Focus Features | Release Date: November 13, 2009
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 91 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
55
Mixed:
21
Negative:
15
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
JonNov 13, 2009
I loved this film! One of my favourites of the year and the soundtrack is on my ipod. I can't understand the low reviews, I normally use metacritic for all reviews but think the collaborated reviewers have missed the mark here. Rhys I loved this film! One of my favourites of the year and the soundtrack is on my ipod. I can't understand the low reviews, I normally use metacritic for all reviews but think the collaborated reviewers have missed the mark here. Rhys Ivans delivers a stunning role and Bill Nighy is great. Well worth a view. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
phililqNov 30, 2009
I heard nothing about the movie but was there for pirate radio so of course I went. When the film started with my favorite group I was hooked. The ship is a stage with great actors, characters and non stop comical situations and lines.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
AnneL.Nov 13, 2009
A real romp plus great music.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JAYS.Nov 23, 2009
Lot of fun! Really enjoyed it..sometimes hokey, but...so what? Ahh, how I miss the days of Free Love! ( Sorry, Honey ). Great Music...going to purchase the cd when it's available.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
CatherineNov 29, 2009
I too am bewildered by the critics' snarkiness. A wonderful feel-good film with great music and a terrific cast. Left the theatre in a MUCH better mood than when I went in - what more can you ask?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
PhilHDec 29, 2009
Having been a teen in the 60s I remember the spirit of rebellion that was part of the music and culture of the time. I really don't care about whether or not the movie had sufficient plot or character development as some have Having been a teen in the 60s I remember the spirit of rebellion that was part of the music and culture of the time. I really don't care about whether or not the movie had sufficient plot or character development as some have criticized. I loved it, as did my wife and teenage son. I'll buy the DVD when it comes out. Purely enjoyable entertainment. Great characters and great music, but there I'm slightly prejudiced: I could have supplied 75% of that soundtrack from my CD collection. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
SusanWNov 14, 2009
Watching this film is like having good, fun sex. A tad uneven but with continually enjoyable, occasionally surprising, predictable in all the best ways, and an amazing afterglow.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
BenitoDNov 28, 2009
Very very fun. perfect soundtrack.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BillySNov 16, 2009
"Hey Hey, My My.. Rock and Roll will never die" Pirate Radio should have kept its original title because it really is The Boat That Rocked! One part Almost Famous, one part Love Actually and one part Slumdog Millionaire - Pirate Radio "Hey Hey, My My.. Rock and Roll will never die" Pirate Radio should have kept its original title because it really is The Boat That Rocked! One part Almost Famous, one part Love Actually and one part Slumdog Millionaire - Pirate Radio perfectly sums up the 60's even more than Taking Woodstock earlier this year, with an ensemble cast that are pitch perfect and the best, the Very Best rock soundtrack for a movie ever. If you love rock, you'll love this movie! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AnnieMNov 16, 2009
My husband (61) and I (50) had a blast - no rocket science here (and we both are quite familiar with rocket science), but it was fun night at the movies. We got more than we expected and the crowd (pretty much in our age range) laughed and My husband (61) and I (50) had a blast - no rocket science here (and we both are quite familiar with rocket science), but it was fun night at the movies. We got more than we expected and the crowd (pretty much in our age range) laughed and cheered at the end. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
BobKNov 17, 2009
Entertaining, with a few nice surprises.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CatherineHNov 19, 2009
Loved every minute of it. Cast was great. I wanted to party on the boat with them. Awesome soundtrack.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
Benkoko11Feb 23, 2017
This is a delightfully heartfelt and immensely uplifting flick. Like a catchy song, Pirate Radio is so effortlessly enjoyable you hope it never ends.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
neocriticDec 8, 2009
Check out a full movie review at: http://www.neocritic.com/?p=207 and give us you opinion too!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DaphneOct 18, 2010
Awesome music, great cast, excellent storyline, and loads of fun! I love this "Rock and Roll will never die" movie!! Own this movie as you will watch it over and over again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ggb_costaSep 20, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great movie, really enjoyed it ! Yes it could have been a better movie, the characters could have been more developed , however it is a great film. Very entertaining and funny. It also has a fantastic soundtrack. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KingmushOct 1, 2010
http://mashupmash.blogspot.com/2010/10/pirate-radio.html

I decided to review Pirate Radio after an RA in my dorm had a movie night last night and played this movie. I didn't go to it as I saw it a while back but it reminded me of it I
http://mashupmash.blogspot.com/2010/10/pirate-radio.html

I decided to review Pirate Radio after an RA in my dorm had a movie night last night and played this movie. I didn't go to it as I saw it a while back but it reminded me of it I guess. Well, in case you don't know Pirate Radio is pretty much about the radio censorship in Britain I guess in the 60s or 70s. It of course puts a comedic spin on it. For what it is I really liked this movie actually. Found it very hilarious, the music score was a great collection of classic rock songs and the overall story line wasn't too bad. Also I like the decade portrayed, which always helps. Based on my personal, sheer entertainment on this movie I rate it a 4.5 out of 5. And I must suggest it to anyone who likes the 60s, classic rock, british rock or music in general actually.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
WithnailOct 30, 2010
Excellent film!!! I usually don't give a 10, but a 9 is not enough for this one. Great story, awesome cast, Phillip Seymour Hoffman is great, as usual. Interesting how England didn't have Rock and Roll playing on the radio and these loversExcellent film!!! I usually don't give a 10, but a 9 is not enough for this one. Great story, awesome cast, Phillip Seymour Hoffman is great, as usual. Interesting how England didn't have Rock and Roll playing on the radio and these lovers of Rock and were rebels got the music out there and changed a whole country. The music is perfect, the comedy is so real, not over the top or stupid. I enjoyed the reaction of the English people who listened to the radio station, makes you want to dance and sing! I loved this film, and recommend this as a must see!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JonnyFendiJan 13, 2011
Tremendous Rock n Roll atmosphere I have ever seen since ALMOST FAMOUS (2000). It feels like break free all rules and doing what we always desire to do. The power of thiz movie is on its soundtracks, entire movie fills with great passion andTremendous Rock n Roll atmosphere I have ever seen since ALMOST FAMOUS (2000). It feels like break free all rules and doing what we always desire to do. The power of thiz movie is on its soundtracks, entire movie fills with great passion and vintage Rock n Roll music all around. In 1960, Rock n Roll music was limited to play. BBC played less than 45 minutes Rock and Pop music a day. But 25 million people (almost half of Britain) were listening silently to the Pirate Radio which its station in a boat anchored in North Sea. There are a lot of unique and powerful characters played by talented Casts. Personally for me, there are three important characters in thiz movie, fun and exhilarating Dave (Philip Seymour Hoffman), easy-going and free-minded boss Quentin (Bill Nighy) along with cool and charismatic Gavin (Rhys Ifans). The other Casts also deliver some fantastic performances, like: Kenneth Branagh, Tom Sturridge, Chris O Dowd and others, plus Guest Star performances by Gemma Arterton and Emma Thompson. Recently Branagh himself has known as Director for upcoming THOR (2011). The involvement of different characters in thiz movie is effective and succesfully balanced, which is one of the specialties of Richard Curtis as The Director. Although Curtis has just known in LOVE ACTUALLY (2003), his Writing Credits were superb like we had seen it on FOUR WEDDINGS AND A FUNERAL (1994), NOTTING HILL (1999), BRIDGET JONES DIARY (2001) and some MR. BEANS TV episodes (1990-1995). One of the best scenes on thiz movie (which is my favorite) is the scene when Carl (Tom Sturridge) saves his father, Bob (Ralph Brown) in sinking ship, beautiful underwater scene with Steven Cat song THE FATHER AND SON. The comedy, drama, and even the outfits and settings were astounding. It Is really described how that era was occurred, the time when Flower Generation and golden age of Rock n Roll music lived. If I knew there was so much fun in there in that period of time, I simply will go there and have some great time. Long Live Rock n Roll Music! Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JohnMcCartneyFeb 16, 2011
This movie is fun. Listen, no one should go in expecting some kind of brilliant masterpiece, its just a fun little tale with a great soundtrack and a lot of funny moments. It makes me long for the 60s (the time i am most familiar with withoutThis movie is fun. Listen, no one should go in expecting some kind of brilliant masterpiece, its just a fun little tale with a great soundtrack and a lot of funny moments. It makes me long for the 60s (the time i am most familiar with without having actually lived in it). Great cast too, PSH, Rhys Ifans, Bill Nighy, Rhys Darby (glad to see him getting more exposure) and without a doubt the clincher, Kenneth Brannagh, as the assassin set out to destroy radio rock. I laughed every single time he called upon **** (Jack Davenport) despite it being somewhat juvenile humor. The soundtrack is obviously phenomenal... HOWEVER

The soundtrack is also a bit inconsistent with history. Being a huge 60s/70s music buff, plenty of songs written and released after 1966 (the date of the film) were used. Songs like Jumpin Jack Flash or Elenore (The Turtles) were written and released in 1968. One scene refers to a new track by The Grateful Dead who didn't come out with their debut album till 1967. The complete absence of The Beatles (except for a little mention in the beginning) is a bit disconcerting, considering they were bigger than jesus at the time. But I accept the fact that there was probably not an awful lot of consideration put into the soundtrack. I mean, a sound track from the 60s is going to be good no matter what, but it seems like they just kind of threw in all kinds of random rock songs from any period of the 60s whether before or after the moment the movie takes place.

Overall though, it is enjoyable
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
avatar16Jun 4, 2012
Good Morning England, ou bien l'exemple type de la comédie anglaise qui met la pêche pendant pas loin de deux heures ! Bon, il faut dire que ce n'est pas à mourir de rire. Je dirai même queGood Morning England, ou bien l'exemple type de la comédie anglaise qui met la pêche pendant pas loin de deux heures ! Bon, il faut dire que ce n'est pas à mourir de rire. Je dirai même que je m'attendais à bien plus question humour. Mais fort heureusement, le film possède une ambiance rock de folie (avec ces chansons cultes), procurant à l'ensemble toute une sympathie qui attire sans mal le spectateur dans cet univers quelque peu loufoque. Avec en prime des situations cocasses (le scénario surfant en plus sur une histoire des radios pirates en Angleterre) et une galerie de personnages irrésistibles, joués par une rimbambelle d'excellents acteurs, américain (Philip Seymour Hoffman) et surtout britanniques (Tom Sturridge, Bill Nighy, Rhys Ifans, Nick Frost, Kenneth Branagh...). Bref, Good Morning England est bien sympathique ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
radio180Nov 29, 2017
This movie is a great example of what can happen with an exquisite cast of endearing characters who are given the freedom to add more than what is simply written on the page. Is it historically accurate? Not 100% for sure, are thereThis movie is a great example of what can happen with an exquisite cast of endearing characters who are given the freedom to add more than what is simply written on the page. Is it historically accurate? Not 100% for sure, are there continuity errors? Most definitely! Yet it is still a film that will grab you by the eyes, ears and the heart and will do right by all of them. Buy the movie and put it on whenever you need to feel better about yourself and the world you live in. I am not sure about you, but I think we need that now more than ever... Now "Get me to me microphone, I need to broadcast!" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews