Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: July 9, 2003
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 949 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
872
Mixed:
43
Negative:
34
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
LeeSJul 10, 2003
Finally. Tis... but all I need to say.
3 of 4 users found this helpful
9
MaxM.Jul 10, 2003
Please, these people are so on crack... this is the best Bruckheimer production ever! Fun and interesting! With Depp as a bonus and a great bonus at that! Jack Sparrow deserves a franchise more than any other character in the last 5 years!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KCReynoldsAug 4, 2003
Johnny Depp and Geoffrey Rush were awesome - makes me want to be a pirate too!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KateB.Aug 26, 2006
What is with the critics who don't like this film? It's amazing! With Johnny Depp playing the main character it is great and the best movie in ages. The balance of action and everything else works, and I like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexisJ.Oct 11, 2003
This film is simply... perfect. depp is unbeliably perfect as Jack Sparrow. He has perfected his character!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TaniaS.Oct 10, 2003
It's a super movie!!! Depp, Bloom, Rush and Knightley are so good and a little secret for the girls: Depp is so cute and has so much humor! I was laughing all long!! Congratulations, Verbinski!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MelissaDec 1, 2003
Best movie I've seen all year. I enjoyed every one hundred and forty-three minutes of it. JD is cute, even when he looks like a pirate that just washed up on shore.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattD.Jul 11, 2003
A fantastic movie. Loved Depp, loved the girl, Bloom's not my favorite, but that's personal pref. The biggest shock was the trailer for Haunted Mansion actualy looked pretty good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
M.AustinJul 19, 2003
What a great surprise. When the idea for this movie first surfaced, my timbers shivered: pirate movie, based on a ride, lots of CGI - the perfect formula for bloated excess. But there was always the glimmer of hope that a Johnny Depp movie What a great surprise. When the idea for this movie first surfaced, my timbers shivered: pirate movie, based on a ride, lots of CGI - the perfect formula for bloated excess. But there was always the glimmer of hope that a Johnny Depp movie couldn't be without some merit. Thankfully, someone decided early on that they would counter the excesses of effects with an over-the-top-but-completely-in-character turn by one of the best actors of our day. When he is on the screen, it is hard to watch anything else for fear that you might miss something interesting that he has done, is doing, or is about to do - as defining a performance as he has given. Then they surrounded him with other actors capable of holding their own ground (especially Rush) or at least helping the plot along. And, though the script plods a little here and there, someone also decided paying attention to the dialogue and story would be important to keep adults in the seats. The result of all of this "planning" is a movie that is undeniably fun to watch. I saw the film 10 days after it opened, in a packed theater, and the crowd burst into applause at the end of movie and then again when Depp's name appeared on the closing credits. Both were well deserved. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AMovieCriticJul 20, 2003
Very entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AngelaM.Jul 22, 2003
This movie was really reall REALLY AWESOME!!!! Johnny Depp, and Orlando Bloom are sooooooo hot in it! I just loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LassiterAug 2, 2003
Absolutely delightful. The best ride of the summer. Johnny Depp plays Captain Jack Sparrow with absolute swashbuckling pizzazzzzzz. Kudo's to all for making a great summer flick. Go see and enjoy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaryL.Aug 3, 2003
This the first movie I have gone to see 3 times in the first 10 days of release since Star Wars and it got better each time. Depp is phenomenal - pulling off this intoxicated-tripping-freedom loving-swishing-rastamon-pirate role. Rush, Bloom This the first movie I have gone to see 3 times in the first 10 days of release since Star Wars and it got better each time. Depp is phenomenal - pulling off this intoxicated-tripping-freedom loving-swishing-rastamon-pirate role. Rush, Bloom and Knightely were perfectly cast and Verbinski's over the top authenticity swept me away, while the humor and running gags added a dimension that made me feel like an intelligent viewer, as apposed to some exploitive action movies lately. Shiver me timbers, Cap'n - Yohoyoho. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KSAug 4, 2003
This is one of the best movies ive seen in a while. The only thing wrong with the whole movie is that Orlando's acting is a little...... bad. yea bad. But other than hat the cast is great, the consept is great, and its just a great This is one of the best movies ive seen in a while. The only thing wrong with the whole movie is that Orlando's acting is a little...... bad. yea bad. But other than hat the cast is great, the consept is great, and its just a great movie. PLUS johnny is super hott and that just makes it all better for the chics that want to see it... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Dr.EdAug 5, 2003
What a wonderful surprise. Just tremendous fun. Sort of like Christmas in July. The best summer movie you will see. Enjoy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LarryT.Aug 8, 2003
The story and plotting are not wonderful; but, the performances, particularly Depp's, make this movie the second best of the summer (after Seabiscuit). It is big, brassy and colorful - kudos to the design and cinematography departments. The story and plotting are not wonderful; but, the performances, particularly Depp's, make this movie the second best of the summer (after Seabiscuit). It is big, brassy and colorful - kudos to the design and cinematography departments. All the leads (and several of the supporting cast) are wonderful making this a film one can see more than once without any dimunition in enjoyment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YoHoSep 6, 2003
Loved this movie...its characters, music, plot, action, symbolism, humor, scenery, light-heartedness...a real classic!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AminaW.Jan 3, 2004
It' s the best movie ever and Johnny Depp is the best (read:hottest)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VivianaG.Jan 9, 2004
I luved this movie,Johnny Depp and Orland bloom hav great scenes together and i coudn't help laughing all the time as Johnny kept wobbiling everywhere!!! the killing seens weren't so bloody which was gud for my friend who of coarse I luved this movie,Johnny Depp and Orland bloom hav great scenes together and i coudn't help laughing all the time as Johnny kept wobbiling everywhere!!! the killing seens weren't so bloody which was gud for my friend who of coarse enjoyed it just as much as me i cuz watch it again and again without a bathroom break....10 definitely!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoanR.Feb 9, 2004
Pirates was the most enjoyable movie of the year by my standard. It was funny, it was serious, the characters were original and Johnny Depp's Capt Jack was the hit of the year! Supported by a great cast, I couldn't give this movie Pirates was the most enjoyable movie of the year by my standard. It was funny, it was serious, the characters were original and Johnny Depp's Capt Jack was the hit of the year! Supported by a great cast, I couldn't give this movie any less than a 10. I kept going back time and time again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TaglienteT.Jun 5, 2004
Perfect raise spirit movie best I have ever seen in a Pirate movie if you call it just a Pirate movie it is really a exploring, action packed, mysterious, jaw droping, need I say more movie!!! Might I add this movie has inspiered me to Perfect raise spirit movie best I have ever seen in a Pirate movie if you call it just a Pirate movie it is really a exploring, action packed, mysterious, jaw droping, need I say more movie!!! Might I add this movie has inspiered me to become a prouducer and can't wait to make my own Movie!! Thank you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DevonM.May 7, 2005
As a 9 year old, I think this was one of the best movies I've ever seen, except it's kind of dumb when they turn into skeletons.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonnyBoyJul 10, 2006
My favorite movie ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GerrickC.Jul 8, 2006
Pirates of the Caribbean is a movie with comedy, plenty of pirate adventure, and even some romance. The stroyline is easy enough to follow and the movie delivers some really spectacular pirate action. If you like pirates, Johnny Depp, or Pirates of the Caribbean is a movie with comedy, plenty of pirate adventure, and even some romance. The stroyline is easy enough to follow and the movie delivers some really spectacular pirate action. If you like pirates, Johnny Depp, or some swashbuckling action you will find Pirates of the Caribbean a wonderful movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HeidiW.Jul 9, 2006
I thought that this move was so GREAT!! i think that it was better than the first, except for elizibeth killing Johnny Depp. I thought that it was so funny!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YoungllingJan 2, 2007
This is no doubt the best movie ever!! Johnny Depp is charming, funny and sexy!! You can't get a better actor to play such a cool, smart and funny man such is Jack Sparrow!! If I could, I would rate this movie way past 10, so ending This is no doubt the best movie ever!! Johnny Depp is charming, funny and sexy!! You can't get a better actor to play such a cool, smart and funny man such is Jack Sparrow!! If I could, I would rate this movie way past 10, so ending with tht...this is the best movie ever made!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuliettH.Apr 5, 2008
yeah, allright, i think its a really really great movie! love depps performance, the story, the music, the caribbean in background:-) and of course the other actors too. this is brilliant and fun while watching, perfect entertainment! i yeah, allright, i think its a really really great movie! love depps performance, the story, the music, the caribbean in background:-) and of course the other actors too. this is brilliant and fun while watching, perfect entertainment! i love, love it and it's not only me Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleyNov 20, 2003
I loved this movie especially Orlando Bloom. Stay Back he's mine chickies. lol Best movie ever. See ya.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MelissaDec 1, 2003
Best movie I've seen all year. I enjoyed every one hundred and forty-three minutes of it. JD is cute, even when he looks like a pirate that just washed up on shore.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MelissaDec 1, 2003
Best movie I've seen all year. I enjoyed every one hundred and forty-three minutes of it. JD is cute, even when he looks like a pirate that just washed up on shore.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
H.GiggsOct 20, 2003
Great Movie!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LauraE.Dec 4, 2003
I love jack.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeeT.Dec 8, 2003
An awesome movie. Arr.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GregT.Dec 9, 2003
This movie was a hoot. Lots of action and most suited for a 14 year old Walt Disney crowd, but fun nonetheless. The Deppster had so much eye makeup on and was acting so campy that I wanted to bang him myself. A totally funny part of the This movie was a hoot. Lots of action and most suited for a 14 year old Walt Disney crowd, but fun nonetheless. The Deppster had so much eye makeup on and was acting so campy that I wanted to bang him myself. A totally funny part of the movie occured at the end where Mr. Depp jumped off a cliff into the ocean, grabed a rope from his passing pirate ship, was hurtled on deck at 90 mph and arrived totally dry! Not a drop of water on him. Dry hair, dry face and dry clothes. It was too funny and must have been part of the campiness of this film. Worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KlausN.Oct 6, 2003
Great Movie! Depp is simply astounding, the way he moves, the way he looks. He was a born Pirate!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HadesJul 10, 2003
I thought it was quite an enjoyable experience, it did feel a bit long in a couple parts but overall it told a great story and had engaging characters. I was expecting the humor and presentation of the battles to be...toned down to disney I thought it was quite an enjoyable experience, it did feel a bit long in a couple parts but overall it told a great story and had engaging characters. I was expecting the humor and presentation of the battles to be...toned down to disney shlock but both aspects were great. Overall i recommend the film Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DeadThingsJul 10, 2003
This movie was so spectacular. By far the best movie since X2 this summer. Finally a good, fun, humorous, well-acted action piece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ScottM.Jul 10, 2003
Ok this isnt going to break any cinematic records or be up for an academy award. But it is exciting and loaded with special effects and a original story line.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisG.Jul 12, 2003
Aside from some obligatory love scenes, POTC is one of the best movies I've seen in a long time. A fan of the attraction at Disneyland, I really appreciated the effort to tie in a large amont of the song and origial scenes(Dog with key, Aside from some obligatory love scenes, POTC is one of the best movies I've seen in a long time. A fan of the attraction at Disneyland, I really appreciated the effort to tie in a large amont of the song and origial scenes(Dog with key, drunk on barrel, etc.). But not only that, they really built on it and made Captain Jack Sparrow one of the most unforgettable and eccentric pirates of this modern day. Nothing that would displease a parent, aside from a few bloody stabs into some men, but that's to be expected when every person in this movie wields a sword or a gun. A bit long, yes, at 2 and a half hours, but well worth it for all the fight scenes and stunts. It's the first movie in a long while I might consider seeing a second time. (Or at least reserve the DVD now) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveY.Jul 13, 2003
You can tell that they must have had so much fun making this film because it was so much fun to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarileeB.Jul 16, 2003
Depp is deliciously over the top, the action is rousing... this is a great Disney ride. A large size popcorn flick done with panache.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CorsairthePirateJul 10, 2003
Best movie of the summer by far! Johnny Depp is fantastic, the pirates are wonderful and the action sequences are full of swash and buckling! The best part is the lack of a numeral after the title. This is fresh and new and not a retread of Best movie of the summer by far! Johnny Depp is fantastic, the pirates are wonderful and the action sequences are full of swash and buckling! The best part is the lack of a numeral after the title. This is fresh and new and not a retread of some earlier (probably better) work that seems to have invaded our movie theaters this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DevinS.Jul 20, 2003
Outstanding mix of action, story, and unique characters. Depp's performance was one of the most entertaining I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DudetronJul 20, 2003
When I first saw the trailer it looked really good, but then i saw that is was made by Disney and I had my doubts because, well Its Disney. But really it was an exciting and fun movie. You really don't see a lot of Pirate movies all When I first saw the trailer it looked really good, but then i saw that is was made by Disney and I had my doubts because, well Its Disney. But really it was an exciting and fun movie. You really don't see a lot of Pirate movies all that often, but this one really hit the spot. It was great. The only thing that Disney really did was provide the title and slap their name on the film. Really good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FantasyJul 20, 2003
Wonderful movie from top to bottom. Johnny Depp is excellent as Captain Jack. It takes nothing away from the movie but notice the jail scene where the prisoners are trying to coax the dog to bring them the keys. It is exactly as we see on Wonderful movie from top to bottom. Johnny Depp is excellent as Captain Jack. It takes nothing away from the movie but notice the jail scene where the prisoners are trying to coax the dog to bring them the keys. It is exactly as we see on the Pirate ride at Disneyworld. Go see and have fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KennethB.Jul 8, 2003
This was an awesome movie. It was exhiltering from beginning to end. Also, the special effects were incrediable. This is one movie that shouldn't be missed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MetalInc.Jul 9, 2003
Excellent....sure it isn't cinematic theatre but is one hell of a good time. Shiver me timbers! It has action, story, special effects, and some excellent acting by "Captain Jack Sparrow" played by Johnny Depp. Watch it....live it, love Excellent....sure it isn't cinematic theatre but is one hell of a good time. Shiver me timbers! It has action, story, special effects, and some excellent acting by "Captain Jack Sparrow" played by Johnny Depp. Watch it....live it, love it for what it is....a fantastic voyage of adventure on the high seas. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LassisterAug 11, 2003
I can't believe Earl and Dave. Hey guys, take a deep breath and loosen up? This was fantasy - not reality. It was extremely well done. It was meant to provide some fun and delivered in every way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KelR.Aug 12, 2003
Finally, a movie that's worth seein this summer. Usually I don't like movies that try to incorperate comedy and action/adventure, but Pirates of the Caribbean did a wonderful job. And Kudo's for Jonny Depp for making the movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MegB.Aug 20, 2003
Best movie I've seen in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamV.Aug 26, 2003
This is a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BubbaFreshAug 30, 2003
It's August 30th and the theatre was filled completely. Why?? Because this movie was amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DudleyAug 6, 2003
Absolutely sensational from begining to end. Johnny Depp is tremendous as are the supporting cast. Just a fun movie to enjoy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PeterW.Aug 9, 2003
Depp & Rush carry this movie with abosolute campiness to their characters. The result eventually rubs off on the rest of the cast for a decent movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BradleyW.Sep 19, 2003
This movie keeps you on your feet! You'll never get bored, thanks to all of the wonderful actors. Just to name a few, Johnny Depp, Geofferey Rush, Orlando Bloom, Kiera Knightley, and many ,many more!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
K.P.Jan 23, 2004
This is the best movie I have seen in years! I was hesitant to go but once it started I could not believe how entertained I was! There couldn't be better actors or directors out there for this film. I only wish that this is what you This is the best movie I have seen in years! I was hesitant to go but once it started I could not believe how entertained I was! There couldn't be better actors or directors out there for this film. I only wish that this is what you could expect every time you paid to see a movie at the theater. (For this one I went 3 times to enjoy the theater expierince!) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KDJan 3, 2004
This is the best movie of the year (besides lord of the rings)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RobR.Feb 3, 2004
For some strange reason,I avoided this movie thinking it was a musical. Never a big Johnny Depp fan, I was surprised to see him step out of character, and do so well. Well acted, superb costume and effects, makeup and sets worthy of Oscars, For some strange reason,I avoided this movie thinking it was a musical. Never a big Johnny Depp fan, I was surprised to see him step out of character, and do so well. Well acted, superb costume and effects, makeup and sets worthy of Oscars, I should have seen it at the theatre instead of waiting for rental...now I gotta go buy it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NatalieJ.Feb 4, 2004
Hilarious. Johnny Depp is splendid, and Keira Knightly and Orlando Bloom, while slightly overshadowed by Depp's hilarious charecter, prove their worth as actors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleyC.Mar 17, 2004
This movie rocks the house! I can't get enough of Depp and Orlando!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleyC.Mar 17, 2004
This movie rocks the house! I can't get enough of Depp and Orlando!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YasminE.Mar 9, 2004
it's one of the best pictures I've ever watched. Also Orlando is wonderful...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AliceM.Jun 7, 2004
Although a little predictable in places, Depp's stunning performance makes this well worth seeing. His twisted and confident portrayal of Jack Sparrow is a joy to watch!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulaM.Jan 30, 2005
This is the best movie I have ever seen in my whole life!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ginnyMar 22, 2005
I actually give it probably between a 6 and 8, but I'll let that slide. (And I do know that 7 is between 6 and 8, but there are also an infinite amount of numbers between those two.) I did thoroughly enjoy the movie, but it is definetly I actually give it probably between a 6 and 8, but I'll let that slide. (And I do know that 7 is between 6 and 8, but there are also an infinite amount of numbers between those two.) I did thoroughly enjoy the movie, but it is definetly not the best film i've ever seen, hence the 7. I felt that Johnny Depp's performance was well done, not his best, but he does deserve an Oscar nomination for something. The rest of the performances weren't as good and i found Orlando Bloom's to be the worst (surprising.) But all in all, i would reccommend this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AmyA.Sep 13, 2005
This Film is good for certain points. I am now studying it for my media independant study at college, to be honest in comparison to old 1950s pirate movies its very similar. However the genre has developed and Disney in all honesty hasnt This Film is good for certain points. I am now studying it for my media independant study at college, to be honest in comparison to old 1950s pirate movies its very similar. However the genre has developed and Disney in all honesty hasnt done a bad job at turning the theme park (not video game) into a film. I can see why theyve hired Johnny Depp and Orlando Bloom for the young girls only because its generally men who go to see pirate films because of the swords and guns very phallic symbols if you ask me lol. All in All i think that this movie is great and I would recommend it to most people if you like a good giggle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AngeloP.Jun 21, 2006
Everything a viewer wants: action, romance, revenge, and a happy ending, albeit, a setup for a sequel!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkS.Jul 5, 2006
Yet another example of why to be wary or critics. If you didn't enjoy this movie, you shouldn't be going to the movies, period. Rarely, a movie comes along that absolutely no one has any business not enjoying unless they have an Yet another example of why to be wary or critics. If you didn't enjoy this movie, you shouldn't be going to the movies, period. Rarely, a movie comes along that absolutely no one has any business not enjoying unless they have an agenda or just love ragging on certain movies. This is one of them. Salon.com's review is particularly repulsively incompetent in its sheer 'incorrectness'. Now I know never to read them again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenF.Jul 6, 2006
This seems good enough movie for me to watch. You will like this movie. This is way better than the sequel
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveHJan 4, 2010
I knew of the Pirates of the Caribbean franchise since this film came out but was never interested in it until I came across a poll posted on a website asking "best film trilogy?" and was curious about it. I already had this film in DVD but I knew of the Pirates of the Caribbean franchise since this film came out but was never interested in it until I came across a poll posted on a website asking "best film trilogy?" and was curious about it. I already had this film in DVD but never saw it, I checked and hell, it was very interesting, the setting is good, the story is a littleflat but the ambient was so good and Jack Sparrow is so much of a cool character. Definitely looking forward to seeing the other films and might see again this film several times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnneV.Oct 10, 2003
This movie has it all; action, adventure, romance, suspense, and cute men. The movie is terrific and I could watch it again and again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HaileyC.Nov 29, 2003
The sound and special effects were cool. The humorous Johnny Depp lines, and the sexy Orlando Bloom. Keria Knightley did turn out to be a big star. i also wanna say hi 2 jd, ob, gr, and kk. Hailey Catherine Carr.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NathanL.Nov 5, 2003
My son insisted that we see this one. I wasn't so sure. BUT after the movie started, I sat there and I let the movie take me into another time and place. The choices that Johnny Depp made in his character portrayal were GENIUS. You My son insisted that we see this one. I wasn't so sure. BUT after the movie started, I sat there and I let the movie take me into another time and place. The choices that Johnny Depp made in his character portrayal were GENIUS. You cannot help but love the perfect balance of character development, humor, suspense anfd romance. Suspending my disbelief was easy, enjoyable and relaxing in this flick. Go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeptemberJ.Dec 13, 2003
Great Flick!! Johnny Depp was Awesome!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristinaL.Dec 20, 2003
It is a outstanding movie. Seeing Orlando Bloom in the play. It has nice set up and lots of acts done perfectly well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmmyDec 3, 2003
It's the best movie ever!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JudgeRageDec 4, 2003
This was so much fun! Thank you Johhny Depp!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PeytonW.Dec 6, 2003
An entertaining film. Nothing too inspiring about it to make it a "great movie", but overall I enjoyed watching it, and Depp's performance was spectacular. One of the better 'big budget, big special effects' films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DudleyR.Dec 6, 2003
Without a doubt the best fun popcorn movie of the year. What a joy ride!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulScottodiP.Dec 7, 2003
Very entertaining movie and it is always a pleasure to see J. Depp play!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZachOct 5, 2003
This is the most entertaining movie of the year, and you have Johnny Depp to thank, again and again and again. Captain Sparrow's over the rop antics and numerous tics make even the shortest scene memorable. Geoffrey Rush is obviously This is the most entertaining movie of the year, and you have Johnny Depp to thank, again and again and again. Captain Sparrow's over the rop antics and numerous tics make even the shortest scene memorable. Geoffrey Rush is obviously having more than enough fun, chasing after a lost gold coin and screaming "Arrr!" at Depp and costar Keira Knightley, smartly cast as the heroine/damsel in distress who is at times more cunning than anyone else. Definitely the best film of the summer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LaurenD.Jul 10, 2003
This Movie is faaaaaaabulous! Innovative, creative, and thrilling. Johnny Depp steals the show. Orlando is on his way with his acting as well! Awesome movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MaxwellS.Jul 11, 2003
Amazing! Fully visual with an amazing soundtrack and filled with wonderful performances from sadistic Geoffrey Rush, drunken-drag-queenesque Johnny Depp, and of course who could forget the two crazy pirates. As well, the effects supervisor Amazing! Fully visual with an amazing soundtrack and filled with wonderful performances from sadistic Geoffrey Rush, drunken-drag-queenesque Johnny Depp, and of course who could forget the two crazy pirates. As well, the effects supervisor deserves an oscar nod for such amazing effects with the moonlight skeletons. All-in-all superb! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanB.Jul 10, 2003
Eric is an idiot, he gave it four, the movie is great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CorneliusD.Jul 10, 2003
OUTSTANDING FAMILY FUN.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JackSparrowJul 10, 2003
This movie is the greatest time I've had at the cinema all summer. Excellent acting all around, great sword fighting, and an A+ sense of humor. It may be a bit long winded, but I could never take my eyes away from Depp and Rush's This movie is the greatest time I've had at the cinema all summer. Excellent acting all around, great sword fighting, and an A+ sense of humor. It may be a bit long winded, but I could never take my eyes away from Depp and Rush's brilliant performances. I wanna go again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichelleP.Jul 12, 2003
Well, after being disappointed with "Matrix Reloaded" AND "Legally Blonde 2", I felt there was no hope for a decent summer flick other than Nemo which I saw enough times. I was actually anticipating on seeing this movie (the trailers were Well, after being disappointed with "Matrix Reloaded" AND "Legally Blonde 2", I felt there was no hope for a decent summer flick other than Nemo which I saw enough times. I was actually anticipating on seeing this movie (the trailers were the reason), but then the SF Chronicle pretty much gave it a bomb so I was reluctant to see it. But I did. And I had so much fun too. Johnny Depp MADE the movie, he was hilarious. It was like watching "Monty Python and the Holy Grail" only a bit more serious and it wasn't set in the medieval times. Had it not had in humor, this movie would have been AWFUL. The plot was very creative (heck if this film had been made into novel and not a movie it still would've been great). The action scenes held my attention better than "The Matrix Reloaded"'s did. And it had incredibly cool special effects as well. Yes, it's long but I didn't care. The only complaint I have is that one plot hole about Johnny Depp's character, but I don't want to give it away. Overall, go sea it, and ignore the negative reviews. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JacquieP.Jul 10, 2003
Very entertaining movie! Definitely worth seeing in the theater. This movie has a little of everything: action, drama, romance, thrills! Yes, it was a little long, and some parts required a bit too much suspension of disbelief for me, but Very entertaining movie! Definitely worth seeing in the theater. This movie has a little of everything: action, drama, romance, thrills! Yes, it was a little long, and some parts required a bit too much suspension of disbelief for me, but overall I like it. Depp gives a great performance as Jack Sparrow. I found the characters to be very believable. Would see again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChuckD.Jul 13, 2003
Cool special effects, great action sequences and an outstanding performance from Johnny Depp makes this the summers best movie Ive seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChoChangJul 13, 2003
Hilarious movie with non stop action. An absolutely good way to spend your time and money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FiferL.Jul 13, 2003
Ok so first I wanted to watch it for the two-hotties-for-the-price-of-one pairing of Orlando Bloom and Johnny Depp... And yes, I spent the first part of the movie trying not to faint when Orli came up on the screen... but what made this Ok so first I wanted to watch it for the two-hotties-for-the-price-of-one pairing of Orlando Bloom and Johnny Depp... And yes, I spent the first part of the movie trying not to faint when Orli came up on the screen... but what made this movie so great was Depp's Captain Jack Sparrow. He was frelling BRILLIANT. W/o him, the movie would have been nothing. Even with pretty-boy Orli. But Depp gave Sparrow LIFE!!! There are also many great one-liners, and not to mention the Turner/Sparrow fight scene. It's like a testosterone-driven chick flick. Fantastic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoshuaW.Jul 14, 2003
Johnny Depp was absolutely brilliant. The movie was able to keep up with him the entire time and was completely entertaining. I'd have given it a ten if the ending had been a little more fun (excluding Johnny Depp of course). I just Johnny Depp was absolutely brilliant. The movie was able to keep up with him the entire time and was completely entertaining. I'd have given it a ten if the ending had been a little more fun (excluding Johnny Depp of course). I just really wanted everyone to head off into the sunset together. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanB.Jul 14, 2003
It really could've been better and shorter, but it has a surprisingly large share of funny non-sequiturs and witty visuals moments, and if you just ignore the mostly lame ending and a few boring bits here and there, it's great. It really could've been better and shorter, but it has a surprisingly large share of funny non-sequiturs and witty visuals moments, and if you just ignore the mostly lame ending and a few boring bits here and there, it's great. Depp is so bizarre he's amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
raVenJul 17, 2003
A gratuitous (but easily overlooked) jab at the French is truly the only blur on an otherwise sparkling movie. Years from now people will still be trying (and failing) to describe the character of Captain Jack Sparrow to their A gratuitous (but easily overlooked) jab at the French is truly the only blur on an otherwise sparkling movie. Years from now people will still be trying (and failing) to describe the character of Captain Jack Sparrow to their pirate-ignorant friends by coming up with strange combinations of personalities found in other movies. They'll explain again and again how you just can't stop laughing once he glides into the movie, even though they might not be able to quote a single line he says. They'll try in vain to explain how an absolute screwball can command your immediate and complete respect. What Johnny Depp has done in pulling this character out of him is priceless--a TRUE treasure. People will try to duplicate this magic, you can believe that. But there has not been and will never be anything like Jack Sparrow. Nothing. Savvy? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ScottL.Jul 17, 2003
Great adventure movie. it had some great humor, great action,great f/x,good villian, and Depp did a excellent job. DISNEY DID IT AGAIN THIS SUMMER. ALONG WITH THIS AND NEMO.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CydR.Jul 17, 2003
AWESOME! Go AND See it ASAP!!! a fun filled adventure!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DroogJul 21, 2003
This is definitely the surprise of the year. I had no intention of seeing this movie when I first heard of it, but it starred Johnny Depp, Orlando Bloom and Kiera Knightly, so I figured what the heck. I was blown away; this was one of the This is definitely the surprise of the year. I had no intention of seeing this movie when I first heard of it, but it starred Johnny Depp, Orlando Bloom and Kiera Knightly, so I figured what the heck. I was blown away; this was one of the most fun movies I've ever seen. This is Depp's film, and he owns it from the first minute he appears on screen (a hilarious moment which I won't give away). In a recent GQ article he mentioned he wanted to create a rock n'roll pirate based on Keith Richards, and his spaced-out, ethereally cool capt. Jack Sparrow has to be seen to be beleived. The dialogue is tongue in check, both smart and funny. The action seems to keep going; just when you think the movie is over, it takes a new twist and off the pirates go sailing again. The film clocks in at a shade under three hours but it feels considerably faster. What a movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyP.Jul 23, 2003
A fun ride from start to finish! Walt would be proud of Verbinski.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrittanyS.Jul 25, 2003
I loved it! Johnny Depp was incrediable! Not to mention how hot Orlando Bloom is! And the acters seem to have a lot of cemistry with this movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JaneDoeJul 25, 2003
Most entertaining thing, ever. Period. What a shocker...and the critics have their heads in their...well, you know.
0 of 0 users found this helpful