Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1670 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Filmmaker Ridley Scott returns to the genre he helped define, creating an original science fiction epic set in the most dangerous corners of the universe. The film takes a team of scientists and explorers on a thrilling journey that will test their physical and mental limits and strand them on a distant world, where they will discover the answers to our most profound questions and to life's ultimate mystery. (20th Century Fox) Expand
  • Director: Ridley Scott
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi, Drama, Thriller, Horror
  • Rating: R
  • Runtime: 124 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jun 6, 2012
    100
    A magnificent science-fiction film, all the more intriguing because it raises questions about the origin of human life and doesn't have the answers.
  2. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jun 6, 2012
    83
    Prometheus is an unquestionable good time, one of the best big-screen science fiction accomplishments since 'Avatar.'
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    May 30, 2012
    80
    Although Ridley Scott's 3D visual feast is no classic, the oozing alien tentacles hit all the right sci-fi horror notes.
  4. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Jun 7, 2012
    70
    The virtuosity on display makes the weakness of the story all the more frustrating. I'll avoid spoilers here, but Prometheus kind of spoils itself with twists and reversals that pull the movie away from its lofty, mind-blowing potential.
  5. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jun 5, 2012
    60
    It's imaginative only in a stiff, expensive way. Scott vests the movie with an admirable degree of integrity – it doesn't feel like a cheap grab for our moviegoing dollars – but it doesn't inspire anything so vital as wonder or fear, either.
  6. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jun 7, 2012
    50
    Try as it might, the movie is hardly profound, and the murky atmosphere and the leaden pace drag things down.
  7. Reviewed by: John Semley
    Jun 5, 2012
    38
    It aspires to Stanley Kubrick's "2001", but in its maddeningly unresolved plot threads and cornball cosmic mysticism, it lands closer to "Mission to Mars" -though Prometheus lacks any action set piece as gripping as the Brian De Palma film's sentient sandstorm.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    After seeing the Previews I had mixed feelings about Prometheus. Yes it looked like it would be visually pleasing, and I love the original Alien, liked Predators and Alien 3, but all of the other films set in the fictional Alien/Predator universe are pretty terrible, especially AVP2 which was one of the worst films I have ever seen. After AVP2 I vowed I was done with both of the franchises for good. But after some coaxing by a couple of friends, I reluctantly went to see the Prometheus opening in IMAX. Couldn't be happier. Amazing visuals. Intriguing plot lines. Excellent character portrayals by most of the cast. Intense edge-of-your-seat thrill ride, but not only was it thrilling, it was gripping. The cinematography was excellent. The character development of David was spectacular. The story line exceeds all of the other movies of the Alien/Predator franchises, except for the original Alien, combined. I'm glad I spent the money to see the IMAX version, and I am planning to see this at least two to three more times in IMAX before its run is over. Last movie I saw in a theater more than once? The first Matrix film. Saw it twice. This movie is right on par with it as far as an overall experience. Surpassed even Avatar, far surpassed in my opinion, in overall 3D movie experience/entertainment. This is a must see. Anyone saying it was boring, or hard to follow, doesn't know what a great movie is. There is no hand-holding through the movie. You must think for yourself and form theories as you as you go along, and this film kept me guessing through the end, but not to a point that I ever felt I was "lost." Wonderful Experience. 9.7/10 Expand
  2. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    Fantastic visuals. Great acting. Doesnt answer the main questions it ask but whos to say it had to? One of the best Sci-fi movies in a LONG time. Best IMAX movie ive ever seen! Expand
  3. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What I thought of Prometheus (I wish I had the energy to write a full-length review), posted elsewhere: Well, I'll be the contrarian about Prometheus - I loved it. I thought the opening moments of the film were provocative and mysterious. I got what it meant but did it really mean what I thought it did? There are no answers in this film, though the lead female scientist (Noomi Rapace as Elizabeth Shaw) becomes dogged about getting some. We are left to come up with our own. It sort of combined the naivete and passion for exploration of the early episodes of Scott Bakula's Star Trek: Enterprise with an ever-growing sense of dread. The goofiness of Rapace and Marshall-Green as Elizabeth & Charlie, the "love you baby" science couple is the innocent/naive quotient. And the moment you meet David, the android who has a penchant for looking/sounding like Peter O'Toole, you know this can't end well, knowing the history of androids in the Alien films. But the best thing about the film, beyond being beautiful to look at (I did not see it in 3-D and it was gorgeous) and intriguing enough for me to shuffle through the hallways of my mind re the earlier films, was to take that "ET phone home" nonsense about our space seed fathers being benign, loving aliens and turning it 180. I take it that most of the criticism directed at the film is by fan boys (sorry, I know y'all are passionate folks) who wanted another "Alien" horror film. While there are some extremely tense scenes (it's rated R for a reason), this film is also grand and filled with wonder in the old-style sense of what science fiction films used to be. And that's what did it for me. I would have given it a 10 but shaving off 1 point for somewhat weak character development (particularly of the supporting variety). Expand
  4. Sep 20, 2012
    6
    It always amazes me how movies and television portray scientists as complete and total buffoons who do all the things a scientists are NOT supposed to do. This movie has that in spades. I just don't understand why Earth would send a bunch of misfits into space who don't know each other on something so incredibly important. Beautiful movie - just stupid and predictable. Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really wanted to like this film, but the movie suffers from very apparent re-writes after re-writes. Too many hands spoiled the pie. Prometheus had no clue where it was going and there was too much reveal literally at the start and the various trailers. I don't think Ridley Scott has lost his touch, but I think he's at that age where he's unable to fend of annoying studio executives who demand too many changes or are pushing for a deadline.

    Alien is one of the greatest movies ever made due to its simplistic story line, same goes for the action packed Aliens. The movie left you with a sense of wonderment, surprise, letting your imagination run wild. Prometheus straddled between both, and failed miserably, part suspense, part pop corn, leave your brain at the door summer block buster, the story did not know where to go, and worst of all, spoon fed the audience like a newborn.

    Once again though, Michael Fassbender was awesome, Charlize Theron does what Charlize Theron does best and a rather interesting Ray Stevenson. Unfortunately Noomi Rapace is no Sigourney Weaver and I blame the script more than her acting as her character was...rather dull.

    While this movie will probably make bucketloads of money, I feel it's a rather unfortunate let down for all Aliens fans out there. Oh, and by the way, it is an Aliens Movie, it just doesn't know it yet.
    Expand
  6. Jun 8, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Here is what I learnt from this prequel to Alien:
    * The elephantine face of the space jockey was a helmet, hiding way more human like traits. The design of the Na'vi had more originality than that.
    * The original facehugger was a giant squid that developed within a woman's uterus after she had sex with a man suffering from a worm infection that had turned another man into a zombie.
    * Even if the music does its best to inspire sadness, distress or urgency, it will only highlight just how bland every scene feels.
    Expand
  7. Jun 29, 2013
    0
    Wow. Thank goodness I didn't waste the money on a cinema ticket to see this when it came out (despite being tempted to thanks to the ridiculous levels of hype Ridley Scott generated). Prometheus is NOT "inscrutable", "mysterious", "intellectual" or any of the other terms used to describe it on fanboy webforums and YouTube rants claiming to "understand" its "true meaning". It is a fantastically stupid film. End of. The only redeeming feature is the gorgeous production design and cinematography. It LOOKS great. But looks can be deceiving. Prometheus doesn't make sense NOT because it is cleverer than we are, but because it is far, far, FAR stupider than we are. It is confusing not because it knows something we don't, but because it is poorly cobbled-together archaeo-religio-scientific claptrap that simply doesn't make sense. The entire film (and all subplots therein) rest upon the shaky foundations known in the business as "the Idiot Plot". NOBODY in this film, at any time does anything that could in a favourable light be labelled as intelligent. Every decision of every character is totally stupid and acts simply to bring them closer to death, which is (surprise surprise) the point of a stupid space-slasher movie. Right now this excrable crud is battling with Batman and Robin for the honour of Worst Film I Have Ever Seen. It really is THAT bad. Expand

See all 563 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films

    Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films Image
    Published: April 25, 2012
    From tentpole films like "The Dark Knight Rises" and "Prometheus" to arthouse fare like "Moonrise Kingdom" and "To Rome with Love," the summer movie season promises something for every type of film fan. Take a look at everything the coming months have to offer.
  2. 2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films

    2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: January 12, 2012
    Another humdrum year for movies? Forget it; 2012 is shaping up to be the best year for film in over a decade. Inside, we run down 50 of the most promising movies due to arrive this year, and we guarantee that you'll find something to get excited about.