Predators Image
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 381 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A bold new chapter in the Predator universe, "Predators" was shot on location under Rodriguez's creative auspices at the filmmaker's Austin-based Troublemaker Studios, and is directed by Nimród Antal. The film stars Adrien Brody as Royce, a mercenary who reluctantly leads a group of eliteA bold new chapter in the Predator universe, "Predators" was shot on location under Rodriguez's creative auspices at the filmmaker's Austin-based Troublemaker Studios, and is directed by Nimród Antal. The film stars Adrien Brody as Royce, a mercenary who reluctantly leads a group of elite warriors who come to realize they've been brought together on an alien planet... as prey. With the exception of a disgraced physician, they are all cold-blooded killers – mercenaries, Yakuza, convicts, death squad members – human "predators" that are now being systemically hunted and eliminated by a new breed of alien Predators. (20th Century Fox) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. 88
    Antal is a professional who respects your dollars. In a season where the blockbusters are as flat as month-old soda, that’s the most romantic gesture a commercial filmmaker can make.
  2. 70
    Amid the macho poses and reloading of his unbelievably enormous weapon, I was distracted by the notion of Brody’s participation as a kind of privately satisfying performance art (a similar impulse found James Franco doing a guest stint on "General Hospital").
  3. 67
    Summer was made for this kind of film, and Predators is almost exactly what you need to fix this otherwise busted summer cinema season.
  4. Reviewed by: Nick Starkey
    50
    Predators biggest failing is that it manages to make its sci-fi violence absurdly boring.
  5. Predators, plural, starts well and ends poorly, and in the middle it's in the middle.
  6. 50
    The Predator series needed a shot of vitality, not another workmanlike go-around. SSDP: Same shit, different planet.
  7. You can't fool me. I know it's actually a parlor game.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 101
  2. Negative: 18 out of 101
  1. JohnathanS.
    Jul 9, 2010
    10
    I haven't actually seen Predators yet however I have watched enough Dateline that Chris Hansen has me convinced that predators are I haven't actually seen Predators yet however I have watched enough Dateline that Chris Hansen has me convinced that predators are horrifying. Add the fact that these monster now roam on alien planets as well only confirms that Hawkins was right - we should not be sending out space probes that are the equivalent to a google map for our front doors. Gripping story that is all too real. Expand
  2. MannyM.
    Jul 9, 2010
    10
    If this movie was any more action packed then your mind might explode.
  3. AndrewL.
    Jul 9, 2010
    9
    This movie is not without its flaws however i really enjoyed the movie its exactly what you expect a predator movie to be like.
  4. Aug 11, 2010
    7
    An elite commando unit led Major Alan "Dutch" Schaeffer and C.I.A. Liaison Major George Dillon were dropped into the deep jungle with ordersAn elite commando unit led Major Alan "Dutch" Schaeffer and C.I.A. Liaison Major George Dillon were dropped into the deep jungle with orders to rescue a presidential cabinet minister kidnapped by guerrilla forces in Val Verde. As the progress through the jungle Major Schaeffer and his team stumble upon a downed American helicopter and the skinned remains of several bodies later revealed an American Special Forces team afterwards, they make there way to a heavily guarded rebel encampment quickly dispensing of the troops in the base and taking a young girl hostage. Major Schaeffer soon finds out that the entire rescue mission was nothing but a hoax cooked up by his superiors to get his team to kill the guerrillas in the encampment, after Dillon confesses that the men they found earlier disappeared in a failed rescue mission of two CIA agents. As they make there back to the extraction point the commandos, an unknown creature using thermal imaging is watching them. After two members of the team are mysteriously slain, the survivors become aware that something in the jungle is stalking them, something not of this world. Year: 2010??? Location: unknown A lone mercenary named Royce wakes up in free fall over a dense jungle after deploying his parachute and maker a rough landing on the planet he assumes is Earth possibly the Amazon. Royce meets up one by one with a colorful group of killers much like himself: Isabelle: An Israeli Defense Force black ops sniper, Cuchillo a Mexican Los Zetas drug cartel enforcer, Mombassa a Sierra Leone RUF death squad officer, Nikolai a Russian Spetsnaz commando, Stans a notorious and deadly death-row inmate from San Quentin state prison. Edwin a seemingly innocent doctor (who does not seem to fit in with the rest) and Hanzo a Yakuza assassin they have been brought together for one reason and one reason only on our planet they are the greatest killers we have to offer. Something has brought them to a jungle planet to hunt them for sport but the real question is what brought them there? How do they get home? Robert Rodriguez and Nimrod Antal's "Predators" is not a continuation of the horrendous AVP franchise directed by the abysmal Paul W.S. Anderson there film goes all the way back to the look and feel of John McTiernan's 1987 cult classic that became one of the 80's deifying action/adventure films and also a deifying film in Science fiction horror. I know that is hard to believe but when you look back at "Predator" and look at the official sequel "Predators" you can see what made the character and the film so popular. All throughout this movie, you feel a complete and utter sense of nostalgia as you watch the characters march around the jungle and out run, there-impeding doom; this is a well-made movie with a fine group of actors that know what they have gotten themselves into They enjoy every minute of it. It does not appear that way onscreen seeing as they have to be serious you know they must have had a ball shooting it out with the predators I know I would. Antal and Rodriguez avoid what made the AVP movies so bad and focus more on what made the Predator franchise so good they take there main queues from Predator the quiet subtle nature and a little from Predator 2 mainly the gritty pulpy feel of the trashy sequel put them together and what do you get? "Predatorsâ Expand
  5. Sep 25, 2010
    6
    A true sequel to the first Predator movie - assorted human & non-Predator predators (soldiers, mercenaries, criminals, weird aliens...) vs.A true sequel to the first Predator movie - assorted human & non-Predator predators (soldiers, mercenaries, criminals, weird aliens...) vs. Predator predators on a game preserve planet. Rumble in an extraterrestrial jungle, capable killers vs. cloaked capable killers, past 5 o'clock - **** raping time. Not as good as the original, much better than Predator 2, better than AvP: Requiem. Predator fans will certainly be amused with this semi-resetting of the franchise. Expand
  6. Apr 27, 2011
    5
    I became user of this site just to write something everybody normal is probably asking... How in the world can this movie have a higher scoreI became user of this site just to write something everybody normal is probably asking... How in the world can this movie have a higher score than the original which scored 36 ?????? In my opinion Predator from 1987 is one of the best action films in the history not to mention that it is in all ways better than Predators from 2010... I mean, Predators isn't bad but it cannot be compared to Predator. Come on.. Expand
  7. Aug 16, 2010
    0
    I have little to say that wont have been said before apart from - really, how difficult is it to make a Predator film? Surely the simpleI have little to say that wont have been said before apart from - really, how difficult is it to make a Predator film? Surely the simple ingredients are a few bad a*s characters that you are rooting for, some bad a*s predators that stalk and scare the s**t out of the characters and a few good death scenes and fights. None of this is in Predators. Expand

See all 101 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best (and Worst) Movies of 2016 So Far

    The Best (and Worst) Movies of 2016 So Far Image
    Published: July 1, 2016
    We reveal the 50 best-reviewed films of 2016 so far ... as well as the 10 worst.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 30, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The BFG, The Purge: Election Year, The Legend of Tarzan, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016 Image
    Published: June 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of July, including an extended version of Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice plus Green Room, Everybody Wants Some!!, O.J.: Made in America, and more.
  4. 10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July

    10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July Image
    Published: June 28, 2016
    Our editors pick out the most interesting films headed to theaters next month.