User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1854 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 15, 2014
    5
    This movie was ok, but I thought it was going to be better. The producers make the movie preview look good, but when you see the movie it's not as good as you thought it would be. Prometheus doesn't look rated R; it should be PG-13. I'm giving it a mixed review because thriller is my favourite movie genre and I like the title. The movie was a little interesting, even though it had myselfThis movie was ok, but I thought it was going to be better. The producers make the movie preview look good, but when you see the movie it's not as good as you thought it would be. Prometheus doesn't look rated R; it should be PG-13. I'm giving it a mixed review because thriller is my favourite movie genre and I like the title. The movie was a little interesting, even though it had myself questioning some parts. The movie has this unique atmosphere. This movie is worth watching. Synopsis: Scientists visit a planet and discover a species that is quite similar to humans. However, it's not always what it seems like... Expand
  2. Jun 17, 2012
    6
    Prometheus is a pretty good film, but some of the undeveloped characters and "plot holes you could drive a Death Star through" really let down Fassbender's superb performance and some of the best visual production I've ever seen.
  3. Jul 3, 2012
    5
    First off HUGE fan of the Alien series. I was immensely excited with Scott coming back to the franchise (we all know its been lacking since Alien 3). I was expecting to be blown away, but It was slowing becoming more and more disappointing as the movie dragged on. The cast of the movie only has a few that stand out, Charlize Theron, Michael Fassbender (David), and Idris Elba. The rest wereFirst off HUGE fan of the Alien series. I was immensely excited with Scott coming back to the franchise (we all know its been lacking since Alien 3). I was expecting to be blown away, but It was slowing becoming more and more disappointing as the movie dragged on. The cast of the movie only has a few that stand out, Charlize Theron, Michael Fassbender (David), and Idris Elba. The rest were pretty much red shirts to me. The alien designs looked cool but eventually impractical to me. David the robot killed close to half the people on the ship (intentionally, unintentionally) which surprised me, but what surprised me more was that no one was really at all mad with him. The didn't even give him the cold shoulder. The movie ended up just flopping at about the hour and a half mark and I really felt that the movie would have been much better if it had ended there, but instead they drag the movie out another 30 minutes. The CGI in this movie was very good, except for the alien surgery part, you would have thought that part of her stomach was made of play-dough it looked so bad. This movie is a totally let down, but for some of the mindless movie goers of the 21 century they'll probably praise the movie. Please don't be one of them, avoid this. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2012
    6
    I'm not big fan of the series but i likes science fiction films. I think it's wrong the ambientation because 2090 years it's a very short time for similar travels and technologies. 2090 it's early for travels type interstellar. the end of the movie i didn't like. could be better. However the sufficiency is deserved.
  5. Nov 9, 2012
    4
    Look, the movie has a great plot and innovative ideas. It was the building in the movie that bothered me. The details were not clear, and everything still seemed blurred. This movie could have been a greatest Science Fiction movie that has ever been made... Shame
  6. Nov 23, 2013
    4
    This movie was a ok sci fi movie. It was a TERRIBLE alien sequel. The charecters were uninteresting, made bad decisions (by horror movie standards, no weapons on an alien planet? Come on) and had mediocre dialogue. The movie wasn't scary, had plot holes, and no aliens alien in it until the end. Only see this if their is nothing better on tv.
  7. Jun 9, 2012
    6
    There are no mind boggling horrors or astonishing new concepts presented in this prequel to Alien. But it does fill in the blanks on the "space jockey" and provides some really wonderful vistas of space exploration.
    The story and acting are no better than average yet it still managed to entertain a lifelong scifi fan like me. For viewers without a soft spot for the genre, the film will
    There are no mind boggling horrors or astonishing new concepts presented in this prequel to Alien. But it does fill in the blanks on the "space jockey" and provides some really wonderful vistas of space exploration.
    The story and acting are no better than average yet it still managed to entertain a lifelong scifi fan like me. For viewers without a soft spot for the genre, the film will be a disappointment.
    Expand
  8. Jun 12, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very , very, very dissapointing. Yes it looked amazing for the most part and maybe the plot makes sense if you dissect everything and analyse it, but I doubt it. I really wanted to like this movie due to its connection with the Alien universe but it just didnt engage me at all. I love the way the Captain figured everything out all of a sudden and without a second thought decided to commit suicide along with the remainder of his crew. WTF. Expand
  9. Jun 13, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Is this an Alien prequel? Of course it is, it has an alien in it and the space jockey and his ship. The film is really nice to look at particularly the opening sequence, the visuals are most of the reason i have scored the film a 7. Some have been puzzled by this sequence but my take is that the guy disagrees withth the rest of his race to kill humans so he kills himself. As many have said there are plenty of holes in the plot and the film asks more questions than it answers, you may like me leave the cinema scratching your head. This view has been countered with many saying the plot holes are part of the appeal and that this may have been deliberate. I couldnt disagree more, why pay good money to be confused or have your questions unanswered? The part where Fifield returns as some mutation is plain silly, not explained and added nothing to the film in my opinion. This is an average film albeit presently excellently, other than the visuals i cant find anything particularly good to recommend about it. I cant anything particularly bad to say about it either. Expand
  10. Nov 3, 2012
    4
    The special effects are great, the scenery and photography is lovely but the film is as a whole a big disappointment. You would have thought that with such a budget they could have hired some guy to make a basic sanity check of the script but obviously that wasn
  11. Jun 9, 2012
    5
    Too much world not enough characters. The people on the ship were so faceless, I didn't care when they started dying. I had no idea who they were when they started saying names. it felt so flat and average.
  12. Jun 11, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. PART 1 OF 2 (Due to space limitations)

    I'm reproducing a review here written on darkhorizons.com from Weyland Smithers, who puts it all far better than I ever could:

    "Prometheus is a hilarious comedy in the tradition of "Spaceballs" and "Men in Black" about a motley crew of forgetful, scaredy-cat scientists who go into space and try to find their alien creator. They find maps in caves that are their invitation, but this turns out to be a hilarious trick, like a mousetrap for retards.

    The first scene is a giant, german-looking albino steroid guy who drinks some coffee out of an ashtray and gets sick and falls in the waterfall. Special effects reveal that he has little, tiny ladders in his blood called D&A. This guy looks like a member of the Blue Man Group, except White. There is a UFO flying overhead that is never seen or mentioned ever again in the movie. Just one of the many pranks that the writers and director have put in the movie to trick you with.

    Next we meet these two very forgetful and silly scientists and they get to go into space on a beautiful ship. It is taken care of by a gay robot who does stuff like dye his hair and dress up like Robocop with a colander on his head to entertain himself. If C3PO had a human face, he would be this guy. All of the silly bungling scientists wake up from hyper-sleep in time to watch a hilarious hologram of a guy in an "old man" mask that looks like the Emperor from Return of the Jedi. I think he is wearing the old guy mask to get some laughs from the wacky scientists, but no one notices it. There is another funny guy with unconventional hair and tattoos who is really mean to everyone - that's so true! Guys that look like that are always dicks!

    The spaceship starts to land on the planet, and as luck would have it, lands exactly near the alien castle on the very first try without even looking around too much - another hilarious example of serendipity! These guys are so lucky and fun to watch! The crazy scientists go into the alien castle and two of the guys get so scared that they decide to go back to the ship and get lost, even though they have flying superballs that make 3D maps of everything. Those two bungling doofuses! They are like "Dumb & Dumber" or "Abott & Costello". The rest of the gang finds more poisonous coffee and somehow the gay robot steals a whole pot of it without anyone noticing. He's such a Sneaky-Pete!

    Everyone has to go back to the ship at the last minute because the Captian pranks them and waits until a violent storm is nearby before telling them about it! Haha! This guy is great! The two bungling idiot scientists get stuck in the castle and decide to goof-off all night. They try to pet a space cobra that lives in the poisonous coffee, but it kills them, which I think is what ALL cobras wish to do, space or no. Meanwhile, back on the ship, the gay robot does a HILARIOUS prank on the whiny scientist who wears a hipster scarf. He puts a little poisonous coffee in this jerk's drink and gives him pink eye and diarrhea (probably). Haha! That's like a whoopee cushion x100! Luckily the scientist has enough health left to hump his forgetful girlfriend one last time before he is all the way super-sick from the bad coffee. As one last prank to his fellow scientists, he suits up and goes back to the castle with them, even though he secretly knows he is very, very sick. Haha. What an inconvenience to the rest of the group - the ulimate prank!

    The mean lady burns him later. The forgetful scientist gets pregnant with a white octopus and has to take it out using Michael Jackson's special oxygen bed. Now here is where the movie gets really hialrious, because she TOTALLY forgets that the alien squid is in there and just leaves to go do some errands! HAHAHA! It turns out that the funny guy in the old man mask is really hiding on the ship and he does some funny slapstick "old man walking" with a cane! I love it!

    (CONTINUED!)
    Expand
  13. Jun 11, 2012
    6
    For the average Joe, it's a great sci-fi horror movie (score 7.5). But for me, a fan of the Alien universe, it was a disappointment, and a reminder that big names (Ridley Scott) do not always mean a good story. The movie has shallow characters, lots of story holes, sequences that defy your intelligence and lots of questions unanswered. Fassbender and Rapace are great (her, after thingsFor the average Joe, it's a great sci-fi horror movie (score 7.5). But for me, a fan of the Alien universe, it was a disappointment, and a reminder that big names (Ridley Scott) do not always mean a good story. The movie has shallow characters, lots of story holes, sequences that defy your intelligence and lots of questions unanswered. Fassbender and Rapace are great (her, after things start going wrong). The movie has good things, though: the C-section sequence, the visuals, the score. That's about it. Expand
  14. Jun 25, 2012
    4
    direction: excellent
    cinematography: great
    special effects: great
    writing: terrible, illogical
    plot: full of holes

    overall: the bits a greatness get lost as soon as you hear any of the characters speak. the plot holes make for an extremely inconsistent story base for the alien movies.
  15. Aug 4, 2012
    6
    The first hour is strong, there is a great sense of foreboding and mounting threat. However, the characters are poorly realised and fail to convince the viewer that they are worth investing any emotional engagement. After the relatively strong first hour, these flaws become more evident as the cast are bumped off, but that failure to care about them denies Prometheus the powerful ending itThe first hour is strong, there is a great sense of foreboding and mounting threat. However, the characters are poorly realised and fail to convince the viewer that they are worth investing any emotional engagement. After the relatively strong first hour, these flaws become more evident as the cast are bumped off, but that failure to care about them denies Prometheus the powerful ending it tries so hard to create. Disappointing, this could, and should, have been so much better. Expand
  16. Feb 16, 2013
    5
    A new Aliens movie OMG OMG OMG 5 mins into the film AAAAAHHHH WTH is going on????? don't worry I thought all will be explained but sadly no it won't. This would of been half decent as a stand alone sci-fi movie however in the aliens universe is pretty poor it breaks the lore in some many ways none of which make sense. Graphically this film is a master piece and I particularly liked Fas andA new Aliens movie OMG OMG OMG 5 mins into the film AAAAAHHHH WTH is going on????? don't worry I thought all will be explained but sadly no it won't. This would of been half decent as a stand alone sci-fi movie however in the aliens universe is pretty poor it breaks the lore in some many ways none of which make sense. Graphically this film is a master piece and I particularly liked Fas and Theron in it but beyond that the plot and story are poor and the aliens tie in is just rubbish. I left the cinema feeling really sad about this film then again for me it's been follwoing in a long line of bad aliens movies. Alien (epic) still one hell of a movie with bit that make me jump even though I've seem them 100 times
    Aliens watch the special ed (epic) this is still one of the greatest action movies of all time
    Alien 3 trying to be Alien but still watchable
    Alien 4 trying to be Aliens this is where the rot sets in and the series starts to go down hill
    AvP Appauling
    AvP Requim Appauling
    Prometheus Extremely graphically superb with some great performances but ultimately in the poorer end of the franchise.

    Ultimately Prometheus is visually stunning but falls short with the story and Aliens tie in and spoils the lore somewhat. All of the Aliens computer games have also been extremely poor also which is odd as they simply have the best ip for both the movies and games
    Expand
  17. Jun 8, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Whilst some of the film was left open for people to work out, like why David infects Charlie, or why the Engineers were going back to destroy Humanity... it felt a little bit... vague. Too much felt left open. It also ticks some unfortunate horror cliches, in the way the two scientists petrified of a potential life sign... then decide touching a random alien creature would be a good idea... or why Elizabeth doesn't make sure her Squid (Congratulations, You've had a ....squid)... is lasered in half. Unfortunately most of the problems with the film were due to the plot, which is average at best. Maybe it will age well but at the moment it feels underwhelming. Expand
  18. Jun 8, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie is about first contact with aliens. It's usually something I enjoy. Especially when, like here, the exploration/action ratio isn't too low. The design was ok, there is the usual and boring overuse of holograms, but the spaceship and spacesuits are awesome. The crew social interactions were better than in most of movies. But despite the hopeful settings, there were quite a few things I didn't like. Mostly, the way in which the thematic ideas are treated and the philosophy bits are very poor. Overall the entertainment was at average level, I wouldn't like to read a book with a similar plot, but as a movie it was ok. The 3D looked more decent to me than it did in Avatar, although there still were some few times where looking at blurred parts of the screen was hardly avoidable.

    There will be some spoilers from here, you may not want to keep reading.

    The main plot theme throws science out by the window, as even one character points out in the beginning of the movie itself. Humans were created by extraterrestrials. It was actually naively guessed with no evidence whatsoever by the main character and surprisingly turned out to be correct. My understanding of this part of the plot is that although life did evolve on Earth with possible abiogenesis, humans did not evolve from there but were created and just put there. I sometimes don't mind when science is ignored for the purpose of an interesting plot, but Prometheus tries hard to make it look like it takes place in our universe.

    The plot then revolves around how humans think of, learn about and finally interact with their creators. This includes some bits of very poor philosophy about religion, but also some more interesting things. The rich dying man who funded the Prometheus expedition to seek for the creators mostly wants to meet them to ask them to help him avoid dying. It seems that he views them as god-like aliens and has a quite religious attraction to them, the way he speaks of them hints that he is a kind of worshiper, almost irrationally fanatic about his creators, which is how I think a lot of humans would behave in such a situation.

    The creators themselves are humanoids which is a bit disappointing, but it is used to explain why humans are what they are. Their design and their technology looks way too human, the only main difference is the architecture. Fortunately, it doesn't get completely uninteresting because although they are humans in appearance, their behavior remains difficult to grasp, almost incomprehensible to the humans, and remains unexplained through the whole movie. Their mass destruction biological weapon was quite nice, the way in which the aliens we know from previous Scott's movies got created was entertaining to watch.

    There were some mildly interesting parts of the movie about a robot and his relationship with humans, mostly because there are a few lines making the parallel with him being created by humans and humans being created by aliens. So his feelings towards the humans were actually relevant to the main ideas of the movie.
    Expand
  19. Jun 8, 2012
    6
    This was my most anticipated film of the summer. I have been looking forward to the exploration of truly interesting ideas from a director whose work I truly enjoy. I was disappointed. The movie is filled with stunning visuals and some truly compelling ideas, but never truly delivers on the promises it makes or the questions it asks. I don't need every question answered, but thereThis was my most anticipated film of the summer. I have been looking forward to the exploration of truly interesting ideas from a director whose work I truly enjoy. I was disappointed. The movie is filled with stunning visuals and some truly compelling ideas, but never truly delivers on the promises it makes or the questions it asks. I don't need every question answered, but there should be sufficient evidence for a discussion about what is going on. This is truly a case where the whole is less than the sum of its parts. Good performances, decent set pieces and moody, interesting visuals are all diluted by an incomplete and unsure plot. At times it is difficult to understand exactly who we are supposed to root for or why. There are many loose ends that are never tied up and the movie seems to outpace its storytelling in several sections. There is still enough here for sci-fi fans to enjoy. The engineers are interesting and their origin is a great cinematic question, but I was expecting more in terms of story arc and character progression. The plot and the excellent component parts needed to be in better sync. All of that being said, I would get in line to see the sequel. If you haven't seen this one, save it for DVD. Expand
  20. Jul 20, 2012
    6
    Ever since 2002, when Ridley Scott and James Cameron approached FOX about making an ALIEN 5, i was just wishing for it to happen. So when Ridley confirmed a few years ago that he was going back to Sci-Fi and to the ALIEN franchise i was totally jazzed. Then when the teasers and trailers started popping up it mesmerised me and i just wanted to see this movie ASAP, it was by far the oneEver since 2002, when Ridley Scott and James Cameron approached FOX about making an ALIEN 5, i was just wishing for it to happen. So when Ridley confirmed a few years ago that he was going back to Sci-Fi and to the ALIEN franchise i was totally jazzed. Then when the teasers and trailers started popping up it mesmerised me and i just wanted to see this movie ASAP, it was by far the one film that i most wanted to see this year.

    So to my actual thoughts on the film, it starts off great and it
    Expand
  21. Jul 16, 2013
    5
    Starting right off into the film Prometheus was definitely looking at being one hell of a movie, but right up until they land that ship on the alien world they also land the interest straight into a trash can. The only good thing I really took out of this movie were it's visual effects, which I have to say were pretty damn good, however that's all I feel this film offered me. The story wasStarting right off into the film Prometheus was definitely looking at being one hell of a movie, but right up until they land that ship on the alien world they also land the interest straight into a trash can. The only good thing I really took out of this movie were it's visual effects, which I have to say were pretty damn good, however that's all I feel this film offered me. The story was a little boring, not interesting at all, some of the acting in my personal opinion was a little dull, just the feel to the movie was basically a bit poop.

    I'd say it's definitely something people should watch, but only as a rental. Then decide if you want to buy it or not.
    Expand
  22. Oct 10, 2015
    5
    Hugely disappointing for me. And at times the movie was boring. Not in the same class as Gravity of Interstellar I am afraid. Charlize Theron was pleasing on the eye though!
  23. Sep 30, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was pretty decent. The problem lies with the lack of grandeur and cosmic "epicness" of the alien world and with the Engineers. It didn't make sense that the restored Engineer, an advanced species far surpassing our intelligence, beat up the humans bare knuckle, much like an animal. I think it would have done the movie good if the Engineer was understanding, and maybe remorseful, and tried to give the humans answers. Meanwhile, the humans, along with the Engineer battle the Alien(s), and ultimately the Engineer becomes infected, the new alien kills off the remaining humans except for Shaw, who makes it out as the last alive and escapes. Expand
  24. Aug 1, 2012
    6
    Wonderful visuals with an extremely interesting premise ruined by a terrible script, awful characters and a severe lack of tension. Prometheus poses some interesting questions and much of what is presented is left open to interpretation which is always appreciated, but the overall presentation of these ideas is disappointingly weak and I left the cinema feeling rather let down by what I saw.
  25. Jun 11, 2012
    5
    A movie of could-have-beens. Could have been written better. Could have been acted better. Prometheus is too much about corny dialogue and bungled mysticism. The characters are flat and stereotyped. I think there were 2 or 3 occasions where my wife and I made eye contact and groaned.
  26. Jun 8, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wow, what a disappointment. This movie was complete nonsense, the characters at best acted hysterically unprofessional, and at worst suicidal. They literally didn't seem to give 1 sh1t about their well being. Plot points were pulled out of the @sses of the writers with literally no supporting evidence. People act incongruently and in contrived-plot-serving ways that literally made zero sense, and practically no one acted with an ounce of caution. There was no tension, and the main characters were hardly even likable. 2 characters pretty much literally committed suicide. The movie starts off strong with excellent special effects, scenes and 3D, but halfway through the movie, I was utterly disgusted. Expand
  27. Jan 1, 2013
    5
    Prometheus was supposed to be the best movie of 2012 and after watching the first hour it definitely was on it's way of becoming one of the better ones, but the great start totally lost all of it's strength in the mid-section and the end. The director lost my focus bit by bit and towards the end i was not interested at all. The idea of the story is pretty well but it just didn't work out.Prometheus was supposed to be the best movie of 2012 and after watching the first hour it definitely was on it's way of becoming one of the better ones, but the great start totally lost all of it's strength in the mid-section and the end. The director lost my focus bit by bit and towards the end i was not interested at all. The idea of the story is pretty well but it just didn't work out. I didn't really "bond" with one of the characters in general which i usually do. Even though the graphics were great and a 5 should be given because the first part was really well and the graphics were great. Expand
  28. Sep 12, 2013
    5
    unexceptionable on the visual side, the script flaws of vanity. seems to be a continuous self-celebration exercise of their ability to develop complex plots full of historical, philosophical and moral implications. the result is an agglomeration too cryptic that float on the assumption for which spectators will search on google the story understanding. clearly this is the first part of theunexceptionable on the visual side, the script flaws of vanity. seems to be a continuous self-celebration exercise of their ability to develop complex plots full of historical, philosophical and moral implications. the result is an agglomeration too cryptic that float on the assumption for which spectators will search on google the story understanding. clearly this is the first part of the story with pros and cons. pros is that story can only improve and become more delineated, understandable and astonishing with the next episodes. cons is that you exit from the cinema with the unpleasant feeling of having seen a movie interrupted without know when (and if) there will be the next part and with a lot too much of question with no answer. Expand
  29. Jul 6, 2012
    4
    For me, this movie was the most colossal disappointment I've had in a long time. I had super high expectations, but man, I really just thought it was bad. Charlize Theron's character is unbearable, tons of redundancies in the writing, and a it wasn't even tense. To sum up my opinion of it, I would say it's like the paper that someone wrote for school, where they put a ton of work into theFor me, this movie was the most colossal disappointment I've had in a long time. I had super high expectations, but man, I really just thought it was bad. Charlize Theron's character is unbearable, tons of redundancies in the writing, and a it wasn't even tense. To sum up my opinion of it, I would say it's like the paper that someone wrote for school, where they put a ton of work into the extra credit, but totally forgot to do the rest of the paper until the last second. Expand
  30. Jun 19, 2012
    6
    For the Sci Fi geek it gets a pass but don't try to copy Aliens which for an 80's Sci Fi was a classic - this clearly wasn't. What it is, is lacking in all areas except special effects which isn't about how good the movie is, it's about how big your budget is. The fundamentals of good Sci Fi is to recreate a fictional world and for that they did a good job. However, the plot has too manyFor the Sci Fi geek it gets a pass but don't try to copy Aliens which for an 80's Sci Fi was a classic - this clearly wasn't. What it is, is lacking in all areas except special effects which isn't about how good the movie is, it's about how big your budget is. The fundamentals of good Sci Fi is to recreate a fictional world and for that they did a good job. However, the plot has too many wholes in it, none of which are filled. At no point are you pulling for any of the characters and as a result don't care who lives or dies. Finally meeting our makers, disappointing. The big question, why are we here? disappointing. This trend continues throughout the whole movie and finishes with a grand finally crash... literally! Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jun 11, 2012
    80
    Scott may always have had an eye on the box office, but from "Alien" and "Thelma & Louise" on, he has made women into heroines. In that regard, he's still ahead of the curve. Rapace's scene is a classic of its kind; it tops John Hurt's notorious misfortunes in "Alien."
  2. 70
    It's a different sort of experience: a stately, somewhat plodding but endurable science-fiction saga.
  3. 75
    There's definite mastery here, but it's hardly a masterpiece.