User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 609 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 86 out of 609

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. May 24, 2011
    5
    MUCH better than I thought it would be. I really enjoyed the first movie, but the second one was interminably boring. Penelope Cruz is terrific, and the young couple (the mermaid and the sailor) brings a nice touch to the otherwise flippant proceedings. Doesn't hold a candle to the other big summer blockbusters (Fast 5, etc.)
  2. May 20, 2011
    3
    Clumsy storytelling, mediocre cinematography and disappointing characters. It is a sad reminder of how great were the first 2 movies of the franchise.
  3. Aug 6, 2012
    3
    Not a good performing movie that resurrect the series despite having the most out of the money in the box office overseas. The story and plot were so weak that some parts of the movie were just a mess. There shouldn't be a fourth Pirates movie starting with this. Easily the worst movie of the series thus far.
  4. May 20, 2011
    6
    Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides is more less fun, but it's still not as good as the other trilogy. I still enjoy the fight scenes they were great and Jack Sparrow could be funny, The main point is that the story is nothing much that great, it doesn't explain about the mermaid's myth, the new characters doesn't have no developed, and plot holes doesn't add up just like the restPirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides is more less fun, but it's still not as good as the other trilogy. I still enjoy the fight scenes they were great and Jack Sparrow could be funny, The main point is that the story is nothing much that great, it doesn't explain about the mermaid's myth, the new characters doesn't have no developed, and plot holes doesn't add up just like the rest of the three films together. I can only say it's great to see those pirates again once more and I hope this movie could be the last, so I will sit down and enjoy drinking with yo ho ho with the bottle-of-rum! Expand
  5. May 26, 2011
    9
    I thought this to be a great addition the to the Pirates franchise. Johnny Depp did what he does best and delivered a good performance. You can tell he loves to play this character. I was worried at first going into it because of no bloom ore knightley. But you don't even miss them. Depp proves that he was indeed the star of the movies!
  6. Dec 9, 2011
    2
    This movie's very existence is a testament to how good Depp was in the first Pirates. Disney spawned three more movies simply on the echo of Captain Jack's personality. And that's it. For the last three movies are increasingly void of soul, plot, or sense whatsoever. They're just a bunch of weird ideas spinning around a character who deserves better. This one has mermaids. OutsideThis movie's very existence is a testament to how good Depp was in the first Pirates. Disney spawned three more movies simply on the echo of Captain Jack's personality. And that's it. For the last three movies are increasingly void of soul, plot, or sense whatsoever. They're just a bunch of weird ideas spinning around a character who deserves better. This one has mermaids. Outside that fact, I'm not sure I will (or will want to) remember anything about it. If you're wondering--like I was before I rented it, "Will I be glad I gave this series one more chance?" The answer is no. Expand
  7. May 27, 2011
    9
    I'm one of fans of this series who has enjoyed all 3 of the previous films, even the overly convoluted At World's End. But still, I knew that this franchise was in need of a reboot or better yet, a trip back to it's roots. I think it pulls both off really well. Johnny Depp as Jack Sparrow will never get stale, and he's in fine form yet again in this installment. Ian McShane asI'm one of fans of this series who has enjoyed all 3 of the previous films, even the overly convoluted At World's End. But still, I knew that this franchise was in need of a reboot or better yet, a trip back to it's roots. I think it pulls both off really well. Johnny Depp as Jack Sparrow will never get stale, and he's in fine form yet again in this installment. Ian McShane as Blackbeard also did an amazing job! There's nothing better than an epic movie with equally epic acting and setting. The new additions combined with the nods back to the past 3 movies blended together amazingly well. Lots of good cameo appearances that I thought added to the story and were not thrown in just for fan service. All in all, I have to say this chapter ranks up there as one of the best in the series. I was not disappointed! Expand
  8. May 29, 2011
    4
    this movie of the series , is probably the worst than ever. the first 45 minutes had nothing. the next 15 minutes was beginning to develop. but again the second half lacks the speed and wild sword fights, comic filled dialogs and some ruthless stunts are all there stuffed into the second half. the movie actually begins to develop at the climax. but who cares, fountain of youth may givethis movie of the series , is probably the worst than ever. the first 45 minutes had nothing. the next 15 minutes was beginning to develop. but again the second half lacks the speed and wild sword fights, comic filled dialogs and some ruthless stunts are all there stuffed into the second half. the movie actually begins to develop at the climax. but who cares, fountain of youth may give life to the people forever. but this franchise would not satisfy the normal viewers. the main reasons are that, it is way too boring in the first half with illogical stunts and some unnecessary scenes which should have been definitely trimmed. looks like the fountain of youth is the only word i can get , but not understand what is the importance in it!! even till the climax. finally what we got here, is a movie with wild stunts , screamings and mermaids along with illogical stunts and escapes and caught again and again. screenplay completely lacked the life. looks like a funny movie rather than, adventure movie. johnny depp was wasted. his talent is not upto the mark in this. ian mcshane was good. geoffrey rush was good. penelope cruz was ok. rest characters are apt. the movie fails to bring interest among audience. even though second half was a bit good, it was overall below average. no scene is gripping and watchable again and again. just a bore franchise adapted to continue the series. i am disappointed. Expand
  9. Jul 13, 2011
    4
    On Stranger Tides is a disappointing movie. It lacked the sense of entertainment and imagintation that the first two had..I hope that 5 & 6 would be better, but as far as i know, i won't watch this movie again..
  10. May 20, 2011
    10
    As a huge fan of the previous 3 pirates movies, I had high hopes for the 4th movie. The 2nd and 3rd movie were pretty good but overall are not as good as the 1st one. Pirates of the Carribean: On Stranger Tides was a incredible movie to watch for any fans of the previous movies. Anyone who is a huge fan of Jack Sparrow and Hector Barbossa are in luck cause more than half the story areAs a huge fan of the previous 3 pirates movies, I had high hopes for the 4th movie. The 2nd and 3rd movie were pretty good but overall are not as good as the 1st one. Pirates of the Carribean: On Stranger Tides was a incredible movie to watch for any fans of the previous movies. Anyone who is a huge fan of Jack Sparrow and Hector Barbossa are in luck cause more than half the story are about them. Ian McShane did a terrific job as the evil pirate Blackbeard and Penelope Cruz also did a terrifc job as Blackbeard's daughter. The score was outstanding and a bit of the previous movie scores were used. The costuming was spot on and authentic. The locations were breathtaking and the action was as great as the previous movies. The new cast members did a fantastic job fitting into the movie and acted well. They added a lot of lighthearted funny moments. Also the 3D for this movie was amazing and it really add to the movie watching experience. Overall I would recommend ths movie to any fan of the previous Pirate movies. Expand
  11. May 21, 2011
    6
    When I first heard tat they were making this movie I could not believe it. The series was done. They wrapped it up with At Worldâ
  12. May 24, 2011
    6
    The movie was kind of just sub-par to me. The first 15 minutes of the movie made me excited with the potential of the journey to come but somehow it just felt flat. Ironically, the most exhausting part of On Stranger Tides are the sword fights, too many of them and I was longing for some good slow pace story-telling which are few and far in between. The movie seems rushed, it didn't takeThe movie was kind of just sub-par to me. The first 15 minutes of the movie made me excited with the potential of the journey to come but somehow it just felt flat. Ironically, the most exhausting part of On Stranger Tides are the sword fights, too many of them and I was longing for some good slow pace story-telling which are few and far in between. The movie seems rushed, it didn't take it's own time and tell the story that it wants to tell. Rob Marshall just wants to bombard the fans with all action sequences and explosions, which is what a summer movie is all about (I know..). But there was so much potential there for a better quality summer flick. Thank heavens Johnny Depp is holding out from making Pirates 5 and 6 in quick succession, because he knows that the story is the most important element of a good movie and not just crank out a movie and dominate the box-office. Expand
  13. Sep 19, 2011
    8
    Although not as good as the original pirates of the Caribbean movie. It is much better than number 3, if you are looking for good entrainment this fits the bill.
  14. May 26, 2011
    7
    It's simple. If you're a fan of this series then you will enjoy this movie. If you didn't like the earlier ones then you won't like this one either, as it doesn't really bring anything new. The action is stale and very "Disney" which hurts the movie. This won't be winning any awards but still I enjoyed it.
  15. May 21, 2011
    10
    After reading what the critics had to say, then going to see the movie, I've come to the conclusion that critics and the Pirates of the Caribbean movies will never be compatible (sure, The Curse of the Black Pearl had a decent score of 63, but 63 isn't that high of a score, it's only 3 points away from being considered mixed/average). I loved the first three movies (and for the record, IAfter reading what the critics had to say, then going to see the movie, I've come to the conclusion that critics and the Pirates of the Caribbean movies will never be compatible (sure, The Curse of the Black Pearl had a decent score of 63, but 63 isn't that high of a score, it's only 3 points away from being considered mixed/average). I loved the first three movies (and for the record, I actually didn't think the plot for the 2nd and 3rd movies was convoluted at all). The reason I love the Pirates movies is because of all the great performances, specifically Johnny Depp's Captain Jack Sparrow (who is my favorite Disney character by the way). In this movie, I got what I specifically wanted, more, more, and more Captain Jack Sparrow. Of course, other terrific performances by Penolope Cruz, Ian McShane, and Geoffrey Rush shouldn't be overlooked as well. Overall, I was very satisfied with the standalone format of the movie that resembles James Bond movies, and I really hope this will be the default format for future Pirate movies. In conclusion, I really enjoyed this movie as the last three. Everything, from the music to the scenery, it felt like the typical Pirates of the Caribbean movie I've always loved. Keep up the good work guys, and I can't wait for Captain Jack Sparrow's next adventure! Expand
  16. Aug 25, 2011
    7
    I am drawn to Jack Sparrow stories like sailors are drawn to mermaids... The franchise brings out the same kind of feelings I felt when going to the movies as a kid. Penelope is a good addition to the team, however I did miss the chemistry between Sparrow and Will Turner.
  17. May 21, 2011
    4
    The plot revolves around the Fountain of Youth, two other pirate captains and Penelope Cruz. Their quest involves mean mermaids, mediocre fights and grand escapes, but nothing especially inventive or delightful ever occurs. While hardcore fans may accept the comfort of familiarity, I found it plodding and uninspired.
    NOTE: Stay thru the credits for a final gag.
  18. May 26, 2011
    5
    When I saw the first of these movies I was completely blown away by its overall style and when the second came out I was a little less impressed, then the third came out and I was totally confused. This time around it was just like the third movie: What the hell happened? The formula for all of the Pirates movies does not change; action, escapes, wierd villains, and exitement. I like thatWhen I saw the first of these movies I was completely blown away by its overall style and when the second came out I was a little less impressed, then the third came out and I was totally confused. This time around it was just like the third movie: What the hell happened? The formula for all of the Pirates movies does not change; action, escapes, wierd villains, and exitement. I like that but then again what was the whole point of this movie besides entertain? Expand
  19. Jun 1, 2011
    7
    I really enjoyed the first Pirate movie, didn't like the 2nd one so much, and HATED the third one that was so convoluted and hard to follow. My friend talked me into going to this one even though I swore I would never go to another after the last one. As it turns out, this is the second best of the series so far. Ian McShane makes a great Blackbeard & Geoffrey Rush is always fantasticI really enjoyed the first Pirate movie, didn't like the 2nd one so much, and HATED the third one that was so convoluted and hard to follow. My friend talked me into going to this one even though I swore I would never go to another after the last one. As it turns out, this is the second best of the series so far. Ian McShane makes a great Blackbeard & Geoffrey Rush is always fantastic (and is featured a lot thankfully). The Penelope Cruz character wasn't necessary for a Pirate movie but you always have to have a love interest in a Hollywood film I guess. I liked the mermaid sequence and the story about searching for the fountain of youth. Not a great film but definitely a step in the right direction. The 3D was good but not great. Given the choice I would always choose the standard 2D but my friend is a fan of 3D and IMAX so we saw it in 3D. There was a sequence at the end that confused me involving how people arrived at the fountain - some people just seemed to show up without using the same method as the pirates. Maybe I missed something. Expand
  20. May 30, 2011
    8
    On Stranger Tides brings us back - finally - to what we fell in love with originally. Depp is his usual quirky genius as Captain Jack Sparrow and Cruz is a nice replacement to the overdone Turner/Swan pairing in the previous movies. The fourth movie will not garner any major awards, but it does a good job at being what it set out to be - a solid popcorn flick for the months leading up toOn Stranger Tides brings us back - finally - to what we fell in love with originally. Depp is his usual quirky genius as Captain Jack Sparrow and Cruz is a nice replacement to the overdone Turner/Swan pairing in the previous movies. The fourth movie will not garner any major awards, but it does a good job at being what it set out to be - a solid popcorn flick for the months leading up to the summer season. Expand
  21. May 22, 2011
    6
    really it was a pretty funny movie, but abuse in parts of the script and went from the absurd on occasion, the cinemetografia very well, sound effects, soundtrack, special effects excellent.
  22. Jun 20, 2011
    9
    The Black Pearl is freedom, but it doesn't exactly play a part in this very different addition to the Pirates of the Caribbean series. In fact, if you were looking forward to seeing the old crew again you might be a bit disappointed. However, Mr. Gibbs, Captain Barbosa and Captain Jack Sparrow are all back and are the only characters needed to keep it familiar while adding new charactersThe Black Pearl is freedom, but it doesn't exactly play a part in this very different addition to the Pirates of the Caribbean series. In fact, if you were looking forward to seeing the old crew again you might be a bit disappointed. However, Mr. Gibbs, Captain Barbosa and Captain Jack Sparrow are all back and are the only characters needed to keep it familiar while adding new characters to a more fresh story. The story itself isn't completely original though. Being loosely based on the novel On Stranger Tides by Tim Powers it also has tastes of Treasure Island and The Last Crusade in it, but don't get me wrong it was a great story nontheless. Don't bring your young children along to it. Pirates of the Carribean was never really for simple minds to understand. I am not saying it has a complicated story, but much like the others, you have to pay attention to the dialogue, not just the pretty colours. There is definitely enough action in the film as well as a tiny bit of romance, but no more than you'd expect of Jack. On that note, the mermaids were great to watch as were most of the added special effects. Like all the Pirates of the Caribbean movies the effects are believable and that is all that matters, it doesn't need to pop right out into your face. That was the downside with this film. The director seemed a bit too aware that it was a 3D film and may have changed a few things because of that, that just didn't need to be changed. Overall, it is an awesome film. Watch it at the cinemas or watch it at home, either way if you were already a fan, you should watch it. If you weren't previously a fan, this episode is quite different, so you should still watch it. Expand
  23. May 21, 2011
    0
    Could have been a fun movie, if it had a script and a director. What a waste of a talented cast. X marks the spot, where this movie killed the franchise. All the film provides is a Johny Depp fix for all the tween girls out there, and not much more.
  24. Nov 20, 2011
    5
    While it is completely the weakest of the entire series, On Stranger Tides is pure fun. It takes a while to get up to speed (the first half had me worried it would end up in the same area as Indiana Jones 4 or Rocky 4 ended up in), but once it picks up, the movie doesn't stop until the finish. Johnny Depp is always a joy to watch on screen, and always finds a way to work with his part.While it is completely the weakest of the entire series, On Stranger Tides is pure fun. It takes a while to get up to speed (the first half had me worried it would end up in the same area as Indiana Jones 4 or Rocky 4 ended up in), but once it picks up, the movie doesn't stop until the finish. Johnny Depp is always a joy to watch on screen, and always finds a way to work with his part. Just look at Secret Window: a predictible and contrive movie, yet Johnny Depp still sorta shines through. At this point in the series, it is starting to feel a little tired. Pirates of the Caribbean is really playing its last chips here. Not all the originality is there, though the mermaids were one of the more interesting things seen in the Pirates movies. Jack Sparrow's jokes are starting to get a little tacky, but there are still a few that will draw genuine laughs. Let's just hope Depp keeps to his word with "Did everybody see that, because I won't be doing it again." A fun one to watch, but the series is steering into some dangerous tides here. Expand
  25. Jul 5, 2011
    7
    Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides is an enjoyable movie filled with a perfect mix of humor, suspense and action, a recipe to have at the edge of your seat. Johnny Depp easily lives up to his reputation bringing wit and humor to set completing the newest addition to the Pirates of the Caribbean saga and making it a pleasure for all (well twelve and onwards).
  26. Jul 3, 2013
    4
    Not the worst Pirates of the Caribbean movie, but still not a good movie. This series started off strong with The Curse of the Black Pearl, but after two awful sequels I lost interest in the series. I went into this movie with an open mind because it looked like a good way to reboot the series. Unfortunately despite it's new cast and plot the movie failed. Johnny Depp is back as CaptainNot the worst Pirates of the Caribbean movie, but still not a good movie. This series started off strong with The Curse of the Black Pearl, but after two awful sequels I lost interest in the series. I went into this movie with an open mind because it looked like a good way to reboot the series. Unfortunately despite it's new cast and plot the movie failed. Johnny Depp is back as Captain Jack Sparrow, one of his most famous roles, and gives a good and goofy performance. However outside of his performance and a some funny moments the movie is dull. The plot is uninteresting and the action is dull and lifeless. There's also a lot of predictability. Rather than being a fresh new start to the Pirates of the Caribbean series it ends up being another poor entry in a series that failed as soon as the first sequel was released. Expand
  27. Jun 13, 2011
    3
    Easily the worst of Pirates of the Caribbean, I watched it in French with some friends and it wasn't great. Although there are some good and funny moments, it is clear that the saga is falling on itself, as well as Jack Sparrow. The first scenes were horrible, too much of a caricature and some characters weren't plausible (such as the fat English nobleman) and Barbossa looked awful in hisEasily the worst of Pirates of the Caribbean, I watched it in French with some friends and it wasn't great. Although there are some good and funny moments, it is clear that the saga is falling on itself, as well as Jack Sparrow. The first scenes were horrible, too much of a caricature and some characters weren't plausible (such as the fat English nobleman) and Barbossa looked awful in his costume. After this terrible ouverture it does tend to get better, bringing in the mermaids was a great idea in my opinion but the love story between one of them and the religious guy just falls right flat, especially when he gives her that stupid name "Syrena"! Everyone in the theatre was like "omg..., how stupid is that!". I know that "syrène" is "mermaid" in English (so it doesn't actually sound false in English), but they could've changed it for **** sake! Anyway, once you've passed the low quality barrier of the movie, you can enjoy the end, which is the best part. So that sets the bad story telling and awful characters. The movie could have been saved by SFX, unfortunately, those aren't great either (worse than it's predecessors) and the environment felt too overdone, too much pushed like an American movie. It feels wrong. All in all, I suggest you watch this movie only if you're a Pirates of the Caribbean die-hard or if you're a complete retard who enjoys stupid movies and has no cultural background. (Sorry for being harsh, but I'm really pissed too have spent money on it). Expand
  28. May 21, 2011
    10
    As with all sequels, particularly fourth ones, I was a bit concerned that Stranger Tides wouldn't live up its predecessors. And while Jerry Bruckheimer/Disney have been churning out some less then great movies (National Treasure 2, Sorcerer's Apprentice, etc.), Stranger Tides impressed me very much. The story, cast, and spcial effects were all great. Overall a very fun, enjoyable movie.As with all sequels, particularly fourth ones, I was a bit concerned that Stranger Tides wouldn't live up its predecessors. And while Jerry Bruckheimer/Disney have been churning out some less then great movies (National Treasure 2, Sorcerer's Apprentice, etc.), Stranger Tides impressed me very much. The story, cast, and spcial effects were all great. Overall a very fun, enjoyable movie. The 3D is surprisingly impressive, but it's just as enjoyable in 2D. Expand
  29. May 22, 2011
    8
    definitely the best of the franchise.The first one was a good film with an excellent cast but Dead Man's Chest and At World's End were much less original.While this one is just the best summer movie since The Hangover
  30. Jun 12, 2011
    3
    Seeing all these 10's makes me remember just how subjective entertainment is. Or how someone's got a PR firm trying to goose the metacritic ratings. Seriously though, for me, this was just an awful movie. The story was blah, the fight scenes where boring, and even bits which might have been interesting were ruined because the script gave everything away up front, so there weren't anySeeing all these 10's makes me remember just how subjective entertainment is. Or how someone's got a PR firm trying to goose the metacritic ratings. Seriously though, for me, this was just an awful movie. The story was blah, the fight scenes where boring, and even bits which might have been interesting were ruined because the script gave everything away up front, so there weren't any surprising reveals. And the ending was ripped right from the third Indian Jones movie, and you saw it coming from a mile away. I suppose they won't retire this franchise until it stops making money, but please producers, can you try a little harder for the next one? Expand
  31. May 21, 2011
    9
    More of the same...but what is wrong with that! You will never have a better time than watching an installment of Pirates of the Caribbean and this one is no exception.
  32. May 24, 2011
    7
    I've never been a big fan of these movies but I think they are entertaining. On Stranger Tides is the most entertaining of them all for being a bit more focused movie. The other movies i felt added way too much yet still wanted the audience to focus on the exploits of Jack Sparrow. This time we can focus on Jack Sparrow and everything else is just peppered in as filler. Instead of treatingI've never been a big fan of these movies but I think they are entertaining. On Stranger Tides is the most entertaining of them all for being a bit more focused movie. The other movies i felt added way too much yet still wanted the audience to focus on the exploits of Jack Sparrow. This time we can focus on Jack Sparrow and everything else is just peppered in as filler. Instead of treating this as a fourth tale of the story, it acts as another adventure with Jack Sparrow. The central plot is getting to the fountain of youth and everything conviens on that. Other parts of the story left much to be desired for developing the characters. Yet I don't think it would make any difference on the outcome. The action, though it wasn't as grand as At Worlds End, it fit well here in coalation to the plot and characters. Performances were all good and Johnny Depp shines again. If you are looking for great story and wonderous magic, its not here. However, it serves as a nice time going to the movies. Expand
  33. May 26, 2011
    6
    I can think of many worse ways to spend an evening than watching "On Stranger Tides". I really enjoyed the first 2 movies in the Pirates series but for me this is like the third and just OK. The only reason I gave a 6 as I enjoyed the 3D at the cinema, if not in 3D then I'd give an average 5. If you like the series or Jonny Depp then its worth a watch.
  34. May 31, 2012
    7
    Johnny Depp is back with the most iconic role of his career, Captain Jack Sparrow. It is time to fly the pirate flag again. Thiz time, he is on a quest for the Fountain of Youth without two other main characters, Will Turner (Orlando Bloom) and Elizabeth Swann (Keira Knightley). But do not worry, it does not mean that thiz sequel will be less fun than the previous trilogy. They sail atJohnny Depp is back with the most iconic role of his career, Captain Jack Sparrow. It is time to fly the pirate flag again. Thiz time, he is on a quest for the Fountain of Youth without two other main characters, Will Turner (Orlando Bloom) and Elizabeth Swann (Keira Knightley). But do not worry, it does not mean that thiz sequel will be less fun than the previous trilogy. They sail at almost full speed, the infamous pirates like Blackbeard (Ian McShane) and my favorite Captain Barbossa (Geoffrey Rush) are about to make a rousing new adventure. Thiz sequel is directed by Rob Marshall who is formerly known for his successful musicals like CHICAGO (2002) and NINE (2009). For the first half hour, Captain Jackâ Expand
  35. Oct 20, 2011
    6
    On Stranger Tides is far from the best 'Pirates' movie but it isn't as bad as people say. After the seeing the disastrous third film I didn't know what to expect. I didn't expect much and this probably did me good as the film seemed okay to me. The visuals and acting was great but Blackbeard never really seemed as cool as he was in real life. Story was a little off and there were partsOn Stranger Tides is far from the best 'Pirates' movie but it isn't as bad as people say. After the seeing the disastrous third film I didn't know what to expect. I didn't expect much and this probably did me good as the film seemed okay to me. The visuals and acting was great but Blackbeard never really seemed as cool as he was in real life. Story was a little off and there were parts that were supposed to be for laughs but didn't really work. Another thing that made this sort of disappointing was the lack of time in a ship, the 3 Pirates film spent most of the time in a ship and because of that this didn't really feel like a pirate movie. On Stranger Tides never reached the greatness of the first film but it was better than I expected and better than the last film. Expand
  36. Jun 22, 2011
    7
    On Stranger Tides is a frustrating fun time! The cast is great, the script improved, the action is breathtaking, and the pacing better. The movie is a bit stale, no lying there, and some of the new characters were a bit of a waste, but Pirates was still a fun time!
  37. Jul 4, 2011
    5
    I've enjoyed the first three films in this series, but this one was a disappointment. Sure there are some parts of it that are good, but overall it disappoints. Predictable plot and weak chemistry between the characters.
  38. Jun 4, 2011
    8
    While this film outshines it's two predecessors massively and could stand next to "Curse of the Black Pearl" independently, it does have some minor trouble with irrelevant subplots and scenes the film could've done without.
  39. Jun 15, 2011
    6
    If you are looking for fun, nice scenes, decent acting, charismatic actors, then this movie have it all. If you are looking for a story to believe and trust, definitely this movie lacks it. But, you have to go and watch it, you won't regret it, more than two hours will pass just like that.
  40. May 30, 2011
    5
    ok did i like it? yes, i did. But that is from a fan of the series standpoint. Now let me act like a true critic and really judge the movie.It wasnt all that great. The acting was about the same as the other pirates movies. the fx were up to pare, and the story was somewhat mediocre. I mean there were'nt any battles at sea, like in the other pirate movies, when i think of pirates i thinkok did i like it? yes, i did. But that is from a fan of the series standpoint. Now let me act like a true critic and really judge the movie.It wasnt all that great. The acting was about the same as the other pirates movies. the fx were up to pare, and the story was somewhat mediocre. I mean there were'nt any battles at sea, like in the other pirate movies, when i think of pirates i think of awesome naval battles. This installment just didn't deliver. And honest to god i wish Disney would drop it and a another production company picks the series up. because if they make a new one, i expect blood, i mean there pirates lets push for an R rating. Expand
  41. May 25, 2011
    8
    The Pirates movies have been a bit of a hit and miss for me. I enjoyed the first movie while the second and third were just alright. This movie seems to take the cake for the series for me. Great characters such as Barbosa and Jack (of course) are back, but the real great character in this movie is Blackbeard. I feel that he was done so well and really showcases this evil pirate withoutThe Pirates movies have been a bit of a hit and miss for me. I enjoyed the first movie while the second and third were just alright. This movie seems to take the cake for the series for me. Great characters such as Barbosa and Jack (of course) are back, but the real great character in this movie is Blackbeard. I feel that he was done so well and really showcases this evil pirate without taking it to ridiculous extremes. The story was entertaining as I love epic adventure movies like this one. The cinematography of the lands was outstanding and it was always cool to look at the environments that the movie was shot in. Me being a fan of the age of piracy and Johnny Depp and the overall idea of Pirates of the Caribbean make this one of the most enjoyable movies to come out this far into the year. Expand
  42. Jun 5, 2011
    5
    After two disappointing sequels the PotC franchise is back with Pirates of the Carribean: On Stranger Tides and I was optimistic that they could rediscover the magic that enthralled us all and make up for Dead Man Chest and At Worlds End. However after an exciting and an opening with great potential i'm afraid it was all downhill from there. Jack Sparrow is back this time however he is onAfter two disappointing sequels the PotC franchise is back with Pirates of the Carribean: On Stranger Tides and I was optimistic that they could rediscover the magic that enthralled us all and make up for Dead Man Chest and At Worlds End. However after an exciting and an opening with great potential i'm afraid it was all downhill from there. Jack Sparrow is back this time however he is on a quest for the Fountain of Youth however he runs into an old flame in Angelica (Penelope Cruz) who entices Jack and ultimately he ends up onboard The Queen Anne's Revenge, the ruthless pirate Blackbeards (Ian McShane) ship as he himself is after the Fountain of Youth. And thats were there the problems begin. The characters just aren't as appealing and fail to connect with the audience like the previous characters did in the first three movies. Cruz is decent enough but when you look at how good Keira Knightley was theres no comparison. Ian McShane doesn't convince as a ruthless pirate or the villain of the movie like Geoffrey Rush or Bill Nighy did as Barbossa and Davy Jones. The plot itself and more importantly has big issues. For the first time in a Pirates film I didn't really see the point of what was happening it just seemed irrelevant. Many criticisced how overly complicated At Worlds End plot was but this just felt very sub-par and as the film ran along it fell flat even the ending which was too predictable. Instead, it seems as though Rob Marshall has focused on delivering to much action scenes rather than focus on building the story or film or even try and get us interested in a character other than Jack Sparrow because after the 100th sword fight it becomes slightly tiresome. Thankfully for the film Johnny Depp still does the business as Sparrow and Geoffrey Rush is brilliant as Barbossa however they are treading finely as it seems even with Depp on top form the jokes are wearing thin and the Pirates franchise seems to becoming dull, predictable and stale. There will no doubt be another sequel however I hope for the sake of what was a great film franchise they have a large rethink in their approach and get the proper people in place who can bring freshness aboard a sinking ship! Expand
  43. May 20, 2011
    10
    There is a lot of good actors in this movie such as Jesse Jane. There are lots of good scenes (with nudity). This could be the best movie of the year. This is a movie I would take my kids to. Pirates 2: Stagnetti Revenge for movie of the year.
  44. Jun 8, 2011
    7
    Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides is a perfect summer flick, but that doesn't necessarily make the flick itself "perfect". It has a very good cast, if you don't include the Holy man played by Sam Claflin, it also has a very great atmosphere, as all of the Pirates of the Caribbean films do, it's biggest flaw is it's messy plot and flow. It's very well paced through the first hourPirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides is a perfect summer flick, but that doesn't necessarily make the flick itself "perfect". It has a very good cast, if you don't include the Holy man played by Sam Claflin, it also has a very great atmosphere, as all of the Pirates of the Caribbean films do, it's biggest flaw is it's messy plot and flow. It's very well paced through the first hour and then it becomes very rushed and before you know it, it's over. Expand
  45. May 20, 2011
    8
    Pirates of the caribbean On stranger tides is fun , very enjoyable, interesting, brilliant and has a good history. It meets its promises, giving us again a fresh, and addictive movie. Go wach! It'll be an awesome 2h and 25minutes
  46. May 20, 2011
    5
    Yo ho ho and a bottle of ho-hum! No stranger here, in the fourth installment of the popular PIRATES franchise, as everything seems eerily familiar - just made with a lot less passion. Clocking in at almost 2 hours and 20 minutes, ON STRANGER TIDES is a needlessly long, meandering, action-forced and semi-incohesive sea-going flick that was made to deliver boat loads of moeny and mildlyYo ho ho and a bottle of ho-hum! No stranger here, in the fourth installment of the popular PIRATES franchise, as everything seems eerily familiar - just made with a lot less passion. Clocking in at almost 2 hours and 20 minutes, ON STRANGER TIDES is a needlessly long, meandering, action-forced and semi-incohesive sea-going flick that was made to deliver boat loads of moeny and mildly entertain (which it does do from time to time). Although it neither sinks nor swims, the whole affair has lost its freshness, grit, swagger and big budget pop. It's an adventure about the fountain of youth taht's lost its youthful charm. Expand
  47. Sep 4, 2011
    7
    Okay. Hot new girl, plenty of action, three different campaigns. All twisted into a journey of trying to find the Fountain of Youth. There are the Spanish, who want to destroy it, because it interferes with their religion. There are the French, who want to make their king immortal. And there are the pirates, whose desire is to make Blackbeard immortal. The story is sound, and characterOkay. Hot new girl, plenty of action, three different campaigns. All twisted into a journey of trying to find the Fountain of Youth. There are the Spanish, who want to destroy it, because it interferes with their religion. There are the French, who want to make their king immortal. And there are the pirates, whose desire is to make Blackbeard immortal. The story is sound, and character relationships are intriguing. I'm sure it would've been plenty more enjoyable if I remembered any of the characters from the previous films. This is a good, action filled movie, perfect for the cheap seats or shaw video on demand. Expand
  48. May 22, 2011
    10
    'Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides' - I've been following the progress of this movie ever since it reported to be in production. I would search for related news articles almost weekly, and each time anything was announced, I was excited about whatever news I'd heard. So you can imagine my excitement during the week leading up to the release of this movie. My expectations were'Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides' - I've been following the progress of this movie ever since it reported to be in production. I would search for related news articles almost weekly, and each time anything was announced, I was excited about whatever news I'd heard. So you can imagine my excitement during the week leading up to the release of this movie. My expectations were insanely high, and I was confident that a new director and overhauled cast would provide the breath of fresh air or 'shot in the arm' that the franchise was in need of after the overblown, near-incomprehensible 'At World's End'.
    However, I must say that my hopes were somewhat lowered when I started reading some of the more negative reviews, and the dismal score that the film held on RottenTomatoes didn't do much to help this. Still, I remained positive and excited for this new installment into this series which I've loved from the very beginning. I was somewhat apprehensive, though; I thought that I was going to have to convince myself that I was enjoying the film - this was my fear. But it wasn't long into the film that this notion completely left my mind. The atmosphere and fun of the movie had taken over. The fast-paced opening to the film completely distracted me from all else; it was the same 'Pirates' action and excitement that drew me into the first two films (and the third, to a degree).
    But although the action was exciting and well-choreographed, it wasn't so much the action sequences that were the highlight of the film; but the humor. This film had some of the best witty banter & one-liners in the whole 'Pirates' series. And while Terry Rossio & Ted Elliott can be thanked for this, it was really the actors and their chemistry between them that brought the script alive. Depp was at his best, delivering both the dialogue as well as the physical persona of Jack Sparrow with the professional brilliance that we've come to expect from the man. Cruz played off of Depp perfectly, and vice-versa, as the characters of Jack and Angelica clashed in the most delightful way. McShane was perfect in his role of playing the genuinely evil villain of Blackbeard, whilst Rush was once again terrific in his role as the whimsical villain. Hollywood debutantes Sam Claflin and Ã
    Expand
  49. Oct 7, 2011
    3
    Bad, just bad. This film is not the one I expected from the Pirates of the Caribbean saga. How can the story and the techniques of the films is so boring and monotone like that?! The character didn't have their own characteristics, and the plot is so bad. Don't waste your time for this things, you deserved more!
  50. May 23, 2011
    8
    great movie no doubt about that, but a. it isn't really a pirates of the Caribbean film (yes same characters, songs ect.) but it doesn't really have the same focus or point as a normal pirates film

    b. it isn't based on the book on stranger tides, the only common things are the zombies, blackbeard, pirates and the cleric (yes no mermaids :() on that, it is still a good movie the
    great movie no doubt about that, but a. it isn't really a pirates of the Caribbean film (yes same characters, songs ect.) but it doesn't really have the same focus or point as a normal pirates film

    b. it isn't based on the book on stranger tides, the only common things are the zombies, blackbeard, pirates and the cleric (yes no mermaids :()

    on that, it is still a good movie the mermaids r awesome, best part by far, the story is great and exciting
    the main gripe with this film aside from the misappropriated title is the zombies, in the book lots more focus on voodoo, but the zombies in this have 2 character models 2! and no real development aside from the fact that they can take a sword and are controlled by blackbeard.

    this movie is still good though i need to reinforce this, the music is awesome, the story is quirky and cool, mermaids ftw also i think the spanish are funny :), but i think it just lacked development not much is explained as to why different things happen in the movie.
    Expand
  51. May 23, 2011
    8
    This movie feels like a return to form from the first movie. A macguffin chased by multiple factions, each with different motives, spectacular getaways, and self-sufficiency from the rest of the series. The second and third movies were dreadful, but thankfully, this one veers away from that direction.
  52. May 25, 2011
    10
    Pirates of the Caribbean 4 movie is a hilarious and very cool that Jerry Bruckheimer did not let down. I found a little needless to the use of 3D ... But great, quick and intelligent characters, especially Johnny Depp. Penelope Cruz is still impeccable. Anyway, Pirates 4 is a great movie for all to see.
  53. May 30, 2011
    9
    Not a bad movie at all, Plenty of action and sword play. The characters especially Depp and McShane were pretty good. The plot was there and the whole thing moved along at a good pace. I have seen better films but I've seen a hell of a lot worse. I feel it is a good family movie and a good addition to the other films
  54. Jun 19, 2011
    5
    While this is not as highly entertaining as the first 3 films of the pirates saga, it is still a fun installment even though the 3D was useless. The story could have been better. After the last 2 had so much story to them it just feels like they were trying to make it too simple. I would say this would be a great rental on a friday night. 5/10
  55. May 27, 2011
    10
    For starters : I watched the 2D version. Action, Jack Sparrow, fighting, Jack Sparrow, humour, Jack Sparrow, Penelope Cruz and more of Jack Sparrow. This is a movie for Jack Sparrow fans. Its a simple movie with chases, sudden action changes and sword fights. Uncomplicated plot and Jack Sparrow. I love the movie. Please do not expect much more. If you expect anything more, go watch something else.
  56. May 23, 2011
    7
    Though better than its predecessor, this movie owes everything to the strength of Johnny Depp's charm and the presence of Geoffrey Rush and Ian McShane.The absolutely terrific original score by Hans Zimmer makes most of the scenes come alive. On Stranger Tides is not an exceptional summer popcorn movie, but it provides acceptable summer fun.
    You'll go, you'll enjoy, and a month from now
    Though better than its predecessor, this movie owes everything to the strength of Johnny Depp's charm and the presence of Geoffrey Rush and Ian McShane.The absolutely terrific original score by Hans Zimmer makes most of the scenes come alive. On Stranger Tides is not an exceptional summer popcorn movie, but it provides acceptable summer fun.
    You'll go, you'll enjoy, and a month from now you won't remember much about it. " ***1/2 "
    Expand
  57. May 20, 2011
    10
    This is a really good movie. For fans of Jack Sparrow or Hector Barbossa and Pirates fans in general, it is a must see. Ian Mcshane does a terrific job at playing the bad guy. The Costumes are well designed and as always there is a nice play on the legends and stories of that time period.
  58. May 20, 2011
    9
    Capt'n Jack is back! I thought this movie was very entertaining. I would rate it as the second best in the series, after the original. Lots of good acting and an enjoyable story.
  59. May 20, 2011
    9
    Johnny Depp is back as Captain Jack and his crew are in the quest of immortality. Old and new enemies are back while Jack faces new dangers and enemies. He will face: zombies, mermaids, Royal Navy, and Blackbeard. Laughs, adventure, excitement, and action are brought back in the search of eternal life. This movie might not be the best but it's worth to see and deserves a solid 9!
  60. May 20, 2011
    10
    When I first saw PotC 1, I was overwhelmed by the magic of the story and the characters. Then came the 2nd and the 3rd movie and I was a bit disappointed with those two. It all suddenly seemed to be all about Elizabeth and Wills love story and the other characters were pushed into the background. So when I heard that there was going to be a 4th PotC movie with my two favorite captains -When I first saw PotC 1, I was overwhelmed by the magic of the story and the characters. Then came the 2nd and the 3rd movie and I was a bit disappointed with those two. It all suddenly seemed to be all about Elizabeth and Wills love story and the other characters were pushed into the background. So when I heard that there was going to be a 4th PotC movie with my two favorite captains - Barbossa and Sparrow - and almost a whole new cast, I was once again excited, and the movie did not disappointed me. It was fun, witty, had lots of action and adventure. And after seeing it, I had that same magical feeling that I experienced after seeing PotC 1. I simply love this movie and I hope there will be a 5th and a 6th one! Expand
  61. May 30, 2011
    5
    I had high hopes for On Stranger Tides when I heard that it was intended to be far less bogged down by numerous ludicrous subplots than its predecessors. Unfortunately, this abandonment of over-complex narrative results in you actually being able to follow what is going on. I say unfortunately because now that you can understand the POTC world, you realise how ridiculous a series it is.I had high hopes for On Stranger Tides when I heard that it was intended to be far less bogged down by numerous ludicrous subplots than its predecessors. Unfortunately, this abandonment of over-complex narrative results in you actually being able to follow what is going on. I say unfortunately because now that you can understand the POTC world, you realise how ridiculous a series it is. Cap'n Jack is once again on a quest, but what this quest entails hardly matters when every scene is specifically tailored for Johnny Depp to show off. I never thought I'd tire of Captain Sparrow, but I think I finally have. It's not all bad though - there are some nice one-liners, the mermaids are impressive and Ian McShane is a real scene-stealer as the diabolical Blackbeard. Expand
  62. May 20, 2011
    9
    To me this movie was great. It was close to the first film and I love Pirates of the caribbean a lot. Besides, I like the plot and Blackbeard. On the other hand, some actors like Pitelle and Magetti wern't in the movie. What the heck? Anyways, few parts I didn't understand such as when Phillip escape from the fighting in the fountian of youth and the Brits and Spaniards finding theTo me this movie was great. It was close to the first film and I love Pirates of the caribbean a lot. Besides, I like the plot and Blackbeard. On the other hand, some actors like Pitelle and Magetti wern't in the movie. What the heck? Anyways, few parts I didn't understand such as when Phillip escape from the fighting in the fountian of youth and the Brits and Spaniards finding the fountian in the first place. But still a great movie. I understand everything.......................except that wig. (P.S. I've seen worse movies. This isn't one of them) Expand
  63. May 21, 2011
    9
    The critics must still be jaded by the 2nd and 3rd movies. I can't see how they give it such low ratings. This movie redeems the franchise. All the magic, humor and piratey goodness have returned. The story is fun and easily followed. Forget the 2nd and 3rd and count this as the only sequel!
  64. May 21, 2011
    9
    Pirates is back! On Stranger Tides more than makes up for the 2nd and 3rd Pirate movies. There was only one story-arc and it didn't drag on. They didn't reuse overdone jokes or characters that had grown stale. There weren't a million, really long swordfights. This movie was done right; it was fresh, funny, and exciting. Certainly worth seeing in theaters.
  65. May 21, 2011
    6
    Jack reunites with his long lost love Angelica who he admits has 'stirrings' for on a journey to the fountain of youth alongside the new baddie-the magic possessing Blackbeard and his nasty flame-throwing,nitrous powered Queen Anne's Revenge. Its a generally good movie and you won't fall asleep during it but the whole story of Jack Sparrow is getting old and predictable.
  66. May 21, 2011
    9
    On Stranger Tides sails in with its own charms. The lack of Will Turner and Elizabeth Swann is where the feeling of something amiss comes from. If you're a fan of Jack and Barbossa as well as Mr. Gibbs, then you will enjoy this installment of the Pirate Franchise. It is a good film, not the best, definitely not the worst.
  67. May 25, 2011
    7
    Okay, I'll make this short and to the point. The fact is, this movie has the lowest critics score of any in the series. The truth is, it may actually be the best one. The cast is great, lead by the always good Johnny Depp. I actually didn't care for Depp that much a few months ago, but he's starting to grow on me now. The action is occasionally confusing, but those scenes of underwhelmentOkay, I'll make this short and to the point. The fact is, this movie has the lowest critics score of any in the series. The truth is, it may actually be the best one. The cast is great, lead by the always good Johnny Depp. I actually didn't care for Depp that much a few months ago, but he's starting to grow on me now. The action is occasionally confusing, but those scenes of underwhelment are made up for by some really good action set pieces. The direction is great, too. I thought that Rob Marshall, who previously did musicals, was a bit of an odd choice at first, but I honestly think that his work in Chicago helped with some of the action pieces. There is a love story in this one as well (not between Jack and Penelope Cruz, but rather a missionary and mermaid), and I have to say, this one was handled really well. I honestly cared about the realtionship between these two, which I can't say about Will and Elizabeth (getting married on a ship in the middle of a battle? REALLY?). Now, the story may be a bit convoluted, and the CGI in this isn't as good as the last installments, but that being said, I could still follow the story quite well, and I would rather have the CGI be the film's low point than have it be the only good thing (like in the last 2 Pirates films). If you want to se this movie, I say go right on ahead. If you're like me, you'll love it. IF not, than I'm sorry that I may have lead you to spend money on something you didn't like. Expand
  68. May 21, 2011
    2
    This movie was just a flat out mess. There was no pacing, characters didn't have a character, they had a name and a set of objectives that they had to do to advance the plot or cause something to happen that shouldn't have, but the producer thought would be exciting like having someone jump into the camera away from an explosion in a PIRATE MOVIE, or have a chase scene in a busy town thatThis movie was just a flat out mess. There was no pacing, characters didn't have a character, they had a name and a set of objectives that they had to do to advance the plot or cause something to happen that shouldn't have, but the producer thought would be exciting like having someone jump into the camera away from an explosion in a PIRATE MOVIE, or have a chase scene in a busy town that people should be barely able to move in (which is actually how the chase ends, why there is suddenly a huge path available before that who knows) riding a wooden cart full of flaming coals which for some reason isn't completely burning. I'm going to stop listing out things now or else I'll just be writing a summary of the entire movie. Captain Sparrow's character arc is starting to remind me of Stewie Griffens arc too. At the start of the series, he was an evil mastermind with gay tendancies, but a fun and original character. Now he is just gay. All of the interest, sublty, and roundness to the character is gone. Every other character is completely flat and only act to advance the plot in the way that the writers, or maybe the producer, wanted. They have no personality, no depth, no soul. They are not characters they are just living mcguffins. Nearly every big event in the movie just happens. It is not explained or even hinted at in any way of the sort why or how it was happening. There wasn't even a reason why or how the characters knew what they were doing. Even in simple little dialogue interactions, characters had responses that made no sense. As I'm looking back at the movie now, I can confidently say that if you picked out ANY scene in the movie, I could tell you at least 3 things wrong with it. I sincerely hope the writers of this movie never do so again. At the 30 minute mark I was already ready to walk out, but stayed because I did enjoy the other 3 movies. In 2 and 3 they had a few boring segments which turned to great ones later on, I kept hoping this would be the case but it sure as hell was not. The only reason I can see that this is getting positive reviews at all is either that a) these people are from disney or were paid off or b) throwing big name celebrities into a movie really will make people like it whether it is a good movie or not. Expand
  69. May 22, 2011
    4
    We took our 9 year old nephew to see this one as it was in IMAX 3 D. The other POC movies have been pretty decent so I thought, why not we can see Thor another time. We were pretty excited about the 3D aspect as well.
    This movie was a huge let down. There was way too much dialogue and not enough action; the most interesting part of the movie were the mermainds. The 3D was a waste as there
    We took our 9 year old nephew to see this one as it was in IMAX 3 D. The other POC movies have been pretty decent so I thought, why not we can see Thor another time. We were pretty excited about the 3D aspect as well.
    This movie was a huge let down. There was way too much dialogue and not enough action; the most interesting part of the movie were the mermainds. The 3D was a waste as there were maybe about a cumulative 5 minutes with decent use of 3D. I wouldn't waste your time on this one. Johnny Deep needed the check.
    Expand
  70. May 22, 2011
    5
    I found this movie to be rather boring and I feel asleep a couple of times and that's not good. So it gets a 5 out of 10 just because Johnny Depp is Johnny Depp but the rest of the characters just weren't that good and the mermaids just not that amazing. This a wait for it come out on DVD and then watch it kind of movie
  71. Jun 13, 2011
    8
    It's a highly entertaining movie, maybe not as entertaining as the first Pirates of the Caribbean movie, but it's really good. Like the first three movies, that one received mixed reviews from professional critics, too. I'm not really surprised about that, but fact is, the success of the movie shows us that they are at least not perfectly right with their evaluation... I was a bitIt's a highly entertaining movie, maybe not as entertaining as the first Pirates of the Caribbean movie, but it's really good. Like the first three movies, that one received mixed reviews from professional critics, too. I'm not really surprised about that, but fact is, the success of the movie shows us that they are at least not perfectly right with their evaluation... I was a bit skeptical about that film being without Elizabeth and Will, I really like those characters and thought it wouldn't be Pirates of the Caribbean without them. But it is! It's a good story, well-crafted (just like I expected) and the actors are good, too (or is anybody here thinking that Johnny Depp is not great in his role as Jack Sparrow). In conclusion, I don't think it's the movie of the year and it's not perfect, but the movie has made me feel anticipation because of the next two of that kind, so it did his job ;) Expand
  72. May 22, 2011
    9
    I was not expecting this installment to be nearly as good as it was. The fact that it didn't have the Elizabeth/Will storyline made it instantly better than the last 2. I enjoyed the ride all the way through. The story was fun, the acting was great, and the entire experience left me saying, yea, I would go see a pirates 5! The critics are just too harsh.
  73. May 22, 2011
    8
    Good solid sequel that will not win any oscars, but is a good deal of fun. Better than the other sequels and Johnny Depp on phenomenal form it is a good way to spend 2hrs and 17 mins. Also stick for the end of the credits.
  74. May 22, 2011
    3
    The Pirates trilogy has always been one in which i could ignore any major problems with the films (most of which were in PotC 2 and 3)and allow myself to enjoy them. While not great, the two sequels at least attempted an air of "epicness," for lack of a better term, with a grand mythological storyline and a bunch of subplots, which could have been annoying or interesting based on yourThe Pirates trilogy has always been one in which i could ignore any major problems with the films (most of which were in PotC 2 and 3)and allow myself to enjoy them. While not great, the two sequels at least attempted an air of "epicness," for lack of a better term, with a grand mythological storyline and a bunch of subplots, which could have been annoying or interesting based on your opinion. They were entertaining, though partially exhausting, and were at least partially memorable. On the contrary, On Stranger Tides was not epic, or even magical, in its storyline or characters. There was nothing strange about it, and instead, the movie was everything you would expect of a money-grabbing attempt by Disney. The supposedly legendary Blackbeard was not nearly as fearsome as Barbosa in the first film, the plot was disjointed and uninteresting, and Jack Sparrow is becoming predictable. Overall, it was disappointing to watch such a previously ambitious series dumb itself down to such low levels. We needed a simpler story, not a boring one. Expand
  75. May 22, 2011
    10
    Just as good and entertaining as the previous installments.. not as much action which you'd think would be disappointing but it wasn't. Johnny Depp delivers again and the cast was in top form. Ian Mcshane and Penelopy Cruz were both amazing.
  76. Nov 3, 2011
    3
    The Pirates of the Caribbean movies have come along way since the first one came out, it was fun, mysterious and intriguing. Unfortunately for this newest addition to the Pirates universe it simply fails to deliver. There are three major drawbacks which dragged my personal rating for this move down to a 3.

    First of, they tried compressing a to big of a story into one movie. The story
    The Pirates of the Caribbean movies have come along way since the first one came out, it was fun, mysterious and intriguing. Unfortunately for this newest addition to the Pirates universe it simply fails to deliver. There are three major drawbacks which dragged my personal rating for this move down to a 3.

    First of, they tried compressing a to big of a story into one movie. The story lacks coordination and transfers the viewer from location to location, from plot to plot, from character to character in to little time so that you will just not be able to tell what exactly is going on. You will have no emotional bond with any character or the stakes at hand. The overall story of this movie is just simply to big to be put into a few hours. Second, the characters presented in this movie are just flat out bad. The leap in time between the previous movie and this one is just way to big to make you understand anything about any character involved in this movie. Jack is of course back, which is a pretty big drawback, considering he is actually the main character in this movie. In all the previous movies he is a fun and enjoyable character, BUT ONLY because he was WASN'T the main character. The entire movie now evolves around to many lame ass jokes and hes annoying personality, which was fun in the previous movies because hes personality was present in much smaller doses. Sparrow made the movie way to annoying and he's trickery and fighting action has become way to predictable because of it. Hector Barbossa suffered immensely from the huge time leap between this movie and the previous one. He pretty much resides with the Spaniards all the time, diminishing the characters value and time on screen, which is of course really a waste. Black beard also suffers from an obvious lack of time and story, he is just to big of a character. You will just not really get to know him as we got to know Davy Jones and Barbossa. He's daughter also suffers this drawback, although she is definitely not as interesting, which she could have been.

    Finally we get to see this sailor priest whom, I guess, needed to fill up the more serious and romantic role in this movie, but failed miserably. The love between a mermaid and this sailor could have certainly be more fleshed out. Yet again, it suffers because of lack of time and story.

    And last...3D fails, yet again. Clearly this movie lacked any of it. The occasional thrown dagger that gets a 3D makeover or scenery that looks as if it has a bit more 3D depth to it, but all in all it just simply lacks 3D. Conclusion: Very disappointed. It is way to obvious there was to much ambition (or lack of it) for this movie and it suffered heavily because of it.
    Expand
  77. May 23, 2011
    3
    The movie didn't work for me, its just, i have this great expectation since i was a fan from the very first start of this film but this one, i can consider that there are some parts which we can call as lame one.
    First, the settings were unprepared and not convincing
    second, acting of the other actors were kind ''wtf'' was that!
  78. May 29, 2011
    10
    I love this movie... is so amazing... I really really love this movie!! I love this movie... is so amazing... I really really love this movie!! I love this movie... is so amazing... I really really love this movie!!
  79. May 25, 2011
    8
    Though hardcore fans may find it a teensy-weensy but disappointing, it still is as magical as always. After Will and Elizabeth's disappearance, this movie brings more focus onto Jack and Barbossa. It begins with the British mistaking a bewildered Gibbs as Jack, and bringing him on trial in front of Jack himself. Fights follow, involving chandeliers, cream cakes and a flaming coal cart.Though hardcore fans may find it a teensy-weensy but disappointing, it still is as magical as always. After Will and Elizabeth's disappearance, this movie brings more focus onto Jack and Barbossa. It begins with the British mistaking a bewildered Gibbs as Jack, and bringing him on trial in front of Jack himself. Fights follow, involving chandeliers, cream cakes and a flaming coal cart. Enter Angelica (Penelope) and the story starts. For those who think they'll miss Will and Elizabeth's romance, the relationship between Philip, a clergyman, and Serena, a mermaid, can serve as a useful distraction.
    The fights may seem a bit predictable at times. Some moments may make you go 'O-hkay. How did THAT happen?'. The background music may seem a bit loud at times, and tends to drown out the dialogues, especially if you're in the cinema halls.
    That aside, PoTC 4 is an enjoyable movie. 8/10.
    Expand
  80. May 26, 2011
    8
    I saw this movie because my girlfriend wanted to see it. I went for the popcorn to tell you the truth because i was totally confused by the convoluted story that she was explaining to me. I only saw the third movie so i thought i was gonna be lost seeing this one, but the thing i realized about the pirates movies is that it's more of a movie that you go see to have fun and escape theI saw this movie because my girlfriend wanted to see it. I went for the popcorn to tell you the truth because i was totally confused by the convoluted story that she was explaining to me. I only saw the third movie so i thought i was gonna be lost seeing this one, but the thing i realized about the pirates movies is that it's more of a movie that you go see to have fun and escape the mundane world we live in. The movie's scenery is awesome has always and the story kept my attention. I left feeling i got my monies worth Expand
  81. May 26, 2011
    6
    Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides is indeed an okay film. It has an unbelievable amount of potential, yet there are elements that lead it to fall just short of greatness. The most irritating of these elements was the introduction of Philip the missionary. He is a weak and uninteresting character whose love story somehow manages to seem more unrealistic than any special effect orPirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides is indeed an okay film. It has an unbelievable amount of potential, yet there are elements that lead it to fall just short of greatness. The most irritating of these elements was the introduction of Philip the missionary. He is a weak and uninteresting character whose love story somehow manages to seem more unrealistic than any special effect or CGI character. One of my favourite additions to the Pirates saga however, were the mermaids. Their mythology was thoroughly interesting and their introductory scene was spine-tingling. I just wished they'd built the story of the lead mermaid Syrena up a little more instead of wasting time on the Spanish soldiers and their arbitrary appearance and disappearance towards the film's climax. Johnny Depp and Geoffry Rush give solid performances as Jack Sparrow and Hector Barbossa, and it is truly phenomenal to see them back in anew adventure. Penelope Cruz and Ian McShane are invaluable contributions to the Pirates saga as the vivacious Angelica and the menacing Blackbeard.
    Overall the film was an enjoyable experience and I left the theatre happy, however, when you look back on it it is easy to spot areas where it could have been improved.
    Expand
  82. Jun 1, 2011
    6
    I honestly went into the cinema not expecting much from this film but against all my expectations I came out quite pleased indeed. In my opinion it is the low point of the franchise but it still offers some good fight scenes and the famous Pirates of the Caribbean humor we have come to love. Personally the worst thing about the movie is Angelica who I could never fully 'connect' with asI honestly went into the cinema not expecting much from this film but against all my expectations I came out quite pleased indeed. In my opinion it is the low point of the franchise but it still offers some good fight scenes and the famous Pirates of the Caribbean humor we have come to love. Personally the worst thing about the movie is Angelica who I could never fully 'connect' with as with the rest of the cast, but newcomers such as Blackbeard do not fail to please. Overall if you're a fan of the series it's worth watching for sure but it doesn't try anything special to appeal to a new audience. Expand
  83. May 26, 2011
    0
    Just a bad, bad movie. I sat through this hoping for it to get better and unfortunately it never did. It had glimpses of promise and bucketloads of potential, but it never tied up in the end and pretty much presented itself as a generic pirate film full of cliche and cringe-inducing moments. Blackbeard wasn't even a bad guy. It's about time we let the POTC series take its place in movieJust a bad, bad movie. I sat through this hoping for it to get better and unfortunately it never did. It had glimpses of promise and bucketloads of potential, but it never tied up in the end and pretty much presented itself as a generic pirate film full of cliche and cringe-inducing moments. Blackbeard wasn't even a bad guy. It's about time we let the POTC series take its place in movie history before they churn out another one... Expand
  84. May 31, 2011
    9
    I went into this movie unsure of my feelings towards it. I am a big fan of the first three with Bloom and Knightley. However, I always thought Elizabeth (Knightley's character) better suited Jack than she did Will. It seemed to me they jacked up on that part. I also didn't know about Cruz as a romantic replacement.

    Needless to say, however, I came out of the movie decided on a lot
    I went into this movie unsure of my feelings towards it. I am a big fan of the first three with Bloom and Knightley. However, I always thought Elizabeth (Knightley's character) better suited Jack than she did Will. It seemed to me they jacked up on that part. I also didn't know about Cruz as a romantic replacement.

    Needless to say, however, I came out of the movie decided on a lot of things, all of them good. This is a very entertaining movie, and a worthy Pirates installment. The action and humor are top notch. Depp is in high form. You can tell he really loves playing Captain Jack. Some old faces mixed in with plenty of new ones kept the story fresh. Go see it. Pirates 4 is the perfect summer movie.
    Expand
  85. May 27, 2011
    8
    Pirates, Spanish and Privateersâ
  86. May 28, 2011
    6
    I enjoyed the movie, although I often had the feeling it was just 'the movie to much'. They tried to mix in the elements of the previous ones, but they failed somehow. Even though Johnny Depp is acting great (as always) he couldn't carry to movie alone, which he had to do IMO. One of the few great things about this movie was the 'chemistry' between Jack Sparrow and Barbosa, but that wasI enjoyed the movie, although I often had the feeling it was just 'the movie to much'. They tried to mix in the elements of the previous ones, but they failed somehow. Even though Johnny Depp is acting great (as always) he couldn't carry to movie alone, which he had to do IMO. One of the few great things about this movie was the 'chemistry' between Jack Sparrow and Barbosa, but that was about it for the good things. Expand
  87. May 28, 2011
    10
    Without Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightley, the dynamics were way off. Johnny Depp went from being a flake to fulfilling the slightly more responsible role formerly occupied by Orlando Bloom's Will Turner. The interaction between Johnny Depp and Penelope Cruz was long, drawn out, and extraordinarily boring, as opposed to the constant sparks created between Knightley and Depp . PuttingWithout Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightley, the dynamics were way off. Johnny Depp went from being a flake to fulfilling the slightly more responsible role formerly occupied by Orlando Bloom's Will Turner. The interaction between Johnny Depp and Penelope Cruz was long, drawn out, and extraordinarily boring, as opposed to the constant sparks created between Knightley and Depp . Putting Barbosa in the role of legitimate seafarer really diminished his character. The hint of a former love connection between Cruz and Depp along with the ending comment "it's a pirates life for me" by Sparrow indicate a level of commitment not conducive to Sparrow's normal careless and lackadaisical thought processes. This lends support to a feeling of "phoniness" in Jack's Character. If I were Siskel or Ebert I'd give this film two thumbs down and say - "Skip it!" Expand
  88. May 28, 2011
    5
    I went to this picture really wanting to like it. Geoffrey Rush is my favorite actor, so I was really pushing for this to be successful, and some of it is. In the end, however, the picture, longing for its original brilliance, as a whole is just ok.
  89. May 29, 2011
    10
    I loved the first Pirates of the Caribbean. But unfortunately Dead Man's Chest and At World's End were horrible movies. Ok, Dead Man's Chest was a ok movie but At World's End was horrible. Therefore I had high expectations for this one. And I was surprised, On Stranger Tides is actually a great movie. And it's she second best Pirates-movie
  90. Jun 4, 2011
    2
    The whole Pirates of the Caribbean franchise is a bit like a bottle of coke. It starts off all fresh and fizzy, then there's the middle where it tastes a bit off but you finish it anyway, and then there's that bit the bottom that no one wants to drink because it just looks like black water. That's what On Strange Tides is like. Flat coke. The plot is just one ridiculous scene afterThe whole Pirates of the Caribbean franchise is a bit like a bottle of coke. It starts off all fresh and fizzy, then there's the middle where it tastes a bit off but you finish it anyway, and then there's that bit the bottom that no one wants to drink because it just looks like black water. That's what On Strange Tides is like. Flat coke. The plot is just one ridiculous scene after another, the characters are boring and have no development whatsoever, and there are so many loose ends you could probably weave a rug. It's a classic let's-just-get-this-thing-over-with kind of movie and adds nothing to the series whatsoever. Not really worth anyone's time. Expand
  91. May 30, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To be fair, I wanted to enjoy this movie, but what was received seemed less like a professional scripting of a film and more of an adaptation of some child's fan-fiction.

    The plot hardly seemed cannon and offered little consistency in the logic. How did an old man manage to be "fished" by two others? Why did Blackbeard need such a large crew for his ship when simply by pointing the ship would manage itself? Why did daylight only hurt the mermaid in the second half of that saga, when earlier the only issue was breathing in the tank? Why does everyone else just spontaneously begin to remember lore about the fountain?

    The movie delivers on some sequences where the famous "theme" works in action, but this is not the Pirates of the Caribbean you once knew. You care not for the parties involved, and could only care possibly about Jack in his hopping and meshing of allies and enemies, but even then in the end the viewer is confused as to why Jack seemed to not care about the fountain.

    Action? Yes. Plot? No. An extended version of the trailer is all you would need to see. This is the result when a stand alone film turns into a trilogy, then that trilogy gets a fourth installment. What's scary is that after the credits a possible fifth movie is implied, and that movie may be an absolute bomb.

    Just pretend this movie doesn't exist and think of PotC as a good trilogy.
    Expand
  92. May 30, 2011
    10
    Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides is a stunning new movie. I didn't think POTC 4 was going to be as good as Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End, but my thoughts were wrong. POTC 4 is the best chapter in the Pirates Franchise. This new part is much different to any of the first three films, infact it feels like a new triliogy. Pirates of the Caribbean 4 brings amazing newPirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides is a stunning new movie. I didn't think POTC 4 was going to be as good as Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End, but my thoughts were wrong. POTC 4 is the best chapter in the Pirates Franchise. This new part is much different to any of the first three films, infact it feels like a new triliogy. Pirates of the Caribbean 4 brings amazing new special effects and new characters, and will leave you satisfied as you walk out of the cinemas. Johnny Depp brings amazing new escape tactics. Despite being the shortest film in the series running at-137 minutes.(POTC1=139 minutes, POTC2=145 minutes, POTC3= 162 minutes), POTC 4 fills in every thing needed to make a good movie. Ian McShane plays evil ruthless pirate captain of the Queen Anne's Revenge. Blackbeard almost meets the level of Davy Jones(played by Bill Nighy).

    Captain Jack Sparrow crosses paths with a woman from his past (Angelica) and is forced among the ship 'Queen Anne's Revenge'. Angelica's father Blackbeard is also in search of the Fountain of Youth.
    The spaniards, King George II's men and Blackbeard's crew race to the Fountain of youth.

    Watch POTC 4 soon...

    My Pirates Order:
    1.POTC4. I give it 10/10
    2.POTC3: 9.8/10
    3.POTC1: 9.2
    4.POTC2: 8.8/10
    Expand
  93. May 30, 2011
    6
    I love the pirates movies and had extremely high hopes for this one. I knew those high hopes would never be met but I still expected something better. The movie was not bad or boring but comparing it to the first two it did not hold up. It is certainly better than the third but not a must watch. It certainly a fun ride but not to the extent of the first two.
  94. Jun 1, 2011
    7
    People have talked down on this movie but I watched it and I couldn't see why. The action scenes were great. Depp and Cruz have great chemistry (the last scene in particular was pretty hilarious). Blackbeard was a great villain and his rivalry with Barbosa was well developed throughout the movie. The ending part with Jack at the fountain was a little predictable but it was the way youPeople have talked down on this movie but I watched it and I couldn't see why. The action scenes were great. Depp and Cruz have great chemistry (the last scene in particular was pretty hilarious). Blackbeard was a great villain and his rivalry with Barbosa was well developed throughout the movie. The ending part with Jack at the fountain was a little predictable but it was the way you would've wanted the movie to end. Definitely not the best, but a good addition to the series!! Expand
  95. Jun 1, 2011
    5
    This new installment to Pirates was ok,its at the bottom of my list in the Pirates series. They all seem to be going downhill, the first was superb, the second was pretty good, the 3rd was decent and this new installent is ok. Captain Jack Sparrow is back at what he does best, except it gets old throughout this film, the first 3 were better in that their were others stories involved, notThis new installment to Pirates was ok,its at the bottom of my list in the Pirates series. They all seem to be going downhill, the first was superb, the second was pretty good, the 3rd was decent and this new installent is ok. Captain Jack Sparrow is back at what he does best, except it gets old throughout this film, the first 3 were better in that their were others stories involved, not just Jack, I understand theirs the whole Blackbeard and his daughter sideplot but their was just way too much Sparrow. I actually fell asleep in this film about 4 times, and everytime i wokeup I'd look at my watch to see if it was almost over, it may have been the shortest in the series but it was also the longest because it just kinda dragged on, overall I give this a 5.5/10. Collapse
  96. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was really excited to see this movie and watch Johnny Depp amaze me again with his acting and at first it was looking to be a pretty good movie until near the end of act 2 and the rest of act 3 it kinda went well overboard lets just say. At the beginning it look to be a funny classy pirate adventure as jack sparrow searches for the fountain of youth while collecting the ingredients for the thing to work properly along with his ex-girlfriend surprisingly and the nasty most awesome pirate of them all BLACKBEARD!! oh and mermaids come to the picture, nice. So its exciting at first that is until act 2 starts to drag going on what could have been a simple search and find quest and then near the end you be scratching your head in utter confusion asking "why they do that? It doesn't make sense." quite a lots especially when the Spanish army show up because in the end, well lets just say that's the biggest reason why you be asking WHY!? and that's what ultimately hurts this film to a point that it kinda sucks. my recommendation is that if you love Pirates Of The Caribbean it will be an okay popcorn flick if nothing interests you to go see but for the others who never seen the first 3 I best avoid it until DvD rental if you really want to watch it someday because this ones the weakest of the movies. Expand
  97. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    I was waiting for this movie before sex months since the 3rd part was a great part, I think every thing is good on 4th part except the English language. I think the way they said the words just changed. In the first three parts, I enjoyed to the words coming from the Heroes. The way just was looking as history. Simply, the 4th part is still exciting on its story, actions and adventure. II was waiting for this movie before sex months since the 3rd part was a great part, I think every thing is good on 4th part except the English language. I think the way they said the words just changed. In the first three parts, I enjoyed to the words coming from the Heroes. The way just was looking as history. Simply, the 4th part is still exciting on its story, actions and adventure. I think 3rd part was the best. Expand
  98. Jun 4, 2011
    3
    Slightly entertaining movie, but the story felt very choppy. I loved Jonny Depp in this movie but thats about it. There were just so many things that weren't good, I don't even know where to start. Lets just say overall disappointing. Worst Pirates movie so far.
  99. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    Great movie! Far better than the last two, with Jack finally being elevated out of buffoonery and back into the eccentric-but-sharp character he was in the first movie. Writing was much better, plot much slicker. Depp obviously loves this character, and Rush and Cruz did an excellent job as well. Very entertaining!
  100. Jun 6, 2011
    9
    Good film. I very love play of Ian Mc Shane. Interesting story. Touchable moments. Great Barbossa. And I waiting for sequel. And of course buy this film.
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 39
  2. Negative: 7 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    Jun 1, 2011
    40
    Small kids won't really appreciate Johnny Depp, either, though frankly he's getting to be less fun as the series ages, possibly realizing that what's riskiest in Pirates 4 isn't walking the plank, but jumping the shark.
  2. 30
    I've never seen a film in which what was actually onscreen seemed so irrelevant.
  3. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    May 21, 2011
    50
    This installment, which is subtitled "Give Us Your Money, Sheep," really isn't a Pirates of the Caribbean movie at all.