Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: July 9, 2003
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 936 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
862
Mixed:
42
Negative:
32
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
0
KathrineJun 18, 2007
I'm a teenage girl, and I know most girls LOVE Pirates Of The Caribbean. Yet, I did not like this movie at all. I thought it was boring, dumb, horrible acting and WAY to long. Yes, that's what I think and I'm a teenage girl. I'm a teenage girl, and I know most girls LOVE Pirates Of The Caribbean. Yet, I did not like this movie at all. I thought it was boring, dumb, horrible acting and WAY to long. Yes, that's what I think and I'm a teenage girl. Now, let the gasping begin. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
1
DoxMay 28, 2007
Its stupid, its noisy, its messy, its full of terrible acting (except Depp) and silly jokes, its overrated, its catchy, its corny, and its dull; not dull enough to make it the most overhyped movie of all times, but surely dull enough to make Its stupid, its noisy, its messy, its full of terrible acting (except Depp) and silly jokes, its overrated, its catchy, its corny, and its dull; not dull enough to make it the most overhyped movie of all times, but surely dull enough to make it to at least top 10. Expand
3 of 18 users found this helpful
0
ChrisC.May 22, 2007
Awful. Johnny Depp is decent but the story's incredibly boring.
1 of 6 users found this helpful
0
PattyL.Jul 8, 2006
The story sucked. Not nearly as good as the first one. The characters didn't even display the same personality as in the first. Seems as if the writers rushed through writing this one. Hugely disappointing.
0 of 9 users found this helpful
1
natalier.Nov 15, 2005
Cool sweet.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
AlanT.Jun 14, 2005
This is one of the worst movies I have ever seen, and one of the few movies i've actually walked out on. Depp's performance is the film's only redeeming quality. I will avoid the sequel like the plague.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
T.M.Feb 16, 2005
OK, first let me say this: why is it that when posters on this site like a movie others don't like, they feel it is their right to call the negative reviewers idiots or say they have no taste? Among positive reviews of this movie among OK, first let me say this: why is it that when posters on this site like a movie others don't like, they feel it is their right to call the negative reviewers idiots or say they have no taste? Among positive reviews of this movie among viewers, I noticed many, many fans of this movie demonizing those who, like me, did not care for it. I also noticed that a large percentage of the fans of this movie seem to be females in love (or lust) with Johnny Depp and/or Orlando Bloom. So much for objectivity. I simply could not get excited about this movie. It was dumb and simplistic. The characters were cardboard, even Johnny Depp's, and the story was barely there. Keira Knightley's character was "spunky" in a cliched way, and of course in the end (just like in every Disney movie featuring a female lead), she ended up choosing to be a man's appendage instead of her own person. I can't believe Depp was nominated for an Oscar. He is very talented, but this role doesn't showcase his talent. There was probably a total of ten minutes' thought on the filmmakers' part in "creating" this character, so I can't imagine what bait they used to attract the normally discerning Depp to this project. That this movie was one of the biggest moneymakers and audience favorites of 2003 says a lot about how dumbed-down our society has become, and unfortunately, the box office of this movie will perpetuate the ridiculous trend of making movies based on theme park rides. When there are thousands of writers out there trying to break into Hollywood with original ideas, what do we have to look forward to? Bilge like the next installment of this franchise: a sequel to a movie made from a video game. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GrobManJun 13, 2004
Throw all the insults you know into one sentence and you have an apt description of the film. Boring, overly long, totally unbelievable (in the bad sense), unfunny, uninspiring and insulting. The only reason this crap-fest does not get 0 is Throw all the insults you know into one sentence and you have an apt description of the film. Boring, overly long, totally unbelievable (in the bad sense), unfunny, uninspiring and insulting. The only reason this crap-fest does not get 0 is because Depp works his *** off to try and salvage the sinking ship, but to no avail. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
BobS.May 4, 2004
I think this is an terrible film, i think it is too action packed and very predictable. I think Johnny Depp is terrible, i give one point to Geoffrey Rush though, he was good. Otherwise, a big let down.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
0
CharlesF.Jan 31, 2004
Sorry, Dave but you and your review go to Davey Jones locker. If you didn't enjoy Pirates, then you have no business having fun. Accept it for what it is, a jolly good time in the form of a swash buckling adventure. If you hadn't Sorry, Dave but you and your review go to Davey Jones locker. If you didn't enjoy Pirates, then you have no business having fun. Accept it for what it is, a jolly good time in the form of a swash buckling adventure. If you hadn't noticed more than 200 Metacritic posters took the time to review it, and the average score of 9 ranks among the very best ever for films with 200 or more votes. I wonder if Metacritic can confirm this fact? For those of you who haven't seen it as yet, don't miss it. You will love Captain Jack Sparrow, aka, Johnny Depp. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
KristinD.Jan 19, 2004
yuck! I expected ten times better than what I saw! I just sat in the theater staring blankly at the screen, asking myself "what am I watching". Come on, Disney, you could of done better than that! Why couldn't you spend your time on yuck! I expected ten times better than what I saw! I just sat in the theater staring blankly at the screen, asking myself "what am I watching". Come on, Disney, you could of done better than that! Why couldn't you spend your time on something with meaning like FINDING NEMO? Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
RexA.Jan 9, 2004
Formula trash. definitely a chick flick. I've just got to get me some dark eye liner!
1 of 4 users found this helpful
1
N.JordanJan 4, 2004
I bet 99% of you are girls voting for your beloved "Orli" and Johnny. I can't conceive how this movie could be any good. No plot, lame skeletons, no nothing. I rather put my head in the oven before sitting through this torture ever I bet 99% of you are girls voting for your beloved "Orli" and Johnny. I can't conceive how this movie could be any good. No plot, lame skeletons, no nothing. I rather put my head in the oven before sitting through this torture ever again. I give it a 1 because Depp was ok, though he seemed high. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
1
TylerC.Nov 27, 2003
I have finally seen a Johnny Depp movie that I hate. I call this Titanic part 2. This movie masked itself as being an action/horror film and yet the sweethearts fall in love, evil is punished, and everything works out in the end. Just like I have finally seen a Johnny Depp movie that I hate. I call this Titanic part 2. This movie masked itself as being an action/horror film and yet the sweethearts fall in love, evil is punished, and everything works out in the end. Just like real life right? I thought this movie was a treasure but it turned out to be fools gold. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
EarlD.Aug 4, 2003
I can't believe people like this?
1 of 3 users found this helpful
2
DAVEJul 17, 2003
One point for Johnny Depp, 1 point for Geoffrey Rush, Zero points for the plot, dialogue and cheesy special effects. Total junk.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
1
PaulaW.Jul 14, 2003
To quote Beavis and Butt-head, "This sucketh more than anything has ever sucketh before," or something like that. This movie was a sprawling mess that dragged on for way too long. Johnny Depp's over-the-top swishy performance was To quote Beavis and Butt-head, "This sucketh more than anything has ever sucketh before," or something like that. This movie was a sprawling mess that dragged on for way too long. Johnny Depp's over-the-top swishy performance was interesting to watch for about five minutes, but after that it gave me a headache. A six-year-old could have written better dialogue. I could say more but I'd be wasting my time. Don't waste yours by seeing this movie. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful