Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: May 20, 2011
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 612 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
297
Mixed:
228
Negative:
87
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
3
movie2187Dec 31, 2011
I love the first three (yes, I am a defender of the sequels) but this film is pretty awful, it feels overwrought and undercooked. If you cant get the original cast back at least add some character development to Jack Sparrow! No interestingI love the first three (yes, I am a defender of the sequels) but this film is pretty awful, it feels overwrought and undercooked. If you cant get the original cast back at least add some character development to Jack Sparrow! No interesting new characters and the script features no wit unlike the other films Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
2
sebastianDec 9, 2011
This movie's very existence is a testament to how good Depp was in the first Pirates. Disney spawned three more movies simply on the echo of Captain Jack's personality. And that's it. For the last three movies are increasingly void ofThis movie's very existence is a testament to how good Depp was in the first Pirates. Disney spawned three more movies simply on the echo of Captain Jack's personality. And that's it. For the last three movies are increasingly void of soul, plot, or sense whatsoever. They're just a bunch of weird ideas spinning around a character who deserves better. This one has mermaids. Outside that fact, I'm not sure I will (or will want to) remember anything about it. If you're wondering--like I was before I rented it, "Will I be glad I gave this series one more chance?" The answer is no. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
2
YellowKirbySep 9, 2015
What... the... hell. How is this even a pirates movie? Where's Will? Where's Elizabeth Swan? What the fricking hell happened here? Black Beard isn't a good villain, I hated the love interest and I hated the story. This movie was CRAP!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
ChrisJamesMay 26, 2011
Just a bad, bad movie. I sat through this hoping for it to get better and unfortunately it never did. It had glimpses of promise and bucketloads of potential, but it never tied up in the end and pretty much presented itself as a genericJust a bad, bad movie. I sat through this hoping for it to get better and unfortunately it never did. It had glimpses of promise and bucketloads of potential, but it never tied up in the end and pretty much presented itself as a generic pirate film full of cliche and cringe-inducing moments. Blackbeard wasn't even a bad guy. It's about time we let the POTC series take its place in movie history before they churn out another one... Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
3
lionalioOct 7, 2011
Bad, just bad. This film is not the one I expected from the Pirates of the Caribbean saga. How can the story and the techniques of the films is so boring and monotone like that?! The character didn't have their own characteristics, and theBad, just bad. This film is not the one I expected from the Pirates of the Caribbean saga. How can the story and the techniques of the films is so boring and monotone like that?! The character didn't have their own characteristics, and the plot is so bad. Don't waste your time for this things, you deserved more! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
GagnarNov 3, 2011
The Pirates of the Caribbean movies have come along way since the first one came out, it was fun, mysterious and intriguing. Unfortunately for this newest addition to the Pirates universe it simply fails to deliver. There are three majorThe Pirates of the Caribbean movies have come along way since the first one came out, it was fun, mysterious and intriguing. Unfortunately for this newest addition to the Pirates universe it simply fails to deliver. There are three major drawbacks which dragged my personal rating for this move down to a 3.

First of, they tried compressing a to big of a story into one movie. The story lacks coordination and transfers the viewer from location to location, from plot to plot, from character to character in to little time so that you will just not be able to tell what exactly is going on. You will have no emotional bond with any character or the stakes at hand. The overall story of this movie is just simply to big to be put into a few hours. Second, the characters presented in this movie are just flat out bad. The leap in time between the previous movie and this one is just way to big to make you understand anything about any character involved in this movie. Jack is of course back, which is a pretty big drawback, considering he is actually the main character in this movie. In all the previous movies he is a fun and enjoyable character, BUT ONLY because he was WASN'T the main character. The entire movie now evolves around to many lame ass jokes and hes annoying personality, which was fun in the previous movies because hes personality was present in much smaller doses. Sparrow made the movie way to annoying and he's trickery and fighting action has become way to predictable because of it. Hector Barbossa suffered immensely from the huge time leap between this movie and the previous one. He pretty much resides with the Spaniards all the time, diminishing the characters value and time on screen, which is of course really a waste. Black beard also suffers from an obvious lack of time and story, he is just to big of a character. You will just not really get to know him as we got to know Davy Jones and Barbossa. He's daughter also suffers this drawback, although she is definitely not as interesting, which she could have been.

Finally we get to see this sailor priest whom, I guess, needed to fill up the more serious and romantic role in this movie, but failed miserably. The love between a mermaid and this sailor could have certainly be more fleshed out. Yet again, it suffers because of lack of time and story.

And last...3D fails, yet again. Clearly this movie lacked any of it. The occasional thrown dagger that gets a 3D makeover or scenery that looks as if it has a bit more 3D depth to it, but all in all it just simply lacks 3D. Conclusion: Very disappointed. It is way to obvious there was to much ambition (or lack of it) for this movie and it suffered heavily because of it.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
Princess_PeachJun 4, 2011
Slightly entertaining movie, but the story felt very choppy. I loved Jonny Depp in this movie but thats about it. There were just so many things that weren't good, I don't even know where to start. Lets just say overall disappointing. WorstSlightly entertaining movie, but the story felt very choppy. I loved Jonny Depp in this movie but thats about it. There were just so many things that weren't good, I don't even know where to start. Lets just say overall disappointing. Worst Pirates movie so far. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
guardian210Jun 25, 2011
Congratulations Disney you officially ruined a perfectly good trilogy of movies. I'm glad the drive-in that i saw this movie at had this as a double feature with Cars 2, because if it hadn't and only showed this piece of **** i would haveCongratulations Disney you officially ruined a perfectly good trilogy of movies. I'm glad the drive-in that i saw this movie at had this as a double feature with Cars 2, because if it hadn't and only showed this piece of **** i would have demanded my money back. The only real reason why Penelope Cruz was in the movie, was for her good looks, which is a waste of a great talent. If you're a director that plans to put add a female character for the sole purpose of looking good, put a good looking actress with no talent in there. You'd save yourself a lot of money. I want to know what on gods green earth the director was smoking when he thought it would be a brilliant idea to, not only have Captain Barbossa Captain a Royal Navy Ship, but emblazon the British flag in the background behind him. I mean really, did the flag HAVE to be that big. Captain Sparrow, who i agree is the flagship of the trilogy, and without him all four movies are pointless, not to say this one is just because he's in it, because it's the most pointless of all the movies, i commend Jack for being the captain that goes down with his ship (the trilogy). The movie is missing two keys that would have made it a better sight to see. Quite frankly the trilogy would be better off if this movie had never been made in the first place. To put it even simpler, if i was given the option of watching this movie again or watching my **** go down the toilet, the choice would be easy... watch my **** go down the toilet, the horror ends quickly and dosen't drag on for two and a quarter hours. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
bighead6000Jul 3, 2011
In my opinion, this pirate of the Caribbean was the worst one yet. The story was terrible, throughout the whole movie. There was also barely any good action. If you are looking into seeing this movie, i suggest seeing something else.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
NillerusJul 22, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. From the disjointed story, to the one-dimensional characters, this movie simply should not have been made. Where the occasional plot hole or convoluted storyline in the first three movies could be overlooked because they were otherwise greatly enjoyable, this heaping pile of dung fails to engage on all levels.
Captain Jack has become a parody of his formerly glorious self. Think Wolverine in X-men 1-2 vs. Wolverine in X-men 3 and "Wolverine". Shudder. The scriptwriter failed miserably at catching the essence of the first three movies in the franchise.
Character dialogue is completely nonsensical. Just utterly, mind-numbingly pointless and stupid. This is a movie that just doesn't make any sense. From glass boxes as horribly glaring and stupid plot devices, to the villain vowing to kill off characters who are central to his plans, and generally, everyone is being a bit trigger happy concerning key figures without whom this entire enterprise would fall apart for all concerned.

Kiera Knightley and Orlando Bloom have been outdone, Penelope Cruz and the priest are easily the most annoying characters I have seen, in any movie, for a very long time.

Characters do things for no reason. Just pure **** insanity. Mermaids handing cups around randomly to save their captors and tormentors, people being sent out on errands to fix a bit of the plot off camera. I can't go on. Read cheat700000007's review, and you'll get the gist of it. Pretend this never happened.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
kbrito162May 22, 2011
The Pirates trilogy has always been one in which i could ignore any major problems with the films (most of which were in PotC 2 and 3)and allow myself to enjoy them. While not great, the two sequels at least attempted an air of "epicness,"The Pirates trilogy has always been one in which i could ignore any major problems with the films (most of which were in PotC 2 and 3)and allow myself to enjoy them. While not great, the two sequels at least attempted an air of "epicness," for lack of a better term, with a grand mythological storyline and a bunch of subplots, which could have been annoying or interesting based on your opinion. They were entertaining, though partially exhausting, and were at least partially memorable. On the contrary, On Stranger Tides was not epic, or even magical, in its storyline or characters. There was nothing strange about it, and instead, the movie was everything you would expect of a money-grabbing attempt by Disney. The supposedly legendary Blackbeard was not nearly as fearsome as Barbosa in the first film, the plot was disjointed and uninteresting, and Jack Sparrow is becoming predictable. Overall, it was disappointing to watch such a previously ambitious series dumb itself down to such low levels. We needed a simpler story, not a boring one. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
2
thajeJun 4, 2011
The whole Pirates of the Caribbean franchise is a bit like a bottle of coke. It starts off all fresh and fizzy, then there's the middle where it tastes a bit off but you finish it anyway, and then there's that bit the bottom that no oneThe whole Pirates of the Caribbean franchise is a bit like a bottle of coke. It starts off all fresh and fizzy, then there's the middle where it tastes a bit off but you finish it anyway, and then there's that bit the bottom that no one wants to drink because it just looks like black water. That's what On Strange Tides is like. Flat coke. The plot is just one ridiculous scene after another, the characters are boring and have no development whatsoever, and there are so many loose ends you could probably weave a rug. It's a classic let's-just-get-this-thing-over-with kind of movie and adds nothing to the series whatsoever. Not really worth anyone's time. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
0
SnafuFrankAug 8, 2011
This pirate franchise has just sank to the bottom of the sea. The plot was flat, the characters were boring, the action was horrible, what else is there to be said about this film?
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
zhayeebMay 23, 2011
The movie didn't work for me, its just, i have this great expectation since i was a fan from the very first start of this film but this one, i can consider that there are some parts which we can call as lame one.
First, the settings were
The movie didn't work for me, its just, i have this great expectation since i was a fan from the very first start of this film but this one, i can consider that there are some parts which we can call as lame one.
First, the settings were unprepared and not convincing
second, acting of the other actors were kind ''wtf'' was that!
Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
2
cheat700000007May 21, 2011
This movie was just a flat out mess. There was no pacing, characters didn't have a character, they had a name and a set of objectives that they had to do to advance the plot or cause something to happen that shouldn't have, but the producerThis movie was just a flat out mess. There was no pacing, characters didn't have a character, they had a name and a set of objectives that they had to do to advance the plot or cause something to happen that shouldn't have, but the producer thought would be exciting like having someone jump into the camera away from an explosion in a PIRATE MOVIE, or have a chase scene in a busy town that people should be barely able to move in (which is actually how the chase ends, why there is suddenly a huge path available before that who knows) riding a wooden cart full of flaming coals which for some reason isn't completely burning. I'm going to stop listing out things now or else I'll just be writing a summary of the entire movie. Captain Sparrow's character arc is starting to remind me of Stewie Griffens arc too. At the start of the series, he was an evil mastermind with gay tendancies, but a fun and original character. Now he is just gay. All of the interest, sublty, and roundness to the character is gone. Every other character is completely flat and only act to advance the plot in the way that the writers, or maybe the producer, wanted. They have no personality, no depth, no soul. They are not characters they are just living mcguffins. Nearly every big event in the movie just happens. It is not explained or even hinted at in any way of the sort why or how it was happening. There wasn't even a reason why or how the characters knew what they were doing. Even in simple little dialogue interactions, characters had responses that made no sense. As I'm looking back at the movie now, I can confidently say that if you picked out ANY scene in the movie, I could tell you at least 3 things wrong with it. I sincerely hope the writers of this movie never do so again. At the 30 minute mark I was already ready to walk out, but stayed because I did enjoy the other 3 movies. In 2 and 3 they had a few boring segments which turned to great ones later on, I kept hoping this would be the case but it sure as hell was not. The only reason I can see that this is getting positive reviews at all is either that a) these people are from disney or were paid off or b) throwing big name celebrities into a movie really will make people like it whether it is a good movie or not. Expand
8 of 15 users found this helpful87
All this user's reviews
3
directguyJun 12, 2011
Seeing all these 10's makes me remember just how subjective entertainment is. Or how someone's got a PR firm trying to goose the metacritic ratings. Seriously though, for me, this was just an awful movie. The story was blah, the fightSeeing all these 10's makes me remember just how subjective entertainment is. Or how someone's got a PR firm trying to goose the metacritic ratings. Seriously though, for me, this was just an awful movie. The story was blah, the fight scenes where boring, and even bits which might have been interesting were ruined because the script gave everything away up front, so there weren't any surprising reveals. And the ending was ripped right from the third Indian Jones movie, and you saw it coming from a mile away. I suppose they won't retire this franchise until it stops making money, but please producers, can you try a little harder for the next one? Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
3
PrvshJul 6, 2011
Disappointing cast , senseless story , monotonous setting and 3D???? .... officially the worst movie of the summer ... from the short dweeb with the magical sword to the lousy jerk with the wooden leg the movie stinks of under developedDisappointing cast , senseless story , monotonous setting and 3D???? .... officially the worst movie of the summer ... from the short dweeb with the magical sword to the lousy jerk with the wooden leg the movie stinks of under developed characters, lousy script and powderpuff makeup (u can barely look at barbossa) .... Depp's character was significantly overused and got really boring amidst occasional sparks with Penelope Cruz .... all in all watching this movie will probably give u the "wtf was that all about" feeling... Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
PierMay 20, 2011
Clumsy storytelling, mediocre cinematography and disappointing characters. It is a sad reminder of how great were the first 2 movies of the franchise.
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
0
Nostalgic9tailsJul 7, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First off, I want to make it clear that I highly enjoyed every PoTC film, even the sequels up to AWE. Even with all their flaws, they still kept the charm of the franchise. This film, however, takes all that away.

Something I want to mention first, that no one here seems to have done, is that Penelope Cruz's character is such a blatant Mary-Sue. For anyone familiar with bad fan-fiction or books, that's how this character feels the entire time. She's the one woman Jack Sparrow ever 'had feelings for', she's just as good of a swordsman as him, and she's not only Blackbeard's first mate but also his daughter. She begins as Jack Sparrow's impersonator, then after a sword fight with him, he claims that 'only one other person knows that move' when they both do a tactic that negates each other. Then he pulls her into his arms and kisses her.

That's another severe issue of this film. This is the one time I've ever seen Capt. Sparrow act so out of character. He isn't the same, sarcastic, get-my-own-way person. They've exhausted his character to the point that he's been forced to be something he's not supposed to be. He's now cowardly and bumbling, almost like either Pintel or Ragetti from the first three films.

Then there's Blackbeard. He's apparently not only a pirate, the most infamous and horrifying pirate in existence, but a wizard. Yeah, he can control ropes on his ship to wrangle his crew, steer his ship with a gesture of his sword and stores ships of his victims in tiny bottles on his shelves. Now, I don't mind the mysticism if done well, like with characters like Barbossa and his immortality from the curse, or Davy Jones and his curse to ferry the dead. But at least they were both fictional and given a proper back story. Blackbeard was a real pirate, and a damn frightening one. But he was anything but a wizard. And he wasn't given any back story as to how he could do everything he did.

Next, there's Barbossa, or whatever's left of him. In between the third film and this one, he lost his leg and became a Captain in the Navy. When in history has ANY Captain of a pirate ship and crew managed to become a member of the Navy, especially with such ill intent as Barbossa? And the whole 'prophecy' at the beginning about a one-legged man leading to the downfall of Blackbeard was made so painfully obvious, I felt a physical pain in my head.

Then there's the mermaid subplot. Alright, I have to admit, I like the lore of mermaids being vicious vixens of the sea. But even that lore gets brushed under the carpet almost immediately with the mermaid they capture. They need a mermaid's tear to make the Fountain of Youth (a point I'll get to next) work. The one they capture acts fierce at first, but then falls for the priest on the ship because 'he's different from the others'. First off, at one point, the priest gets angry that they don't call her by her name, but then he thinks it's ok for him to give her a name instead of properly ask her what hers really is. Second, at one point, he's threatened with his life when the mermaid doesn't cry. Instead of telling her not to do it, a cliche but a noble one, he says, and I quote, "If you could produce a tear, I would be grateful". A bit of a douchy move, and he still gets his throat slit. But it's ok, because she REVIVES him shortly after. Vicious vixen you are not.

Now for the Fountain of Youth. In the film, it requires a sacrifice, where one person must give his/her remaining years to another. It also requires two goblets, the mermaid tear being in the life giving one. Ok, that's a nice take on it, if it wasn't already used hundreds of times before. And the whole switchero with Blackbeard and Cruz was the most predictable thing I've ever seen. If it was the Jack Sparrow from the first film, he would have tricked them both into sacrificing their combined years so that HE could get extra life.

I can't really say how the film's 3D effects were, because I only watched a TV film version. But from the scenes where it was obviously made for 3D (a spear up close to the camera or a skeleton hand reaching forward), I can tell, they're unimpressive. The whole gimmick of 3D is a waste of money, time and vision. Some of the scenes that could have been enhanced by it, like the Fountain of Youth or the scenes at sea were either so foggy or so shaky that 3D would have made it worse than better. Once again, I can't speak from experience, that's just how it felt watching it in 2D and wondering how it must have been for those who shelled out the extra $5 for blurry, cross-eyed inducing glasses.

I'm running out of characters, so I'll make my final thoughts brief. I do not consider this a PoTC film. I consider it Live Action PoTC Fan Fiction. From self-inserts to out of character moments to plot inconsistencies, that's exactly how it felt for me. Perhaps if it was made separately, without Capt. Jack or the few recurring PoTC characters, it could have worked. Otherwise, it's just a mess.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
3
jwt7000Aug 6, 2012
Not a good performing movie that resurrect the series despite having the most out of the money in the box office overseas. The story and plot were so weak that some parts of the movie were just a mess. There shouldn't be a fourth PiratesNot a good performing movie that resurrect the series despite having the most out of the money in the box office overseas. The story and plot were so weak that some parts of the movie were just a mess. There shouldn't be a fourth Pirates movie starting with this. Easily the worst movie of the series thus far. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
wareagle12Jun 29, 2011
How could you be so heartless- Kanye West
This movie came from an original movie that was completely based on adventure and heart. The main characters found themselves in daring adventures that thrilled the audience but the only reason we
How could you be so heartless- Kanye West
This movie came from an original movie that was completely based on adventure and heart. The main characters found themselves in daring adventures that thrilled the audience but the only reason we cared so much was because we actually cared about the characters. In this movie its the same formula as the original but its all put up just to make a movie. The characters have no depth despite them trying to create fake depth. It seems like any summer movie put out to make a few million dollars.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
BartMay 21, 2011
Could have been a fun movie, if it had a script and a director. What a waste of a talented cast. X marks the spot, where this movie killed the franchise. All the film provides is a Johny Depp fix for all the tween girls out there, and notCould have been a fun movie, if it had a script and a director. What a waste of a talented cast. X marks the spot, where this movie killed the franchise. All the film provides is a Johny Depp fix for all the tween girls out there, and not much more. Expand
4 of 14 users found this helpful410
All this user's reviews
3
RoeylJun 13, 2011
Easily the worst of Pirates of the Caribbean, I watched it in French with some friends and it wasn't great. Although there are some good and funny moments, it is clear that the saga is falling on itself, as well as Jack Sparrow. The firstEasily the worst of Pirates of the Caribbean, I watched it in French with some friends and it wasn't great. Although there are some good and funny moments, it is clear that the saga is falling on itself, as well as Jack Sparrow. The first scenes were horrible, too much of a caricature and some characters weren't plausible (such as the fat English nobleman) and Barbossa looked awful in his costume. After this terrible ouverture it does tend to get better, bringing in the mermaids was a great idea in my opinion but the love story between one of them and the religious guy just falls right flat, especially when he gives her that stupid name "Syrena"! Everyone in the theatre was like "omg..., how stupid is that!". I know that "syrène" is "mermaid" in English (so it doesn't actually sound false in English), but they could've changed it for **** sake! Anyway, once you've passed the low quality barrier of the movie, you can enjoy the end, which is the best part. So that sets the bad story telling and awful characters. The movie could have been saved by SFX, unfortunately, those aren't great either (worse than it's predecessors) and the environment felt too overdone, too much pushed like an American movie. It feels wrong. All in all, I suggest you watch this movie only if you're a Pirates of the Caribbean die-hard or if you're a complete retard who enjoys stupid movies and has no cultural background. (Sorry for being harsh, but I'm really pissed too have spent money on it). Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
1
ascoltami86May 27, 2013
I don't like any of Pirates of the Caribbean movies, I specially dislike the character Jack Sparrow, annoys me. Just a boring battle scenes. I don't want to see battles, I just want to story.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
RattazustraApr 13, 2014
It rates among the worst films I have ever seen. All the galmour and glitter, all special effects and grand music cannot save this movie from over-acted nonsense and completely pointless story. The first film in the series was a solid 9, theIt rates among the worst films I have ever seen. All the galmour and glitter, all special effects and grand music cannot save this movie from over-acted nonsense and completely pointless story. The first film in the series was a solid 9, the second a shaky 7, the third closer to 3 than to 4. This one has hit rock bottom with a deserved ranking between 1 and 2. I am so glad I did not have to endure this movie in a cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
NecromusDec 29, 2012
Yawn... they should have just stopped making Pirates of the Caribbean movies after the first one, the first one was great, but the sequels just keep getting lamer and lamer. This latest one was the most boring Pirates of the Caribbean yet,Yawn... they should have just stopped making Pirates of the Caribbean movies after the first one, the first one was great, but the sequels just keep getting lamer and lamer. This latest one was the most boring Pirates of the Caribbean yet, even Jack Sparrow was lame in this one, it's like he didn't even want this next installment to exist either. +1 for the 2 minute scene with the mermaid attack, the only part of this movie worth watching. Save yourself your valuable money and time and skip this one completely... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ThefilmnerdJul 3, 2013
This was a big disapointment. I wasen´t looking much for to at all since none of the previous cast was back from the first three movies (besides Johnny Depp). The movie was a complete disaster. The story was pointless, and it did not make anyThis was a big disapointment. I wasen´t looking much for to at all since none of the previous cast was back from the first three movies (besides Johnny Depp). The movie was a complete disaster. The story was pointless, and it did not make any sense to make, because it has nothing to do with the previous movies. Captain Jack Sparrow, you went on the wrong ship. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
cag11Nov 29, 2013
This is not a PotC movie. It had none of the great humor as the first three, let alone that it was a pointless adventure filled with a more predictable amount of stupidity. The acting was okay for the most part, but that didn't make up forThis is not a PotC movie. It had none of the great humor as the first three, let alone that it was a pointless adventure filled with a more predictable amount of stupidity. The acting was okay for the most part, but that didn't make up for almost anything else in this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
joao1198pedroOct 27, 2013
the fourth movie of the pirates of the caribbean franchise was made as an reborn for the franchise,but they done absolutely the same thing with a much worse story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
AaronWasserman2May 5, 2014
Easily one of the most boring movies i have ever seen. This is a sign that this franchise should be done. Depp cant save it anymore. i hope the rumors of them making a pirates 5 are false.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
JefferySlumsDec 16, 2014
This movie had absolutely nothing to do with any part of the series, I mean it had nothing to do with anything. Yes we learn a bit of each characters backgrounds, but what is before all that? They started the series off strong with theThis movie had absolutely nothing to do with any part of the series, I mean it had nothing to do with anything. Yes we learn a bit of each characters backgrounds, but what is before all that? They started the series off strong with the first three, then all the sudden, we're left off with this. It's placed like a few years behind the first movie, and it doesn't even tell a worth tale of anything. It leaves off with Black Pearl in its original owner, again, but again, what happened before? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
cylian3Aug 16, 2014
A truly sad time we live in to have the loveable Captain Sparrow be so convoluted with half-arsed scripts and inconsistencies with fighting scenes that are so mudded down in fogs, lightning and smoke to the point where I found myself moreA truly sad time we live in to have the loveable Captain Sparrow be so convoluted with half-arsed scripts and inconsistencies with fighting scenes that are so mudded down in fogs, lightning and smoke to the point where I found myself more prompted to skip them just to have more dialog. And I hate dialog. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MovieManiac83Apr 23, 2015
The fourth Pirates of the Caribbean movie represents a perfect encapsulation of what the summer sequel tent-pole has become: a half-baked casserole of recycled elements from past installments of the franchise tossed together with lacklusterThe fourth Pirates of the Caribbean movie represents a perfect encapsulation of what the summer sequel tent-pole has become: a half-baked casserole of recycled elements from past installments of the franchise tossed together with lackluster action sequences (inspired by or designed for video games) and gratuitous special effects. The screenplay, credited to Ted Elliott & Terry Rossio, is little more than a clothesline from which to dangle all of the obligatory set pieces. This is one script that could have been assembled using a computer. Had that been the case, however, the result wouldn't have been as long-winded. The basic story is simple; it's something of a wonder how much endless exposition and tedious dialogue Elliott & Rossio cram into the film's bulging 137 minutes.

Reviewing On Stranger Tides as a movie has limited value. The production will not make about a billion dollars (worldwide) because it has the elements viewers value from cinema. It, like many summer blockbusters, is designed to deliver a momentary adrenaline jolt while providing audiences with a few familiar characters and elements. All that will be remembered upon exiting the theater is that there are now four (instead of three) episodes in the franchise. On Stranger Tides exists mid-way between a video game and an amusement park ride (in this case, the second part can be taken literally) and, for those who aren't looking for anything more, it will probably succeed. I suspect that will represent a large percentage of those who pay out their hard-earned cash to see it projected theatrically (in 3-D, IMAX 3-D, or good old-fashioned 2-D).

The existence of a fourth Pirates film was predicated upon the participation of Johnny Depp, whose interest was piqued by a paycheck with a lot of zeroes in front of the decimal point. No one will begrudge Depp the huge windfall; he has paid his dues, working for creative forces like Jim Jarmusch and Terry Gilliam. Still, it's a little disappointing that his contributions to On Stranger Tides are limited to the likeness and mannerisms of the campy and charismatic character he played on three previous occasions. Captain Jack might just as easily have been portrayed by an animated version of a Madame Tussauds waxwork dummy.

Rob Marshall's direction is competent and, from a technical standpoint, there's nothing wrong with the various action sequences aside from the lack of excitement. For all his faults, Gore Verbinski at least handled the action with panache. Those movies thrummed with derring-do. This one sinks. In many ways, On Stranger Tides reminds me of another fourth installment, Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull. The level of disappointment is perhaps muted because the wait between Pirates sequels has only been four years while Spielberg/Lucas/Ford kept us waiting for two decades. Still, both movies are indications that the filmmakers should have stopped with a trilogy.

Is it necessary to say anything about the 3-D? Having seen On Stranger Tides in IMAX 3-D, I'm convinced that the less expensive, brighter, and more colorful 2-D is the way to go. The 3-D gave me a mild headache (the first time that has happened) with the action sequences notably suffering from blur. Also, since many of the scenes are dark, it may sometimes be useful to remove the glasses to figure out what's happening. Maybe darkness isn't a bad thing for a quasi-amusement park ride. After all, the lights are off for most of Space Mountain. The problem is, there's no sense of motion in On Stranger Tides.

As a movie, On Stranger Tides would have to be considered a failure. The story does not engage, the characters are stick figures, the action sequences are perfunctory, and the whole enterprise reeks of being a money-grab. Yet, when seen through the prism of what is often proffered as "summer entertainment," it's a relatively cheap way to numb the mind and dull the senses. With expectations properly adjusted, maybe this Pirates of the Caribbean won't make you feel like you've been forced to walk the plank.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
AaronWasserman1Mar 26, 2016
When Johnny Depp returns as Captain Jack and he is unable to make the bad movie any better, you know you got a problem. The previous film sucked and this one was much worse. Stop with these movies, the franchise is dead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
FilmBuff94Mar 31, 2016
Rob Marshall's philosophy for shooting action sequences seems to be roughly equivalent to his approach to musical numbers: give 'em as little as possible. Just as the danceless “dance” sequences that polluted the director's Nine wereRob Marshall's philosophy for shooting action sequences seems to be roughly equivalent to his approach to musical numbers: give 'em as little as possible. Just as the danceless “dance” sequences that polluted the director's Nine were assembled a posteriori in the editing room, thus obviating the need for choreography, the numerous fight scenes in Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides feel cobbled together from hundreds of disparate snippets. No scorched-earth Greengrassian postmodernist, Marshall imbues his sword fights and chase scenes with a semblance of visual coherence, but he's careful not to linger on any single bit of action long enough for viewers to register the significance of the image they've just witnessed.

It's an enervating approach that marks the film as more exhausting than enthralling, and its m.o. of nonstop clatter is one that Marshall applies to almost every aspect of the production. Everything is pitched so high in terms of loud exclamations, dramatic music, and frenetic activity that one would reasonably expect the film to be a compendium of juicy thrills, but the uniformity of tone instead renders the whole thing uniformly dull. When the characters aren't fighting each other, they're making solemn threats or, in the case of Johnny Depp's Captain Sparrow and Penélope Cruz's Angelica, exchanging caustic but flirtatious barbs, all of which is about as sexy as watching Richard Griffiths frump it up as a boorish, overweight King George II.

This fourth installment in the Pirates of the Caribbean series, the 18th-century-set On Stranger Tides has as its central narrative the search for the Fountain of Youth and the accompanying paraphernalia that allow its powers to be harnessed. In its overly convoluted plotting, three groups of explorers set out to follow the trail of the late Ponce de León. While Sparrow flits between the parties of gone-straight buccaneer Barbossa's (Geoffrey Rush) British contingent and that of the unrepentant pirate Blackbeard (Ian McShane) and his daughter (and Sparrow's love interest) Angelica, the Spanish set off to stake their own claim for the fountain.

After the overlong setup (which admittedly contains the film's best action sequence, the only one to successfully incorporate a measure of humor into the staging), it's off to sea for a series of set pieces that have a distinct time-marking quality, riding out the duration until the three groups finally arrive at their destination. There are no shortage of film-padding subplots devised by screenwriters Ted Elliot and Terry Rossio, ranging from the dull to the ridiculous (a romance between a missionary and mermaid has to represent some kind of new low for screen amour) and some half-baked discussion about faith toward which the movie can't be bothered to develop a coherent attitude, but mostly the filmmakers rely on a rather perfunctory use of 3D to endow the whole thing with an (ironically) surface-deep patina of thrills. But give or take a sword or two being thrust at the audience or a barrel rolling toward the viewer and the stereoscopic process serves mostly to extend the foreground image while leaving the background flat. Its use of 3D as uninspired as its staging, plotting, and characters (and its weak stabs at humor), On Stranger Tides proves its title to be a patently false bit of advertising. There's nothing strange—or in any way extraordinary—about this dim-witted bore.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Aaron_WassermanJun 1, 2016
When Johnny Depp returns as Captain Jack and he is unable to make the bad movie any better, you know you got a problem. The previous film sucked and this one was much worse. Stop with these movies, the franchise is dead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews