User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 200 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 200

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 29, 2011
    8
    "Predator" is a good action blockbuster movie; it succeeds to consistently maintain its tension and coolly blows it off in the end with Arnold Schwarzenegger.
  2. Jul 22, 2011
    9
    god what movie did the critics see? this is a movie i know alot of people like. granted its 80s cheesey over the top action with even cheesier lines but it holds up. some movies just have that ability to do that while other as they age get old smelly and moldy and unwachable this one how ever aged well. its a great idea for a film having a elite group of special forces go into the jungle to do a mission and run into a alien predator who hunts them down one by one . it has great action and is a fun roller coaster ride from start to finish . wish we could have learned more about the predator race is about my only gripe but other then that its a fun solid sci fi action film. Expand
  3. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    Are the critics smoking something over there? It may not have the best script in the world but this was an entertaining movie, and great effects on the predator.
  4. Dec 5, 2011
    10
    The best alien movie of all time. With classic arnold moments, and stan winston's creature effects, this movie was brilliant ever since I saw it when I was about 4. Classic.
  5. Aug 11, 2010
    7
    I really don't know why the Metascore for this one is so low, I found it to be a highly enjoyable action movie. The monster is just awesome, too. Not really a thinking person's film, but it's not supposed to be.
  6. Aug 13, 2010
    9
    I thought this film was great. Loved some of the taglines such as, " Get to da choppa!! " and " I aint got time to bleed ". I love to watch this film again and again. 9.15/10
  7. Sep 12, 2010
    9
    i must say that i really enjoyed this movie. firstly the movie was well performed by its cast and also the alien predator was played well as a hunter stalking its prey. the film delivers in suspense and action for its audience and i definitely would recommend it
  8. Jan 29, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best action films of the 1980s, easily one of Arnold's top five films, and showcasing one of the best designed movie monsters since 1979. How can the average be a 36 out of 100 on metacritic? Predator is probably a movie that needs to be re-examined in the context of today's action films. I think at the time it was perceived as being "just another dumb movie with body builders shooting stuff." First of all, let me set the record straight. Predator has one of the most interesting and diverse casts in the history of movies. Of course action icon Schwarzenegger pretty much playing the role he'd been playing since day 1, but this time not by himself. Jesse Ventura; Navy veteran, pro wrestler, future governor, and future host of one of the most ridiculous shows ever: Conspiracy Theory. Sonny Landham, former porn star and future Kentucky gubernatorial candidate (trying to ride the success of Schwarzenegger and Ventura) who's said candidacy was run into the ground by said porn career. Bill Duke who's actually a classically trained actor. Carl Weathers, former college football player and...Apollo Creed. Shane Black, known best of all for just plain creating the Lethal Weapon series. And to finish it out, Richard Chaves, another Vietnam veteran and former soap opera actor. So, the film's not just about body builders breaking things and fighting each other. In fact, Predator is about that sort of thing completely failing. Sure, after approximately one million terrorists are killed by our special operations squad, you'd think that wouldn't be the case. But, when approximately one million bullets our fired at our monster, I think one hits him, sort of. He has to put a bandaid on. McTiernan's action movie is basically about "action" not working. It's almost a sendup of the 80s action movie. Big guys run around with big guns, and instead of that working like it always used to, they get sniped, slashed stabbed, plasma-ed, etc. I don't even think the Predator spends more than a second killing someone until he makes his way to the hero. And, Schwarzenegger, unlike always, doesn't get to use his giant muscles to win the day. He's got to lure the monster under a big log and drop it on its head. So, I'd say that instead of this being just another dumb action film, it's more of a satire of that kind of action film, sort of poking fun at it between the lines. Don't get me wrong, it works on the level of the other action films of its time, but the almost satirical pornographic portrayal of guns by McTiernan and the science fiction elements certainly work to benefit the movie and solidify it's place as a classic in the action and sci-fi categories. Expand
  9. Mar 5, 2011
    9
    A highly enjoyable movie, with action and a great plot, I had a blast watching this, and it's one I could watch over and over again, if your into this kind of thing it's one you should see.
  10. Jan 13, 2013
    9
    The critic's score for this movie is frankly absurd! Predator is one of the best monster movies ever made, with only the first two Alien movies outperforming it. The setting is perfect, Arnie's squad of soldiers are well defined and memorable (elevating them far beyond monster-fodder) and the creature itself is a bonafide legend. My youth would not have been complete without Predator and the movie has stood the test of time with ease. An outright classic! Expand
  11. May 15, 2011
    10
    This was by far my favorite movie of all time. It is just something about a unstoppable alien going against the guy who has won Mr.Universe three times.
  12. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    Not the greatest film ever, but certainly arnie's best, and a contender for my all time top ten list. A classic that gets better with every view.
  13. Apr 10, 2013
    8
    It surprises me that this amazing action film has such a low metascore. Is it too unintelligent, "dumb" or stupid for you snooty movie critics. It's an amazing witty one-liner filled romp from start to finish
  14. Oct 1, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this is an EPIC movie
    Donno y its got only a score of 36
    Every action movie fan must watch this
    Ma fav scene is the iconic laugh at the end by the predator
    Expand
  15. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Usually when I look at a movie, like example horror or action or comedy or whatever. Then it depends on how scary it is or how destructive it is. This movie is a action horror. But with Arnold Swachenegger in it was more action than horror. Doesn't matter, it all tied up when Arnold was being hunted by the PREDATOR. The universes best hunter ever, until it met Arnold. They both gave each other hell. Arnold gave the predator hell because he was sent in the middle of the jungle to help a team distress call. But instead he and his team find nothing but skinned soldiers and of course the predator. The PREDATOR gave him hell because its his right of passage to become a "man". All together the movie was awesome. Not the best graphics you ever saw but still what a movie. Thumbs up. Expand
  16. Feb 18, 2012
    8
    Why the low score? Although this isn't a cinema masterpiece, it's a classic movie, and one of the few Schwarzenegger movies that isn't terrible. This is a cool film to watch, and I recommend it to any fans of action movies, Schwarzenegger or AVP.
  17. Oct 25, 2012
    7
    Predator is one of the great classics of the action genre. When a special forces team are sent in on a rescue mission things turn for the worse when they begin to be picked off one by one by an unseen Predator with superior fighting tactics & weaponry. Arnie provides a knockout "tough guy" role as ever and the supporting actors are just as good. One of those lazy afternoon action flicks you can really get stuck into. Expand
  18. May 11, 2012
    10
    memorable film, and easily the most terrifying and unstoppable extraterrestrial ever conceived. the metacritic score makes less sense than this: 8d'@~j843.'#[ewiuo389.
  19. Jun 17, 2012
    9
    No matter how many times you watch it, this is the only film you'll never ever get bored. Best action/thriller film so far. You wont feel like you are watching a 80's film. Trust me;)
  20. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    Expertly crafted film with just as many jaw-drop moments as there are seat-jumper moments.
  21. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    It's amazing some of the best atomsphere ever pure testorone fueled action shows whats bad about modern action movies Arnold delivers the role and there is a great sense of humour
  22. Jul 31, 2013
    9
    This movie is definitely underrated by "professional critics" as this movie is awesome it has very different and unique characters that bounce off of each other so well creating some great dialogue sequences. The action in this movie is also great because it's not too "over the top" but it's also not extremely realistic.
  23. Dec 19, 2011
    4
    This is the definition of action. It was entertaining in some parts but it does get rather predictable and boring as well. Also the acting was poor as well. It was ok though but not as good as it could have been.
  24. Oct 16, 2012
    7
    The editing is choppy at some points and some scenes could have been more fleshed out, but Predator succeeds largely with strong suspense and exciting action.
  25. Sep 19, 2013
    9
    Hated by critics, loved by users, Predator is one of the best Schwarzenegger movies out there. But as ugly as it is, the actual "predator" isn't very scary, and we barely see it (it is implied most of the movie). But Predator is still a good film.
  26. AGK
    Dec 31, 2013
    7
    most of the critics don't know what they're saying! plain and simple, this movie was a great action blockbuster with NO love stories which is good and the famous "get to da choppa!" the only down side was the action was kind of slow
  27. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    Honestly. You want a film. You get a **** film. This is a brilliant, fast paced, action packed movie, full of twists, surprises, and as you'd expect from an Arnie film: a **** load of violence. Fantastic movie. You want to watch a movie, the critics are ****ed up in the head. I mean, Rambo First Blood got a **** 62% METASCORE! **** the critics. Watch this film.
  28. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    Predator is a thrilling, science-fiction action film, that stars the incomparable action star Arnold Schwarzenegger. Released in 1987, Predator has gone one to be one of the most widely-recognised sci-fi's of all-time. A team of highly-professional soldiers get dropped off by helicopters in which seems to be an easy mission dealing with guerillas. They're there to take them out but little do the realise the'll be getting picked out, one by-one by an Alien Warrior that's ship had crash-landed in the central-american jungle. Alan "Dutch" Schaefer played by Arnold Schwarzenegger leads the team of soldiers.

    This film's unmatchable in every way and still remains the greatest of all three solo Predator films and is far better than both Alien vs Predator films too. Schwarzenegger is the greatest and also, for the add, BIGGEST action star of all-time, so he really makes this film what it is. I love it in every way. The incredible shoot-locations, pretty awesome dialogue, Science-Fiction, violence, plot and more. It's all great. I rate Predator a 10/10 as it's my all-time favourite film. I love so many films, but Predator is definitely my favourite (alongside a few other, non-related films).

    A+, 10/10.
    Expand
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 4 out of 11
  1. 50
    McTiernan, regrettably, seems more interested in spectacle than suspense, and the attack sequences are filmed for splashy visual impact. And an apocalyptic finale that raises the antiwar message to the nuclear level is more than McTiernan's metaphor can bear. [12 June 1987, Friday, p.J]
  2. Alternately grisly and dull, with few surprises. [12 June 1987, p.C6]
  3. Reviewed by: Pat Graham
    40
    Despite the off-rhythm styling and suggestions of primeval menace, there's really not much going on here.