Psycho

Psycho Image
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 152 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Intrigued by the notion of taking an intact, undeniable classic and seeing what would happen if it were made again - with a nearly identical shooting script - but with contemporary filmmaking techniques, Gus Van Sant recreates the motion picture Psycho. (Universal Studios)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23
  1. Norman Bates is alive and well, and just a tad kinkier than you remember him.
  2. 75
    The film is shot in color and includes an amped-up Danny Elfman version of Bernard Herrmann's haunting score.
  3. It remains the most structurally elegant and sneakily playful of thrillers. At least some things never change.
  4. It's so slavishly similar to its predecessor - right down to the symbolic lettering on Marion's license plates - that there's little to spark fresh discussion except the acting.
  5. In the shock department, the ante has been upped, way up, and a mere kitchen knife through a shower curtain just doesn't cut it any more.
  6. This Psycho seems a little nuts.
  7. Van Sant's doomed and misguided experiment.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 13
  2. Negative: 9 out of 13
  1. May 13, 2014
    10
    I have not seen Alfred Hitchock's Psycho but i need see the remake . the new film describes every detail
    of the original that is good the
    I have not seen Alfred Hitchock's Psycho but i need see the remake . the new film describes every detail
    of the original that is good the new generation of the film is the darkness of Vince Vaughn and the shower scene which was the best part . The remake was Absolutely the best one i scene and the psycho series was fun too .
    Expand
  2. Oct 30, 2014
    4
    Vince Vaughn is so laughable it's his best comedy since "Swingers". This is a pointless remake that is below all other remakes, not only is itVince Vaughn is so laughable it's his best comedy since "Swingers". This is a pointless remake that is below all other remakes, not only is it guilty of being a shot for shot copy of the Hitchcock classic taking no artistic chances with the material to steer in another direction whether or not it's good but i'd rather see that than the exact same movie the came out in the 60's and the directors reasoning for it just irritates me. Expand
  3. Oct 14, 2014
    3
    A pointless remake of a movie that should have been left alone in the first place. I'd say It's biggest problem is Mr. Vince Vaughn, who IA pointless remake of a movie that should have been left alone in the first place. I'd say It's biggest problem is Mr. Vince Vaughn, who I just can't see acting in a film like this. Expand
  4. Mar 4, 2012
    1
    Roger Ebert said it perfectly. When your shot-for-shot remake turns out to have zero of the intensity of the original, it serves as excellentRoger Ebert said it perfectly. When your shot-for-shot remake turns out to have zero of the intensity of the original, it serves as excellent proof that **** sense of timing and atmosphere simply cannot be duplicated. Totally pointless and completely forgettable. Watch the original. Collapse
  5. May 14, 2012
    0
    Frankly, this experimented shot-for-shot remake is just an insult to the timeless, classic 1960 original version of "Psycho".
  6. Apr 17, 2013
    0
    Neither the original nor this remake are scary at all you would have to be younger then 10 to find this scary. If my 12 year old cousin and 6Neither the original nor this remake are scary at all you would have to be younger then 10 to find this scary. If my 12 year old cousin and 6 year old cousin didnt jump once then the film isn't scary. Expand
  7. May 11, 2014
    0
    Boy, even the late Alfred Hitchcock should've laughed this mess of a remake that hard. Psycho is one of my favorite horror movies of all timeBoy, even the late Alfred Hitchcock should've laughed this mess of a remake that hard. Psycho is one of my favorite horror movies of all time and what did they get, a nobody director and a wasted script. Hitchcock was right on one thing. He shouldn't need any color. Insult to injury, this shot-by-shot remake is definitely one of the worst remakes Hollywood needs to stay away. It's pretty stupid when you add Anne Heche, Vince Vaughn (as Young Norman Bates), and Gus Van Sant as a director who just doesn't know what the original version is all about. The original version features not only has one of the scariest theme songs of all time, but the shower scene where Bates slashed his wife is very memorable. At least, we desperately need a proper remake. But stick to the Hitchcock classic. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 15 Reboots Worse Than the Original Movies

    15 Reboots Worse Than the Original Movies Image
    Published: July 5, 2016
    While we await the verdict on the new Ghostbusters, we look back at 15 other recent film reboots that failed to match the quality of their predecessors.
  2. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.
  3. This Week: Movie, TV, Music, and Game Picks for March 18-24

    This Week: Movie, TV, Music, and Game Picks for March 18-24 Image
    Published: March 17, 2013
    This week's most notable titles include a new Sundance miniseries from director Jane Campion, a prequel to Epic Games' Gears of War trilogy, a new TV series based on the movie Psycho, Justin Timberlake's musical comeback, and more.
  4. Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 29, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Wonder Woman, Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them, Suicide Squad, Doctor Strange, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  6. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  7. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.