Vivendi Entertainment | Release Date: May 23, 2008
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 110 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
63
Mixed:
17
Negative:
30
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AdamAnonymousMay 28, 2008
I found this movie to be hillarious whilst others may disagree due to it being at their expense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArielW.Jun 1, 2008
It is funny, senseless fun! It is an idiot film on purpose! turn your brain off and enjoy!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
[Anonymous]Sep 4, 2008
The start is slow, but does manage to set down the mood for the rest of the movie as well as capture the feeling i had with the game very well and has many references to it. I will agree with Vincent P that it hardly captures the agony that The start is slow, but does manage to set down the mood for the rest of the movie as well as capture the feeling i had with the game very well and has many references to it. I will agree with Vincent P that it hardly captures the agony that makes the main character go postal. Many subtile visual "jokes" will probably be missed by many if only seen once which is a shame. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
CocoBunnyJun 23, 2009
Uwe Boll's best...which isn't saying much. But at least the man can laugh at himself. Some very funny moments but a lot of juvenile silliness. If you can't stand Boll's other films, though, it's worth seeing just for Uwe Boll's best...which isn't saying much. But at least the man can laugh at himself. Some very funny moments but a lot of juvenile silliness. If you can't stand Boll's other films, though, it's worth seeing just for the trauma inflicted on his...um..."Bolls." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickGAug 17, 2009
This movie is funny. It does get stupid a few times but there are many genuine funny parts and they make up for it in the end. ENJOY!
1 of 3 users found this helpful
2
KenGNov 9, 2008
An attempt at satire by someone who has no apparent gift for satire. Boll seems to be doing nothing but throwing in every stupid idea that popped into his head. I might say this was mean-spirted (not that such a thing is bad in the right An attempt at satire by someone who has no apparent gift for satire. Boll seems to be doing nothing but throwing in every stupid idea that popped into his head. I might say this was mean-spirted (not that such a thing is bad in the right hands), but this is too inept to be mean-spirited. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FilmBuffAug 23, 2008
Good fun/funny film, not meant to be taken serious. It reflect the humour of the game Postal 2 perfectly. Whilst, raising a lot of serious issues about religion, commercialism and society.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GeorgeMSep 16, 2008
First off, this movie SUCKS....BAD....but was i expecting anything less than crap.....NO, of course not. this is a disgusting, rude, senseless violence filled, insulting, and overall brainless feature....but thats also what gives it what First off, this movie SUCKS....BAD....but was i expecting anything less than crap.....NO, of course not. this is a disgusting, rude, senseless violence filled, insulting, and overall brainless feature....but thats also what gives it what little charm it has. at times its quite humorous and clever then it switches right back to COMPLETELY brainless and stupid but all the while being dare i say....entertaining??? this is a film with everything but the kitchen sink is thrown in, and this is a bit of a spoiler.......but seeing Uwe Boll get shot in the nuts is priceless.....i think even HE knows he sucks. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
JeremySep 2, 2008
I haven't played the games, so I don't know how they compare, but I found this movie hilarious. It's not meant to be taken seriously people, it's a commentary about how programed people are to reject anything politically I haven't played the games, so I don't know how they compare, but I found this movie hilarious. It's not meant to be taken seriously people, it's a commentary about how programed people are to reject anything politically incorrect, as they are obviously doing in response to this film. Whether you buy, rent or pirate, if you've got a sense of humor you should see this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SidH.Dec 6, 2008
Uwe Boll made an excellent movie. I don't know how. Disgustingly funny, brutal satire of everything from the war on terror to Uwe Boll's ruining of video games. There are a few ultra-cheesy/campy moments (excessive mugging and a Uwe Boll made an excellent movie. I don't know how. Disgustingly funny, brutal satire of everything from the war on terror to Uwe Boll's ruining of video games. There are a few ultra-cheesy/campy moments (excessive mugging and a cheesy line) that should've been cut, but they're about 20 seconds total. The rest? Pure gold, as long as you can handle full-frontal Dave Foley nudity. Maybe Boll's finally found his milieu. I still haven't forgiven him for Alone In The Dark, but a couple more films like Postal and I might consider it. Well worth the couple bucks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
VincentP.May 23, 2008
The movie didn't capture the essence of the game at all. We couldn't feel the agony that made the postal man go postal. Most attempts to be funny or over the top, ended up feeling out of place. He did get a few jokes and gags The movie didn't capture the essence of the game at all. We couldn't feel the agony that made the postal man go postal. Most attempts to be funny or over the top, ended up feeling out of place. He did get a few jokes and gags right, I had a few giggles. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
bazzzzzzzApr 15, 2009
Yes its stupid but not nearly as bad as most critics makes it sound.Therefore it deserves a 10 even tough it is pretty bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CristianCMay 15, 2009
While tasteless at times it was pretty damned funny at most points. While some jokes do fall flat, most are pretty hilarious if you are able to understand them. Also kudos to its pretty good similarities to the game. Really caught the dark While tasteless at times it was pretty damned funny at most points. While some jokes do fall flat, most are pretty hilarious if you are able to understand them. Also kudos to its pretty good similarities to the game. Really caught the dark humor nicely. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NickPJun 21, 2009
I thought this was a somewhat decent movie. It's the first Boll movie I've seen, and I have to wonder what all the hatred is for. The plot was consistent, the lead was like-able, and it delivers what it promises. It's dark I thought this was a somewhat decent movie. It's the first Boll movie I've seen, and I have to wonder what all the hatred is for. The plot was consistent, the lead was like-able, and it delivers what it promises. It's dark humor mixed with slapstick and violence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
spencerlDec 23, 2008
Although marked low becuase papers dont like its antri patriotic attitude and the fact they made fun of 9/11 this movie is extreamly funny and very crude sensless violence witch just about every action movie has and i seriously dont know how Although marked low becuase papers dont like its antri patriotic attitude and the fact they made fun of 9/11 this movie is extreamly funny and very crude sensless violence witch just about every action movie has and i seriously dont know how you people dont like it losen up and get over ur "patriotic" attitude its just a movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
TopsterAug 30, 2013
Do not listen to any user reviews giving this higher than a 0. This is political satire as imagined by a toddler with a really bad sense of humor.

It's not even enjoyable in a morbid way like some of Boll's other movies. At the point of
Do not listen to any user reviews giving this higher than a 0. This is political satire as imagined by a toddler with a really bad sense of humor.

It's not even enjoyable in a morbid way like some of Boll's other movies. At the point of making this, he's become an experienced enough filmmaker to not make incredibly stupid decisions. But those mistakes are what made his work funny to begin with, so now he's simply untalented and boring.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
moviegrabbagJun 12, 2011
This is probably the worst movie I have ever seen. Somebody needs to shoot Uwe Boll and stop him from making these horrible movies. I wish I could have my money back and better yet the time that has been taken from my life. This movie goes onThis is probably the worst movie I have ever seen. Somebody needs to shoot Uwe Boll and stop him from making these horrible movies. I wish I could have my money back and better yet the time that has been taken from my life. This movie goes on the list of my life's worst regrets. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
grandpajoe6191Oct 15, 2011
I know I was definitely high when I watched "Postal" and giving it a 6.4 despite that it was a Uwe Boll movie. I DON'T GIVE A CRAP. Uwe Boll has directed crappy movies throughout his life, but this film had better cinematography as well as aI know I was definitely high when I watched "Postal" and giving it a 6.4 despite that it was a Uwe Boll movie. I DON'T GIVE A CRAP. Uwe Boll has directed crappy movies throughout his life, but this film had better cinematography as well as a weak, but noticeable morale. Its not a black comedy like the poster advertises, but its a **** good no-stop hell ride for sure. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
5
RolentoDec 10, 2014
At the very least, it follows the same philosophy of the game it's based on: to be "provoking and controversial for the hell of it". Unfortunately the action and comedy aren't enough to excuse this movie for its nonsense and cheap satire,At the very least, it follows the same philosophy of the game it's based on: to be "provoking and controversial for the hell of it". Unfortunately the action and comedy aren't enough to excuse this movie for its nonsense and cheap satire, don't hold up to Postal 2 (which in itself isn't the best satire ever made, but it tries and it's fun in the process), and finally they are not enough to allow you (Boll) to do self-irony.

I liked the Dude for what it's worth. Both the idea of not making him like "the Dude" right from the start and making him "go postal" over time (even if the transition is meh, and necessarily so since so is everything else around it) and both the actor's performance.

Overall, I give it a 5 out of 10 because there's worse out there and because of minor fanservice it has towards Postal 2 fans, but those are not saying much, I'm still being pretty generous here.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
samarathenymphOct 12, 2012
oh dear, boll just can't get that trace of good luck... before this he spent his time making abhorrently bad adaptions of great games (bloodrayne, alone in the dark, house of the dead, etc.) and now he's actually made a faithful, decentoh dear, boll just can't get that trace of good luck... before this he spent his time making abhorrently bad adaptions of great games (bloodrayne, alone in the dark, house of the dead, etc.) and now he's actually made a faithful, decent film... that is based on a horrible game... seriously, i enjoyed this more than the second game, (which the film leans towards more than the first game), i never, in my life, thought that i would say that about uwe boll... scary... - samarathenymph xoxo Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JacobFreez4EverOct 26, 2012
Uwe Boll finally made a great film based on game. Even with elements borrowed from "Postal 2", the film have faithful with the franchise, filled with sexual jokes, Osama "look a like" appearance, and controversies between game and movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ZombineTMDec 26, 2012
Yes i do know that Uwe Boll, the plague of movies made this film, but for the first time i can't belive he made it.... good, it portrays very good the POSTAL universe even with its flaws, Uwe Boll was scared of one thing: he was going to makeYes i do know that Uwe Boll, the plague of movies made this film, but for the first time i can't belive he made it.... good, it portrays very good the POSTAL universe even with its flaws, Uwe Boll was scared of one thing: he was going to make a film based on a game by RWS, if he messes the movie up, he will appear in the game and will be screwed in it, otherwise, it's a very funny film, even though the action scenes are poorly-made and quick i still like the way Boll saw the POSTAL universe Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Jamison12Jun 6, 2013
Uwe Boll tries too hard to capture the political satire that South Park has done in this film. A very bad film, and stupid film. A bad movie base off of a bad game
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
GodOneNov 25, 2013
I think in my life, this is the first movie i had to stop after 30 minutes. It's a totally nonsense movie, it's neither a satire neither an action like the game. Bad acting, bad director, bad screenplay bad at all, practically it's pureI think in my life, this is the first movie i had to stop after 30 minutes. It's a totally nonsense movie, it's neither a satire neither an action like the game. Bad acting, bad director, bad screenplay bad at all, practically it's pure crap.
I haven't seen any kind of disturbing violence, only very stupid sketches and really bad taste humor.

People who gave more than 1 :
1) must have serious psychological problems.
2) Are on some strong drugs.
3) Haven't watched this movie at all.
4)They are troll.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
THE_TURTLEJul 15, 2013
So bad its kinda........ TERRIBLE (ha! you thought I was going to say good.)
It fails on so many areas while many people will find Postal offensive it fails to much to even be taken seriously. Its one redeeming factor is its so bad that you
So bad its kinda........ TERRIBLE (ha! you thought I was going to say good.)
It fails on so many areas while many people will find Postal offensive it fails to much to even be taken seriously. Its one redeeming factor is its so bad that you can have a laugh at its many, many flaws.
DO NOT WATCH!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CoonpuffJan 16, 2014
Just to let critics and people know this movie was supposed to be a bad joke (meaning its so bad its funny) just like the games there supposed to be mediocre. But then again it could have done a better job on the movie, by making it such likeJust to let critics and people know this movie was supposed to be a bad joke (meaning its so bad its funny) just like the games there supposed to be mediocre. But then again it could have done a better job on the movie, by making it such like films as space ball if they made it in that style (im not talking about theme) then they might have gotten more attention with this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FilmVirtueOct 21, 2014
Postal is rather amusing. It brings a video game notorious for It's content, and morphs it into a comedy of sorts. What's even stranger is how It sort of works. Even more stranger, It's by Uwe Boll. It's stupid, raunchy and reckless, but notPostal is rather amusing. It brings a video game notorious for It's content, and morphs it into a comedy of sorts. What's even stranger is how It sort of works. Even more stranger, It's by Uwe Boll. It's stupid, raunchy and reckless, but not worthless. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeNov 29, 2014
This movie got action,nudity and some good jokes.The movie is funny and the acting is really good.Probably the best and by far movie of Uwe Boll.People say the movie is anti patriotic but it doesn't really matter because the movie is reallyThis movie got action,nudity and some good jokes.The movie is funny and the acting is really good.Probably the best and by far movie of Uwe Boll.People say the movie is anti patriotic but it doesn't really matter because the movie is really good and never boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
johnslegersJan 3, 2016
After reading dozens of reviews of Uwe Boll films, I was pretty uncertain if I ever wanted to watch a film of his. This guy's films seem to be so bad and his attitude seems to childish that you simply don't want to have ANYTHING WHATSOEVER toAfter reading dozens of reviews of Uwe Boll films, I was pretty uncertain if I ever wanted to watch a film of his. This guy's films seem to be so bad and his attitude seems to childish that you simply don't want to have ANYTHING WHATSOEVER to do with him.

Nevertheless, "Postal" got many remarkably positive reviews and I found the trailer quite interesting so I decided to give this film a chance. I expected some lowbrow American over-the-top junk like "American Pie" or "Hot Shots", but this film actually turned out to be far, far superior to those.

Offending women, Muslems, Jews, Nazis, Christians and pretty much anyone else who has an opinion with his ****-off attitude, Uwe Boll manages to bring over-the-top humor to a level never witnessed before. While the humor varies from highly questionable tot utterly hilarious, the lesser jokes are easily ignored due to the film's fast pacing and solid editing. Also, we find a criticism of American society that goes way beyond anything major Hollywood studios would dare to publish.... and while extremely cynical, it is entirely to the point.

As a comedy, I found nothing to dislike about this film. I would have given it a 10, but the toilet humor level of some of the jokes force me to take one step back and give it a 9. Nevertheless, I can highly recommend this comedy for anyone who doesn't get offended too easily.... If Boll's other films are really that bad, I suggest he sticks with comedy.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BeastlyBruddahMay 1, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When I first heard about this movie on a "Top 10 worst movies based on video games" list I was expecting some kind of cheesy movie. If you like the over the top violence from the Postal games combined with South Park comedy then you've got to watch this film! This film also has great effects, Perfect actors which fit their roles nicely and a crazy ending. The only downside I have about this film is that when there was some weird cult wanting to take over the world followed up by monkeys banging a midget? But what comes up next after that kind of apologises you for what crap was just displayed. I would have to give this film 9 out of 10 due to the over the top action, funny moments which hold up the film, Offensive to each and everyone you can think of which is somehow funny, and also the great acting and special effects Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
stef_hDec 31, 2016
Very funny satire movie with a lot of dark humor and violence and a very self ironic Uwe Boll. Actually the best movie of him. Way better than all the others. I saw a german interview with Uwe Boll where he stated that this movie came fromVery funny satire movie with a lot of dark humor and violence and a very self ironic Uwe Boll. Actually the best movie of him. Way better than all the others. I saw a german interview with Uwe Boll where he stated that this movie came from his heart whilst most of the other movies where just jobs for him. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews