Playing for Keeps

Metascore
27

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 26
  2. Negative: 15 out of 26
Watch On
  1. 50
    Though the script takes pains to paint George as a passive boy-man, there's just not enough lovable here and too much of the thoughtless lout. Butler beware: In acting as in soccer, if you keep taking dives, sooner or later you pay the penalty.
  2. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Dec 6, 2012
    50
    As a movie, it's not much. But it's the best showcase for his charm that Butler has ever had.
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Dec 6, 2012
    50
    Jessica Biel all but steals the show as Stacie.
  4. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Dec 6, 2012
    50
    At some point you hope the actor (Butler) will find a movie that will give him the right material to make hearts truly beat faster. Until then, it appears we'll have to settle for films with more flaws than his characters.
  5. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Dec 6, 2012
    50
    A sloppy, poorly focused comedy.
  6. Reviewed by: Darren Franich
    Dec 7, 2012
    42
    The central question of the movie becomes: Can George triumph over his inability to stop hot women from throwing themselves at him?
  7. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Dec 6, 2012
    40
    Sometimes the movie swerves toward farce, sometimes into the zone of smiley family comedy and at other times into full-on weepiness. None of it is especially credible or engaging.
  8. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Dec 6, 2012
    40
    Perhaps, if this movie fails, studios will finally accept that we all deserve better. Biel knows it already, and Butler keeps up in their scenes together.
  9. Reviewed by: Louis Black
    Dec 5, 2012
    40
    Watching this all-too-predictable romantic comedy/drama, my overwhelming thought was this: Given all the great filmmakers and film projects that can't find funding, how did this effort secure its reported $35 million for production?
  10. Reviewed by: Stephen Farber
    Nov 23, 2012
    40
    This is a good premise for a comedy, but somewhere along the way, it got diluted and turned into a sappy, feel-good story of family togetherness.
  11. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Nov 23, 2012
    40
    A modestly affecting reconciliation drama wrapped in a so-so sports movie by way of a misogynistic romantic comedy, Playing for Keeps can't stop tripping all over itself.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 7 out of 9
  1. Dec 7, 2012
    10
    This is a heartwarming film showing the main character who from a life of stardom as a popular soccer player bedomews a has been. He stillThis is a heartwarming film showing the main character who from a life of stardom as a popular soccer player bedomews a has been. He still has name recognition, but he is down and out. He reconnects with his 11 year old son after 7 yearsof absence and unwittingly becomes a coach for his son's team.

    I am sorry that the critics gave it a poor review. It is worth seeing.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 28, 2012
    0
    I want to punch Dennis Quaid in his **** face. Don't go and see this stupid piece of trash. Stay home and finger your anus or something, itI want to punch Dennis Quaid in his **** face. Don't go and see this stupid piece of trash. Stay home and finger your anus or something, it would be far more entertaining than this. Full Review »
  3. Dec 9, 2012
    0
    Watching YouTube videos of people vomiting is a better use of digital media, and with better acting. I stayed through the whole film as aWatching YouTube videos of people vomiting is a better use of digital media, and with better acting. I stayed through the whole film as a measure of endurance. Apparently, I have a high threshold for pain. Good to know. This movie makes me wonder if the acting and production staff know just how terrible the movie is during filming. I feel sorry for the post production people who had to watch this flop over and over to get the editing and sound correct. They are the true heroes. My hats off to you, you aren't paid enough. Full Review »