vigor by Paula Jai Parker.
  3. The result is a movie that combines a seriousness of purpose with an impish delight in craft, in a way Hitchcock would have appreciated.