User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 238 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 60 out of 238

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 4, 2012
    2
    An unfunny, stupid movie. Not much else I can say.
  2. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    Let me first say that the only reason I saw this movie was because of the New York Times review. I watched this movie from start to finish and realized it was barley a movie at all. It was literally the filming of the most epic party ever. You cannot watch this film expecting character development, deep plots or script. It is literally the filming of a night as it unravels. The cinematography and use of flip cams was awesome and really well done. The only reason why i wont dismiss this film as bad, is how true it is and accurately it portrays a big portion of high school teens. I myself am a senior in high school and can say, the script accurately shows how we talk and the party shows the way we act. the only part i was iffy on was the instant consumption of about 70 ecstasy pills, that i feel would have been met with more hesitation. But long story short, This is simply the filming of an epic night that Millions wish they could have. Expand
  3. Mar 2, 2012
    0
    My goodness! Never before have I seen such an affront to common decency and traditional values as in Project X. This so called "film" has no plot, and just shows kids as young as seventeen using foul language, drinking, and smoking pot. At one point, they use some kind of designer drug called "ecstasy." Several teenage girls bare their breasts, and premarital sexual relations are strongly implied. Actually no. My entire reaction to Project X was, "This is lame, man. Really lame." If only this film were an affront to decency. I wish it were offensive. If only it were the slightest bit funny. There's no real story. Once you've seen five minutes of it, you've seen all it has to offer. It isn't half as wild and crazy as it pretends to be. In a movie where racy content is the attraction, there's more implied than shown. The characters are one dimensional at best, and frankly, the actors are uniformly amateurish. Full review on my blog. Expand
  4. Mar 3, 2012
    8
    Great movie to just have a pure (sorta) honest laugh with out having to think to hard or feel like you have been sitting in a movie too long. AKA the prefect movie short sweet (sorta) and to the point all while being a hysterical comedy.
  5. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    I walked out of the movie in shock at how awesome the party was. This is definitely a better Superbad. The critics were wrong. The point of this movie is not a deep plot, its just video of the best night of the teens life. Go see it.
  6. E6X
    Mar 3, 2012
    8
    Although the movie does not have a great plot or storyline, it is still a very funny and entertaining movie to see with some friends. After seeing the movie you will get an overwhelming urge to go to a massive raging party of this sort, just because it was so awesome. Project X really is not that bad, and I encourage you all see this movie.
  7. Mar 11, 2012
    5
    If you go into this movie with the intent to be educated then you should not have paid to see this movie. Go rent something or watch the Artist. This movie was made to take the concept of Superbad and give it some steroids with a 2 hour energy drink chaser. I do not think it is the greatest movie by any means nor is it anything special in the way other comedies have been of this ilk. I was entertained though. Of course I am a guy, and the breasts did add to the overall likeability of Project X. I will admit that much, but I found the ride fun and the knowledge of what was to come enticing to see. I wanted to see the craziness to keep going. I needed to see the total chaos that I saw in the sneak previews. The spoiler was in my head and that made me want to go through it and not think about how bad the acting was or how the director didn't care to really care fill the screen with thought provoking dialogue. The movie was meant to take our inner child that tells us to let go and have fun, and take it for a ride. My party days are long gone, and I do not think about it at all nor do I really miss it. Yet, it was nice to see what it would be like if I could turn back the clock and just totally immerse myself in that moment. This movie is not to be taken seriously, it is meant to be enjoyed for the party we all wish we could experience just once in our lives, and live to talk about. Expand
  8. dz9
    Mar 19, 2012
    1
    This movie does something that NO genre of movie should ever forget, it forgets to bring the audience along with it. What I mean by that is that while you are watching this, due to the badly fleshed out characters, lacking story development, and the overall style of the movie... you feel like your a third wheel watching it, it feels as if you are watching a bunch of OTHER people have fun and your just sadly stuck in your theatre seat. What else does it do wrong? It's just not funny, aside from two parts, the jokes are just for shock value with no build up OR punch line, so it feels like a very bad episode of Tosh.0 without the clever commentary. Also, the characters are both unbelievable and unlikable, especially the main character's best friend in the movie. Some may say though that at least its entertaining.. but how? At first in the movie, it does sort of lift the mood by its loud pump music and outrageous party footage, but the movie followed this formula too much to the tee. The movie was 10 minutes of party montage with loud music and 4minutes of irrelevant dialogue; repeat. The Good: There is None. The Bad: The movie fails at connecting to the audience, lacks funny jokes, and unbelievable and unlikable characters. So why get the 1? Despite all the "hating" upon this movie, it does serve a good purpose. This would be a perfect movie to play in the background of a drinking party, just make sure your party goers are hammered, cause thats the only audience this movie should attract. Expand
  9. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    This is without a doubt one of the most ridiculously entertaining movies I have ever seen. People who complain about the story or morality of the movie are completely missing the point. For one night we get to witness the party that we all wish we had the balls to throw. We get to lose ourselves in the insanity. Anyone who can't appreciate the beautiful chaos of it all has clearly lost touch with their inner youth. Expand
  10. Mar 3, 2012
    6
    It's not in the same league with Todd Phillips classics like "The Hangover" or "Old School", but it's fun. It's nothing like a John Hughes movie as a couple of critics asserted; instead, it shoots for the most extreme high school party ever, and it achieves it for the most part. No, there's not any great depth or characterization to the thing, but it works. It's probably a parent's nightmare. For someone who revels in the destruction of someone ELSE's property in the name of collective fun, however, it's a blast. Expand
  11. Mar 6, 2012
    2
    A trio of high schools losers (the nerd, the loudmouth, the fatty) throws a big party to get laid. It was done well with "Superbad," but this new attempt takes the partying to outrageous ends without any of the humor or heart. It's yet another "found footage" approach, which means no narrative style. There are even extended music video sequences with lots of dancing, drugs and boobies. Obviously, I'm not the audience for it, so some under 30s goers might get off on the lame idiocy. Expand
  12. Mar 8, 2012
    0
    The most upsetting movie I've ever seen. It takes "you had to be there" to a whole new level. There is nothing fun about watching people you don't know have fun, and this movie is simply 88 minutes of that. This movie also contains the most un-likable protagonists in recent memory. Thomas is a complete coward who is pushed around by his disgusting, obnoxious, loser "friend" Costa. They both hang out with J.B. who is only there so Costa can constantly insult him about his weight and are followed around by Dax,, who records the party on his camera. The entire dialogue consists mostly of Costa talking about how "epic" the party is and how popular it will make them. Every "joke" is signaled by Costa yelling "What the **** is that!?!" or "What the **** are you doing?!" It's almost as if they asked a 14 year old to write what they think a party is like. A little person punching kids in the groin is about as sophisticated as the humor in this movie gets. To me, the most insulting part was how they completely villainize anyone who wants to shut down their party. Absolute garbage. Expand
  13. Mar 7, 2012
    9
    You can't expect to go into this movie expecting a plot and a touching story. If you do that, you're just plain stupid. It's made for teenagers to enjoy watching an outrageous party that they wish they were at. Most adults won't find this entertaining at all. But if your a teenager, go watch this!
  14. Mar 7, 2012
    9
    Project X is a groundbreaking comedy that takes the cliche "Don't burn the house down" to a whole new level. This documentary style party film is completely in a genre of its own.
  15. Mar 2, 2012
    0
    A terrible film, I think that the situation can be like a wow, is very funny, but the film is terrible, is like a watch a party, and... Is all, Project X is a big deception.
  16. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    For those who wants a "Film" with a plot and everything that goes with... you don't want to see this.
    One the other hand, if you want to have some fun, It finally happened. A movie where you don't care about anything and simply ENJOY. Now my turn. Handy cam + Party = Awesome Awesomeness. Like a mix of all the best party i ever had minus the flamethrower part. I am going to see it again and
    again then buy it to watch it again. If you don't like it, don't watch it and stop hatting, I recommande it to all Partyrocker! Expand
  17. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    oh come on, you have to like this movie and see this movie, out of hand is putting it small, this party movie was epic , it reminds me of the kind of parties i used to have. real party movie and well as you can see i liked it. watch it and well see it for what it really is a couple of teens having fun and doing what all teens want to do.
  18. Mar 24, 2012
    1
    What was all the hype about ? The movie was awful. It's stupid, idiotic, unfunny, no point, has no hearth and the characters were so unlikeable. Hey, I don't what to sound like a '' grandpa '' here, but this movie is a terrible example for teenagers, and makes them look even worse. It shows everything that's wrong with youth today. Thank you United States of America, for making this wonderful, educational, inspiring, Oscar worthy movie (of course I'm sarcastic) ! Sure, most of the teens will like this movie, because of the fact that it's a party. The only reason I'm giving '' Project X '' a '' 1 '' is because of the soundtrack. That was the best and the only enjoyable thing about this crap. Expand
  19. Mar 12, 2012
    7
    This is a great movie to see with a group of friends, it's completely off the wall, in your face funny and so over the top it's in the stratosphere. That being said, I can't see anyone over 25 finding this funny, it's cruel and it's pretty frightening how ethically and morally irresponsible the main characters, (and by proxy the filmmakers), are. It's a rollicking, hilarious and insane thrill ride. It's also disturbing, cruel, violent and pro-drug use. A lot of people have been saying it's like "Superbad on crack," it literally is. But where that film was profane and hilarious, it had a heart and a moral center, with characters you could identify with. While "Project X" is hilarious, it's also just profane. Expand
  20. Mar 2, 2012
    7
    This was a fun movie experience. It's not a movie for adults. It's a movie for teens. I'm damn sure every teen who has wanted to experience an insane party...this will be the closest you can get to it.
  21. Mar 7, 2012
    3
    ALOT of people are talking about how hilarious and totally awesome this movie was. I think i was watching a different film because the "Project X" that i saw was stupid, ridiculous, and flat-out over the top. People even wonder why teenage drinking is such an epidemic and this movie definitely does not help the issue. I pretty much saw this movie just to see it and voice my own opinion. "People are saying its like Superbad on crack".....most ridiculous comment i've ever seen in my life. Superbad was funny, this was not. I laughed maybe twice in this film. I debated on walking out of the theater and watching the lorax again, but i'm not one for starting a movie and not finishing. This movie was just plain ridiculous, no realism whatsoever and its supposed to be a "found footage" style of film. I did not enjoy myself. Save your money and your valuable time from this mess of a so-called film. 3/10 Expand
  22. Mar 2, 2012
    0
    I can not believe I paid money to see this movie. It was the biggest pile of crap I have ever seen. The P.O.V. films are getting dumber and dumber. Please what ever you do don't see this film!!!!! You will leave the movies pissed off like i was. But if you don't have a brain you may like this movie. It's a rip off of Superbad. Don't give them your money!!!!
  23. Mar 3, 2012
    0
    terrible movie, no plot. its just teens having a wild party. if i wanted to see a wild party i can go down the street from my house and watch one there every weekend for FREE.
  24. Mar 15, 2012
    0
    I really regret wasting my money to pay for this movie. It was stupid and pointless! They just used some naked teen girls to attract audience and make money...
  25. Apr 10, 2012
    2
    Horrible. I'm not even going to waste time going into all the details. The characters were arrogant, boring and pathetic. The plot was even worse. Save your braincells, watch something else.
  26. Mar 12, 2012
    0
    I'd rather recommend this movie for people who never had/went to a decent party in their whole lives. And besides it's stupid to pay for an aftermovie of some party you didn't even attend.
    I always went to the movies to see some kick-ass special effect pumped Action Movie and this was a huuuuuuuuge letdown (shouldn't have listened to friends and gone to John Carter)
  27. Mar 11, 2012
    0
    Very poorly crafted party movie lacks humor, fun and humanity. The actors do a terrible job. The found footage format goes out the window for Girls Gone Wild montages matched with the heavy thumping soundtrack. All the guys are sloppy and vulgar; all the girls look like a Playboy College issue. None of the jokes work. The imagery of the partied up women is more Larry Clark than Bob C. Clark, if you know what I mean. Expand
  28. May 24, 2012
    0
    If you're thinking about seeking this, just watch Superbad instead. They are pretty similar, except for the fact that Superbad is funny.
  29. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    COMPLETE GARBAGE. Hollywood has really gone to hell, they keep dishing out hardcore cash for movies like THIS. I feel robbed of my $10 dollars that i coulda spent on a tshirt, atleast that has more value. I got dragged into seeing this "movie" because i was with a group of friends and they wanted to see it so i was like what the hell ,even though i warned them that this was going to be a bad movie. First of all, the camera will literally make you dizzy. IDK why these producers feel the need to use documentary styled movies. Second of all, every single character is completely unlikable from start to finished, and the Dad's reaction to the party was completely re-damn-diculous. and Third, the movie has a "been there,done that" feel to it so its completely predictable. All of my friends left in nothing but disappoinment, and all i could say was "I TOLD YOU SO". All in all dont waste your money to support trash like this, the more we support crappy films, the more hollywood gives these crappy ideas the "green light" Expand
  30. Jun 2, 2012
    0
    This film is possibly the most boring piece of screenplay I've ever set eyes on. There is no plot at all and the camera choice (as seen in chronicle) resembling the documentary style does not work, it just means your point of view is very limited. There is no fun in watching other people party when you aren't part of the action. Don't bother watching this film.
  31. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    This movie is hella hilarious... in my opinion its right up there with the 1st American Pie and The Hangover movie. It's fun and very funny to watch. Yes there are three main characters in the movie (Thomas, JB and Costa) but the real superstar of the movie is the Epic Party. When you watch this movie you will finally know what it means to party like a Rock Star. The Soundtrack is also awesome. WARNING!!! don't try what you see in the movie at home, you've been warn and you will be brought up on charges... LOL! Expand
  32. Jun 3, 2012
    9
    Laughing at the people getting mad how there's no character development and typical how they're expecting the movie to have this and that. I dont care about that. All I care about if its an enjoyable or entertaining film. Thats it. Anyway, I found the film quite lulzy and typical teens trying to get popular and wanting a successful party. Its great when it all becomes chaotic and the entire place is getting wrecked. If you're looking for people partying hard and lots of alcohol and some chaos. Spend a small amount on this film. Expand
  33. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    Maybe it was the movie with the best script, or the best movie of the story, but this was an unforgettable anthem, went out with excitement, I left never to forget what was that movie, I liked everything, never expecting that was going to p . grilling, entertaining, fun and neck is to forget
  34. May 29, 2012
    2
    I agree with some of the other posters. There is no plot really. The moral of the story is that if you have a giant ass party that you will win the girl and have a happy ending(this doesn't require a spoiler alert) Even the jokes were pretty lame. I like funny movies but this isn't one of them.
  35. Aug 11, 2012
    0
    Can a movie get more dumb and stupid as this? I don't think... The hangover was a good comedy movie, but this one is plain s**t to say the least. And if the torture wasn't enough for an hour and a half, the most sickening part comes right at the end ; The party teen guy burned down houses, nearly killed several people, a dog and a dwarf, destroyed his dad's car... but in the end daddy says it's Ok, he's proud of his son, because he became popular. Great. Great great ending. Expand
  36. Jun 6, 2012
    6
    Crazy , Sick , ******* insane ....the whole movie ! Never imagine Project X (2012 )

    would be like this . Normally speaking is just a lot "a lot" of american teenagers making fool of themselves. On the other hand that party was definitely Epic . the movie would be better if it wasn't footage type but still its damn crazy. No comment on directing , Script or Acting coz its all about the
    party . And that sure was hell of a party . What can I say , Yeah everything in the film was Negative and there's no good in the film . Its just different kinda movie(Party) gone BAD . Collapse
  37. Jun 23, 2012
    8
    Great movie, I got what I expected how can a party end like a total chaos. This film is not made for people with child or people that have not lived around parties. Why there are people that watch systematically ALL the films? I would never ever see films made with Sandra Bullock, because I know what it is inside for example. So I wont be rating that films a 0, just because I don't like that type of films. Even though this is not a 10 film, but at least those 10 ratings, compensate the illogic behind the 0 ratings. Expand
  38. May 31, 2012
    6
    Upon watching this movie a second time I would say that it is a lot of fun, but really nothing special. It is worth watching, just to see how far these dumb teens can push the boundaries, but I don't think it adds much to the genre.
  39. Mar 2, 2012
    5
    Crazy and rambunctious, Project X appeals to teenagers that long for a party so great that it spans to such an unthinkable amount. A well directed found footage type and nicely acted by it's novice cast, Project X seeks to entertain audiences for its full run time with much vulgarity. Though it's not a good outlook or a good influence for the matter, it creates some fun that has no real value at all. By the end of the movie however, it seems like the kids really haven't learned their lesson after entirely wrecking their house to the extent that everyone in school applauds the main character Thomas for ruining his life but by creating the party of a lifetime. Expand
  40. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    this is a party licious book i pooped and peeded through my vows while watching this movie, it truly was the the one tht got away , and it was the poop master of all project movie michael bay strikes again!
  41. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    Let me start by saying this is one of the funniest films i have seen in a long time, it brings in a real aspect of life because these kind of crazy parties happen all the time... The fact that these are nerdy kids make it ironic that they pull off such a crazy part. In a way i think of it as a feel good film and it makes you think that nothing is impossible and that don't waste your life being boring have fun.
    Good humor
    Good-ish acting Brilliant Characters Hot chicks (always a bonus) One of the top comedies of the year!!
    Expand
  42. Jun 11, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An original comedy which results to be bad. I liked the end because it is realistic despite all the comedies nowadays. I expected more and i was kind of dissapointed Expand
  43. Jul 27, 2013
    5
    I don't know what to say about Project X. Did it have a plot? No, but it didn't need one. Did it have any type of character development? No, but it didn't need it. This film feels like a documentary and an actual movie all at one time. It truly is an experience. The lighting is well done, the editing is snappy, the soundtrack is nothing short of epic, and the pure amount of extra participation is unprecedented. However, this movie is an absolute nightmare for anyone that is host to parties. I had anxiety from the start of the party to the moment the credits rolled. The only major problem with the film is the almost complete disregard for consequences. Putting text at the end will not discourage an over zealous viewer from throwing their own Project X. Even the father completely disregards his sons blatant disregard for authority. With all that being said I rate this right in the middle of the sliding scale. It is good, don't get me wrong, but it's not really a movie. It's an experience. Expand
  44. Mar 3, 2013
    0
    How is this considered a comedy? Did anyone actually take the time to write any jokes? Nope, just got attractive women, told them to take their shirts off and pretend to be at the most unrealistic party ever. Anyone out there saying it reminds them of their party days are just lying. This stuff doesn't happen.
  45. Aug 21, 2012
    9
    Project X is about the party everybody has dreamed of throwing, the party that will turn the party thrower/throwers into legends and get them any girl they want. While I was watching this movie I couldn't help but think about how awesome it would be to have been there. Your basically watching an awesome party go from crazy to out of freaking control. It's also hilarious, at least I thought it was, bu that's probably because I have an extremely immature sense of humor and I'm easily amused. If you want to watch a movie about the party you've only dreamed of, and get a good laugh this is for you. Expand
  46. Sep 17, 2012
    8
    Project X is every teens wet dream. Enjoy viewing experience with your college dudes, and you'll be notice the unlimited high-school **** Till the break down, yo!
  47. Aug 29, 2012
    0
    Dazed and Confused for stupid people.

    One of the worst films ever made, this movie is not only unfunny, uncreative, and boring, it's a downright offensive film that offers up the following 'moral' at the end: It doesn't matter if you ruin your own life and the lives of your parents, as long as you're popular in high school, because that's what is REALLY important.
  48. Jan 12, 2013
    0
    O.k. So three complete morons through a "party", which apparently in some suburban neighborhoods is roughly equivalent to a barbarian raiding. In the process of "partying" they destroy one their parent's houses, part of their neighborhood, started several dozen fires, destroyed their car, and likely killed one or more people. In the end, one ends up riding the "short bus" to school after being declared "mentally deficient" to avoid prosecution, one had nothing happen to him but has several paternity suits filed against him, and one got a few months. The one with several paternity suits brags about "his next 'party'" on national television. So the moral of the story: destroy, rape, pillage, murder, no one else's lives matter, so long as you have fun and in the end everything will be okay. Ultimately, the only way this vaunt through sociopathy could have been construed as a comedy would have been if it ended in a Tarantino-style battle royal which left everyone of the psychotic main characters laying dead in a pool of their own blood. That didn't happen, this wasn't funny. Expand
  49. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best comedy films I've seen in my life. Want to have a party like this, but with less mess. I can not believe this movie has so little score, should have at least a score of 70.
  50. Mar 7, 2014
    3
    The movie had a really good idea, but it didn't go anywhere... It was just long and unfunny and even boring at times. Yup, an epic party being boring! that's how you feel when you watch this movie.
  51. Jul 21, 2012
    8
    Well I think some of the critics are dead wrong here. This fim is pretty good. Older critics are only giving terrible reviews because all they see in this movie are horny teens trying to get laid at a party which has been over-done so many times. The way teenagers see the film is the party they always wanted to throw but don't have the balls to. What starts out as decent gathering for Thomas Cubb's birthday turns into the party of the milenium with hilarious results like an angry midget being placed into an oven, two twelve year old security guards beating the **** out of an angry neighbor or an ecstasy filled garden gnome with his middle finger up. The film starts out a bit slow but starts to get going 15 minutes in and DOES.NOT.STOP!
    This film is iconic for every teenager such as myself mainly because this party makes the wildest party you have been look like an old ladies tea party in comparison.
    Expand
  52. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    My guess that the majority of people reviewing are oldies or boring people? This movie's brilliant, to the point of ridiculous. I loved it! It's not like it'll leave you with a sense of enlightenment, and it's not a 'must see' but never the less, it's worth your time. Side note: It's based off of real events in Australia, by a teen in Melbourne called 'Corey Worthington' - Look him up on Youtube
  53. Dec 30, 2012
    9
    I like the movie, as every teenager. I think it's funny and it shows reality in some of its moments. I think that people, after watching this film, can notice the effects of alcohol, drugs, sex and parties. But on the other hand, many people can take this "party" as a thing they want to do. That's to say: alcohol, naked girls, sex, drugs. Exagerating, they can end at a police-station. In general lines, the movie is good, and I like watching it, because everytime I find something different. 9 out of 10 marks for Project X. Expand
  54. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    This movie was absolutely epic. It's tough to describe it in any other way. It wasn't all that funny which is what I was hoping for but it was intense. The acting was pretty solid and the sequences were absolutely over the top. Like I said, it could've been funnier and there could've been a little more plot and a little less "highlights" but it was still totally worth watching. Obviously this movie isn't for everyone. It's raunchy, immature, and graphic but it hits its targeted audience on point. Expand
  55. Apr 3, 2012
    7
    I went into this movie expecting a cheesy annoying comedy, but I got a decent coming of age story. It had some parts that were absolutely ridiculousness and far fetched, but all in all, I enjoyed this movie.
  56. Jun 22, 2012
    6
    Looking back at this film, it would have made a better half-hour short. As you would think, most of the movie takes place during the party. Making you feel like a loser just sitting there watching average actors jumping around and doing drugs. Nonetheless, the entertainment is there and rapped with a nice dose of laughter.
  57. Mar 17, 2012
    7
    This movie was ok. Lots of teen boobies which was nice and fun. Funny thing was I went to the first afternoon showing and I was the absolute only person in the theater watching that film so I can say it was very enjoyable (no coughing, talking, sneezing, crying etc. in the theater). This was a hell of alot better than that pos movie, chronicle. Story was sort of weak, characters not really likeable at all except for the dude that gets tazered lol. Great time overall I would say its preety good compared to the trailer. Camera work btw was alot better then in chronicle cloverfield or any other found footage movie. Expand
  58. Apr 2, 2012
    8
    This movie actually had me entertained the entire time, and while my own parties as a teen were nowhere near in league with the party in the movie, they still had me going nostalgic at times. The film is awesome when you go visit it with a few mates, but don't go expecting a comedy with the same class as The Hangover. It's definately worth the watch, though if you've never been to a teen party, don't have any friends and your theater doesn't serve alcohol, you should subtract about three points from my review score. Expand
  59. Apr 14, 2012
    9
    Ok, I can see why people hate this movie. But if your aged between 15 and 21 this should be your fave movie.
    It has, humour like harold and kumar, action, alchohal, teenagers, violence, t!ts, A$$ and awesome music.
    The first person camera view gets a bit tedious, and the flamethrower was a bit over the top.
    Other than that, my fave movie of all time.
  60. Dec 2, 2012
    2
    This is a little late to be reviewing right now, but this movie sucked. The type of movie like this was perfected by superbad, and the producer Todd Phillips perfected comedy movies with The Hangover saga and Old School, but not this one. This movie is 88 minutes of junk and garbage. Not funny at all, unlike the movies i mentioned (Even Hangover: pt 2).
  61. Aug 5, 2012
    7
    Dirty, hilarious and not recommended to easy influential teenagers, ,,Project X'' is an epic party, with an epic soundtrack and some cliches of the comedy genre, but still an full entertaining experience, and that is a comedy suppose to be and this one does its job extremely good.
  62. Jun 2, 2012
    7
    I can't say I really understand some of these negative reviews. It's a party movie. It's rated R. Can people just not lighten up and have fun at a movie? You're watching people have a crazy night that you can never have. There are a few laughs and a few wtf moments, but seriously. Did any of these people see any of the trailers? It's a party. Crazy things happen. People have fun. The fact that I'm sure a lot of people hate this movie yet loved Superbad, amazes me. This at least shows a party.. Superbad is just all about getting there, then being disappointed when you get there. Pretty much most of this movie is of people having an awesome time at a great party. Expand
  63. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    If you're looking for a movie with a great plot with great character development this is not what you should watch. Overall this is a great movie with entertaining footage about an "epic" party. It shows what every teenager and college kid looks for in a party. Crazy drunk memories. It had great camera placement and how they incorperated the home video look into the movie so it feels like you were or are there. Expand
  64. Dec 18, 2012
    4
    Could have been much, much crazier. I'm only giving it 4 marks because few of the scenes were stupid and they shouldn't have been included and vice versa and also because Oliver Cooper a.k.a Costa really tried to imitate Jonah Hill and that seems unoriginal and flop. When it comes to teenage parties and stuff, Jonah is the only person that comes on my mind because he really knows how to party.
  65. Jul 8, 2012
    9
    I laughed my ass of with this movie! I really don't understand why all these horrid reviews are given! It was the best movie my friends and I saw since months!
  66. Sep 5, 2012
    7
    This plot is not an original, nor is the concept. However, if you're into not thinking while watching a movie-this is ideal. Slowly the characters and projected party highlighted in the trailer comes together. And, its quite over the top with some unexpected happenings during the party. The montage method tends to dominate the last 30 or so minutes to attempt to give you a "feel" of the party but really shows lack of imagination for the entire movie. Good for a single watch tho. Expand
  67. Jul 18, 2012
    1
    This isn't a movie, it's a youtube video. And it's not a good youtube video. Every character in this movie are the most annoying characters i've seen in a long time and the movie seemed like it was writing itself as it went along. "How do we get drugs to the party?" "I don't know! Hey, lets break that gnome!". There were drugs in the gnome. Pathetic.
  68. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    Just saw Project X. That might have been my favorite movie of the year so far. It was just INSANE! One of the funniest movies I've ever seen. The 12 year old security guards were easily the highlight. Such a crazy ass movie. If your gonna go see it, go with a big crowd. It's so much fun!
  69. Sep 10, 2012
    8
    Speaking technically,the cam work was awesome. Before giving a negative review...do u guys even know anything about film making?
    Think Big. Think Different!!!
    F the Future...Party the Present...
    Datz Project X baibe...
  70. Sep 19, 2012
    0
    This movie sucked, it was just horrible the cast sucked, it wasn't believe able, it wasn't funny and the dialogue was just the worst. it was probably the worst movie of all time.
  71. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    A very original and funny movie!
  72. Nov 5, 2012
    1
    The shenanigans of the teens at times made me smile, and even that was rare, but let's face it, Project X is more of a failed reality show pilot than a film.
  73. Jan 17, 2013
    1
    This film is simply abysmal. I don't see how anyone could find it funny; firstly, it is fille with losers who curse every 2 seconds - boring. Furthermore, the camerawork is appalling. I know it's done for effect but it really is terrible. What a waste of time, do not see this tripe.
  74. Dec 31, 2012
    0
    Absolutely terrible. Not funny in the least. If this movie reminds you of your childhood then you had a **** childhood devoid of compassion and any sense of human decency.
  75. May 31, 2013
    10
    Probably one of my most favourite movies of all time. There are 2 types of movies: the "good" movies like The Godfather, The Shawshank Redemption and Pulp Fiction and there are also the "fun" movies like Project X, The Hangover, Jackass etc. Most of the "fun" movies however are bad, but Project X is one of those films that if you are a teen like me, you will find incredibly entertaining. You will also want to watch it again. And again. And again. Expand
  76. Feb 8, 2013
    10
    Everyone who gave this a bad review seems to be some stupid old fart, well get over it, you not a teenager any more and this film isnt made for you, so why would you watch it, let alone give it a bad review, move on
  77. Mar 20, 2013
    8
    I can honestly say that this was one of the most enjoyable films of the year. No, theres no real plot. Heres the story: 3 High School friends try to throw the best party ever and it soon becomes out of control and too much to handle. Surprisingly they made a good film. I put this movie personally on the TV while my brother and his 5 friends were in the room just to see what happens. When they first saw the nome scene they tuned in for the whole film. And let me tell you white kids know how to party. This is a must see if you like out of control films. And I hear some of you no real plot but hey I and anyone that I know who saw it enjoyed it very much. Must Watch. One more thing. They called for all the actors/background actors through the internet and I must say they actually acted pretty good and pretty funny. Expand
  78. Jun 28, 2014
    2
    Project X is a ridiculous, pointless movie. A lot happens in this movie, but no laughs come from it. The likeliness of any of the events to take place is very low, that's kind of important for a found footage film that doesn't include and paranormal beings. It also has a very questionable message of it being okay the main character lost his entire college fund because he got **** for one night. To sum up Project X: This is a poor man's Superbad. A very poor man's Superbad. Expand
  79. Jul 16, 2013
    7
    Not hilarious and not the best movie ever but still a good watch for anyone who enjoys films like 'the hangover' or 'Superbad'. It goes into the mind of a teenage boy and is quite accurate with what their life circulates around at that age. But it over exaggerates it and everything goes out of control at the party.
  80. Aug 8, 2013
    10
    I finally got to watch this today, and I don't regret a second of any of it. It felt like I came from the greatest party in history. Sure, it's a bit more... "hardcore" than any other party movie I've seen. If they were going for that, then they succeeded. I would say this is something to watch with friends, NOT your parents! Lol.

    And to all the really negative critics, I noticed a
    pattern among all of them :they're trying to compare this movie to movies that take themselves seriously. It's like comparing an orange to an 8oz steak: OF COURSE it's going to be different from what you expected! It's for a very specific audience teenagers. And I bet that 99% of the 1's or 0's are middle aged farts who don't know what we kids like now-a-days.

    I'm not saying this compares to the Titanic or anything, but for this generation, it is a good watch to just have fun. Fun, fun fun.
    Expand
  81. Jun 22, 2014
    5
    Project X is the kind of movie you should only watch once as it has absolutely no re-watch value. For the most part while movies based around parties have a somewhat story being told this movie has none its just about one massive party. While the partying may be cool for the first like 10-20 minutes the movie really starts to drags on in the middle and the multiple scenes of girls breast and ass wasn't enough to do anything im mean yeah sure it was nice but rather pointless. For it being a Found Footage film it wasn't as bad as it could have been as most the time im annoyed by these types of movies but i was a problem this time.

    The story follows three loser kids in high school who decide to throw a massive party in hopes that it will later make them popular and that's it ensue the partying. The movie had a couple good moments but nothing outrageous i chuckled maybe a few times honestly it was kinda a let down. I think its hilarious that the movie was promoted as "The Party You've Only Dreamed About" because i have been to a rave which is pretty much the same thing and there was at least 3-5 thousand people all partying but that was in the forest and not a house, most people I've had at my house for a party was like 50 people but of course my house isn't that huge. The end does pick up with with how crazy the party gets and saves it from its tedious shot after shot of either **** ass, people drinking, and people hooking up.

    Overall i give it a 5.0 Honestly my favorite characters were the security kids as they were the best part of the whole of the movie well other than the hot women.
    Expand
  82. Aug 19, 2013
    7
    Project X is the part film of the decade. It is as simple as that, a party which crashes out of control for Thomas’ birthday winds up being major trouble for the neighbours and Thomas himself. Project X is filmed as a found footage party film, which I thought was interesting because it’s never really a comedy that has found footage, obviously it’s usually horrors like The Blair Witch Project and Paranormal Activity. So this idea of having a party which gets completely out of hand as found footage really interested me.

    Project X delivers the usual genre conventions of a party film, nudity, strong language and underage drinking and even delivers that one bloke who seems to be out-of-place at the party (the character which always turns out to be the funniest). I enjoyed the realism of the film in the aspect that this could happen, perhaps not to the extent which it does in the film but huge parties which get completely out of hand do happen, which I enjoyed.

    I thought acting wise the cast were good for this sort of film, as far as I know they are fairly newcomers to acting to which personally for me made it better as the film relies on its impact of realism (hence found footage), if you had a big Hollywood actor playing Thomas the film would lose the believe-ability which it has.

    I thoroughly enjoyed the filming character, Dax. Although he didn’t have any real screen time because he was holding the camera I thought his character was hilarious. Project X which could have a sequel in the works could be alright but I can’t see how they can really do anything else because at least a quarter of the film is Thomas worrying about his parents finding out, so a sequel would probably just be a rehash and could wind up being dull, so no I don’t want the Project X sequel which was announced to being ‘pursued’ shortly after the films release last year.

    Project X takes party movies to the next level with its use of talk shows and the found footage of all the party action mashed together works really well and delivers new life to what is becoming a clichéd genre. Project X is its own thing which makes it that much better.

    If you haven’t seen Project X and you’re into teen party movies then go check it out, you won’t be disappointed. No this film isn't going to be a life changing movie but it is still thoroughly enjoyable.
    Expand
  83. Dec 31, 2013
    7
    Nima Nourizadeh, the director of Project X, has done with this film what Tarantino did with some of his movies: created a motion picture that he knew audiences would enjoy and didn't care about his critics. If you go into this movie with "Godfather-like standards", I'll call them, then of course you will hate it. But, if you see this movie just to have a good time on a Friday night with some of your buddies, I guarantee you will like this movie. Expand
  84. Dec 16, 2013
    6
    All of my friends saw Project X when it was still on theaters and they praised it as "awesome", "best movie ever", "crazy" and many other good adjectives. There was even a party here on my hood that was based on that movie and managed to gather more than a thousand people on a public square. So, when I decided to watch it, I was expecting the movie to be something just "wow". But it really wasn't.
    I love "bad" movies like American Pie and The Hangover, and I'm not a "moralist", I'm a teen, an open minded teen that loves to party (but can't because lives with near fascist parents), so the problem is not on the movie being "perverted" or "meaningless". I love deep plots but there are times I just want to laugh, just want to go crazy. So, the problem is that the movie failed to be a "good crazy movie", and it, for 3 major reasons:

    1. I laughed watching it. But a lot less than I laughed to American Pie series, Hangover series, and even less than I laugh when watching some random vlog. It is funny, but it doesn't have any outstanding character like Hangover's Chow, and doesn't have that many jokes or eccentric situations either.

    2. It is very non-realistic. Honestly, at least where I live, the teenagers aren't that way. Really, most of teens doesn't even smoke weed, do you really think that EVERYONE on the party would take ecstasy pills? There are just 3 or 4 more "open-minded" people on my classroom, and only one which already used MDMA. I know that the movie wasn't made to be "realistic", but I was expecting it to be a "real-a-like" party which went crazy, and not a "fantasy" party. If the was supposed to be crazy and disconnected with reality, so they should put some unicorns and gnoms on it. Also, the girls aren't so "liberal". There is only ONE GIRL on the hood which has shown her at a party and she is judged by most of other girls.

    3. The events on the movie are very poorly timed. Seriously. The movie don't show "why" the party gets so huge (it tries, but fails to show it), and you don't see the party growing. It's like that in 5 five minutes, everything goes magically from an ordinary teenage party to the party of human history.

    However, the movie has some good points. I talked a lot about the failures, because I was very hyped to see it, and it didn't satisfy all the hype. Anyway, it's very audacious, very. It says the morality". Definitely on a generic and cheap way, but it says. Even the party don't having much to do with real parties, it really shows the way most teens think. In a more dramatic way, obviously. But c'mon... It retracts the your religion" way of thinking.

    The movie also have many hot actresses and boobs, a crazy part when the streets go on fire, and things like that, that make the movie "good for teens". It have some cliche (on the ending of love story), but it is a worth seeing movie. It's definitely better than staying for two hours without doing anything, or talking with friends on the PC or some boring ****.

    So, it's not a 10/10 movie, but is not a 0/10. I gave it a 6 for what it represent and for its funny moments. That's it.
    Expand
  85. Jun 22, 2014
    5
    By the way, I'd like to give this movie a 6. However, Metacritic defines that score in movies as positive. I wanted to keep my opinion as mixed, so it had to be a 5. It's annoying. Let's get to the review, though. I honestly don't even know what to call Project X (PX). Is it a movie? A hidden message? An encourager? Regardless of what is defined as, it's not a very good movie. I went in my recordings to watch it expecting a comedy. While the film starts off like that, it's takes a different, disappointing turn later on, but we'll talk about that later. PX is actually a fairly good comedy starting off, even though the plot and dialogue were simple. The characters in this movie are mediocre, though. You most likely won't care about them. Then again, PX doesn't really try to be a real movie. It's not deep, and there's no way in hell it's getting any type of awards. It's just made for you to have fun. Judging it as a movie though, it's slightly good at best, and pitiful at worst. I went in expecting a real movie, too, which I probably shouldn't have done. Like I said, as a movie, it starts off fairly funny. Then it gets to the party. I can see it being entertaining with some of my friends over, but by myself, it got boring as it went on. Sure, you have some good laughs during the party, but all I was really seeing was just a bunch of old teens dancing, drinking, fighting, and all the other stuff you'd expect out of a party like this. I did like the third act when destruction hits and the whole neighborhood and party gets totally f*cked up. If you're going in PX expecting a stupid, fun flick, you're most likely going to be entertained. However, I regret the decision expecting I was gonna get an actual movie because the results weren't what I wanted. Expand
  86. Apr 25, 2014
    8
    An good movie, with good voice acting and good soundtrack. Very funy, non-so-originaly movie. Teenagers, high-school hot girls and aduts are on this movie.
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 25
  2. Negative: 10 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Mar 3, 2012
    30
    "There's a midget in the oven!" is about as inspired as the dialogue and set pieces get in this queasy-making entertainment.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Mar 3, 2012
    63
    Project X's first-person verisimilitude is the movie's primary strength and most damning weakness.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Mar 2, 2012
    63
    Most teen flicks just fake being fueled by anarchy. But the gut-bustingly funny Project X is the real deal. It's raunchy, reckless and ready to party. What's not to like?