Prime

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 52
  2. Negative: 11 out of 52
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JackM.
    Mar 9, 2006
    9
    A well crafted, honest film with strong performances and engaging characters. It's sort of an "anti-studio" film, avoiding all the paint-by-numbers cliches and trite twists of sappy Hollywood romantic comedies.
  2. amaols.
    Nov 12, 2005
    10
    A movie that cuts through a lot of the typical hollywood BS storyline and BS characters with BS emotions.
  3. KevinM.
    Dec 4, 2005
    5
    The story line was great; however I thought the ending sucked. I was really disappointed to the point that I wouldn't recommend it to anyone to go see.
  4. KenR.
    Oct 30, 2005
    2
    A painful movie to watch other than a few good lines and maybe two good scenes. You can picture the screenwriters sitting around a table trying to figure out how the plot should proceed and coming up with mediocre solutions. The main character David is supposedly a painter, but you never see him painting anything but a wall and he doesn't seem to have any interest in painting. After A painful movie to watch other than a few good lines and maybe two good scenes. You can picture the screenwriters sitting around a table trying to figure out how the plot should proceed and coming up with mediocre solutions. The main character David is supposedly a painter, but you never see him painting anything but a wall and he doesn't seem to have any interest in painting. After watching this film you feel like you've wasted your time. The two female leads give nice performances, but that is really all this movie has to offer and it is hardly enough! Expand
  5. AlanG
    Jul 10, 2007
    9
    Meryl Streep is an absolute joy to watch. She can do it all. So her character and the plot weren't totally realistic. But who cares. It's a comedy. In fact I'd say it was somewhat in keeping with the screwball comedies of the 40's. Uma Thurman delivered a first rate performance. It was nice to see her in a non-Tarantino film. The woman can act. I also liked the fact Meryl Streep is an absolute joy to watch. She can do it all. So her character and the plot weren't totally realistic. But who cares. It's a comedy. In fact I'd say it was somewhat in keeping with the screwball comedies of the 40's. Uma Thurman delivered a first rate performance. It was nice to see her in a non-Tarantino film. The woman can act. I also liked the fact that the ending wasn't your typical Hollywood, everything works out perfectly ending. Expand
  6. DerekG.
    Nov 6, 2005
    9
    The critics who gave this movie a bad score obviously have no emotions and have never been in a relationship like the one portrayed in this film. While the relationship does feel a bit forced and superficial at the beginning, you really begin to empathize with the characters and understand what they're experiencing. Meryl Streep is great as always, and Uma Thurman really outdoes The critics who gave this movie a bad score obviously have no emotions and have never been in a relationship like the one portrayed in this film. While the relationship does feel a bit forced and superficial at the beginning, you really begin to empathize with the characters and understand what they're experiencing. Meryl Streep is great as always, and Uma Thurman really outdoes herself as well. The new guy is pretty good too. Plus, for those who claim that the movie goes nowhere, it's because it has a realistic finish. It kind of feels like a big-budget movie trying to be an indie, or perhaps the other way around. Expand
  7. MarkB.
    Dec 3, 2005
    0
    It stands to reason that the ONLY moderately amusing element of this astonishingly tedious, totally laugh- and charm-free romantic comedy from writer-director Ben Younger (whose first and only other full-length film was the perceptive business drama Boiler Room, and who here provides the dictionary illustration of the term "sophomore slump")--occurred completely by accident. The male It stands to reason that the ONLY moderately amusing element of this astonishingly tedious, totally laugh- and charm-free romantic comedy from writer-director Ben Younger (whose first and only other full-length film was the perceptive business drama Boiler Room, and who here provides the dictionary illustration of the term "sophomore slump")--occurred completely by accident. The male lead, a 23-year-old wannabe artist played by Bryan Greenberg--has the character name David Bloomberg. That also happens to be the name of the editor and head writer of Reality News Online, a website that provides extremely elaborate commentary, predictions and Monday-morning quarterbacking on every reality show on TV. I can't blame Younger for not much about reality TV or this website, but perhaps making the protagonist a reality-obsessed maven who constantly neglects his girlfriend to watch and write about The Biggest Loser, Beauty and the Geek and/or Big Brother 32 would've vastly improved the film. Hell, ANYTHING would have. The script flails about trying desperately to be witty, insightful, insiderish and sophisticated, but Younger's work comes off here as though he stole a Woody Allen script (not Manhattan or Hannah and Her Sisters, mind you, but more along the lines of Hollywood Ending or Anything Else) and then proceeded to suck out whatever grains or crumbs of wit were left. The two normally very capable female stars are criminally shortchanged: Uma Thurman's Rafi (no relation to the hirsute children's singer), a 37-year-old divorcee who engeges in an affair with young Bloomberg, is hugely self-absorbed and unsympathetic: Thurman was a thousand times more likable when she was separating heads from bodies in the Kill Bill flicks. And even though I normally prefer Meryl Streep in comedies over dramas precisely because films like Adaptation and Death Becomes Her truly allow the actress to cut loose and go wild, Streep comes off here as uncharacteristically constricted and boring as Bloomberg's overly protective psychiatrist mom. As for Greenberg as Bloomberg, his major dramatic contribution is to take off his shirt, which he does so often that Prime might just become some sort of a gay cult movie on DVD provided that homosexual men have the good sense to watch it the way heterosexual ones should watch Charlie's Angels reruns and movies--with the sound turned all the way down. As for the much-advertised gimmick of Thurman being Streep's patient without being aware for most of the length of the picture that the doctor is her lover's mom, not only (with all due respect to Roger Ebert) is this an Idiot Plot Device if ever there was one, but it yields an embarrassing, seemingly endless, dentist's drill-like dialogue exchange in which the two women discuss David's penis and I seriously debate with myself whether to shatter my all-time record of having never, never walked out on a movie I paid to see. I didn't this time either, but some patrons may want to cut their losses much sooner; there's a subplot about David's buddy, who makes a partial living throwing pies at people, and given how expensive going to the movies can be these days, Younger should pray that life doesn't imitate fiction in this case, lest irritated patrons find somewhere to purchase lemon meringues, key limes and Boston creams with his name on them! Expand
  8. ElaineH.
    Mar 20, 2006
    9
    I've been recommending this movie to everyone I know. It's absolutely terrific. The characters are so real, and everything just works in this gem. It has a "real" ending, too, like real life, not some Tinseltown fantasy. Don't miss it!
  9. PatC.
    Jun 30, 2006
    1
    In spite of Streep's efforts, a recipe for disaster: Take one Uma Thurman. Separate from Tarantino and sedate. Add script written by monkeys and a dash of soft porn. Simmer in a shallow pan until all trace of original thought has evaporated. Sprinkle with uninspired music and art. Serve chilled. Dispose of unconsumed portions promptly. If aftertase persists, do not seek therapy. In spite of Streep's efforts, a recipe for disaster: Take one Uma Thurman. Separate from Tarantino and sedate. Add script written by monkeys and a dash of soft porn. Simmer in a shallow pan until all trace of original thought has evaporated. Sprinkle with uninspired music and art. Serve chilled. Dispose of unconsumed portions promptly. If aftertase persists, do not seek therapy. Symptoms will pass eventually. Smacking ones self upside the head with a skillet, as one of the characters repeatedly does, will speed the process. Expand
  10. MaryellenG.
    Jul 9, 2006
    2
    After I watched this dog, I went to see what my man Ebert had said about it. Three stars? I wondered if he was on pain meds when he watched thiss unbelievably bad piece of crap. I looked at the comments below and wondered what the hell is wrong with me? I watched this movie like drivers stop to look at bad wrecks. I kept turning it off, and then found myself caught in a bad gaper's After I watched this dog, I went to see what my man Ebert had said about it. Three stars? I wondered if he was on pain meds when he watched thiss unbelievably bad piece of crap. I looked at the comments below and wondered what the hell is wrong with me? I watched this movie like drivers stop to look at bad wrecks. I kept turning it off, and then found myself caught in a bad gaper's block, turning it on again to see if it were possible that it was as bad as I thought it was. I kept wondering if someone had threatened Thurman's or Streep's chiildrens' liives tto force them to be in a movie so bad it could have been released directly to DVD. Technically, it had editing so choppily cut it was almost funny. The technical qualilties overall appeared to be only slightly abve a student super-8 project. I could go on forever about the lack of chemistry and the absurdity of a gorgeous 37 -year-old , well ll aware of her biological clock ticking, falling for this wet behind the ears putz. This dog just kept barking until I had but to take my leave of it. Expand
  11. CherS.
    Nov 4, 2005
    0
    Meryl, Meryl, Meryl - what were you thinking? The tiny little inside jokes were just that - tiny and litte, and should say outside - not in my favorite movie house. I'd rather eat popcorn on the curb!
  12. LesM.
    Oct 25, 2005
    8
    Genuinely amusing comedy with fine performances and a witty, knowing screenplay. Thurman is ravishingly pretty and proves herself a fine comedy actress - who knew? She is ably supported by Streep who narrowly misses caricature and by Greenberg who is an attractive leading man. There are worse ways to spend a couple of hours than seeing this crowdpleaser.
  13. mm
    Oct 28, 2005
    9
    Fantastic meryl streep is SO funny and SO touching.
  14. TabU.
    Oct 29, 2005
    9
    Deliciously fun and entertaining, the funniest comedy of the year with an authentic and sincere romantic love storyline.
  15. JimS.
    Oct 31, 2005
    10
    I really enjoyed this one. Often, these movies are cute but boring, but this one was witty and entertaining. I thoroughly enjjoyed it.
  16. ChadS.
    Dec 24, 2006
    5
    Because it's Meryl Streep, because she's an actress who radiates intelligence and common sense; the premise for "Prime" is hard to swallow (even for a comedy). No therapist alive would subject themselves to their offspring's sex life. That's just plain yucky (and vaguely incestuous), but at least Uma Thurman manages to deliver a truly quotable line which supplies Because it's Meryl Streep, because she's an actress who radiates intelligence and common sense; the premise for "Prime" is hard to swallow (even for a comedy). No therapist alive would subject themselves to their offspring's sex life. That's just plain yucky (and vaguely incestuous), but at least Uma Thurman manages to deliver a truly quotable line which supplies "Prime" with its one gut-busting moment of humor. Had Rafi been written a little more shrewdly, putting a book in her hands would've made for a stronger contrast with David's Nintendo obsession (and therefore better accentuate the disparity of the couple's age and life experiences). Since Rafi works with models (who are thought to be stereotypically dumb), being the smartest girl in the room at her workplace amongst all those hairdressers, photographers and blondes, would've made for a lot of crowd-pleasing, albeit easy jokes. Unfortunately, nothing funny transpires at Rafi's job. As for David's "job", we need to see him at the canvas to better round out his character. He's obviously more than a shiftless slob who camps out all day on Rafi's couch, but that's all "Prime" wants us to see. Expand
  17. GinaA.
    Mar 12, 2006
    9
    One of the best romantic comedies in the last ten years. This is truly a wonderful film, filled with laughs and heartbreak, too. One of Uma Thurman's best roles.
  18. DaveH.
    Mar 22, 2006
    9
    A real treat. Interesting three-dimensional, real characters with genuine flaws. Not tied up with a neat little bow at the end. It was marketed as a "romantic comedy," but that's selling it short, because genre branding has become such a pejorative. It has some very, very funny moments and scenes, but it also has much more depth and reality than most big Hollywood films. The three A real treat. Interesting three-dimensional, real characters with genuine flaws. Not tied up with a neat little bow at the end. It was marketed as a "romantic comedy," but that's selling it short, because genre branding has become such a pejorative. It has some very, very funny moments and scenes, but it also has much more depth and reality than most big Hollywood films. The three leads are outstanding. Expand
  19. JamesB.
    Apr 18, 2006
    8
    Very light & enjoyable; great cast. Believable. Streep is always good. Although we've seen it before, the family being Jewish adds a nice layer of humor to the movie. A fresh take on an old premise.
  20. Sam
    Apr 6, 2006
    8
    It's Something's gotta Give meets Napoleon Dynamite. While it might sound perfectly awful in comparison (Great romantic comedy and great deadpan comedy usually doesn't work), it's a perfectly fun movie.
  21. TonyB.
    Jul 31, 2006
    7
    Cute, funny, endearing. Pretty well written, as well. As a suggle on the couch rental, excellent; had I paid $9, I'd have said "ok." (I'm a Meryl Streep fanantic. She could wear a burka stand against a plain white background, and chant th eKoran, and I'd gladly watch. Add Uma, and who neeeds a plot?!)
  22. Ronnie
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    I really enjoyed this movie no matter what the critics or stuck up movie junkies said. The movie is funny, sexy, scandalous and just plain good. Uma looks so great in this movie that I just wanted to be Brian Greenberg for 5 minutes. The only improvement I would suggest is to set up the mother son relationship better because all of us don't come from a Jewish home. We need to I really enjoyed this movie no matter what the critics or stuck up movie junkies said. The movie is funny, sexy, scandalous and just plain good. Uma looks so great in this movie that I just wanted to be Brian Greenberg for 5 minutes. The only improvement I would suggest is to set up the mother son relationship better because all of us don't come from a Jewish home. We need to understand the overbearing Jewish mother more, as well as Uma's insecurities. All we get is that she is newly divorced. Otherwise I really enjoyed this film, especially the anti-Hollywood ending. Cheers! Expand
  23. Alessandra
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    I absolutely loved this movie! Although I am a sucker for romantic comedies, I don't say about many movies. Prime is different from most of the crap that is out there. The characters are realistic. The preformances are outstanding. The ending just brings the whole film together. Go see it!
  24. VirginiaB.
    Nov 5, 2005
    0
    The idea has comic potential, but the dialogue lacks punch; the lovers are insipid, boring, and without chemistry; the pacing is painfully slow; and the plot is simultaneously cliche-ridden-sit-comesque and pretentiously referential to Woody Allen and tiresome French flicks. Meryl Streep does repetitous mugging in this one-joke movie. What a waste!
  25. SamS.
    Nov 6, 2005
    9
    Kate and Leapold style. Wonderful romantic comedy with subub preformences
  26. TracyR
    Nov 9, 2005
    5
    Since I'm actually IN a relationship that began like this (6 years and counting) - I was looking forward to Prime, and ended up pretty disappointed. Lots of serious issues oversimplified in favor of Jewish shtick (and I AM Jewish, but enough is enough already).
  27. Tom
    Dec 4, 2005
    4
    I'll put this simply. If I saw a couple on the street, like the one depicted in this film, I would not like them at all. Plus, i terms of the overall storyline, this wasn't really a 'clash of cultures' rom-com as related in the trailers. Rather, felt like a Jewish vs. not Jewish study film, in which Uma's background and beliefs, or anyone else's for that I'll put this simply. If I saw a couple on the street, like the one depicted in this film, I would not like them at all. Plus, i terms of the overall storyline, this wasn't really a 'clash of cultures' rom-com as related in the trailers. Rather, felt like a Jewish vs. not Jewish study film, in which Uma's background and beliefs, or anyone else's for that matter, were irrelevant or inconsequential in comparison. Come on - there are more cultures than Jewish and.. women in New York City! It didn't amuse me, it just came across as arrogant, superficial and irritating. But perhaps i missed the point. Another film i will have forgotten in 2 weeks. Expand
  28. LoulexJ.
    Oct 28, 2005
    1
    What is this?---This thing they call a movie- a story----stories imply that something happens! NOTHING HAPPENED.
  29. JackS.
    Dec 22, 2006
    8
    Better than expected--about 30 minutes too long, but great performances (and thurman is fantastic).
  30. WayneW.
    Mar 11, 2006
    10
    My wife and I both tremendously enjoyed this movie. We agreed it's as strong as "Annie Hall". I was surprised to read that Sandra Bullock originally was to appear in the Uma Thurman role. I think that would've been a big mistake. Miss Thurman brought so much heart to this movie. We've been recommending it to all our friends. It's just wonderful.
  31. TyroneJ.
    Mar 26, 2006
    9
    I loved this movie. It seemed so real about genuine people. It had something to say. The end left me with real tears. See it and be surprised.
  32. WayneB.
    Apr 12, 2006
    9
    A strong film with realistic and well-realized characters. Things get realistically messy and it's not all tied up neatly with a bow at the end. It's a genuine treat.
  33. SarahY.
    Nov 11, 2005
    7
    Uma and Streep both are wonderful. Yes the plot drags a little, and there are points in the movie where you'd fastforward if you had a remote to the movie screen. However, it remains overall a funny and heartfelt movie. The ending is perfect for this movie and it really touched me.
  34. DaleM
    Nov 26, 2006
    3
    Neither entertaining nor enlightening. Meryl Streep seems to be practicing for stock character parts in B-grade movies. What's sad is that the movie seems to think it has something to say, but you come away realizing it really had nothing to say. The movie is essentially resolved by the deus ex machina of having the stock character of the "young artist" become an instant success. You Neither entertaining nor enlightening. Meryl Streep seems to be practicing for stock character parts in B-grade movies. What's sad is that the movie seems to think it has something to say, but you come away realizing it really had nothing to say. The movie is essentially resolved by the deus ex machina of having the stock character of the "young artist" become an instant success. You never figure out how he learned to paint without any contact with the art world. We have to assume he was just created to play a part in the movie just like all the other stock characters. Expand
  35. Sep 4, 2014
    6
    While Meryl Streep continues to shine, Ben Younger shows promise as a writer and director. The exchanges between therapist and Mother and son and girlfriend are very fun.
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. 75
    Younger knows it's fun to watch Rafi and David cross lines of age, culture and religion. He also knows it's painful. That's what makes his movie hilarious and heartfelt.
  2. A prime example of a solid romantic comedy.
  3. Reviewed by: Ronnie Scheib
    60
    Despite a comic Yiddishe mama turn by Meryl Streep and a sensitively nuanced performance by Uma Thurman in a convincing changeup from her recent kickass action roles, Prime remains an oddly juiceless older woman-younger man romance, with a Freudian twist.