Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 758 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Johnny Depp, Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightley reunite this epic tale chronicling the further mis-adventures of Captain Jack Sparrow. (Buena Vista Pictures)

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 37
  2. Negative: 4 out of 37
  1. 75
    Lively is an odd word for something called Dead Man's Chest, but lively it is. You won't find hotter action, wilder thrills or loopier laughs this summer.
  2. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    75
    It does deliver a combustible combination of ingredients for a summer blockbuster: a cornucopia of action and dazzling effects, some raucous humor and a large dose of Depp's winning charm.
  3. Verbinski, Depp and company just want to make it the best ride you've had all summer. If that's all you demand of a frothy summer blockbuster, then this delivers the goods.
  4. 60
    Johnny Depp and Keira Knightley manage to sparkle, but this overstuffed sequel is no treasure.
  5. Intermittently fun and high-spirited, Dead Man's Chest sags under the weight of its own running time.
  6. 50
    The worst kind of sequel -- the kind that exists only to give you more-more-more of what you liked the first time around, without ever justifying its own existence. This lavish, superbly designed film goes on for an exhausting 2½ hours.
  7. More than the usual bad or even numbingly horrible movie. It's an amalgam of many of the modern cinema's worst tendencies and modern filmmaking's most unfortunate misconceptions.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 87 out of 339
  1. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Awesome second chapter to the series. I gotta say, ILM really tricked me with Davy Jones, because I had no idea his face was actually computerAwesome second chapter to the series. I gotta say, ILM really tricked me with Davy Jones, because I had no idea his face was actually computer generated. Great work! Collapse
  2. MarkA.
    Jul 9, 2006
    10
    This movie was so GOOD! Ive seen it twice and cant wait for a third! Like others have said, I dont know what movie the critics saw because it This movie was so GOOD! Ive seen it twice and cant wait for a third! Like others have said, I dont know what movie the critics saw because it wasnt this one...it might be too long for some people but I didnt feel it, its the most fun you'll have at the theater this summer...and the last minute will blow you away! Expand
  3. LorileeO.
    Jul 10, 2006
    9
    I don't know why so many are harping on the 2 1/2 hour run time - this seems to be in line with other blockbusters (Superman Returns, I don't know why so many are harping on the 2 1/2 hour run time - this seems to be in line with other blockbusters (Superman Returns, King Kong, Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, Titanic etc.) - I didn't notice all the complaining then! The movie provides exactly what viewers want from this sort of story - fascinating venues, high intensity special effects, loads of action, solid humor, romance, and a touch of horror. What more could you want of a action/adveture pirate movie? Johnny Depp is spectacular, as are the witch lady, Kiera and Orlando. The wait to see #3 is going to kill me! No, it didn't have any serious, life changing subplots or morals, but it was not meant to. All the key players stayed true to their character. The effects were amazing. For me, the 2 1/2 hours whizzed by. Expand
  4. AndyM.
    Jul 13, 2006
    7
    Aside from the length (30 mins too long) and the hugely derivative ending (that blatantly steals from a multitude of films - Jaws, Star Wars, Aside from the length (30 mins too long) and the hugely derivative ending (that blatantly steals from a multitude of films - Jaws, Star Wars, Star Trek 2, LOTR) there is just enough of the original magic to make it worth viewing. Perhaps it has suffered from over-inflated expectation? Judging from some of the comments here, I think so. Regardless, it has some truly excellent effects, and dashes of physical comedy that would have brought a smile to Chaplin's face (the kebab sequence, the rolling wheel?!). Expand
  5. Feb 4, 2016
    5
    This movie felt effortless. Unlike its predecessor, this and its successors are just so poor and did not 'pirate' enough to ARR us out.This movie felt effortless. Unlike its predecessor, this and its successors are just so poor and did not 'pirate' enough to ARR us out. Instead of ARRing us out, this just left us out. Expand
  6. D.S.
    Aug 10, 2006
    3
    I know captain johnny depp is a confused man but did the movie have to be so directionless? expected a lot more especially since the first oneI know captain johnny depp is a confused man but did the movie have to be so directionless? expected a lot more especially since the first one was so great. will not go see the third in the theater! Expand
  7. JeffreyH.
    Jul 7, 2006
    0
    Good gawd. i just gave yet another 2 hours of my life to that stinking franchise. after the juvenile(a macaw relieving itself on a man'sGood gawd. i just gave yet another 2 hours of my life to that stinking franchise. after the juvenile(a macaw relieving itself on a man's shoulder got the biggest laugh of the night))humor, weak story line and simplistic, plodding score of the first, i thought i would give the second a chance to redeem the first. not to mention the sublime johnny depp. big mistake. save your money and the hours of lifetime you must commit to viewing this trash. my money and my time are gone, but you have a choice. make the right choice and see another movie like superman returns....yeah, dead man's chest is THAT bad. Expand

See all 339 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 30, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The BFG, The Purge: Election Year, The Legend of Tarzan, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016 Image
    Published: June 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of July, including an extended version of Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice plus Green Room, Everybody Wants Some!!, O.J.: Made in America, and more.
  3. 10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July

    10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July Image
    Published: June 28, 2016
    Our editors pick out the most interesting films headed to theaters next month.
  4. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.