User Score
4.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 145 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 145
  2. Negative: 78 out of 145
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 1, 2012
    4
    As a 3D film, it's abysmal. Piranha 3DD was not shot in 3D to begin with, but is another of those post conversion hack jobs. It doesn't help matters that the little fishies are framed in tight close-ups--it's all foreground, when the format needs deep backgrounds; no depth, no 3D. The attacks are never scary, however, Piranha 3DD gets the job done when it goes for parody, especiallyAs a 3D film, it's abysmal. Piranha 3DD was not shot in 3D to begin with, but is another of those post conversion hack jobs. It doesn't help matters that the little fishies are framed in tight close-ups--it's all foreground, when the format needs deep backgrounds; no depth, no 3D. The attacks are never scary, however, Piranha 3DD gets the job done when it goes for parody, especially of Jaws. One of TV's most famous lifeguards makes an extended cameo, and a cast member of the original film gets a funny scene as well. Full review on my blog. Expand
  2. Sep 25, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is a bit bad, but I'm going to get a five because you spend a "good" while watching it. I thought I saw Piranha 3D holding pieces and put into this film (not confirm that they were). And the movie has a very bad temper, eg kill the child when I was a little weird. Expand
  3. Aug 26, 2012
    5
    PIRANHA 3DD does make fun viewing and is quite humorous (both intentionally and unintentionally), though the film is a total joke and quite disappointing. It's provides the same amount of nudity, but not much gore. The film isn't as artistic as the first as well, in fact, this one looks really, really cheap. It could have been MUCH, MUCH, MUCH better.
  4. Jun 8, 2012
    4
    You know, I really wanted to like this movie. I made excuses for its rather lame attempt at humor and the misuse of David Hasselhoff in an extended cameo by insisting that its source material isn't all that series either. I tried to overlook the ridiculous sex scene that was probably the film's bloodiest moment. But when the massive carnage finally comes it is so limp and most of the "OhYou know, I really wanted to like this movie. I made excuses for its rather lame attempt at humor and the misuse of David Hasselhoff in an extended cameo by insisting that its source material isn't all that series either. I tried to overlook the ridiculous sex scene that was probably the film's bloodiest moment. But when the massive carnage finally comes it is so limp and most of the "Oh My God" moments are reduced to hindsight reflections. Most of the kills occur so fast. The massive set piece (the water park) is stacked with possible gross out occurrences that never happen. Instead, we get a guy who is having his way with a pool drain. The cast is mostly wasted. What makes this even more of a let down is it has the same feisty-trashy stamp of awfulness that the two Feast sequels had. Yes, there is nothing wrong with mean-spirited but mean-spirited and humor don't really mesh well for me (personal taste). Expand
  5. Jul 28, 2012
    4
    I gave the first one a 6/10, which is a descent score for lame exploitation films like these. Well, unlike the first one, 3DD is a completely waste of time.
  6. Jan 31, 2013
    6
    Just when you thought it was safe to go back in the water park... The piranhas are back in another outrageous outing with even more blood and boobs than ever before! Those pesky pre-historic piranhas have found their way into a new lake, but unfortunately for the locals, the lake also serves as the source for the the new Big Wet water park! If you thought PIRANHA 3D was in poor taste, youJust when you thought it was safe to go back in the water park... The piranhas are back in another outrageous outing with even more blood and boobs than ever before! Those pesky pre-historic piranhas have found their way into a new lake, but unfortunately for the locals, the lake also serves as the source for the the new Big Wet water park! If you thought PIRANHA 3D was in poor taste, you ain't seen nuthin' yet! The creative team behind the cult-classic FEAST takes over in this direct-to-video sequel, and they have really nailed it this time. PIRANHA 3DD shoots way over the top with its crude humor and exploitative fun, throwing political-correctness to the wind along with plenty of limbs and bikini tops. Don't let the 'R' rating fool you... This film has more gratuitous nudity and violence than any Uncut DVD on the market. All contextualized, of course. Where PIRANHA 3D never struck an even balance between the humor and horror, director John Gulager and writers Patrick Melton and Marcus Dunstan keep the pace moving a mile a minute as they shock, entertain, and completely disgust along the way. If that weren't enough, PIRANHA 3DD unleashes the one-and-only David Hasselhoff in a brilliant self-parody for the final act. Any fans who may have been disappointed with the last PIRANHA can get ready for a stupid good time with PIRANHA 3DD! Expand
  7. Jun 19, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After watching the first Piranha 3D movie in the cinema and thinking how this is one of the goriest movies I have seen in a long time. So when I heard that the movie was getting a sequel, I was hoping that the movie would be a lot better than the first one.
    The movie starts of one year after the attack on Lake Victoria by prehistoric piranhas. The local council have decided to put in place an eradication programme of all life in the lake. This has left the town abandoned because of its only source of major income disappearing.
    However at a nearby lake, two farmers are searching the water to recover the body of a dead cow. The Piranhas have laid their eggs inside of the cow. The farmers are then attacked and killed by adult Piranhas
    The main character Maddy, a marine biology student, returns home for the summer to the waterpark that she co-owns. She finds to her horror that the other co-owner, her
    Expand
Metascore
24

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 9 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Justin Lowe
    Jun 2, 2012
    30
    As sequels go, Piranha 3DD has barely enough heft to squeeze out 83 minutes of ho-hum entertainment, although it faithfully delivers plenty of menacing fish and bouncing boobs, as amply advertised.
  2. Reviewed by: Kyle Anderson
    Jun 2, 2012
    33
    The best part of Piranha 3DD, the pointless sequel to the utterly unnecessary 2010 remake of Piranha, is the credits. Not only do they signify that the film is finally, mercifully over, but they also allow for David Hasselhoff to sing the theme song to a new fake TV series called The Fish Hunter, a clever meta-gag that nods both to Baywatch and the Hoff's international recording success.
  3. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Jun 1, 2012
    16
    For the much-cheaper-looking sequel, Piranha 3DD, director John Gulager mostly seems to be trying to see how much he can degrade the old "Jaws" formula and still have it interpreted as parody rather than apathy.