Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: May 25, 2007
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 898 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
506
Mixed:
178
Negative:
214
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
DarkBeeApr 5, 2018
Stop the fire, we board! Dual graphics, overworked actors, one budget for two films. 2006 and 2007, respectively, was famous for the fact that two parts of the "Pirates of the Caribbean" came out at once. Against the backdrop of theStop the fire, we board! Dual graphics, overworked actors, one budget for two films. 2006 and 2007, respectively, was famous for the fact that two parts of the "Pirates of the Caribbean" came out at once. Against the backdrop of the popularity of the franchise, it was decided that in the aforementioned years several parts of the pirate theme will come out. 450 million dollars in order to shoot two quality pictures - the task is not from the lungs, right? Nowadays, this practice is often used, but in those days it was a rarity. The test of the pen - this is how you can call what Disney started. Gore Verbinsky, for whom "At World's End" was the final part in the series, tried to finish his five-year epic with the series that he loved the most. Having an impressive budget, Gore created the longest pirate picture in history. Thank you? Or "Well, why?". What do you want to say after watching "At World's End" ?. Of course, thanks! Captain Jack Sparrow left the world of the living. King of England, not intending to tolerate pirate society any more, and issued a decree on immediate capture and their death. A pirate company stands on the brink of destruction. Returned from the other world Captain Barbossa intends to convene the Council of the Brotherhood in order to avoid the complete disappearance of piracy in the world. But the council can not be convened without all nine barons. Jack Sparrow, who is one of them, must return to the realm of the living. Longtime friends of Jack, Elizabeth and William, also decide to help Hector in this not an easy matter. But is it worth it for pure intent? Does Barbossa really want the true return of the Sparrow, because it's so desirable, and Elizabeth and William missed their departed friend? The question is controversial, as is the adequacy of the Sparrow.
"At World's End" is the first film in which all nine pirate barons gather. The third part slowly but surely moved along the realities of our world - the intelligentsia got tired of living with those who allegedly poison their world. Everyone who has ever made contact with a pirated society is subject to hanging. And even the "Flying Dutchman", led by Captain Jones, a man who can be killed in only one way - to cut his heart, is forced to cooperate with the royal henchmen. A powerful century of piracy, striking people, both horror and joy, comes to an end.
Captain Jack Sparrow, whose personality had seen many adventures, is imprisoned in the cache of Davy Jones. Left alone with his beloved ("Black Pearl"), Jack tries in every way not to go insane. At the same time, the King began the century of extermination of pirates. After seeing epic and popkornovye scenes, Gore Verbinski (the director of the last part for him) continued to delight the audience with a quality action. The picture still looks delicious, and the actions of the characters are amusing, although sometimes they are cliched. Captain Sparrow, whose film character in the film develops in a characteristic way, again evolves. If in the last two parts Jack was formed from a "nihilist" to a man who is somehow important to others, then in the third part, Jack turns into a real person who is important to the lives of others.
And even past enemies who are hungry for the death of their enemies are not the most important thing in the film. The present enemies of the Sparrow are their own thoughts. The desire for immortality, the opportunity to "recoup" for past affairs with Jones - all this is so distracting to Jack that he is not able to think this day and rationally make the right decisions (however, as always). And the long-standing rivalry with Barbossa is a more friendly truce than enemy intent. It is worth remembering that the third part in the franchise is all the same part of the "Pirates of the Caribbean". The picture is still pleasantly entertaining, every banal and tupic moment, which you do not want to pay attention to, you miss. Comic Johnny Depp continues to delight in its abundance of jolly and pleasant jokes, while the other characters, both main and secondary, continue to confirm their acting skills. Jeffrey Rush is still serious and stern, Kevin McNally is a trusting nedotepa, and Lee Arenberg and Mackenzie Crook - are as much a sparrow as they are. The only thing that is not particularly pleasing is the lack of a full-fledged and painted antagonist. Attempts to make such Davy Jones were justified in the second part, but faded in the sequel. Verdict. Considering how weak the fourth part left - the departure of Hora Verbinski had its drop in the sea. The formula, thanks to which the last two parts of the pirates were successful - has operated up to now. However, the fact that the franchise needed changes was visible to the naked eye. But Verbinsky's departure from the post of director of the pirate saga - too bad decision, because of which the next part is very badly damaged.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheRussianatorApr 4, 2018
Not as disappointing as people describe it, Depp is still great, charismatic, and deceitful as Captain Jack Sparrow. The narrative is a little confusing for the first watch but nothing too bad. The visuals are once again stunning with an evenNot as disappointing as people describe it, Depp is still great, charismatic, and deceitful as Captain Jack Sparrow. The narrative is a little confusing for the first watch but nothing too bad. The visuals are once again stunning with an even bigger budget than the previous one. It's still popcorn entertainment and will be found amusing by those who don't look for too much character development or brilliantly written story but for a bunch of very well directed action sequences. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CTHReviewsMar 15, 2018
At times, At World's End gets a little too confusing, but rewatching it, it still is a fitting conclusion to the story at hand set up by the 2nd film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JPKMar 9, 2018
Not As Good As The First 2, But Still Great
It's Kinda Overlong, But There Is Still Tons Of Great Moments.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
FilipeNetoFeb 19, 2018
This movie ends the story told in "The Dead Man's Chest". The pirates, led by Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp), will have to travel to the other side of the world in order to seek an unlikely alliance to stop the ambitious Cutler Beckett (TomThis movie ends the story told in "The Dead Man's Chest". The pirates, led by Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp), will have to travel to the other side of the world in order to seek an unlikely alliance to stop the ambitious Cutler Beckett (Tom Hollander), who wants to use Davy Jones (Bill Nighy) to dominate the seas. Directed by Gore Verbinsky has screenplay by Ted Elliott and Terry Rossio, and other collaborators.

The release of this film was expected given the previous film need a conclusion. However, the film didn't bring anything surprising, nor could surprise a lot. The differentiating factor of the previous film was, clearly, how the central characters have changed throughout the film and the way the plot takes advantage of that to become more complex and interesting. In this case we have the closing of a cycle, not its development. Perhaps the biggest surprises are the return of Captain Barbossa (played by Geoffrey Rush), this time in the "good side", the unexpected importance that Naomie Harris's character will have at the end and the conclusion, a bit disappointing, of the love story between Will and Elizabeth. The moments of humor remained the main dish of Jhonnie Depp, but the film also has a certain dramatic tension than the previous two had not. At least not so as present and ravishing.

This film was designed to end the most popular pirate's saga that cinema has ever seen, but the demands of the film industry, eager to make more money with the public's wishes, will give rise to a fourth film. Dramatic, tense, interesting but far from being surprising or inventive, this movie deserves congratulations by the way that, supposedly, would have ended to that story.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SrPepeJan 5, 2018
Es una de mis películas favoritas, me encanto y lamento que la saga no terminará acá.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
wiiy71Dec 30, 2017
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
LightsideDec 9, 2017
Deserves an absolute zero for a mess of a plot, poor opening, boring dialogue, weird Jack Sparrow moments, too long of a movie and way too many characters. I'm slowly making my way through the whole five films and this one has to be the worstDeserves an absolute zero for a mess of a plot, poor opening, boring dialogue, weird Jack Sparrow moments, too long of a movie and way too many characters. I'm slowly making my way through the whole five films and this one has to be the worst so far. Special effects are great but too messy, over the top action scenes and overall a very dark movie. Still cringing at the Orlando and Keira acting scenes and weird love triangle going on. Sticking by the first Pirates movie as the best one by far. I hope Stranger Tides is better. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ijy101Jun 18, 2017
It's crazy, full of paradoxes and often makes little sense, but it's easily the most fun I've had with one of these. The first one is great, definitely a better movie, but I find this one to be more entertaining as a whole. I love the pirateIt's crazy, full of paradoxes and often makes little sense, but it's easily the most fun I've had with one of these. The first one is great, definitely a better movie, but I find this one to be more entertaining as a whole. I love the pirate mythology, of course it doesn't make sense, it's not meant to. With zany adventures like this it's a lot more fun to ignore the plotholes and enjoy the spectacle of ships battling in the middle of giant whirlpool and of course Johnny Depp being weird. I feel like this movie got Captain Jack the best, rather than just relying of the jokes, they let his natural acting talent and odd behavior do all the comedy for him. The scene with him in Davy Jones Locker is possibly the best scene with Jack yet, just because we get an interesting insight into his personal hell. All in all it's a stonking great action romp with epic pirate action this movie is more than adequate and it makes for a fantastic ending to the original trilogy of films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MonkiReviewsJun 18, 2017
The whole first half was hard to follow and at times, boring. The second half was amazing, full of story and action. The ending was better than the last one, and maybe even the first one. The characters shine at the ending, making it veryThe whole first half was hard to follow and at times, boring. The second half was amazing, full of story and action. The ending was better than the last one, and maybe even the first one. The characters shine at the ending, making it very enjoyable. It would be a higher score if the first half was better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SonicHD7May 31, 2017
Will Turner (Orlando Bloom) and Elizabeth Swann (Keira Knightley) join forces with Capt. Barbossa (Geoffrey Rush) to free Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp) from Davy Jones' locker. Meanwhile, the crew of the Flying Dutchman ghost ship wreaks havocWill Turner (Orlando Bloom) and Elizabeth Swann (Keira Knightley) join forces with Capt. Barbossa (Geoffrey Rush) to free Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp) from Davy Jones' locker. Meanwhile, the crew of the Flying Dutchman ghost ship wreaks havoc on the Seven Seas. The friends must navigate dangerous waters to confront Chinese pirate Sao Feng (Chow Yun-Fat) and, ultimately, they must choose sides in a battle wherein the pirate life hangs in the balance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
devo-ncOct 29, 2016
In essence has the fuel to gear up and take you on a highly engrossing and epic ride of a lifetime. However much of the venture's intriguing elements led the appeasement astray. The first 30 minutes and many sequences the rest of the way areIn essence has the fuel to gear up and take you on a highly engrossing and epic ride of a lifetime. However much of the venture's intriguing elements led the appeasement astray. The first 30 minutes and many sequences the rest of the way are the most masterful and tremendous moments we've ever seen in a Pirates movie. Unfortunately the breathtaking epic 'At World's End' bestows, it leaves you with a taste of hope among a junction of too much material to cover in one go. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
FuturedirectorMay 19, 2017
Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End may soar thanks to its impressive battle sequences, but a terribly dull storytelling and unoriginal interpretations ruin the conclusion and become this sequel the worst of the saga yet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
LinttaFlamingoMar 20, 2017
At World's End isn't exactly a simple movie, as it is almost three hours long and confusing as hell at some points, but there is still a lot of that thrilling action, humor and it looks gorgeous. For people who like pirates this is definitelyAt World's End isn't exactly a simple movie, as it is almost three hours long and confusing as hell at some points, but there is still a lot of that thrilling action, humor and it looks gorgeous. For people who like pirates this is definitely an enjoyable movie, but it can be very complex and overlong for others. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Aaron_WassermanJun 1, 2016
Many people say the downfall of Pirates started with the second film, but I really think it started here. I liked this movie when I was younger but now, it has few redeemable qualities.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
aadityamudharApr 18, 2016
A morose tone, messy narrative, and superfluous subplots make this a real disappointment. The summer season has definitely seen better films. A 6/10 from me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
AaronWasserman1Apr 11, 2016
Really disappointing, I really enjoyed the first Pirates of the Caribbean, and I even enjoyed Dead Man's Chest as much as the first, but this one was really lame. Good performances and occasional funny moments, this movie is overlong, dumb,Really disappointing, I really enjoyed the first Pirates of the Caribbean, and I even enjoyed Dead Man's Chest as much as the first, but this one was really lame. Good performances and occasional funny moments, this movie is overlong, dumb, and just plain boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MovieMasterEddyApr 4, 2016
The Pirates Of The Caribbean trilogy, which reaches its conclusion with the nearly three-hour At World's End. When presented with a treasury report, Groucho's Rufus T. Firefly, the newly appointed President of Freedonia, declares it so simpleThe Pirates Of The Caribbean trilogy, which reaches its conclusion with the nearly three-hour At World's End. When presented with a treasury report, Groucho's Rufus T. Firefly, the newly appointed President of Freedonia, declares it so simple that even a 4-year-old child could understand it. "Now run out and find me a 4-year-old child," he says. "I can't make head or tail of it." As a consequence of trying to turn a theme-park ride into a 463-minute trilogy, the Pirates movies are freighted by so much convoluted mythology and supernatural hoo-hah that perhaps only the very young can understand their dream logic. The last, longest, and most tedious of the bunch, At World's End sags under reams of exposition that not only fail to clarify the story, but take away from the slapstick tomfoolery that made the first film (and a couple of sequences in the second) escapist fun.

Picking up where the second entry, Dead Man's Chest, left off, the new film finds bland heroes Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightley teaming up with the once-dastardly Captain Barbossa (Geoffrey Rush) to find Johnny Depp's Jack Sparrow, who's trapped in Davy Jones' locker. Here's where things get confusing: Bloom and the gang must first go through Singapore to get a special navigational map from Chinese pirate Chow Yun-Fat, who's one of several pirate lords who must unite in order to secure pirate freedom in the Seven Seas. (There's also some business about a "Brethren Of The Coast," and the "nine pieces of eight," but let's not get ahead of ourselves.) Meanwhile, the East India Trading Company has possession of Davy Jones' beating heart and has brought Jones and his Flying Dutchman ship into its quest to eradicate pirate-kind. And then there's Sparrow, whose predicament has left him with several metaphysical manifestations.

The Pirates Of The Caribbean trilogy—and At World's End especially—stands as a lesson in the perils in blockbuster filmmaking: What started out as a fleet one-off swashbuckler with novel supernatural elements has become loaded and graceless, with each new entry barreling across the goal line like William "The Refrigerator" Perry. The franchise's two chief assets—the surprise of Depp's swishy pirate and Gore Verbinski's dexterity at directing slapstick action sequences—have been eclipsed by expository scenes that confuse even more deeply in their attempt to clear things up. Should the franchise warrant still another sequel, the dialogue might as well be in Esperanto.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
FilmBuff94Mar 31, 2016
Given it's origins as a theme park ride, it's apt that Disney's Pirates of the Caribbean trilogy has experienced a trajectory not unlike that of a rollercoaster: an initial high, followed by repeated plummets to nauseating lows. At World'sGiven it's origins as a theme park ride, it's apt that Disney's Pirates of the Caribbean trilogy has experienced a trajectory not unlike that of a rollercoaster: an initial high, followed by repeated plummets to nauseating lows. At World's End completes the story begun by last year's Dead Man's Chest, and features all the cacophonous action and paper-thin drama that helped sabotage its deflating predecessor. Aesthetically speaking, there's virtually nothing differentiating these films, as both boast Gore Verbinski's spatially incoherent battle scenes, Dolby-customized sonic bombast, and lavish special effects so lacking in fine detail that they're deliberately shrouded in murky darkness. Yo Ho Ugh, it's merely more of the same, and I do mean more; at a whopping 168 minutes, so much happens in At World's End that it's nigh impossible to keep up with all the various machinations and conflicting motivations crammed into Ted Elliott and Terry Rossio's script. Such overkill, however, is simply a tool of distraction aimed at diverting attention away from the fact that the film's existence is driven not by overarching narrative demands (there's barely enough substantive material to warrant even a 90-minute runtime), but by an insatiable corporate bottom line.

Previously on Pirates: Smash, bang, boom, and other loud, meaningless hijinks led fey rascal Captain Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp) to be imprisoned in Davy Jones's locker, and insipid lovebirds Will Turner (Orlando Bloom) and Elizabeth Swann (Keira Knightley) to team up with newly resurrected Captain Barbossa (Geoffrey Rush) to help rescue Jack so he, in turn, could aid their quest to defeat squid-faced Davy Jones (Bill Nighy) and his new master, East India Trading Company bigwig Lord Beckett (Tom Hollander). That mouthful of a synopsis pales in comparison to the one necessitated by At World's End, whose myriad convoluted storylines involve most principal characters making promises to their mates, then engineering duplicitous back-room arrangements with their enemies (to further their own selfish ends), and then coming around and doing the right thing in the end because, well, it makes for a happier, safer, less morally complicated ending. Countless cross-purposes are simultaneously at work and yet, throughout, amount to naught, with the resultant plot muddle—made up of thinly sketched characters who are chiefly defined by their relationship to each other, and whose issues are dealt with in bite-size portions to make room for distended combat sequences—stinking like a pile of discarded corpses.

The film's primary thread concerns the historic convening of the Brethren Court (made up of the nine pirate lords, two of whom are Sparrow and Barbossa), providing At World's End with an opportunity to indulge in outlandish stereotypes (among them: the screaming Japanese pirate queen, the stuffy French pirate fop, and Chow Yun-Fat sporting a Fu Manchu as Singapore's stilted English-spouting Captain Sao Feng). Crass, to be sure, but no less laughably objectionable than the script's underlying clash between British capitalism (“It's just good business,” is Cutler's be-all excuse for treachery) and pirate “honor,” a concept Verbinski and company don't even bother trying to explain. In essence, we're meant to root for Jack and his plundering cohorts purely because they're the funny and/or hot ones. It's a strategy that might have been more tenable were it not for Bloom's enervating blandness, Knightley's counterfeit badass posturing and Braveheart-ish “Freedom!” speech (as well as her comical ability to keep her tanned face smudge-free), and the unavoidable sense that what was once unique and inspired about Depp's Sparrow has, at this point, become calculated and dull, his prancing and lisping and flailing about emitting the odor of a stale routine.

Absent rhythm or even basic narrative uniformity, the film careens clumsily, occasionally hitting upon a quirky moment—such as Jack's hallucinatory escapades in Davy Jones's locker and in the Flying Dutchman's brig—but mainly propping up its watery scenarios with recycled imagery (including three shots of boats bursting out of the ocean), pedestrian swordfights, and a dreary cameo from Keith Richards as the elder Sparrow. From beating aortas and heart-shaped lockets to enchanted compasses and cipher-laden maps, talismanic crap abounds, yet because the film's mythology carries no weight, these trinkets' supposed momentous value is nil; they're just so much costume jewelry. Meanwhile, limp romantic dilemmas are reconciled during a climactic showdown in which two battleships chase each other around a whirlpool in some bizarre (and immensely tedious) version of Pirate NASCAR.

At World's End—a spectacle composed of intangible CG, superficial performances, and twists and turns that are vapidly resolved—it's clear that the statement also pertains to this empty vessel of a Hollywood blockbuster franchise.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FilmClubMar 27, 2016
The third voyage in the “Pirates” trilogy could be touted as “the biggest, loudest and second-best (or second-worst) ‘Pirates’ ever!” — not necessarily a ringing endorsement, but honest. “Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End” clocks in atThe third voyage in the “Pirates” trilogy could be touted as “the biggest, loudest and second-best (or second-worst) ‘Pirates’ ever!” — not necessarily a ringing endorsement, but honest. “Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End” clocks in at more than 2¾ hours, but, unlike last year’s bloated sequel, at least possesses some semblance of a destination, making it slightly more coherent — if no less numbing during the protracted finale. A bountiful opening is assured. The running time could diminish this swashbuckler’s staying power, but Disney would likely leap at “Pirates IV” in a heartbeat if the principals would enlist for another tour at sea.

In a sense, the two “Pirates” sequels feel less like movies than a shared event — much like a concert where the audience sits patiently through lesser known numbers to hear the band belt out favorite tunes. A similar phenomenon occurs during the arid stretches (and there are several) in this sprawling, messy adventure, to be endured until Johnny Depp does something flamboyantly amusing or a new face like Keith Richards or Chow Yun-fat graces the screen.

The notion of “Pirates” as, foremost, a consumer product came through loud and clear in the current Entertainment Weekly, in which director Gore Verbinski referred to the screwy process of shooting the second and much of the third movie simultaneously as “How Not to Make a Film 101.”

At one point, when a character asks of Depp’s loopy Capt. Jack Sparrow, “Do you think he plans it out or just makes it up as he goes along?,” it’s hard not to wonder if Verbinski and his writing collaborators, Ted Elliott and Terry Rossio, aren’t slipping in a sly comment about the film itself.

Whatever quaint underpinnings there were to the class-divided romance between Elizabeth Swann (Keira Knightley) and Will Turner (Orlando Bloom) have dissipated in the journey since the 2003 original, as their relationship goes through a series of fits, starts and betrayals — all in this movie alone.

Picking up where the second left off (though a refresher course wouldn’t hurt), the couple and Capt. Barbossa (Geoffrey Rush) begin in Singapore, where they and their pirate mates hope to liberate Jack from Davy Jones’ Locker, a surreal realm between purgatory and hell. A lengthy battle ensues before the too-long quest to find Jack leads to a colorful international assembly of pirates at Shipwreck City, with the East India Trading Co.’s hissable nobleman Cutler Beckett (Tom Hollander) in hot pursuit and a final showdown inevitable.

That questions of life and death are somewhat fungible here helps mitigate the high level of carnage, which includes a mass hanging sequence at the outset, as Beckett wages a reign of terror in seeking to bring the pirates to heel.

For the most part, those big themes and even the fundamental rules are easily obscured by the cacophony of relentless, state-of-the-art special effects and Hans Zimmer’s equally unremitting score, which at times overwhelms the dialogue. Indeed, repetitive action from multiple cannon-firing battles to ship-sucking vortexes yield diminishing returns; the pic’s greatest virtue is its sense of whimsy, whether that involves multiple Depps debating himself or the crew’s slapstick antics, which wring considerable mileage out of that monkey and parrot.

Depp’s fey, morally challenged buccaneer remains a kick and the pic’s biggest asset, whereas the now-butt-kicking Elizabeth and conflicted Will — however dreamy — have grown tiresome, especially when saddled with stirring, Errol Flynn-style “Avast, me hearties!” interludes.

In musing about the Land of the Dead, Barbossa suggests that getting there isn’t the tough part; “It’s getting back.” Given that producer Jerry Bruckheimer’s crew unlocked the secret to spinning riches out of a theme-park attraction, in this case getting there was no small feat. It’s returning there that has been something of a chore — a course “At World’s End” steadies but can’t entirely reverse.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
gameguardian21Mar 24, 2016
This is a huge improvement over its predecessor, and remains more understandable. It also brings back a great story, will keeping the pirate spirit still intact.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
EpicLadySpongeFeb 4, 2016
2007 tried to say sorry for releasing the worst movie ever in theaters with another Pirates movie that didn't even get to ARR us back. At World's End suffered with Dead Man's Chest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SEROJDec 21, 2015
The last part of the original trilogy will bring you epic battles, tons of fun, superb action and even more Jack Sparrow, literally! Without adding any spoilers - 8/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
raciocinioOct 21, 2015
I Don't understand 45% in Rotten Tomatoes and 50% here,i think that is a lower score,the movie have a brilliant script without doubt maybe better than second 65% in Rotten Tomatoes and 60% here i think that is formidable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DanBurritoSep 9, 2015
I have no clue why this is rated lower than "On stranger tides". This one is a fitting conclusion to Will and Elizibeth's story and the climax, while overlong is amazing. Also, I like how Barbossa is now a neutral character, because I thinkI have no clue why this is rated lower than "On stranger tides". This one is a fitting conclusion to Will and Elizibeth's story and the climax, while overlong is amazing. Also, I like how Barbossa is now a neutral character, because I think it adds something to his character. Very underrated and a good film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
YellowKirbySep 9, 2015
Seriously? A 50% Metascore? This is the second best in the franchise! A good story, an awesome villain, and one of the most epic climaxes in movie history! This is ******* brilliant!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
sicranoAug 7, 2015
So much beautiful and brilliant written somewhat 1 hour and 25 minutes of the film don't have action but compensate for the brilliant script Thank you Rossio &So much beautiful and brilliant written somewhat 1 hour and 25 minutes of the film don't have action but compensate for the brilliant script Thank you Rossio & Elliot........... and without doubt Thank you for the all cast Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Zanessa250QIJul 12, 2015
Subestimado peloSubestimado pelo tempo...........................................................................................................................................................................................................................168 minutos................................................ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
buttonscasperJul 8, 2015
The most dramatic and the one with the most action pirates 3 betters the 2 before it with new pirates and a amazing battle at the end which has you at the edge of your seat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LoRevisorApr 29, 2015
A terceira parte da saga Piratas Do Caribe daria um belo final na saga,mas ainda bem que não terminou por aqui,Geoffrey Rush retorna a seu ótimo papel e Johnny Depp retorna também ao filme,eles 2 são o ponto alto da saga,com incríveisA terceira parte da saga Piratas Do Caribe daria um belo final na saga,mas ainda bem que não terminou por aqui,Geoffrey Rush retorna a seu ótimo papel e Johnny Depp retorna também ao filme,eles 2 são o ponto alto da saga,com incríveis atuações,Contém cenas hilárias,é tenso e eficaz,Como nesse falta um pouco de ação (sem contar o final que é uma incrível cena de ação),ele compensa no excelente roteiro obrigado Ted Elliot e Terry Rossio e também Gore Verbinsky,E por último Johnny e Geoffrey. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MovieManiac83Apr 23, 2015
When it comes to the final hour, Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End, delivers the goods. The last 60 minutes offer adventure as rousing as anything provided in either of the previous installments, Pirates of the Caribbean: Curse of theWhen it comes to the final hour, Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End, delivers the goods. The last 60 minutes offer adventure as rousing as anything provided in either of the previous installments, Pirates of the Caribbean: Curse of the Black Pearl and Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest. Unfortunately, that doesn't account for the other 108 minutes of this gorged, self-indulgent, and uneven production. During the course of nearly two hours of exposition and setup, there's little in the way of charm or action. There are memorable moments, to be sure, but the overwhelming sense is that the film is desperately spinning its wheels trying to shock and awe with unexpected plot developments.

As an end to a trilogy, At World's End does its job, although with less flair and economy than one might hope. It resolves myriad subplots and gets the surviving characters to places where their stories can end or go on, as future sequels demand. Like the other two entries in the series, it's too long and needlessly convoluted. The movie is also more ponderous than the previous Pirates. The defining quality of Curse of the Black Pearl and Dead Man's Chest was a sense of breezy fun. This movie lacks the same feel. Perhaps it’s the weight of expectations and the need to top what went before. The thrilling final hour is almost enough to make one forget how much of a labor it is to trudge through the first two-thirds - almost, but not quite.

At World's End doesn't blend the humor and the derring-do as well as its predecessors. For the most part, the jokes are lazier and Cap'n Jack has lost some of his zing. Maybe it has something to do with his being killed at the end of the last movie. Geoffrey Rush's Barbossa is more restrained; the intimidation factor is gone. Maybe it has something to do with his being resurrected at the end of the last movie. The on-again/off-again love affair between Will and Elizabeth is on again (following her brief dalliance with Jack) and, while sparks don't fly, at least both characters evidence more pizzazz this time 'round. Meanwhile, Cap'n Jack finds his screen time leeched away to others. A late entrance and too may extraneous side-stories take the focus off our swishy hero, and that's not a good thing.

As far as the bad guys are concerned, they're not an intimidating bunch. Without his Kraken, Davy Jones is just another fishy looking CGI creature. As Cutler Beckett, Tom Hollander does a good job being nasty, but one never gets the impression that he'll be able to get the better of Jack. Defining other villains could be misleading since numerous characters changes sides, some more than once. At times, a scorecard is needed to figure who's on which team at any given time.

The need to make longer, more busy second sequels is an undesirable trend. By throwing so much into the mix, the filmmakers - including director Gore Verbinski, who has helmed all three pirate yarns - risk losing what attracted viewers in the first place. The initial Pirates was an unexpected hit. The need to do things bigger and more spectacular led to fissures in Dead Man's Chest. Those fissures have widened and deepened in At World's End.

Most Pirates aficionados won't complain (at least not too much). This is a chance to re-visit old friends and see where some of their stories end. It's a chance to sail with Cap'n Jack from death to life and meet his dad (played, as has been reported everywhere, by Keith Richards). The movie does enough things right that it won't leave scores of despondent fans in its wake. Unfortunately, it does enough things wrong to keep me from giving it a wholehearted recommendation. It could have been better, but it also could have been worse.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
homer4presidentMar 16, 2015
This was not a bad movie. It was not even close to a bad movie. The action was incredible, and Hans Zimmer created an incredible score. The last 30 minutes are great, if a little sad. However, every joke is taken from the first two movies.This was not a bad movie. It was not even close to a bad movie. The action was incredible, and Hans Zimmer created an incredible score. The last 30 minutes are great, if a little sad. However, every joke is taken from the first two movies. Johnny Depp's performance has now gotten completely old, despite being really good. The plot is ridiculously confusing and Keira Knightely has to do the same thing about four times. It's a shame because she's really hot. Good movie but definitely not as good as the first two. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
JohnMasterLFeb 27, 2015
La "ultima" parte de la "trilogía" de piratas del caribe es un poco decepcionante, pues a pesar de contar con una batalla final épica, la trama y el guion es confuso y a veces no se da a entender, el error: demasiados personajes, demasiadosLa "ultima" parte de la "trilogía" de piratas del caribe es un poco decepcionante, pues a pesar de contar con una batalla final épica, la trama y el guion es confuso y a veces no se da a entender, el error: demasiados personajes, demasiados villanos, demasiados héroes, es una montaña rusa de problemas que sube y baja y cambia y toca a todos los personajes, y al final no sabemos cual es la trama principal. Pero aun así es divertida y disfrutable de ver, aunque es una pena que el "final" sea así. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SmileATTJan 25, 2015
"Pirates of the caribbean : At World's End" was created for the same reason that is created "Dead Man's Chest" to be convenient to make another part .Very flat and simple movie in which all the characters are driven by selfish goals and im"Pirates of the caribbean : At World's End" was created for the same reason that is created "Dead Man's Chest" to be convenient to make another part .Very flat and simple movie in which all the characters are driven by selfish goals and im starting to think that movie is made only for childrens i mean they don't swear they die .... Yes it's an adventure movie but that's just too childish and in every serious moment they do dumb decisions but that's not a problem because it's a movie and we can fix it with bullsh*t .Someone die no problem we can resurrect him no problem the bad guy can't step on land no problem we bring a basin with water we have problem with someone we double cross him .And that's not all they totaly destroy the character of Elizabeth what now she is a hooker wich make out with everybody?The one good thing in the movie is that they still keep the funny and the entertaining mark of Pirates of Caribbean . Thank God they didn't ruin this you will laugh you ass for sure with this movie Johnny Depp is crazy as always and when the movie became too serious there is Orlando Bloom that will dramatizes the things for ... God i hate that actor . I think Gore Verbinski could put more effort and time and creat much better movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DBPirate1129Jan 11, 2015
The plot being confusing is simply a lie: At World's End is the best installment in the Pirates of the Caribbean franchise. Barbossa as a companion to Jack was a great idea and the epic final battle in the Maelstrom is stellar!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SythusRATINGSOct 18, 2014
In the follow-up to Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest, we find our heroes Will Turner (Bloom) and Eizabeth Swann (Knightley) allied with Captain Barbossa (Rush) in a desperate quest to free Captain Jack Sparrow (Depp) from hisIn the follow-up to Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest, we find our heroes Will Turner (Bloom) and Eizabeth Swann (Knightley) allied with Captain Barbossa (Rush) in a desperate quest to free Captain Jack Sparrow (Depp) from his mind-bending trap in Davy Jones Locker while the terrifying ghost ship, The Flying Dutchman and Davy Jones, under the control of the East India Trading Company, wreaks havoc across the seven seas. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
beingryanjudeAug 24, 2014
We continue to be roused... but, unfortunately, not positively enough. The best part is, perhaps, Keith Richards as father to our beloved Capt. Jack Sparrow. Guess they should've given him more screen time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
VidyaBumJun 11, 2014
It gets a 7 for being entirely entertaining for 1h12 minutes. At World's End's first plot, which is rescuing Jack Sparrow from Davy Jones' locker, is entirely entertaining. By itself.

The rest of the movie is a series of events that are
It gets a 7 for being entirely entertaining for 1h12 minutes. At World's End's first plot, which is rescuing Jack Sparrow from Davy Jones' locker, is entirely entertaining. By itself.

The rest of the movie is a series of events that are unfortunately disconnected and fail to be brought together into a clear narrative at any point.
I suppose I could try to explain the plot and ruin your mind, but I'm not feeling like making you lose the time: it's simply convoluted as possible, it tries to tie in the classic PotC pirate antics with betrayals and accords, the bumbling(if not dying) love story between Will Turner(Orlando Bloom) and Elizabeth Swann(Keira Knightley) and a...war against a fascist regime represented by the East India Company with the Pirates of the world being the rebels?

I'm not even sure if they proofread their plot, but it is essentially two movies in one, and in the second of these movies, they try to cram in far too many plot points and elements together in one go. The "good free Rebel Pirates VS Evil EIC Empire" being a particularly jarring one as pirates were never supposed to be heroes of justice, nor was the Navy the Stormtroopers or Beckett Darth Vader...

The acting never made me roll my eyes, except maybe get a little stupid when Orlando Bloom tries to act like he's in love, and the musical score and general cinematography is certainly interesting, but that does not justify the very poor pacing and seriously flawed plots of this movie.

Honestly if it had been me doing it, At World's End would've been rescuing Jack Sparrow only, which I would've stretched from 1h10 minutes to 2h10 minutes with more action and a more varied story, and a double cliffhanger at the end that William wants to save his dad and that the EIC wants to truly take over the world, Star Wars Empire style. And the rest of the current movie would've been the 4th movie.

What a mess. AWE still gets a seven for more than one hour of great entertainment, but for the rest, you have to take footnotes to understand the plot.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DrewtheDude85May 11, 2014
While it's most certainly not as good as the first two films, POTC: At World's End is still enjoyable which both it's action and it's humor of course, however this film may have been a bit "overdone" in my opinion. I mean this was one of theWhile it's most certainly not as good as the first two films, POTC: At World's End is still enjoyable which both it's action and it's humor of course, however this film may have been a bit "overdone" in my opinion. I mean this was one of the most, if not THE most expensive movie ever made costing a whopping $300 million to make! Not to mention both the story and drama are a bit on the edge, and not in a good way. This film is also pretty long, almost 3 hours long actually. So while this still was enjoyable and had it's moments, the crew for this movie should have just calmed down a bit while making this film, but I still can easily recommend this to fans of the film series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
AaronWasserman2May 5, 2014
This was well.....bad. I didnt think POTC could reach such lows. but they did. I guess that is what hppens when you milk the crap out of a franchise that shouldnt have gone on so long. 2 films would have been fine
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheApplegnomeFeb 6, 2014
It might not be one of the best Pirates of the Caribbean movies ever, but it's an highly entertaining and exiting movie with cool scenes that just are stunning.

Positive arguments: Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End got a great
It might not be one of the best Pirates of the Caribbean movies ever, but it's an highly entertaining and exiting movie with cool scenes that just are stunning.

Positive arguments:
Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End got a great story, and the movie itself is very well made, and sometimes I even got stunned on how great this movie is made. It also contains some spectacular things that I haven't seen in movies before, and from my point of view is that one of the most important thing in all movies. The film have a good beginning and ending, even thought the beginning could have had a higher tempo. The actors thought, couldn't have been more awesome as they are, and I'm still fascinated by Johnny Depp's weird acting, and I really enjoy him!

Negative arguments:
The first bad thing I noticed in this movie is the beginning, it didn't have an exiting start, and the movie overall felt a little lengthy at some places. Another bad thing is that sometimes the movie felt a little silly, and I'm really disappointed in the music in this movie, because it wasn't that thrilling in comparison of the first Pirates of the Caribbean movie. The tempo might have been a little higher because it felt a little lengthy a some places, but it also felt a little confusing sometimes.

Overall is this a spectacular movie, but it got some big mistakes, and it feels like that Disney is slowly loosing the touch of these movies. But I really recommend this movie for everyone, because it's a great movie!

Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End gets a 7/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
moonman1994Dec 23, 2013
Slightly better than it's predecessor but still nowhere near as good as the first film. Depp is still good in the lead but that's not enough to fully save the film. The main reason, in my opinion that this is better that Pirates 2 is thatSlightly better than it's predecessor but still nowhere near as good as the first film. Depp is still good in the lead but that's not enough to fully save the film. The main reason, in my opinion that this is better that Pirates 2 is that the new characters are more interesting and the action sequences are less drawn out and boring. All and all though it is upsetting that a film saga that started out with so much promise ended up like this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HaitakuDec 10, 2013
Whilst definitely not as good as The Curse of the Black Pearl, most movies never live up to their predecessors. The story may seem confusing, but pay attention and even a younger person could follow it. The action scenes (yes, very few, forWhilst definitely not as good as The Curse of the Black Pearl, most movies never live up to their predecessors. The story may seem confusing, but pay attention and even a younger person could follow it. The action scenes (yes, very few, for this was story driven) were amazing, and Johnny Depp brought his usual comedy to the board. 7/10 for the movie, and +1/10 for pirates. XD Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
I was waiting for the World to End.
The third installment of Pirates of the Caribbean starts again with the witty drunken pirate Jack Sparrow and ends again confused and baffled as usual. The script is dreadful, the film is boring, and the
I was waiting for the World to End.
The third installment of Pirates of the Caribbean starts again with the witty drunken pirate Jack Sparrow and ends again confused and baffled as usual. The script is dreadful, the film is boring, and the action is well, non existent.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
OfficialNov 5, 2013
"Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End" is the third movie in the series. The movie, at almost three hours, is far too overlong. The story is so densely-plotted that if you miss ten minutes of the movie, it will leave you totally confused."Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End" is the third movie in the series. The movie, at almost three hours, is far too overlong. The story is so densely-plotted that if you miss ten minutes of the movie, it will leave you totally confused. But the action is exhilarating, epic and hugely action-packed. This explains the $300 million budget used for the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FranzHcriticNov 2, 2013
I enjoyed the film more than its predecessor, which was over-melodramatic and monotonous. But the corny love stories are oddly tepid, and it results in the same monotonous sojourn it's predecessor gave. But Johnny Depp made up for everything
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
joao1198pedroOct 27, 2013
if the two first film of the pirates of the caribbean were nice this third one was an disapointment for a lot of people,now gore verbinski doesn't have nothing to do and he make this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Rox22Oct 8, 2013
An improvement on the second movie, but still not as good as the first one.

As usual, effect are top notch, story is far more interesting this time round, yet also feels like more of the same at the same time. Knightly has perhaps the
An improvement on the second movie, but still not as good as the first one.

As usual, effect are top notch, story is far more interesting this time round, yet also feels like more of the same at the same time.

Knightly has perhaps the most interesting character as she really has changed allot since the first movie. I really did like seeing that development. Bloom is boring and very hard to sympathize with, aside from the end where he does grow a little. Depp is just doing yet another fantastic Jack Sparrow.

Overall: At World's End was good. It had allot of flaws but most were forgivable. An Epic finish to this chapter of the PotC franchise.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysSep 19, 2013
The third installment to the series isn't as exciting as the first two, but it still packs the punch of the series and has enough action to keep you occupied. The dramatic scenes are caught in the throws of desperateness, and they seem likeThe third installment to the series isn't as exciting as the first two, but it still packs the punch of the series and has enough action to keep you occupied. The dramatic scenes are caught in the throws of desperateness, and they seem like action movie filler compared to the first two. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnnyStephensAug 30, 2013
The third and most thrilling chapter of the trilogy!!! I really enjoyed it and I am going to watch it for a 10th time today!! Do not miss it!! Enjoy Pirates of The Caribbean like never before!! Actually, all the four chapters of Pirates ofThe third and most thrilling chapter of the trilogy!!! I really enjoyed it and I am going to watch it for a 10th time today!! Do not miss it!! Enjoy Pirates of The Caribbean like never before!! Actually, all the four chapters of Pirates of The Caribbean are excellent! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JmsbppJul 29, 2013
Piratas del caribe en el fin del mundo es buena, con nuevas ideas buenas luchas y una excelente fotografia walt disney se ha motivado sin embargo no hay porque meterle una boda en una guerra en el barco ni mucho menos mas ridicules a JackPiratas del caribe en el fin del mundo es buena, con nuevas ideas buenas luchas y una excelente fotografia walt disney se ha motivado sin embargo no hay porque meterle una boda en una guerra en el barco ni mucho menos mas ridicules a Jack sparrow baja el nivel respecto lo que venia siendo Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DibbHansenJul 14, 2013
While it is a bit long, the film is still spectacular! I love the direction and fresh, new feel of this film. The music is new and fresh (but keeps the old as well- Hans Zimmer really does amazing for this one), the acting is awesomeWhile it is a bit long, the film is still spectacular! I love the direction and fresh, new feel of this film. The music is new and fresh (but keeps the old as well- Hans Zimmer really does amazing for this one), the acting is awesome (Johnny Depp once again does not disappoint), the script is witty and well written (expect for a certain love triangle would be my only criticism) and the visuals are epic. I personally loved this film and think it is a great entry into the fantastic Pirates series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Trev29Jul 6, 2013
It is a very long and quite complex movie, but still I enjoyed it. I just like the series and still thought it had all the great qualities of the first two. I suggest watching it twice before making a final judgement.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
GodotIsW8ing4UJul 3, 2013
Overall, an improvement over Dead Man's Chest. It suffers from somewhat excessive complexity and a rushed, "Return of the Jedi", "oh god we don't have time to wrap up all these loose ends, staple separate plots together and call it a day"Overall, an improvement over Dead Man's Chest. It suffers from somewhat excessive complexity and a rushed, "Return of the Jedi", "oh god we don't have time to wrap up all these loose ends, staple separate plots together and call it a day" kind of feel, but there's a constant sense that the movie is moving towards its conclusion, unlike Dead Man's Chest which seemed to just drift freely in whatever direction it felt like. The huge final battle is excellent, and the film's final third in general is its strongest, but it fails to live up to the first film, even if it beats out the second. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
StevenFJun 30, 2013
There is a lot going on in the third instalment of this hugely successful franchise, and the final one of the continuing story from the the second entry. While still not capturing or even replicating the original, but it is mountains betterThere is a lot going on in the third instalment of this hugely successful franchise, and the final one of the continuing story from the the second entry. While still not capturing or even replicating the original, but it is mountains better than the Dead Man's Chest, and while you can't really miss a single minute for fear completely losing your place in this often puzzling and densely populated film, it is still very long, much longer than it should have been.
There is a lot to keep up with but after the climax of the original film, a crew sets out to rescue Jack from Davy Jones Locker, a place of nothing, to be punished, as expanded cast member Tia Dalma (Naomi Harris) outlines. But also afoot is the attempt to call the Brethren court, a pirate organisation made of all pirate lords to bring about the end of the East India Trading Company's rain of terror across the seas, led by their new pet Davy Jones (Bill Nighy), whose heart is owned by said company, hence his actions.
Captain Jack, meanwhile, mentally rots away as he wonders exactly where he is and if the things going on around him are truly real, his comical and whimsical attitude is again excellently performed through Johnny Depp, his character has indeed stood the test of the three films, and he is the most enjoyable thing to look forward to in this.
With that thought, there is again a lot of pointless and time-consuming elements of the film that contribute little to the cause, and with the continuing mutiny and rebellious nature of both Elizabeth Swan and Will Turner make it difficult give any sort of sympathy towards them. Their heightening love story within the film is distracting and too much emphasis is placed upon it, deterring from the more enjoyable aspects.
It is Jack and the returning Geoffrey Rush as Captain Barbosa that truly maintain the flashes of greatness from the original, Jack and his long conversations with himself, or Barbosa and his typical pirate nature, mix that in with a plot that although complex, does give the incentive to watch over again.
As visuals go, this is a true spectacle in front of you, beautiful, marvellous and a delight to the eyes, the final battle in particular is breathtaking, ships, pirates and storms galore. Effects an marvels don't get much bigger than this, combined with an impressive score.
Not as captivating as the original, quite lengthy with many unnecessary moments and the same goes for characters, but certainly better than the second with an impressive finale, epic set pieces characters staying true to their roots and continuing powerful performances from Depp, Rush and Nighy, oh and a cameo from a particular Rolling Stone, make this quite a worthwhile and explosive third showing.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SwatiFeb 15, 2013
I think the character of the Singaporean pirate was underutilized. Elizabeth gaining influence was too lucky for me to be plausible. Beckett, however, hits the mark again. I expected more of Norrington after watching him develop in the courseI think the character of the Singaporean pirate was underutilized. Elizabeth gaining influence was too lucky for me to be plausible. Beckett, however, hits the mark again. I expected more of Norrington after watching him develop in the course of the previous film. The movie failed to pit the pirates against the navy after introducing us to the Brethren Court, which was disappointing. It was rarely fun and melodramatic. The ending was botched. I wouldn't mind an anticlimactic ending if it is done well. The movie as a whole was a lost opportunity in my view. They could have gone out in style. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
RikiegeJan 23, 2013
Bored and a little bad. The worst of the series.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
AlienSpaceBatsNov 18, 2012
A cacophony of swashbuckling tedium. Stodgy throughout and suffers because it's taking itself far too seriously, the worst culprit for me being Keira Knightley's dreadful overacting. Forgettable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
cameronmorewoodNov 9, 2012
Wow, the writers were really at a loss here. What we have here is a moneymaker without plot or purpose.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Jack101Sep 9, 2012
The first movie was exciting, the second was epic in special effects. This one had some cheesy down moments, and there great moments. But overall i think this movie was spectacular, and its a Best picture nomination in my book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MachoHombreSep 1, 2012
It's a hearty watch...once every 10 years and a bottle of rum down the hatch, that is. Yo-ho! Before watching, I might add, one should note that there's a giant black lady involved. Aye, there be uncharted waters ahead. Scallywags, be warned.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
jwt7000Aug 6, 2012
This movie had too many characters and too many boring scenes where it's not even close for a largest epic cast. Only the beginning and the last 45 minutes of the longest movie in the series are epic but this movie doesn't really needThis movie had too many characters and too many boring scenes where it's not even close for a largest epic cast. Only the beginning and the last 45 minutes of the longest movie in the series are epic but this movie doesn't really need redundant scenes and some parts of the story are just irreverent. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Critic2012Jun 11, 2012
The first film in the Pirates of the Caribbean franchise was great: Unfortunately, as the sequels were released, the whole thing went downhill from there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
T-rodneyApr 21, 2012
I like this movie,but the story wasn't really clear and it was too...too long.It had good humour,the action was great and I think this one is better than dead man's chest.So it's a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
LandFApr 19, 2012
A disappointing third film in the Pirates series. It suffers from all the problems of the first and second, and then some. Much of the appeal of the first two are gone, and what remains is a confusing, boring, and unfunny second sequel.A disappointing third film in the Pirates series. It suffers from all the problems of the first and second, and then some. Much of the appeal of the first two are gone, and what remains is a confusing, boring, and unfunny second sequel. Problems abound from everywhere, so I'll be working hard to narrow it down. For one, Johnny Depp's role as Jack Sparrow is once again shrunken into a smaller part. Also there is absolutely no action that is even vaguely interesting (after the first half hour). In fact, the last hour is at least 45 minutes action, and it's surprisingly dull. In fact, it's tedious. It's just people killing each other, and nothing interesting about it. There's no variety, no interesting atmosphere. Just swords clashing. There is a plot, which is more than what can be said for the second, but it's so confusing, with so many characters and sub plots and deceptions and people changing sides, that it's almost completely incomprehensible. Most of the characters are obnoxious, and though that was apparent in the first two, it is even more so now. There are too many flat gags, too many boring scenes, and too many characters for the film to flow well. There were times when I wondered what the purpose was for really anything going on during the movie. There are some good things though. The first half hour is strong, just like the first two flicks, but after that, the movie is drop dead boring. The score is another winner from composer Hanz Zimmer, albeit a tad familiar. The acting is dependable, and even admist a thousand bad jokes, there's at least a few laughs (or chuckles really). There is one bizzare scene where godess of the sea, Calypso is turned back into her original form. This scene is so weird, stupid, and nonsensical, it's hard not to burst out laughing (I most certainly did). Let's just say that she grows about 1,000 feet high, talks like she has really bad congestion, looks like she's constipated, and eventually explodes into a million crabs. It's even more ridiculous on screen. When the film closes, you will either be waiiting in great anticipation for the fourth (if you enjoyed it), or you'll be fast asleep or about ready to be (if you're me). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
csw12Mar 25, 2012
The 3rd installment is completly messed up. The movie is even longer and even more complicated. Nobody knows what is going on and the characters have become wood and phonny. Actions scenes are a bore and sorry Jack but even you can't saveThe 3rd installment is completly messed up. The movie is even longer and even more complicated. Nobody knows what is going on and the characters have become wood and phonny. Actions scenes are a bore and sorry Jack but even you can't save this completed mess that people call a movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
heyitsmegrif4Dec 30, 2011
Again the story gets emotionally well written at the heart of the movie, but it isn't very well told so the movie definitely suffers. Although it benefits from amazing performance, breathtaking visuals, clever humor which only makes sense ifAgain the story gets emotionally well written at the heart of the movie, but it isn't very well told so the movie definitely suffers. Although it benefits from amazing performance, breathtaking visuals, clever humor which only makes sense if you have seen the first two installments and a great ending well supposed to be ending for an unforgettable franchise. I give this movie 60%. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
6
Potter17Dec 11, 2011
"At World's End" script is clearly lacking some sense of purpose or direction. Director Gore Verbinski succeeds at sometimes overwhelming me with spectacular action sequences but he can't make the convoluted plot to take off. My positive"At World's End" script is clearly lacking some sense of purpose or direction. Director Gore Verbinski succeeds at sometimes overwhelming me with spectacular action sequences but he can't make the convoluted plot to take off. My positive score goes to Depp, Knightley and Rush who are awesome as always. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
asylumspadezNov 23, 2011
I sat through this film for nearly 3 hours and I hated it. The story was even worst then the previous film, The acting was terrible, and it ended terribly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
grandpajoe6191Sep 24, 2011
Man, the story is getting dumber...
11 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
8
julian_zizzleSep 13, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I liked the second movie pretty much but this one was not as good as first 2 movies. Surely it was pretty much fun and excitement during the whole movie, watching all that iconized characters brawl in an epic fight. But there is absolutely no meaning in some parts of the story. You will never guess what will happen if character x do one thing in a scene. Only the thing which the scripter wanted to happen happens, it doesn't have to make sense nor be logically accurate. Of course i never asked this movie to %100 realistic but sometimes even movie itself breaks its own rules. For example check some of main characters: Jack Sparrow, Will Turner and Captain Barbossa. All of these three have died at some point in these movies but actually always find a way to revive one dead guy. My advice is, if you want to bring all those dead people back to life, please don't do it three times. Even though i should say i enjoyed this one and whoever is to say he didn't is probably lying. So i give an 8 for this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ImUnavailableJul 1, 2011
It was never going to be easy to resolve the multiple story lines present at the end of Dead Man's Chest. At World's End makes this even more difficult by adding in a few extra story lines for good measure. The result is a jumbled film thatIt was never going to be easy to resolve the multiple story lines present at the end of Dead Man's Chest. At World's End makes this even more difficult by adding in a few extra story lines for good measure. The result is a jumbled film that tackles far too much, even with a particularly long running time. Because of the focus on tying up the loose ends of the story, not nearly enough time is dedicated to characters and important events. The main quest (to rescue Jack) is done and dusted in less than an hour and undermines the impact of the cliffhanger ending of DMC. Norrington, Chow Yun-Fat's Sao Feng and even the Kraken are all pushed to the side and play minor roles. This is disappointing as Norrington and the Kraken were of much greater importance to proceedings in DMC and Sao Feng was an interesting new edition. More troubling is the chance in the character of Will Turner who begins the movie as a sneering, almost villainous character but n the end returns to his usual self. This strange shift is clearly done for the benefit of the story but prompts the audience to dislike Will, a usually likable and morally upright character. The action scenes, though entertaining, drag on and quickly outstay their welcome. Though it wasn't terrible, I enjoyed the previous two films more; the first for its originality and the second for its dense but clear story. Both seem to be lacking in this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
NaughtyDogJun 12, 2011
Pirates of the Caribbean (1) was an amazing movie. Pirates of Caribbean (2) was an ok movie. Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End is a horrible movie. It's too long, the story is dull and even Jack Sparrow can't save this one.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
MovieLonely94Jun 11, 2011
This third installment continues the last adventure of Elizabeth Swann and Will Turner as they, along with the resurrected Barbossa, try to find Jack Sparrow, who got killed in the last movie and is now in the land of the dead. As the pirateThis third installment continues the last adventure of Elizabeth Swann and Will Turner as they, along with the resurrected Barbossa, try to find Jack Sparrow, who got killed in the last movie and is now in the land of the dead. As the pirate ships plan to release the goddess Calypso, Davy Jones's lover, the crew seek the help of Sao Feng and all of the pirate lords and must fight for their final stand against Beckett, Jones, Norrington, the Flying Dutchman and East India Trading Company while also finding Will Turner's father as well.

(sigh) What?! I only missed two of the sequels to a great movie? UGH! Oh, well. Now to get to my opinion. Like the previous movie, it's not as good as the first.

The dialogue was bad (again), The storytelling was rushed (again), and the storyline was very tiresome. That's it for the bad.

The good things are: The actors did very well at their performances, The CGI was even more cooler, The action was way more better, and the cinematography was a lot of fun.

Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End may not be one of the best movies of 2007, but like the second installment, it is also a worthy follow up to a great movie with strong performances and fond farewells to Orlando Bloom and Kiera Knightley.

7/10
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
wrldfilmMay 30, 2011
though the special effects are great, the series definitely loses steam with this movie and not even Johnny can keep it going. The writers seem to be running out of sudden plot twists to throw at us and it seems like the movie is a rollerthough the special effects are great, the series definitely loses steam with this movie and not even Johnny can keep it going. The writers seem to be running out of sudden plot twists to throw at us and it seems like the movie is a roller coaster, diving and swerving through several story lines that never clearly join but just continue on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
kronMay 28, 2011
This movie is the weakest of the pirates of the Caribbean franchise. The movie is even more complicated than the second one. They also add a lot of stuff,and a lot of things happen off screen. However it still a fun movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
coolevMay 18, 2011
Disney is truly mad for the many action scenes and sword fighting stuffed into this film. Thank goodness for that 'cause if it didn't this movie would probably never work. Why should I watch any of these movies? Four of the Pirates filmsDisney is truly mad for the many action scenes and sword fighting stuffed into this film. Thank goodness for that 'cause if it didn't this movie would probably never work. Why should I watch any of these movies? Four of the Pirates films tried to bore me in the past - one of them succeed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gm101Mar 15, 2011
Great ending to a great trilogy. I was really glad they got Jack Sparrow back, since he is my favorite character. Now I can't wait to see what's in store for Jack in the upcoming "On Stranger Tides."
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
seiferJan 12, 2011
Stunning, absolutely stunning in all ways... UN-describable awesome story and incredible swash-buckling action and it's just... Brilliant and.... WOW
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
8
ERG1008Aug 24, 2010
Third in the Pirates of the Caribbean series.
It's big, it's spectacular, it's over the top & overall very much good fun.
Great cameo (I won't give it away) & Johnny Depp, the excellent Geoffrey Rush & Bill Nighy all ham it up superbly.
Third in the Pirates of the Caribbean series.
It's big, it's spectacular, it's over the top & overall very much good fun.
Great cameo (I won't give it away) & Johnny Depp, the excellent Geoffrey Rush & Bill Nighy all ham it up superbly.
Easily as good as the other two & certainly as dark if not darker in places.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
GoldenEye16Aug 22, 2010
Again, what I said about Dead Man's Chest except even more so here. Too long, entertaining and adventurous, but unnecessary and confusing. It was decent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JessicaW.Feb 9, 2008
Lacked the much loved characteristics of the characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LauraW.Feb 4, 2008
Absolutely amazing! I watched it 5 times in two days! I think that that Hans Zimmer is a rival to Mozart and Keira, Johnny and Orlando are definitely at their best in this movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StacyK.Feb 3, 2008
I loved this movie! I dont think it was better than the second one, but it was definatly good. I follow these movies prety good! My fav. character is Will Turner!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
matrix1004Jan 21, 2008
Dear Pirates 3, I HATE YOU, I HATE YOU, I HATE YOU. You suck & are terrible. You are so bad, in fact, that you almost make Pirates 2 look like Pirates 1. And that is saying a lot! How could something so great (Pirates 1) turn into this and Dear Pirates 3, I HATE YOU, I HATE YOU, I HATE YOU. You suck & are terrible. You are so bad, in fact, that you almost make Pirates 2 look like Pirates 1. And that is saying a lot! How could something so great (Pirates 1) turn into this and get so progressively worse? I hope you enjoy the company at the top of my Worst/Most Hated Movies Ever list. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AncplAEHHcJan 18, 2008
The crabs were pushing sparrow's boat since he was in davy jones' locker and he was going insane. and by the way, this movie was awesome
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrandonSJan 12, 2008
I went in with low expectations after reading so many bad reviews - But this movie was really fantastic. Not as good as the first, which is a true classic, but much, much better than the second. Whereas the second film was a meandering mess I went in with low expectations after reading so many bad reviews - But this movie was really fantastic. Not as good as the first, which is a true classic, but much, much better than the second. Whereas the second film was a meandering mess with no point, this was a grand, twisting and turning adventure - with a purpose. Though overlong, it nevertheless had great action sequences, humor, plot twists, and characters that make sense - because they act with devoted self-interest. A truly satisfying epic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
fredbobDec 29, 2007
Did not live up to the first two at all. I loved the first films.. but his one .... i really did not like. Hope they make another one and save the series!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mayasDec 29, 2007
No movie could ever compare to the first POTC movie. I agree the last to movies were long and hard to follow. I still enjoyed them though. The third was much better than the second. Unfortunately you really have to think hard and catch No movie could ever compare to the first POTC movie. I agree the last to movies were long and hard to follow. I still enjoyed them though. The third was much better than the second. Unfortunately you really have to think hard and catch everything to make sense of these sequels. But with enough thought the movies are overall clever. Yes a little far fetched but good. If they make a forth I will go and see it. Oh and for you people saying bad things about Johnny Depp, without him these movies would have been pointless. He is awesome. And Knightley is a talented young actress. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
johnjohnDec 26, 2007
Worst movie with NO story that can be followed by any reasonable person.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PeterJ.Dec 26, 2007
Ok, all of you reviewers are wrong. It is not an 8, 9, or a 10. Neither is it a 0, 1, 2, or 3. It was an average movie which is very disappointing compared to the previous installments. A 5 is exactly where this movie should be, but I give Ok, all of you reviewers are wrong. It is not an 8, 9, or a 10. Neither is it a 0, 1, 2, or 3. It was an average movie which is very disappointing compared to the previous installments. A 5 is exactly where this movie should be, but I give it an extra point for Depps character. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RaulL.Dec 22, 2007
One of the best movies i've sees
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
aqual.Dec 19, 2007
A very great ending...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
wtfisthisDec 18, 2007
I cannot described how bad this movie is. Absolute garbage. The first one made was good. The 2nd and this 3rd one however is ridiculous. It has no real new plot...rather it's just a continuation of the 2nd one. It gets incredibly boring I cannot described how bad this movie is. Absolute garbage. The first one made was good. The 2nd and this 3rd one however is ridiculous. It has no real new plot...rather it's just a continuation of the 2nd one. It gets incredibly boring and stale and is way too long. I forced myself to watch the entire movie hoping for some redeeming moments but no, it was garbage the whole way through. Keira Knightley is a horrid actress (looks horrid too) and her role in this movie is stupid. What you see in this movie isn't new...you'd have seen it all before in the first 2. That said, the fighting is all the same. You'd think people would learn that when trilogies are made, 90% of the time each movie is worse than the one before it and this is the case with the Pirates of the Caribbean trilogy. The fact that this one was made literally at the same time as the 2nd one definitely shows. Don't know why anyone would go out and buy this on DVD....save your money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DustinM.Dec 12, 2007
Three hours of failure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ArielGDec 12, 2007
Watching the latest installment of Pirates of The Caribbean, I was reminded of the Godfather movies, where the first two were excellent, but the third one was a jumbled mess that shouldn't have been made. It still has the humour and Watching the latest installment of Pirates of The Caribbean, I was reminded of the Godfather movies, where the first two were excellent, but the third one was a jumbled mess that shouldn't have been made. It still has the humour and special effects that the first two POTC movies had, but it was severely lacking a decent story, was unnecessarily overdrawn. Johnny Depp was great (as always!) and the only redeeming quality to this movie. His great acting and off-beat humour made it bearable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelT.Dec 11, 2007
Cap'n Jack just remains Johnny Depp's best performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EthanR.Dec 9, 2007
I really don't understand...did any of the creators of this movie actually watch the movie...its dreadful! i rented it and only got 1 quarter through the movie!! where did the coins come from? and if they're so important why does a I really don't understand...did any of the creators of this movie actually watch the movie...its dreadful! i rented it and only got 1 quarter through the movie!! where did the coins come from? and if they're so important why does a little criminal kid have one? why were crab rocks pushing jack sparrows boat through a land of sand? I JUST DON'T UNDERSTAND! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RobbyT.Dec 7, 2007
Depp and Rush seem to be the only ones to realize what kind of movie they're really in: a $300 million third installment of a franchise based on a ride at Disney World. Chow-Yun Fat's character is completely useless and Depp and Rush seem to be the only ones to realize what kind of movie they're really in: a $300 million third installment of a franchise based on a ride at Disney World. Chow-Yun Fat's character is completely useless and Knightley's performance is absurd. Everytime she yelled, "FIRE!" I almost laughed out loud. Overall it is better than the treading water of Dead Man's Chest, but that isn't saying much. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful
9
JohnA.Nov 23, 2007
A lot, lot, lot better than the critics would lead us to assume. Not quite as gripping as Pirates 1 but still worth a 9
0 of 0 users found this helpful